DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/2026 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s remarks directed to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 112(a) on pgs. 7-8, Applicant submits that para. [0041], [0043], and fig. 2A provides written description support for the recitation of “wherein each of the ML accelerators includes an arbitrator configured to read data of previous layer” in claim 20.
Examiner respectfully points out that according to fig. 2A, “Scratchpad RAM” reads data of previous layer, not the arbitrator. Further, Applicant notes “arbitrator which includes PSRAM block,” however, it appears that it is the PSRAM block that includes the arbitrator ([0041], “…PSRAM block 220 includes an arbitrator and PSRAM. PSRAM, in one example, includes a DRAM macro block with an on-chip refresh circuit.”)
Thus, after careful consideration, Applicant’s arguments are considered unpersuasive.
Regarding applicant’s remarks directed to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102,
Alleged No teaching of parallelization opportunities disclosed by Gschwend cannot be the same or equivalent to the operation of offloading tasks from a processor to an accelerator( s)
In Remarks p. 9-12, Applicant contends:
“parallelization opportunities disclosed by Gschwend cannot be the same or equivalent to the operation of offloading tasks from a processor to an accelerator(s)”
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “a first portion of configurable logic blocks ("LBs") of a field programmable gate arrays ("FPGA"), coupled to the MCU, configured to be programmed to behave as a machine learning processor” in claim 20.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Gschwend teaches (emphasis added):
Gschwend teaches and a first portion of configurable logic blocks ("LBs") of a field programmable gate arrays ("FPGA"), coupled to the MCU, configured to be programmed to behave as a machine learning processor
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [a first portion of configurable logic blocks ("LBs") ie processing elements of a field programmable gate arrays ("FPGA"), coupled to the MCU (see Fig. 4.1), configured to be programmed to behave as a machine learning processor ie perform computations of the CNN]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as the processing elements of Gschwend are on the FPGA to perform the neural network computations (ie behave as a ML processor) and the task is offloaded to be performed on the FPGA from the MCU. Examiner provides fig. 4.1 of Gschwend below wherein Examiner notes that the Dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 processor does not perform the computational operations, rather, the ZynqNet Accelerator (FPGA) does (see teachings of Gschwend above).
Alleged No teaching of memory controller which includes a local memory
In Remarks p. 12-13, Applicant contends:
“Gschwend has never disclosed that its processing element(s) contains a memory controller which includes a local memory. Although Gschwend illustrates a memory controller but the memory controller is used for ZynqNet FPGA Accelerator not for the processing elements.”
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “containing a memory controller, wherein the memory controller includes a local memory to cache a portion of coefficients” in claim 20.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Gschwend teaches (emphasis added):
Gschwend teaches containing a memory controller, wherein the memory controller includes a local memory to cache a portion of coefficients
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1 teaches the MemoryController coupled to WCache store the coefficients)
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as the memory controller is in communications (coupled) with the WCache (as shown in Applicant annotated Fig. E. 1), wherein the memory controller includes the WCache to cache a portion of the coefficients. Examiner notes it appears what Applicant is intending the limitation to be interpreted as is “wherein the memory controller comprises/contains a local memory to cache a portion of coefficients” or “wherein the memory controller caches a portion of coefficients in a local memory.” However, with the recitation of “includes,” Examiner interprets the BRI of the limitation to mean the memory controller includes the local memory in the activity of caching the coefficients. Thus, Gschwend teaches the BRI of “containing a memory controller, wherein the memory controller includes a local memory to cache a portion of coefficients” as the memory controller communicates with the WCache wherein the WCache caches the coefficients.
Alleged No teaching of includes an arbitrator configured to read data of previous layer
In Remarks p. 13-14, Applicant contends:
Applicant respectfully disagrees with this allegation because the processing elements disclosed by Gschwend cannot be the same or equivalent to a machine learning accelerator that contains an arbitrator for reading data of previous layer. Applicant further contends that input to each layer disclosed by Gschwend cannot be the same or equivalent to the operation of reading data of previous layer.
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “wherein each of the ML accelerators includes an arbitrator configured to read data of previous layer” in claim 20.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Gschwend teaches (emphasis added):
(Gschwend, Figure E.1,
and figure 4.4 teaches each ML accelerator (processing elements) reading data (weights) for each layer)
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as the claim does not recite a “current layer” relative to the recited “previous layer,” thus the BRI of “previous layer” is interpreted as “a current layer.” In other words, as there is no precedent of a current layer, the “previous layer” is the only layer in which data is read. To which, Gschwend discloses reading data (weights) for each layer wherein the AXI.LITE bus acts as the arbitrator.
Regarding applicant’s remarks directed to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103,
Alleged No teaching of extracting model information from the trained model information and storing the model information in an onboard first nonvolatile memory ("NVM") in the FPGA
In Remarks p. 17-20, Applicant contends:
Gschwend does not teach “extracting model information from the trained model information and storing the model information in an onboard first nonvolatile memory ("NVM") in the FPGA” because “ROM is a read-only memory and it cannot be written or stored as nonvolatile memory. As such, Gschwend's ROM cannot be used to store model information in an onboard first NVM in FPGA.”
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “extracting model information from the trained model information and storing the model information in an onboard first nonvolatile memory ("NVM") in the FPGA” in claim 14.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Gschwend teaches (emphasis added):
Gschwend teaches extracting model information from the trained model file
(Gschwend, pg. 84, Fig. E.1 teaches extracting model information ie layer, num_weights, etc from the given input (trained model file),
”)
Gschwend teaches and storing the model information in an onboard first [nonvolatile] memory [("NVM")] in the FPGA;
(Gschwend, pg. 84, Fig. E.1. teaches storing the model information ie setLayer Config in a first memory of the FPGA)
Gschwend teaches the memory type can be nonvolatile memory
(Gschwend, pg. 51, “Memory Type and Style Memories in the FPGA hardware are described as arrays in the high-level source code. Only statically declared arrays with a fixed size are supported for
synthesis. The mapping between the C/C++ arrays and the underlying hardware can be
influenced with a number of compiler directives. The memory type (RAM, ROM [nonvolatile], FIFO) and implementation style (Block RAM, Distributed RAM, Shift Register) can be chosen by using the previously introduced #pragma HLS RESOURCE directive.
”)
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as the specification of the instant application explicitly discloses "[0070] ROM 608, in one example, stores or loads data that is organized in an order in accordance with how data to be used by ML processor 510;” wherein ROM is recited to “store data.” Accordingly, Gschwend teaches the first NVM as recited in the claim and in light of the specification as the specification does not explicitly disclose that the first NVM cannot be ROM.
Examiner’s note: In the spirit of compact prosecution, Examiner suggests providing more specificity towards the first NVM (and/or second NVM) as being flash memory (see fig. 4 402 and 400) would overcome the prior art rejections of record.
Alleged No teaching of configuring a portion of the FPGA to be a machine learning ("ML") processor capable of processing computational operations offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") in accordance with information stored in the second NVM,"
In Remarks p. 20-21, Applicant contends:
Gschwend does not explicitly teach “configuring a portion of the FPGA to be a machine learning ("ML") processor capable of processing computational operations offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") in accordance with information stored in the second NVM,"
“Applicant respectfully disagrees with this allegation because Gschwend has never disclosed that its processing elements provide computational operation offloaded from the Dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 processor based on information stored in the second NVM. In other words, Gschwend has never disclosed that its processing elements can be used for performing offload tasks from the Dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 processor.”
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “configuring a portion of the FPGA to be a machine learning ("ML") processor capable of processing computational operations offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") in accordance with information stored in the second NVM” in claim 14.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Gschwend teaches (emphasis added):
Gschwend teaches configuring a portion of the FPGA to be a machine learning processor capable of processing computational operations
(Gschwend, pg. 33 4.1.3, “This project focuses on the proof-of-concept implementation of an FPGA-accelerated embedded CNN. First and foremost, the challenge in this chapter consists of
fitting a complete CNN for image classification on ImageNet
onto the low-power Zynq XC-7Z045 with decent performance”)
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [configuring a portion of the FPGA ie processing elements to be a machine learning processor capable of processing computational operations ie dot-products/intra-kernel multiplications]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
Gschwend teaches offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") in accordance with information stored in the second NVM:
(Gschwend, pg. 31 4.1.1, pg. 32 Fig. 4.1, “The Zynqbox has been designed by Supercomputing Systems AG for the evaluation of high-performance image processing algorithms, especially in automotive settings. The embedded platform is based on the Xilinx Zynq-7000 All Programmable System-on-Chip (SoC), which combines a dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 processor [offloaded from a microcontroller; wherein Examiner interprets offloaded as the FPGA is communicated to perform the computational operations instead of the microcontroller and the computational operations are performed with the weights obtained from the Wcache (second NVM)] with programmable FPGA fabric in a single device. The Zynqbox includes a Xilinx Zynq XC-7Z045 SoC, 1 GB DDR3 memory for the ARM processor, 768 MB independent DDR3 memory for the programmable logic, and plenty of connection options (Serial Camera Interfaces, USB, CAN, Gigabit Ethernet). The Kintex-7 FPGA fabric of the SoC features 350k logic cells, 218k LUTs, 2180 kB Block RAM and 900 DSP slices. The CPU runs at up to 1 GHz, boots a standard Linux operating system and is connected to the programmable logic via high-performance AXI4 ports for data exchange and control. Figure 4.1 shows a schematic overview of the Zynqbox platform [92].”)
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as Examiner respectfully notes that the claim recites
“offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") in accordance with information stored in the second NVM;”
not “offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") based on information stored in the second NVM.”
Examiner respectfully notes the distinction of “in accordance” is broader than “based on” as the offloaded computational operations (of essentially calculating computations of the neural network/AI model) is being performed with (in accordance) the information stored in the second NVM (See Gschwend’s teaching of “configuring a portion of the FPGA to be a machine learning processor capable of processing computational operations”) vs the offloading occurring because of the information stored in the second NVM. Further, Examiner provides fig. 4.1 of Gschwend below wherein Examiner notes that the Dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 processor does not perform the computational operations, rather, the ZynqNet Accelerator (FPGA) does.
Examiner’s note: In the spirit of compact prosecution, Examiner respectfully notes that if the claim was amended to recite “offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") based on information stored in the second NVM” instead of “offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") in accordance with information stored in the second NVM;” it would overcome the prior art rejection of record.
Alleged No teaching of configuring another portion of the FPGA to be one or more ML accelerators capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with information stored in the second NVM
In Remarks p. 22-24, Applicant contends:
Gschwend does not explicitly teach "configuring another portion of the FPGA to be one or more ML accelerators capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with information stored in the second NVM," wherein Applicant respectfully disagrees with Examiner’s interpretation and
notes “if the Office Action intends to take this assertion as an Official Notice, Applicant submits that it is not extremely common in the art that a method of "extracting model information from the trained model information and storing the model information in an onboard first nonvolatile memory ("NVM") in the FPGA;" "configuring a portion of the FPGA to be a machine learning ("ML") processor capable of processing computational operations offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") in accordance with information stored in the second NVM" and "configuring another portion of the FPGA to be one or more ML accelerators capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with information stored in the second NVM" as recited in Claim 14. Under M.P.E.P. 2144.03, when Applicant adequately traverses such an assertion, the examiner must provide documentary evidence if the rejection is to be maintained.”
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “configuring another portion of the FPGA to be one or more ML accelerators capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with information stored in the second NVM” in claim 14.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Gschwend teaches (emphasis added):
Gschwend teaches and configuring another portion of the FPGA to be one or more ML accelerators capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with information stored in the second NVM.
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [configuring another portion of the FPGA to be one or more ML accelerators ie different processing elements capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with information stored in the second NVM; wherein the parallelization of the different processing elements is another portion of the FPGA and offloading computations to other processing elements and parallelizing the executions using different processing elements is interpreted to be accelerating the executions]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as Examiner respectfully notes that “wherein the parallelization of the different processing elements is another portion of the FPGA and offloading computations to other processing elements and parallelizing the executions using different processing elements is interpreted to be accelerating the executions” is merely Examiner’s interpretation (and not official notice) of the citations of Gschwend (see above) as mapped to the claimed limitations. As Applicant notes, “method[s] of [the claimed invention]” are “[are] not extremely common in the art.” Accordingly, Examiner applied the broadest reasonable interpretation (See MPEP 2111) to the limitations. Further, Examiner respectfully points out that Gschwend reads upon the claim in light of the specification of the instant application, (“[0006] A configurable offloading system ("COS") containing programmable semiconductor device such as a field programmable logic array ("FPGA") is configured to provide parallel processing of logic operations for neural network operations.”) wherein the claimed invention provides parallel processing of neural network operations using the FPGA.
The examiner refers to the rejection under 35 USC § 102 and § 103 in the current office action for more details.
Claim Objections
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities: “means for forwarding the model information to layer register map in the FPGA” should read as “means for forwarding the model information to a layer register map in the FPGA.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 recites “wherein each of the ML accelerators includes an arbitrator configured to read data of previous layer.” The specification of the instant application discloses ([0041], “…PSRAM block 220 includes an arbitrator and PSRAM. PSRAM, in one example, includes a DRAM macro block with an on-chip refresh circuit.”) and ([0043], “PSRAM block 220 reads data from previous layer as input data and writes data of current layer as output.”) However, the specification does not explicitly disclose that the arbitrator is configured to read data of the previous layer.
Claims 21-26 are further rejected on virtue of their dependency to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 15-16, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 and analogous claim 28 recites “retrieving one or more model information from for the first NVM;” it is unclear whether the limitation should read as:
“retrieving one or more model information for the first NVM;”
“retrieving one or more model information from the first NVM;”
For examination purposes, Examiner interprets the BRI of the limitation as 1.
Claim 16 is further rejected on virtue of their dependency to claim 15.
Claim 28 further recites “retrieving one or more model information from for the first NVM to the MCU;” it is unclear what the relationship is between the MCU and the first NVM in terms of retrieving one or more model information.
For examination purposes, Examiner interprets the limitation as “retrieving one or more model information for the first NVM from the MCU.”
Claim 30 recites the limitation "layer register map." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner’s note: Examiner interprets claim 30 as a dependent of claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gschwend, David. "Zynqnet: An fpga-accelerated embedded convolutional neural network." (“Gschwend”)
In regards to claim 20,
Gschwend teaches A semiconductor device able to be selectively programmed for parallel processing logic operations, comprising:
an input memory for buffering
(Gschwend, pg. 62 5.2.1, “The final ZynqNet FPGA Accelerator contains NPE = 16 processing units, which concurrently operate on the calculation of different output feature maps. Each processing unit contains a fully pipelined 3×3 multiply-accumulate unit with 9 separate floating-point multipliers and a subsequent adder tree for the summation of their products. This results in a total of 144 floating-point multipliers and 128 floating-point adders, which constitute the computational core of the accelerator. The processing units are fed from on-chip caches. In total, up to 1.7 MB parameters (442 000 single-precision floating-point weights) and 133 kB image data are buffered in the on-chip Block RAM [an input memory for buffering]. When synthesized for the Zynq XC-7Z045 FPGA, this configuration results in the resource requirements and device utilization figures shown in table 5.2. The fact that more than 90 % of all Block RAM resources and more than 80 % of the DSP slices are utilized highlights the good fit of the architecture to the given FPGA and is a result from the co-optimization of both the FPGA architecture and the ZynqNet CNN.”)
Gschwend teaches input signals from an external component;
(Gschwend, pg. 30, “These settings add a substantial amount of variation to the images, and were chosen to approximately emulate the reduced quality of webcam images, preparing the network for actual input images during demonstrations [input signals from an external component; wherein the input signals ie input images are provided via the CAM (camera) in fig. 4.1]. In addition to the increased amount of images in the augmented dataset, the final trainings were run for 60 epochs instead of 30 epochs, effectively showing the network each image 60 times in 6 variations. This resulted in another gain of 3.1 % accuracy”)
Gschwend teaches a microcontroller ("MCU") configured to provide a stream of pre-processed data in accordance with the input signals;
(Gschwend, “The Zynqbox has been designed by Supercomputing Systems AG for the evaluation of high-performance image processing algorithms, especially in automotive settings. The embedded platform is based on the Xilinx Zynq-7000 All Programmable System-on-Chip (SoC), which combines a dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 processor [a microcontroller ("MCU") configured to] with programmable FPGA fabric in a single device. The Zynqbox includes a Xilinx Zynq XC-7Z045 SoC, 1 GB DDR3 memory for the ARM processor, 768 MB independent DDR3 memory for the programmable logic, and plenty of connection options (Serial Camera Interfaces [provide a stream of pre-processed data in accordance with the input signals; wherein a stream of pre-processed data in accordance with the input signals is the stream of input images provided by the camera], USB, CAN, Gigabit Ethernet). The Kintex-7 FPGA fabric of the SoC features 350k logic cells, 218k LUTs, 2180 kB Block RAM and 900 DSP slices. The CPU runs at up to 1 GHz, boots a standard Linux operating system and is connected to the programmable logic via high-performance AXI4 ports for data exchange and control. Figure 4.1 shows a schematic overview of the Zynqbox platform [92].”)
Gschwend teaches and a first portion of configurable logic blocks ("LBs") of a field programmable gate arrays ("FPGA"), coupled to the MCU, configured to be programmed to behave as a machine learning processor
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [a first portion of configurable logic blocks ("LBs") ie processing elements of a field programmable gate arrays ("FPGA"), coupled to the MCU (see Fig. 4.1), configured to be programmed to behave as a machine learning processor ie perform computations of the CNN]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
Gschwend teaches containing a memory controller, wherein the memory controller includes a local memory to cache a portion of coefficients
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1 teaches the MemoryController coupled to WCache store the coefficients)
Gschwend teaches obtained from a dynamic random-access memory ("DRAM").
(Gschwend, pg. 41 Fig. 4.4 teaches loading weights from the DRAM to the WCache in the FPGA)
Gschwend teaches and a second portion of configurable LBs of FPGA configured to be one or more ML accelerators capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with the information in the input memory
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [and a second portion of configurable LBs of FPGA configured to be one or more ML accelerators ie different processing elements capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with the information in the input memory; wherein the parallelization of the different processing elements is a second portion of configurable LBs and offloading computations to other processing elements ie secondary computing units]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
Gschwend teaches wherein each of the ML accelerators includes an arbitrator configured to read data of previous layer.
(Gschwend, Figure E.1,
and figure 4.4 teaches each ML accelerator (processing elements) reading data (weights) for each layer)
)
In regards to claim 21,
Gschwend teaches The device of claim 20,
Gschwend teaches wherein the local memory is a static RAM ("SRAM") configured to store addresses for accessing DRAM.
(Gschwend, “The Zynqbox has been designed by Supercomputing Systems AG for the evaluation of high-performance image processing algorithms, especially in automotive settings. The embedded platform is based on the Xilinx Zynq-7000 All Programmable System-on-Chip (SoC), which combines a dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 processor with programmable FPGA fabric in a single device. The Zynqbox includes a Xilinx Zynq XC-7Z045 SoC, 1 GB DDR3 memory for the ARM processor, 768 MB independent DDR3 memory for the programmable logic, and plenty of connection options (Serial Camera Interfaces, USB, CAN, Gigabit Ethernet). The Kintex-7 FPGA fabric of the SoC features 350k logic cells, 218k LUTs, 2180 kB Block RAM [local memory ie WCache is a static RAM ("SRAM") ie Block RAM configured to store addresses for accessing DRAM] and 900 DSP slices. The CPU runs at up to 1 GHz, boots a standard Linux operating system and is connected to the programmable logic via high-performance AXI4 ports for data exchange and control. Figure 4.1 shows a schematic overview of the Zynqbox platform [92].”)
In regards to claim 22,
Gschwend teaches The device of claim 20,
Gschwend teaches wherein the local memory stores addresses for facilitating DRAM data burst mode.
(Gschwend, pg. 38 Section 4.2.4, “Need for on-chip Caching [local memory stores addresses] Looking at the pseudo-code in algorithm 1, it can be seen that multiple memory locations are read and written more than once. Accesses into main memory are expensive, both in terms of latency and energy. They cannot be completely avoided because the on-chip memory is not big enough to hold all CNN parameters as well as the intermediate feature maps. However, the goal is to minimize the number of reads and writes to the external memory by maximizing on-chip data reuse. Furthermore, all unavoidable memory operations should be linear in order to facilitate burst mode transfers [facilitating DRAM data burst mode]. Caches allow both the linearization of memory accesses, as well as the temporary storage of values that will be reused shortly after.”)
In regards to claim 23,
Gschwend teaches The device of claim 20,
Gschwend teaches wherein the memory controller is configured to reorder trained machine learning and neural network model coefficients in a sequential addressing order.
Examiner interprets sequential addressing to be utilizing the neural network coefficients in order of the neural network layers in light of the specification, (“[0076] Layers with multiple inputs and outputs also benefit from a memory controller which offers multiple address caching since these multiple inputs and outputs are located at different addresses themselves. Layers with sequential addressing (such as standard convolutions) include a larger number of inputs at a time for calculating one output. Layer computation tends to use the same address space repeatedly with different coefficients for calculating each layer output.”)
(Gschwend, pg. 41 fig. 4.4 teaches for each layer, the layer config is transmitted to the FPGA and set for all blocks and the weights are loaded per layer)
In regards to claim 24,
Gschwend teaches The device of claim 20,
Gschwend teaches wherein the memory controller facilitates to temporally maintain read addresses for in-progress read operations.
(Gschwend, pg. 49, “
Assuming that array has enough read ports, the loop could be partially unrolled to allow
parallel read accesses. However, this is prevented because the function readArray can only
be called sequentially. Adding the function instantiation directive creates four copies of
readArray, and unrolling by a factor of 4 becomes possible:
Dataflow #pragma HLS DATAFLOW activates the dataflow optimization used for task-level
parallelism in Vivado HLS. By default, the compiler always tries to minimize latency and
improve concurrency by scheduling operations as soon as possible. Data dependencies limit
this type of parallelism: By default, a process A must finish all write accesses to an array
before it is considered finished and a second process B can start consuming the data [temporally maintain read addresses for in-progress read operations; wherein the MemoryController manages the dataflow (restricting read/write access) in the FPGA].”)
Claim 26 is rejected under the same rationale under 35 U.S.C. 102 as it is substantially similar to claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16, 18-19, 27-31, and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gschwend, David. "Zynqnet: An fpga-accelerated embedded convolutional neural network" (“Gschwend”) in further view of Farabet, Clément, et al. "Hardware accelerated convolutional neural networks for synthetic vision systems." Proceedings of 2010 IEEE international symposium on circuits and systems. IEEE, 2010. (“Farabet”)
In regards to claim 14,
Gschwend teaches A method for processing data via a dedicated neural network processor, comprising:
obtaining a trained model information for a machine learning operation;
(Gschwend, pg. 8 paragraph 2, “Network Specification In order to fully describe a convolutional neural network, the following information is required:
1. a topological description of the network graph
2. a list of layers and their settings
3. the weights and biases in each layer
4. (optionally) a training protocol
In Caffe, the network description and the layer settings are stored in a JSON-like, humanreadable text format called .prototxt. The weights are saved in binary .caffemodel files.
The training protocol is also supplied in .prototxt format and includes settings such as the
base learning rate, the learning rate schedule, the batch size, the optimization algorithm, as
well as the random seeds for training initialization. These settings are only needed if the
network is to be trained from scratch or finetuned, which refers to the process of adapting
a trained network to a different dataset. For inference, where a fully trained network is
utilized for forward-computation on new input data, the network description and the trained
weights are sufficient [obtaining a trained model information for a machine learning operation].”)
Gschwend teaches extracting model information from the trained model information
(Gschwend, pg. 84, Fig. E.1 teaches extracting model information ie layer, num_weights, etc from the given input (trained model information),
”)
Gschwend teaches and storing the model information in an onboard first [nonvolatile] memory [("NVM")] in the FPGA;
(Gschwend, pg. 84, Fig. E.1. teaches storing the model information ie setLayer Config in a first memory of the FPGA)
Gschwend teaches parsing coefficients representing model layer weights and bias from the trained model and storing the coefficients in a second [N]VM in the FPGA; and
(Gschwend, pg. 84 Fig. E.1, pg. 40, “Weights Cache (WCache) [storing the coefficients in a second [N]VM in the FPGA] is the final and biggest cache. It holds all the ci × co filters of the current layer. The accelerator benefits massively from the low parameter count in
ZynqNet CNN, which allows all weights to be kept on-chip. The maximum number
of 384 × 112 × (3 × 3) = 387 072 weights plus 112 bias values [parsing coefficients representing model layer weights and bias from the trained model; wherein the weights and bias are obtained from the setLayer Config] is required in layer fire8/squeeze3x3. Layer conv10 requires a comparable number of 736 × 512 × (1 × 1) =
376 832 parameters plus 512 bias values. Due to implementation details, the cache is
implemented with a capacity of 16 × 3 × 1024 × 9 = 442 368 elements.”)
Gschwend teaches configuring a portion of the FPGA to be a machine learning processor capable of processing computational operations
(Gschwend, pg. 33 4.1.3, “This project focuses on the proof-of-concept implementation of an FPGA-accelerated embedded CNN. First and foremost, the challenge in this chapter consists of
fitting a complete CNN for image classification on ImageNet
onto the low-power Zynq XC-7Z045 with decent performance”)
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [configuring a portion of the FPGA ie processing elements to be a machine learning processor capable of processing computational operations ie dot-products/intra-kernel multiplications]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
Gschwend teaches offloaded from a microcontroller ("MCU") in accordance with information stored in the second NVM:
(Gschwend, pg. 31 4.1.1, pg. 32 Fig. 4.1, “The Zynqbox has been designed by Supercomputing Systems AG for the evaluation of high-performance image processing algorithms, especially in automotive settings. The embedded platform is based on the Xilinx Zynq-7000 All Programmable System-on-Chip (SoC), which combines a dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 processor [offloaded from a microcontroller; wherein Examiner interprets offloaded as the FPGA is communicated to perform the computational operations instead of the microcontroller and the computational operations are performed with the weights obtained from the Wcache (second NVM)] with programmable FPGA fabric in a single device. The Zynqbox includes a Xilinx Zynq XC-7Z045 SoC, 1 GB DDR3 memory for the ARM processor, 768 MB independent DDR3 memory for the programmable logic, and plenty of connection options (Serial Camera Interfaces, USB, CAN, Gigabit Ethernet). The Kintex-7 FPGA fabric of the SoC features 350k logic cells, 218k LUTs, 2180 kB Block RAM and 900 DSP slices. The CPU runs at up to 1 GHz, boots a standard Linux operating system and is connected to the programmable logic via high-performance AXI4 ports for data exchange and control. Figure 4.1 shows a schematic overview of the Zynqbox platform [92].”)
Gschwend teaches the memory type can be nonvolatile memory
(Gschwend, pg. 51, “Memory Type and Style Memories in the FPGA hardware are described as arrays in the high-level source code. Only statically declared arrays with a fixed size are supported for
synthesis. The mapping between the C/C++ arrays and the underlying hardware can be
influenced with a number of compiler directives. The memory type (RAM, ROM [nonvolatile], FIFO) and implementation style (Block RAM, Distributed RAM, Shift Register) can be chosen by using the previously introduced #pragma HLS RESOURCE directive.
”)
Gschwend teaches and configuring another portion of the FPGA to be one or more ML accelerators capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with information stored in the second NVM.
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [configuring another portion of the FPGA to be one or more ML accelerators ie different processing elements capable of performing one or more dedicated neural network operations for offloading tasks from the ML processor in accordance with information stored in the second NVM; wherein the parallelization of the different processing elements is another portion of the FPGA and offloading computations to other processing elements and parallelizing the executions using different processing elements is interpreted to be accelerating the executions]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
However, Gschwend does not explicitly teach from a model information block situated in a field programmable gate arrays ("FPGA")
Farabet teaches from a model information block situated in a field programmable gate arrays ("FPGA");
Examiner’s note: Examiner interprets the model information block as software in light of the specification (“[0047] FIG. 3 is a block diagram300 illustrating a software architecture of implementing neural network in FPGA in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention. Diagram 300 includes a block of TensorflowTM FlatbufferTM file or flatbuffers file 302, model information block 306, and coefficients block 308. In one aspect, FPGA can be programmed to be COS implementing neural network operations or ML processing in accordance with the information in flatbuffers file 302. It should be noted that the underlying concept of the exemplary embodiment(s) of the present invention would not change if one or more blocks (circuit or elements) were added to or removed from diagram 300.”)
(Farabet, Section III, “A fully-digital coded hardware implementation of a scalable ConvNet [4] has been developed and implemented. Small analog versions of ConvNets have been implemented, but at the time were not able to scale [7]. We believe a fully-digital implementation with current FPGA and ASIC technologies is the easiest way to get a software-compatible object-recognition networks, that is easy to setup and operate, use reduced power consumption and provides high numeric precision. The entire system is coded in hardware description languages (HDL), and is targeted for ASIC synthesis or programmable hardware like FPGAs [from a model information block situated in a field programmable gate arrays ("FPGA"); wherein digital coded hardware implementation of the neural network is interpreted to be the neural network coded (software) on the FPGA].”)
Gschwend and Farabet are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of embedding hardware with neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gschwend to incorporate the teachings of Farabet in order to provide a fully-digital implementation of a neural network on an FPGA to reduce power consumption and provide high numeric precision (Farabet, Section III., “We believe a fully-digital implementation with current FPGA and ASIC technologies is the easiest way to get a software-compatible object-recognition networks, that is easy to setup and operate, use reduced power consumption and provides high numeric precision.”)
In regards to claim 15,
Gschwend and Farabet teaches The method of claim 14,
Gschwend teaches further comprising: retrieving one or more model information for the first NVM; and
(Gschwend, pg. 57, “The files also contain all the relative address offsets of the corresponding memory-mapped registers. However, the driver relies on the Userspace I/O (UIO) kernel module, which in turn relies on the correct device tree being loaded into the kernel at boot time. Neiter of these requirements is fulfilled in the default SCS Zynqbox installation, and the advanced project time did not allow to fix this. Therefore, we had to patch the low-level driver functions to directly access the Zynq’s memory bus to talk to the FPGA-based block, instead of using the elegant UIO module.
In Linux, the root user can directly access the physical memory bus without going through
the virtual-to-physical address translation by reading and writing the /dev/mem character
file. The physical address range which is assigned to the accelerator’s AXI4-Lite interface can
be found in the Address Editor in Vivado Design Suite’s Block Design tool. The corresponding
section of the /dev/mem file can then be memory-mapped into the application’s own memory space usingint fd = open("/dev/mem", O_RDWR); volatile uint32_t* axilite =
(uint32_t*)mmap(NULL, AXILITE_LENGTH, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, fd, AXILITE_BASEADDR) [retrieving the model information for the first NVM; wherein fig. E.1 teaches AXILITE inputting the model information and storing the model information ie setLayer Config in the Image Cache ie first NVM]; All subsequent reads and writes of *(axilite + byte_offset) are mapped into the /dev/mem file, and from there directly onto the memory bus. This method has been successfully implemented, and the communication between the FPGA accelerator and the CPU-based software is fully functional. The only drawback is the requirement for root privileges when running the ZynqNet Embedded CNN.”)
Gschwend teaches forwarding the model information to layer register map in the FPGA.
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1 teaches loading the model information into the registers of the processing elements ie machine learning processor wherein the processing element is in the FPGA; further the model information is provided per layer)
In regards to claim 16,
Gschwend and Farabet teaches The method of claim 15,
Gschwend teaches further comprising: retrieving the model information from the layer register map
(Gschwend, pg. 57, “The files also contain all the relative address offsets of the corresponding memory-mapped registers [from the layer register map]. However, the driver relies on the Userspace I/O (UIO) kernel module, which in turn relies on the correct device tree being loaded into the kernel at boot time. Neither of these requirements is fulfilled in the default SCS Zynqbox installation, and the advanced project time did not allow to fix this. Therefore, we had to patch the low-level driver functions to directly access the Zynq’s memory bus to talk to the FPGA-based block, instead of using the elegant UIO module.
In Linux, the root user can directly access the physical memory bus without going through
the virtual-to-physical address translation by reading and writing the /dev/mem character
file. The physical address range which is assigned to the accelerator’s AXI4-Lite interface can
be found in the Address Editor in Vivado Design Suite’s Block Design tool. The corresponding
section of the /dev/mem file can then be memory-mapped into the application’s own memory space usingint fd = open("/dev/mem", O_RDWR); volatile uint32_t* axilite =
(uint32_t*)mmap(NULL, AXILITE_LENGTH, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, fd, AXILITE_BASEADDR) [retrieving the model information; wherein fig. E.1 teaches AXILITE inputting the model information]; All subsequent reads and writes of *(axilite + byte_offset) are mapped into the /dev/mem file, and from there directly onto the memory bus. This method has been successfully implemented, and the communication between the FPGA accelerator and the CPU-based software is fully functional. The only drawback is the requirement for root privileges when running the ZynqNet Embedded CNN.”)
Gschwend teaches and sending the model information to the machine learning processor; and
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1 teaches loading the model information into the registers of the processing elements ie machine learning processor wherein the processing element is in the FPGA; further the model information is provided per layer)
Gschwend teaches performing machine learning process in accordance with the model information and the coefficients from the second NVM.
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [performing machine learning process ie execution of the processing elements to compute operations of the CNN in accordance with the model information and the coefficients from the second NVM; wherein fig. E.1 teaches sending the weights and bias from the weight cache to the processing element]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
In regards to claim 18,
Gschwend and Farabet teaches The method of claim 14,
Gschwend teaches further comprising programming a first portion of configurable logic blocks ("LBs") of the FPGA to perform functions of the machine learning processor for facilitating offloading computational tasks.
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [a first portion of configurable logic blocks ("LBs") ie processing elements of the FPGA to perform functions ie computations for the CNN of the machine learning processor for facilitating offloading computational tasks ie parallelization of the computations between processing elements]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
(Gschwend, Section 2.2.1, “Field-Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs) are semiconductor devices consisting of a 2D array of configurable logic blocks (CLBs, or logic slices), which are connected via programmable interconnects. The interconnect can be thought of as a network of wire bundles running vertically and horizontally between the logic slices, with switchboxes at each intersection. Modern high-end FPGA generations feature hundreds of thousands of configurable logic blocks, and additionally include an abundance of hardened functional units which enable fast and efficient implementations of common functions.9 The logic blocks, the fixed-function units as well as the interconnect are programmed electronically by writing a configuration bitstream into the device.”)
(Gschwend, pg. 16 para. 2, “FPGA designs work best for very regular calculations which can be heavily parallelized by building custom processing engines using the programmable logic blocks.”)
In regards to claim 19,
Gschwend and Farabet teaches The method of claim 18,
Gschwend teaches further comprising programming a second portion of configurable LBs of the FPGA to perform functions of the MCU for offloading computational tasks to one or more secondary computing units.
(Gschwend, pg. 84 fig. E.1, pg. 38, “Parallelization Opportunities The nested loops can be a source of loop-level parallelism: independent loop iterations can be partially or fully unrolled and executed in parallel on different processing elements [programming a second portion of configurable LBs ie different processing elements of the FPGA to perform functions of the MCU for offloading computational tasks to one or more secondary computing units; wherein the parallelization of the different processing elements is a second portion of configurable LBs and offloading computations to other processing elements ie secondary computing units]. The following sources of loop-level parallelism can be exploited in the ZynqNet CNN:
• independence of layers when applied to different image frames
• independence of dot-products at different pixel positions (y, x)
• independence of input channels ci
• independence of output channels co
• independence of intra-kernel multiplications”)
(Gschwend, Section 2.2.1, “Field-Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs) are semiconductor devices consisting of a 2D array of configurable logic blocks (CLBs, or logic slices), which are connected via programmable interconnects. The interconnect can be thought of as a network of wire bundles running vertically and horizontally between the logic slices, with switchboxes at each intersection. Modern high-end FPGA generations feature hundreds of thousands of configurable logic blocks, and additionally include an abundance of hardened functional units which enable fast and efficient implementations of common functions.9 The logic blocks, the fixed-function units as well as the interconnect are programmed electronically by writing a configuration bitstream into the device.”)
(Gschwend, pg. 16 para. 2, “FPGA designs work best for very regular calculations which can be heavily parallelized by building custom processing engines using the programmable logic blocks.”)
Claim 27 is rejected under the same rationale under 35 U.S.C. 103 as it is substantially similar to claim 14
Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under the same rationale under 35 U.S.C. 103 as it is substantially similar to claim 15
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under the same rationale under 35 U.S.C. 103 as it is substantially similar to claim 16
Claim 33 is rejected under the same rationale under 35 U.S.C. 103 as it is substantially similar to claim 18
Claim 34 is rejected under the same rationale under 35 U.S.C. 103 as it is substantially similar to claim 19
Claim(s) 17 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gschwend in view of Farabet in further view of Sinha, Anugraha, et al. "Quantized deep learning models on low-power edge devices for robotic systems."
In regards to claim 17,
Gschwend and Farabet teaches The method of claim 14,
Gschwend teaches wherein obtaining a trained model information includes extracting model information from flatbufferTM of TensorflowTM
(Gschwend, pg. 8 paragraph 1, “Neural Network Training Frameworks There are many popular software frameworks specifically built for the design and training of neural networks, including, among others, the Neural Network Toolbox for MATLAB [27], Theano [28] with the extensions Lasagne [29] and Keras [30], Torch [31], TensorFlow [32] [wherein obtaining a trained model information includes extracting model information from… TensorflowTM] and Caffe [33]. Most of these frameworks can utilize one or multiple GPUs in order to heavily accelerate the training of neural networks. For this thesis, the Caffe framework has been used due to its maturity, its support in the GPU-based training system NVidia DIGITS, [34] and most importantly because of the excellent availability of network descriptions and pretrained network topologies in native Caffe format.”)
However, Gschwend does not teach [wherein obtaining a trained model information includes extracting model information from] flatbufferTM of TensorflowTM
Sinha teaches [wherein obtaining a trained model information includes extracting model information from] flatbufferTM of TensorflowTM
(Sinha, Section 3.4, “The model was trained and saved using the Keras API.3 For conversion and quantization we used TensorFlow Lite,4 an open source deep learning framework for on-device inference, based on TensorFlow[10]. The saved model was loaded and converted to a TensorFlow Lite FlatBuffer file [flatbufferTM of TensorflowTM] using a post-training weight quantization conversion technique.”)
Sinha is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of embedding hardware with neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gschwend and Farabet to incorporate the teachings of Sinha in order to provide a device embedded with a neural network at a very low cost (Tensorflow lite is open-source) (Sinha, Section I., “Deep learning on edge devices has major benefits that could have great impact on the developing world:
• Low latency: Fast on-device inference
• Privacy: Data is processed on-device
• Connectivity: Fully offline
• Power consumption: Low-power, low-cost
We utilize a device that is available at a very low cost (approximately $15 per microcontroller) and requires low power consumption in working mode.”)
Claim 32 is rejected under the same rationale under 35 U.S.C. 103 as it is substantially similar to claim 17.
Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gschwend in view of U.S. Pub. No. US20190190538A1 Park et al. (“Park”)
In regards to claim 25,
Gschwend teaches The device of claim 20,
Park teaches wherein the memory controller
(Park, “[0070] Memory controller 718 generally represents any type or form of device capable of handling memory or data or controlling communication between one or more components of computing system 710. For example, in certain embodiments memory controller 718 may control communication between processor 714, system memory 716, and I/O controller 720 via communication infrastructure 712.”)
Park teaches facilitates to compress and decompress trained machine learning and neural network model coefficients for conserving storage space.
(Park, “[0041] In various embodiments, reducing memory bandwidth consumption [conserving storage space] may directly translate to accelerated computation in bandwidth-limited systems. Compressing data, which may reduce a size of the data, may serve to reduce bandwidth usage and therefore eliminate a memory-bandwidth bottleneck. In some embodiments, data may be compressed before being written to memory, and the compressed data may be read from memory and decompressed on an accelerator before being used in neural network computations. Compression may be applied to an entire set of parameters for a neural network layer or may be selectively applied, for example, to a subset of parameters of a neural network or layer. Certain data, such as filter weights, may be compressed and cached locally for all or a portion of the processing involved in a particular neural network layer (or set of neural network layers) [compress… trained machine learning and neural network model coefficients].”)
(Park, “[0043] At decompression step 420, data that is compressed in DDR 402 or SRAM 404 may be transferred to on-board decompression logic of an accelerator and may be cached for access by, or streamed directly to, network-layer logical units 435. For example, network-layer logical units 435 may request decompressed parameters for a network layer from a cache (e.g., SRAM 404), which may store compressed and/or decompressed data) and may receive a stream of decompressed data directly from decompression logic. Alternatively, network-layer logical units 435 may read or receive compressed parameters and may perform decompression [decompress… trained machine learning and neural network model coefficients] within layer processing logic before using the parameters for layer processing operations.”)
Park is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of embedding hardware with neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gschwend to incorporate the teachings of Park in order to reduce memory bandwidth and eliminate any memory-bandwidth bottlenecks (Park, “[0041] In various embodiments, reducing memory bandwidth consumption may directly translate to accelerated computation in bandwidth-limited systems. Compressing data, which may reduce a size of the data, may serve to reduce bandwidth usage and therefore eliminate a memory-bandwidth bottleneck.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL: Joshi, Vinay, et al. "Accurate deep neural network inference using computational phase-change memory." Nature communications 11.1 (2020): 2473.
(Joshi, pg. 2 col. 1 para. 2, “In order to reduce the data transfers to a minimum in inference accelerators, a promising avenue is to employ in-memory computing using non-volatile memory devices3. Both charge-based storage devices, such as Flash memory4, and resistance-based (memristive) storage devices, such as metal-oxide resistive random-access memory (ReRAM)5,6 and phase-change memory (PCM)7–9 are being investigated for this. In this approach, the network weights are encoded as the analog charge state or conductance state of these devices organized in crossbar arrays, and the matrix-vector multiplications during inference can be performed in-situ in a single time step by exploiting Kirchhoff’s circuit laws. The fact that these devices are non-volatile (the weights will be retained when the power supply is turned off) and have multi-level storage capability (a single device can encode an analog range of values as opposed to 1 bit) is very attractive for inference applications. However, due to the analog nature of the weights programmed in these devices, only limited precision can be achieved in the matrix-vector multiplications and this could limit the achievable inference accuracy of the accelerator.”)
US Pub no. US20180173441A1 Sandisk teaches Method and apparatus for offloading data processing to hybrid storage devices
(Sandisk, Abstract, “Systems and methods for offloading data transformation from a host to a hybrid solid state drive (HSSD) are described. In one such method, the HSSD receives initial data from the host and stores the data at a first non-volatile memory (NVM). The HSSD receives a transformation command from the host to offload data transformation. The HSSD copies the data from the first NVM to a second NVM that is configured to provide a finer granularity of data access than that of the first NVM. Then the HSSD transforms the data at the second NVM utilizing the configured processing circuit. The HSSD may store the result in the first NVM and/or second NVM, and send it to the host.”)
US Pub no. US20150324691A1 Dropps et al. teaches Neural network connections using nonvolatile memory devices
(Dropps, Abstract, “A system includes a plurality of nonvolatile memory cells and a map that assigns connections between nodes of a neural network to the memory cells. Memory devices containing nonvolatile memory cells and applicable circuitry for reading and writing may operate with the map. Information stored in the memory cells can represent weights of the connections. One or more neural processors can be present and configured to implement the neural network.”)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/MICHAEL J HUNTLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2129