DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 19, 21-24, 26-28, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. “Cao” US2021/0144750 in view of Salim US 2024/0106575 and further in view of Lee et al. “Lee” US 2023/0199824.
Regarding claims 1 and 24, Cao teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a second UE over a sidelink channel, a plurality of repetitions of a transport block that together span a plurality of transmission time intervals (A UE receives a SL message indicating resources to transmit at least on TB over a plurality of periods (Steps 900 and 902 of Figure 9, see also paragraph 127. Paragraph 99 shows the pattern for transmissions use multiple repetitions of a TB. Paragraph 113 teaches sending one or multiple TBs up to K-1 repetitions. Thus one can see there can be one or many TBs transmit and many repetition);
determine, for each TTI of the plurality of TTIs, the one or more resources based at least in part on an index of the at least one of the plurality of transmission time intervals (HARQ feedback is sent for each transmission block that was transmitted for the plurality of periods (i.e. each TTI); Paragraph 127 step 904. Paragraph 129 gives an example that the retransmission uses the schedule retransmission resources and thus one can see there is a period identified for providing feedback. Paragraph 113 further teaches that a UE can select which TBs to transmit or follow rules to decide if it can transmit a new TB. Transmission occurs based on an index associated with the transmissions/channels/periods; Paragraph 208 and this is for all (i.e. plurality) of repetitions; Paragraphs 207 and 209. Paragraphs 129-130 further disclose a UE can make a retransmission using scheduled retransmission resources or it can take its own steps to retransmit using a resource during a subsequent period. Thus one can see the UE makes a determination for SL resources to send feedback); and
transmit the feedback, pertaining to reception of the plurality repetitions of the transport block, to the second UE over the plurality of resources of the sidelink feedback channel (Paragraph 127 step 904 which mentions this is done over all periods. Paragraph 129 gives an example that the retransmission uses the schedule retransmission resources and thus one can see there is a period identified for providing feedback. Paragraph 112 further teaches a single bit with respect to a period associated with the resource to transmit. Paragraphs 99 and 207/209 discuss the processing is done for all repetitions of a TB thus a plurality of repetitions).
While Cao teaches the determining step shown above, Cao does not expressly the determination of resources is for a sidelink feedback channel with a plurality of transmission time intervals with a corresponding index. Salim teaches transmitting feedback on a sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) after each repetition; Paragraphs 45 and 57. Figure 3 and Paragraph 60 show a plurality of transport blocks (TB) being sent at particular repetitions over time. Each repetition is viewed as a transmission time interval which are associated with TB0 and/or rep0-3. These are viewed as the corresponding index. The resource (300 of Figure 3) is thus related to these indexes/TTIs as claimed.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Cao to include the resources for sidelink channel resources are determined based on an index of TTIs as taught by Salim.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that spectral efficiency can be improved as taught by Salim; paragraph 57.
While Cao teaches determining resources based on TTI indexes, the prior art does not teach or suggest determining SL feedback resources based on transmission index and subchannel information; however, Lee teaches PSFCH resources are determined based on an index of a subchannel (i.e. quantity) and an index of a slot related to the PSSCH and a time gap; Paragraphs 289-293.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include determining SL feedback channel resources based on index information for time intervals and quantities of subchannel as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determine what sources to use for the PSFCH as taught by Lee; Paragraphs 289-293.
Regarding claim 6, Cao teaches each repetition is received over a different time interval (Paragraph 113 teaches sending one or multiple TBs up to K-1 repetitions. Thus one can see there can be one or many TBs transmit and many repetitions. Paragraph 121 further teaches that the repetitions occur within a plurality of periods, thus one can see that the repetitions span a plurality of periods/time intervals. Step 904 of Figure 9 teaches that each TB transmit is associated with feedback (one or multiple) and thus at least one of the transmission intervals is based on the plurality of repetitions of the TB because the time intervals are associated with the designated feedback).
Regarding claim 7, Cao teaches generating ACK information indicating if the first UE successfully received the TB based on decoding the plurality of repetitions of the TB and the feedback includes the ACK information (a UE may send an ACK if it successfully decodes the TB, however, sometimes the plurality of retransmissions are needed and thus the UE will send the ACK/NACK after all of them have been received; Paragraph 239. Thus one can see a plurality of repetitions of the TB are received/decoded prior to sending ACK/NACK in this instance).
Regarding claim 8, Cao teaches transmitting the ACK over each resources of the SL feedback channel determined for each TTI (the feedback is transmit over the corresponding PSFCH resources with respect to all the TBs. As there are a plurality of TBs associated with a plurality of resources, one can see the feedback for each would be transmit; Paragraph 138, see also paragraph 102 which teaches reporting ACK if all expected PSFCH resources are received carrying ACK. Again one can see feedback being transmit using all resources).
Regarding claim 9, Cao teaches generating, for each repetition, ACK information indicating if the first UE successfully received the repetition, wherein the feedback for each repetition (a UE may send an ACK if it successfully decodes the TB, however, sometimes the plurality of retransmissions are needed and thus the UE will send the ACK/NACK after all of them have been received; Paragraph 239. Thus one can see a plurality of repetitions of the TB are received/decoded prior to sending ACK/NACK in this instance. Paragraph 254 teaches multiple repetitions where each repetition has its own PSFCH resource where feedback is sent).
Regarding claim 11, Cao teaches identifying a temporally last transmission time interval wherein determining sidelink feedback channel is based on an index of the temporally last transmission time interval and a starting subchannel index or quantity of subchannels with the temporally last time interval (904 teaches receiving feedback for each TB transmit. Further the retransmission is related to the previous TB transmission when the feedback for a previous TB is a failure. The HARQ feedback is associated with the previous TB transmission indications (success or failure) (i.e., temporally last) sidelink feedback channel occasion (Step 904). Resources are assigned to the PSSCH (i.e. sidelink feedback channel) are based on the number of subchannels used for transmission and/or starting subchannel index numbers; Paragraph 97. Feedback is transmit on this channel based on the allocated resources; Paragraph 99).
Regarding claim 12, Cao teaches identifying a temporally first transmission time interval wherein determining sidelink feedback channel is based on an index of the temporally first transmission time interval and a starting subchannel index or quantity of subchannels with the temporally first time interval (904 teaches receiving feedback for each TB transmit. Further the retransmission is related to the previous TB transmission when the feedback for a previous TB is a failure. The HARQ feedback is associated with the previous TB transmission indications (success or failure) (i.e., temporally last) sidelink feedback channel occasion (Step 904). Resources are assigned to the PSSCH (i.e. sidelink feedback channel) are based on the number of subchannels used for transmission and/or starting subchannel index numbers; Paragraph 97. Feedback is transmit on this channel based on the allocated resources; Paragraph 99. Lastly, paragraph 120 teaches the time location can be the first resource period (i.e. temporally first)).
Regarding claim 14, Cao teaches receiving the repetitions of the TB in accordance with a type of reservation associated with the TTI, wherein identifying the TTIs is based at least on part of the type of reservation (Paragraph 173 teaches a mode 2 which enables a UE to reserve specific resources for transmission of the TB in a slot. Paragraph 61 expressly states that the transmission resources are reserved for SL transmission and subsequent transmissions. Thus one can see the TTIs and repetitions taught by Cao in claim 1 are reserved).
Regarding claim 15, Cao teaches wherein determining the one or more resources of the sidelink feedback channel comprises based at least in part on a starting subchannel index of the transport block within the transmission time interval or a quantity of subchannels associated with a sidelink shared channel included in the transmission time interval, wherein transmitting the feedback to the second UE comprises: transmitting the acknowledgement information over each resource of the sidelink feedback channel determined for each transmission time interval (resources assigned to the PSSCH (i.e. sidelink feedback channel) are based on the number of subchannels used for transmission and/or starting subchannel index numbers; Paragraph 97. Feedback is transmit on this channel based on the allocated resources; Paragraph 99. Thus one can see that for each interval, resources for the feedback channel correlate to the starting index and number of subchannels which are then used to transmit the ACK information as claimed).
Regarding claims 19 and 28, Cao teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a second UE over a sidelink channel, a plurality of repetitions of a transport block that together span a plurality of transmission time intervals (A ue receives a SL message indicating resources to transmit at least on TB over a plurality of periods ((Steps 900 and 902 of Figure 9, see also paragraph 127. Paragraph 99 shows the pattern for transmissions use multiple repetitions of a TB). Paragraph 113 teaches sending one or multiple TBs up to K-1 repetitions. Thus one can see there can be one or many TBs transmit and many repetition);
determine, for each TTI, a respective resource, of a plurality of resources based at least in part on an index of a corresponding transmission time intervals (HARQ feedback is sent for each transmission block that was transmitted for the plurality of periods (i.e. each TTI); Paragraph 127 step 904. Paragraph 129 gives an example that the retransmission uses the schedule retransmission resources and thus one can see there is a period identified for providing feedback. Paragraph 113 further teaches that a UE can select which TBs to transmit or follow rules to decide if it can transmit a new TB. Transmission occurs based on an index associated with the transmissions/channels/periods; Paragraph 208 and this is for all (i.e. plurality) of repetitions; Paragraphs 207 and 209. Paragraphs 129-130 further disclose a UE can make a retransmission using scheduled retransmission resources or it can take its own steps to retransmit using a resource during a subsequent period. Thus one can see the UE makes a determination for SL resources to send feedback); and
receive the feedback, pertaining to the transmission of the plurality of repetitions of the transport block, from the second UE over the plurality of resources of the sidelink feedback channel (Paragraph 127 step 904 which mentions this is done over all periods. Paragraph 129 gives an example that the retransmission uses the schedule retransmission resources and thus one can see there is a period identified for providing feedback. Paragraph 112 further teaches a single bit with respect to a period associated with the resource to transmit. Paragraphs 99 and 207/209 discuss the processing is done for all repetitions of a TB thus a plurality of repetitions).
While Cao teaches the determining step shown above, Cao does not expressly the determination of resources is for a sidelink feedback channel with a plurality of transmission time intervals with a corresponding index. Salim teaches transmitting feedback on a sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) after each repetition; Paragraphs 45 and 57. Figure 3 and Paragraph 60 show a plurality of transport blocks (TB) being sent at particular repetitions over time. Each repetition is viewed as a transmission time interval which are associated with TB0 and/or rep0-3. These are viewed as the corresponding index. The resource (300 of Figure 3) is thus related to these indexes/TTIs as claimed.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Cao to include the resources for sidelink channel resources are determined based on an index of TTIs as taught by Salim.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that spectral efficiency can be improved as taught by Salim; paragraph 57.
The prior art does not teach or suggest determining SL feedback resources based on transmission index and subchannel information; however, Lee teaches PSFCH resources are determined based on an index of a subchannel (i.e. quantity) and an index of a slot related to the PSSCH and a time gap; Paragraphs 289-293.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include determining SL feedback channel resources based on index information for time intervals and quantities of subchannel as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determine what sources to use for the PSFCH as taught by Lee; Paragraphs 289-293.
Regarding claims 22, Cao teaches transmitting the repetitions of the TB in accordance with a type of reservation associated with the TTI, wherein identifying the TTIs is based at least on part of the type of reservation (Paragraph 173 teaches a mode 2 which enables a UE to reserve specific resources for transmission of the TB in a slot. Paragraph 61 expressly states that the transmission resources are reserved for SL transmission and subsequent transmissions. Thus one can see the TTIs and repetitions taught by Cao in claim 1 are reserved).
Regarding claim 23, Cao teaches wherein determining the one or more resources of the sidelink feedback channel comprises based at least in part on a starting subchannel index of the transport block within the transmission time interval or a quantity of subchannels associated with a sidelink shared channel included in the transmission time interval, wherein transmitting the feedback to the second UE comprises: transmitting the acknowledgement information over each resource of the sidelink feedback channel determined for each transmission time interval (resources assigned to the PSSCH (i.e. sidelink feedback channel) are based on the number of subchannels used for transmission and/or starting subchannel index numbers; Paragraph 97. Feedback is transmit on this channel based on the allocated resources; Paragraph 99. Thus one can see that for each interval, resources for the feedback channel correlate to the starting index and number of subchannels which are then used to transmit the ACK information as claimed).
Regarding claim 26, Cao teaches each repetition is received over a different time interval wherein identifying the at least one transmission time interval is based on receiving the plurality of TBs (Paragraph 113 teaches sending one or multiple TBs up to K-1 repetitions. Thus one can see there can be one or many TBs transmit and many repetitions. Paragraph 121 further teaches that the repetitions occur within a plurality of periods, thus one can see that the repetitions span a plurality of periods/time intervals. Step 904 of Figure 9 teaches that each TB transmit is associated with feedback (one or multiple) and thus at least one of the transmission intervals is based on the plurality of repetitions of the TB because the time intervals are associated with the designated feedback).
Regarding claim 27, Cao teaches receiving the repetitions of the TB in accordance with a type of reservation associated with the TTI, wherein identifying the TTIs is based at least on part of the type of reservation (Paragraph 173 teaches a mode 2 which enables a UE to reserve specific resources for transmission of the TB in a slot. Paragraph 61 expressly states that the transmission resources are reserved for SL transmission and subsequent transmissions. Thus one can see the TTIs and repetitions taught by Cao in claim 1 are reserved).
Claim(s) 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Salim in view of Lee and further in view of Tseng et al. “Tseng” US 20180332501.
Regarding claim 13, While Cao teaches the slot indexes above, Cao does not disclose the TTIs include a plurality of mini-slots in the slot; however, Tseng teaches that the transmission time intervals include mini-slots for a transmission block; Paragraph 52 and Figure 3).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Cao to expressly disclose the use of mini-slots within a slot as taught by Tseng.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE, which is configured with K repetitions, can continue to repeat transmissions as taught by Tseng; Paragraphs 51-54.
Regarding claim 18, While Cao teaches the slot indexes above, Cao does not disclose the TTIs include a plurality of mini-slots in the slot; however, Tseng teaches that the transmission time intervals include mini-slots for a transmission block; Paragraph 52 and Figure 3).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Cao to expressly disclose the use of mini-slots within a slot as taught by Tseng.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE, which is configured with K repetitions, can continue to repeat transmissions as taught by Tseng; Paragraphs 51-54.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Salim in view of Lee in view of Kim et al. “Kim” US2018/0352568.
Regarding claim 16, Cao does not expressly disclose a plurality of feedback bits each using a different CRC in non-overlapping resources; however, Kim teaches a plurality of HARQ-ACK bits wherein a different cyclic shift is applied; Paragraphs 132-135. Further yet, the cyclic shifts are set so there is no overlap; Paragraph 191 (embodiment 1).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Cao to expressly non-overlapping resource blocks with a different cyclic shift applied to the feedback bits as taught by Kim.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the information can be separate and not overlap/collide with scheduling requests and other information as taught by Kim; Paragraph 191 (embodiment 1).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Salim in view of Lee in view of He et al. “He” US2020/0228289.
Regarding claim 17, Cao does not expressly disclose a plurality of feedback bits using a same cyclic shift; however, He teaches a plurality of HARQ-ACK bits which utilize a selected cyclic shift (i.e. same shift for the bits); Paragraph 68.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Cao to include using the same cyclic shift for the feedback bits as taught by He.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the HARQ-ACK bits can be properly indicated on the PUCCH as taught by He; Paragraph 68.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues Lee determines a singular feedback resource based on an index of a slot and subchannel and thus does not determine “for each respective transmission time interval…”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Lee does teach the use of a plurality of PDUs (Paragraph 308) so there can be more than one (thus not a singular MAC PDU as argued). However, the Examiner notes Cao was relied upon for the determination of information with respect to each TTI and plurality of resources. What Cao lacked was the idea of determining feedback based on a transmission index and subchannel information. Lee was not used to teach a plurality of repetitions or TTIs. When Lee’s teachings of determining feedback with respect to a slot index and subchannel index is combined with Cao’s teaching of the plurality of repetitions/TTIs, one would see that the determination of feedback based on subchannel information and transmission index would be performed for each repetition/TTI as claimed. Thus the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411