The amendment filed 2/26/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-6, 8-15, 17-20 and 22-30 are pending.
Claims 7, 16, 21 and 31-32 are canceled.
Claims 22-28 and 30 are allowed.
Claims 1-6, 8-15, 17-20 and 29 stand rejected.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner attempted to contact the office of Attorney Zachary Christofferson by voice mails on 4/30/2026 concerning a possible examiner’s amendment for Claims 1 and 29. The examiner did not receive a reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220039080 A1) in view of Ganesan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230309066 A1) and Fehrenbach et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190296872 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Khoryaev, Ganesan, and Fehrenbach.
In regard to Claim 1, Khoryaev teaches A method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (first vehicle 602. The same vehicle/V2X node (Vehicle-1), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7), comprising: identifying a sidelink positioning reference signal (a sidelink demodulation reference signals (DMRS) of a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH) within resources of transmission at 702 that can be used for sidelink ranging related measurements, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247) burst pattern (signaled or configured as a subframe or subcarrier 1504, Para. 152, FIG. 15. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) associated with a second UE (vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7), wherein the first UE (first vehicle 602. The same vehicle/V2X node (Vehicle-1), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7) is different from the second UE (vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7).
Khoryaev teaches identifying one or more bursts (Resources (including control information or channel control information) can be broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) of sidelink positioning reference signals (A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247) that are to be transmitted by the second UE (Broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15) via one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) in accordance with the sidelink positioning reference signal burst patterns (signaled or configured as a subframe or subcarrier 1504, Para. 152, FIG. 15. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15).
Khoryaev teaches, wherein the one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) occur between a second symbol used to transmit a first demodulation reference signal (sidelink DMRS can be signaled or configured as a partial bandwidth 1502, Para. 152, FIG. 15) and a third symbol used to transmit a second demodulation reference signal (sidelink DMRS can be signaled or configured along an entire/full/complete bandwidth 1506, Para. 152, FIG. 15).
Khoryaev teaches scheduling transmission of a sidelink data message (transmit spectrum resources in a high band 710, Para. 120, FIG. 7), by the first UE (first vehicle 602, Para. 120, FIG. 7), to occur (a first vehicle 602 can transmit spectrum resources in a high band 710 that can be used or associated with resources to be used in a low band (see arrow from 710 to low band 714), Para. 120, FIG. 7).
Khoryaev teaches at least a subset of the one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) that include the one or more bursts (Resources (including control information or channel control information) can be broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) of sidelink positioning reference signals (A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247) to be transmitted by the second UE (Broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15) based at least in part on identifying the one or more bursts (Resources (including control information or channel control information) can be broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) of sidelink positioning reference signals (A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247) and based at least in part on at least the subset of the one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) occurring between the second symbol (sidelink DMRS can be signaled or configured as a partial bandwidth 1502, Para. 152, FIG. 15) and the third symbol (sidelink DMRS can be signaled or configured along an entire/full/complete bandwidth 1506, Para. 152, FIG. 15).
Khoryaev teaches transmitting, by the first UE (first vehicle 602. The same vehicle/V2X node (Vehicle-1), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7), the sidelink data message (transmit spectrum resources in a high band 710, Para. 120, FIG. 7).
Khoryaev teaches at least the subset of the one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) that includes the one or more bursts (Resources (including control information or channel control information) can be broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) of sidelink positioning reference signals (A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247).
Although Khoryaev teaches scheduling transmission of a sidelink data message, by the first UE, to occur, and teaches at least a subset of the one or more first symbols that include the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals to be transmitted by the second UE, Khoryaev fails to teach scheduling transmission of a sidelink data message to occur during at least a subset of the one or more first symbols that include the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, and although Khoryaev teaches transmitting, by the first UE, the sidelink data message, and teaches at least the subset of the one or more first symbols that includes the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, Khoryaev fails to teach transmitting the sidelink data message via at least the subset of the one or more first symbols that includes the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals.
Ganesan teaches scheduling transmission of a sidelink data message (a sidelink UE, Para. 79. Segmented data may be transmitted in a next available resource found as a result of reservation from earlier transmission or based on a new candidate resource set from another resource trigger and/or retrigger, Para. 80. Multiplex data in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90) to occur during at least a subset of the one or more first symbols (it may be allowed to multiplex PRS with data in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90) that include the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals (A number of symbols used in a slot for SL PRS transmission may be configured, Para. 74. Multiplex PRS in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90).
Ganesan teaches transmitting the sidelink data message (the UE segments the data and transmits in an available contiguous resource, Para. 80) via at least the subset of the one or more first symbols (it may be allowed to multiplex PRS with data in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90) that includes the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals (A number of symbols used in a slot for SL PRS transmission may be configured, Para. 74. Multiplex PRS in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ganesan with the teachings of Khoryaev since Ganesan provides a technique to multiplex sidelink positioning reference signals with data in frequency domains within symbols, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev to permit transmitting sidelink positioning reference signals with data within the same symbols for rapid processing of positioning information alongside processing of data communications.
Although Khoryaev in view of Ganesan teaches one or more first symbols, a second symbol, and a third symbol, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan fails to teach one or more first symbols of a slot, a second symbol of the slot, and a third symbol of the slot.
Fehrenbach teaches one or more first symbols of a slot (FIG. 2 shows an example for sTTI length of ¾ and 2 Symbols, Para. 13, FIGS. 2a, 2b. FIGS. 2a and 2b show PUSCH sTTI1 in symbol 2 of slot 0), wherein the one or more first symbols (FIGS. 2a and 2b show PUSCH sTTI1 in symbol 2 of slot 0) occur between a second symbol of the slot used to transmit a first demodulation reference signal (Each slot contains one DMRS symbol spanning the whole transmission bandwidth, Para. 12, FIGS. 1, 2b. FIGS. 2a and 2b show symbol 1 of slot 0 containing a DMRS) and a third symbol of the slot used to transmit a second demodulation reference signal (FIGS. 2a and 2b show symbol 4 of slot 0 containing a DMRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fehrenbach with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan since Fehrenbach provides a technique for a slot to contain multiple symbols for DMRS with other uplink symbols, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan to permit multiple DMRS transmission to be conducted in the symbols of a slot.
In regard to Claim 2, Khoryaev teaches scheduling the transmission of the sidelink data message further comprises: identifying, for the transmission of the sidelink data message (a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH) within resources of transmission at 702, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. Sensing based channel access procedure (resource selection) used for PSCCH/PSSCH, Para. 153, FIG. 15), first resource elements used to transmit the sidelink data message as spanning a first bandwidth (A partial bandwidth 1502, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15) that is different from but at least partially overlaps with a second bandwidth spanned by second resource elements (an entire/full/complete bandwidth 1506, Para. 152, FIG. 15) on which the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals are transmitted by the second UE (Resources (including control information or channel control information) can be broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N), Para. 120, FIGS. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmissions 1506 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15. A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247, FIG. 15).
In regard to Claim 3, Khoryaev teaches transmitting the sidelink data message further comprises: rate-matching the transmission of the sidelink data message (a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH), Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. A partial bandwidth 1502, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15) around second resource elements (a subframe or subcarrier 1504, or along an entire/full/complete bandwidth 1506, Para. 152, FIG. 15) on which the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals are transmitted (the DMRS/SR-RS transmissions 1504, 1506 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15), wherein the first UE also transmits a first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals of the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals (signaled or configured as a subframe or subcarrier 1504, or along an entire/full/complete bandwidth 1506, Para. 152, FIG. 15. FIG. 15 shows 4 separate DMRS/SR-RS signal resources within each of transmissions 1504 and 1506, Para. 155) in accordance with a first sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern (a sidelink demodulation reference signals (DMRS) of a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH) within resources of transmission at 702 that can be used for sidelink ranging related measurements, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504, 1506 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15. A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247).
In regard to Claim 4, Khoryaev teaches scheduling the transmission of the sidelink data message (a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH) within resources of transmission at 702, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. Sensing based channel access procedure (resource selection) used for PSCCH/PSSCH, Para. 153, FIG. 15) further comprises: scheduling transmission of a sidelink shared channel message (a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), Para. 47. Referring to FIG. 15, a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH), Para. 152, FIG. 15) or a sidelink control information stage two message, wherein the sidelink data message is scheduled to be transmitted as either a unicast, multicast, or broadcast message (Sidelink unicast/broadcast communication between devices, Para. 100).
In regard to Claim 29, Khoryaev teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (first vehicle 602. The same vehicle/V2X node (Vehicle-1), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7), comprising: one or more processor; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors (the functionality of baseband processors 204A-D can be included in modules stored in the memory 204G and executed via a Central Processing Unit (CPU) 204E, Para. 63, FIGS. 1-2) to cause the apparatus to: identify a sidelink positioning reference signal (a sidelink demodulation reference signals (DMRS) of a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH) within resources of transmission at 702 that can be used for sidelink ranging related measurements, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247) burst pattern (signaled or configured as a subframe or subcarrier 1504, Para. 152, FIG. 15. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15), associated with a second UE (vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7), wherein the first UE (first vehicle 602. The same vehicle/V2X node (Vehicle-1), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7) is different from the second UE (vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7).
Khoryaev teaches identify one or more bursts (Resources (including control information or channel control information) can be broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 70, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504, 1506 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) of sidelink positioning reference signals (A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247) that are to be transmitted by the second UE (Broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 70, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15) via one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) in accordance with the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern (signaled or configured as a subframe or subcarrier 1504, Para. 152, FIG. 15. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15).
Khoryaev teaches, wherein the one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) occur between a second symbol used to transmit a first demodulation reference signal (sidelink DMRS can be signaled or configured as a partial bandwidth 1502, Para. 152, FIG. 15) and a third symbol used to transmit a second demodulation reference signal (sidelink DMRS can be signaled or configured along an entire/full/complete bandwidth 1506, Para. 152, FIG. 15).
Khoryaev teaches schedule transmission of a sidelink data message (transmit spectrum resources in a high band 710, Para. 120, FIG. 7), by the first UE (first vehicle 602, Para. 120, FIG. 7), to occur (a first vehicle 602 can transmit spectrum resources in a high band 710 that can be used or associated with resources to be used in a low band (see arrow from 710 to low band 714), Para. 120, FIG. 7).
Khoryaev teaches at least a subset of the one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) that include the one or more bursts (Resources (including control information or channel control information) can be broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) of sidelink positioning reference signals (A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247) to be transmitted by the second UE (Broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15) based at least in part on identifying the one or more bursts (Resources (including control information or channel control information) can be broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) of sidelink positioning reference signals (A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247) and based at least in part on at least the subset of the one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) occurring between the second symbol (sidelink DMRS can be signaled or configured as a partial bandwidth 1502, Para. 152, FIG. 15) and the third symbol (sidelink DMRS can be signaled or configured along an entire/full/complete bandwidth 1506, Para. 152, FIG. 15).
Khoryaev teaches transmit, by the first UE (first vehicle 602. The same vehicle/V2X node (Vehicle-1), Para. 120, FIGS. 6, 7), the sidelink data message (transmit spectrum resources in a high band 710, Para. 120, FIG. 7).
Khoryaev teaches at least the subset of the one or more first symbols (The V/V2X 602, 622 can utilize a function f( ). The function f( ) can comprise the following: [ti, fi, si, ci], where ti can be defined as the time resource index (e.g. symbol), Para. 113, FIGS. 6, 7. DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) that includes the one or more bursts (Resources (including control information or channel control information) can be broadcasted with other vehicles or nodes also as illustrated at vehicle 622 (Vehicle-N) transmitting spectrum resources 716 in the low band 702, Para. 120, FIG. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15) of sidelink positioning reference signals (A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247).
Although Khoryaev teaches schedule transmission of a sidelink data message, by the first UE, to occur, and teaches at least a subset of the one or more first symbols that include the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals to be transmitted by the second UE, Khoryaev fails to teach schedule transmission of a sidelink data message to occur during at least a subset of the one or more first symbols that include the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, and although Khoryaev teaches transmit, by the first UE, the sidelink data message, and teaches at least the subset of the one or more first symbols that includes the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, Khoryaev fails to teach transmit the sidelink data message via at least the subset of the one or more first symbols that includes the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals.
Ganesan teaches schedule transmission of a sidelink data message (a sidelink UE, Para. 79. Segmented data may be transmitted in a next available resource found as a result of reservation from earlier transmission or based on a new candidate resource set from another resource trigger and/or retrigger, Para. 80. Multiplex data in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90) to occur during at least a subset of the one or more first symbols (it may be allowed to multiplex PRS with data in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90) that include the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals (A number of symbols used in a slot for SL PRS transmission may be configured, Para. 74. Multiplex PRS in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90).
Ganesan teaches transmit the sidelink data message (the UE segments the data and transmits in an available contiguous resource, Para. 80) via at least the subset of the one or more first symbols (it may be allowed to multiplex PRS with data in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90) that includes the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals (A number of symbols used in a slot for SL PRS transmission may be configured, Para. 74. Multiplex PRS in frequency domains within a symbol, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ganesan with the teachings of Khoryaev since Ganesan provides a technique to multiplex sidelink positioning reference signals with data in frequency domains within symbols, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev to permit transmitting sidelink positioning reference signals with data within the same symbols for rapid processing of positioning information alongside processing of data communications.
Although Khoryaev in view of Ganesan teaches one or more first symbols, a second symbol, and a third symbol, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan fails to teach one or more first symbols of a slot, a second symbol of the slot, and a third symbol of the slot.
Fehrenbach teaches one or more first symbols of a slot (FIG. 2 shows an example for sTTI length of ¾ and 2 Symbols, Para. 13, FIGS. 2a, 2b. FIGS. 2a and 2b show PUSCH sTTI1 in symbol 2 of slot 0), wherein the one or more first symbols (FIGS. 2a and 2b show PUSCH sTTI1 in symbol 2 of slot 0) occur between a second symbol of the slot used to transmit a first demodulation reference signal (Each slot contains one DMRS symbol spanning the whole transmission bandwidth, Para. 12, FIGS. 1, 2b. FIGS. 2a and 2b show symbol 1 of slot 0 containing a DMRS) and a third symbol of the slot used to transmit a second demodulation reference signal (FIGS. 2a and 2b show symbol 4 of slot 0 containing a DMRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fehrenbach with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan since Fehrenbach provides a technique for a slot to contain multiple symbols for DMRS with other uplink symbols, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan to permit multiple DMRS transmission to be conducted in the symbols of a slot.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Ganesan, Fehrenbach, and further in view of Qi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210298088 A1), hereafter referred to as Qi.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach transmitting one or more demodulation reference signals associated with the sidelink data message multiplexed with the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, wherein the multiplexing is at a resource element level or a code level.
Qi teaches transmitting one or more demodulation reference signals associated with the sidelink data message multiplexed with the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals (FIG. 16b shows PRS RBs multiplexing with DMRS/PTRS (with PRS shifted), Para. 24, FIG. 16b. It is possible to multiplex PRS with other reference signals, Para. 158, FIG. 16a), wherein the multiplexing is at a resource element level or a code level (PRS is shifted by one or multiple REs or symbols when colliding with DMRS. This is shown in FIG. 16b where PRS which would otherwise be punctured (as in FIG. 16a) is shifted to a neighbouring (or possibly other) RE so that the frequency of PRS transmission is maintained), Para. 161, FIG. 16b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qi with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Qi provides a technique for transmitting positioning reference signals along with other types of signals among resources, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to permit efficient utilization of wireless resources by efficiently combining different types of signals with positioning reference signals tin order to maximize the capacity and information conveyed with each transmission performed.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach transmitting the first and second demodulation reference signals associated with the sidelink data message by puncturing, at a resource element level, a resource block level, a sub-channel level, or a symbol level, at least one of a portion of the first and second demodulation reference signals, a subset of the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, or both, in an overlapping frequency region associated with the sidelink data message.
Qi teaches transmitting the first and second demodulation reference signals associated with the sidelink data message by puncturing, at a resource element level, a resource block level, a sub-channel level, or a symbol level, at least one of a portion of the first and second demodulation reference signals, a subset of the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, or both, in an overlapping frequency region associated with the sidelink data message (FIG. 16a shows PRS RBs multiplexing with DMRS (with PRS puncturing), Para. 23, FIG. 16a. It is possible to multiplex PRS with other reference signals, Para. 158, FIG. 16a. PRS pattern is designed to avoid the symbols where DMRS could potentially be configured as shown in FIG. 16a. For additional DMRS, PRS can be punctured. In this context, PRS is punctured where it would otherwise coincide with DMRS, Para. 159, FIG. 16a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qi with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Qi provides a technique for transmitting positioning reference signals along with other types of signals among resources, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to permit efficient utilization of wireless resources by efficiently combining different types of signals with positioning reference signals tin order to maximize the capacity and information conveyed with each transmission performed.
Claim(s) 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Ganesan, Fehrenbach, and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160330011 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches sidelink positioning reference signals.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach a first symbol associated with the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals comprises a power control symbol.
Lee teaches a first symbol associated with the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals comprises a power control symbol (an indication of the power offset (e.g., which may be used and/or required) may be provided, Para. 102. High priority signals may include a Positioning RS (PRS), Para. 103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Lee provides a technique for power control involving signals indicating a power offset, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to permit certain control signals to indicate a power offset needed for determining a transmission power that is most appropriate for wireless conditions.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach identifying a power control offset between a sidelink control block scheduling the sidelink data message and a first instance of the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals: and selecting a transmit power level for the sidelink control block, the first instance of the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, or both, based at least in part on the power control offset.
Lee teaches identifying a power control offset between a sidelink control block scheduling the sidelink data message and a first instance of the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals: and selecting a transmit power level for the sidelink control block, the first instance of the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, or both, based at least in part on the power control offset (High priority signals may include a Positioning RS (PRS), Para. 103. The group (e.g., each group) of REs may have a TPC command (e.g., their own TPC command) to update the power control, Para. 295. Different transmission power offsets may be used or applied for certain regions, for individual regions and/or for each region, Para. 296).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Lee provides a technique for power control involving signals indicating a power offset, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to permit certain control signals to indicate a power offset needed for determining a transmission power that is most appropriate for wireless conditions.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach selecting a common transmit power level for transmitting one or more demodulation reference signals associated with the sidelink data message, the sidelink data message, and the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals.
Lee teaches selecting a common transmit power level for transmitting one or more demodulation reference signals associated with the sidelink data message, the sidelink data message, and the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals (power allocation may use a first transmission power offset for the REs, the PRBs and/or the OFDM symbols where there is no collision, Para. 270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Lee provides a technique for power control involving signals indicating a power offset, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to permit certain control signals to indicate a power offset needed for determining a transmission power that is most appropriate for wireless conditions.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach identifying a maximum transmit power level associated with a sidelink control block scheduling the sidelink data message, the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, or a combination thereof; and selecting a transmit power level for the sidelink control block, the sidelink data message, the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, or a combination thereof, based at least in part on the maximum transmit power level.
Lee teaches identifying a maximum transmit power level associated with a sidelink control block scheduling the sidelink data message, the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, or a combination thereof; and selecting a transmit power level for the sidelink control block, the sidelink data message, the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals, or a combination thereof, based at least in part on the maximum transmit power level (WTRU 102 may determine the maximum FDSC UL power for a channel or a group of channels, Para. 353).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Lee provides a technique for power control involving signals indicating a power offset, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to permit certain control signals to indicate a power offset needed for determining a transmission power that is most appropriate for wireless conditions.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the UE.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach transmitting a sidelink control block identifying a first sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern that is to be transmitted by the first UE, the sidelink control block further scheduling the sidelink data message that is to be transmitted by the first UE.
Lee teaches transmitting a sidelink control block identifying a first sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern that is to be transmitted by the first UE, the sidelink control block further scheduling the sidelink data message that is to be transmitted by the first UE (Referring to FIG. 25, at block 2510, the WTRU 102 may obtain information associated with communication in the second direction indicating a SINTF condition. At block 2520, the WTRU 102 may configure the WTRU 102 (e.g., itself or a WTRU) for an interference avoiding TF resource structure, Para. 651).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Lee provides a technique for power control involving signals indicating a power offset, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to permit certain control signals to indicate a power offset needed for determining a transmission power that is most appropriate for wireless conditions.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach transmitting a first sidelink control block identifying a second sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern that is to be transmitted by the first UE; and transmitting a second sidelink control block scheduling the sidelink data message that is to be transmitted by the first UE.
Lee teaches transmitting a first sidelink control block identifying a second sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern that is to be transmitted by the first UE; and transmitting a second sidelink control block scheduling the sidelink data message that is to be transmitted by the first UE (the WTRU 102 may obtain any of: a list, an ordered list or an indication of priority signaling of priority resources, of priority Resource Elements (REs), of priority Resource Blocks and/or priority symbols, Para. 524. The WTRU 102 may receive, in the DCI, a first modulation order for a first subset of a plurality of TF resources and a second modulation order for a second subset of the plurality of TF resources, Para. 537. The WTRU 102 may receive (e.g., in DCI) a first transmission power control (TPC) indicator associated with the first subset of the TF resources and a second TPC indicator associated with the second subset of the TF resources, Para. 540).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Lee provides a technique for power control involving signals indicating a power offset, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to permit certain control signals to indicate a power offset needed for determining a transmission power that is most appropriate for wireless conditions.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Ganesan, Fehrenbach, and further in view of Ren et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230048608 A1), hereafter referred to as Ren.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals include at least a first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals scheduled by the second UE in accordance with the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern.
Ren teaches the one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals include at least a first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals scheduled by the second UE in accordance with the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern (the terminal in the NR V2X system will transmit a variety of service channels, such as Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH), Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH). As shown in FIG. 3, a transmission pattern of S-PRS on one resource block is Staggered interleaved transmission, that is, the positions of the transmission subcarriers on each symbol are different, which becomes a pattern of interleaved transmission, Para. 71).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ren with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Ren provides a technique for controlling patterns of reference signals within resources the include shared data channels, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to ensure efficient transmission patterns of reference signals within resources that include shared data channels for managing utilization of the wireless resources that are shared among multiple user devices.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach receiving information pertaining to the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern via a network-wide or peer-to-peer coordination procedure between the first UE and the second UE.
Ren teaches receiving information pertaining to the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern via a network-wide or peer-to-peer coordination procedure between the first UE and the second UE (Before the service data is transmitted, the synchronization between the two terminals that need to communicate is established on the PC5 port (Sidelink). The synchronization signal of the NR V2X system is carried by the Sidelink Synchronization Signal Block (S-SSB). The method of establishing synchronization is that one terminal A transmits the S-SSB, and the other terminal B receives the S-SSB transmitted by terminal A, Para. 58. The first information set includes: at least one of a sidelink physical channel, a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB), Para. 62. The terminal to transmit the positioning reference signal S-PRS to complete the positioning function, Para. 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ren with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Ren provides a technique for controlling patterns of reference signals within resources the include shared data channels, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to ensure efficient transmission patterns of reference signals within resources that include shared data channels for managing utilization of the wireless resources that are shared among multiple user devices.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach transmitting the sidelink data message further comprises: puncturing, by the transmission of the sidelink data message, one or more of the second resource elements on which the first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals is transmitted.
Ren teaches transmitting the sidelink data message further comprises: puncturing, by the transmission of the sidelink data message, one or more of the second resource elements on which the first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals is transmitted (When the time-frequency resources occupied by the S-PRS resource set and the time-frequency resources occupied by the S-SSB partially overlap, the S-PRS is not transmitted on the part of the time-frequency resources where the S-PRS resource set and the S-SSB resource overlap, that is, the S-PRS is punctured, Para. 73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ren with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Ren provides a technique for controlling patterns of reference signals within resources the include shared data channels, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to ensure efficient transmission patterns of reference signals within resources that include shared data channels for managing utilization of the wireless resources that are shared among multiple user devices.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches second resource elements.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach second resource elements on which the first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals is transmitted include a subset of guard resource elements that are not used for transmitting the first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals.
Ren teaches second resource elements on which the first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals is transmitted include a subset of guard resource elements that are not used for transmitting the first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals (the first information set includes: at least one of a sidelink physical channel, and guard period (GP) information, Para. 30. The last symbol of the slot is used as a Guard Period (GP), which is used to reserve time for transitions between transmitting and receiving, Para. 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ren with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Ren provides a technique for controlling patterns of reference signals within resources the include shared data channels, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to ensure efficient transmission patterns of reference signals within resources that include shared data channels for managing utilization of the wireless resources that are shared among multiple user devices.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach fails to teach transmitting an indication to the second UE of a zero-power reference signal pattern that matches the second resource elements identified by the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern, wherein the zero-power reference signal pattern is indicative of a rate-matching or puncturing pattern used for transmission of the sidelink data message.
Ren teaches transmitting an indication to the second UE of a zero-power reference signal pattern that matches the second resource elements identified by the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern, wherein the zero-power reference signal pattern is indicative of a rate-matching or puncturing pattern used for transmission of the sidelink data message (the first information set includes: at least one of a sidelink physical channel, Para. 62. When the time-frequency resources occupied by the S-PRS resource set and the time-frequency resources occupied by the S-SSB partially overlap, the S-PRS is not transmitted on the part of the time-frequency resources where the S-PRS resource set and the S-SSB resource overlap, that is, the S-PRS is punctured, Para. 73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ren with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach since Ren provides a technique for controlling patterns of reference signals within resources the include shared data channels, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan and Fehrenbach to ensure efficient transmission patterns of reference signals within resources that include shared data channels for managing utilization of the wireless resources that are shared among multiple user devices.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Ganesan, Fehrenbach, Ren, and further in view of Qi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210298088 A1), hereafter referred to as Qi.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Ganesan, Fehrenbach, and Ren teaches the sidelink data message.
Khoryaev in view of Ganesan, Fehrenbach, and Ren fails to teach rate-matching the transmission of the sidelink data message around one or more of the second resource elements on which the first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals is transmitted.
Qi teaches rate-matching the transmission of the sidelink data message around one or more of the second resource elements on which the first plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals is transmitted (DMRS/PTRS is punctured/shifted by one or multiple REs or symbols when colliding with PRS to ensure the reception of PRS, Para. 160, FIGS. 16a-16b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qi with the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan, Fehrenbach, and Ren since Qi provides a technique for transmitting positioning reference signals along with other types of signals among resources, which can be introduced into the system of Khoryaev in view of Ganesan, Fehrenbach, and Ren to permit efficient utilization of wireless resources by efficiently combining different types of signals with positioning reference signals tin order to maximize the capacity and information conveyed with each transmission performed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-28 and 30 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 11 of the Remarks presents the argument that For example, independent claim 1 has been amended to recite, in part "identifying one or more bursts of sidelink positioning reference signals that are to be transmitted by the second UE via one or more first symbols of a slot in accordance with the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern, wherein the one or more first symbols occur between a second symbol of the slot used to transmit a first demodulation reference signal and a third symbol of the slot used to transmit a second demodulation reference signal.". This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by amendment of Claims 1 and 29, which are not taught by Khoryaev and Ganesan, are taught by Fehrenbach et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190296872 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-13, filed 2/26/2026, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103 of Claims 22 and 30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103 of Claims 22 and 30 have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. BAE et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220191903 A1) teaches one or more first symbols of a slot, wherein the one or more first symbols occur between a second symbol of the slot used to transmit a first demodulation reference signal and a third symbol of the slot used to transmit a second demodulation reference signal (Referring to FIG. 19, when one nominal resource allocation with DMRS mapping type B, dmrs-AdditionalPosition=2, and symbol length=12 crosses a slot boundary, the UE may perform UL transmission or DL reception by dividing the corresponding nominal resource allocation into two actual resource allocations, Para. 281, FIG. 19. When one nominal resource allocation with DMRS mapping type B, dmrs-AdditionalPosition=2, and symbol length=12 crosses a slot boundary, the UE may divide the nominal resource allocation into an actual resource allocation with 8 symbols and an actual resource allocation with 4 symbols as illustrated in FIG. 22, Para. 306, FIG. 22).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
5-1-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477