DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 17 and 19-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai et al. (20080007605) in view of Escudero Gonzalez et al. (2020/0114655) and Mizuno (2018/0281415).
Regarding claim 1, Sakurai teaches a liquid discharging apparatus, comprising:
a head (fig. 1, item 2) having a nozzle surface (fig. 3, bottom surface of item 2), on which nozzles ([0017]) are formed;
a reservoir section (fig. 3, item 8), having:
a liquid reservoir chamber (fig. 3, item 8B) configured to store liquid (see fig. 3); and
a first atmosphere communication path (fig. 3, item 9B) connecting the liquid reservoir chamber with atmosphere outside the reservoir section (see fig. 3);
the reservoir section is mounted on the head (see fig. 3), where the reservoir section and the head are mounted to a carriage (fig. 1, item 3) for reciprocal movement (see fig. 1)
a liquid flow path (fig. 2, item 4) connecting the head with the liquid reservoir chamber for the liquid to flow therein (fig. 3, note flow path between head 2 and reservoir 8B);
a first switching assembly (3, item 9/10/70/22/29) configured to switch states of the first atmosphere communication path between a connecting state ([0018]-[0027]), in which the first atmosphere communication path is connected with the atmosphere ([0018]-[0027]), and a disconnecting state ([0018]-[0027]), in which the first atmosphere communication path is disconnected from the atmosphere ([0018]-[0027]), the first atmosphere communication path is in the connecting state where the liquid discharging apparatus is standing by ([0018]-[0027]), awaiting input of a liquid discharging job, without operating the head to discharge the liquid and without supplying the liquid in the liquid reservoir chamber ([0018]-[0027]);
a cap (dif. 3, item 23) having:
a body (fig. 3, item 23) delimiting a covering space, the body being configured to cover the nozzle surface through the covering space (see fig. 3);
a movable assembly (fig. 3, item 27) configured to move the cap between a covering position, at which the body covers the nozzle surface, and a separated position, at which the body is separated from the nozzle surface (see fig. 3).
Sakurai does not teach
controlling the first switching assembly to switch the state of the first atmosphere communication path from the connecting state to the disconnecting state and control the head to discharge liquid at a sheet with the first atmosphere communication path being in the disconnecting state,
after discharging the liquid from the head, determine whether a connecting event has occurred, the connecting event being an event different from an event that causes the head to discharge the liquid, and from an event where the liquid is supplied to or from the liquid reservoir chamber. Escudero Gonzalez teaches wherein a connection event is a signal from a pressure sensor liquid reservoir chamber that an atmosphere opening vent can be opened to stabilize pressure within the reservoir and printhead without causing adverse effects to ink menisci within the nozzles (Escudero Gonzalez, [0006], [0031], [0034], [0041). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to apply the pressure stabilization technique disclosed by Escudero Gonzalez to the device of Sakurai because doing so would allow for stabilization of pressure in Sakurai’s reservoir without effecting print quality.
Upon combination of Escudero Gonzalez with Sakurai, the resultant device would meet the limitation: in response to determining that the connecting event has occurred, control the first switching assembly to place the first atmosphere communication path in the connecting state, and control the movable assembly to move the cap from the separated position to the covering position.
Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez does not teach a pump connected with the covering space, a second atmosphere communication path connecting the covering space with the atmosphere, a second switching assembly configured to switch states of the second atmosphere communication path between a connecting state, in which the second atmosphere communication path is connected with the atmosphere, and a disconnecting state, in which the second atmosphere communication path is disconnected from atmosphere,
wherein the second switching assembly is a three-way valve configured to switch positions of a valve body between a first position, at which the second atmosphere communication path is in the second connecting state and the covering space is disconnected from the pump, and a second position, at which the second atmosphere communication path is in the second disconnecting state and the covering space is connected with the pump, and
where, with the cap being located at the covering position, the controller is configured to activate the pump to cause liquid to be expelled from the head through the nozzles, after switching states of the second atmosphere communication path from the second connecting state to the second disconnecting state through the second switching assembly. Yamamoto teaches this (Yamamoto, see figs. 2, 4, Note three-way valve 41 connecting pump 39 with either capping space 29 or atmosphere 43. Note that, when the cap is in the covering position S1, the valve is switched to the disconnecting state at S5 to expel liquid from the head). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the pump and three-way valve assembly disclosed by Yamamoto to the device disclosed by Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez because doing so would allow for precise control of suction of ink from the head for maintenance purposes.
Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez and Yamamoto does not teach wherein the controller is configured to control the second switching assembly to switch the second atmosphere communication path from the disconnecting state to the connecting state after an end of discharging of the liquid from the head and before moving the cap from the separated position to the covering position through the moveable assembly. Mizuno teaches this (Mizuno, [0070], see fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to open the second atmosphere communication path before capping the head, as disclosed by Mizuno, instead of opening the second atmosphere communication path after capping the head, as disclosed by Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez and Yamamoto, because doing so would prevent breaking of the menisci in the nozzles upon applied pressure.
.
Regarding claim 2, Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno teaches the liquid discharging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the first switching assembly to operate for placing the first atmosphere communication path in the connecting state while the cap is located at the covering position (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, note that Yamamoto teaches covering the nozzle surface with the cap and opening the second atmosphere communication path.
Regarding claim 6, Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno teaches the liquid discharging apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising
a second switching assembly configured to switch states of the second atmosphere communication path between a connecting state, in which the second atmosphere communication path is connected with the atmosphere, and a disconnecting state, in which the second atmosphere communication path is disconnected from the atmosphere,
wherein the cap being located at the covering position, the second atmosphere communication path is in the disconnecting state (Yamamoto, see figs. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 7, Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno teaches the liquid discharging apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to control the second switching assembly to operate for placing the second atmosphere communication path in the disconnecting state while the cap is located at the covering position (Yamamoto, see figs. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 9, Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno teaches the liquid discharging apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the second atmosphere communication path is in the disconnecting state while the head is discharging the liquid (Yamamoto, see figs. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 10, Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno teaches the liquid discharging apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to control the second switching assembly to operate to switch the states of the second atmosphere communication path from the disconnecting state to the connecting state before discharging the liquid from the head;
control the movable assembly to move the cap from the covering position to the separated position, after switching the states of the second atmosphere communication path from the disconnecting state to the connecting state through the second switching assembly; and
control the head to discharge the liquid after the movable assembly moves the cap from the covering position to the separated position (Yamamoto, see figs. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 12, Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno teaches the liquid discharging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the first switching assembly to switch the states of the first atmosphere communication path from the connecting state to the disconnecting state before the liquid is discharged from the head and maintain the first atmosphere communication path in the disconnecting state while the liquid is being discharged from the head (Sakurai, Note that, when the carriage is moved from the standby position, the atmosphere communication path is closed and remains closed throughout printing).
Regarding claim 13, Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno teaches liquid discharging apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the cap is opened to atmosphere after covering the nozzles (Sakurai, Note that the act of removing the cap from the nozzles meets the limitation).
Regarding claim 17, Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno teaches the liquid discharging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the head to discharge the liquid at a sheet, and wherein, one of prior to discharging the liquid at the sheet from the head and while the liquid is being discharged at the sheet from the head, the controller is configured to control the first switching assembly to place the first atmosphere communication path in the disconnecting state and control the head to discharge the liquid in a position, in which the head does not face the sheet, with the first atmosphere communication path maintained in the disconnecting state (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claims 19-21, Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno teaches wherein the first atmospheric communication hole is opened by the action of the head-carriage moving to a capping area where the housing has a projection that contacts the first switching assembly to open the communication path to an opening state (Sakurai, see fig. 3).
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koga et al. (2006/0170739).
Regarding claim 22, see Koga’s figs. 2, 4, 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the first switching device disclosed by Koga instead of that used by Sakurai in view of Escudero Gonzalez, Yamamoto and Mizuno because doing so would amount to the simple substitution of one known first switching device would another to obtain predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853