Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1,
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“select, based on the acquired information and the acquired usage data, a computer vision task”
“determine a set of constraints associated with an implementation of the selected computer vision task on the electronic device, wherein the set of constraints includes the hardware limitations of the electronic device”
“select a first neural network as a seed model for the selected computer vision task, wherein the seed model includes a plurality of first layers”
“compare resource consumption of the seed model with the hardware limitations of the electronic device”
“determine that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device, based on the comparison”
“execute, based on the determination that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device, at least one operation that comprises: determination of a search space based on the hardware limitations of the electronic device, wherein the search space includes a plurality of second layers and execution of a neural architecture search within the search space by: replacement of at least one first layer of the plurality of first layers of the seed model with a second layer of the plurality of second layers; and generation of a candidate neural network based on the replacement of the at least one first layer”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) and insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitations:
“A system, comprising: circuitry configured to…”
“obtain a second neural network based on the generated candidate neural network, wherein the second neural network satisfies the hardware limitations of the electronic device”
“implement an Application Programming Interface (API) call functionality on the electronic device, wherein the API call functionality includes an API call code to remotely call the deployed second neural network”
“update, based on the implementation of the API call functionality, a software application on the electronic device to include an end-user feature, wherein the end-user feature implements, on the electronic device, the deployed second neural network for the selected computer vision task”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitations:
“acquire information associated with one or more functional components of an electronic device, wherein the acquired information comprises hardware specification information that indicates hardware resources available at the electronic device”
“acquire usage data associated with the electronic device”
“deploy the obtained second neural network on a cloud server”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply” or “insignificant extra-solution activity”. Specifically, the acquiring and deploying limitations recite the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving and transmitting data over a network. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network). Mere instructions to apply and insignificant extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 2,
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 2 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that do not apply the exception in a meaningful way (See MPEP 2106.05(e)).
The limitations:
“wherein the electronic device is an image-capture device and the software application is an imaging software installed on the electronic device”
As drafted, are additional elements that do not apply the exception in a meaningful way. See MPEP 2106.05(e).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements do not apply the exception in a meaningful way. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 4,
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 4 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“determine the set of constraints based on the cost information, and the determined set of constraints further includes at least one cost constraint”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that do not apply the exception in a meaningful way (See MPEP 2106.05(e)) and are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“wherein the acquired information further includes cost information associated with the at least one functional component”
As drafted, are additional elements that do not apply the exception in a meaningful way. See MPEP 2106.05(e).
The limitations:
“the circuitry is further configured to…”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements do not apply the exception in a meaningful way or are mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 5,
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 5 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that do not apply the exception in a meaningful way (See MPEP 2106.05(e)) and are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“wherein the acquired usage data comprises: a digital footprint on the software application; a set of category tags associated with image-based content created through the software application; a user preference for the image-based content on the electronic device; and a usage pattern of a plurality of existing functionalities on the electronic device”
As drafted, are additional elements that do not apply the exception in a meaningful way. See MPEP 2106.05(e).
The limitations:
“wherein the plurality of existing functionalities implements, on the electronic device, a type of neural network for at least one computer vision task and the at least one computer vision task includes the selected computer vision task”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements do not apply the exception in a meaningful way or are mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 6,
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 6 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“configuration of hyperparameters of the generated candidate neural network based on the determined set of constraints”
“selection of a training dataset for the selected computer vision task”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“the circuitry is further configured to execute the neural architecture search by…”
“execution of a training process to train, based on the selected training dataset, the generated candidate neural network on the selected computer vision task”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply. Mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 7,
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 7 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 6.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“execute a quantization-aware training process to train the generated candidate neural network, and the quantization-aware training process includes quantization of weight parameters of the generated candidate neural network from a current bit-depth representation to a first bit-depth representation”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply. Mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 8,
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 8 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“execution of a pruning operation on weight parameters of the trained candidate neural network”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“obtain the second neural network based on the execution of the pruning operation”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply. Mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 9 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 6.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“execution of a post-training quantization operation on weight parameters of the trained candidate neural network”
“obtain the second neural network based on the execution of the post-training quantization operation”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply. Mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 10 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“select a teacher neural network pre-trained on the selected computer vision task”
“select the generated candidate neural network as a student network”
“produce, based on the selected training dataset, a plurality of inferences”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that do not apply the exception in a meaningful way (See MPEP 2106.05(e)) and are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
wherein the one or more operations further include a knowledge distillation operation”
As drafted, are additional elements that do not apply the exception in a meaningful way. See MPEP 2106.05(e).
The limitations:
“by the selected teacher neural network”
“train the generated candidate neural network based on the produced plurality of inferences”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements do not apply the exception in a meaningful way. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 11 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“evaluate, based on the determined set of constraints, at least one performance indicator of the trained candidate neural network”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“train the generated candidate neural network based on the determined set of constraints”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply. Mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 12 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 11.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“re-execute the neural architecture search based on the evaluated at least one performance indicator being below a threshold”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply. Mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 13 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 11.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“obtain the second neural network based on the trained candidate neural network and the evaluated at least one performance indicator is above a threshold.”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply. Mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 14 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) and insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitations:
“control the electronic device to display a User Interface (UI) that includes at least one of: a first option to purchase the end-user feature, a second option to subscribe to the end-user feature, a description that includes an accuracy of the obtained second neural network and device resource information associated with the end-user feature, or a price associated with each of the first option and the second option”
“update the software application based on the received selection”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitations:
“receive, from the electronic device, a selection of one of the first option or the second option”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply” or “insignificant extra-solution activity”. Specifically, the receiving limitations recite the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving and transmitting data over a network. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network). Mere instructions to apply and insignificant extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 15 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 14.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“control the electronic device to display the UI based on the acquired usage data”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply. Mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 16 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“determine the price based on at least one of: a cost of one of the electronic device or a functional component of the one or more functional component of the electronic device, a total time, that includes a training time to obtain the second neural network from the seed model, a complexity of the end-user feature, a cost of dataset associated with the obtained second neural network, competitive or business intelligence data associated with a plurality of users of the electronic device, or an estimate-demand for the end-user feature”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 14.
Step 2B Analysis: See corresponding analysis of claim 14.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 17 is directed to a system, comprising: circuitry, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“an update of weight parameters of the existing neural network model based on weight parameters of the deployed second neural network”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations:
“a replacement of an existing neural network model on the electronic device with the deployed second neural network”
“an installation of the deployed second neural network as a component of the software application on the electronic device”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply. Mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 19 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“selecting… based on the acquired information and the acquired usage data, a computer vision task”
“determining… a set of constraints associated with an implementation of the selected computer vision task on the electronic device, wherein the set of constraints includes the hardware limitations of the electronic device”
“selecting… a first neural network as a seed model for the selected computer vision task, wherein the seed model includes a plurality of first layers”
“comparing … resource consumption of the seed model with the hardware limitations of the electronic device”
“determining …that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device, based on the comparison”
“executing …based on the determination that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device at least one operation that comprises: determining a search space based on the hardware limitations of the electronic device, wherein the search space includes a plurality of second layers and executing a neural architecture search within the search space by: replacing at least one first layer of the plurality of first layers of the seed model with a second layer of the plurality of second layers; and generating a candidate neural network based on the replacement of the at least one first layer”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) and insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitations:
“comprising: in a system that includes circuitry”
“by the circuitry”
“obtaining, by the circuitry, a second neural network based on the generated candidate neural network, wherein the second neural network satisfies the hardware limitations of the electronic device”
“implementing, by the circuitry, an Application Programming Interface (API) call functionality on the electronic device, wherein the API call functionality includes an API call code to remotely call the deployed second neural network”
“updating, by the circuitry, based on the implementation of the API call functionality, a software application on the electronic device to include an end-user feature, wherein the end-user feature implements, on the electronic device, the deployed second neural network for the selected computer vision task”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitations:
“acquiring, by the circuitry, information associated with one or more functional components of an electronic device, wherein the acquired information comprises hardware specification information that indicates hardware resources available at the electronic device”
“acquiring, by the circuitry, usage data associated with the electronic device”
“deploying, by the circuitry, the obtained second neural network on a cloud server”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply” or “insignificant extra-solution activity”. Specifically, the acquiring and deploying limitations recite the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving and transmitting data over a network. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network). Mere instructions to apply and insignificant extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“selecting, based on the acquired information and the acquired usage data, a computer vision task”
“determining a set of constraints associated with an implementation of the selected computer vision task on the electronic device, wherein the set of constraints includes the hardware limitations of the electronic device”
“selecting a first neural network as a seed model for the selected computer vision task, wherein the seed model includes a plurality of first layers”
“comparing resource consumption of the seed model with the hardware limitations of the electronic device”
“determining that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device, based on the comparison”
“executing, based on the determination that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device at least one operation that comprises: determining a search space based on the hardware limitations of the electronic device, wherein the search space includes a plurality of second layers and executing a neural architecture search within the search space by: replacing at least one first layer of the plurality of first layers of the seed model with a second layer of the plurality of second layers; and generating a candidate neural network based on the replacement of the at least one first layer”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The above limitations in the context of this claim correspond to mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recited additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) and insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitations:
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer-executable instructions that when executed by a computer in a system, causes the system to execute operations”
“obtaining a second neural network based on the generated candidate neural network, wherein the second neural network satisfies the hardware limitations of the electronic device”
“implementing an Application Programming Interface (API) call functionality on the electronic device, wherein the API call functionality includes an API call code to remotely call the deployed second neural network”
“updating, based on the implementation of the API call functionality, a software application on the electronic device to include an end-user feature, wherein the end-user feature implements, on the electronic device, the deployed second neural network for the selected computer vision task”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitations:
“acquiring information associated with one or more functional components of an electronic device, wherein the acquired information comprises hardware specification information that indicates hardware resources available at the electronic device”
“acquiring usage data associated with the electronic device”
“deploying the obtained second neural network on a cloud server”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply” or “insignificant extra-solution activity”. Specifically, the acquiring and deploying limitations recite the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving and transmitting data over a network. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network). Mere instructions to apply and insignificant extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9, 11-13, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunes Coelho, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0229895) (“Nunes Coelho, Jr.”) in view of Cai et al. (PROXYLESSNAS: DIRECT NEURAL ARCHITECTURE SEARCH ON TARGET TASK AND HARDWARE) (“Cai”).
Regarding claim 1, Nunes Coelho, Jr. teaches a system, comprising: circuitry configured to: acquire information associated with at least one functional component of an electronic device (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0051] “In calculation of a score that accounts for both performance and energy cost (e.g., of a model or of a layer within the model), the energy cost can be measured, predicted, or estimated, as needed. For example, in some examples, the reference energy cost, candidate energy cost, or both are measured when executing and/or training the respective models and/or layers on a target device” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides measuring performance and energy cost in a target device, corresponding to acquire information associated with one or more functional components of an electronic device.), wherein the acquired information comprises hardware specification information that indicates hardware limitations of the electronic device (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0065] “In some implementations, real-world energy costs can be directly measured by executing the model on a particular platform (e.g., a mobile device such as the Google Pixel device). In further implementations, various other performance characteristics can be included in a multi-objective function that guides the search process, including, as examples, power consumption, user interface responsiveness, peak compute requirements [hardware limitations of the electronic device], and/or other characteristics of the generated network models.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides device/hardware information of an electronic device including peak compute requirements, which are being interpreted as hardware limitations of the electronic device (e.g., a mobile device such as the Google Pixel device).); acquire usage data associated with the electronic device (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0076] “The example system 600 can include a server computing system 602, a network search computing system 620, and a performance evaluation computing system 640 that are communicatively coupled over a network 660. In some examples, the system 600 may include a user computing device 670.”; [0087] “In some implementations, if a user has provided consent, the training examples can be provided by a user computing device 670 (e.g., based on communications previously provided by the user of the user computing device 670). Thus, in such implementations, model trainer 650 can train using user-specific communication data received from the user computing device 670. In some instances, this process can be referred to as personalizing the model being trained.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides acquiring user activity data associated with a user computing device 670 corresponding to acquiring usage data associated with the electronic device); select, based on the acquired information and the acquired usage data, a computer vision task (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0064] “In some embodiments, the one or more performance characteristic(s) 206 and/or the one or more performance characteristics 210 may be evaluated using the actual task (e.g., the “real task”) for which the reference neural network model 102 is being optimized or designed... For instance, evaluating the performance characteristics using the proxy task may include using a smaller training and/or verification data set than the real task (e.g., down-sampled versions of images and/or other data) and/or evaluating the real task for fewer epochs than would generally be used to train the model using the real task.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides evaluating performance characteristics based on a selected/actual task and using image data as training data based on acquired/usage information, corresponding to select a computer vision task, based on the acquired information and the acquired usage data.); determine a set of constraints associated with an implementation of the selected computer vision task on the electronic device, wherein the set of constraints includes the hardware limitations of the electronic device (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0065] “In some implementations, real-world energy costs can be directly measured by executing the model on a particular platform (e.g., a mobile device such as the Google Pixel device). In further implementations, various other performance characteristics can be included in a multi-objective function that guides the search process, including, as examples, power consumption, user interface responsiveness, peak compute requirements [hardware limitations of the electronic device], and/or other characteristics of the generated network models.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides determining various performance characteristics relating to generated models to implement a computer vision task on an electronic device including power consumption and peak compute requirements, corresponding to the constraints including hardware limitations (i.e., peak compute requirements).) select a first neural network as a seed model for the selected computer vision task (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0059] “In this manner, the performance evaluation subsystem 108 may quickly evaluate the candidate models 106 for comparison to the reference model 102. [a first neural network as a seed model]”; [0060] “The trained models 204 may be optionally trained using inherited trained values from the reference model 102 as seed values or using inherited trained values directly, or both.”; [0069] “At 502, a computing system can receive a reference neural network model. The reference neural network model may be received in any suitable manner, such as via transmission to or within the computing system, such as from local or remote storage or via networked communications channels.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides receiving a reference neural network 102, which is used to evaluate performance characteristics and seed values, corresponding to select a first neural network as a seed model for the selected computer vision task), wherein the seed model includes a plurality of first layers (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0057] “For example, the controller model 104 may search a search space comprising a first searchable subspace corresponding to a quantization scheme for quantizing one or more values within a layer of the reference neural network model 102 and a second searchable subspace corresponding to a size of the layer (e.g., the number of filters within the layer and/or number of output units).” Nunes Coelho, Jr. teaches the reference model 102 (the seed model) includes layers.) …obtain a second neural network based on the generated candidate neural network, wherein the second neural network satisfies the hardware limitations of the electronic device (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0057] “Based on values selected from the searchable subspaces, the controller model 104 may generate one or more candidate models 106 for evaluation by a performance evaluation subsystem 108. The performance evaluation subsystem 108 accepts the one or more candidate models 106 for evaluating the relative change(s) in performance (including, e.g., energy cost, accuracy, and the like) relative to the reference model 102.”; [0064] “In some embodiments, the one or more performance characteristic(s) 206 and/or the one or more performance characteristics 210 may be evaluated using the actual task (e.g., the “real task”) for which the reference neural network model 102 is being optimized or designed. For instance, the one or more performance characteristic(s) 206 and/or the one or more performance characteristics 210 may be evaluated using a set of training data that will be used to train the resulting model that includes the optimized neural network model” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides obtaining an optimized neural network (a second neural network) from generated candidate models to satisfy performance constraints (hardware limitations).); deploy the obtained second neural network on a cloud server (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0079] “For example, the one or more neural network models 612 can include a reference neural network model to be optimized according to the present disclosure. The neural network models 612 can be uploaded to the server computing system 602 for storage thereon, and in some embodiments, the server computing system 602 hosts or otherwise operates the one or more neural network models 612 in an application. In some implementations, the systems and methods can be provided as a cloud-based service (e.g., by the server computing system 602).” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides deploying an optimized neural network to a cloud server corresponding to deploying an obtained second neural network on a cloud server.); implement an Application Programming Interface (API) call functionality on the electronic device, wherein the API call functionality includes an API call code to remotely call the deployed second neural network (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0099] “Example applications include a text messaging application, an email application, a dictation application, a virtual keyboard application, a browser application, etc. In some implementations, each application can communicate with the central intelligence layer (and model(s) stored therein) using an API (e.g., a common API across all applications).” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides an API for models corresponding to the API call functionally includes an API call code to remotely call the deployed second neural network.); and update, based on the implementation of the API call functionality, a software application on the electronic device to include an end-user feature, wherein the end-user feature implements, on the electronic device, the deployed second neural network for the selected computer vision task (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0099] “The computing device 800 includes a number of applications (e.g., applications 1 through N). Each application is in communication with a central intelligence layer. Example applications include a text messaging application, an email application, a dictation application, a virtual keyboard application, a browser application, etc. In some implementations, each application can communicate with the central intelligence layer (and model(s) stored therein) using an API (e.g., a common API across all applications).”; [0102] “As one example, the systems and methods of the present disclosure can be included or otherwise employed within the context of an application, a browser plug-in, or in other contexts. Thus, in some implementations, the models of the present disclosure can be included in or otherwise stored and implemented by a user computing device such as a laptop, tablet, or smartphone. As yet another example, the models can be included in or otherwise stored and implemented by a server computing device that communicates with the user computing device according to a client-server relationship. For example, the models can be implemented by the server computing device as a portion of a web service (e.g., a web email service)” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides updating software applications on a user device with the optimized neural network including end-user features such as web services including use of an API to call deployed models, corresponding to update a software application on the electronic device to include an end-user feature, wherein the end-user feature implements, on the electronic device, the obtained second neural network for the selected computer vision task.).
Nunes Coelho, Jr. fails to explicitly teach …compare resource consumption of the seed model with the hardware limitations of the electronic device; determine that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device, based on the comparison; execute, based on the determination that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device at least one operation that comprises: determination of a search space based on the hardware limitations of the electronic device, wherein the search space includes a plurality of second layers; and execution of a neural architecture search within the search space by: replacement of at least one first layer of the plurality of first layers of the seed model with a second layer of the plurality of second layers; and generation of a candidate neural network based on the replacement of the at least one first layer;
However, Cai teaches compare resource consumption of the seed model with the hardware limitations of the electronic device (Cai Section 3 Method “We first describe the construction of the over-parameterized network [seed model] with all candidate paths, then introduce how we leverage binarized architecture parameters to reduce the memory consumption of training the over-parameterized network to the same level as regular training… Finally, we present two techniques to handle non-differentiable objectives (e.g. latency) for specializing neural networks on target hardware.”; Section 3.1 Construction of Over-Parameterized Network “As shown in Eq. (1), the output feature maps of all N paths are calculated and stored in the memory, while training a compact model only involves one path. Therefore, One-Shot and DARTS roughly need N times GPU memory and GPU hours compared to training a compact model. On large scale dataset, this can easily exceed the memory limits of hardware [hardware limitations] with large design space.” Cai provides construction of an over-parameterized network (i.e., a seed model) which is compared to memory limits on target hardware); determine that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device, based on the comparison (Cai Section 3.1 Construction of Over-Parameterized Network “As shown in Eq. (1), the output feature maps of all N paths are calculated and stored in the memory, while training a compact model only involves one path. Therefore, One-Shot and DARTS roughly need N times GPU memory and GPU hours compared to training a compact model. On large scale dataset, this can easily exceed the memory limits [outside the hardware limitations] of hardware with large design space. In the following section, we solve this memory issue based on the idea of path binarization.” Cai provides an over-parameterized network (i.e., a seed model) which is compared to memory limits on target hardware, wherein the memory consumption of the overparameterized network can exceed memory limits of a target device.); execute, based on the determination that the resource consumption of the seed model is outside the hardware limitations of the electronic device at least one operation that comprises: determination of a search space based on the hardware limitations of the electronic device (Cai Section 3.1 “To construct the over-parameterized network that includes any architecture in the search space [determination of a search space], instead of setting each edge to be a definite primitive operation, we set each edge to be a mixed operation that has N parallel paths (Figure 2), denoted as mO. As such, the over-parameterized network can be expressed as N(e = m1 O,··· ,en = mn O).”; Section 3.2 Learning Binarized Path “To reduce memory footprint, we keep only one path when training the over-parameterized network… As illustrated in Eq.(3) and Figure 2, by using the binary gates rather than real-valued path weights (Cai et al., 2018c), only one path of activation is active in memory at run-time and the memory requirement of training the over-parameterized network is thus reduced to the same level of training a compact model.” Cai provides determining a search space to save memory for a target hardware for the overparametrized network including binarization of paths, thus comprising the search space. ), wherein the search space includes a plurality of second layers (Cai Section 2 Related Work “Similar to these works, we start with an over-parameterized network and then prune the redundant parts to derive the optimized architecture. The distinction is that they focus on layer-level pruning that only modifies the filter (or units) number of a layer but can not change the topology of the network, while we focus on learning effective network architectures through path-level pruning. We also allow both pruning and growing the number of layers.” Cai teaches the over-parametrized network including a number of layers, corresponding to the plurality of second layers.); and execution of a neural architecture search within the search space (Cai Section 1 Introduction “Neural architecture search (NAS) has demonstrated much success in automating neural network architecture design for various deep learning tasks… In this work, we propose a simple and effective solution to the aforementioned limitations, called ProxylessNAS, which directly learns the architectures on the target task and hardware instead of with proxy (Figure 1).” Cai teaches executing neural architecture search.) by: replacement of at least one first layer of the plurality of first layers of the seed model with a second layer of the plurality of second layers (Cai Section 4.1 “Architecture Space. For CIFAR-10 experiments, we use the tree-structured architecture space that is introduced by Cai et al. (2018b) with Pyramid Net (Han et al., 2017) as the backbone 4.Specifically, we replace all 3 × 3 convolution layers in the residual blocks of a PyramidNet with tree-structured cells, each of which has a depth of 3 and the number of branches is set to be 2 at each node (except the leaf nodes).” Cai teaches neural architecture search including layer replacement.); and generation of a candidate neural network based on the replacement of the at least one first layer (Cai Section 3 Method “Finally, we present two techniques to handle non-differentiable objectives (e.g. latency) for specializing neural networks on target hardware.”; Section 4.2 “Specialized Models for Different Hardware. Figure 6 demonstrates the detailed architectures of our searched CNN models on three hardware platforms: GPU/CPU/Mobile.” Cai teaches generating specialized models on target hardware (i.e., candidate neural networks) based on the neural architecture search, which includes the layer replacement.);
Nunes Coelho and Cai are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of artificial intelligence and more specifically user neural architecture search. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. with the above teachings of Cai. Doing so would allow for reducing the memory consumption (Cai Section 3 Method “We first describe the construction of the over-parameterized network with all candidate paths, then introduce how we leverage binarized architecture parameters to reduce the memory consumption of training the over-parameterized network to the same level as regular training.”).
Regarding claim 2, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 1, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is an image-capture device and the software application is an imaging software installed on the electronic device (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0088] “The user computing device 670 can be any type of computing device, such as, for example, a personal computing device (e.g., laptop or desktop), a mobile computing device (e.g., smartphone or tablet), a gaming console or controller, a wearable computing device, an embedded computing device, or any other type of computing device.” [0064] “For instance, evaluating the performance characteristics using the proxy task may include using a smaller training and/or verification data set than the real task (e.g., down-sampled versions of images and/or other data) and/or evaluating the real task for fewer epochs than would generally be used to train the model using the real task.” [0102] “For example, the models can be implemented by the server computing device as a portion of a web service (e.g., a web email service).” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides a smartphone corresponding to an image-capture device and training an optimized model with images and implementing the model in user web services, corresponding to an imaging software installed on the electronic device.).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 1, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the acquired information further includes cost information associated with the at least one functional component, the circuitry is further configured to determine the set of constraints based on the cost information, and the determined set of constraints further includes at least one cost constraint (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0061] “The trainer 202 may directly evaluate one or more performance characteristics of the trained candidate model(s) 204 directly. For example, one or more performance characteristics 206 of the trained candidate model(s) 204 may include a validation accuracy and/or an energy cost associated with the training and/or the execution of the one or more trained candidate model(s) 204. For example, the energy cost can be directly computed using one or more look up tables or formulas which directly translate from model characteristics (e.g., number/types of operations and quantization scheme) to an energy cost value.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides determining cost information associated an electronic device and generating models from that information, corresponding to the acquired information includes cost information associated with the one or more functional components, the circuitry is further configured to determine the set of constraints based on the cost information, and the determined set of constraints includes one or more cost constraints.).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 1, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the circuity is further configured to execute the neural architecture search (See e.g., Nunes Coelho, Jr [0020]) by: configuration of hyperparameters of the generated candidate neural network based on the determined set of constraints (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0067] “For instance, a performance evaluation subsystem 108 may comprise a system which is desired to be optimized for energy cost and/or performance on execution, but is already optimized in other aspects, including hyperparameters governing aspects of the network architecture. By preserving the configuration of the architecture of the reference neural network model 102, subject to the modifications by the controller model 104, the systems and methods according to the present disclosure can retain any advantages of prior investment in optimizing the hyperparameters governing the network's architecture.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides configuring hyperparameters for an optimized neural network in accordance with optimization parameters corresponding to configure hyperparameters of the candidate neural network based on the determined set of constraints.); selection of a training dataset for the selected computer vision task (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0060] “The performance evaluation subsystem 108 may comprise a trainer 202 which trains the one or more candidate models 106 to produce one or more trained candidate models 204. The trained models 204 may be optionally trained using inherited trained values from the reference model 102 as seed values or using inherited trained values directly, or both. The trained models 204 may also be trained from scratch.”; [0064] “For instance, the one or more performance characteristic(s) 206 and/or the one or more performance characteristics 210 may be evaluated using a set of training data that will be used to train the resulting model that includes the optimized neural network model.”; [0067] “In some embodiments, the performance evaluation subsystem 108 may comprise training data for training the candidate models 106, advantageously avoiding the transmission of training data between the controller model 104 and the trainer 202.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides selecting a set of training data to optimize the neural network.); and execution of a training process to train, based on the selected training dataset, the generated candidate neural network on the selected computer vision task, (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0060] “The performance evaluation subsystem 108 may comprise a trainer 202 which trains the one or more candidate models 106 to produce one or more trained candidate models 204.”; [0064] “For instance, the one or more performance characteristic(s) 206 and/or the one or more performance characteristics 210 may be evaluated using a set of training data that will be used to train the resulting model that includes the optimized neural network model.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides training a candidate neural network with a selected set of training data.).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 6, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the circuitry is further configured to execute a quantization-aware training process to train the generated candidate neural network (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0023] “In some cases, reducing the precision (e.g., bitwidth) of values within a given neural network may be accomplished by quantization, which includes methods of mapping higher precision numbers into bins corresponding to lower precision numbers.”; [0061] “For example, one or more performance characteristics 206 of the trained candidate model(s) 204 may include a validation accuracy and/or an energy cost associated with the training and/or the execution of the one or more trained candidate model(s) 204. For example, the energy cost can be directly computed using one or more look up tables or formulas which directly translate from model characteristics (e.g., number/types of operations and quantization scheme) to an energy cost value.”; Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides implementing quantization schemes to train a candidate neural network corresponding to executing a quantization-aware training process to train the candidate neural network.), and the quantization-aware training process includes quantization of weight parameters of the generated candidate neural network from a current bit-depth representation to a first bit-depth representation (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0022] “High precision numbers require more bits for representation within the computing system, and this increased bitwidth (which can also be referred to in some instances as bit depth) is associated with several energy costs, including increased storage costs, retrieval costs, and calculation costs.”; [0023] “In some cases, reducing the precision (e.g., bitwidth) of values within a given neural network may be accomplished by quantization, which includes methods of mapping higher precision numbers into bins corresponding to lower precision numbers.”; [0031] “In some examples, systems and methods according to the present disclosure reduce the energy consumption by a model by quantizing one or more values or sets of values (e.g., the inputs, weights, filters, and/or biases for a layer) in view of both the quantity of bits for the values as well as the cost of the necessary types of operations to be applied to the values.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides quantizing weights and reducing bit width (also known as bit depth), corresponding to quantize weight parameters of the candidate neural network from a current bit-depth representation to a first bit-depth representation.).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 6, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the at least one operation further comprises execution of a post-training quantization operation on weight parameters of the trained candidate neural network, and the circuitry is further configured to obtain the second neural network based on the execution of the post-training quantization operation (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0070] “The first searchable subspace corresponds to a quantization scheme for quantizing one or more values of the candidate neural network model, and the second searchable subspace corresponds to a size of a layer (e.g., the quantity of filters and/or output units contained in the layer) of the candidate neural network model.”; [0083] “The model trainer 650 can perform a number of generalization techniques (e.g., weight decays, dropouts, etc.) to improve the generalization capability of the models being trained.”; [0109] “For example, the above example chooses a quantizer for trainable parameters within a layer (e.g., weights, filters, and/or biases), and the quantizer may be the same or different for one or more of the layers and/or one or more of the parameters within the layer.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides quantizing weight parameters of a candidate neural network after training corresponding to execution of a post-training quantization operation on weight parameters of the trained candidate neural network, the circuitry is further configured to obtain the second neural network from the trained candidate neural network, further based on the execution of the post-training quantization operation.).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 6, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the circuitry is further configured to: train the generated candidate neural network based on the determined set of constraints (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0060] “The performance evaluation subsystem 108 may comprise a trainer 202 which trains the one or more candidate models 106 to produce one or more trained candidate models 204.”; [0064] “For instance, the one or more performance characteristic(s) 206 and/or the one or more performance characteristics 210 may be evaluated using a set of training data that will be used to train the resulting model that includes the optimized neural network model.”; [0064] “In some embodiments, the one or more performance characteristic(s) 206 and/or the one or more performance characteristics 210 may be evaluated using the actual task (e.g., the “real task”) for which the reference neural network model 102 is being optimized or designed. For instance, the one or more performance characteristic(s) 206 and/or the one or more performance characteristics 210 may be evaluated using a set of training data that will be used to train the resulting model that includes the optimized neural network model.”; [0065] “In some implementations, real-world energy costs can be directly measured by executing the model on a particular platform (e.g., a mobile device such as the Google Pixel device). In further implementations, various other performance characteristics can be included in a multi-objective function that guides the search process, including, as examples, power consumption, user interface responsiveness, peak compute requirements, and/or other characteristics of the generated network models.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides training a generated candidate neural network further based on a determined set of constraints); and evaluate, based on the determined set of constraints, at least one performance indicator of the trained candidate neural network (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0061] “The trainer 202 may directly evaluate one or more performance characteristics of the trained candidate model(s) 204 directly.”; [0066] “In some embodiments, the system 100 may evaluate candidate models 106 in a constraint evaluation module 402, as shown in FIG. 4. A constraint evaluation module 402 may be included in the controller model 104 in some examples, and additionally, or alternatively, may be included in the performance evaluation subsystem 108 in some examples.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides evaluating performance of trained candidate neural networks corresponding to evaluate, based on the determined set of constraints, one or more performance indicators of the trained candidate neural network.)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 12, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 11, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the circuitry is further configured to re-execute the neural architecture search based on the evaluated at least one performance indicator being below a threshold (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0066] “The constraint evaluation module 402 may evaluate threshold determinations regarding the candidate models 106 (e.g., dimensionality and/or other compatibility concerns, etc.) and return constraint feedback 404 to the controller model 104 prior to engaging in a computationally expensive training in the trainer 202. In this manner, threshold determinations regarding performance may be performed and prior to passing the candidate models 106 to the next stage.”; [0057] “The controller model 104 may then search a network search space corresponding to the neural network architecture of the reference neural network model 102.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides a threshold for performance and providing feedback to controller model 104, which executes the neural architecture search, corresponding to the neural architecture search is re- executed based on a determination that the evaluated one or more performance indicators are below a threshold.).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 11, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the circuitry is further configured to obtain the second neural network based on the trained candidate neural network and the evaluated at least one performance indicator is above a threshold (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0066] “The constraint evaluation module 402 may evaluate threshold determinations regarding the candidate models 106 (e.g., dimensionality and/or other compatibility concerns, etc.) and return constraint feedback 404 to the controller model 104 prior to engaging in a computationally expensive training in the trainer 202. In this manner, threshold determinations regarding performance may be performed and prior to passing the candidate models 106 to the next stage.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides a performance threshold, wherein candidate models are passed to the next stage when above a performance threshold corresponding to obtaining the second neural network further based the trained candidate neural network and the evaluated one or more performance indicators are above a threshold.).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 1, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the update of the software application comprises: a replacement of an existing neural network model on the electronic device with the deployed second neural network (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0020] “Generally, the present disclosure is directed to systems and methods for performing a neural architecture search to produce a neural network model architecture that provides an improved tradeoff between performance and energy consumption. In some embodiments, systems and methods of the present disclosure may produce an optimized neural network model by optimizing the existing architecture of a provided reference neural network model” Nunes Coelho, Jr. replacing a reference neural network from an electronic device with an optimized neural network corresponding to a replacement of an existing neural network model on the electronic device with the second neural network); an installation of the deployed second neural network as a component of the software application on the electronic device (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0092] “In some examples, the neural network model(s) 680 are trained and/or pre-trained by the performance evaluation computing system 640 prior to loading onto the user computing device 670. The user computing device 670 may then execute and/or apply the neural networks 680 to evaluate one or more performance metrics, such as accuracy and/or an energy cost metric. For example, the user computing device may measure a real-world energy cost associated with applying the trained neural network model(s) 680 received from the performance evaluation computing system 640.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. replacing a reference neural network from an electronic device with an optimized neural network corresponding to an installation of the second neural network as a component of the software application on the electronic device.), and an update of weight parameters of the existing neural network model based on weight parameters of the deployed second neural network (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0109] “For example, the above example chooses a quantizer for trainable parameters within a layer (e.g., weights, filters, and/or biases), and the quantizer may be the same or different for one or more of the layers and/or one or more of the parameters within the layer.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides quantizing weight parameters for implementing an optimized neural network on an electronic device corresponding to an update of parameters, including weight parameters of an existing neural network on the electronic device with that of the second neural network.).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, it is the method embodiment of claim 1 with similar limitations to claims 1 and is rejected using the same reasoning disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, it is the non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer- executable instructions that when executed by a computer in a system, causes the system to execute operations embodiment of claim 1 with similar limitations to claims 1 and is rejected using the same reasoning disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Nunes Coelho, Jr. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer- executable instructions that when executed by a computer in a system, causes the system to execute operations (Nunes Coelho, Jr. [0077] “The memory 606 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, such as RAM, SRAM, DRAM, ROM, EEPROM, EPROM, flash memory devices, magnetic disks, etc., and combinations thereof. The memory 606 can store data 608 and instructions 610 which are executed by the processor 604 to cause the server computing system 602 to perform operations.” Nunes Coelho, Jr. provides a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer- executable instructions that when executed by a computer in a system, causes the system to execute operations.)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai for the same reasons disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunes Coelho, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0229895) (“Nunes Coelho, Jr.”) in view of Cai et al. (PROXYLESSNAS: DIRECT NEURAL ARCHITECTURE SEARCH ON TARGET TASK AND HARDWARE) (“Cai”) in further view of ELDEEB et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0380389) (“Eldeeb”).
Regarding claim 5, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 1 as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the acquired usage data comprises: a digital footprint on the software application; a set of category tags associated with image-based content created through the software application; a user preference for the image-based content on the electronic device; and usage pattern of a plurality of existing functionalities on the electronic device, wherein the plurality of existing functionalities implements, on the electronic device, a type of neural network for at least one computer vision task and the at least one computer vision task includes the selected computer vision task.
However, Eldeeb teaches wherein the acquired usage data comprises: a digital footprint on the software application (Eldeeb [0085] “User data and models 231 include various data associated with the user (e.g., user-specific vocabulary data, user preference data, user-specified name pronunciations, data from the user's electronic address book, to-do lists, shopping lists, etc.) to provide the client-side functionalities of the digital assistant.” Eldeeb provides user online activity on a web browser corresponding to usage data comprises: a digital footprint on the software application.); a set of category tags associated with image-based content created through the software application (Eldeeb [0114] “In conjunction with image management module 244, e-mail client module 240 makes it very easy to create and send e-mails with still or video images taken with camera module 243.”; [0118] “In conjunction with touch screen 212, display controller 256, contact/motion module 230, graphics module 232, text input module 234, and camera module 243, image management module 244 includes executable instructions to arrange, modify (e.g., edit), or otherwise manipulate, label, delete, present (e.g., in a digital slide show or album), and store still and/or video images.” Eldeeb provides images uploaded to an email service taken from a camera, which are categorized by image management module 244 including labeling, corresponding to a set of category tags related to image-based content created through the software application.); a user preference for the image-based content on the electronic device (Eldeeb [0085] “User data and models 231 include various data associated with the user (e.g., user-specific vocabulary data, user preference data, user-specified name pronunciations, data from the user's electronic address book, to-do lists, shopping lists, etc.) to provide the client-side functionalities of the digital assistant.” Eldeeb provides user preference data corresponding to a user preference for the image-based content on the electronic device.); and a usage pattern of a plurality of existing functionalities on the electronic device (Eldeeb [0085] “Further, user data and models 231 include various models (e.g., speech recognition models, statistical language models, natural language processing models, ontology, task flow models, service models, etc.) for processing user input and determining user intent.” Eldeeb provides model task flows included in user and model data corresponding to a usage pattern of existing functionalities that implement a type of neural network for one or more computer vision tasks.), wherein the plurality of existing functionalities implements, on the electronic device, a type of neural network for at least one computer vision task, and the at least one computer vision task include the selected computer vision task (Eldeeb [0276] “A machine learning model includes one or more algorithms, mathematical models, statistical models, and/or neural network models. A machine learning model can perform a specific task without using explicit instructions. To perform a specific task (e.g., make a prediction or decision) without explicit instructions, a machine learning model can be pre-trained using training data. After training is performed, first machine learning model 1033 receives vectors representing the tokens generated from the data items. First machine learning model 1033 processes the vectors to predict sentiment of the data items represented by the tokens.” Eldeeb provides implementing a type of neural network for a computer vision task.).
Nunes Coelho, Jr., Cai and Eldeeb are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of artificial intelligence and more specifically user specific neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai with the above teachings of Eldeeb. Doing so would allow for customized suggestions based on a user’s digital footprint (Eldeeb [0034] “To provide customized suggestions, impressions are collected from a plurality of data sources. The impressions include data that reflect user activities.”).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunes Coelho, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0229895) (“Nunes Coelho, Jr.”) in view of Cai et al. (PROXYLESSNAS: DIRECT NEURAL ARCHITECTURE SEARCH ON TARGET TASK AND HARDWARE) (“Cai”) in further view of Ravi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0125956) (“Ravi”).
Regarding claim 8, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 6 as discussed above in the rejection of claim 6, but fails to teach wherein the at least operation further comprises execution of a pruning operation on weight parameters of the trained candidate neural network, and circuitry is further configured to obtain the second neural network based on the execution of the pruning operation.
However, Ravi teaches wherein the at least one operation further comprises execution of a pruning operation on weight parameters of the trained candidate neural network (Ravi [0089] “The machine learning manager 122 can provide a number of machine learning services such as, for example, a model training service and/or a training data management service. The machine learning manager 122 can include and use a machine learning library to train models.”; [0099] “The model compression service and/or model conversion service can enable the developer to compress and/or convert the models to optimize the models for use by a mobile device or in the mobile environment. For example, compressing the model can include performing quantization (e.g., scalar quantization, vector quantization weight sharing, product quantization, etc.), pruning (e.g., pruning by values, L1 regularization, etc.), low rank representation (e.g., circulatent matrix, Kronecker structures, SVD decompositions, etc.), distillation, and/or other compression techniques.”; [0100] “Pruning reduces model size by removing weights or operations from the model that are least useful for predictions, including, for example, low-scoring weights.” Ravi provides pruning weights of trained machine learning models corresponding to a pruning operation on weight parameters of the trained candidate neural network.), and circuitry is further configured to obtain the second neural network based on the execution of the pruning operation (Ravi [0099] “For example, compressing the model can include performing quantization (e.g., scalar quantization, vector quantization weight sharing, product quantization, etc.), pruning (e.g., pruning by values, L1 regularization, etc.), low rank representation (e.g., circulatent matrix, Kronecker structures, SVD decompositions, etc.), distillation, and/or other compression techniques.”; [0136] “The framework permits efficient distributed training but can be optimized to produce a neural network model with low memory footprint that can run on devices at low computation cost.” Ravi provides pruning weights of a neural network for optimization corresponding to obtain the second neural network from the trained candidate neural network, further based on the execution of the pruning operation.).
Nunes Coelho, Jr., Cai, and Ravi are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of artificial intelligence and more specifically user specific neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai with the above teachings of Ravi. Doing so would reduce model complexity (Ravi [0151] “For example, LSTM RNN models typically apply pruning and use smaller, fixed-size vocabularies in the input encoding step to reduce model complexity.”).
Regarding claim 10, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 6 as discussed above in the rejection of claim 6, but fails to teach wherein the at least one operation further includes a knowledge distillation operation, and the circuitry is further configured to: execute the knowledge distillation operation to: select a teacher neural network pre-trained on the selected computer vision task; and select the generated candidate neural network as a student network; produce, based on the selected training dataset, a plurality of inferences by the selected teacher neural network; and train the generated candidate neural network based on the produced plurality of inferences.
However, Ravi teaches wherein the at least one operation further includes a knowledge distillation operation, and the circuitry is further configured to: execute the knowledge distillation operation to: select a teacher neural network pre-trained on the selected computer vision task (Ravi [0049] “The joint training enables the compact machine-learned model to learn from (and/or with) the trainer model, thereby improving the prediction accuracy of the compact machine-learned model. Thus, the joint training can follow a teacher-student joint training architecture.”; [0050] “Thus, in some implementations, the application development platform can include and implement a training pipeline to train a compact machine-learned model. The training pipeline can train the compact machine-learned model individually and/or jointly train the compact machine-learned model with a trainer model (e.g., pre-trained model). Thus, the trainer or teacher model can be fixed or can be jointly optimized with the student model.”’ [0068] “These first party models can be general-use machine-learned models that provide high quality performance at commonly required tasks such as speech analysis (e.g., natural language processing, voice recognition, and/or the like), text analysis, image analysis (e.g., object detection, barcode/QR code reading, optical character recognition, and/or other tasks which may be categorized as “mobile vision”), and/or the like.” Ravi provides a pre-trained teacher model for implementing object detection corresponding to a knowledge distillation operation including selecting a teacher neural network which is pre-trained on the selected computer vision task.); and select the generated candidate neural network as a student network (Ravi [0134] “In some implementations, the two models can be trained jointly using backpropagation, where the student network learns from the teacher network similar to apprenticeship learning. Once trained, the smaller network can be used directly for inference at low memory and computation cost.” Ravi provides a student neural network trained based on a teacher network to produce inferences corresponding to select the generated candidate neural network as a student network.); produce, based on the selected training dataset, a plurality of inferences by the selected teacher neural network (Ravi [0111] “Some of the joint training and distillation approaches provided by the present disclosure follow a teacher-student setup where the knowledge of the trainer model is utilized to learn an equivalent compact student model with minimal loss in accuracy. During training, the teacher or trainer model parameters can be held fixed (e.g., as in distillation) or jointly optimized to improve both models simultaneously.”; [0112] “So instead of providing a single compressed model, the machine learning manager 122 can generate multiple on-device models at different sizes and inference speeds and the developer can select the model that is best suited for their application needs (e.g., provides the most appropriate tradeoff between size and performance). Additionally, jointly training multiple compact models with shared parameters typically takes only slightly more time than training a single large model, but yields multiple compressed/compact models in a single shot that are smaller in size, faster, and have lower cost relative to the more complex model, while still providing good prediction accuracy.”; [0134] “In some implementations, the two models can be trained jointly using backpropagation, where the student network learns from the teacher network similar to apprenticeship learning. Once trained, the smaller network can be used directly for inference at low memory and computation cost.”; [0174] “Alternatively or additionally, the training data can be derived from large, public training datasets.” Ravi provides a student teacher network, wherein the teacher neural network produces a plurality of inferences based on public training datasets corresponding to produce, based on the selected training dataset, a plurality of inferences by the selected teacher neural network); and train the generated candidate neural network based on the produced plurality of inferences (Ravi [0134] “In some implementations, the two models can be trained jointly using backpropagation, where the student network learns from the teacher network similar to apprenticeship learning. Once trained, the smaller network can be used directly for inference at low memory and computation cost.” Ravi provides training the student neural network based on the produced plurality of inferences corresponding to train the generated candidate neural network based on the produced plurality of inferences).
Nunes Coelho, Jr., Cai, and Ravi are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of artificial intelligence and more specifically user specific neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai with the above teachings of Ravi. Doing so would reduce model complexity (Ravi [0151] “For example, LSTM RNN models typically apply pruning and use smaller, fixed-size vocabularies in the input encoding step to reduce model complexity.”).
Claim 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunes Coelho, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0229895) (“Nunes Coelho, Jr.”) in view of Cai et al. (PROXYLESSNAS: DIRECT NEURAL ARCHITECTURE SEARCH ON TARGET TASK AND HARDWARE) (“Cai”) in further view of Klein (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0211115) (“Klein”).
Regarding claim 14, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai teaches the system according to claim 1 as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to: control the electronic device to display a User Interface (UI) that includes at least one of a first option to purchase the end-user feature, a second option to subscribe to the end-user feature, a description that includes an accuracy of the obtained second neural network and device resource information associated with the end-user feature, or a price associated with each of the first option and the second option; receive, from the electronic device, a selection of one of the first option or the second option; and update the software application based on the received selection.
However, Klein teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to: control the electronic device to display a User Interface (UI) that includes at least one of a first option to purchase the end-user feature, a second option to subscribe to the end-user feature, a description that includes an accuracy of the obtained second neural network and device resource information associated with the end-user feature, or a price associated with each of the first option and the second option (Klein [0010] “In some embodiments, the MSP and the end user can access an application (i.e., via a user device such as a computer) that is configured to provide a front-end user interface (UI), which allows for viewing video clips or stream video, receive alerts and notifications, search for and purchase monitoring or security services from MSPs, conduct MSP onboarding and credentialing, manage MSP subscription, set preferences and settings, and customize user-specific security needs.”; [0021] “In various embodiments, the UGVs/UAVs 128, 110 are configured to analyze motion detection and object recognition/detection.”; [0028] “Similarly, the end user can also access a web and/or a mobile application 136, 138 to view video clips, stream videos, receive alerts and notifications, search for and purchase security and surveillance services from one or more monitoring service providers 130, conduct onboarding and credentialing for monitoring service providers, manage subscription for monitoring service providers, set user preferences and settings, and customize user-specific security needs.” Klein provides a user interface including options for purchasing and subscribing to computer vision tasks such as object recognition, corresponding to one or more of a first option to purchase the end-user feature and a second option to subscribe to the end-user feature.); and receive, from the electronic device, a selection of one of the first option or the second option; and update the software application based on the received selection (Klein [0028] “Particularly, the monitoring service provider 130 can view clips or stream video and receive alerts and notifications via a web and/or a mobile application 136, 138 that is configured to provide a front-end UI. Similarly, the end user can also access a web and/or a mobile application 136, 138 to view video clips, stream videos, receive alerts and notifications, search for and purchase security and surveillance services from one or more monitoring service providers 130, conduct onboarding and credentialing for monitoring service providers, manage subscription for monitoring service providers, set user preferences and settings, and customize user-specific security needs.” Klein provides a user portal for managing account and subscription services, wherein the web and/or a mobile application corresponding to the software application is updated based on a received user selection of one of the first or second options to purchase or subscribe.).
Nunes Coelho, Jr., Cai, and Klein are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of artificial intelligence and more specifically user specific neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr, in view of Cai with the above teachings of Klein. Doing so would allow for user specific computer vision and/or security needs (Klein [0010] “In some embodiments, the MSP and the end user can access an application (i.e., via a user device such as a computer) that is configured to provide a front-end user interface (UI), which allows for viewing video clips or stream video, receive alerts and notifications, search for and purchase monitoring or security services from MSPs, conduct MSP onboarding and credentialing, manage MSP subscription, set preferences and settings, and customize user-specific security needs”).
Regarding claim 15, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai in further view of Klein teaches the system according to claim 14 as discussed above in the rejection of claim 14, wherein the circuitry is further configured to control the electronic device to display the UI based on the acquired usage data (Klein [0028] “Similarly, the end user can also access a web and/or a mobile application 136, 138 to view video clips, stream videos, receive alerts and notifications, search for and purchase security and surveillance services from one or more monitoring service providers 130, conduct onboarding and credentialing for monitoring service providers, manage subscription for monitoring service providers, set user preferences and settings, and customize user-specific security needs.” Klein provides a user interface including options for purchasing and subscribing to user specific computer vision tasks corresponding to the first option and the second option are included in the UI, based on the acquired usage data.).
Nunes Coelho, Jr., Cai, and Klein are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of artificial intelligence and more specifically user specific neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai in view of Klein with the above teachings of Klein. Doing so would allow for user specific computer vision and/or security needs (Klein [0010] “In some embodiments, the MSP and the end user can access an application (i.e., via a user device such as a computer) that is configured to provide a front-end user interface (UI), which allows for viewing video clips or stream video, receive alerts and notifications, search for and purchase monitoring or security services from MSPs, conduct MSP onboarding and credentialing, manage MSP subscription, set preferences and settings, and customize user-specific security needs”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunes Coelho, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0229895) (“Nunes Coelho, Jr.”) in view of Cai et al. (PROXYLESSNAS: DIRECT NEURAL ARCHITECTURE SEARCH ON TARGET TASK AND HARDWARE) (“Cai”) in further view of Klein (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0211115) (“Klein”) in further view of Silva et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0265487) (“Silva”).
Regarding claim 16, Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai in further view of Klein teaches the system according to claim 14 as discussed above in the rejection of claim 14, but fails to teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine the price based on at least one of a cost of one of the electronic device or a functional component of the one or more functional component of the electronic device, a total time, that includes a training time to obtain the second neural network from the seed model, a complexity of the end-user feature, a cost of dataset associated with the obtained second neural network, competitive or business intelligence data associated with a plurality of users of the electronic device, or an estimate-demand for the end-user feature.
However, Silva teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine the price based on at least one of a cost of one of the electronic device or a functional component of the at least one functional component of the electronic device, a total time, that includes a training time to obtain the second neural network from the seed model, a complexity of the end-user feature, a cost of dataset associated with the obtained second neural network, competitive or business intelligence data associated with a plurality of users of the electronic device, or an estimate-demand for the end-user feature (Silva [0082] “The final offer price can be determined further based on at least (1) a predicted resale value of the electronic device, (2) a predicted incoming volume of a model of the electronic device, or (3) a predicted processing cost of the electronic device.” Silva provides determining a price based on a cost of an electronic device.).
Nunes Coelho, Jr., Cai, Klein and Silva are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of artificial intelligence and more specifically user specific neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai and Klein with the above teaching of Silva. Doing so would allow for an estimated price based on the cost of an electronic device (Silva [0042] “The display screen 104 can also provide an estimated price, or an estimated range of prices, that the kiosk 100 can offer the user for the mobile phone 150 based on the visual analysis, and/or based on user input (e.g., input regarding the type, condition, etc., of the phone 150).”)
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection applied under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant firstly asserts that the limitations of the independent claims, as amended, are not mentally performable because the claimed limitations are expressly tied to hardware devices (“Remarks”, Page 16). Applicant further asserts that the claimed subject matter addresses a problem in enabling resource-constrained electronic devices to run computer vision tasks without hardware upgrades by adapting neural network architectures to fit device hardware limits, and any alleged abstract ideas are integrated into a practical implementation (“Remarks”, Page 16). Applicant specifically asserts that the claims are integrated into a practical application by improving the functioning of an electronic device by enabling execution of neural networks within device-specific memory and latency constraints (“Remarks”, Pages 16-19).
However, the claims recite at least an abstract idea. For example, the limitation “determining a search space based on the hardware limitations of the electronic device” is an abstract idea (mental processes, e.g., evaluation and judgement with assistance of pen and paper) because the human mind can make a determination of a search space based on the hardware limitations of an electronic device, by for example, making a decision of a search space based on information available regarding the hardware limitations of a device. Therefore, the claims recite at least an abstract idea.
Further, even if the claims did recite an improvement by “improving the functioning of an electronic device by enabling execution of neural networks within device-specific memory and latency constraints”, the improvement would be in the abstract idea of “determining a search space based on the hardware limitations of the electronic device”. As recited in the MPEP, an improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology. MPEP 2106.05(a). Therefore, even if the claims did recite an improvement, it would be an improvement in the abstract idea of determining a search space and the claims as written remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding the rejection applied under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the “determination of a search space based on the hardware limitations of the electronic device” limitation have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Regarding the newly amended claim features, the rejection of the claims in light of the newly amended claim features is discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of the claims above.
Applicant further argues that insufficient rationale has been provided for the combination of Silva with the other cited references, and specifically, that Silva describes a determination of price based on hardware’s physical condition, and in contrast, claim 16 recites pricing factors for software development, and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not look at the disclosure of Silva to combine it with the other references (“Remarks”, Page 25).
However, Nunes Coelho, Jr., Cai, Klein and Silva are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of artificial intelligence and more specifically user/device specific neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai and Klein with the above teaching of Silva. Doing so would allow for an estimated price based on the cost of an electronic device (see para [0042]) and improved prediction models and model training based on price information (see para [0048]). Therefore, the applied reference, Silva, is analogous art and it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nunes Coelho, Jr. in view of Cai and Klein with the above teaching of Silva.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KURT NICHOLAS PRESSLY/Examiner, Art Unit 2125
/KAMRAN AFSHAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2125