DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group (I) in the reply filed on 01/18/2024 is maintained.
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. Application Serial No. 14/574,649, filed on
December 18, 2014, which claims the benefit of priority to U.S.S.N. U.S. Application Serial No. 61/920,970, filed on December 26, 2013.
Claim Status
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on August 08, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 9-26, and 28-41 are pending. Claims 21-26 and 28 remain withdrawn. Claims 3, 5, 8, and 27 are canceled. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-20, and 29-41 are under examination.
Action Summary
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 9-20, and 29-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph (Written Description and Enablement rejections), are maintained.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-20 and 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Williams et al. (US7,553,923) in view of in view of Rizk et al. (US7,943,683 B2), Nettles (Conference paper, NASA STI, October 2012), and Levine et al (Material Science, 2009), are maintained, but modified and revisited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 9-20, and 29-41 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The recitations of “the material of the first layer is directly bonded to the material of the second layer”; “the first layer comprises a P4HB blend or a P4HB copolymer blend, and wherein the second layer comprises a P4HB blend or a P4HB copolymer blend”; “the material of the first layer is heat press laminated directly to the material of the second layer”; and “the material of the first layer is laminated directly to the material of the second layer at a temperature between a softening temperature of the P4HB or the P4HB copolymer and a de-orientation temperature of the P4HB or the P4HB copolymer,” and the medical implant is substantially free from any intervening positioned between the first layer and the second layer” are not described in the specification. In fact, although the originally filled specification described laminated P4HB materials, stacked films, and certain lamination techniques, the specification does not reasonably convey the presently claimed ordered laminate architecture comprising specifically recited first and second layers having the presently claimed structural relationship to one another. The originally filed disclosure lacks adequate description of the presently claimed discrete ordered layer arrangement and the direct interfacial relationship recited between the specifically identified first and the second layers. Moreover, nowhere the specification describes the medical implant is substantially free from any intervening material positioned between the first layer and the second layer and the material of the first layer is heat pressed laminated directly to the material of the second layer. As such, said recitations are considered new matters.
Applicant argues that the rejection should be withdrawn because claim 1 allegedly does not recite a “first construct” or “second construct” as stated in the Office Action. Applicant further argues that the rejection is unclear on this basis.
The Examiner acknowledges the inadvertent use of the terms “first construct” and “second construct” in the prior Office Action. However, the substance of the rejection remains applicable to the presently claimed subject matter and the terminology error does not overcome the rejection.
As clarified herein, claim 1 recites a laminate structure comprising:
a first layer comprising P4HB or a copolymer thereof, and
a second layer comprising P4HB or a copolymer thereof;
wherein the material of the first layer is directly bonded to the material of the second layer.
The rejection is maintained because the amendment filed on 08/20/2025 introduces subject matter not reasonably supported by the originally filed disclosure. Specifically, the originally filed specification does not describe the presently claimed ordered relationship between the recited first and second layer, namely, that the material of the first is directly bonded to the material of the second later in the presently claimed manner.
Although the originally filed disclosure may generally discuss laminates, films, sheets, or layered structures, the disclosure does not specifically describe the presently amended configuration requiring:
(1) a distinct first layer and a distinct second layer arranged relative to one another, and
(2) direct bonding of the first layer material to the second layer material without an intervening0 material positioned therebetween.
The presently amendment therefore adds specificity regarding the arrangement and direct interfacial relationship of the recited layers that was not originally disclosed. The issue is not whether “layers” were originally disclosed, but whether the originally filed specification conveyed the particular ordered layer-to-layer relationship being claimed.
Accordingly, the amendment introduces subject matter which extends beyond the content of the application as originally filed.
Maintained Written Description Rejection
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 9-20, and 29-41 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are directed to broad classes of medical implants comprising laminated structures comprising laminated including first- and second-layers comprising poly-4-hydroxybutyrate (P4HB) or a P4HB copolymer, wherein each layer is at least partially mono-axially or bi-axially oriented and directly laminated to one another.
The specification does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that Applicant had possession of the full scope of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Although the specification provides limited examples involving specific oriented P4HB films laminated under narrowly defined processing conditions the claims broadly encompass monoaxially and biaxially oriented laminate structures, P4HB homopolymers and copolymers, films. Sheets, tapes, meshes, woven, and nonwoven fabrics, porous and non-porous laminate structures, and numerous medical implant configuration and applications. The disclosure does not sufficiently describe the structural and processing parameters necessary to achieve and maintain the claimed oriented laminate structures across the full breadth of the claims.
For example, Example 3 discloses biaxial orientation of a 60 µm film stretched 4x in the machine and cross direction yield a 17 µm biaxially oriented film. Example 4 discloses lamination of biaxially oriented films under specific conditions including approximately 1650 psi pressure, 55oC temperature, and 15 minutes lamination time. However, the specification itself recognizes that preservation of orientation is technically difficult and process-sensitive. Specifically, Example 4 states that the measured burst strength “is very good because it means that the lamination process did not result in significant de-orientation of the film,” and further states that producing a biaxially oriented film of 200-micron thickness from an 8-10 mm thick film “would be technically very difficult as you would need to elongate the film 7x.” Thus, the specification itself acknowledges that orientation retention within laminated P4HB structures depends upon processing limitations and technical constraints.
Furthermore, the disclosure does not adequately describe how orientation may be consistently achieved and maintained across the full scope of the claimed laminate structures and implant embodiments, particularly where orientation retention depends upon variables including molecular weight, crystallinity, film thickness, draw ratio, thermal history, lamination temperature, pressure, and processing conditions.
Extrinsic evidence further demonstrates that P4HB properties are dependent upon molecular weight and related processing variables. Boesel et al. (International Journal of Biological Macromolecules 71 (2014) 124–130) teach molecular weight significantly affects crystallinity, mechanical properties, and processability of P4HB. (See Abstract.) Abdeladhim et al. (Materials 2024, 17, 5415, pages 1-30) further teach that PHA properties vary according to molecular weight and polydispersity index. (See Table 1 and last paragraph of page 4.)
Accordingly, the specification does not reasonably convey possession of the full scope of the claimed oriented laminate structures as presently claimed.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on August 08, 2026.
Applicant argues that the originally filed disclosure describes P4HB films, sheets, laminates, stacked films, heat and pressure lamination, and related processing and therefore supports the presently claimed subject matter. Applicant also challenges terminology used in the prior Office action concerning a “first construct” and “second construct.” The Examiner acknowledges the prior inadvertent terminology. That terminology, however, was not the substantive basis of the rejection and does not overcome the written-description deficiency.
The issue is not whether the originally filed disclosure generally mentions layers, films, sheets, stacked films, P4HB, orientation, or lamination as separate concepts. Rather, the issue is whether the application as originally filed reasonably conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventors possessed the invention now claimed as a whole, including the particular ordered and direct interfacial relationship recited between the specifically identified first and second layers. See MPEP §§ 2163 and 2163.05. Newly added limitations need not appear in haec verba, but they must be expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported by the disclosure as originally filed.
Independent claims 1, 33, and 37 recite first and second layers comprising P4HB or a P4HB copolymer, with each layer at least partially monoaxially or biaxially oriented, and require that the material of the first layer be laminated directly to the material of the second layer such that the first-layer material is directly bonded to the second-layer material. Claim 33 further requires the implant to be substantially free from sealant between the layers, while claim 37 further requires different orientation directions. Claims 29-32, 36, and 40-41 add further limitations concerning blends, absence of intervening material, heat-press lamination, and thermal processing relationships.
Applicant's identification of disclosures that separately describe P4HB materials, films or sheets, stacking, lamination, heat, pressure, and orientation does not establish an originally filed disclosure of the presently claimed combination and relationship of features. The claimed subject matter is not supported merely because its individual components can be assembled from separate portions of the disclosure. The original application must reasonably convey possession of the claimed invention as a whole. The record does not establish an original disclosure of the presently claimed ordered first-layer/second-layer architecture and direct interfacial bonding relationship with the specificity now required by the claims.
Accordingly, Applicant's arguments do not overcome the written-description rejection. The rejection is maintained. The Examiner further clarifies that unsupported subject matter appearing in a claim is addressed under the written-description requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a); the claim itself is not rejected or objected to on the ground of “new matter.” See MPEP § 2163.06.
Maintained Scope of Enablement Rejection
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 9-20, and 29-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling forP4HB laminated structure comprising a biaxially stretching of a 60 µm P4HB film stretched 4x to yield a 17 µm oriented film and under 1650 psi pressure at 55oC for 15 minutes, does not reasonably provide enablement for full scope of the claimed. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claims broadly encompass medical implant comprising directly laminated monoaxially and/or biaxially oriented P4HB or P4HB copolymer layers across numerous laminate forms, implant configurations, thickness, and processing conditions.
The specification provides only limited working examples directed to narrowly defined embodiments and processing conditions. For example, Example 3 discloses biaxial orientation of a 60 µm film stretched 4x in the machine and cross direction yield a 17 µm biaxially oriented film. Example 4 discloses lamination of biaxially oriented films under specific conditions including approximately 1650 psi pressure, 55oC temperature, and 15 minutes. However, the claims are not limited to these specific embodiments or processing parameters. However, the specification itself acknowledges that orientation preservation during lamination is technically difficult and process-sensitive. Specifically, Example 4 states that the measured burst strength demonstrates that “the lamination process did not result in significant de-orientation of the film,” and further states that producing thicker biaxially oriented film of P4HB “would be technically very difficult because substantial elongation would be required.
Extrinsic evidence further demonstrates that P4HB properties are sensitive to numerous interrelated variables. Boesel et al. (International Journal of Biological Macromolecules 71 (2014) 124–130) teach molecular weight significantly affects crystallinity, mechanical properties, and processability of P4HB. (See Abstract.) Abdeladhim et al. (Materials 2024, 17, 5415, pages 1-30) further teaches that PHA properties vary according to molecular weight and polydispersity index, and that degradation and physical behavior are influenced by molecular weight, crystallinity, and thermal properties. (See Table 1 and last paragraph of page 4.)
Accordingly, preparation and maintenance of the claimed oriented laminate structures would depend upon numerous variables including molecular weight, crystallinity, film thickness, stretching ratio, processing temperature, pressure, thermal history, and orientation retention characteristics. The specification does not provide sufficient guidance enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine appropriate combinations of such variables across the full breadth of the claims without undue experimentation.
Application of the Wands factors further support that undue experimentation would have been required.
(1) Quantity of experimentation necessary:
Substantial experimentation would have been required to determine suitable polymer compositions, molecular weights, film thickness, orientation conditions, and lamination conditions capable of preserving the claimed orientation across the full claim scope.
(2) Amount of direction or guidance presented:
The specification provides limited guidance directed to only a small number of working embodiments employing specific processing conditions.
(3) Presence or absence of working examples:
Only limited examples are disclosed involving relatively thin films and narrowly defined orientation/lamination parameters.
(4) Nature of the invention:
The invention concerns polymer processing and preservation of orientation within laminated P4HB structures, which is highly sensitive to processing conditions and material properties.
(5) State of the prior art:
The prior art demonstrates that P4HB properties and processability vary according to the molecular weight, crystallinity, and processing history. (See Abstract of Boesel.)
(6) Relative skill in the art:
Although those skilled in the polymer processing arts possess considerable technical skill, such skill would not eliminate the need of undue experimentation in view of the breadth of the claims and limited guidance provided.
(7) Predictability or unpredictability of the art:
The art is relatively unpredictable because orientation retention and mechanical behavior of laminated P4HB structures depend upon numerous interrelated variables.
(8) Breadth of the claims:
The claims broadly encompass numerous laminate structures, implant forms, polymer compositions, orientation states, and processing conditions extending well beyond the limited embodiments described in the specification.
Therefore, the specification fails to enable the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on August 08, 2026.
Applicant argues that the disclosure provides sufficient information for a skilled artisan to make the claimed laminates and that ordinary polymer-processing skill would permit routine variation of material and processing parameters. The Examiner has reconsidered the rejection in view of Applicant's arguments and evidence but is not persuaded that the specification enables the full scope of the rejected claims without undue experimentation.
The enablement issue is not whether the specification enables at least one P4HB laminate. The issue is whether the disclosure, together with the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, enables the full scope of the claims without undue experimentation. See MPEP § 2164.01. The claims encompass directly laminated medical implants containing monoaxially and/or biaxially oriented P4HB or P4HB-copolymer layers across numerous physical forms, polymer compositions, layer thicknesses, orientation states, implant configurations, and processing conditions.
By contrast, the working disclosure is substantially narrower. Example 3 describes biaxial orientation of a 60 µm P4HB film stretched approximately four-fold in the machine and cross directions to produce an approximately 17 µm film. Example 4 describes lamination under particular conditions, including approximately 1650 psi, 55°C, and 15 minutes. The specification itself recognizes the sensitivity of the process, noting that the observed result was significant because lamination did not produce significant de-orientation and explaining that production of a substantially thicker biaxially oriented P4HB film would be technically difficult because substantial elongation would be required.
Successful preparation of an oriented P4HB laminate while retaining the required orientation depends on multiple interrelated variables, including polymer or copolymer composition, molecular weight, crystallinity, polydispersity, layer thickness, draw ratio, thermal history, stretching conditions, lamination temperature, pressure, duration, and the manner in which the layer is constrained or handled during processing. The extrinsic evidence cited in the rejection further supports that P4HB/PHA material properties and processability vary with molecular weight, crystallinity, and related processing variables.
Application of the Wands Factors
Breadth of the claims: The claims encompass numerous polymer compositions, orientation states, layer forms, laminate architectures, implant configurations, thicknesses, and processing conditions beyond the limited working embodiments.
Nature of the invention: The invention concerns polymer orientation and lamination while preserving an orientation-dependent structure; the specification itself demonstrates sensitivity to processing and thermal conditions.
State of the prior art: P4HB was known to be processable and orientable, but its properties and processability depend on variables including molecular weight, crystallinity, and processing history.
Level of ordinary skill: Substantial polymer-processing skill is credited, but such skill does not itself supply missing guidance for selecting workable combinations across the full scope.
Predictability: Applicant itself emphasizes the narrow thermal relationship between softening and de-orientation and the difficulty of retaining P4HB orientation during lamination.
Direction or guidance: The specification provides useful guidance for particular embodiments but not a sufficiently general teaching for selecting interacting variables across the entire claimed scope.
Working examples: Working examples are present and credited, but concern relatively limited film structures and processing conditions.
Quantity of experimentation: Substantial empirical testing would be required to determine workable combinations that preserve orientation and direct bonding throughout the claim scope.
Considering the Wands factors as a whole, the required experimentation is not merely routine verification of embodiments already taught by the disclosure. Rather, the skilled artisan would be required to identify workable embodiments throughout a broad multidimensional processing space without sufficient guidance establishing which combinations will achieve the claimed result. Applicant's arguments therefore do not overcome the enablement rejection, which is maintained.
Maintained Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-20, and 29-41 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Williams et al (US7,553,923) in view of in view of Rizk et al.(US7,943,683 B2), Levine et al (Material Science, 2009), Tsushimaa et al (US4,041,206A), and Wu (WO2011/044417 A2). Copies of Williams, Rizk, Nettles, and Levine can be found in the IDS dated 10/24/2022.
Williams teaches a device comprising biodegradable or bioresorbable polyhydroxyalkanoate (PHAs) with controlled degradation rates wherein the devices include implants, stent, hernia mesh, soft/ hard tissue, and a filer. (See Abstract.) Williams teaches the PHAs can be fabricated into devices suitable for wound healing. For example, non-woven fibrous materials for this purpose may be prepared from the polymers by first producing polymer fibers, by pressing the polymers through a perforated outlet, using procedures known to those skilled in the art. The fibers can then be fabricated into a porous membrane (cloth) by spreading them on a solid support and subjecting them to compression molding. (See column 25, lines 47-55.) Williams also teaches Polyhydroxyalkanoates such as the homopolymer P4HB and copolymers containing 4HB have physical properties and degradation characteristics which make them very attractive as implants for use in medical applications. These polymers can be fabricated into fibers, sheets, foams, coating, structures, filaments and the like for use of these as implantable medical materials. (See column 39, lines 24-31.) Moreover, Williams teaches the preferred PHAs for medical application is P4HB, i.e., poly-4-hydroxybutyrate. (See column 7, lines 35-37.) The polyhydroxyalkanoates may be manipulated using a wide range of processing techniques wherein the preferred techniques solvent casting, melt processing, fiber processing/spinning/weaving, extrusion, injection and compression molding, and lamination, (See column 12, lines 6-12.) Other techniques include machining methods. (See column, lines62.) Williams teaches the P4HB formed a thin film (layer) at a temperature of 115oC. (See Example 5.) The temperature of 115oC taught by Williams would be a temperature equal to or greater than softening temperature of P4HB copolymer as evidenced by the instant specification. Williams teaches the PHAs may be in almost any physical form, such as a powder, film, molded item, particles, spheres, latexes, and crystalline or amorphous materials. They can be combined with additional non-PHA materials, for example, other polymers. They are Suitable for use in applications requiring slowly degrading, biocompatible, moldable materials, for example, medical devices including implants. (See column 28, lines 30-52.) Williams teaches compression molded strips of P4HB were uniaxially stretched (oriented); the sample narrowed and became clear, showing signs of necking; after this stretching process, the polymer appeared stronger and somewhat more flexible, demonstrating uniaxial orientation of the sample. (See Example 8.) Additionally, Williams teaches PGA (poly glycolic acid) can be used. (See Examples 10 and 11.) Williams teaches exposure of a PHA containing article to vapors of ethylene oxide prior to implantation sterilizes the article making it suitable for implantation. During sterilization with cold ethylene oxide gas, gamma-irradiation, the PHA containing article maintains its shape. (See col. 28, lines 63-67.) Williams further teaches the PHA polymers can also be configured in porous and non-porous forms for spinal fusion cages. (See col. 21, lines 29-30.) Lastly, Williams teaches the tensile strength of the P4HB is 7,500 Psi which is 52 MPa. Williams teaches the PHA materials may contain bioactive or therapeutic agents. (See col. 27, lines 22-25.) The polyhydroxyalkanoate polymers can be a blends or composites of other materials. (See column 21, lines 17-18.)
In sum, Williams expressly teaches P4HB, implants, films/sheets, lamination processing, orientation/stretching, blends/composites, medical implants contexts. Williams expressly teaches both compression molding and lamination amount suitable polymer processing techniques for producing P4HB medical materials. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood lamination to represent an alternative known fabrication technique for forming multilayer P4HB implant structures
Williams does not specifically teach a first layer of a poly-4-hydroxybutyrate (P4HB) and a second layer of a P4HB, wherein each of the first and second layers of the laminated structure are at least partially mono-axially or bi- axially oriented, wherein the material of the first layer is laminated directly bonded to the material of the second layer at a temperature between the softening temperature of the P4HB and a de-orientation temperature of the P4HB. Additionally, Williams et al. does not teach the medical implant is substantially free from any intervening material positioned between the first layer and the second layer, wherein the material of the first layer is heat pressed laminated directly to the material of the second layer.
Rizk teaches a film of poly-4-hydroxybutyrate or copolymer thereof, wherein the film has a tensile strength greater than 5.5 kgf/mm2 and wherein the film is derived by a continuous process, followed by orientation such that the film is stretched by more than 25% of the film's original length in one or more directions. (See claim 1.) A particular preference of a film is P4HB, see Abstract. The film of claim 1 formed by melt extrusion or solvent casting. (See claim 2.) Moreover, Rizk teaches with appropriate choice of solvent, polymer and casting conditions, thinner films of P4HB can be produced. Ro the cast films, can be stretched and oriented uniaxially or biaxially to yield thinner and stronger film than the unoriented cast films. (See page 6, paragraph [0035].) Rizk teaches orientation is the process by which the film is stretched beyond its yield point and plastically deformed, but does not break (i.e., it retains mechanical and physical integrity). The degree of orientation may be expressed as the percentage or ratio that the film is stretch when compared to the original film prior to orientation. Films are preferably oriented by stretching the film by at least 25% of the film's original length in one or more directions. (See paragraph [0022].) Rizk further teaches the melt-extrusion films and solvent cast films show improved mechanical properties when stretched. The melt-extrusion film may be stretched by several methods such as a roll stretching and/or a stretching method using a tenter frame. The melt-extrusion film can be stretched at a temperature between room temperature and 150.degree. C. at a stretch ratio of 0.25 to 15. To increase the processing rate, the stretching may be more preferably carried out at a temperature in the range of from 40 to 80. degree. C. The stretching may be monoaxial stretching for forming a monoaxially oriented film, consecutive biaxial stretching for forming a biaxially oriented film and simultaneous biaxial stretching for forming a plane-oriented film. When the melt-extrusion film is stretched, the tensile strength at break in the direction in which the film is stretched is increased. (See paragraph [0056].) Rizk teaches stretching/orientating P4HB films at temperatures of about 40-80oC, which overlaps the presently claimed temperature range between the softening and de-orientation temperatures of P4HB. In the absence of evidence demonstrating criticality of the claimed range, overlapping ranges establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
In Sum, Rizk establishes monoaxial/biaxial orientation, stretch conditions, P4HB films, temperature/stretch parameters, and increase strength of oriented films.
Levine taches polymer laminate fabrication offers an alternative that permits iterative and empirical testing without the need for tooling. The result is a superior product that is optimized and well characterized. (See page 3, left column and second paragraph.) Moreover, Levine teaches polymer lamination process involves thin sheets or films of commercially available polymeric materials that are laser cut, then stacked to form fluidic channels and vias and the layers are bonded (laminated) together using pressure sensitive adhesive, thermal or diffusion bonding. (See page 3, left column and third paragraph.)
In sum, Levine teaches lamination fabrication by stacking polymer films/sheets, bonding adjacent layers together, diffusion/thermal bonding methods for laminated polymer structure.
Wu teaches Various multilayer laminated films and related methods of manufacture are known. For example, a multilayer film structure comprising at least one film of a fluoropolymer (e.g., polytetrafluoroethylene), at least one film of a thermoplastic polymer (e.g., polyethylene terephthalate) esters), between which at least one layer of adhesive is placed (for example, a polymer resin formed by an alkyl ester of an olefin having 2 to 8 carbon atoms and an α, β-ethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acid), Wherein the multilayer laminated film is formed by co-extrusion. The multilayer laminated film is said to exhibit high adhesive strength and good moisture and gas barrier properties and is disclosed as being suitable as a packaging material for food and medicine. Although such multilayer laminated films exhibit moisture and gas barrier properties required for packaging materials, they do not meet the requirements of many other applications. ((See lines 30-34 of page 2 bridging lines 1-10..) Moreover, Wu teaches one approach taken to improve the properties of existing multilayer laminated films is to modify them by stretching thermoplastic polymer films. Stretching is known to significantly improve the properties of polymer films such as polyethylene terephthalate, including their barrier and optical properties, high and low temperature resistance properties, and dimensional stability. (See lines 13-20 of page 4.)
In Sum, Wu teaches multilayer laminated films whose properties are improved through stretching/orientation, and the known benefit of orientation in multilayer laminated systems.
Tsushimaa teaches laminated polyester film having a base layer of biaxially oriented polyethylene terephthalate or polybutylene terephthalate is laminated directly by heat sealing and without the use of any intervening adhesive with a crystalline butylene terephthalate or hexylene terephthalate copolyester blended with from about 10 to 40-weight % of a polyethylene terephthalate or polybutylene terephthalate. (See Abstract.) Moreover, Tsushimaa teaches a superior laminated polyester film which uses no extra adhesive layer to adhere the lamina together and which is much improved in slipperiness and has excellent heat-adhesive strength at high temperature, and which can be manufactured efficiently and with economy. (See lines 8-13 of column 2.)
In sum, Tsushimaa teaches directly heat-laminating oriented polymer layers, bonding without intervening adhesive layers, and multilayer oriented laminate structures.
Tsushima demonstrates that directly heat-laminating oriented polymer films without intervening adhesive layer was a known technique for preserving laminate integrity and adhesive strength while maintaining oriented film properties.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the P4HB implant material and films of Williams with the orientation/stretching teachings of Rizk, the multilayer lamination fabrication teachings of Levine, the multilayer orientation/stretching teachings of Wu, and the direct heat-lamination teachings of Tsushima in order to produce a multilayer oriented P4HB laminate implant structure having improved mechanical strength, laminate integrity, and adhesive properties while eliminating the need for intervening adhesive layers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to combine the references because Williams expressly teaches P4HB medical implant materials fabricated as films/sheets and further teaches lamination as a known polymer processing technique for producing implantable materials. Rizk teaches that orientating/stretching P4HB films improves mechanical properties and film strength. Levine teaches conventional fabrication of laminated polymer structures by stacking and bonding polymer film layers together using thermal or diffusion bonding methods. Wu further teaches that multilayer laminated polymer films may be stretched/oriented to improve laminate properties, thereby evidencing that orientation techniques were compatible with multilayer laminate systems. Tsushimaa teaches directly heat laminating-oriented polymer layers without intervening adhesive layers while maintaining laminate integrity and adhesive strength.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that oriented P4HB films could be stacked and thermally stacked and thermally laminated together to form directly bonded multilayer laminate implant structures while preserving desirable oriented film properties. The recitation of the “first layer” and the “second layer” are interpreted as identifying adjacent layers within a laminate structure and do not require any particular compositional distinction, manufacturing sequence, or additional structural relationship beyond expressly recited bonding relationship. The applied references collectively teach adjacent laminated polymer film layers satisfying these limitations.
Furthermore, the combination merely involves the application of known polymer film orientation and lamination techniques to known P4HB implant materials for their known purpose of improving structural and mechanical properties. The combination represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. See KDR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
With respect to the presently claimed temperature range “between a softening temperature and a de-orientation temperature,” the instant specification itself identifies preferred orientation/stretching temperatures for P4HB films and sheets as about 40-80oC. (See instant specification, page 15, lines 20-30.) Risk likewise teaches stretching/orientating P4HB films at temperatures of about 40-80oC, which is the same preferred temperature range disclosed in the instant specification for orientating P4HB films/sheets to be used as layers for lamination. Accordingly, Rizk teaches the claimed temperature condition.
To the extent applicant argues that the claimed language “between a softening temperature and a de-orientation temperature” is narrow or critical, no evidence of criticality or unexpected results has provided.
Furthermore, the instant specification itself recognizes the oriented- P4HB films and sheets may be laminated and heat treated to minimize shrinkage during lamination, thereby evidencing that preservation of orientation during lamination was expected and known processing consideration within the art.
Declaration Under 37 C.F.R. § 1.132
The declaration of David Martin has been considered in its entirety and accorded appropriate evidentiary weight. The declaration does not, however, require withdrawal of the pending rejections.
Applicant relies on the declaration, including the statement that application of tension and/or compression to P4HB layers during lamination can preserve orientation. That evidence may support the operability of the particular processing approach discussed by the declarant, but it does not establish that the originally filed application reasonably conveyed possession of every presently claimed combination. A later declaration may explain what the original disclosure would have conveyed to a skilled artisan, but it cannot add subject matter that was not originally described.
Likewise, evidence that particular combinations of tension, compression, temperature, pressure, or other conditions can preserve orientation does not establish enablement commensurate with claims encompassing substantially broader materials, forms, configurations, and processing conditions. The declaration therefore does not cure the full-scope enablement deficiency.
As to obviousness, the declaration does not establish that a skilled artisan would have lacked a reasonable expectation of producing an oriented, directly bonded P4HB laminate in view of the cited art as a whole. Rizk expressly concerns P4HB film and teaches monoaxial and biaxial orientation of that same polymer under controlled thermal processing conditions. The remaining references are relied upon for known multilayer lamination and direct thermal-bonding techniques. Moreover, the independent product claims do not require tension or compression during lamination. The declaration therefore does not rebut the rejection on the basis of an unclaimed process limitation.
Applicant’s argument and response to said argument regarding Rizk
Applicant argues that Rizk is directed solely to oriented P4HB films and allegedly fails to disclose laminated oriented structures or enable lamination or oriented P4HB layers.
In response, Applicant’s argument is deemed unpersuasive. The rejection relies upon Rizk for teachings to:
oriented P4HB films/sheets,
monoaxial and biaxial orientation,
stretching conditions,
orientation temperatures,
and improved mechanical properties resulting from orientation.
Rizk expressly teaches that films and sheets of P4HB “to be used as layers for lamination, may be oriented.” Rizk also teaches monoaxial stretching, biaxial stretching, plane-oriented films, orientation temperatures of about 40-80oC, and orientation method including roll stretching and tenter frame stretching. Importantly, Rizk does not need to independently disclose the entirety of the laminate structure because Leving and Tsushimaa provide teachings regarding lamination and direct bonding of polymer layers. The rejection properly relies upon the references collectively. Additionally, Rizk expressly contemplates oriented films/sheets being used as layers for lamination, which directly undermines Applicant’s argument that Rizk allegedly teaches away from laminated oriented structures.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on August 08, 2026.
Applicant argues that Levine, Tsushima, and Wu concern fields different from medical implants and therefore would not have been consulted by one of ordinary skill seeking to modify Williams. The argument is not persuasive because it focuses primarily on ultimate end use rather than the particular technical teachings for which the references are relied upon.
Williams supplies the P4HB medical-implant context. Williams teaches biodegradable/bioresorbable PHA materials, including P4HB, for medical devices and fabrication into forms including films and sheets using known polymer-processing techniques, including lamination. Rizk is particularly pertinent because Rizk teaches the same P4HB polymer recited in the claims and expressly teaches P4HB films stretched/oriented monoaxially or biaxially. Rizk further teaches thermal conditions for stretching/orienting P4HB films, including a range extending from room temperature to approximately 150°C and a preferred range of approximately 40-80°C.
The rejection does not rely on Levine, Tsushima, or Wu to establish medical use of P4HB. Levine is relied upon for stacking and bonding polymer films/sheets using thermal or diffusion bonding; Wu for multilayer laminated polymer-film structures and stretching/orientation to improve film properties; and Tsushima for direct heat lamination of an oriented polymer layer without an intervening adhesive. These teachings address the polymer-film orientation, multilayer lamination, and direct-bonding problems presented by the claims and are not rendered irrelevant merely because the exemplified end products have different uses.
Under MPEP § 2141.01(a), a reference is analogous if it is in the same field of endeavor or is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Here, the secondary references are reasonably pertinent to the identified polymer-film processing problems. A person seeking to fabricate multilayer oriented polymer films would have reason to consult polymer-film lamination and orientation teachings even where the disclosed laminate ultimately serves a different end use. Further, references in a multiple-reference obviousness rejection need not be analogous to each other; the inquiry is whether each is analogous to the claimed invention.
The motivation to combine arises from the references and known polymer-processing objectives, not from Applicant's disclosure. Williams teaches P4HB medical materials, films/sheets, and lamination. Rizk teaches that orienting the same P4HB polymer monoaxially or biaxially improves film properties. Levine teaches multilayer fabrication by stacking and bonding polymer film layers. Wu teaches orientation/stretching as a known technique for improving multilayer polymer-film properties. Tsushima teaches direct thermal lamination without an intervening adhesive and desirable laminate integrity/adhesion.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill would have had reason to apply Rizk's P4HB-orientation teachings and the multilayer/direct-lamination teachings of Levine, Wu, and Tsushima to Williams' P4HB medical films/materials to obtain a multilayer P4HB laminate having the known benefits of orientation and lamination, including improved mechanical properties and laminate integrity, while avoiding an unnecessary intervening adhesive layer. The proposed combination applies known techniques for their established functions and is supported by an articulated reason having rational underpinning. See MPEP § 2143; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Operability and Reasonable Expectation of Success
Applicant argues that the proposed combination would be inoperable because heat-based lamination of P4HB would cause de-orientation and because none of the references teaches applying tension, compression, or other constraint during lamination. These arguments are not persuasive.
Rizk is not generic evidence concerning unrelated polymers. Rizk expressly teaches the same P4HB polymer recited in the claims, P4HB films, and monoaxial or biaxial orientation of those films. Rizk teaches controlled thermal processing for orientation, including stretching from room temperature to approximately 150°C and preferably approximately 40-80°C. Thus, the art expressly demonstrates that P4HB films could be thermally processed under controlled conditions while obtaining useful orientation. This undercuts the proposition that thermal processing of P4HB would necessarily destroy orientation.
Obviousness does not require absolute predictability; a reasonable expectation of success is sufficient. See MPEP § 2143.02. Williams identifies P4HB as a processable medical-implant polymer and teaches films/sheets and lamination; Rizk demonstrates P4HB monoaxial/biaxial orientation and suitable thermal-processing conditions; Levine and Wu establish known multilayer film fabrication/orientation practices; and Tsushima demonstrates direct thermal bonding of an oriented polymer layer without an intervening adhesive. The combined record therefore provides more than mere hope that known orientation and lamination techniques could be applied to P4HB films.
Applicant's reliance on tension, compression, or constraint during lamination also does not distinguish independent product claims 1, 33, and 37. Those claims do not require applying tension or compression during lamination. They require the resulting laminate structure and orientation relationships. A particular manufacturing technique described in the specification or declaration cannot be imported into product claims that do not recite it.
Applicant's assertion that no cited reference individually discloses every condition of Applicant's preferred process likewise does not rebut the rejection. The rejection rests on the collective teachings: Williams supplies P4HB medical implant materials and lamination; Rizk supplies P4HB-specific monoaxial/biaxial orientation and thermal-processing teachings; Levine and Wu supply multilayer film fabrication/orientation teachings; and Tsushima supplies direct heat lamination without an intervening adhesive.
For claims reciting lamination at a temperature between the softening temperature and the de-orientation temperature, the Examiner does not equate Rizk's stretching step with Applicant's lamination step. Rather, Rizk establishes that the identical P4HB polymer was known to be oriented under controlled temperatures, including the overlapping 40-80°C range, while the remaining references establish known thermal/direct lamination. In view of those teachings, selection of a workable thermal-lamination condition that bonds the layers while retaining the desired orientation represents selection of a suitable operating condition within the known polymer-processing framework, absent persuasive evidence that the claimed relationship produces a result that would not reasonably have been expected. This reasoning should be read together with the specific mapping of claims 32, 36, and 41 in the rejection of record.
Alleged Long-Felt but Unsolved Need
Applicant asserts that the disclosed methods and claimed medical implants satisfy a long-felt but unsolved need for thick, oriented P4HB layers/films for medical implants. The assertion has been considered but is insufficient on the present record to outweigh the evidence supporting obviousness.
Long-felt need requires objective evidence that a recognized and persistent problem existed in the art for a substantial period, that the need was not previously satisfied, and that the claimed invention in fact satisfied the need. See MPEP § 716.04. The present record does not sufficiently establish when the alleged need was recognized by the art, how long it persisted, unsuccessful efforts by others to solve it, or that the need remained unsatisfied until Applicant's invention.
The specification's statement that producing a relatively thick biaxially oriented P4HB film by stretching may be technically difficult does not, by itself, establish a long-felt need recognized by others or failure of others. Nor does it establish a sufficient nexus between the asserted need and the full scope of the presently claimed subject matter. Accordingly, the asserted secondary consideration is insufficient to outweigh the evidence supporting the prima facie case of obviousness.
Conclusion
Applicant's arguments and the evidence of record, including the declaration under 37 C.F.R. § 1.132, have been fully considered. For the reasons discussed above, Applicant has not shown that the originally filed disclosure reasonably conveys possession of the presently claimed subject matter or enables the full scope of the rejected claims without undue experimentation. Applicant also has not persuasively rebutted the articulated reason to combine the cited references, the reasonable pertinence of the secondary polymer-processing references, or the reasonable expectation of success arising from the combined teachings. The evidence presented regarding alleged long-felt need is likewise insufficient on the present record to outweigh the evidence of obviousness. Accordingly, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. § 103 are maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-20, and 29-41 are not allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628