Detailed Action
This office action is final and is in response to claims filed on 04/29/2026 via amendment. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, and 21-32 are pending for examination. Claims 1, 21, and 27 are currently amended. Claims 2-3, 5, 7, 10, 22-26, and 28-32 are as previously filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2026 and 05/18/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609. They have been placed in the application file, and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been fully considered. Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant argues that “emulation is performed in dedicated systolic hardware… wherein the systolic hardware includes a floating point accumulator configured to accumulate partial sums generated based on multiplying decomposed second format values, and wherein emulating the precision calculations achieves a level of precision comparable to native first precision format calculations. This cannot be "practically performed in the human mind". Hence, claim 1 squarely fits the "particular machine" safe harbor and clearly improves the operation of that machine”. See Remarks 8 filed 04/29/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. The recitation of the systolic hardware and accumulator is at a high level of generality and is clearly generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use. see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Further, it is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below. In addition, the improvement can be provided by the additional element(s) in combination with the recited judicial exception... However, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology...”. See MPEP 2106.05(a).
Examiner encourages applicant to recite specific improvements to the hardware to help overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections have been fully considered. Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102, Applicant argues “Henry fails to anticipate any approach involving emulation or decomposition such as emulating precision calculations by decomposing first precision format values associated with the first precision format into second precision format values associated with the second precision format, and wherein the systolic hardware is facilitated to execute the floating point multiplication by multiplying second precision operands at the elements and accumulating partial sums”. See Remarks 9.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b) states "A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section." Examiner notes that the teachings of Henry do anticipate this claim language for at least the reasons cited below.
Applicant further argues that Henry does not anticipate “in a floating point accumulator within the hardware, wherein the systolic hardware includes a floating point accumulator, wherein the systolic hardware includes a floating point accumulator configured to accumulate partial sums generated based on multiplying decomposed second format values, and wherein emulating the precision calculations achieves a level of precision comparable to native first precision format calculations”. See Remarks 10.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Henry teaches of accumulating the partial sums and achieving a comparable precision. See Henry Page 74 Section IV A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “comparable” in claims 1, 21, and 27 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “comparable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear in what way the “level of precision” of the emulation is comparable to the “native first precision format”. It is also unclear what the parameters are for the “levels of precision” to be comparable. It is also unclear what the range is for the “levels of precision” to be comparable.
Claims 1, 21, and 27 recite “accumulating partial sums in a floating point accumulator within the hardware” and “wherein the systolic hardware includes a floating point accumulator configured to accumulate partial sums”. It is unclear if these are the same or different floating point accumulators and if these are the same or different partial sums. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted “wherein the systolic hardware includes a floating point accumulator configured to accumulate partial sums” as “wherein the systolic hardware includes [[a]] the floating point accumulator configured to accumulate the partial sums”.
Claims 2-3, 5, 7, 10, 22-26, and 28-32 are rejected for being dependent on an above rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a machine, which is a statutory category of invention.
At Step 2A prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim is directed towards mental processes and mathematical calculations. The claim language has been reproduced below:
An apparatus comprising: (mental process, evaluation)
processing circuitry including (mental process, evaluation) systolic hardware having a two-dimensional array of elements, (mental process, evaluation) the processing circuitry to: (mental process, evaluation)
receive data associated with a matrix multiplication operation in the first precision format; (mental process, evaluation)
enable a floating point multiplication operation using values in a second precision format, the second precision format having a lower precision than the first precision format (mathematical concepts and/or relationships), wherein the floating point multiplication operation includes (mental process, evaluation) emulating precision calculations by decomposing first precision format values associated with the first precision format into second precision format values associated with the second precision format (mathematical calculation), and wherein the systolic hardware is facilitated (mental process, evaluation) to execute the floating point multiplication by multiplying second precision operands at the elements and accumulating partial sums (mathematical calculation) in a floating point accumulator within the hardware, wherein the systolic hardware includes (mental process, evaluation) a floating point accumulator configured to (mental process, evaluation) accumulate partial sums generated based on multiplying decomposed second format values, (mathematical calculation) and wherein emulating the precision calculations achieves a level of precision comparable to native first precision format calculations; (mental process, evaluation; mathematical relationship) and
generate results associated with the matrix multiplication operation (mathematical calculation).
Each of the nonbolded limitation are mental processes or mathematical calculation. The “An apparatus comprising” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the apparatus comprises. The “processing circuitry including” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the circuitry includes. The “systolic hardware having a two-dimensional array of” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the systolic hardware includes. The “processing circuitry to:” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the processing circuitry does. The “data associated with a matrix multiplication operation” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the first data is. The “enable an emulated floating point multiplication operation” is a mathematical concepts and/or relationship that can be done by someone merely changing how many places a number is rounded to. The “wherein the floating point multiplication operation includes” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the operation includes. The “emulating precision calculations by decomposing first precision format values” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by decomposing the values by hand using pen and paper. The “wherein the systolic hardware is facilitated” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the hardware is facilitated to do. The “execute the floating point multiplication by multiplying second precision operands at the elements and accumulating partial sums” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by multiplying the operands and accumulating the partial sums by hand using pen and paper. The “wherein the systolic hardware includes” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the systolic hardware includes. The “a floating point accumulator configured to” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the floating point accumulator is configured to so. The “accumulate partial sums generated based on multiplying decomposed second format values” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by accumulating the partial sums by hand using pen and paper. The “and wherein emulating the precision calculations achieves a level of precision comparable to native first precision format calculations” limitation is an evaluation mental process and mathematical relationship that can be performed by choosing that the emulation is comparable. The “generate results associated with the matrix multiplication operation” limitation is a mathematical operation. One could perform the operation using a pen and paper and the formula in paragraph [0402] of the specification.
At Step 2A prong 2, The additional elements are bolded above. the " systolic hardware" is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use. see MPEP 2106.05(h). The ‘receiving’ limitation, as claimed and under BRI, is an additional element that is insignificant extra-solution activity. For example, ‘receiving’ in the context of this claim encompasses mere data gathering based on generic testing to lead to a response used for the claimed calculating step. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The remaining bolded limitations are generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
At Step 2B, the claim recites “receive data for performance of a matrix multiplication operation in the first precision format” and, per MPEP 2106.05(d) (Il), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); and
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Regarding claims 21 and 27, they recite similar language as claim 1 and are rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Herein claims 21 and 27 are directed towards the statutory categories of a method and article or manufacture respectively, thus also satisfying step 1. Moreover, none of the additional elements regarding the generic computer components (i.e. at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, etc.) are more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Regarding claims 2, 22, and 28, they are directed to a mathematical calculation that can be calculated using a pen and paper and the formula in paragraph [0368] of the specification. Under steps 2A Prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 3, 23, and 29, they are directed to an evaluation mental process, one can choose a precision to perform calculations by hand. Under steps 2A Prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 5, 24, and 30, they are directed to an evaluation mental process, one can choose an amount of a type of number to perform calculations by hand. Under steps 2A Prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 7, 25, and 31, they are directed to an evaluation mental process, one can select between different multiplication operations in their mind depending on requirements that they come up with or are given. Under steps 2A Prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 10, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a machine, which is a statutory category of invention.
At Step 2A prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim is directed towards mental processes and mathematical calculations. The claim language has been reproduced below:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the systolic array hardware includes systolic DPAS (Dot-Product, Accumulate, Systolic) hardware having a plurality of DPAS elements, wherein the processing circuitry comprises one or more of graphics processing circuitry or application processing circuitry.
At Step 2A prong 2, The additional elements are bolded above. The systolic array hardware including DPAS hardware, which includes DPAS elements is merely generally linking the mathematical calculations of claim 1 with general systolic DPAS computing. See MPEP 2106.05(h). The remaining bolded limitations are generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Under step 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 26 and 32, they recite similar language as claim 10 and are rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Herein claims 26 and 32 are directed towards the statutory categories of a method and article or manufacture respectively, thus also satisfying step 1. Moreover, there are no additional elements integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10, 21-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. ("Leveraging the bfloat16 Artificial Intelligence Datatype For Higher-Precision Computations"), as included in the IDS filed 12/13/2022, hereinafter Henry in view of Maiyuran et al. (US Patent Application No. US 20190324746 A1), hereinafter Maiyuran.
With regards to claim 1, Henry teaches An apparatus comprising: processing circuitry including systolic hardware having [a two-dimensional array of elements], (Henry Page 69 Fig. 1: Fig. 1 shows a BF16 FMA that is fully compatible with FP32; Henry Page 69 Section I: the community has settles on mixed-precision fused-multiply-add (FMA) hardware units; Henry Page 70 Section I: This is due to much smaller multiplier and offering the FLOPS only in form of matrix multiplication by implementing a systolic array in hardware)
the processing circuitry to: receive data associated with a matrix multiplication operation (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data)
wherein the data is received in a first precision format; (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data)
enable a floating point multiplication operation using values in a second precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
the second precision format having a lower precision than the first precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
wherein the floating point multiplication operation includes emulating precision calculations by decomposing first precision format values associated with the first precision format into second precision format values associated with the second precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices; Henry Page 70 Section II: This sections covers how we decompose FP32 numbers into multiple BF16 numbers)
and wherein the systolic hardware is facilitated to execute the floating point multiplication by multiplying second precision operands at the elements (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
and accumulating partial sums in a floating point accumulator within the hardware, (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32)
wherein the systolic hardware includes a floating point accumulator configured to accumulate partial sums generated based on multiplying decomposed second format values, (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32)
and wherein emulating the precision calculations achieves a level of precision comparable to native first precision format calculations; (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices... FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32)
and generate results associated with the matrix multiplication operation (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32; Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which Starts with FP32 data).
While Henry teaches systolic hardware, they fail to teach [systolic hardware having] a two-dimensional array of elements.
However, Maiyuran teaches [systolic hardware having] a two-dimensional array of elements (Maiyuran [0156]: FIG. 17A-17B illustrate details of hardware-based dot product logic 1608, according to some embodiments. FIG. 17A illustrates a grid of multiple functional units that are configurable to perform multiple dot product operations within a single clock cycle. FIG. 17B illustrates a single exemplary functional unit; Maiyuran Fig. 17A: shows a two-dimensional array of elements).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry with the two dimensional array of elements as taught by Maiyuran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because Henry and Maiyuran both teach systolic array hardware, and Maiyuran enhances the efficiency of Henry by maximizing throughput, graphics processors may perform some operations using specialized, fixed function logic units as taught by Maiyuran (Maiyuran paragraph [0002]).
With regards to claim 2, Henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Henry further teaches wherein the matrix multiplication operation includes a Single precision floating General Matrix Multiply (SGEMM) operation (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: SGEMM and SGETRF using combined BF16 Datatypes).
With regards to claim 3, Henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Henry further teaches wherein the first precision format comprises a 32-bit floating point (FP32) format, and wherein the second precision format comprises a bfloat 16-bit (BF16) format (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices).
With regards to claim 5, Henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Henry further teaches wherein the floating point multiplication operation includes one or more of multiple second precision format values (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
or multiple Fused Multiply Add (FMA) operations (Henry Page 69 Abstract: We demonstrate how a decomposition into multiple smaller datatypes can be used to assemble a high- precision result, leveraging the higher precision accumulation of the FMA unit; Henry Page 69 Section I: the community has settles on mixed-precision fused-multiply-add (FMA) hardware units).
With regards to claim 10, Henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Henry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry comprises one or more of graphics processing circuitry or application processing circuitry (Henry Page 69 Section 1: NVIDIA announced their FP16 input with FP32: output Tensorcores support in Volta and Turing GPUs).
Henry fails to teach wherein the systolic array hardware includes a systolic DPAS (Dot-Product, Accumulate, Systolic) hardware, having a plurality of DPAS elements.
However, Maiyuran teaches wherein the systolic array hardware includes a systolic DPAS (Dot-Product, Accumulate, Systolic) hardware, having a plurality of DPAS elements (Maiyuran abstract: a systolic dot product unit a systolic dot product with accumulate; Maiyuran [0156]: FIG. 17A-17B illustrate details of hardware-based dot product logic 1608, according to some embodiments. FIG. 17A illustrates a grid of multiple functional units that are configurable to perform multiple dot product operations within a single clock cycle. FIG. 17B illustrates a single exemplary functional unit).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry in view of Maiyuran with the DPAS elements as taught by Maiyuran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because Henry and Maiyuran both teach systolic array hardware, and Maiyuran enhances the efficiency of Henry by maximizing throughput, graphics processors may perform some operations using specialized, fixed function logic units as taught by Maiyuran (Maiyuran paragraph [0002]).
With regards to claim 21, Henry teaches A method comprising: receiving, by processing circuitry of a computing device, data associated with a matrix multiplication operation, (Henry Page 69 Fig. 1: Fig. 1 shows a BF16 FMA that is fully compatible with FP32; Henry Page 69 Section I: the community has settles on mixed-precision fused-multiply-add (FMA) hardware units; Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data)
wherein the data is received in a first precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data)
wherein the processing circuitry includes systolic hardware having [a two-dimensional array of elements;] (Henry Page 70 Section I: This is due to much smaller multiplier and offering the FLOPS only in form of matrix multiplication by implementing a systolic array in hardware)
enabling a floating point multiplication operation using values in a second precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
the second precision format having a lower precision than the first precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
wherein the floating point multiplication operation includes emulating precision calculations by decomposing first precision format values associated with the first precision format into second precision format values associated with the second precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices; Henry Page 70 Section II: This sections covers how we decompose FP32 numbers into multiple BF16 numbers)
and wherein the systolic hardware is facilitated to execute the floating point multiplication by multiplying second precision operands at the elements (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
and accumulating partial sums in a floating point accumulator within the hardware, (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32)
wherein the systolic hardware includes a floating point accumulator configured to accumulate partial sums generated based on multiplying decomposed second format values, (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32)
and wherein emulating the precision calculations achieves a level of precision comparable to native first precision format calculations; (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices... FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32)
and generating results associated with the matrix multiplication operation (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32; Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which Starts with FP32 data).
While Henry teaches systolic hardware, they fail to teach [systolic hardware having] a two-dimensional array of elements.
However, Maiyuran teaches [systolic hardware having] a two-dimensional array of elements (Maiyuran [0156]: FIG. 17A-17B illustrate details of hardware-based dot product logic 1608, according to some embodiments. FIG. 17A illustrates a grid of multiple functional units that are configurable to perform multiple dot product operations within a single clock cycle. FIG. 17B illustrates a single exemplary functional unit; Maiyuran Fig. 17A: shows a two-dimensional array of elements).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry with the two dimensional array of elements as taught by Maiyuran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because Henry and Maiyuran both teach systolic array hardware, and Maiyuran enhances the efficiency of Henry by maximizing throughput, graphics processors may perform some operations using specialized, fixed function logic units as taught by Maiyuran (Maiyuran paragraph [0002]).
With regards to claim 22, Henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 above. Henry further teaches wherein the matrix multiplication operation includes a Single precision floating General Matrix Multiply (SGEMM) operation (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: SGEMM and SGETRF using combined BF16 Datatypes).
With regards to claim 23, henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 above. Henry further teaches wherein the first precision format comprises a 32-bit floating point (FP32) format, and wherein the second precision format comprises a bfloat 16-bit (BF16) format (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices).
With regards to claim 24, Henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 above. Henry further teaches wherein the floating point multiplication operation includes one or more of multiple second precision format values (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
or multiple Fused Multiply Add (FMA) operations (Henry Page 69 Abstract: We demonstrate how a decomposition into multiple smaller datatypes can be used to assemble a high- precision result, leveraging the higher precision accumulation of the FMA unit; Henry Page 69 Section I: the community has settles on mixed-precision fused-multiply-add (FMA) hardware units).
With regards to claim 26, Henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 above. Henry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry comprises one or more of graphics processing circuitry or application processing circuitry (Henry Page 69 Section 1: NVIDIA announced their FP16 input with FP32: output Tensorcores support in Volta and Turing GPUs).
Henry fails to teach wherein the systolic array hardware includes a systolic DPAS (Dot-Product, Accumulate, Systolic) hardware having a plurality of DPAS elements.
However, Maiyuran teaches wherein the systolic array hardware includes a systolic DPAS (Dot-Product, Accumulate, Systolic) hardware having a plurality of DPAS elements (Maiyuran abstract: a systolic dot product unit a systolic dot product with accumulate; Maiyuran [0156]: FIG. 17A-17B illustrate details of hardware-based dot product logic 1608, according to some embodiments. FIG. 17A illustrates a grid of multiple functional units that are configurable to perform multiple dot product operations within a single clock cycle. FIG. 17B illustrates a single exemplary functional unit).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry in view of Maiyuran with the DPAS elements as taught by Maiyuran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because Henry and Maiyuran both teach systolic array hardware, and Maiyuran enhances the efficiency of Henry by maximizing throughput, graphics processors may perform some operations using specialized, fixed function logic units as taught by Maiyuran (Maiyuran paragraph [0002]).
Claims 7 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Anders et al. (US Patent Application No. US 20190042250 A1), hereinafter Anders.
With regards to claim 7, Henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Henry fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select the floating point multiplication operation for an application based on one or more of performance or precision requirements associated with the application.
However, Anders does teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select the floating point multiplication operation for an application based on one or more of performance or precision requirements associated with the application (Anders [0098]: In operation, FP16/INT16/INT8 multiplier 701 is to be reconfigured between 8b/16b integers and 16b floating-point inputs; to support differing performance, numerical range and precision requirements).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry in view of Maiyuran with choosing the operations as taught by Anders. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to increase flexibility to support a variety of data formats (signed and unsigned 8b/16b integer, 16b floating-point) with wide accumulators, and the flexibility to support both dense and sparse matrices, differing performance, numerical range and precision requirements as taught by Anders (Anders [0003] and Anders [0098]).
With regards to claim 25, Henry in view of Maiyuran teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 above. Henry fails to teach further comprising selecting the floating point multiplication operation for an application based on one or more of performance or precision requirements associated with the application.
However, Anders does teach further comprising selecting the floating point multiplication operation for an application based on one or more of performance or precision requirements associated with the application (Anders [0098]: In operation, FP16/INT16/INT8 multiplier 701 is to be reconfigured between 8b/16b integers and 16b floating-point inputs; to support differing performance, numerical range and precision requirements).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry in view of Maiyuran with choosing the operations as taught by Anders. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to increase flexibility to support a variety of data formats (signed and unsigned 8b/16b integer, 16b floating-point) with wide accumulators, and the flexibility to support both dense and sparse matrices, differing performance, numerical range and precision requirements as taught by Anders (Anders [0003] and Anders [0098]).
Claims 27-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Ould-Ahmed-Vall et al. (US Patent Application No. US 20180315159 A1), hereinafter Ould- Ahmed-Vall.
With regards to claim 27, Henry teaches receiving, by processing circuitry of the computing device, data associated with a matrix multiplication operation, (Henry Page 69 Fig. 1: Fig. 1 shows a BF16 FMA that is fully compatible with FP32; Henry Page 69 Section I: the community has settles on mixed-precision fused-multiply-add (FMA) hardware units; Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data)
wherein the data is received in a first precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data)
wherein the processing circuitry includes systolic hardware having [a two-dimensional array of elements;] (Henry Page 70 Section I: This is due to much smaller multiplier and offering the FLOPS only in form of matrix multiplication by implementing a systolic array in hardware)
enabling a floating point multiplication operation using values in a second precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
the second precision format having a lower precision than the first precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
wherein the floating point multiplication operation includes emulating precision calculations by decomposing first precision format values associated with the first precision format into second precision format values associated with the second precision format, (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices; Henry Page 70 Section II: This sections covers how we decompose FP32 numbers into multiple BF16 numbers)
and wherein the systolic hardware is facilitated to execute the floating point multiplication by multiplying second precision operands at the elements (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
and accumulating partial sums in a floating point accumulator within the hardware, (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32)
wherein the systolic hardware includes a floating point accumulator configured to accumulate partial sums generated based on multiplying decomposed second format values, (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32)
and wherein emulating the precision calculations achieves a level of precision comparable to native first precision format calculations; (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices... FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32)
and generating results associated with the matrix multiplication operation (Henry Page 74 Section IV A: FP32 general matrix-matrix multiply using a triplet of BF16s and six products and adding those results together in FP32; Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which Starts with FP32 data).
While Henry teaches systolic hardware, they fail to teach [systolic hardware having] a two-dimensional array of elements.
However, Maiyuran teaches [systolic hardware having] a two-dimensional array of elements (Maiyuran [0156]: FIG. 17A-17B illustrate details of hardware-based dot product logic 1608, according to some embodiments. FIG. 17A illustrates a grid of multiple functional units that are configurable to perform multiple dot product operations within a single clock cycle. FIG. 17B illustrates a single exemplary functional unit; Maiyuran Fig. 17A: shows a two-dimensional array of elements).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry with the two dimensional array of elements as taught by Maiyuran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because Henry and Maiyuran both teach systolic array hardware, and Maiyuran enhances the efficiency of Henry by maximizing throughput, graphics processors may perform some operations using specialized, fixed function logic units as taught by Maiyuran (Maiyuran paragraph [0002]).
Henry in view of Maiyuran fails to teach At least one computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed, cause a computing device to perform operations comprising.
However, Ould-Ahmed-Vall teaches At least one computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed, cause a computing device to perform operations comprising: (Ould-Ahmed-Vall paragraph [0309]: machine-readable medium which represents and/or defines logic within an integrated circuit such as a processor).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry in view of Maiyuran with the computer-readable medium as taught by Ould-Ahmed-Vall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because the hardware model may be supplied to various customers or manufacturing facilities as taught by Ould-Ahmed-Vall, and Non-transitory computer readable mediums are very common, and they allow for the easier access to the software taught by Henry (Ould-Ahmed-Vall paragraph [0309]).
With regards to claim 28, Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Ould-Ahmed-Vall teaches all of the limitations of claim 27 above. Henry further teaches wherein the matrix multiplication operation includes a Single precision floating General Matrix Multiply (SGEMM) operation (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: SGEMM and SGETRF using combined BF16 Datatypes).
With regards to claim 29, Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Ould-Ahmed-Vall teaches all of the limitations of claim 27 above. Henry further teaches wherein the first precision format comprises a 32-bit floating point (FP32) format, and wherein the second precision format comprises a bfloat 16-bit (BF16) format (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices).
With regards to claim 30, Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Ould-Ahmed-Vall teaches all of the limitations of claim 27 above. Henry further teaches wherein the floating point multiplication operation includes one or more of multiple second precision format values (Henry Page 73 Section IV A: We did a complete GEMM (GEneral Matrix—-matrix Multiply) implementation which starts with FP32 data and behind the scenes converts it into one to three bfloat16 matrices and then does one to nine products with these matrices)
or multiple Fused Multiply Add (FMA) operations (Henry Page 69 Abstract: We demonstrate how a decomposition into multiple smaller datatypes can be used to assemble a high- precision result, leveraging the higher precision accumulation of the FMA unit; Henry Page 69 Section I: the community has settles on mixed-precision fused-multiply-add (FMA) hardware units).
With regards to claim 32, Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Ould-Ahmed-Vall teaches all of the limitations of claim 27 above. Henry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry comprises one or more of graphics processing circuitry or application processing circuitry (Henry Page 69 Section 1: NVIDIA announced their FP16 input with FP32: output Tensorcores support in Volta and Turing GPUs).
Henry fails to teach wherein the systolic array hardware includes a systolic DPAS (Dot-Product, Accumulate, Systolic) hardware having a plurality of DPAS elements.
However, Maiyuran teaches wherein the systolic array hardware includes a systolic DPAS (Dot-Product, Accumulate, Systolic) hardware having a plurality of DPAS elements, (Maiyuran abstract: a systolic dot product unit a systolic dot product with accumulate; Maiyuran [0156]: FIG. 17A-17B illustrate details of hardware-based dot product logic 1608, according to some embodiments. FIG. 17A illustrates a grid of multiple functional units that are configurable to perform multiple dot product operations within a single clock cycle. FIG. 17B illustrates a single exemplary functional unit).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Ould-Ahmed-Vall with the DPAS elements as taught by Maiyuran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because Henry and Maiyuran both teach systolic array hardware, and Maiyuran enhances the efficiency of Henry by maximizing throughput, graphics processors may perform some operations using specialized, fixed function logic units as taught by Maiyuran (Maiyuran paragraph [0002]).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Ould-Ahmed-Vall further in view of Anders.
With regards to claim 31, Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Ould-Ahmed-Vall teaches all of the limitations of claim 27 above. Henry fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise selecting the floating point multiplication operation for an application based on one or more of performance or precision requirements associated with the application.
However, Anders does teach wherein the operations further comprise selecting the floating point multiplication operation for an application based on one or more of performance or precision requirements associated with the application (Anders [0098]: In operation, FP16/INT16/INT8 multiplier 701 is to be reconfigured between 8b/16b integers and 16b floating-point inputs; to support differing performance, numerical range and precision requirements).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Henry in view of Maiyuran further in view of Ould-Ahmed-Vall with choosing the operations as taught by Anders. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to increase flexibility to support a variety of data formats (signed and unsigned 8b/16b integer, 16b floating-point) with wide accumulators, and the flexibility to support both dense and sparse matrices, differing performance, numerical range and precision requirements as taught by Anders (Anders [0003] and Anders [0098]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.O.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2151
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151