DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 19-20) in the reply filed on January 28, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 28, 2026.
Claims 19-20 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed October 20, 2022 has been considered.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The use of the terms TALEN® at paragraph [00019], HALOTAG® at paragraphs [00013] and [00052], LIPOFECTAMINE® at paragraphs [00095], [00097], and [00098], ENDOFREE® at paragraph [00097], and KARYOMAX® at paragraph [00099], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hadlaczky et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0160410, issued October 31, 2002, and cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed October 20, 2022).
It is noted that claims 19-20 are deemed to be product-by-process claims, which are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
Regarding claim 19, Hadlaczky discloses fully functional and stable mammalian artificial chromosomes (MACs) (paragraphs [0012]-[0015]). Hadlaczky discloses that MACs can be distinguished from endogenous chromosomes using fluorescence, with the MACs being labeled with base-specific dyes, such as Hoechst 33258 and chromomycin, which is interpreted as the MACs being tagged in order to identify the synthetic chromosome as distinct from endogenous chromosomes (paragraph [0139]).
Regarding claim 20, Hadlaczky discloses that the MACs can range in size from about 50 to 400 Mb, and that shorter variants can be 50-80 Mb in size.
Hadlaczky discloses each and every element of claims 19-20, and therefore Hadlaczky anticipates claims 19-20.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lindenbaum et al. (31(21) Nucleic Acids Research e172, 1-15 (2004), and cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed October 20, 2022).
It is noted that claims 19-20 are deemed to be product-by-process claims, which are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
Regarding claim 19, Lindenbaum discloses an artificial mouse chromosome platform (ACE) that is pre-engineered to contain multiple recombination acceptor sites, enabling incorporation of single or multiple copies of genes of interest (abstract and Figure 2). Lindenbaum discloses that the artificial chromosomes are fully functional (abstract and page 2, column 1, final two paragraphs). Lindenbaum discloses that the artificial chromosomes can be isolated (i.e., are distinct from endogenous chromosomes) by using two fluorescent tags and sorted and a FACS flow cytometer (page 4, column 2, final paragraph). Lindenbaum discloses that the two tags are Hoechst 33258 and chromomycin (page 4, column 2, final paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, Lindenbaum discloses that yeast and bacterial artificial chromosomes can have carrying capacities greater than 1 Mb (paragraph bridging pages 1 and 2). Lindenbaum discloses that large satellite DNA-based artificial chromosomes can be generated (page 2, column 1, third full paragraph). Lindenbaum discloses that the ACE platform allows for multiple copies of a single gene, or several genes, in the artificial chromosome (paragraph bridging pages 11 and 12). Lindenbaum discloses that the ACE artificial chromosomes have a large carrying capacity, which is interpreted as being at least 1 Mb in size (page 14, column 2, final paragraph).
Lindenbaum discloses each and every element of claims 19-20, and therefore Lindenbaum anticipates claims 19-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grimes et al. (114 Chromosoma 230-241 (2005), and cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed October 20, 2022) is a review article discussing artificial and engineered chromosomes (abstract). Grimes discloses a variety of artificial chromosomes, including the ACE platform of Lindenbaum (discussed above). Grimes discloses that the size of the artificial chromosomes has a wide range, with smaller chromosomes being about 1-3 Mb and larger chromosomes being from about 3 to 20 Mb (page 232, paragraph bridging columns 1 and 2). While Grimes discloses a wide variety of artificial chromosomes, Grimes does not disclose or suggest using at least two tags that provide for distinguishing the artificial chromosomes from endogenous chromosomes.
NANCY J. LEITH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1636
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636