Claims 4-6 are presented for examination.
Applicant’s amendments and response filed April 15, 2026 have been received and entered.
Applicant’s substituted specification filed April 29, 2026 has been received and entered.
Accordingly, the rejection made under 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph (New Matter) as set forth in the previous Office action dated March 30, 2026 at pages 4-5 as applied to claim 3 is hereby WITHDRAWN because the applicant cancelled claim 3.
Accordingly, the rejection made under 35 USC 112(b) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as set forth in the previous Office action dated March 30, 2026 at pages 5-6 as applied to claim 3 is hereby WITHDRAWN because the applicant cancelled claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rendered indefinite and vague the phrase “negative cardiovascular effects associated with CVx in a human subject”. What are these negative cardiovascular effects caused by a CVx, such as Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna (mRNA vaccine) and Novavax (protein subunit vaccine). The remaining claims 5-6 are rendered indefinite to the extent that they incorporate the above terminology.
Claims 4-6 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little et al., “Zinc and cardiovascular disease”, Nutrition, Vol. 26, No. 10, pages 1050-1057 in view of Rath et al. (US 2007/0166400 A1) and further in view of Harris et al. (4,374,829) or Carini et al. (5,138,069).
Little et al. teach zinc is useful to treat cardiovascular disease.
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach the addition of a second agent, lysine, to treat cardiovascular disease. However, the secondary reference, Rath et al., teaches lysine is effective for alleviating or retarding cardiovascular diseases (see column 7, claim 6).
The instant invention differs from the cited references in that the cited references do not teach the dosage amounts of each individual active agent(s) together. However, to determine the dosage amounts may be calculated according to body weight, body surface area or organ sizes. Further refinement of the calculations necessary to determine the appropriate dosage involving each of the above active agent(s) is routinely made by those of ordinary skill in the art and is within the ability of tasks routinely performed by them without undue experimentation.
The instant invention differs from the cited references in that the cited references do not teach the combination use to mitigate negative cardiovascular effects associated with CVX i\in human. However, one skilled in the art would have assumed the combination of zinc and lysine, each agent known to treat cardiovascular diseases into a single combination, would be give an additive effect in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
The instant invention differs from the cited references in that the cited references do not teach a third agent, an ACE inhibitor or an angiotensin receptor blocker. However, the tertiary reference(s), Harris et al., teaches lisinopril (ACE inhibitor) is effective to treat cardiovascular diseases and Carini et al. teaches losartan (ARB) is effective to treat cardiovascular disease. Clearly, one skilled in the art would have assumed the combination of zinc and lysine with an ACE inhibitor or ARB, each agent known to treat cardiovascular diseases into a single combination, would be give an additive effect in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 4-6 are not allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629