DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 06/09/2026, claims 1-14 and 21-25 are pending.
Claims 2, 11 and 14 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-10, 12, and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu (US 20190320702 A1) in view of Wilcox (US 5182981 A)
Regarding claim 1, Sandhu discloses
A bean roasting system (2, see fig.1), comprising:
a roasting subsystem (4, see fig.7) including:
a housing (drum 100, see fig.7) having an inner surface (inner surface of the drum 100, see fig.7) defining an inner chamber (inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.7) for holding a batch of beans during a thermal roasting process (see para.0080: “beans contained in the drum 100”), the inner chamber (inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.7) having a horizontal axis (horizontal central axis 133, see fig.8 and para.0082);
an agitator actuator (agitator motor 41, see fig.8);
an agitator (agitator 110, see fig.8) coupled to the agitator actuator (agitator motor 41, see fig.8), the agitator (agitator 110, see fig.12) includes a central shaft (114, see fig.12) and a blade set (112, see fig.12) mounted to the central shaft (114, see fig.12);
a door (122, see fig.9) having a transparent window ( glass plate 130, see fig.8 and para.0081) disposed at a front end portion (a portion of 104, see fig.7) of the housing (drum 100, see fig.7); and
an air handling subsystem (combo 28 and 34, see fig.1) coupled to the roasting subsystem (4, see fig.1), the air handling subsystem (combo 28 and 34, see fig.1) including a blower (34, see fig.1) and a heater (28, see fig.1) and configured to circulate heated air through the inner chamber (inner chamber of the drum 100/roasting chamber 4, see fig.1) during the thermal roasting process (see fig.1 and para.0040, wherein the ambient air to enter the recirculating gas flow path 10. The air is heated by the heater 28 and circulated by the blower 34).
Sandhu also discloses a bearing 132 disposed at the front-end portion of the housing 100, the bearing (132, see fig.7) supporting the central shaft (114, see fig.7 and para.0081: “a bearing assembly 132 configured to receive the anterior end portion 116 of the shaft 114 when the door 122 is closed upon the opening 108”. Thus, the bearing assembly supports the shaft 114) and configured to prevent the blade set (112, see fig.12) from contacting the inner surface of the housing (inner surface of the drum 100, see fig.7 and para.0088: “blades … are lifted off the bottom surface 101 so that they can properly rotate within drum 100 without any interference with the inside surface 158 (e.g., without contacting the inside surface 158)”).
However, Sandhu does not expressly disclose a bearing disposed at a rear end portion of the housing, the bearing supporting the central shaft in a cantilevered position within the inner chamber of the housing, the bearing and configured to prevent the blade set from contacting the inner surface of the housing and the door.
Nevertheless, Wilcox discloses a Revolving peanut roasting apparatus, comprising:
a bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) disposed at a rear end portion of the housing (combo 12,14 and 66, see rear end portion of the housing in annotated fig.1 below), the bearing (combo 30-44) supporting the central shaft (22) in a cantilevered position (see fig.1) within the inner chamber (48) of the housing (18,14 and 66, see fig.1), the bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) configured to prevent the blade set (46) from contacting the inner surface of the housing (inner surface of the combo 12, 14 and 66, see fig.1) and the door (24, see fig.1)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Sandhu to substitute the bearing of Wilcox (see combo 30-44 of Wilcox) for the bearing of Sandhu (see item 132 of Sandhu) so as the “bearing disposed at a rear end portion of the housing, the bearing supporting the central shaft in a cantilevered position within the inner chamber of the housing, the bearing and configured to prevent the blade set from contacting the inner surface of the housing and the door” as taught by Wilcox, since the substitution one element for another one would yield a predictable result of rotating the shaft and stirring the beans/nuts inside the roasting chamber effectively. The rear-mounted bearing keeps it away from contamination near the front door, allows a simpler door seal which reduces smoke and heat leakage around the rotating shaft.
Regarding claim 6, Sandhu further discloses the housing (100, see fig.7) includes a hatch (hatch 120, see fig.7), the blade set (112, see fig.7) is configured to impart a stirring motion to the batch of beans to facilitate exit of the batch of beans (see para.0033: “…rotate the agitator blades to empty contents of the drum through the opening in the lower surface of the drum”) through the hatch (120, see fig.7) when the batch of beans is being unloaded from the chamber (see para.0080: “The hatch 120 can be lowered to provide an opening in the bottom of the drum 100. This allows beans contained in the drum 100 to be emptied into a cooling chamber”).
Regarding claim 7, Sandhu further discloses wherein the blade set (112, see fig.7) is configured to impart a circulating motion of beans of the batch of beans along the horizontal axis (133, see fig.12) during rotation of the blade set (112, see fig.12 and see para.0033: “…rotate the agitator blades…”).
Regarding claim 8, Sandhu further discloses the blade set (112, see fig.7) includes:
an inner spiral auger (see inner spiral auger in annotated fig.12 below) configured to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set (see fig.12 of Sandhu, the annotated inner spiral auger has the same structures as the inner spiral auger 332 as shown in fig.5 of the current application; thus, it performs the same function that “impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set” as claimed); and
an outer set of blades (see outer set of blades in annotated fig,12 below) configured, during rotation of the blade set, to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process (see fig.12 of Sandhu, the annotated outer set of blades has the same structures as the outer blades 423 as shown in fig.5 of the current application; thus, it performs the same function “impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process” ) .
Annotated fig.12 of Sandhu
Regarding claim 9, Sandhu does not expressly disclose the central shaft is a hollow cylindrical shaft, the bearing radially surrounds the hollow cylindrical shaft at the rear end portion of the housing.
However, Wilcox further discloses the central shaft (22, see fig.1 ) is a hollow cylindrical shaft (See fig.1, the shaft 22 includes the hollow drive hub 68) , the bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) radially surrounds the hollow cylindrical shaft (22) at the rear end portion (see rear end portion in annotated fig.1 above) of the housing (18, 14 and 66, see fig.1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the central shaft of Sandhu, as modified by Wilcox above, by substituting the central shaft of Wilcox for the one of Sandhu so as the “central shaft is a hollow cylindrical shaft, the bearing radially surrounds the hollow cylindrical shaft at the rear end portion of the housing” as taught by Wilcox since the substitution one known element for another one would yield a predictable result of turning the shaft and stirring the nuts/beans effectively.
Regarding claim 10, Sandhu in view of Wilcox further discloses the bearing (combo 30-44 of Wilcox, see fig.1. See rejection of claim 1, the bearing/ combo 30-44 of Wilcox is included in the modification) includes a first portion (44) disclosed within the inner chamber (48) and a second portion (30) disposed outside of the inner chamber (48).
Regarding claim 12, Sandhu discloses
A bean roasting system (2, see fig.1), comprising:
a hopper (12, see fig.1);
a roasting subsystem (4, see fig.1) including:
a housing (drum 100, see fig.7) having an inner surface (inner surface of the drum 100, see fig.7) defining an inner chamber (inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.7) for holding a batch of beans during a thermal roasting process (see para.0080: “beans contained in the drum 100”), the inner chamber (inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.7) having a horizontal axis (horizontal central axis 133, see fig.8 and para.0082);
the housing (100, see fig.7) including a hatch (hatch 120, see fig.7) coupled to a bean release actuator (bean drop actuator 43, see fig,16B);
an agitator actuator (agitator motor 41, see fig.8);
an agitator (agitator 110, see fig.8) coupled to the agitator actuator (41, see fig.8), the agitator (agitator 110, see fig.12) includes a central shaft (114, see fig.12) and a blade set (112, see fig.12) mounted to the central shaft (114, see fig.12); and
a door (122, see fig.9) having a glass window ( glass plate 130, see fig.8 and para.0081) disposed at a front end portion (a portion of 104, see fig.7) of the housing (100, see fig.7) configured to allow viewing of the thermal roasting process (see para.0081: “The door includes a glass plate 130 that allows the contents of the drum 100 to be viewed during a roasting operation”);
an air handling subsystem (combo 28 and 34, see fig.1) coupled to the roasting subsystem (4, see fig.1),
the air handling subsystem (combo 28 and 34, see fig.1) including a blower (34, see fig.1) and a heater (28, see fig.1);
a bean cooling subsystem (cooling chamber, see para.0080); and
a controller (42, see fig.2) configured to:
operate the hopper (12, see fig.1) to release the batch of beans from the hopper (12) to the inner chamber (inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.2 and para.0054: “the valve 14 is opened to load beans from the hopper 12 to the roasting chamber 4”) ;
operate the agitator actuator (41, see fig.2) to rotate the actuator (110) and to stir the batch of beans within the inner chamber (see para.0079: “The agitator motor 41 is configured to rotate the agitator 110 about the shaft 114”);
operate the air handling subsystem (combo 28 and 34, see fig.1) to circulate heated air through the inner chamber ((inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.7) according to the thermal roasting process (see fig.1 and para.0040: “The inlet component 36 includes an inlet control valve and inlet blower coupled in series to allow and force ambient air into the recirculating gas flow path 10”); and
operate the bean release actuator ((bean drop actuator 43, see fig,16B) and the agitator actuator (41, see fig.2) to release beans from the inner chamber to the bean cooling subsystem (see para.0049: “The controller also configured to operate the agitator motor 41 and the bean drop actuator 43 when beans are dropped from the roasting chamber 4 to a cooling chamber”).
Sandhu also discloses a bearing 132 disposed at the front-end portion of the housing 100, the bearing (132, see fig.7) supporting the central shaft (114, see fig.7 and para.0081: “a bearing assembly 132 configured to receive the anterior end portion 116 of the shaft 114 when the door 122 is closed upon the opening 108. Thus, the bearing assembly 132 supports the agitator 110”. Thus, the bearing assembly supports the shaft 114, which is a part of the agitator 110) and configured to prevent the blade set (112, see fig.12) from contacting the inner surface of the housing (inner surface of the drum 100, see fig.7 and para.0088: “blades … are lifted off the bottom surface 101 so that they can properly rotate within drum 100 without any interference with the inside surface 158 (e.g., without contacting the inside surface 158)”).
However, Sandhu does not explicitly disclose a bearing disposed at a rear end portion of the housing that supports the central shaft and is configured to prevent the blade set from contacting the inner surface of the housing without any axial bearing support at a front end portion of the central shaft.
Nevertheless, Wilcox discloses a Revolving peanut roasting apparatus, comprising:
a bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) disposed at a rear end portion of the housing (see rear end portion of the housing in annotated fig.1 below) that supports the central shaft (22) and is configured to prevent the blade set (46) from contacting the inner surface of the housing (inner surface of the combo 12, 14 and 66, see fig.1) without any axial bearing support at a front end portion of the central shaft (See fig.1).
Annotated fig.1 of Wilcox
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Sandhu to substitute the bearing of Wilcox (see combo 30-44 of Wilcox) for the bearing of Sandhu (see item 132 of Sandhu) so as the “bearing disposed at a rear end portion of the housing that supports the central shaft and is configured to prevent the blade set from contacting the inner surface of the housing without any axial bearing support at a front end portion of the central shaft” as taught by Wilcox, since the substitution one element for another one would yield a predictable result of rotating the shaft and stirring the beans/nuts inside the roasting chamber effectively. The rear-mounted bearing keeps it away from contamination near the front door, allows a simpler door seal which reduces smoke and heat leakage around the rotating shaft.
Regarding claim 21, Sandhu further discloses the blade set (112, see fig.7) is configured to impart a stirring motion to the batch of beans (see para.0079, when the blade set rotates, it imparts a stirring motion to the batch of beans) to facilitate exit of the batch of beans through the hatch (hatch 120, see fig.7) when the batch of beans is being unloaded from the chamber (inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.7 and para.0079-0080).
Regarding claim 22, Sandhu further discloses the blade set (112, see fig.7) is configured to impart a circulating motion of beans of the batch of beans (see para.0079. By having the same structures as the claimed blade set shown in fig. 6 of the current application, in Sandhu, when the blade set rotates, it imparts a circulating motion to the batch of beans in the same manner as the current application) along the horizontal axis (horizontal central axis 133, see fig.8) during rotation of the blade set (rotation of 112, see fig.12 and para.0079). .
Regarding claim 23, Sandhu further discloses the blade set (112, see fig.7) includes:
an inner spiral auger (see inner spiral auger in annotated fig.12 below) configured to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set (see fig.12 of Sandhu, the annotated inner spiral auger has the same structures as the inner spiral auger 332 as shown in fig.5 of the current application; thus, it performs the same function that “impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set” as claimed); and
an outer set of blades (see outer set of blades in annotated fig,12 below) configured, during rotation of the blade set, to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process (see fig.12 of Sandhu, the annotated outer set of blades has the same structures as the outer blades 423 as shown in fig.5 of the current application; thus, it performs the same function “impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process” ) .
Annotated fig.12 of Sandhu
Regarding claim 24, The bean roasting system of claim 12, wherein the central shaft is a hollow cylindrical shaft, the bearing radially surrounds the hollow cylindrical shaft at the rear end portion of the housing.
Sandhu does not expressly disclose the central shaft is a hollow cylindrical shaft, the bearing radially surrounds the hollow cylindrical shaft at the rear end portion of the housing.
However, Wilcox further discloses the central shaft (22, see fig.1 ) is a hollow cylindrical shaft (See fig.1, the shaft 22 includes the hollow drive hub 68) , the bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) radially surrounds the hollow cylindrical shaft (22) at the rear end portion (see rear end portion in annotated fig.1 above) of the housing (18, 14 and 66, see fig.1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the central shaft of Sandhu, as modified by Wilcox above, by substituting the central shaft of Wilcox for the one of Sandhu so as the “central shaft is a hollow cylindrical shaft, the bearing radially surrounds the hollow cylindrical shaft at the rear end portion of the housing” as taught by Wilcox since the substitution one known element for another one would yield a predictable result of turning the shaft and stirring the nuts effectively.
Regarding claim 25, Sandhu in view of Wilcox further discloses the bearing (combo 30-44 of Wilcox, see fig.1. See rejection of claim 1, the bearing/ combo 30-44 of Wilcox is included in the modification) includes a first portion (44) disclosed within the inner chamber (48) and a second portion (30) disposed outside of the inner chamber (48).
Claims 2-5 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu in view of Wilcox as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ludwig (US20130344207A1)
Regarding claim 2, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth, except the housing includes:
a first conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air inlet through which air enters the inner chamber in a vertically downward direction; and
a second conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air outlet and a bean inlet.
Ludwig discloses a coffee bean roasting machine, comprising:
the housing (14, see figs.1-2) includes:
a first conduit (22, see figs.1-2) at an upper portion of the housing (see upper portion of 14 in annotated fig.2 below) and that defines an air inlet through which air enters the inner chamber in a vertically downward direction (see para.0018: “the process stream, as noted above, flows through the duct 22 and back into the bean roasting chamber 14”, see fig. 2, the air flows through the vertical duct 22 and enters the inner chamber 14 in a vertically downward direction); and
a second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 below) at an upper portion of the housing (see upper portion of 14 in annotated fig.2 below) and that defines an air outlet (see fig.2), and a bean inlet (see figs.1-2, the annotated second conduit is a bean inlet of the housing 14 when receiving the beans from the bean hopper 12).
Annotated fig.2 of Ludwig
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the housing of Sandhu, as modified by Wilcox above, to incorporate “a first conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air inlet; and a second conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air outlet and a bean inlet” as taught by Ludwig. Doing so allows for easier, continuous feeding of raw materials. It also contributes to a more consistent roasting process when air and gases circulate through the chamber to roast beans/ nuts.
Regarding claim 3, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth, Sandhu further discloses the housing includes:
a first conduit (8, see fig.2) that defines an air inlet (see fig.8 and para.0035).
except the housing includes:
a second conduit that defines an air outlet and a bean inlet, the first conduit is located adjacent to the rear end portion of the housing and configured to receive heated air flow in a vertically downward direction into the inner chamber from the air handling subsystem.
Ludwig discloses a coffee bean roasting machine, comprising:
the housing (14, see figs.1-2) includes:
a first conduit (22, see figs.1-2) that defines an air inlet (see para.0018: “the process stream, as noted above, flows through the duct 22 and back into the bean roasting chamber 14”. Thus, 22 is an air inlet of the housing 14); and
a second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 above of Ludwig) that defines an air outlet (see fig.2) and a bean inlet (see figs.1-2, the annotated second conduit is a bean inlet of the housing 14 when receiving the beans from the bean hopper 12),the first conduit (22) is located adjacent to the rear end portion of the housing (see rear end portion of the housing in annotated fig.2 below) and configured to receive heated air flow in a vertically downward direction into the inner chamber (see fig.2) from the air handling subsystem (combo 42 and 16, see fig.3).
Annotated fig.2 of Ludwig
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the housing of Sandhu, as modified by Wilcox above, to incorporate “a first conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air inlet; and a second conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air outlet and a bean inlet” as taught by Ludwig. Doing so allows for easier, continuous feeding of raw materials. It also contributes to a more consistent roasting process when air and gases circulate through the chamber to roast beans.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Sandhu in view of Wilcox and Ludwig further discloses the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 of Ludwig below. in the rejection of claim 3, the second conduit is included in the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig ) is located adjacent to the front end portion of the housing (see front end portion of the housing in annotated fig.2 of Ludwig below) and configured to output air flow from the inner chamber (14, see fig.2 of Ludwig below) in a vertically upward direction (see fig.2 of Ludwig, air flow through the annotated second conduit in a vertically upward direction) to the air handling subsystem (combo 42 and 16, see fig.2 of Ludwig).
Annotated fig.2 of Ludwig
Regarding claim 5, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the second conduit has a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the first conduit and configured to slow down a rate of airflow into the air handling subsystem in an upward direction to reduce entrainment of the batch of beans.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the cross-sectional area of the second conduit to be greater than a cross-sectional area of the first conduit and configured to slow down a rate of airflow into the air handling subsystem in an upward direction to reduce entrainment of the batch of beans (intended use of the cross-sectional area modification) since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (See MPEP2144.05). In this case, the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig discloses the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 of Ludwig above) has a certain cross-sectional area and a certain cross-sectional area of the first conduit (22, see fig.2 of Ludwig) , and having a specific cross-sectional area of the second conduit is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. Varying the cross-sectional area of the second conduit to be greater than the cross-sectional area of the first conduit and configured to slow down a rate of airflow into the air handling subsystem in an upward direction to reduce entrainment of the batch of beans (intended use of the cross-sectional area modification), to
control the entrainment of the batch of beans as desired., is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Regarding claim 13, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitation as set forth in claim 12, except an upper portion of the housing includes a first conduit and a second conduit, operating the air handling subsystem circulates the heated air into the first conduit and out of the second conduit, operating the hopper releases the beans from the hopper, through the second conduit, and to the inner chamber.
Ludwig discloses a coffee bean roasting machine, comprising:
an upper portion (see upper portion in annotated fig.2 below) of the housing (combo 14 and 30, see fig.2) includes a first conduit (22) and a second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 below), operating the air handling subsystem (combo 42 and 16, see fig.3) circulates the heated air into the first conduit (22, see fig.2) and out of the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 below), operating the hopper (12, see fig.2) releases the beans from the hopper (12), through the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 below), and to the inner chamber (14, see fig.2).
Annotated fig.2 of Ludwig
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified an upper portion of the housing of Sandhu, as modified by Wilcox above, to incorporate “a first conduit and a second conduit, operating the air handling subsystem circulates the heated air into the first conduit and out of the second conduit, operating the hopper releases the beans from the hopper, through the second conduit, and to the inner chamber: as taught by Ludwig. Doing so allows for easier, continuous feeding of raw materials. It also contributes to a more consistent roasting process when air and gases circulate through the chamber to roast nuts/ beans.
Regarding claim 14, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the second conduit has a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the first conduit to provide a slower velocity of air leaving than entering the housing.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the cross-sectional area of the second conduit to be greater than a cross-sectional area of the first conduit and configured to to provide a slower velocity of air leaving than entering the housing (intended use of the cross-sectional area modification) since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (See MPEP2144.05). In this case, the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig discloses the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 of Ludwig above) has a certain cross-sectional area and a certain cross-sectional area of the first conduit (22, see fig.2 of Ludwig) , and having a specific cross-sectional area of the second conduit is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. Varying the cross-sectional area of the second conduit to be greater than the cross-sectional area of the first conduit to provide a slower velocity of air leaving than entering the housing (intended use of the cross-sectional area modification), to control the air circulation inside the roasting chamber as desired, is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu in view of Wilcox as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Hong (US 20150258524 A1)
Regarding claim 11, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth.
Sandhu does not expressly disclose the agitator actuator includes a motor and a motor coupler mounted behind the rear end portion of the housing and that is configured to transfer rotational power from the motor to the agitator, the motor extends in a frontward direction from the motor coupler and overlaps with the rear end portion of the housing along the horizontal axis.
Wilcox further discloses the agitator actuator (combo 34,36 and 38) includes a motor (36, see fig.1) and a motor coupler (38, see fg.1) mounted behind the rear end portion (see rear end portion in annotated fig.1 above) of the housing (combo 12, 14 and 66, see fig.1) that is configured to transfer rotational power from the motor (36) to the agitator (combo 22 and 46, see fig.1), the motor (36) extends in a frontward direction from the motor coupler (38, see fig.1) and overlaps with the rear end portion of the housing (see rear end portion in annotated fig.1 above) along the horizontal axis (horizontal axis of the apparatus 10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the agitator actuator of Wilcox for the one of Sandhu so as “the agitator actuator includes a motor and a motor coupler mounted behind the rear end portion of the housing and that is configured to transfer rotational power from the motor to the agitator, the motor extends in a frontward direction from the motor coupler and overlaps with the rear end portion of the housing along the horizontal axis” as taught by Wilcox, since the substitution one element for another one would yield a predictable result of turning the shaft effectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 6/9/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made by the modification of Sandhu in view of Wilcox.
In response to the arguments, the limitation, “a housing having an inner surface defining an inner chamber for holding a batch of beans during a thermal roasting process, the inner chamber having a horizontal axis” is relied on Sandhu, wherein Sandhu teaches the drum 100, which is equivalent to the claimed “housing”, having an inner surface defining an inner chamber for holding a batch of beans during a thermal roasting process (see para.0080), wherein the inner chamber of the drum 100 having a horizontal axis 133 as shown in fig.8.
Sandhu also discloses the agitator 110 coupled to the agitator actuator 41, the agitator includes a central shaft 114 and a blade set mounted to the central shaft 112 as shown in fig.12 so that Sandhu fulfills the limitation “an agitator coupled to the agitator actuator, the agitator includes a central shaft and a blade set mounted to the central shaft”.
Finally, Sandhu also teaches the “air handling subsystem coupled to the roasting subsystem” as recited in claim 1. The air handling subsystem 38 and 34 coupled to the roasting subsystem 4 as shown in fig.1. In addition, it also includes the blower 34 and heater 28 as required in claim 1.
It is agreed that Sandhu does not teach the limitation “disposed at a rear end portion of the housing, the bearing supporting the central shaft in a cantilevered position within the inner chamber of the housing, the bearing and configured to prevent the blade set from contacting the inner surface of the housing and the door”; however, this limitation is relied on Wilcox. Thus, one of the ordinary skill would be able to substitute the front-mounted bearing of Sandhu by the rear-mounted bearing of Wilcox since the substitution one element for another one would yield a predictable result of rotating the shaft effectively.
Claim 12 recites similar limitations as claim 1 so that claim 12 is rejected by the same reasons as discussed in claim 1.
Moreover, claim 5 recites the limitation “the second conduit has a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the first conduit and configured to slow down a rate of airflow into the air handling subsystem in an upward direction to reduce entrainment of the batch of beans”. It is agreed that the modification does not expressly disclose the above limitation. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the cross-sectional area of the second conduit to be greater than a cross-sectional area of the first conduit and configured to slow down a rate of airflow into the air handling subsystem in an upward direction to reduce entrainment of the batch of beans (intended use of the cross-sectional area modification) since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (See MPEP2144.05). In this case, the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig discloses the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 of Ludwig above) has a certain cross-sectional area and a certain cross-sectional area of the first conduit (22, see fig.2 of Ludwig) , and having a specific cross-sectional area of the second conduit is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. Varying the cross-sectional area of the second conduit to be greater than the cross-sectional area of the first conduit and configured to slow down a rate of airflow into the air handling subsystem in an upward direction to reduce entrainment of the batch of beans (intended use of the cross-sectional area modification), to control the entrainment of the batch of beans as desired, is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Claim 14 recites similar limitation of claim 5 so that claim 14 is rejected by the same reasons as discussed in claim 5.
Also, claims 2-11, 13-14 are 21-25 are rejected by the virtue of the dependency upon claims 1 and 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10448663 B2 discloses a coffee roasting apparatus having a housing, a supporting plate located within the housing, a drum chamber located at one side of the supporting plate within the housing, a first support for supporting the drum chamber, and a second support for supporting the drum chamber. The supporting plate may include a heater. The first support may be adjacent to the outer circumferential surface of the drum chamber. The second support may be adjacent to the outer circumferential surface of the drum chamber and be spaced apart from the first support by a predetermined distance. As the drum chamber rotates by receiving a driving force for rotation from the first supporting unit, the drum chamber can be rotated without being obstructed by the heater.
KR 2014-0147632 A (Cited in 12/28/2023 IDS) relates to a coffee roaster roasting green beans into coffee beans by using a direct flame roasting method. Especially, the present invention relates to a coffee roaster which installs an electric heater which is a heating means inside a roasting drum, while installing heat reflecting plate dissipating heat energy in the horizontal direction and a reflecting plate dissipating heat energy in the vertical direction to diffuse regular heat energy from the inner side of the rotation drum, and installs multiple stirring blades fixed on the inner circumferential surface of the rotation drum to be coupled in a softly rounded screw shape for green beans to be roasted while moved in the left direction and right direction according to the rotating direction of the rotation drum. Moreover, the present invention relates to a direct flame type coffee roaster which solves the problem of reducing output by dropping green beans and coffee beans and a problem of makes equipment body dirty caused by separated rotation drum and front panel.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761