DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2022, 11/28/2023 and 08/25/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 08/25/2025, claims 1-14 and 21-25 are pending.
Claims 1-6, 10-13, 21 and 25 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-12, and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox (US 5182981 A, newly cited) in view of Sandhu (US20190320702A1, previously cited)
Regarding claim 1, Wilcox discloses
A bean roasting system (10, see fig.1), comprising:
a roasting subsystem (combo 18,14, 66, 34,36,38, 22,46,24,30,44 and 52, see fig.1) including:
a housing (combo 18, 14 and 66, see fig.1) having an inner surface (inner surface of 18, see fig.1) defining an inner chamber (48, see fig.1) for holding a batch of beans during a thermal roasting process (see abstract: “in the rotating drum to roast nuts and multiple vanes mounted within the inner rotating drum keep the nuts tumbling so that they are evenly heated”), the inner chamber (48, see fig.1) having a horizontal axis (See horizontal axis in annotated fig.1 below);
Annotated fig.1 of Wilcox
an agitator actuator (combo 34, 36 and 38, see fig.1);
an agitator (combo 22 and 46, see fig.1) coupled to the agitator actuator (combo 34, 36 and 38), the agitator (combo 22 and 46, see fig.1) includes a central shaft (22, see fig.1) and a blade set (46, see fig.1) mounted to the central shaft (22, see fig.1);
a door (24, see fig.1
and a bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) disposed at a rear end portion of the housing (see rear end portion of the housing in annotated fig.1 above), the bearing (combo 30-44) supporting the central shaft (22) in a cantilevered position (see fig.1) within the inner chamber (48) of the housing (18,14 and 66, see fig.1), the bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) configured to prevent the blade set (46) from contacting the inner surface (inner surface of 18) of the housing (combo 18, 14 and 66, see fig.1) and the door (24, see fig.1); and
an air handling subsystem (52) coupled to the roasting subsystem (combo 18, 34,36,38, 22,46,24,30,44 and 52, see fig.1), the air handling subsystem (52) including 52, see fig.1) and
Wilcox discloses the door 24 disposed at a front end portion of the housing 18,14 and 66 (see fig.1) and air handling subsystem 52, but
Wilcox is silent on a door having a transparent window disposed at a front end portion of the housing; and
the air handling subsystem including a blower and configured to circulate heated air through the inner chamber during the thermal roasting process.
Sandhu discloses a bean roasting system, comprising:
a door (122, see fig.7) having a transparent window (130, see fig.7 and para.0081: “The door includes a glass plate 130 that allows the contents of the drum 100 to be viewed during a roasting operation”) disposed at a front end portion (104, see fig.7) of the housing (100, see fig.7); and
the air handling subsystem (combo 28 and 34, see fig.1) including a blower (34) and a heater (28) and configured to circulate heated air through the inner chamber (100) during the thermal roasting process (see para.0039-0040).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the door and air handling subsystem of Wilcox (see items 24 and 52) to have the “door having a transparent window disposed at a front end portion of the housing” and incorporate the “blower and configured to circulate heated air through the inner chamber during the thermal roasting process” as taught by Sandhu. The door allows the contents of the housing to be viewed during a roasting operation so that the operator can observe the physical changes in the product as they roast, including changes in color, size, and shape, to determine the exact roast level. Also, the air handling subsystem, including the blower, allows to circulate air inside the housing that helps to regulate the temperature of the housing (See para.0025 of Sandhu: “The recirculating gas flow path 10 performs a number of functions …regulating a temperature of the roasting chamber 4”).
Regarding claim 6, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth, except the housing includes a hatch, the blade set is configured to impart a stirring motion to the batch of beans to facilitate exit of the batch of beans through the hatch when the batch of beans is being unloaded from the inner chamber.
Sandhu further discloses the housing (100, see fig.7) includes a hatch (hatch 120, see fig.7), the blade set (112, see fig.7) is configured to impart a stirring motion to the batch of beans to facilitate exit of the batch of beans (see para.0033: “…rotate the agitator blades to empty contents of the drum through the opening in the lower surface of the drum”) through the hatch (120, see fig.7) when the batch of beans is being unloaded from the chamber (see para.0080: “The hatch 120 can be lowered to provide an opening in the bottom of the drum 100. This allows beans contained in the drum 100 to be emptied into a cooling chamber”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the housing of Wilcox, as modified by Sandhu above, to add the “hatch, the blade set is configured to impart a stirring motion to the batch of beans to facilitate exit of the batch of beans through the hatch when the batch of beans is being unloaded from the inner chamber” as taught by Sandhu. Doing so allows the beans in the roasting chamber to be emptied into a cooling chamber so that the bean can be cooled as desired.
Regarding claim 7, Wilcox further discloses the blade set (46, see fig.1) is configured to impart a circulating motion of beans of the batch of beans along the horizontal axis during rotation of the blade set (See fig. 1, when the rotating drum 20 rotates, the blending vanes 46 are attached to the inner wall 48 of the cylindrical inner rotating drum 20 also rotate and impart a circulating motion of beans of the batch of beans along the horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 8, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth, except the blade set includes: an inner spiral auger configured to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set; and an outer set of blades configured, during rotation of the blade set, to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process.
Sandhu further discloses the blade set (112, see fig.7) includes:
an inner spiral auger (see inner spiral auger in annotated fig.12 below) configured to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set (see fig.12 of Sandhu, the annotated inner spiral auger has the same structures as the inner spiral auger 332 as shown in fig.5 of the current application; thus, it performs the same function that “impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set” as claimed); and
an outer set of blades (see outer set of blades in annotated fig,12 below) configured, during rotation of the blade set, to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process (see fig.12 of Sandhu, the annotated outer set of blades has the same structures as the outer blades 423 as shown in fig.5 of the current application; thus, it performs the same function “impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process” ) .
Annotated fig.12 of Sandhu
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have substituted the blade set of Wilcox by the blade set of Sandhu, so as “the blade set includes: an inner spiral auger configured to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set; and an outer set of blades configured, during rotation of the blade set, to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process” as claimed, since the substitution of one element for another one would yield the predictable result of mixing the beans/peanuts in the roasting chamber. Doing so also enhances mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process.
Regarding claim 9, Wilcox further discloses the central shaft (22, see fig.1 ) is a hollow cylindrical shaft (See fig.1, the shaft 22 includes the hollow drive hub 68) , the bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) radially surrounds the hollow cylindrical shaft (22) at the rear end portion (see rear end portion in annotated fig.1 above) of the housing (18, 14 and 66, see fig.1).
Regarding claim 10, Wilcox further discloses the bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) includes a first portion (44) disclosed within the inner chamber (48) and a second portion (30) disposed outside of the inner chamber (48).
Regarding claim 11, Wilcox further discloses the agitator actuator (combo 34,36 and 38) includes a motor (36, see fig.1) and a motor coupler (38, see fg.1) mounted behind the rear end portion (see rear end portion in annotated fig.1 above) of the housing (18, see fig.1) that is configured to transfer rotational power from the motor (36) to the agitator (combo 22 and 46, see fig.1), the motor (36) extends in a frontward direction from the motor coupler (38, see fig.1) and overlaps with the housing (combo 18, 14 and 66, see fig.1) along the horizontal axis (see horizontal axis in annotated fig.1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Wilcox discloses A bean roasting system (10, see fig.1), comprising:
a roasting subsystem (combo 18, 34,36,38, 22,46,24,30,44 and 52, see fig.1) including:
a housing (combo 18, 14 and 66, see fig.1) having an inner surface (inner surface of 18, see fig.1) defining an inner chamber (48, see fig.1) for holding a batch of beans during a thermal roasting process (see abstract: “in the rotating drum to roast nuts and multiple vanes mounted within the inner rotating drum keep the nuts tumbling so that they are evenly heated”), the inner chamber (48, see fig.1) having a horizontal axis (See horizontal axis in annotated fig.1 below),
Annotated fig.1 of Wilcox
an agitator actuator (combo 34, 36 and 38, see fig.1);
an agitator (combo 22 and 46, see fig.1) coupled to the agitator actuator (combo 34, 36 and 38), the agitator (combo 22 and 46, see fig.1) includes a central shaft (22, see fig.1) and a blade set (46, see fig.1) mounted to the central shaft (22, see fig.1);
a bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) disposed at a rear end portion of the housing (see rear end portion of the housing in annotated fig.1 above) that supports the central shaft (22) and is configured to prevent the blade set (46) from contacting the inner surface (inner surface of 20) of the housing (combo 18, 14 and 66, see fig.1) without any axial bearing support at a front end portion of the central shaft (See fig.1); and
a door (24, see fig.1)
an air handling subsystem (52, see fig.1) coupled to the roasting subsystem (combo 18, 34,36, 22, 46,24 and 30, see fig.1), the air handling subsystem (52) including (52, see fig.1);
a controller (58, see fig.1) configured to:
operate the agitator actuator (combo 34, 36 and 38) to rotate the agitator (combo 22 and 46, see fig.1) and to stir the batch of beans (peanuts) within the inner chamber (48, see fig.1 and col.2 lines 31-33: “A 0-60 minute timer switch 58 controls the apparatus cycle”);
Wilcox does not expressly disclose
a hopper;
the housing including a hatch coupled to a bean release actuator;
a door having a glass window disposed at a front end portion of the housing configured to allow viewing of the thermal roasting process;
the air handling subsystem including a blower;
a controller configured to:
operate the hopper to release the batch of beans from the hopper to the inner chamber;
operate the air handling subsystem to circulate heated air through the inner chamber according to the thermal roasting process; and
operate the bean release actuator and the agitator actuator to release beans from the inner chamber to the bean cooling subsystem.
Sandhu discloses a bean roasting system, comprising:
a hopper (12, see fig.1);
the housing (100, see fig.7) including a hatch (hatch 120, see fig.7) coupled to a bean release actuator (bean drop actuator 43, see fig,16B);
a door (122, see fig.9) having a glass window ( glass plate 130, see fig.8 and para.0081) disposed at a front end portion (a portion of 104, see fig.7) of the housing (100, see fig.7) configured to allow viewing of the thermal roasting process (see para.0081: “The door includes a glass plate 130 that allows the contents of the drum 100 to be viewed during a roasting operation”);
the air handling subsystem (combo 28 and 34, see fig.1) including a blower (34, see fig.1);
a bean cooling subsystem (cooling chamber, see para.0080); and
a controller (42, see fig.2) configured to:
operate the hopper (12, see fig.1) to release the batch of beans from the hopper (12) to the inner chamber (inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.2 and para.0054: “the valve 14 is opened to load beans from the hopper 12 to the roasting chamber 4”);
operate the agitator actuator (41, see fig.2) to rotate the actuator (110) and to stir the batch of beans within the inner chamber (see para.0079: “The agitator motor 41 is configured to rotate the agitator 110 about the shaft 114”);
operate the air handling subsystem (combo 28 and 34, see fig.1) to circulate heated air through the inner chamber ((inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.7) according to the thermal roasting process (see fig.1 and para.0040: “The inlet component 36 includes an inlet control valve and inlet blower coupled in series to allow and force ambient air into the recirculating gas flow path 10”); and
operate the bean release actuator (bean drop actuator 43, see fig,16B) and the agitator actuator (41, see fig.2) to release beans from the inner chamber to the bean cooling subsystem (see para.0049: “The controller also configured to operate the agitator motor 41 and the bean drop actuator 43 when beans are dropped from the roasting chamber 4 to a cooling chamber”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system, housing, door and air handling subsystem of Wilcox to incorporate the “hopper”, “hatch coupled to a bean release actuator”; “glass window disposed at a front end portion of the housing configured to allow viewing of the thermal roasting process” and “blower” of Sandhu and substitute the controller of Sandhu for the controller of Wilcox, so as the “controller configured to: operate the hopper to release the batch of beans from the hopper to the inner chamber; operate the air handling subsystem to circulate heated air through the inner chamber according to the thermal roasting process; and
operate the bean release actuator and the agitator actuator to release beans from the inner chamber to the bean cooling subsystem” as claimed, since the substitution one element for another one would yield a predictable result of controlling the operation of the roasting system. The hopper allows for easier, continuous feeding of raw materials. It also contributes to a more consistent roasting process when air and gases circulate through the chamber to roast nuts/ peanuts. The door allows the contents of the housing to be viewed during a roasting operation so that the operator can observe the physical changes in the product as they roast, including changes in color, size, and shape, to determine the exact roast level. Also, the air handling subsystem, including the blower, allows to circulate air inside the housing that helps to regulate the temperature of the housing (See para.0025 of Sandhu: “The recirculating gas flow path 10 performs a number of functions …regulating a temperature of the roasting chamber 4”). The bean cooling subsystem allows to cool the beans/peanuts which helps to prevent over-roasting, which can degrade flavor and texture. Furthermore, the controller controls all operations of the system effectively.
Regarding claim 21, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitation as set forth in claim 12, except the blade set is configured to impart a stirring motion to the batch of beans to facilitate exit of the batch of beans through the hatch when the batch of beans is being unloaded from the inner chamber.
Sandhu further discloses the blade set (112, see fig.7) is configured to impart a stirring motion to the batch of beans (see para.0079, when the blade set rotates, it imparts a stirring motion to the batch of beans) to facilitate exit of the batch of beans through the hatch (hatch 120, see fig.7) when the batch of beans is being unloaded from the chamber (inner chamber of the drum 100, see fig.7 and para.0079-0080).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Sandhu to the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu, so as “the blade set is configured to impart a stirring motion to the batch of beans to facilitate exit of the batch of beans through the hatch when the batch of beans is being unloaded from the inner chamber” as taught by Sandhu. Doing so the peanuts/ nuts to be cooled after being roasted which helps to prevent over-roasting, which can degrade flavor and texture. It also helps to achieve the optimal crispy texture and preserving freshness.
Regarding claim 22, Wilcox further discloses the blade set (46, see fig.1) is configured to impart a circulating motion of beans of the batch of beans along the horizontal axis (See horizontal axis in annotated fig.1 above) during rotation of the blade set (see claim 1: “multiple blending vanes attached to an inner wall of the removable rotating drum”. Thus, when the rotating drum 20 rotates, the vanes 46 also rotate).
Regarding claim 23, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitation as set forth in claim 12, except the blade set includes: an inner spiral auger configured to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set; and an outer set of blades configured, during rotation of the blade set, to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process.
Sandhu further discloses the blade set (112, see fig.7) includes:
an inner spiral auger (see inner spiral auger in annotated fig.12 below) configured to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set (see fig.12 of Sandhu, the annotated inner spiral auger has the same structures as the inner spiral auger 332 as shown in fig.5 of the current application; thus, it performs the same function that “impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set” as claimed); and
an outer set of blades (see outer set of blades in annotated fig,12 below) configured, during rotation of the blade set, to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process (see fig.12 of Sandhu, the annotated outer set of blades has the same structures as the outer blades 423 as shown in fig.5 of the current application; thus, it performs the same function “impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process” ) .
Annotated fig.12 of Sandhu
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have substituted the blade set of Wilcox by the blade set of Sandhu, so as “the blade set includes: an inner spiral auger configured to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a first horizontal direction during rotation of the blade set; and an outer set of blades configured, during rotation of the blade set, to impart a horizontal motion of beans along a second horizontal direction that opposes the first horizontal direction to enhance mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process” as claimed, since the substitution of one element for another one would yield the predictable result of mixing the beans/peanuts in the roasting chamber. Doing so also enhances mixing of the batch of beans during the thermal roasting process.
Regarding claim 24, Wilcox further discloses
the central shaft (22, see fig.1 ) is a hollow cylindrical shaft (See fig.1, the shaft 22 includes the hollow drive hub 68) , the bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) radially surrounds the hollow cylindrical shaft (22) at the rear end portion (see rear end portion in annotated fig.1 above) of the housing (combo 18 and 14) .
Regarding claim 25, Wilcox further discloses
the bearing (combo 30-44, see fig.1) includes a first portion (44) disclosed within the inner chamber (48) and a second portion (30) disposed outside of the inner chamber (48).
Claims 2-5 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox in view of Sandhu as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ludwig (US20130344207A1)
Regarding claim 2, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth, except the housing includes: a first conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air inlet; and a second conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air outlet and a bean inlet.
Ludwig discloses a coffee bean roasting machine, comprising:
the housing (14, see figs.1-2) includes:
a first conduit (22, see figs.1-2) at an upper portion of the housing (see upper portion of 14 in annotated fig.2 below) and that defines an air inlet (see para.0018: “the process stream, as noted above, flows through the duct 22 and back into the bean roasting chamber 14”); and
a second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 below) at an upper portion of the housing (see upper portion of 14 in annotated fig.2 below) and that defines an air outlet (see fig.2), and a bean inlet (see figs.1-2, the annotated second conduit is a bean inlet of the housing 14 when receiving the beans from the bean hopper 12).
Annotated fig.2 of Ludwig
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the housing of Wilcox, as modified by Sandhu above, to incorporate “a first conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air inlet; and a second conduit at an upper portion of the housing and that defines an air outlet and a bean inlet” as taught by Ludwig. Doing so allows for easier, continuous feeding of raw materials. It also contributes to a more consistent roasting process when air and gases circulate through the chamber to roast nuts/ peanuts.
Regarding claim 3, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth, except the housing includes:
a first conduit that defines an air inlet; and
a second conduit that defines an air outlet and a bean inlet, the first conduit is located adjacent to the rear end portion of the housing and configured to receive heated air flow in a vertically downward direction into the inner chamber from the air handling subsystem.
Ludwig discloses a coffee bean roasting machine, comprising:
the housing (14, see figs.1-2) includes:
a first conduit (22, see figs.1-2) that defines an air inlet (see para.0018: “the process stream, as noted above, flows through the duct 22 and back into the bean roasting chamber 14”. Thus, 22 is an air inlet of the housing 14); and
a second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 above of Ludwig) that defines an air outlet (see fig.2) and a bean inlet (see figs.1-2, the annotated second conduit is a bean inlet of the housing 14 when receiving the beans from the bean hopper 12),the first conduit (22) is located adjacent to the rear end portion of the housing (see rear end portion of the housing in annotated fig.2 below) and configured to receive heated air flow in a vertically downward direction into the inner chamber (see fig.2) from the air handling subsystem (combo 42 and 16, see fig.3).
Annotated fig.2 of Ludwig
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the housing of Wilcox, as modified by Sandhu above, to incorporate “a first conduit that defines an air inlet; and a second conduit that defines an air outlet and a bean inlet, the first conduit is located adjacent to the rear end portion of the housing and configured to receive heated air flow in a vertically downward direction into the inner chamber from the air handling subsystem” as taught by Ludwig. Doing so allows for easier, continuous feeding of raw materials. It also contributes to a more consistent roasting process when air and gases circulate through the chamber to roast nuts/ peanuts.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig further discloses the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 of Ludwig below. in the rejection of claim 3, the second conduit is included in the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig ) is located adjacent to the front end portion of the housing (see front end portion of the housing in annotated fig.2 of Ludwig below) and configured to output air flow from the inner chamber (14, see fig.2 of Ludwig below) in a vertically upward direction (see fig.2 of Ludwig, air flow through the annotated second conduit in a vertically upward direction) to the air handling subsystem (combo 42 and 16, see fig.2 of Ludwig).
Annotated fig.2 of Ludwig
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig further discloses the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 above. In the rejection of claim 2, the second conduit is included in the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig) has a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the first conduit (22, see fig.2 of Ludwig) and configured to slow down a rate of airflow into the air handling subsystem (combo 42 and 16, see fig.3 of Ludwig) in an upward direction (see fig.2 of Ludwig) to reduce entrainment of the batch of beans (by having the greater cross- sectional area and extending upwardly, in the modification, the annotated second conduit 2 performs the same function “slow down a rate of airflow into the air handling subsystem in an upward direction to reduce entrainment of the batch of beans into the air handling subsystem” as claimed. See para.0040 of the current application: “The second conduit 314 has a larger cross sectional area than the first conduit 312 to slow down a velocity of air exiting upward to avoid entraining beans but with a velocity to entrain smaller effluent particles to be removed by the cyclone 22”).
Regarding claim 13, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitation as set forth in claim 12, except an upper portion of the housing includes a first conduit and a second conduit, operating the air handling subsystem circulates the heated air into the first conduit and out of the second conduit, operating the hopper releases the beans from the hopper, through the second conduit, and to the inner chamber.
Ludwig discloses a coffee bean roasting machine, comprising:
an upper portion (see upper portion in annotated fig.2 below) of the housing (combo 14 and 30, see fig.2) includes a first conduit (22) and a second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 below), operating the air handling subsystem (combo 42 and 16, see fig.3) circulates the heated air into the first conduit (22, see fig.2) and out of the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 below), operating the hopper (12, see fig.2) releases the beans from the hopper (12), through the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 below), and to the inner chamber (14, see fig.2).
Annotated fig.2 of Ludwig
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified an upper portion of the housing of Wilcox, as modified by Sandhu above, to incorporate “a first conduit and a second conduit, operating the air handling subsystem circulates the heated air into the first conduit and out of the second conduit, operating the hopper releases the beans from the hopper, through the second conduit, and to the inner chamber: as taught by Ludwig. Doing so allows for easier, continuous feeding of raw materials. It also contributes to a more consistent roasting process when air and gases circulate through the chamber to roast nuts/ peanuts.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig further discloses the second conduit (see second conduit in annotated fig.2 of Ludwig above. In the rejection of claim 13, the second conduit is included in the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu and Ludwig) has a larger cross area than the first conduit (22) to provide a slower velocity of air leaving than entering the housing (“to provide a slower … entering the housing” is the result of the structure “the second conduit has a larger cross area than the first conduit”. By having the structure “the second conduit has a larger cross area than the first conduit, the second conduit of Sandhu would be able to “provide a slower velocity of air leaving than entering the housing”).
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections: the amendments have overcome the previous objections.
Claim Interpretation: based on the amendments, the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C.§103:
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 08/25/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 12 under 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made by the modification of Wilcox in view of Sandhu.
The amended limitation of claim 1: “the bearing supporting the central shaft in a cantilevered position within the inner chamber of the housing, the bearing and configured to prevent the blade set from contacting the inner surface of the housing and the door” is relied on the new reference Wilcox, not Billingsley or Sandhu.
Similarly, claim 12 is rejected by the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claims 2-11, 13-14 and 21-25 are rejected by the virtue of the dependency upon claims 1 and 12.
Dependent Claims 3-4: Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 08/25/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 12 under 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ludwig (US20130344207A1).
Request for Consideration of Information Disclosure Statements: the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Their copies are attached with this office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20200154945 A1 discloses A roasting and glazing apparatus including the bearing188A supporting the central shaft 116 in a cantilevered position within the inner chamber of the housing, the bearing and configured to prevent the blade set 230 from contacting the inner surface of the housing and the door 300 (see fig.6A-C).
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761