DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment was filed on February 26, 2026. Claims 1-6, 8-10, 15-19, and 24-25 are pending in the application. The claim objections of record have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment to the claims. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the drawings. Applicant’s amendment to the claims has also overcome the rejections of record under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120157018 A1 (Robinson ‘018) in view of US 20130343042 A1 (Windom ‘042), and further in view of US 3984257 A (Zurcher ‘257).
Regarding claim 1, Robinson ‘018 discloses a reusable power module (replaceable module 120; [0017]) for a field device (wireless measurement transmitter 100; [0017]), the reusable power module comprising:
a main body (replaceable modules 200 & 500, exemplary embodiments of replaceable module 120, include a module outer shell 258; [0027] – [0028] & Figs. 1B & 4B) defining a chamber configured to house a primary battery (the replaceable module 200 houses a primary battery 250 & 500; [0029] - [0030] & Fig. 4B);
a cover operably coupled to the main body (module cap 260 serving as the cover coupled to the module outer shell 250; [0029] & Figs. 1B, 4A, & 4B), the cover having a first configuration relative to the main body wherein the main body is open and allows access to the primary battery (as shown in Fig. 4A, the cover is in a configuration where the module outer shell 258 is open and allows access to the primary battery 250; [0029]), the cover also having a second configuration wherein access to the primary battery is closed (as shown in Fig. 1B, the replaceable module 200 is in a closed configuration, where access to the battery is closed, because the module cap serving as the cover is coupled to the module outer shell);
a plurality of field communicator clips (service communication connectors 122; [0017] & Fig. 1B), wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of field communicator clips extends outside a periphery of the cover when the cover is in the second configuration (when the replaceable module is closed, i.e., in the second configuration, the service communication connectors 122 protrude beyond the second cavity 106 and are accessible when the second cover 102C is removed; [0017] & Fig. 2);
a second circuit board mounted relative to the cover (printed wiring board 255 positioned above primary battery 250 in Fig. 4A, and when fully assembled, the printed wiring board 255 would be mounted relative to the module cap 260; Fig. 4A & 4B & [0027]); and at least three conductors (as shown in Fig. 3, there are three contacts 116 that plug into the module, wherein three lines of wiring extends through the module, a single wiring 170, a single wiring 178, and a common wiring for 170 and 178; [0016] & [0026] & Fig. 3), the at least three conductors including a conductor for power (the primary battery 150 in the replaceable module 120 is connected by wiring 178 to energize the electronic measurement circuitry 140; [0026]), a conductor for common (a conductor for common for connecting both the wiring 178 and the wiring 170; Fig. 3), and a conductor for communication (a conductor for communication for connecting the wiring 170 for service communications connected to communication circuit 172; [0025] & Fig. 3).
Additionally, the printed wiring board 255 connects to the primary battery 250 via leads 251, and the printing wiring board 255 connects to the service communication connector 253 via leads 253 ([0027]).
Robinson ‘018 does not disclose a first circuit board mounted relative to the main body coupled to the second circuit board by the at least three conductors, wherein the second circuit board contains the plurality of field communicator clips.
Windom ‘042 discloses a rechargeable battery pack 100 that may include a rechargeable cell 135 ([0034]). The rechargeable cell 135 may be coupled to a printed circuit board 133, which may be coupled to the conductive power contacts 170, such as through springs 172 ([0034]). Additionally, the rechargeable battery pack 100 may include a charging system 138, which may be coupled to the charging port 175 as well as the rechargeable cell 135 (such as through spring 137) to facilitate the charging of the rechargeable cell 135 from the charging port 175 ([0034]). The charging system 138, corresponding to the first circuit board mounted relative to the main body, may also be coupled to the printed circuit board 133 through one or more wires 131 ([0034]). The charging system 138 may be configured to control aspects of charging of the rechargeable cell 135 ([0035]). The charging system 138 may also be coupled to a charging indicator light to display a charging status of the rechargeable battery pack 100 ([0036]).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to provide a first circuit board mounted relative to the main body coupled to the second circuit board by the at least three conductors, wherein the second circuit board contains the plurality of field communicator clips, as suggested by Windom ‘042, in the reusable power module, as taught by Robinson ‘018.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Additionally, Robinson ‘018 does not disclose a pair of coil springs, wherein each coil spring, of the pair of coil springs, is spaced a part from a center of the first circuit board, and configured to contact a flat negative terminal of the primary battery, and wherein the pair of coil springs provide passive polarity protection by only allowing electrical contact with the primary battery in a single polarity orientation.
Windom ‘042 discloses a spring 137 placed on the charged system 138/switch contact plate 139 that is in electrical contact with a flat side of the rechargeable cell 135 (Fig. 4 & 5). Further, Windom’ 042 disclose a plurality of springs 172, wherein two of the plurality of springs 172 spaced apart from a center spring of the printed circuit board 133.
Therefore, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to include two or more springs 137 connected to a charging system 138/circuit board, spaced from a center of the charging system 138/circuit board, wherein a side of the pair of coil springs are in electrical contact with the negative/flat side of the rechargeable cell 135, because, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Further, Zurcher ‘257 discloses a battery operated device that has battery wells into which batteries are inserted (abstract). Spring-loaded rings in the wells are configured so that electrical contact is not made when the batteries are inserted in the wrong polarity orientation but permit contact when the batteries are correctly inserted (abstract).
Therefore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the electrical contact structure of the reusable power module for the field device, as taught by Robinson ‘018, to be configured to prevent electrical contact when the batteries are inserted in the wrong polarity orientation, but permit contact when the batteries are correctly inserted, as suggested by Zurcher ‘257, thereby providing passive polarity protection.
Regarding claim 4, Robinson ‘018 teaches the reusable power module of claim 1, wherein Robinson ‘018 further discloses that the cover includes at least one feature that cooperates with a corresponding feature of the main body to retain the cover in the second configuration (the replaceable module 200 has the module cap 260 which is attached to the module outer shell 258, i.e., the module cap 260 and the module outer shell 258 each have a corresponding feature that allows for the attachment of one to the other, wherein the replaceable module is closed; [0029] & Figs. 4A & 4B).
Regarding claim 6, Robinson ‘018 teaches the reusable power module of claim 1, wherein Robinson ‘018 further discloses that the cover includes the plurality of field communicator clips (the service communication connectors 122, which are accessible without removing the module cap 260, serve as the plurality of field communicator connection clips; [0017] & Figs. 2 & 3).
Regarding claim 15, Robinson ‘018 discloses a field device (wireless measurement transmitter 100; [0016]) comprising: measurement circuitry (a measurement circuit assembly 108 including measurement circuitry 140; [0021]) operably coupled to at least one process variable sensor (wireless measurement transmitter 100 includes a measurement sensor 130, the measurement sensor 130 being able to sense an industrial process variable; [0021]) and configured to provide a digital indication (handheld service equipment 160, as shown FIG. 3, would provide the digital indication on the pictured screen; [0024]) relative to an electrical characteristic of the at least one process variable sensor (measurement sensor 130 of the wireless transmitter 100 senses the industrial process variable and provides an electrical signal representative of the process variable, via electrical contacts 136, to the measurement circuit assembly 108; [0021]);
a controller coupled to the measurement circuitry (measurement circuit assembly 108 includes an antenna 142 that provides wireless communication of control information to a control system, industrial control system 166, wherein stored settings 168 function to control the operation of the electronic measurement circuitry 140; [0021] & [0026]) and configured to generate process variable information based on the digital indication (industrial process control system 166 controls or monitors the industrial process 164, based on process data communicated to the control system through the wireless antenna 142, wherein process variable range settings are remotely adjustable by commands received from the control system based on the corresponding digital indication provided on the pictured screen of the handheld service equipment 160; [0025] & [0026] & Fig. 3);
process communication circuitry coupled to the controller (industrial process control system 166 controls or monitors the industrial process 164, based on process data communicated to the control system through the wireless antenna 142 coupled to the wireless measurement circuity 140 having converter circuit 162, wherein process variable range settings are remotely adjustable by commands received from the control system; [0025] & [0026] & Fig. 3), the process communication circuitry being configured to generate a process variable output based on the process variable information provided by the controller (electronic measurement circuity 140 includes a converter circuit 162 that receives an electrical output from the measurement sensor 130 that represents a process variable that is sensed from an industrial process 164, wherein the converter circuit 162 diagnoses a process state as a function of the process variable and the temperature, and the converter circuit 162 provides an output representative of the process state to a service communication circuit 172; [0025] & Fig. 3); and
a reusable power module operably coupled to the measurement circuity, the controller, and the power communication circuity (replaceable module 120 operably coupled to the electronic measurement circuitry 140 including the converter circuit 162 and the settings 168; [0017] & [0025] & [0026] & Fig. 3]), the reusable power module having:
a main body (replaceable modules 200 & 500, exemplary embodiments of replaceable module 120, include a module outer shell 258; [0027] – [0028] & Figs. 1B & 4B) defining a chamber, a cylindrical primary battery disposed in the chamber, the cylindrical primary battery having a first side with a positive terminal and a second side with a negative terminal (the replaceable module 200 houses a cylindrical primary battery 250 & 500 with a first side and a second side; [0029] - [0030] & Fig. 4B);
a cover operably coupled to the main body (module cap 260 serving as the cover coupled to the module outer shell 250; [0029] & Figs. 1B, 4A, & 4B), the cover having a first configuration relative to the main body wherein the main body is open and allows access to the primary battery (as shown in Fig. 4A, the cover is in a configuration where the module outer shell 258 is open and allows access to the primary battery 250; [0029]), the cover also having a second configuration wherein access to the primary battery is closed (as shown in Fig. 1B, the replaceable module 200 is in a closed configuration, where access to the battery is closed, because the module cap serving as the cover is coupled to the module outer shell);
a plurality of field communicator clips (service communication connectors 122; [0017] & Fig. 1B), wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of field communicator clips extends outside a periphery of the cover when the cover is in the second configuration (when the replaceable module is closed, i.e., in the second configuration, the service communication connectors 122 protrude beyond the second cavity 106 and are accessible when the second cover 102C is removed; [0017] & Fig. 2);
a second circuit board mounted relative to the cover (printed wiring board 255 positioned above primary battery 250 in Fig. 4A, and when fully assembled, the printed wiring board 255 would be mounted relative to the module cap 260; Fig. 4A & 4B & [0027]); and at least three conductors (as shown in Fig. 3, there are three contacts 116 that plug into the module, wherein three lines of wiring extends through the module, a single wiring 170, a single wiring 178, and a common wiring for 170 and 178; [0016] & [0026] & Fig. 3), the at least three conductors including a conductor for power (the primary battery 150 in the replaceable module 120 is connected by wiring 178 to energize the electronic measurement circuitry 140; [0026]), a conductor for common (a conductor for common for connecting both the wiring 178 and the wiring 170; Fig. 3), and a conductor for communication (a conductor for communication for connecting the wiring 170 for service communications connected to communication circuit 172; [0025] & Fig. 3).
Additionally, the printed wiring board 255 connects to the primary battery 250 via leads 251, and the printing wiring board 255 connects to the service communication connector 253 via leads 253 ([0027]).
Robinson ‘018 does not disclose a first circuit board mounted relative to the main body coupled to the second circuit board by the at least three conductors, wherein the second circuit board contains the plurality of field communicator clips.
Windom ‘042 discloses a rechargeable battery pack 100 that may include a rechargeable cell 135 ([0034]). The rechargeable cell 135 may be coupled to a printed circuit board 133, which may be coupled to the conductive power contacts 170, such as through springs 172 ([0034]). Additionally, the rechargeable battery pack 100 may include a charging system 138, which may be coupled to the charging port 175 as well as the rechargeable cell 135 (such as through spring 137) to facilitate the charging of the rechargeable cell 135 from the charging port 175 ([0034]). The charging system 138, corresponding to the first circuit board mounted relative to the main body, may also be coupled to the printed circuit board 133 through one or more wires 131 ([0034]). The charging system 138 may be configured to control aspects of charging of the rechargeable cell 135 ([0035]). The charging system 138 may also be coupled to a charging indicator light to display a charging status of the rechargeable battery pack 100 ([0036]).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to provide a first circuit board mounted relative to the main body coupled to the second circuit board by the at least three conductors, wherein the first circuit board contains at least a spring and the second circuit board contains the plurality of field communicator clips, wherein the cell has a positive first side and a negative second side, as suggested by Windom ‘042, in the field device, as taught by Robinson ‘018.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Additionally, Robinson ‘018 does not disclose a pair of coil springs, wherein each coil spring, of the pair of coil springs, is spaced a part from a center of the first circuit board, and configured to contact a flat negative terminal of the primary battery, and wherein the pair of coil springs provide passive polarity protection by only allowing electrical contact with the primary battery in a single polarity orientation.
Windom ‘042 discloses a spring 137 placed on the charged system 138/switch contact plate 139 that is in electrical contact with a flat side of the rechargeable cell 135 (Fig. 4 & 5). Further, Windom’ 042 disclose a plurality of springs 172, wherein two of the plurality of springs 172 spaced apart from a center spring of the printed circuit board 133.
Therefore, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to include two or more springs 137 connected to a charging system 138/circuit board, spaced from a center of the charging system 138/circuit board, wherein a side of the pair of coil springs are in electrical contact with the negative/flat side of the rechargeable cell 135, because, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Further, Zurcher ‘257 discloses a battery operated device that has battery wells into which batteries are inserted (abstract). Spring-loaded rings in the wells are configured so that electrical contact is not made when the batteries are inserted in the wrong polarity orientation but permit contact when the batteries are correctly inserted (abstract).
Therefore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the electrical contact structure of the reusable power module for the field device, as taught by Robinson ‘018, to be configured to prevent electrical contact when the batteries are inserted in the wrong polarity orientation, but permit contact when the batteries are correctly inserted, as suggested by Zurcher ‘257, thereby providing passive polarity protection.
Regarding claim 17, Robinson ‘018 teaches the field device according to claim 15, wherein Robinson ‘018 further teaches that the process communication circuitry is wireless process communication circuitry (wireless antenna 142 communicates process data wirelessly to the industrial process control system 166, the process data received from the service communication circuit 172 based on the output representative of the process state from converter circuit 162; [0025]).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120157018 A1 (Robinson ‘018) in view of US 20130343042 A1 (Windom ‘042) and US 3984257 A (Zurcher ‘257), and further in view of US 20100062324 A1 (Ooyama ‘324).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Robinson ‘018 teaches the reusable power module of claim 1, wherein the replaceable module 200 has the module cap 260 which is attached to the module outer shell 258 ([0029] of Robinson ‘018), but does not disclose that the cover is pivotably or slidably coupled to the main body.
Ooyama ‘324 discloses a battery receiving mechanism having a casing 10 including opening section 11, a cover 60 for opening and closing opening section 11, and a hinge 80 for connecting casing 10 to cover 60 ([0054]). The battery receiving mechanism is opened by sliding outer section 61 of cover 60 away from uneven section 14 of casing 10, wherein the cover 60 pivots or rotates around shaft 83 of hinge 80 to allow access to the batteries 1 (embodiment 1 in [0053] – [0063] & Figs. 1, 2, and 3). In order to completely close the cover, as shown in Fig. 1, protrusion section 64a provided in inner section 62 is engaged in small dent section 64b of outer section 61 and hook 61a provide din cover 60 is locked to collar section 13 of casing 10 ([0063]). The configuration of the battery receiving mechanism in embodiment 1 prevents the inner section 62 from being moved, and thus, the cover can be opened with a short stroke without rubbing the battery 1 ([0063] & abstract).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cover of the reusable power module, as taught by Robinson ‘018, to be pivotably or slidably coupled to the main body, to prevent rubbing of the battery, as suggested by Ooyama ‘324.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120157018 A1 (Robinson ‘018) in view of US 20130343042 A1 (Windom ‘042) and US 3984257 A (Zurcher ‘257), and further in view of US 20230103699 A1 (Huang ‘699 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of June 12, 2020).
Regarding claim 5, Robinson ‘018 teaches the reusable power module of claim 4, but does not disclose that the at least one feature includes a snap.
Huang ‘699 discloses a battery shell 10 with a second housing 13 ([0102]), corresponding to the cover, whereby the second housing 13 includes a snap buckle 133 that is snap-fitted into the bucket hole 112 of the first housing 11 to couple the second housing 13 and first housing 11 together ([0105]). Advantageously, the snap buckle 133 is stopped by the wall of the bucket hole 112 to restrict the guiding portion 132 from sliding along the guiding groove 111, so as to fix the first housing 11 and the second housing 13 ([0105]). Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art, would have found it obvious to utilize a snap buckle as the at least one feature including a snap, to fix the cover and the main body together, as suggested by Huang ‘699, in the reusable power module as taught by Robinson ‘018.
Claims 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120157018 A1 (Robinson ‘018) in view of US 20130343042 A1 (Windom ‘042) and US 3984257 A (Zurcher ‘257), and further in view of US 20170207429 A1 (Wang ‘249).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Robinson ‘018 teaches the reusable power module of claim 1, wherein the replaceable module includes a primary battery ([0011] of Robinson ‘018), but not does disclose that the primary battery is a D-cell battery.
Wang ‘429 discloses that a battery-operated device may be configured to house standard D battery cells 46 as shown in FIG. 3 ([0042]). Wang ‘429 further discloses that D cells are considered standard battery cells that are widely available ([0010]). Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, in seeking to utilize a widely available battery, to configure the chamber to house a D-cell battery disposed in the main body, as suggested by Wang ‘429, in the reusable power module, as taught by Robinson ‘018.
Regarding claim 10, Robinson ‘018 teaches the reusable power module of claim 9, further disclosing that the battery 20 utilized in the battery-operated device may be any suitable battery for generating electrical energy, such as one or more lithium ion or lithium polymer electrochemical battery cells ([0031] of Wang ‘429).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120157018 A1 (Robinson ‘018) in view of US 20130343042 A1 (Windom ‘042) and US 3984257 A (Zurcher ‘257), and further in view of US 20080048613 A1 (Baron ‘613).
Regarding claim 16, Robinson ‘018 teaches the field device of claim 15, wherein the replaceable module includes a primary battery ([0011] of Robinson ‘018), but not does disclose that the primary battery is a lithium D-cell primary battery.
Baron ‘613 disclose a battery block with at least one battery cell and that be used in an electrical system. The battery cell of the battery block may be lithium sulfuryl chloride double D cells or lithium manganese dioxide single D cells. As such, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a lithium manganese dioxide single D cell as suggested by Baron ‘613 in the main body of the replaceable module as taught by Robinson ‘018, because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120157018 A1 (Robinson ‘018) in view of US 20130343042 A1 (Windom ‘042) and US 3984257 A (Zurcher ‘257), and further in view of US 20180287107 A1 (Takayanagi ‘107).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Robinson ‘018 teaches the field device of claim 15, wherein the replaceable module 200 has the module cap 260 which is attached to the module outer shell 258 ([0029] of Robinson ‘018), but does not disclose that the cover is pivotably or slidably coupled to the main body.
Takayanagi ‘107 discloses a battery spacer 2 including a storage case 4 having a bottomed cylindrical shape in which a battery 3 is stored, and a lid part 8 which closes an opening 6 of the storage case 4 ([0032] & Fig. 2). The lid body 52 is coupled with the storage case 4 via a hinge 60, and is able to open and close the opening 6 of the storage case 4 ([0045] & Fig. 2).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cover of the reusable power module, as taught by Robinson ‘018, to be pivotably or slidably coupled to the main body, as suggested by Takayanagi ‘107, to be able to open and close the reusable power module.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120157018 A1 (Robinson ‘018) in view of US 20130343042 A1 (Windom ‘042) and US 3984257 A (Zurcher ‘257), and further in view of US 20210098846 A1 (Min ‘846).
Regarding claim 24, Robinson ‘018 teaches the reusable power module of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a first shroud configured to protect the first circuit board form contact and a second should configured to protect the second circuit board from contact.
Min ‘846 discloses a battery module comprising a flexible printed circuit board with a protective cover so as to cover the flexible printed circuit board in the module case (abstract). Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a protective cover (i.e., a shroud), to protect each of the first and second circuit board, as suggested by Min ‘846, in the reusable power module, as taught by Robinson ‘018.
Regarding claim 25, Robinson ‘018 teaches the reusable power module of claim 24, wherein the pair of coil springs bias a second end of the battery against the second shroud (springs may be compressed; [0018] of Robinson ‘018; a skilled artisan would find it obvious that a battery inserted and pressed against a pair of coil springs would be biased in the opposite direction from the force of the springs in contact therewith).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 26, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments directed to Larsen are moot in view of US 3984257 A (Zurcher ‘257), because Zurcher ‘257 discloses a battery operated device that has battery wells into which batteries are inserted, wherein spring-loaded rings in the wells are configured so that electrical contact is not made when the batteries are inserted in the wrong polarity orientation but permit contact when the batteries are correctly inserted (abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725