Detailed Action
Status of Claims
The office action is in response to arguments and amendments entered on November 24, 2025 for the patent application 17/483,708 originally filled on September 23, 2021. Claims 1-20 are pending. The first office action of May 22, 2025 is fully incorporated by reference into this final action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: “A.”, “B.”, “C.”, “D.”, “E.”, “F.”, “G.”, “H.”, and “I.”. The claims contain more than one period and capital letter. Per MPEP 608.01(m), each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period; periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to a “method” (i.e., a process) and claim 16 is directed to a “system” (i.e., a machine), hence the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). In other words, Step 1 of the subject-matter eligibility analysis is “Yes.”
The independent claims recite the following limitations:
Per Claim 1:
“A computer-implemented method comprising:
A. storing, by a computer, in a memory: a plurality of available ingredient; one or more available cookware items; and one or more available kitchen utensils;
B. storing, by the computer, in the memory, a plurality of available recipes, each available recipe associated with recipe information comprising a plurality of sequential recipe steps, wherein each of the recipe steps relating to a given available recipe is associated with: one or more required cooking items selected from the group consisting of: a required ingredient selected from the plurality of available ingredients; a required cookware item selected from the one or more available cookware items; and a required kitchen utensil selected from the one or more available kitchen utensils; a required action relating to the one or more required cooking items; and an instruction relating to the required action;
C. displaying, by the computer, to a user, the plurality of available recipes;
D. receiving, by the computer, from the user, a selected recipe from the plurality of available recipes;
E. displaying, by the computer, to the user, a cooking interface comprising the one or more required cooking items associated with a current recipe step, wherein each of the one or more required cooking items is associated with a current state, and wherein each of the one or more required cooking items is displayed via the cooking interface according to the respective current state;
F. providing, by the computer, to the user, the instruction associated with the current recipe step;
G. receiving, by the computer, from the user, a user action relating to the one or more required cooking items associated with the current recipe step;
H. providing, by the computer, to the user, feedback information relating to the user action; and
I. upon determining, by the computer, that the user action matches the required action associated with the current recipe step: updating the current state of the one or more required cooking items associated with the current step, based on the user action; and upon determining, by the computer, that the current recipe step is not a last recipe step associated with the selected recipe: updating the current recipe step to a next recipe step associated with the selected recipe; and repeating steps E through I.
wherein the selected recipe is associated with one of the plurality of sequential recipe steps that itself is associated with :a first required ingredient associated with: an initial state comprising an uncooked status and an initial location within the cooking interface; and a final state comprising a cooked status and a final location within the cooking interface that is different than the initial location; a first required action comprising moving the first required ingredient from the initial location to the final location: and upon receiving a user action that matches the first required action, the first required ingredient is displayed via the cooking interface according to its final state.”
Per Claim 16:
“A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
A. storing, in the one or more storage devices: a plurality of available ingredients; one or more available cookware items; and one or more available kitchen utensils;
B. storing, in the one or more storage devices, a plurality of available recipes, each available recipe associated with recipe information comprising a plurality of sequential recipe steps, wherein each of the recipe steps relating to a given available recipe is associated with: one or more required cooking items selected from the group consisting of: a required ingredient selected from the plurality of available ingredients; a required cookware item selected from the one or more available cookware items; and a required kitchen utensil selected from the one or more available kitchen utensils; a required action relating to the one or more required cooking items; and an instruction relating to the required action;
C. displaying, to a user, the plurality of available recipes;
D. receiving, from the user, a selected recipe from the plurality of available recipes;
E. displaying, to the user, a cooking interface comprising the one or more required cooking items associated with a current recipe step, wherein each of the one or more required cooking items is associated with a current state, and wherein each of the one or more required cooking items is displayed via the cooking interface according to the respective current state;
F. providing, to the user, the instruction associated with the current recipe step;
G. receiving, from the user, a user action relating to the one or more required cooking items associated with the current recipe step;
H. providing, to the user, feedback information relating to the user action; and
I. upon determining, that the user action matches the required action associated with the current recipe step: updating the current state of the one or more required cooking items associated with the current step, based on the user action; and upon determining, by the computer, that the current recipe step is not a last recipe step associated with the selected recipe: updating the current recipe step to a next recipe step associated with the selected recipe; and repeating steps E through I.
wherein the selected recipe is associated with one of the plurality of sequential recipe steps that itself is associated with: a first required ingredient associated with: an initial state comprising an uncooked status and an initial location within the cooking interface; and a final state comprising a cooked status and a final location within the cooking interface that is different than the initial location; a first required action comprising moving the first required ingredient from the initial location to the final location: and upon receiving a user action that matches the first required action, the first required ingredient is displayed via the cooking interface according to its final state.”
The non-highlighted sections of the above limitations, as drafted, define a process, that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation between people but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than the recitation of “one or more computers”, ”storage in memory”, and “one or more storage devices”, nothing in the above limitations precludes the step from practically being performed between people. For example, but for the recited language, the limitations above encompass a mentor observing from a mentee perform a step of a recipe, determining if the mentee correctly performed the step, and providing the mentee with appropriate feedback and the next step of the recipe depending on the mentee’s performance .
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing interactions between people, then it falls within the “Organization of Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Hence, the limitations of independent claims 1 and 16 are drawn to an abstract idea of “providing recipe instruction” which falls within the “Organization of Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas in terms of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions), as per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II. In other words, Step 2A, Prong 1 of the subject-matter eligibility analysis is “Yes.”
Furthermore, the Applicant’s claimed elements of “one or more computers” and “one or more storage devices” are merely claimed to generally link the use of a judicial exception (e.g., pre-solution activity of data gathering and post-solution activity of presenting data) to (1) a particular technological environment or (2) field of use, per MPEP §2106.05(h); and are applying the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, per MPEP §2106.05(f). In other words, the claimed abstract idea of “providing recipe instruction” is not providing a practical application, thus Step 2A, Prong 2 of the subject-matter eligibility analysis is “No.”
Furthermore, the claimed “one or more computers” (as described in paragraphs [0021], [0039], and [0040]) and the “one or more storage devices” (as described in paragraphs [0042] and [0043]) are reasonably interpreted as generic hardware and provide no details of anything beyond its use as ubiquitous standard equipment. Therefore, Step 2B, of the subject-matter eligibility analysis is “No.”
Claims 2-15 are dependent from claim 1 and claims 17-20 are dependent from claim 16; these dependent claims include all the limitations of the independent claims. Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitation of the dependent claims fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For Example:
The limitations of claims 10-13 and 17-20 clarify the types of data input by the user. As such, these claims merely recite the types of data input and is therefore insignificant extra-solution activity. The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than a judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claims 2-9 and 14-15 clarify the types of information stored and output regarding the following features: ingredients, kitchen appliances, cookware, utensils, cooking interface, and feedback information. As such, these claims merely recite the types of data stored and output and is therefore insignificant extra-solution activity. The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than a judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
Independent claims 1 and 16 do not provide a practical application and are insufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, dependent claims 2-15 and 17-20 recite abstract idea without significantly more and are not drawn to eligible subject matter. Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject-matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated over Nagashima (Document ID US 20090036220 A1; 2009-02-05) in view of Dan (Screen captures from YouTube video clip entitled "THE GREATEST VIRTUAL CHEF!! | Job Simulator"; 2016-06-04).
Regarding claim 1, Nagashima teaches:
A computer-implemented method comprising:
A. storing, by a computer, in a memory: a plurality of available ingredients; one or more available cookware items; and one or more available kitchen utensils (Para. [0087], shows that when making a recipe, ingredients are selected, appliances are utilized, a grill for grilling the patty; cookware is utilized, a pan for grilling the patty in; and utensils are used, a knife to chop of the ingredients);
For example, when "hamburger steak" is selected as a cooking menu, cooking processes such as (1) a process of roughly cutting the ingredients (linearly cutting process), (2) a process of chopping the ingredients (finely cutting process), (3) a patty manufacturing process (ingredient mixing process), and (4) a grilling process are set up. Mini-games corresponding to these processes are progressed to complete the selected cooking menu. The contents of the cooking processes executed until the menu is completed and the input modes (cut, mix, and the like) are stored in the data of each menu.
B. storing, by the computer, in the memory, a plurality of available recipes, each available recipe associated with recipe information comprising a plurality of sequential recipe steps (Para. [0086], shows that a plurality of recipes can be selected and that each has associated cooking processes),
Data related to a plurality of cooking menus are stored in the data storage area. In the cooking game of the present example, a plurality of cooking menus (hamburger steak, curried rice, pizza, etc.) are established. A plurality of cooking processes are established in each cooking menu, and each cooking process is in a form of a mini-game.
wherein each of the recipe steps relating to a given available recipe is associated with: one or more required cooking items selected from the group consisting of: a required ingredient selected from the plurality of available ingredients; a required cookware item selected from the one or more available cookware items; and a required kitchen utensil selected from the one or more available kitchen utensils; a required action relating to the one or more required cooking items (Para. [0087], shows that when making a recipe, the corresponding steps are associated with the following: selection of appropriate ingredients, application of appropriate appliances, a grill for grilling the patty; application of appropriate cookware, a pan for grilling the patty in; and application of appropriate utensils, a knife for chopping the ingredients);
For example, when "hamburger steak" is selected as a cooking menu, cooking processes such as (1) a process of roughly cutting the ingredients (linearly cutting process), (2) a process of chopping the ingredients (finely cutting process), (3) a patty manufacturing process (ingredient mixing process), and (4) a grilling process are set up. Mini-games corresponding to these processes are progressed to complete the selected cooking menu. The contents of the cooking processes executed until the menu is completed and the input modes (cut, mix, and the like) are stored in the data of each menu.
and an instruction relating to the required action (Para. [0052], shows that instruction is provided to the user for each step);
The present invention further comprises a step of displaying an instructing object that suggests an input operation of the player. This is for providing the player an indicator of input, thereby promoting the smooth progress of the game. Examples of the instructing object to be displayed include, in relation to a cutting operation, an arrow that indicates a cutting direction in the first object area and a dotted line that indicates a cutting line.
C. displaying, by the computer, to a user, the plurality of available recipes;
D. receiving, by the computer, from the user, a selected recipe from the plurality of available recipes (Para. [0086] and Para. [0040]);
Data related to a plurality of cooking menus are stored in the data storage area. In the cooking game of the present example, a plurality of cooking menus (hamburger steak, curried rice, pizza, etc.) are established. A plurality of cooking processes are established in each cooking menu, and each cooking process is in a form of a mini-game.
In this cooking game, a plurality of mini-games are provided for simulating cooking processes set up for each of the cooking menus that the player can select. Examples of the mini-games related to the cooking processes include a mini-game of cutting ingredients such as meat and fish for prescribed times within a prescribed time, a mini-game of stirring ingredients in a bowl for predetermined times within a prescribed time, and a mini-game of cracking a predetermined number of eggs within a prescribed time.
E. displaying, by the computer, to the user, a cooking interface comprising the one or more required cooking items associated with a current recipe step, wherein each of the one or more required cooking items is associated with a current state, and wherein each of the one or more required cooking items is displayed via the cooking interface according to the respective current state (Para. [0087] and Fig. 10-12, show that when making a recipe and moving through the corresponding processes the dish enters new states that demands different cooking items. For example, the ingredient is shown in a whole state and the user is given a knife the chop the ingredient chopped state, the user is given a bowl to transform the chopped ingredient state into an uncooked patty state, and finally the uncooked patty is put in a pan on a grill to transform the uncooked patty state into a cooked patty state);
For example, when "hamburger steak" is selected as a cooking menu, cooking processes such as (1) a process of roughly cutting the ingredients (linearly cutting process), (2) a process of chopping the ingredients (finely cutting process), (3) a patty manufacturing process (ingredient mixing process), and (4) a grilling process are set up. Mini-games corresponding to these processes are progressed to complete the selected cooking menu. The contents of the cooking processes executed until the menu is completed and the input modes (cut, mix, and the like) are stored in the data of each menu.
F. providing, by the computer, to the user, the instruction associated with the current recipe step (Para. [0052], shows that instruction is provided to the user for each step);
The present invention further comprises a step of displaying an instructing object that suggests an input operation of the player. This is for providing the player an indicator of input, thereby promoting the smooth progress of the game. Examples of the instructing object to be displayed include, in relation to a cutting operation, an arrow that indicates a cutting direction in the first object area and a dotted line that indicates a cutting line.
G. receiving, by the computer, from the user, a user action relating to the one or more required cooking items associated with the current recipe step (Para. [0041]);
In these mini-games, ingredients (meat, fish, vegetables, etc.) for cooking are displayed as first objects. The player uses input means such as a touch pen and performs an input operation by touching a displayed first object. If the input is proper, animation processing is performed in which the shape of the first object is changed. In this way, the player can obtain feeling of actual cooking works such as cutting or kneading the ingredients. The player can thus enjoy a realistic game.
H. providing, by the computer, to the user, feedback information relating to the user action; and (Para. [0053], the user is scored based off how they performed)
The cooking game of the present applicant judges the success of the game in individual mini-games in a form of a degree of achievement. The degree of achievement refers to a ratio of how much the operation quota such as the number of times of cutting the ingredients or the number of times of cracking the eggs is achieved within a play time prescribed for each mini-game. After the evaluation, the degree of achievement is internally (programmatically) digitalized and accumulated in the game device. After the mini-games, a comment such as "very good", "good", or "bad", is displayed on the screen to the player in accordance with the degree of achievement. Therefore, the player can sensuously recognize the results of the mini-games.
I. upon determining, by the computer, that the user action matches the required action associated with the current recipe step (Para. [0095], shows that the user’s action, i.e. input, associated with the current recipe step, i.e. minigame, is judged prior to allowing the user to move the next process):
After measuring the input trajectory in step S107, whether the input is within the effective range set up in the first object is determined. As for the setting of the effective range, the coordinate range of the effective range is virtualized in the first object based on the setting conditions of the loaded effective range in the condition setting of step S102, and whether the coordinates upon input is in the coordinate range is determined (step S108). If the coordinates are not in the coordinate range of the effective range (when the judgment is No), it is determined that there is no effective input, and the process returns to the time-up judgment (step S105). If the input is effective, an input judgment step S109 compares and judges the input trajectory and the reference trajectory (input rate and reference input rate). The judgment conditions are defined in the setting conditions of the character setting of step S101.
updating the current state of the one or more required cooking items associated with the current step, based on the user action (Para. [0087] and Fig. 10-12, shows that when making a recipe and moving through the corresponding processes the dish enters new states that demands different cooking items. For example, the ingredient is shown in a whole state and the user is given a knife the chop the ingredient chopped state, the user is given a bowl to transform the chopped ingredient state into an uncooked patty state, and finally the uncooked patty is put in a pan on a grill to transform the uncooked patty state into a cooked patty state; Para. [0095], shows that the user’s action, i.e. input, associated with the current recipe step, i.e. minigame, is judged prior to allowing the user to move the next process);
For example, when "hamburger steak" is selected as a cooking menu, cooking processes such as (1) a process of roughly cutting the ingredients (linearly cutting process), (2) a process of chopping the ingredients (finely cutting process), (3) a patty manufacturing process (ingredient mixing process), and (4) a grilling process are set up. Mini-games corresponding to these processes are progressed to complete the selected cooking menu. The contents of the cooking processes executed until the menu is completed and the input modes (cut, mix, and the like) are stored in the data of each menu.
After measuring the input trajectory in step S107, whether the input is within the effective range set up in the first object is determined. As for the setting of the effective range, the coordinate range of the effective range is virtualized in the first object based on the setting conditions of the loaded effective range in the condition setting of step S102, and whether the coordinates upon input is in the coordinate range is determined (step S108). If the coordinates are not in the coordinate range of the effective range (when the judgment is No), it is determined that there is no effective input, and the process returns to the time-up judgment (step S105). If the input is effective, an input judgment step S109 compares and judges the input trajectory and the reference trajectory (input rate and reference input rate). The judgment conditions are defined in the setting conditions of the character setting of step S101.
and upon determining, by the computer, that the current recipe step is not a last recipe step associated with the selected recipe: updating the current recipe step to a next recipe step associated with the selected recipe; and repeating steps E through I (Fig. 5 S112, shows that the user keeps doing
processes associated with the recipe until all are completed).
Nagashima does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the selected recipe is associated with one of the plurality of sequential recipe steps that itself is associated with: a first required ingredient associated with: an initial state comprising an uncooked status and an initial location within the cooking interface; and a final state comprising a cooked status and a final location within the cooking interface that is different than the initial location; a first required action comprising moving the first required ingredient from the initial location to the final location: and upon receiving a user action that matches the first required action, the first required ingredient is displayed via the cooking interface according to its final state.
Dan teaches:
Wherein the selected recipe is associated with one of the plurality of sequential recipe steps that itself is associated with (Time 3:56, shows the user being presented with recipe instruction to cook bacon, i.e. a first ingredient, and eggs):
a first required ingredient associated with: an initial state comprising an uncooked status and an initial location within the cooking interface (Time 4:07, shows that the first ingredient in an uncooked status and in an initial location, i.e. the fridge); and
a final state comprising a cooked status and a final location within the cooking interface that is different than the initial location (Time 4:18, shows a final state for the bacon that is in a cooked status and that it is in a new location, i.e. on the stove);
a first required action comprising moving the first required ingredient from the initial location to the final location (Times 4:07-4:14, show that the user moves the ingredients from the fridge to the stove): and
upon receiving a user action that matches the first required action, the first required ingredient is displayed via the cooking interface according to its final state (Times 3:56-4:18, show that once the user performs the first required action, i.e. moving the raw food to the stove, the first required ingredient, i.e. the bacon, is displayed according to its final state, i.e. the bacon is cooked).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill to apply the known techniques of Dan, regarding both the moving of ingredients to proper locations withing the virtual kitchen, to the similar device of Nagashima, a cooking simulation, to yield the predictable result of adding more elements regarding the process of cooking to a cooking simulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Dan with the similar device of Nagashima as the incorporation of the elements regarding the fetching and proper placement of ingredients would increase the realism of the simulation.
Regarding claim 2, Nagashima teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein each of the available recipes the recipe information further comprises one or more of the group consisting of: a name, a description, an image, a video, an animations, and an audio file (Para. [0101], shows that the recipes, i.e. cooking menus, have an associated image, i.e. icon; Para. [0103], further shows that the recipes have an associated name).
Once a game mode is selected on the top menu of FIG. 6, a screen for selecting a cooking menu to be played is displayed (FIG. 7). In this selection screen, icons of a plurality of cooking menus are displayed, and the player touches and selects, with the touch pen, a cooking menu that the player wants to play (cook).
After the foregoing various selections, mini-games are started. A flow of when "hamburger steak" is selected as a cooking menu will be described hereinbelow.
Regarding claim 3, Nagashima teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein each of the available ingredients stored in the memory is associated with ingredient information comprising one or more of the group consisting of: a name, a description, an image, a video, an animation, an audio file, a flavor profile, a texture, a country of origin, a common use, nutritional information, safe- handling information, permitted parameters, a current parameter, a current preparation status, permitted preparation statuses, permitted kitchen appliances, a current kitchen appliance, permitted cookware items, a current cookware item, permitted kitchen utensils and a current kitchen utensil (Para. [0007] and Para. [0051], shows that ingredients have associated images, animations, a current preparation status, permitted preparations statuses, permitted cookware items, and permitted kitchen utensils).
When we actually cook, a plurality of preparation processes such as cutting or mixing vegetables, meat, and other ingredients are required for an intended cooking menu. The shapes of the ingredients are continuously changed in the preparation processes, and the shapes are changed by cook's own hands. Thus, these processes are preferably simulated in order to obtain realistic experience in relation to the theme of cooking.
Mini-games provided in the present invention further comprise a second screen display step of displaying a second object. This screen processing is for displaying hands or cooking utensils (knife or the like), for cooking the first objects (ingredients), as second objects. Upon the execution of the first screen display step, the second screen display step performs the animation processing for changing the display positions of the second objects before and after or at the same time as the first screen display step. In this way, it looks as if the animation processing of the first objects is a result of the animation processing of the second objects, thereby offering visual effects such that it looks as if the ingredients are changed (cooked) by the works of the cooking utensils.
Regarding claim 4, Nagashima teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 3, wherein the ingredient information further comprises one or more permitted cooking states (Para. [0051], shows that as the food is cooked the cooking state will change, i.e. the appearance of the ingredient).
Mini-games provided in the present invention further comprise a second screen display step of displaying a second object. This screen processing is for displaying hands or cooking utensils (knife or the like), for cooking the first objects (ingredients), as second objects. Upon the execution of the first screen display step, the second screen display step performs the animation processing for changing the display positions of the second objects before and after or at the same time as the first screen display step. In this way, it looks as if the animation processing of the first objects is a result of the animation processing of the second objects, thereby offering visual effects such that it looks as if the ingredients are changed (cooked) by the works of the cooking utensils.
Regarding claim 6, Nagashima teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein each available kitchen appliances stored in the memory is associated with appliance information comprising one or more of the group consisting of: a name, a description, an image, a video, an animation, an audio file, permitted temperature settings, a current temperature stetting, permitted usage times, a current usage time, permitted ingredients, current ingredients, permitted cookware items, and current cookware items (Para. [0115], shows that the kitchen appliance has an image, associated animations, permitted ingredients, and current cookware items).
FIG. 12 depicts the initial game screen of this mini-game. The first object in this process is an image of the patty of hamburger steak placed in a frying pan. The player's input mode is reciprocating strokes in the range of the first object. The judgment of the input trajectory is based on the passing between two points judgment, and whether the input trajectory has passed between the two established virtual points is judged. If the judgment condition is satisfied, the patty as a first object is flipped, and the animation processing is performed in which the brown back side appears. In this mini-game, the time of the formation of the input trajectory may be measured to measure the input rate, and the animation processing may be altered depending on the input rate. For example, if the movement speed is too fast, an image of the patty popping out from the flying pan may be displayed, and if the input rate is slow, an image of the patty just shaking without flipping may be displayed.
Regarding claim 7, Nagashima teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein each of the available cookware items stored in the memory is associated with cookware information comprising one or more of the group consisting of: a name, a description, an image, a video, an animation, an audio file, one or more materials, a cooking rate, a conductivity, permitted statuses, a current status, permitted ingredients, current ingredients, permitted appliances, a current appliance, permitted utensils, and a current utensil (Para. [0115], shows that the cookware has an image, associated animations, permitted ingredients, current ingredients, and current appliance).
FIG. 12 depicts the initial game screen of this mini-game. The first object in this process is an image of the patty of hamburger steak placed in a frying pan. The player's input mode is reciprocating strokes in the range of the first object. The judgment of the input trajectory is based on the passing between two points judgment, and whether the input trajectory has passed between the two established virtual points is judged. If the judgment condition is satisfied, the patty as a first object is flipped, and the animation processing is performed in which the brown back side appears. In this mini-game, the time of the formation of the input trajectory may be measured to measure the input rate, and the animation processing may be altered depending on the input rate. For example, if the movement speed is too fast, an image of the patty popping out from the flying pan may be displayed, and if the input rate is slow, an image of the patty just shaking without flipping may be displayed.
Regarding claim 8, Nagashima teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein each of the available kitchen utensils stored in the memory is associated with utensil information comprising one or more of the group consisting of: a name, a description, an image, a video, an animation, an audio files, permitted statuses, a current status, permitted usage times, a current usage time, permitted ingredients, current ingredients, permitted appliances, a current appliance, permitted cookware items, and a current cookware item (Para. [0051], shows that the utensils have an image, animations, permitted usage times, and a current ingredient).
Mini-games provided in the present invention further comprise a second screen display step of displaying a second object. This screen processing is for displaying hands or cooking utensils (knife or the like), for cooking the first objects (ingredients), as second objects. Upon the execution of the first screen display step, the second screen display step performs the animation processing for changing the display positions of the second objects before and after or at the same time as the first screen display step. In this way, it looks as if the animation processing of the first objects is a result of the animation processing of the second objects, thereby offering visual effects such that it looks as if the ingredients are changed (cooked) by the works of the cooking utensils.
Regarding claim 14, Nagashima teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the feedback information comprises one or more of: text, video, sound and an animation (Para. [0117], shows that feedback is displayed in the form of both text and an animation).
When the tasting character evaluates, the animation processing is performed in which the tasting character moves its mouth and eats the meal. An expression of the tasting character and a comment in accordance with the average value are displayed (FIGS. 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 16, it is a mirrored claim to claim 1 and is rejected in like manner
Claims 5, 9-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (Document ID US 20090036220 A1; 2009-02-05) in view of Dan (Screen captures from YouTube video clip entitled "THE GREATEST VIRTUAL CHEF!! | Job Simulator"; 2016-06-04) and in further view of Kobayashi et al. (Document ID US 6482091 B1; 2002-11-19).
Regarding claim 5, Nagashima fails to teach:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 4, wherein each of the permitted cooking states relates to a range of target temperatures.
Kobayashi et al. teaches:
Wherein each of the permitted cooking states relates to a range of target temperatures (Col. 1 lines 60-67, shows that the level of heat, i.e. temperature, influences the cooking state of the food; Col. 12 lines 44-52, denotes that the user can change the rate of boiling, i.e. change the heat level applied to the pot).
It is therefore an object of the present invention to provide an entertainment system, an entertainment apparatus, a recording medium, and a program which allow a user to virtually experience a cooking operation easily and pleasantly, wherein appearance and/or taste of food is greatly affected by slight power adjustment by fingers or slight heat adjustment.
It takes a certain period of time to carry out cooking processes such as "boiling" and "grilling". When the cooking process "boiling" is started, the color of the related order panel 176 starts to change from blue to red, for example. The color indicates the extent of "boiling". That is, by the color of the order panel 176, the player can adjust the extent of "boiling" and recognize the remaining length of waiting time. Thus, the player can utilize the waiting period for cooking other food items.
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill to apply the known techniques of Kobayashi et al., regarding both the configuration of kitchen appliances and selection of various cooking items in a cooking simulation, to the similar device of Nagashima, a cooking simulation, to yield the predictable result of adding more elements regarding the process of cooking to a cooking simulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Kobayashi et al. with the similar device of Nagashima as the incorporation of the elements regarding the configuration of kitchen appliances and selection of various cooking items would increase the realism of the simulation.
Regarding claim 9, Nagashima fails to teach:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the cooking interface further comprises a digital representation of a kitchen.
Kobayashi et al. teaches:
wherein the cooking interface further comprises a digital representation of a kitchen (Abstract, shows that the setting is a virtual kitchen).
An entertainment system comprises story developing means for allowing a player to a virtually experience a cocking operation in a kitchen of a restaurant registered with a restaurant information table from opening time to closing time of the restaurant, three-minute cooking processing means for allowing a player to virtually experience a cooking operation in a kitchen of a restaurant registered with the restaurant information table for a predetermined time period (for example, three minutes), and competition processing means for allowing a player to virtually experience a cooking operation in a kitchen of a restaurant registered with the restaurant information table, while playing a match game with a plurality of other players.
Regarding claim 10, Nagashima fails to teach:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the user action comprises one or more of the group consisting of: adding a required cookware item to a required kitchen appliance, removing a required cookware item from a required kitchen appliance, adding a required ingredient to a required kitchen appliance, removing a required ingredient from a required kitchen appliance, adding a required ingredient to a required kitchen utensil, removing a required ingredient from a required kitchen utensil, moving a required kitchen utensil to a required ingredient, adding a required ingredient to a required cookware item, removing a required ingredient from a required cookware item, adding a first required ingredient to one or more additional required ingredients, setting a parameter of a required kitchen appliance, and setting a parameter of a required kitchen utensil (The computer selects the appliance, cookware, utensil, or ingredient combination that is appropriate for the user).
Kobayashi et al. teaches:
wherein the user action comprises one or more of the group consisting of: adding a required cookware item to a required kitchen appliance, removing a required cookware item from a required kitchen appliance, adding a required ingredient to a required kitchen appliance, removing a required ingredient from a required kitchen appliance, adding a required ingredient to a required kitchen utensil, removing a required ingredient from a required kitchen utensil, moving a required kitchen utensil to a required ingredient, adding a required ingredient to a required cookware item, removing a required ingredient from a required cookware item, adding a first required ingredient to one or more additional required ingredients, setting a parameter of a required kitchen appliance, and setting a parameter of a required kitchen utensil (Col. 12 lines 7-15, shows that the user adds required cookware item to a required kitchen appliance; Col. 13 lines 11-21, shows ingredients being added to cookware).
Icons 170 displayed on the lower left side of the monitor screen 160 are cooking utensils such as a frying pan, a pot, an oven or the like. For example, when the frying pan is currently being used for cooking a food item, it is not possible to use the frying pan for cooking another food item. In this case, the icon 170 of the frying pan is not indicated on the monitor screen 160. Therefore, the player needs to keep paying attention to the icons 170 in order to confirm as to which cooking utensils are available.
The process of "boiling noodle and food materials" is shown in FIG. 11. When the process of "boiling noodle and food materials" is started, an animation of stirring a food material 192 in a stockpot 190 with a ladle 194 is displayed on the display monitor 160. When the player considers that an appropriate time has been passed, the player can finish the boiling process by pressing the .largecircle. button (pressable control member 112d). As shown in FIG. 12, the process of "seasoning" can be carried out by tilting the right swivel control member 46 downwardly such that seasoning soup 198 is added into a bowl 196.
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi et al. further teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 10, wherein the user action comprises setting a parameter of a required kitchen appliance (Col. 1 lines 60-67, shows that setting the level of heat, i.e. temperature, influences the cooking state of the food; Col. 12 lines 44-52, denotes that the user can change the rate of boiling, i.e. change the heat level applied to the pot).
It is therefore an object of the present invention to provide an entertainment system, an entertainment apparatus, a recording medium, and a program which allow a user to virtually experience a cooking operation easily and pleasantly, wherein appearance and/or taste of food is greatly affected by slight power adjustment by fingers or slight heat adjustment.
It takes a certain period of time to carry out cooking processes such as "boiling" and "grilling". When the cooking process "boiling" is started, the color of the related order panel 176 starts to change from blue to red, for example. The color indicates the extent of "boiling". That is, by the color of the order panel 176, the player can adjust the extent of "boiling" and recognize the remaining length of waiting time. Thus, the player can utilize the waiting period for cooking other food items.
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi et al. further teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 11, wherein the user action further comprises adding a required ingredient to the required kitchen appliance (Fig. 12, shows the adding of a required ingredient to the required kitchen appliance; Col. 12 lines 7-15, shows that the user would be able to add a food item to an oven).
Icons 170 displayed on the lower left side of the monitor screen 160 are cooking utensils such as a frying pan, a pot, an oven or the like. For example, when the frying pan is currently being used for cooking a food item, it is not possible to use the frying pan for cooking another food item. In this case, the icon 170 of the frying pan is not indicated on the monitor screen 160. Therefore, the player needs to keep paying attention to the icons 170 in order to confirm as to which cooking utensils are available.
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi et al. further teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 10, wherein the parameter of the required kitchen appliance comprises one or more of the group consisting of: a time and a temperature (Col. 1 lines 60-67, shows that setting the level of heat, i.e. temperature, influences the cooking state of the food; Col. 12 lines 44-52, denotes that the user can change the rate of boiling, i.e. change the heat level applied to the pot).
It is therefore an object of the present invention to provide an entertainment system, an entertainment apparatus, a recording medium, and a program which allow a user to virtually experience a cooking operation easily and pleasantly, wherein appearance and/or taste of food is greatly affected by slight power adjustment by fingers or slight heat adjustment.
It takes a certain period of time to carry out cooking processes such as "boiling" and "grilling". When the cooking process "boiling" is started, the color of the related order panel 176 starts to change from blue to red, for example. The color indicates the extent of "boiling". That is, by the color of the order panel 176, the player can adjust the extent of "boiling" and recognize the remaining length of waiting time. Thus, the player can utilize the waiting period for cooking other food items.
Regarding claim 15, Kobayashi et al. further teaches:
A computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein: the one or more required cooking items associated with the current recipe step comprises a required ingredient and a required kitchen appliance; the required ingredient is further associated with a plurality of permitted states, each relating to a target temperature; the required kitchen appliance is further associated with a plurality of permitted states, each relating to a permitted temperature; and the user action comprises: setting the required kitchen appliance to a permitted temperature; and adding the required ingredient to the required appliance (Col. 12 lines 44-52, show that the recipe step requires an appliance and ingredient, either water or a patty on a stove or grill; that the state of the ingredient changes, the amount extent of cooking represented by a color shift; and that the user can adjust the extent of boiling, i.e. set the temperature of the appliance).
It takes a certain period of time to carry out cooking processes such as "boiling" and "grilling". When the cooking process "boiling" is started, the color of the related order panel 176 starts to change from blue to red, for example. The color indicates the extent of "boiling". That is, by the color of the order panel 176, the player can adjust the extent of "boiling" and recognize the remaining length of waiting time. Thus, the player can utilize the waiting period for cooking other food items.
Regarding claims 17-20, they are mirrored claims to claims 10-13 respectively and are rejected in like manner
Summary
No claim is allowed
Claims 1 and 16 are objected to
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 103
Response to Arguments
The Applicants arguments filed on November 24, 2025 related to claims 1-20 are fully considered, but are not fully persuasive.
Rejections under 35 USC § 101
Applicant respectfully argues that independent claims 1 and 16 as amended are eligible at step 2a and are not directed to an abstract idea. Applicant denotes that the limitations of independent claims 1 and 16 describe an interactive cooking interface that places cooking items throughout a digital kitchen environment, allows the user to manipulate/change the states of said cooking items, and provides the user with feedback based on their actions as they complete recipe instructions.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and does not find this argument fully persuasive. The limitations of the independent claims 1 and 16 do not fully limit the claimed invention to the described scenario and leave room for the interpretation that the limitations are drawn to an abstract idea. Other than the recitation of “one or more computers”, ”storage in memory”, and “one or more storage devices”, nothing in the amended independent claims precludes the described steps from practically being performed between people. For example, but for the recited language, the limitations above encompass a mentor observing from a mentee perform a step of a recipe, determining if the mentee correctly performed the step, and providing the mentee with appropriate feedback and the next step of the recipe depending on the mentee’s performance. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing interactions between people, then it falls within the “Organization of Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Hence, the limitations of independent claims are drawn to an abstract idea of “providing recipe instruction” which falls within the “Organization of Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas in terms of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions), as per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II.
Additionally, Applicant respectfully argues that the “state management” elements described by the recently added limitations “create a practical application because the claimed operations improve interactions with and in the computer-implemented cooking interface”, thus yielding “a technological solution dependent on dynamic state-dependent object manipulation”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and does not find this argument persuasive. The Applicant’s claims are not considered a “Practical Application,” because the claims do not provide any of the following:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field – see MPEP 2106.05(a);
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c); or
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e).
Furthermore, there are also several factors that reasonably explain that the Applicant’s claims are not indicative of integration into a practical application, which include:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f);
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g); and
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h).
The added limitations of independent claims 1 and 16 simply describe a process of data gathering (i.e., receiving an action from a user), analysis (i.e. determining if the received action matches the “first required action”), and display (i.e., displaying the first required ingredient in either an initial state or final state depending on the results of the analysis step), which is partially analogous to an identified abstract idea under the group of mental processes: “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis” (i.e., Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom, 830 F.3d 1350, 119 U.S.P.Q.2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Furthermore, the Applicant’s claims are not providing any technological advancement as described in the first four bulleted factors above. The aforementioned limitations simply function as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Respectfully, Examiner does not find the arguments above persuasive and maintains the rejection under 35 USC § 101.
Rejections under 35 USC § 102 & 35 USC § 103
Applicant respectfully argues that Nagashima nor Kobayashi teach all of the limitations of the amended independent claims 1 and 16. Examiner agrees, however new rejections have been made in response to new art, refer to the new rejections under 35 USC § 103 above.
Conclusion
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715