DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ummenhofer et al. (US 2016/0312421)
Regarding claim 1, Ummenhofer discloses a method for automatically adjusting a pitch of a blade on a work machine, comprising:
determining, by a controller (including S), whether a wing portion (5) of the blade is at an inclined position relative to a main portion (4) of the blade (by identifying a wing angle of the wing portion with respect to the main portion, and where the identified wing angle is used in comparisons as described in para. 0025) using an input from at least one sensor (including 8, or including 7 and 8).
Claim 1 requires further steps being performed only under certain respective conditions (i.e., "in response to the wing portion being determined to be at the inclined position," and "in response to determining the angle of the blade is being adjusted by the operation of the first actuator,"). Since the claimed invention may be practiced without either condition happening (i.e., when there is no condition to be "in response to"), neither step is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. See MPEP § 2111.04(II). Further regarding Ummenhofer, the above method may be practiced without either condition happening (e.g., when the wing portion is held at a non-inclined position, and when the angle of the blade is not adjusted by the operation of the first actuator, particularly in automatic adjustment), thus neither further step is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, and the method disclosed by Ummenhofer meets the claim.
Claims 2, 3, and 5-7 only further limit the final step of claim 1 (i.e., "operating a second actuator..."). Since the final step of claim 1 is not required as explained above, these further limitations are also not required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, and the method disclosed by Ummenhofer meets these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ummenhofer in view of Duppong et al. (US 10,494,790)
Regarding claim 9, Ummenhofer discloses a method for automatically adjusting a pitch of a blade on a work machine, comprising:
determining, by a controller (including S), whether a wing portion (5) of the blade is inclined relative to a main portion (4) of the blade (by identifying a wing angle of the wing portion with respect to the main portion, and where the identified wing angle is used in comparisons as described in para. 0025).
Ummenhofer does not explicitly disclose "determining, by the controller, whether a first actuator is being actuated to change an angle of the blade," where this limitation is interpreted to be a determination whether movement of the first actuator and the blade is currently taking place or not. Duppong teaches a method for automatically adjusting a blade (including or of 152) on a work machine (including or of 100) comprising determining, by a controller (including 320), whether a first actuator (120) is being actuated to change an angle (as an angle is changed when the blade is lifted) of a blade (see col. 13, lines 45-59).
Duppong is analogous because Duppong discloses a method for automatically adjusting (or automatically adjusting control of) a blade on a work machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Ummenhofer with determining as taught by Duppong in order to make decisions when to activate or deactivate control features. (See Duppong, col. 13, lines 45-59.)
Claim 9 requires a further step (i.e., "operating a second actuator...") being performed only under a certain condition (i.e., "in response to the wing portion being determined to be inclined relative to the main portion and the angle of the blade determined to be being changed by the actuation of the first actuator,"). Since the claimed invention may be practiced without this condition happening, this step is not required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. See MPEP § 2111.04(II). Further regarding above combination, the method thereof may be practiced without this condition happening (e.g., when the wing portion is held at a non-inclined position, and/or when the angle of the blade is not adjusted by the operation of the first actuator, particularly in automatic adjustment), thus this step is not required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, and the method of the above combination meets the claim.
Claims 10, 11, 14, and 15 only further limit the final step of claim 9 (i.e., "operating a second actuator..."). Since the final step of claim 9 is not required as explained above, these further limitations are also not required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, and the method of the above combination meets these claims.
Claim 12 only requires a further limitation performed only under a certain condition (i.e., "as the angle of the blade is being changed,"). Since the claimed invention may be practiced without this condition happening, this limitation is not required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. See MPEP § 2111.04(II). Further regarding above combination, the method thereof may be practiced without this condition happening (e.g., when the angle of the blade is not adjusted, particularly in automatic adjustment), thus this limitation is not required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, and the method of the above combination meets the claim.
Regarding claim 13, Ummenhofer discloses detecting with a sensor (including 8, or including 7 and 8) a position of the wing portion (5) relative to the main portion (4) and communicating the position to the controller (via 9).
Regarding claim 17, Ummenhofer discloses a work machine, comprising:
a chassis (including F);
a cab mounted to the chassis (see Fig. 1);
a blade (including 4 and 5) coupled to the chassis, the blade comprising at least a main portion (4) and a wing portion (5), the wing portion being pivotally coupled to the main portion;
a first actuator (first 15) coupled between the chassis and the blade, the first actuator being operably controlled to adjust an angle of the blade (see Fig. 1);
a second actuator (second 15) coupled between the chassis and the blade, the second actuator being operably controlled to adjust a pitch of the blade (see Fig. 1);
a third actuator (third 15) coupled between the chassis and the blade, the third actuator being operably controlled to adjust a tilt of the blade (see Fig. 1);
a controller (including S) disposed in communication with the first actuator, the second actuator, and the third actuator, the controller operably controlling each actuator based on user inputs and control logic stored in a memory unit of the controller (see para. 0025); and
at least one sensor (including 8, or including 7 and 8) disposed in electrical communication with the controller, the at least one sensor detecting a position of each actuator or a position of the blade (as set forth in para. 0025);
wherein, the controller executes the control logic to determine whether the wing portion is inclined (as shown in Fig. 2) relative to the main portion (by identifying a wing angle of the wing portion with respect to the main portion, and where the identified wing angle is used in comparisons as described in para. 0025).
Ummenhofer does not explicitly disclose the controller executing the control logic to "determine whether the first actuator is being actuated to change an angle of the blade," where this limitation is interpreted to be a determination whether movement of the first actuator and the blade is currently taking place or not. Duppong teaches a work machine comprising a blade (including or of 152), a first actuator (120), and a controller (including 320), wherein the controller determines whether the first actuator is being actuated to change an angle (as an angle is changed when the blade is lifted) of a blade (see col. 13, lines 45-59).
Duppong is analogous because Duppong discloses a work machine comprising a blade, an actuator, and a controller for controlling the actuator. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the machine of Ummenhofer with determining as taught by Duppong in order to make decisions when to activate or deactivate control features. (See Duppong, col. 13, lines 45-59.)
Claim 17 requires a further functional limitation of the controller (i.e., "wherein, the controller executes the control logic to: ... control the position of the second actuator...") being performed only under a certain condition (i.e., "in response to the wing portion being determined to be inclined relative to the main portion and the angle of the blade is determined to be being changed by actuation of the first actuator,"). This functional limitation itself is not required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim because the claimed invention may be practiced (i.e., used) without this condition happening. However, since claim 17 is an apparatus claim, the structure for performing the function is required. See MPEP § 2111.04(II). Further regarding above combination, the machine thereof may be used without this condition happening (e.g., when the wing portion is held at a non-inclined position), thus this functional limitation of the controller is not required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, and the machine of the above combination meets the claim because it teaches the structure (i.e., the controller and actuator) for performing the function.
Regarding claim 18, Ummenhofer discloses a fourth actuator (6) coupled between the main portion and the wing portion of the blade (see Figs. 2 and 4), wherein the fourth actuator is operably controlled by the controller to control an angle of the wing portion relative to the main portion (see para. 0025).
Regarding claim 19, Ummenhofer discloses the work machine comprising:
a first pocket (within 5 which receives 4 as seen in Figs. 2 and 4) defined between the main portion and the wing portion of the blade, the first pocket being free of any structure to allow free pivotal movement of the wing portion relative to the main portion (as seen in Figs. 2 and 4); and
a second pocket (between structures to which 6 is attached) defined on a backside of the main portion (see Figs. 2 and 4), the second pocket being free of any structure to allow movement of the fourth actuator between an extended position and a retracted position (see Figs. 2 and 4).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ummenhofer in view of Duppong as applied to claim 17 above, and in view of Hendron et al. (US 2016/0230367)
Regarding claim 20, neither Ummenhofer nor Duppong explicitly discloses receiving a command to actuate the first actuator for adjusting the angle of the blade, wherein the command comprises a direction component and a magnitude component. Hendron teaches a work machine comprising a controller (including 138) and a blade (including 142), wherein the controller receives a command to actuate an actuator for adjusting an angle of the blade, the command comprising a direction component and a magnitude component, wherein the controller calculates a desired tilt based on the direction component and the magnitude component, and wherein the controller controls the position of the blade as the angle of the blade is being changed to maintain the desired pitch (see paras. 0057-0067).
Hendron is analogous because Hendron discloses adjusting tilt of a blade on a work machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above combination with the controlling means as taught by Hendron in order to differentiate between clockwise and counterclockwise tilt. (See Hendron, paras. 0057-0058.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: "The Office Action asserts that, based on the prior phrasing of these features, under the broadest reasonable interpretation the recited claim could be practiced without either of the above features occurring. (Office Action at pages 4, 11, and 12.) Therefore, based on this assertion, the Office Action apparently did not consider these features of claim 1. (Id. at pages 3-4.) The Applicant respectfully submits that, as amended, claim 1 positively recites each feature, and removes the basis for the prior broadest reasonable interpretation assertion under which these features were apparently disregarded." (See Remarks of 2/5/2026, labeled pp. 8-9.)
Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because the entirety of the claim language was considered, and no features were "disregarded" as argued. As explained in the Non-Final Rejection of 12/5/2025, certain steps were interpreted to not be required due to conditional limitations within the claim. Although claim 1 positively recites each feature, Applicant's argument that amended claim 1 "removes the basis for the prior broadest reasonable interpretation assertion" is unpersuasive because claim 1 still contains steps that are performed only under certain conditions. Further, Applicant's argument fails to explain how the re-wording of claim 1 removes the basis for the previous broadest reasonable interpretation set forth in the previous Office Action and requires all steps in all conditions. To the contrary, the second and third steps are still only required under certain conditions, that being "in response to the wing portion being determined to be at the inclined position," and "in response to determining the angle of the blade is being adjusted by the operation of the first actuator," respectively. When the wing portion is not determined to be at the inclined position, no response is required. When there is no subsequent determination of the angle of the blade being adjusted by the operation of the first actuator, no response is required. Again, see MPEP § 2111.04(II).
Applicant's arguments with respect to method steps that are only required under certain conditions (see Remarks of 2/5/2026, labeled p. 9) are unpersuasive because these steps are not necessarily required given the BRI standard, and Ummenhofer meets the claim as set forth in the rejection above.
Applicant also states: "Additionally, the Applicant notes that while the Office Action states 'Ummenhofer meets these claims,' the Office Action does not cite to any portions of Ummenhofer to support such an assertion." (See Remarks of 2/5/2026, labeled pp. 9-10.)
Applicant's statement takes a phrase out of context, whereas the Non-Final Rejection of 12/5/2025 explains why "... Ummenhofer meets these claims." As stated in the Non-Final Rejection of 12/5/2025 and in the rejection above: "Claims 2, 3, and 5-7 only further limit the final step of claim 1 (i.e., "operating a second actuator..."). Since the final step of claim 1 is not required as explained above, these further limitations are also not required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, and the method disclosed by Ummenhofer meets these claims."
Applicant argues: "For at least reasons similar to those set forth above with respect to independent claim 1, independent claim 9 is submitted to be patentable over the cited references." (See Remarks of 2/5/2026, labeled p. 10.)
First, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because the reasons argued for claim 1 being patentable were not persuasive. Second, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because claim 9 includes different limitations than claim 1 and does not include all the limitations argued with respect to claim 1.
Applicant argues: "For at least reasons similar to those set forth above with respect to independent claim 1, independent claim 17 is also submitted to be patentable over the cited references." (See Remarks of 2/5/2025, labeled p. 11.)
First, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because the reasons argued for claim 1 being patentable were not persuasive. Second, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because claim 17 includes different limitations than claim 1 and does not include all the limitations argued with respect to claim 1. Third, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because claim 17 is directed toward a device, while claim 1 is directed toward a method, and thus, claim 17 has a remarkably different scope than claim 1 and would not be allowable due to allowable method steps.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JFM/10/22/26
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671