DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Final Action in response to correspondence filed on December 10, 2025. Claims 21 and 27 have been amended. Claims 21-32 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 22, 2025 and September 25, 2025 were filed after the mailing date of the Office action on August 20, 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-24 and 27-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis et al. (US Publication No. 2013/0070928). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302
Claim
Limitation
Claim
Limitation
21
A computer-implemented method for distributed activity detection, comprising: collecting, at a first time, contextual data for a user from a sensor of a mobile computing device;
1
A computer-implemented system for distributed activity detection, comprising: a server comprising a hardware processor to train models; at least one of a mobile computing device and a sensor device to: process contextual data for a user performing an activity;
analyzing on the mobile computing device the contextual data using a model stored on the mobile computing device;
extract features from the contextual data; compare the features with one or more of the models from the server and stored on the mobile computing device, wherein each model represents an activity; assign a confidence score to each model based on the comparison with the features, wherein the confidence score comprises a probability that model matches the features;
identifying a first activity based on the analysis; determining that further contextual data has been collected, at a second time, for identifying a further activity, wherein the first time and the second time are different;
2
A system according to claim 1, wherein the mobile computing device further extracts further features from additional contextual data received, compares the further features generated from a set of stored models, assigns a confidence score to each model based on the comparison with the features, and assigns the activity associated with the model having the highest confidence score to the activity being performed by the user.
1
receive from a user of the mobile computing device or sensor device an identifier for the features only when the confidence scores for a match of the features with each of the models are low; transmit the identifier and features to the server only when the confidence scores for a match of the features with each of the models are low; and
transmitting the further contextual data and a corresponding label from the mobile computing device to a server;
analyzing on the server the further contextual data and the corresponding label using a model stored on the server; and
the server to: receive from the mobile computing device or sensor device, the features and the identifier on the server only when the confidence scores for each model are low, train a new model on the server using the received features and the identifier; and
providing information for display on the mobile computing device based on the analysis of the further contextual data and the corresponding label.
send the new model to the mobile computing device or the sensor device, wherein providing the features and the identifier from the mobile computing device or sensor device to the server only when the confidence scores are low offsets processing expense of the server by performing activity detection on the mobile computing device or sensor device and training of new activity models on the server.
Claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recite “process contextual data” and “further extracts further features from additional contextual data received.” Claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 do not specifically disclose collecting, at a first time, contextual data; and determining that further contextual data has been collected, at a second time, wherein the first time and the second time are different. However, Ellis teaches
collecting, at a first time, contextual data; and determining that further contextual data has been collected, at a second time, wherein the first time and the second time are different (see e.g., FIG. 8 for after an alert relating to the first instance of audio signals/ambient sound is provided to the user, a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound is received, from which audio features are extracted and [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events. A first instance of audio signals/ambient sound for a user is collected at a first time from a microphone of a mobile device. Audio features extracted from a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound are collected at a second time, different from the first time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 to collect, at a first time, contextual data; and determine that further contextual data has been collected, at a second time, wherein the first time and the second time are different, as taught by Ellis, for the benefit of providing the user with audio event recognition in real-time (see e.g., Ellis, [0092]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recites “send the new model to the mobile computing device or the sensor device.” Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 does not specifically disclose providing information for display on the mobile computing device. However, Ellis teaches
providing information for display on the mobile computing device (see e.g., [0025] for the user being alerted with a visual alert on the screen of the mobile device to inform the user that a door knock sound has been detected. The server provides an alert for display on the mobile computing device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 to provide information for display on the mobile computing device, as taught by Ellis, for the benefit of providing one or more alerts to deaf or hearing impaired individuals of audio events (see e.g., Ellis, [0005]).
Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recites “training the new model on the server using a combination of labeled population data indexed by activity label and the user's specific contextual data.” The claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 do not specifically disclose transmitting a corresponding label from the mobile computing device to a server; analyzing on the server the corresponding label using a model stored on the server; and providing information for display on the mobile computing device based on the analysis of the corresponding label. However, Ellis teaches
transmitting a corresponding label from the mobile computing device to a server (see e.g., [0084] for the application executing on mobile device 510 extracting audio features from the audio signal and comparing the audio features to the classification models at 650 in accordance with 120 and 130 of process 100, determining if there is a match in accordance with 140 of process 100, and generating and outputting alerts in accordance with 150, 160, and 170 of process 100 and/or process 200 and upon generating an alert in response to a match between the audio features and one or more classification models, the alert and/or labeled audio features corresponding to the alert being transmitted to server 502);
analyzing on the server the corresponding label using a model stored on the server (see e.g., [0084] for server 502 using the labeled audio features to update and/or improve the one or more classification models and for example, the labeled audio features being used to train one or more classification models); and
providing information [alert] for display on the mobile computing device based on the analysis of the corresponding label (see e.g., [0045] for an alert including a visual alert, which can take the form of, for example, a flashing display, a blinking light (e.g., a mobile phone equipped with a camera flash can cause the flash to activate), an animation, any other suitable visual alert, or any suitable combination thereof and [0084] for the application executing on mobile device 510 extracting audio features from the audio signal and comparing the audio features to the classification models at 650 in accordance with 120 and 130 of process 100, determining if there is a match in accordance with 140 of process 100, and generating and outputting alerts in accordance with 150, 160, and 170 of process 100 and/or process 200, the labeled audio features being used to train one or more classification models, and these updated classification models being transmitted to the application executing on mobile device 510. The server provides an alert for display on the mobile device based on a server model updated via label analysis.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 to transmit a corresponding label from the mobile computing device to a server; analyze on the server the corresponding label using a model stored on the server; and provide information for display on the mobile computing device based on the analysis of the corresponding label, as taught by Ellis, for the benefit of providing alerts based on updated models (see e.g., Ellis, [0084]).
As to claim 22, claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recite “contextual data.” Claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 do not specifically disclose wherein the contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording. However, Ellis teaches
wherein the contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording (see e.g., [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events. The contextual data comprises sound recordings.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 wherein the contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording, as taught by Ellis, for the benefit of providing one or more alerts to deaf or hearing impaired individuals of audio events (see e.g., Ellis, [0005]).
As to claim 23, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recites “additional contextual data.” Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 does not specifically recite wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording. However, Ellis teaches
wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording (see e.g., [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events. The contextual data comprises sound recordings.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording, as taught by Ellis, for the benefit of providing one or more alerts to deaf or hearing impaired individuals of audio events (see e.g., Ellis, [0005]).
As to claim 24, claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recite “the mobile computing device.” Claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 do not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on the user. However, Ellis teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on the user (see e.g., [0033] for the audio signal being received from a microphone carried by a user or coupled to the body of a user in any suitable manner, and connected to the mobile device by a wire and as another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone coupled to any suitable platform, such as a purse or a bag).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on the user, as taught by Ellis, for the benefit of providing one or more alerts to deaf or hearing impaired individuals of audio events (see e.g., Ellis, [0005]).
As to claim 28, claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recite “contextual data.” Claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 do not specifically disclose wherein the contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording. However, Ellis teaches
wherein the contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording (see e.g., [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events. The contextual data comprises sound recordings.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 wherein the contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording, as taught by Ellis, for the benefit of providing one or more alerts to deaf or hearing impaired individuals of audio events (see e.g., Ellis, [0005]).
As to claim 29, claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recites “additional contextual data.” Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 does not specifically recite wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording. However, Ellis teaches
wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording (see e.g., [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events. The contextual data comprises sound recordings.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording, as taught by Ellis, for the benefit of providing one or more alerts to deaf or hearing impaired individuals of audio events (see e.g., Ellis, [0005]).
As to claim 30, claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recite “the mobile computing device.” Claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 do not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on the user. However, Ellis teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on the user (see e.g., [0033] for the audio signal being received from a microphone carried by a user or coupled to the body of a user in any suitable manner, and connected to the mobile device by a wire and as another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone coupled to any suitable platform, such as a purse or a bag).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on the user, as taught by Ellis, for the benefit of providing one or more alerts to deaf or hearing impaired individuals of audio events (see e.g., Ellis, [0005]).
Claims 25, 26, 31, and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis et al. (US Publication No. 2013/0070928) as applied to claims 21-24 and 27-30, and further in view of Ye et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0042539).
As to claim 25, claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recite “the mobile computing device.” Claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user. However, Ye teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user (see e.g., [0035] for the embodiments of the invention being described mainly concerning a portable electronic device in the form of a mobile phone (also called “cell phone”), however, it should be understood that, the invention should not be limited to the circumstance of the mobile phone, but can relate to any types of appropriate electronic equipment, and examples of such electronic equipment including a smart watch, intelligent glasses, intelligent wig, a headset device, a wearable device, a fixed-line telephone, a media player, a game device, a PDA, a computer, a digital camera and the like [0058] for a device with a sound detector, e.g. an intelligent phone, a smart watch, a headset device and the like being used for testing sound, for example, exclamations such as “wow” made by the user when watching a wonderful part. The mobile device for detecting sound can be a headset device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user, as taught by Ye, for the benefit of testing two or more physiological parameters of the user at the same time (see e.g., Ye, [0057]).
As to claim 26, claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recite “the mobile computing device.” Claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user. However, Ye teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user (see e.g., [0035] for the embodiments of the invention being described mainly concerning a portable electronic device in the form of a mobile phone (also called “cell phone”), however, it should be understood that, the invention should not be limited to the circumstance of the mobile phone, but can relate to any types of appropriate electronic equipment, and examples of such electronic equipment including a smart watch, intelligent glasses, intelligent wig, a headset device, a wearable device, a fixed-line telephone, a media player, a game device, a PDA, a computer, a digital camera and the like [0058] for a device with a sound detector, e.g. an intelligent phone, a smart watch, a headset device and the like being used for testing sound, for example, exclamations such as “wow” made by the user when watching a wonderful part. The mobile device for detecting sound can be a smart watch.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user, as taught by Ye, for the benefit of testing two or more physiological parameters of the user at the same time (see e.g., Ye, [0057]).
As to claim 31, claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recite “the mobile computing device.” Claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user. However, Ye teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user (see e.g., [0035] for the embodiments of the invention being described mainly concerning a portable electronic device in the form of a mobile phone (also called “cell phone”), however, it should be understood that, the invention should not be limited to the circumstance of the mobile phone, but can relate to any types of appropriate electronic equipment, and examples of such electronic equipment including a smart watch, intelligent glasses, intelligent wig, a headset device, a wearable device, a fixed-line telephone, a media player, a game device, a PDA, a computer, a digital camera and the like [0058] for a device with a sound detector, e.g. an intelligent phone, a smart watch, a headset device and the like being used for testing sound, for example, exclamations such as “wow” made by the user when watching a wonderful part. The mobile device for detecting sound can be a headset device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user, as taught by Ye, for the benefit of testing two or more physiological parameters of the user at the same time (see e.g., Ye, [0057]).
As to claim 32, claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 recite “the mobile computing device.” Claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user. However, Ye teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user (see e.g., [0035] for the embodiments of the invention being described mainly concerning a portable electronic device in the form of a mobile phone (also called “cell phone”), however, it should be understood that, the invention should not be limited to the circumstance of the mobile phone, but can relate to any types of appropriate electronic equipment, and examples of such electronic equipment including a smart watch, intelligent glasses, intelligent wig, a headset device, a wearable device, a fixed-line telephone, a media player, a game device, a PDA, a computer, a digital camera and the like [0058] for a device with a sound detector, e.g. an intelligent phone, a smart watch, a headset device and the like being used for testing sound, for example, exclamations such as “wow” made by the user when watching a wonderful part. The mobile device for detecting sound can be a smart watch.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile computing device of claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,302 in view of Ellis wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user, as taught by Ye, for the benefit of testing two or more physiological parameters of the user at the same time (see e.g., Ye, [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 24, 27, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ellis et al. (US Publication No. 2013/0070928).
As to claim 21, Ellis teaches a computer-implemented method for distributed activity detection, comprising:
collecting, at a first time, contextual data [first instance of audio signals/ambient sound] for a user from a sensor [microphone] of a mobile computing device (see e.g., [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events and [0084] for mobile device 510 receiving the application and classification models from server 502 at 630 and after the application is received at mobile device 510, the application being installed and beginning capturing audio signals at 640 in accordance with 110 of process 100 described herein. A first instance of audio signals/ambient sound for a user is collected at a first time from a microphone of a mobile device.);
analyzing on the mobile computing device the contextual data using a model stored on the mobile computing device (see e.g., [0084] for the application executing on mobile device 510 extracting audio features from the audio signal and comparing the audio features to the classification models at 650 in accordance with 120 and 130 of process 100 and determining if there is a match in accordance with 140 of process 100. The audio signals/ambient sound are analyzed on the mobile device using a model stored on the mobile device.);
identifying a first activity [event] based on the analysis (see e.g., [0042] for at 150, the application identifying one or more non-speech audio events based on the comparison performed at 130 and the determination performed at 140, [0045] for at 160, the application generating an alert based on the identified non-speech audio events, and [0084] for generating and outputting alerts in accordance with 150, 160, and 170 of process 100 and/or process 200. A first event is identified based on the analysis.);
determining that further contextual data [audio features extracted from a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound] has been collected, at a second time, for identifying a further activity [event], wherein the first time and the second time are different (see e.g., FIG. 6 for after an alert relating to the first instance of audio signals/ambient sound is provided to the user and used to update classification models, a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound is received, from which audio features are extracted, [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events, and [0084] for mobile device 510 receiving the application and classification models from server 502 at 630, after the application is received at mobile device 510, the application being installed and beginning capturing audio signals at 640 in accordance with 110 of process 100 described herein, the application executing on mobile device 510 extracting audio features from the audio signal and comparing the audio features to the classification models at 650 in accordance with 120 and 130 of process 100 and determining if there is a match in accordance with 140 of process 100. Audio features extracted from a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound are collected at a second time, different from the first time, for identifying a further event.);
transmitting the further contextual data and a corresponding label from the mobile computing device to a server (see e.g., [0084] for upon generating an alert in response to a match between the audio features and one or more classification models, the alert and/or labeled audio features corresponding to the alert being transmitted to server 502. The audio features extracted from a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound and a corresponding label are transmitted from the mobile device to a server.);
analyzing on the server the further contextual data and the corresponding label using a model stored on the server (see e.g., [0084] server 502 using the labeled audio features to update and/or improve the one or more classification models and for example, the labeled audio features being used to train one or more classification models. The server analyzes the audio features and corresponding label extracted from a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound using a model stored on the server.); and
providing information [alert] for display on the mobile computing device based on the analysis of the further contextual data and the corresponding label (see e.g., [0045] for an alert including a visual alert, which can take the form of, for example, a flashing display, a blinking light (e.g., a mobile phone equipped with a camera flash can cause the flash to activate), an animation, any other suitable visual alert, or any suitable combination thereof and [0084] for the application executing on mobile device 510 extracting audio features from the audio signal and comparing the audio features to the classification models at 650 in accordance with 120 and 130 of process 100, determining if there is a match in accordance with 140 of process 100, and generating and outputting alerts in accordance with 150, 160, and 170 of process 100 and/or process 200, the labeled audio features being used to train one or more classification models, and these updated classification models being transmitted to the application executing on mobile device 510. The server provides an alert for display on the mobile device based on a server model updated via labeled audio feature analysis.).
As to claim 22, Ellis teaches the method of claim 21,
wherein the contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording (see e.g., [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events. The contextual data comprises sound recordings.).
As to claim 24, Ellis teaches the method of claim 21,
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on the user (see e.g., [0033] for the audio signal being received from a microphone carried by a user or coupled to the body of a user in any suitable manner, and connected to the mobile device by a wire and as another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone coupled to any suitable platform, such as a purse or a bag).
As to claim 27, Ellis teaches a computer-implemented system for distributed activity detection, comprising:
one or more processors (see e.g., [0079] for mobile device 510 including a processor 512); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the one or more processors having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method for generating a recommendation (see e.g., [0079] for memory 518 including a storage device (such as a computer-readable medium) for storing a computer program for controlling processor 512. Examiner notes that “a method for generating a recommendation” is an intended use and is not given patentable weight. This portion of the preamble does not limit the structure of the claimed invention, is not necessary to give meaning to the remainder of the claim, and would have no effect on the body of the claim if removed.), the method comprising:
collecting, at a first time, contextual data [first instance of audio signals/ambient sound] for a user from a sensor [microphone] of a mobile computing device (see e.g., [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events and [0084] for mobile device 510 receiving the application and classification models from server 502 at 630 and after the application is received at mobile device 510, the application being installed and beginning capturing audio signals at 640 in accordance with 110 of process 100 described herein. A first instance of audio signals/ambient sound for a user is collected at a first time from a microphone of a mobile device.);
analyzing on the mobile computing device the contextual data using a model stored on the mobile computing device (see e.g., [0084] for the application executing on mobile device 510 extracting audio features from the audio signal and comparing the audio features to the classification models at 650 in accordance with 120 and 130 of process 100 and determining if there is a match in accordance with 140 of process 100. The audio signals/ambient sound are analyzed on the mobile device using a model stored on the mobile device.);
identifying a first activity [event] based on the analysis (see e.g., [0042] for at 150, the application identifying one or more non-speech audio events based on the comparison performed at 130 and the determination performed at 140, [0045] for at 160, the application generating an alert based on the identified non-speech audio events, and [0084] for generating and outputting alerts in accordance with 150, 160, and 170 of process 100 and/or process 200. A first event is identified based on the analysis.);
determining that further contextual data [audio features extracted from a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound], at a second time, has been collected for identifying a further activity [event], wherein the first time and the second time are different (see e.g., FIG. 6 for after an alert relating to the first instance of audio signals/ambient sound is provided to the user and used to update classification models, a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound is received, from which audio features are extracted, [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events, and [0084] for mobile device 510 receiving the application and classification models from server 502 at 630, after the application is received at mobile device 510, the application being installed and beginning capturing audio signals at 640 in accordance with 110 of process 100 described herein, the application executing on mobile device 510 extracting audio features from the audio signal and comparing the audio features to the classification models at 650 in accordance with 120 and 130 of process 100 and determining if there is a match in accordance with 140 of process 100. Audio features extracted from a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound are collected at a second time, different from the first time, for identifying a further event.);
transmitting the further contextual data and a corresponding label from the mobile computing device to a server (see e.g., [0084] for upon generating an alert in response to a match between the audio features and one or more classification models, the alert and/or labeled audio features corresponding to the alert being transmitted to server 502. The audio features extracted from a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound and a corresponding label are transmitted from the mobile device to a server.);
analyzing on the server the further contextual data and the corresponding label using a model stored on the server (see e.g., [0084] server 502 using the labeled audio features to update and/or improve the one or more classification models and for example, the labeled audio features being used to train one or more classification models. The server analyzes the audio features and corresponding label extracted from a second instance of audio signals/ambient sound using a model stored on the server.); and
providing information [alert] for display on the mobile computing device based on the analysis of the further contextual data and the corresponding label (see e.g., [0045] for an alert including a visual alert, which can take the form of, for example, a flashing display, a blinking light (e.g., a mobile phone equipped with a camera flash can cause the flash to activate), an animation, any other suitable visual alert, or any suitable combination thereof and [0084] for the application executing on mobile device 510 extracting audio features from the audio signal and comparing the audio features to the classification models at 650 in accordance with 120 and 130 of process 100, determining if there is a match in accordance with 140 of process 100, and generating and outputting alerts in accordance with 150, 160, and 170 of process 100 and/or process 200, the labeled audio features being used to train one or more classification models, and these updated classification models being transmitted to the application executing on mobile device 510. The server provides an alert for display on the mobile device based on a server model updated via labeled audio feature analysis.).
As to claim 28, Ellis teaches the system of claim 27
wherein the contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording (see e.g., [0032] for at 110, an audio signal being received by the application running on a mobile device, in some embodiments, the audio signal being received from a microphone of the mobile device, for example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a mobile phone or smartphone capturing ambient sound, as another example, the audio signal being received from a built-in microphone of a tablet computer, and as yet another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone of a special purpose device built for the purpose of recognizing non-speech audio events. The contextual data comprises sound recordings.).
As to claim 30, Ellis teaches the method of claim 27,
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on the user (see e.g., [0033] for the audio signal being received from a microphone carried by a user or coupled to the body of a user in any suitable manner, and connected to the mobile device by a wire and as another example, the audio signal being received from a microphone coupled to any suitable platform, such as a purse or a bag).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the embodiment depicted in FIG. 8 of Ellis et al. (US Publication No. 2013/0070928) as applied to claims 21, 22, 24, 27, 28, and 30 above, and further in view of the embodiment depicted in FIG. 7 of Ellis et al. (US Publication No. 2013/0070928).
As to claim 23, the limitations of parent claim 21 have been discussed above. The embodiment depicted in FIG. 8 of Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording. However, the embodiment depicted in FIG. 7 of Ellis teaches
wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording (see e.g., [0085] for mobile device 510 receiving the application at 720, and starting to receive audio and transmit it to the server 502 at 730 and in some embodiments, audio being transmitted to the server in response to some property of the received audio being over a threshold, as described in relation to 330 in FIG. 3. The contextual data comprises sound recordings.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the application of the embodiment depicted in FIG. 8 of Ellis wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording, as taught by the embodiment depicted in FIG. 7 of Ellis, for the benefit of only analyzing audio over a quality threshold (see e.g., Ellis, [0062]).
As to claim 29, the limitations of parent claim 27 have been discussed above. The embodiment depicted in FIG. 8 of Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording. However, the embodiment depicted in FIG. 7 of Ellis teaches
wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording (see e.g., [0085] for mobile device 510 receiving the application at 720, and starting to receive audio and transmit it to the server 502 at 730 and in some embodiments, audio being transmitted to the server in response to some property of the received audio being over a threshold, as described in relation to 330 in FIG. 3. The contextual data comprises sound recordings.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the application of the embodiment depicted in FIG. 8 of Ellis wherein the further contextual data comprises a picture, a video, or a sound recording, as taught by the embodiment depicted in FIG. 7 of Ellis, for the benefit of only analyzing audio over a quality threshold (see e.g., Ellis, [0062]).
Claims 25, 26, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis et al. (US Publication No. 2013/0070928) as applied to claims 21, 22, 24, 27, 28, and 30 above, and further in view of Ye et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0042539).
As to claim 25, the limitations of parent claims 21 and 24 have been discussed above. Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user. However, Ye teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user (see e.g., [0035] for the embodiments of the invention being described mainly concerning a portable electronic device in the form of a mobile phone (also called “cell phone”), however, it should be understood that, the invention should not be limited to the circumstance of the mobile phone, but can relate to any types of appropriate electronic equipment, and examples of such electronic equipment including a smart watch, intelligent glasses, intelligent wig, a headset device, a wearable device, a fixed-line telephone, a media player, a game device, a PDA, a computer, a digital camera and the like [0058] for a device with a sound detector, e.g. an intelligent phone, a smart watch, a headset device and the like being used for testing sound, for example, exclamations such as “wow” made by the user when watching a wonderful part. The mobile device for detecting sound can be a headset device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile device of Ellis wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user, as taught by Ye, for the benefit of two or more physiological parameters of the user being tested at the same time (see e.g., Ye, [0057]).
As to claim 26, the limitations of parent claims 21 and 24 have been discussed above. Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user. However, Ye teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user (see e.g., [0035] for the embodiments of the invention being described mainly concerning a portable electronic device in the form of a mobile phone (also called “cell phone”), however, it should be understood that, the invention should not be limited to the circumstance of the mobile phone, but can relate to any types of appropriate electronic equipment, and examples of such electronic equipment including a smart watch, intelligent glasses, intelligent wig, a headset device, a wearable device, a fixed-line telephone, a media player, a game device, a PDA, a computer, a digital camera and the like [0058] for a device with a sound detector, e.g. an intelligent phone, a smart watch, a headset device and the like being used for testing sound, for example, exclamations such as “wow” made by the user when watching a wonderful part. The mobile device for detecting sound can be a smart watch.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile device of Ellis wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user, as taught by Ye, for the benefit of two or more physiological parameters of the user being tested at the same time (see e.g., Ye, [0057]).
As to claim 31, the limitations of parent claims 27 and 30 have been discussed above. Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user. However, Ye teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user (see e.g., [0035] for the embodiments of the invention being described mainly concerning a portable electronic device in the form of a mobile phone (also called “cell phone”), however, it should be understood that, the invention should not be limited to the circumstance of the mobile phone, but can relate to any types of appropriate electronic equipment, and examples of such electronic equipment including a smart watch, intelligent glasses, intelligent wig, a headset device, a wearable device, a fixed-line telephone, a media player, a game device, a PDA, a computer, a digital camera and the like [0058] for a device with a sound detector, e.g. an intelligent phone, a smart watch, a headset device and the like being used for testing sound, for example, exclamations such as “wow” made by the user when watching a wonderful part. The mobile device for detecting sound can be a headset device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile device of Ellis wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a head of the user, as taught by Ye, for the benefit of two or more physiological parameters of the user being tested at the same time (see e.g., Ye, [0057]).
As to claim 32, the limitations of parent claims 27 and 30 have been discussed above. Ellis does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user. However, Ye teaches
wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user (see e.g., [0035] for the embodiments of the invention being described mainly concerning a portable electronic device in the form of a mobile phone (also called “cell phone”), however, it should be understood that, the invention should not be limited to the circumstance of the mobile phone, but can relate to any types of appropriate electronic equipment, and examples of such electronic equipment including a smart watch, intelligent glasses, intelligent wig, a headset device, a wearable device, a fixed-line telephone, a media player, a game device, a PDA, a computer, a digital camera and the like [0058] for a device with a sound detector, e.g. an intelligent phone, a smart watch, a headset device and the like being used for testing sound, for example, exclamations such as “wow” made by the user when watching a wonderful part. The mobile device for detecting sound can be a smart watch.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile device of Ellis wherein the mobile computing device is wearable on a wrist of the user, as taught by Ye, for the benefit of two or more physiological parameters of the user being tested at the same time (see e.g., Ye, [0057]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 10, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues:
Ellis discloses, for example, that "if there is not a match at 820, mobile device 510 can proceed to 840 where the audio features extracted at 810 can be transmitted to server 502." See Ellis, paragraph [0089]. Ellis does not disclose transmitting the further contextual data and a corresponding label, nor analyzing both the further contextual data and the corresponding label using a model stored on the server, nor providing information based on an analysis of the further contextual data and the corresponding label.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Ellis does in fact disclose transmitting the further contextual data and a corresponding label, analyzing both the further contextual data and the corresponding label using a model stored on the server, and providing information based on an analysis of the further contextual data and the corresponding label. “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art” (see MPEP § 2123(I)). Ellis recites that “[t]he application executing on mobile device 510 can extract audio features from the audio signal and compare the audio features to the classification models at 650 in accordance with 120 and 130 of process 100, determine if there is a match in accordance with 140 of process 100, and generate and output alerts in accordance with 150, 160, and 170 of process 100 and/or process 200. It should be noted that, upon generating an alert in response to a match between the audio features and one or more classification models, the alert and/or labeled audio features corresponding to the alert can be transmitted to server 502. In this embodiment, server 502 can use the labeled audio features to update and/or improve the one or more classification models. For example, the labeled audio features can be used to train one or more classification models. These updated classification models can be transmitted to the application executing on mobile device 510” (see [0084]). As detailed above, Ellis therefore teaches “transmitting the further contextual data and a corresponding label from the mobile computing device to a server; analyzing on the server the further contextual data and the corresponding label using a model stored on the server; and providing information for display on the mobile computing device based on the analysis of the further contextual data and the corresponding label,” as recited by independent claims 21 and 27.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuboi (US Publication No. 2017/0061024) for “the client 2 transmits selection information (feedback information) indicating the selected one or more search context labels to the server 1” (see [0100]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
01-28-2026
/DARA J GLASSER/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161