DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The double patenting rejection is maintained.
The rejection of at least claim(s) 1 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as unpatentable over Otsuka et al. is maintained.
A) Applicant argues that “As an initial matter, the Office Action admits that "Otsuka et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the capacitor parameter is an equivalent series resistance," and cites Horie to cure this deficiency. Specifically, the Office Action alleges that "Horie et al. disclose that it is well known in the art to reduce variation in the internal resistance of capacitors," and that "[i]t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor device of Otsuka et al. so that the capacitor parameter is an equivalent series resistance, since such a modification would voltage can be applied to each capacitor evenly." Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Horie, for instance, is allegedly directed to "[a] plurality of unit capacitors are connected together in parallel into a capacitor block and the capacitor blocks are connected together in series." (Horie at 1 [0005]) (emphasis added). Specifically, Horie teaches that connecting the supercapacitors in series leads to "variation in the capacitance and the internal resistance of each electric double layer capacitor connected in series." (Horie at 1 [0010]). Therefore, Applicant first respectfully submits that as Horie teaches the benefits of connecting the supercapacitors in parallel, that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to look to Horie based on the disclosure of Otsuka, at least because Otsuka teaches to connect the plurality of capacitive elements (11) in series.
- It is submitted that Otsuka et al. explicitly states [0015], “Thereby, all the series capacitive element blocks (10) are constituted by the capacitive elements (11) having the same capacitance” (see also claim 3).
Because supercapacitors are manufactured with inherent tolerances, the only way this can be true is if each individual capacitor was tested and matched. Therefore, “a ratio of the second parameter value (capacitance) to the first parameter value (capacitance) is 1.0”.
- In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (with regard to at least independent claims 1 and 15), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wherein the first parameter is an equivalent series resistance) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-8, 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has not traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice in the response filed 6/17/2025 and the well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art (see MPEP 2144.03).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 14-18, 20-24 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,133,133 (‘133). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, ‘133 discloses a supercapacitor module comprising: a first supercapacitor having a first parameter value for a capacitor parameter in a first test condition (C:1, L: 1-3), wherein the capacitor parameter is a leakage current, an equivalent series resistance, or a capacitance (C:5, C: 9); and a second supercapacitor having a second parameter value for the capacitor parameter in about the first test condition, a ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value being from about 0.8 to about 1.2 (C: 1, L: 4-8); wherein the first supercapacitor and the second supercapacitor are connected in series (C: 12).
Regarding claim 2, '133 discloses the ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value is from about 0.85 to about 1.15 (C: 2, L: 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, '133 discloses the ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value is from about 0.9 to about 1.1 (C:3, L: 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, '133 discloses the parameter is a leakage current (C:4, L:1- 2).
Regarding claim 6, '133 discloses the leakage current is greater than 23.75 microamps and less than about 26.25 microamps at an applied DC voltage of about 5 volts and a temperature of about 25 degrees C (C:5, L: 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, '133 discloses the capacitor parameter is an equivalent series resistance (C: 6, L: 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, '133 discloses the equivalent series resistance is greater than about 61.75 mohms and less than about 68.25 mohms at an applied AC voltage of about 10 mV at a frequency of about 1000 Hz and at a temperature of about 25°C (C: 7, L: 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, '133 discloses the capacitor parameter is capacitance (C: 8, L: 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, '133 discloses the capacitance is greater than about 4.75 F and less than about 5.25 F at a temperature of about 25 degrees C (C:9, L: 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, '133 discloses the first test condition includes a test voltage (C: 10, L:1-2).
Regarding claim 12, '133 discloses the first test condition includes a test temperature (C: 11, L: 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, '133 discloses a first supercapacitor has a third parameter value for a second capacitor parameter in a second test condition (C: 13, L:1-3); the second supercapacitor has a fourth parameter value for the second capacitor parameter in about the second test condition (C: 13, L: 4-5); and a second ratio of the fourth parameter value to the third parameter value is from about 0.8 to about 1.2 (C: 13, L: 6-10).
Regarding claim 15, '133 discloses a method for manufacturing a supercapacitor module from a first supercapacitor and a second supercapacitor, the first supercapacitor having a first parameter value for a capacitor parameter in a first test condition (C: 14,L: 1-5), wherein the capacitor parameter is a leakage current, and equivalent series resistance, or a capacitance (C:15, C: 16, C:17); the method comprising: selecting the second supercapacitor based on the second capacitor having a second parameter value for the capacitor parameter in about the first test condition, a ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value being from about 0.8 to about 1.2 (C: 14, L: 6-10), further comprising connecting the first supercapacitor in series with the second supercapacitor (C: 19).
Regarding claim 16, '133 discloses the capacitor parameter is leakage current (C: 15, L: 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, '133 discloses the capacitor parameter is an equivalent series resistance (C: 16, L: 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, '133 disclose the capacitor parameter is capacitance (C: 17, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, '133 discloses a voltage across the first capacitor is not adjusted using a balancing circuit (C: 18, L: 1-2).
Regarding claim 21, '133 discloses connecting the first supercapacitor in series with the second supercapacitor without a balancing circuit (C: 19, L: 1-3).
Regarding claim 22, '133 discloses the second ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value is from about 0.9 to about 1.1 (C: 20, L: 1-3).
Regarding claim 23, '133 discloses the second ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value is from about 0.95 to about 1.05 (C: 21, L: 1-3).
Regarding claim 24, '133 disclose the first supercapacitor has a third parameter value for a second capacitor parameter in a second test condition (C: 22, L: 1-3); the second supercapacitor has a fourth parameter value for the second capacitor parameter at about the second test condition; and selecting the second supercapacitor is further based on a second ratio of the fourth parameter value to the third parameter value being from about 0.8 to about 1.2 (C: 22, L: 4-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 14-16, 18, and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otsuka et al. (JP 2010017053).
Regarding claim 1, Otsuka et al. disclose a supercapacitor module comprising:
a first supercapacitor (11) having a first parameter value (capacitance or leakage current – claim 3, [0015], [0044]) for a capacitor parameter in a first test condition (voltage - fig. 1, 5, and 6); wherein the capacitor parameter is a leakage current, an equivalent series resistance, or a capacitance (capacitance or leakage current – claim 3, [0015], [0044]) and
a second supercapacitor (11) having a second parameter value (capacitance or leakage current & capacitance) for the capacitor parameter in about the first test condition, a ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value being from about 0.8 to about 1.2 (1 – all capacitor elements 11 have the same capacitance or the leakage current is within 10 % of each other in group C – (claim 3, [0015], [0044]); wherein the first supercapacitor and the second supercapacitor are connected in series (fig. 1 – contained in 10).
Regarding claim 2, Otsuka et al. disclose the ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value is from about 0.85 to about 1.15 ( element 11 – capacitors have same capacitance- claim 3, [0015]).
Regarding claim 3, Otsuka et al. disclose the ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value is from about 0.9 to about 1.1 ( element 11 – capacitors have same capacitance – claim 3, [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, Otsuka et al. disclose the capacitor is a leakage current [0044])
Regarding claim 9, Otsuka et al. disclose the capacitor parameter is a capacitance ([0015], claim 3).
Regarding claim 11, Otsuka et al. disclose the first test condition includes a test voltage (inherent for testing for capacitance and/or leakage current).
Regarding claim 12, Otsuka et al. disclose the first test condition includes a test temperature (all test conditions occur at a temperature).
Regarding claim 14, Otsuka et al. disclose the first supercapacitor has a third parameter value for a second capacitor parameter (leakage current or capacitance) in a second test condition;
the second supercapacitor has a fourth parameter value (leakage current or capacitance) for the second capacitor parameter in about the second test condition; and
a second ratio of the fourth parameter value to the third parameter value is from about 0.8 to about 1.2. (1 – all capacitor elements 11 have the same capacitance or the leakage current is within 0.9 to 1.1 of each other in group C – (claim 3, [0015], [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Otsuka et al. disclose a method for manufacturing a supercapacitor module from a first supercapacitor (11) and a second supercapacitor (11),
the first supercapacitor (11) having a first parameter value for a capacitor parameter (capacitance or leakage current) in a first test condition (at least voltage), the method comprising:
selecting the second supercapacitor (11) based on the second capacitor having a second parameter value for the capacitor parameter in about the first test condition (at least voltage), a ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value being from about 0.8 to about 1.2 (1 – all capacitor elements 11 have the same capacitance or the leakage current is within 10 % of each other in group C – (claim 3, [0015], [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Otsuka et al. disclose the capacitor parameter is a leakage current [0044].
Regarding claim 18, Otsuka et al. disclose the capacitor parameter is a capacitance ([0015], claim 3).
Regarding claim 22, Otsuka et al. disclose the second ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value is from about 0.9 to about 1.1 ([0015], [0044], claim 3).
Regarding claim 23, Otsuka et al. disclose the second ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value is from about 0.95 to about 1.05 ([0015], claim 3).
Regarding claim 24, Otsuka et al. disclose the first supercapacitor has a third parameter value for a second capacitor parameter in a second test condition (leakage current or capacitance);
the second supercapacitor has a fourth parameter value for the second capacitor parameter at about the second test condition (leakage current of capacitance); and
selecting the second supercapacitor is further based on a second ratio of the fourth parameter value to the third parameter value being from about 0.8 to about 1.2 ([0015], [0044], claim 3).
Claim(s) 1, 7, 15, 17, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 105914823).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. disclose a module comprising a first supercapacitor (C1 – Translation - P: 2, P:5) having a first parameter value for a capacitor parameter in a first test condition (ESR, leakage current, capacitance, etc.), wherein the capacitor parameter is leakage current, ESR, or capacitance (Translation P:2, P:5); and
a second supercapacitor (C2 – Translation P:2, P:5) having a second parameter value for the capacitor parameter in about the first test condition (ESR, leakage current, capacitance), a ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value being 1.0 (Translation – P: 2, P:5 - supercapacitors are identical – ESR, leakage current, capacitance, etc.);
wherein the first supercapacitor (C1) and the second supercapacitor (C2) are connected in series (Translation P:2, P:6).
Supercapacitors are manufactured with inherent tolerances. For Zhang et al. to use identical supercapacitors, the capacitors need to be individually tested and matched. Therefore, “a ratio of the second parameter value (ESR) to the first parameter value (ESR) is 1.0”.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. disclose the capacitor parameter is ESR (all supercapacitors are identical – Translation - P: 2, P: 6).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang et al. disclose a method for manufacturing a supercapacitor module from a first supercapacitor (C1) and a second supercapacitor (C2), the first supercapacitor having a first parameter value for a capacitor parameter in a first test condition (Translation – P: 2, P: 5), wherein the capacitor parameter is a leakage current, and ESR, or a capacitance (Translation – P: 2, P: 5); the method comprising: selecting the second supercapacitor (C2) based on the second capacitor having a second parameter value for the capacitor parameter in about the first test condition, a ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value being from about 0.8 to about 1.2 (1 – identical to C1), further comprising connecting the first supercapacitor in series with the second supercapacitor (Translation – P: 2, P: 6).
Supercapacitors are manufactured with inherent tolerances. For Zhang et al. to use identical supercapacitors, the capacitors need to be individually tested and matched. Therefore, “a ratio of the second parameter value (ESR) to the first parameter value (ESR) is 1.0”.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang et al. disclose the capacitor parameter is ESR (all supercapacitors are identical – Translation - P: 2, P: 6).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang et al. disclose a voltage across the first capacitor (C1) is not adjusted using a balancing circuit.
Regarding claim 21, Zhang et al. disclose connecting the first supercapacitor in series (C1) with the second supercapacitor (C2) without a balancing circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka et al. (JP 2010017053) in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
Regarding claim 6, Otsuka et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the leakage current is greater than 23.75 microamps and less than about 26.25 microamps at an applied DC voltage of about 5 volts and a temperature of about 25 degrees C.
AAPA discloses it is known in the supercapacitor art to minimize leakage current.
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the supercapacitor module of Otsuka et al. so that the leakage current is greater than 23.75 microamps and less than about 26.25 microamps at an applied DC voltage of about 5 volts and a temperature of about 25 degrees C, since such a modification would form a supercapacitor module with low leakage current.
Regarding claim 10, Otsuka et al. disclose the claimed invention except the capacitance is greater than about 4.75 F and less than about 5.25 F at a temperature of about 25°C.
AAPA discloses that it is known in the supercapacitor art to form a supercapacitor having a capacitance that is greater than about 4.75 F and less than about 5.25 F at a temperature of about 25°C.
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the supercapacitor module of Otsuka et al. so that the capacitance is greater than about 4.75 F and less than about 5.25 F at a temperature of about 25°C, since such a modification would form a supercapacitor module having desired capacitance.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 105914823).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the equivalent series resistance is greater than about 61.75 mohms and less than about 68.25 mohms at an applied AC voltage of about 10 mV at a frequency of about 1000 Hz and at a temperature of about 25°C.
It is known in the supercapacitor art to form a supercapacitor having equivalent series resistance is greater than about 61.75 mohms and less than about 68.25 mohms at an applied AC voltage of about 10 mV at a frequency of about 1000 Hz and at a temperature of about 25°C.
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the supercapacitor module so that the equivalent series resistance is greater than about 61.75 mohms and less than about 68.25 mohms at an applied AC voltage of about 10 mV at a frequency of about 1000 Hz and at a temperature of about 25°C, since such a modification would form a supercapacitor module with low ESR.
Claim(s) 15, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowperthwaite et al. (US 2013/0266826) in view of Otsuka et al. (JP 2010017053).
Regarding claim 15, Cowperthwaite et al. disclose a method for manufacturing a supercapacitor module from a first supercapacitor (120A) and a second supercapacitor (120B),
the first supercapacitor (120A) having a first parameter value for a capacitor parameter (capacitance) in a first test condition (at least voltage), the method comprising:
selecting the second supercapacitor (120A) based on the second capacitor having a second parameter value for the capacitor parameter (capacitance) in about the first test condition (at least voltage).
Cowperthwaite et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value being from about 0.8 to about 1.2.
Otsuka et al. disclose a method for manufacturing a supercapacitor module from a first supercapacitor (11) and a second supercapacitor (11),
the first supercapacitor (11) having a first parameter value for a capacitor parameter (capacitance or leakage current) in a first test condition (at least voltage), the method comprising:
selecting the second supercapacitor (11) based on the second capacitor having a second parameter value for the capacitor parameter in about the first test condition (at least voltage), a ratio of the second parameter value to the first parameter value being from about 0.8 to about 1.2 (1 – all capacitor elements 11 have the same capacitance– (claim 3, [0005], [0044])).
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the supercapacitor module of Cowperthwaite et al. using supercapacitor elements having the same capacitance, since such a modification would form a supercapacitor module having desired capacitance.
Regarding claim 20, Cowperthwaite et al. disclose a voltage across the first capacitor is not adjusted using a balancing circuit (fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 21, Cowperthwaite et al. disclose comprising connecting the first supercapacitor in series [0053] with the second supercapacitor [0053] without a balancing circuit (fig. 2B).
Conclusion
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2848