Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0245395), herein referred to as “Zhang”, in view of Hong (WO 2019182287), herein referred to as “Hong”, held further in view of Han (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2014/0268480).
Regarding Claim 1,
Zhang discloses: A method for configuring information, applied to a network device and comprising: sending discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the DRX configuration information is used by the terminal device to determine M DRX configurations, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 2
[0007] It is further recognized herein that, in NR, multiple DRX configurations may be supported, and L1/2 signaling (such as MAC CE based) can be used for dynamic DRX configuration switching.
[0163] The gNB may control DRX using two DRX configuration sets per MAC entity: one configuration set for the discontinuous monitoring of group common PDCCH and the other DRX configuration set for the discontinuous monitoring of UE specific PDCCH. The UE may start by monitoring the group PD[C]CH according to the group common PDCCH, then once the UE detects an upcoming UE specific PDCCH for the group common PDCCH based on the UE specific PDCCH scheduling information in the group common PDCCH, the UE may switch to using the DRX configuration set for the discontinuous monitoring of the UE specific PDCCH.
[0165] In another example, DRX uses multiple DRX configurations. The gNB may control DRX using multiple DRX configuration sets per MAC entity with one or more configuration sets active at a time. For example, the gNB may configure the UE through RRC signaling with more than one set of DRX configuration parameters.
wherein the DRX configuration information comprises at least a first DRX configuration and a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration comprises some or all of DRX parameters in the first DRX configuration, and wherein the first DRX configuration comprises a first parameter having a configured value absent from the second DRX configuration and a second DRX parameter having a configured value present in the second DRX configuration
[0164] In this example of DRX configuration, the component carriers of the same MAC entity may share the same two sets of DRX configuration parameters. For example, the two sets of DRX configuration parameters may be common to the component carriers (CC) of the same MAC entity. For an example case of connectivity with more than one MAC entity, the two sets of DRX parameters may be common to all MAC entities (i.e. coordinated or synchronized), completely independent (i.e. uncoordinated or unsynchronized) between the MAC entities, or partially common (i.e. partially coordinated or synchronized) between the MAC entities. For example, some of the DRX parameters are common while some others are not.
[0165] In another example, DRX uses multiple DRX configurations. The gNB may control DRX using multiple DRX configuration sets per MAC entity with one or more configuration sets active at a time. For example, the gNB may configure the UE through RRC signaling with more than one set of DRX configuration parameters. The gNB may then use a MAC CE to activate or deactivate one or more set of DRX configuration parameter sets. In this example of DRX configuration, the MAC configuration parameters may be common to all MAC (i.e. coordinated or synchronized), completely independent (i.e. uncoordinated or unsynchronized) between the MAC entities or between the component carriers or between numerologies of the same component carriers, or partially common (i.e. partially coordinated or synchronized) between the MAC entities or between the component carriers or between the numerologies of the same component carriers (i.e. some of the DRX parameters are common while some others are not).
[0248] It is recognized herein that, in some cases, when there is more than one active DRX parameter set, whether it is within the same CC across different numerologies, or between different CCs, or between different MAC entities, is that the values of the DRX parameters if different must be properly selected to avoid a situation where the UE never has the opportunity to sleep or has very little opportunity to sleep. As a result, even if the active DRX parameter set are different, there may be some coordination in the selection of the DRX parameter values for each DRX parameter set. To this end, in the case of multi-connectivity involving two different controlling RRC entities in the network side (for e.g. 5G dual connectivity or LTE-NR dual connectivity), there may be coordination between the RRC entities for the selection of the DRX parameter values.
[0355] In some examples, the DRX Command MAC control element or a Long DRX Command MAC control element is combined with BWP Activation Command MAC control element, or CC Activation Command MAC control element, or DRX Configuration parameter set Activation Command MAC control element. The network may use such a command to order a change of active DRX configuration parameter set at the time of activation of BWP, or activation of CC or activation of DRX configuration parameter set, respectively. Upon receiving such a combined MAC control element, the UE may activate the indicated NEW DRX configuration parameter(s), for example together with the indicated BWP(s) if the received MAC CE includes BWP Activation Command MAC control element, or together with the indicated CC(s) if the received MAC CE includes CC Activation Command MAC control element.
Zhang does not disclose the final limitations.
However, Hong discloses the configured value of the second DRX parameter in the second DRX configuration is different from a configured value of the second DRX parameter in the first DRX configuration.
[136] Referring to FIG. 6, in a method of performing a DRX operation, the terminal may perform a step of receiving an RRC message including a plurality of DRX configurations from a base station (S600).
[137] For example, the terminal receives an RRC message including a plurality of DRX configuration information. Each of the plurality of DRX configuration information may include at least one of the aforementioned DRX parameters. For example, the DRX configuration information may include the aforementioned DRX parameters, and the plurality of DRX configuration information may include DRX parameters, respectively. As another example, the DRX configuration information includes the aforementioned DRX parameters, DRX parameters common to the plurality of DRX configuration information are received as common DRX configuration information, and each DRX configuration information may include only values for different DRX parameters have.
Zhang and Hong are considered to be analogous because they pertain to performing DRX operations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the concept of messaging different configuration parameters as taught by Hong so as to potentially promote service and power saving performance of the device.
Further, Han discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending condition information to the terminal device, wherein the condition information is used by the terminal device to automatically resume a specified DRX configuration.
[0036] The method for DRX configuration provided by the present invention stops executing the old on-duration timer timely after applying the new cycle configuration, which not only saves the power consume of the user equipment UE, but also avoids the new OnDuration timer from being affected by the old OnDuration timer.
Note: Applicant’s specification states that a power saving state can lead to an automatic resumption (paragraph [0130]. This reference provides receiving DRX configurations from the base station (paragraph [0006]).
Han also discloses wherein the condition information comprises a preset DRX cycle number.
[0040] In the present embodiment, before applying the new cycle configuration, at time point 2, during the time period of preparing to apply the new cycle configuration, if, at time point 2, the on-duration timer has been started, then delay applying the new DRX cycle configuration, and not applying the new cycle configuration until the on-duration timer expires. As for this embodiment, the on-duration timer which has been started in the previous DRX cycle expires at time point 4, and then the new DRX cycle configuration begins to be applied at time point 4. According to the existent start condition of the OnDuration timer, the new OnDuration timer can be normally started in the new DRX cycle. The method for DRX configuration provide by the present invention avoids the problem that the new OnDuration timer cannot be started due to the operation of the old OnDuration timer, ensures synchronization of the DRX status between the eNodeB and the UE, and avoids waste of scheduling resources.
Note: Per Applicant’s specification in paragraph [0133], the resumption of a DRX configuration at the start of a first DRX cycle after accumulative timing stops is indicative of a preset DRX cycle number. Here, Figure 4 demonstrated where the configuration is carried between old and new DRX cycles after the first duration (“Old OnDuration”) timer stops.
Han further discloses the preset DRX cycle is used by the terminal device to resume the specified DRX configuration when the number of DRX cycles comprised in first duration is greater than or equal to the preset DRX cycle number; or resuming the specified DRX configuration at the start of the first DRX cycle after accumulative timing of first duration stops.
[0040] In the present embodiment, before applying the new cycle configuration, at time point 2, during the time period of preparing to apply the new cycle configuration, if, at time point 2, the on-duration timer has been started, then delay applying the new DRX cycle configuration, and not applying the new cycle configuration until the on-duration timer expires. As for this embodiment, the on-duration timer which has been started in the previous DRX cycle expires at time point 4, and then the new DRX cycle configuration begins to be applied at time point 4. According to the existent start condition of the OnDuration timer, the new OnDuration timer can be normally started in the new DRX cycle. The method for DRX configuration provide by the present invention avoids the problem that the new OnDuration timer cannot be started due to the operation of the old OnDuration timer, ensures synchronization of the DRX status between the eNodeB and the UE, and avoids waste of scheduling resources.
Note: The first duration stops at point 4 at Figure 4 in this reference (“Old OnDuration”), which can also be an accumulation of time, since a new “OnDuration timer” will start for a new DRX cycle (“first DRX cycle”). The configuration would continue with the new DRX cycle.
Zhang and Han are considered to be analogous because they pertain to performing DRX operations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the concept of sending condition information which consists of a preset duration to resume a specified DRX configuration as taught by Han so as to potentially promote service and power saving performance of the device.
Regarding Claim 3,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein
the DRX configuration information comprises one first parameter set and M
second parameter sets, wherein the first parameter set comprises a configured value of a fixed DRX parameter, the second parameter set comprises a configured value of a variable DRX parameter
[0183] In another example, the MAC CE contains a single field: index of new DRX configuration j, which has K bits (K<=4). Such a MAC control element can be denoted as DRX (Configuration) Command MAC control element (j).
[0184] For convenience, a DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (i, j) is used in the description below as an example. It will be understood that the described-herein DRX procedures can be implemented by using DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (j) as well.
[0185] In an example, to support multiple DRX configurations in NR, when a DRX cycle is configured and the DRX parameters are set according to the DRX configuration index i, the Active Time includes the time while, for example and without limitation.
[0186] onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimer or drx-ULRetransmission Timer or mac-ContentionResolution Timer is running.
and different second parameter sets comprise different configured values of the
variable DRX parameter
[0046] In some cases, a media access control (MAC) entity can be in one DRX state (e.g., single on/off time) at any given time. When a MAC entity (e.g., apparatus or UE) is awake, it may monitor the “PDCCH” occasion. A DRX configuration may be described by various configuration parameters, such as, for example and without limitation: an on duration time, an inactivity time, a retransmission time, a short DRX cycle, long DRX cycles. In NR, one or more DRX configurations may be supported. In some cases, the DL and UL HARQ RTT timer are not static values. MAC entity, apparatus, and UE may be used interchangeably herein, without limitation, unless otherwise specified.
and/or wherein there is an association relationship between target DRX parameters in the M DRX configurations and an active resource set; and the target DRX parameter is a DRX parameter used by the terminal device when performing a DRX operation on the active resource set, and the active resource set comprises a carrier or a bandwidth part BWP; and/or wherein the DRX configuration information comprises the M DRX configurations, and each DRX configuration carries a configuration index; or the DRX configuration information comprises one first parameter set and M second parameter sets, and each second parameter set carries a sub configuration index, wherein the first parameter set comprises a configured value of a fixed DRX parameter, the second parameter set comprises a configured value of a variable DRX parameter, and different second parameter sets comprise different configured values of the variable DRX parameter; and/or wherein the DRX configuration information comprises the M DRX
configurations, and there is a mapping relationship between locations of the DRX configurations in RRC signaling and configuration indices.
[0046] In some cases, a media access control (MAC) entity can be in one DRX state (e.g., single on/off time) at any given time. When a MAC entity (e.g., apparatus or UE) is awake, it may monitor the “PDCCH” occasion. A DRX configuration may be described by various configuration parameters, such as, for example and without limitation: an on duration time, an inactivity time, a retransmission time, a short DRX cycle, long DRX cycles. In NR, one or more DRX configurations may be supported. MAC entity, apparatus, and UE may be used interchangeably herein, without limitation, unless otherwise specified.
[0158] Turning now to NR-PDCCH based DRX aspects, in one example, a DRX parameter is set per MAC entity, which may be complemented by the support of component carrier (CC) BWP activation or deactivation. The gNB may control the UE DRX using a single DRX configuration parameter set per MAC entity at a time, complemented by BandWidth Part (BWP) activation or deactivation within an activated CC. The UE may be configured with multiple DRX configuration parameter sets but, in some cases, only one set is in use at any given point in time. The activation or de-activation of BWP may trigger an update or a reselection of the DRX configuration parameter set for DRX control.
Regarding Claim 4,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein
a default configuration is comprised in the M DRX configurations, and
the default configuration is used by the terminal device to perform a DRX operation
when activating a DRX state
[0008] In an example, an apparatus (e.g., UE), receives a configuration signal, and, based on the configuration signal, determines a processor interrupt time unit to be used for timing of a medium access control (MAC) procedure. The processor interrupt time unit may be based on at least one of: a capability of the apparatus, a minimum slot duration associated with the apparatus, or a minimum slot duration associated with a numerology. The capability of the apparatus may include a battery level associated with the apparatus, a category of the apparatus, or a power setting associated with the apparatus. The numerology may be an active uplink numerology, an active downlink numerology, a reference numerology, or a default numerology.
[0165] In another example, DRX uses multiple DRX configurations. The gNB may control DRX using multiple DRX configuration sets per MAC entity with one or more configuration sets active at a time. For example, the gNB may configure the UE through RRC signaling with more than one set of DRX configuration parameters. The gNB may then use a MAC CE to activate or deactivate one or more set of DRX configuration parameter sets.
[0166] Turning now to DRX configurations in support of various DRX embodiments described herein, multiple DRX configurations can be utilized in NR to better serve different use cases' trade-offs between power savings and latency. In an example, a single DRX configuration per MAC entity has various parameters, such as, for example and without limitation:
[0167] A shortOnDurationTimer: duration that the UE waits for, after waking up from DRX, to receive common group PDCCHs.
wherein the DRX configuration information comprises the M DRX configurations, and the default configuration is the first of the M DRX configurations that is present in RRC signaling; or the default configuration is a DRX configuration in the M DRX configurations that corresponds to a specified configuration index; or wherein the DRX configuration information carries a default index, and the default index is a configuration index of the default configuration; or the DRX configuration information comprises the M DRX configurations, each of the M DRX configurations comprises an index, the index is used to indicate whether the DRX configuration is the default configuration, the index in the default configuration is a default value, and the index in the rest of the DRX configurations is not the default value; or the default configuration comprises an index, the index is a default value, and the rest of the DRX configurations does not comprise the index.
[0064] In accordance with another example, the NR-UNIT (TTI* or processor interrupt time unit) may be the smallest of the possible slot (or mini-slot) durations across the numerologies with which the UE is configured. The configuration may be static or through semi-static RRC signaling.
[0069] In accordance with another example, the NR-UNIT (TTI* or processor interrupt time unit) may be the slot (or mini-slot) duration of a reference or default numerology.
Regarding Claim 5,
Claim 5 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in Claim 1, but from the perspective of the terminal device.
Zhang discloses: A method for configuring information, applied to a network device and comprising: receiving DRX configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the DRX configuration information is used by the terminal device to determine M DRX configurations, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 2
[0007] It is further recognized herein that, in NR, multiple DRX configurations may be supported, and L1/2 signaling (such as MAC CE based) can be used for dynamic DRX configuration switching.
[0163] The gNB may control DRX using two DRX configuration sets per MAC entity: one configuration set for the discontinuous monitoring of group common PDCCH and the other DRX configuration set for the discontinuous monitoring of UE specific PDCCH. The UE may start by monitoring the group PD[C]CH according to the group common PDCCH, then once the UE detects an upcoming UE specific PDCCH for the group common PDCCH based on the UE specific PDCCH scheduling information in the group common PDCCH, the UE may switch to using the DRX configuration set for the discontinuous monitoring of the UE specific PDCCH.
[0165] In another example, DRX uses multiple DRX configurations. The gNB may control DRX using multiple DRX configuration sets per MAC entity with one or more configuration sets active at a time. For example, the gNB may configure the UE through RRC signaling with more than one set of DRX configuration parameters.
wherein the DRX configuration information comprises at least a first DRX configuration and a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration comprises some or all of DRX parameters in the first DRX configuration, and wherein the first DRX configuration comprises a first parameter having a configured value absent from the second DRX configuration and a second DRX parameter having a configured value present in the second DRX configuration
[0164] In this example of DRX configuration, the component carriers of the same MAC entity may share the same two sets of DRX configuration parameters. For example, the two sets of DRX configuration parameters may be common to the component carriers (CC) of the same MAC entity. For an example case of connectivity with more than one MAC entity, the two sets of DRX parameters may be common to all MAC entities (i.e. coordinated or synchronized), completely independent (i.e. uncoordinated or unsynchronized) between the MAC entities, or partially common (i.e. partially coordinated or synchronized) between the MAC entities. For example, some of the DRX parameters are common while some others are not.
[0165] In another example, DRX uses multiple DRX configurations. The gNB may control DRX using multiple DRX configuration sets per MAC entity with one or more configuration sets active at a time. For example, the gNB may configure the UE through RRC signaling with more than one set of DRX configuration parameters. The gNB may then use a MAC CE to activate or deactivate one or more set of DRX configuration parameter sets. In this example of DRX configuration, the MAC configuration parameters may be common to all MAC (i.e. coordinated or synchronized), completely independent (i.e. uncoordinated or unsynchronized) between the MAC entities or between the component carriers or between numerologies of the same component carriers, or partially common (i.e. partially coordinated or synchronized) between the MAC entities or between the component carriers or between the numerologies of the same component carriers (i.e. some of the DRX parameters are common while some others are not).
[0248] It is recognized herein that, in some cases, when there is more than one active DRX parameter set, whether it is within the same CC across different numerologies, or between different CCs, or between different MAC entities, is that the values of the DRX parameters if different must be properly selected to avoid a situation where the UE never has the opportunity to sleep or has very little opportunity to sleep. As a result, even if the active DRX parameter set are different, there may be some coordination in the selection of the DRX parameter values for each DRX parameter set. To this end, in the case of multi-connectivity involving two different controlling RRC entities in the network side (for e.g. 5G dual connectivity or LTE-NR dual connectivity), there may be coordination between the RRC entities for the selection of the DRX parameter values.
[0355] In some examples, the DRX Command MAC control element or a Long DRX Command MAC control element is combined with BWP Activation Command MAC control element, or CC Activation Command MAC control element, or DRX Configuration parameter set Activation Command MAC control element. The network may use such a command to order a change of active DRX configuration parameter set at the time of activation of BWP, or activation of CC or activation of DRX configuration parameter set, respectively. Upon receiving such a combined MAC control element, the UE may activate the indicated NEW DRX configuration parameter(s), for example together with the indicated BWP(s) if the received MAC CE includes BWP Activation Command MAC control element, or together with the indicated CC(s) if the received MAC CE includes CC Activation Command MAC control element.
Zhang does not disclose the final limitations.
However, Hong discloses the configured value of the second DRX parameter in the second DRX configuration is different from a configured value of the second DRX parameter in the first DRX configuration.
[136] Referring to FIG. 6, in a method of performing a DRX operation, the terminal may perform a step of receiving an RRC message including a plurality of DRX configurations from a base station (S600).
[137] For example, the terminal receives an RRC message including a plurality of DRX configuration information. Each of the plurality of DRX configuration information may include at least one of the aforementioned DRX parameters. For example, the DRX configuration information may include the aforementioned DRX parameters, and the plurality of DRX configuration information may include DRX parameters, respectively. As another example, the DRX configuration information includes the aforementioned DRX parameters, DRX parameters common to the plurality of DRX configuration information are received as common DRX configuration information, and each DRX configuration information may include only values for different DRX parameters have.
Zhang and Hong are considered to be analogous because they pertain to performing DRX operations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the concept of messaging different configuration parameters as taught by Hong so as to potentially promote service and power saving performance of the device.
Further, Han discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving condition information from the network device, wherein the condition information is used by the terminal device to automatically resume a specified DRX configuration.
[0036] The method for DRX configuration provided by the present invention stops executing the old on-duration timer timely after applying the new cycle configuration, which not only saves the power consume of the user equipment UE, but also avoids the new OnDuration timer from being affected by the old OnDuration timer.
Note: Applicant’s specification states that a power saving state can lead to an automatic resumption (paragraph [0130]. This reference provides receiving DRX configurations from the base station (paragraph [0006]).
Han also discloses wherein the condition information comprises a preset DRX cycle number.
[0040] In the present embodiment, before applying the new cycle configuration, at time point 2, during the time period of preparing to apply the new cycle configuration, if, at time point 2, the on-duration timer has been started, then delay applying the new DRX cycle configuration, and not applying the new cycle configuration until the on-duration timer expires. As for this embodiment, the on-duration timer which has been started in the previous DRX cycle expires at time point 4, and then the new DRX cycle configuration begins to be applied at time point 4. According to the existent start condition of the OnDuration timer, the new OnDuration timer can be normally started in the new DRX cycle. The method for DRX configuration provide by the present invention avoids the problem that the new OnDuration timer cannot be started due to the operation of the old OnDuration timer, ensures synchronization of the DRX status between the eNodeB and the UE, and avoids waste of scheduling resources.
Note: Per Applicant’s specification in paragraph [0133], the resumption of a DRX configuration at the start of a first DRX cycle after accumulative timing stops is indicative of a preset DRX cycle number. Here, Figure 4 demonstrated where the configuration is carried between old and new DRX cycles after the first duration (“Old OnDuration”) timer stops.
Han further discloses after the receiving automatic-resume condition information, the method further comprises: resuming the specified DRX configuration when the number of DRX cycles comprised in first duration is greater than or equal to the preset DRX cycle number; or resuming the specified DRX configuration at the start of the first DRX cycle after accumulative timing of first duration stops, wherein the first duration is accumulated duration during which the terminal devices does not have uplink or downlink data transmission.
[0040] In the present embodiment, before applying the new cycle configuration, at time point 2, during the time period of preparing to apply the new cycle configuration, if, at time point 2, the on-duration timer has been started, then delay applying the new DRX cycle configuration, and not applying the new cycle configuration until the on-duration timer expires. As for this embodiment, the on-duration timer which has been started in the previous DRX cycle expires at time point 4, and then the new DRX cycle configuration begins to be applied at time point 4. According to the existent start condition of the OnDuration timer, the new OnDuration timer can be normally started in the new DRX cycle. The method for DRX configuration provide by the present invention avoids the problem that the new OnDuration timer cannot be started due to the operation of the old OnDuration timer, ensures synchronization of the DRX status between the eNodeB and the UE, and avoids waste of scheduling resources.
Note: The first duration stops at point 4 at Figure 4 in this reference (“Old OnDuration”), which can also be an accumulation of time, since a new “OnDuration timer” will start for a new DRX cycle (“first DRX cycle”). The configuration would continue with the new DRX cycle. Also note that with DRX implementation there is a possibility that no data is transmitted (see paragraph [0003] in this reference).
Zhang and Han are considered to be analogous because they pertain to performing DRX operations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the concept of sending condition information which consists of a preset duration to resume a specified DRX configuration as taught by Han so as to potentially promote service and power saving performance of the device.
Regarding Claim 7,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 5, further comprising: when performing a DRX operation based on the second DRX configuration, if determining to reuse a configured value, of a specified DRX parameter, in the first DRX configuration, performing the DRX operation based on the configured value of the specified DRX parameter and a configured value, of a DRX parameter, comprised in the second DRX configuration.
[0183] In another example, the MAC CE contains a single field: index of new DRX configuration j, which has K bits (K<=4). Such a MAC control element can be denoted as DRX (Configuration) Command MAC control element (j).
[0184] For convenience, a DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (i, j) is used in the description below as an example. It will be understood that the described-herein DRX procedures can be implemented by using DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (j) as well.
[0185] In an example, to support multiple DRX configurations in NR, when a DRX cycle is configured and the DRX parameters are set according to the DRX configuration index i, the Active Time includes the time while, for example and without limitation.
[0186] onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimer or drx-ULRetransmission Timer or mac-ContentionResolution Timer is running.
Regarding Claim 8,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein the DRX configuration information comprises one first parameter set and M second parameter sets, wherein the first parameter set comprises a configured value of a fixed DRX parameter, the second parameter set comprises a configured value of a variable DRX parameter
[0183] In another example, the MAC CE contains a single field: index of new DRX configuration j, which has K bits (K<=4). Such a MAC control element can be denoted as DRX (Configuration) Command MAC control element (j).
[0184] For convenience, a DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (i, j) is used in the description below as an example. It will be understood that the described-herein DRX procedures can be implemented by using DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (j) as well.
[0185] In an example, to support multiple DRX configurations in NR, when a DRX cycle is configured and the DRX parameters are set according to the DRX configuration index i, the Active Time includes the time while, for example and without limitation.
[0186] onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimer or drx-ULRetransmission Timer or mac-ContentionResolution Timer is running.
and different second parameter sets comprise different configured values of the
variable DRX parameter
[0046] In some cases, a media access control (MAC) entity can be in one DRX state (e.g., single on/off time) at any given time. When a MAC entity (e.g., apparatus or UE) is awake, it may monitor the “PDCCH” occasion. A DRX configuration may be described by various configuration parameters, such as, for example and without limitation: an on duration time, an inactivity time, a retransmission time, a short DRX cycle, long DRX cycles. In NR, one or more DRX configurations may be supported. In some cases, the DL and UL HARQ RTT timer are not static values. MAC entity, apparatus, and UE may be used interchangeably herein, without limitation, unless otherwise specified.
Regarding Claim 9,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 8, further comprising: performing a DRX operation based on the configured value of the fixed DRX parameter in the first parameter set and a configured value of a variable DRX parameter in a second parameter set corresponding to a specified sub configuration index.
[0352] In another example of explicit signaling of active DRX configuration parameter set, the gNB configures the UE with the DRX configuration set(s) to be used as active DRX configuration parameter set through MAC CE command. In accordance with the example, the UE is first configured with a set of DRX configuration parameter sets using RRC signaling. Each of the DRX configuration parameter set is indexed, or ordered, as part of the RRC message. In the next step, each of the DRX configuration set(s) is activated or deactivated through MAC CE command. The MAC CE command may consist of a header and an SDU. The header may include a logical channel dedicated to activation and deactivation of DRX configuration parameter set. The UE uses the logical channel in the MAC CE header to differentiate the DRX configuration parameter set activation or deactivation MAC CE command from other MAC CE commands. The MAC CE SDU includes a bit (for the activation or de-activation of a single DRX configuration parameter set) or a bitmap for the activation or deactivation of more than one DRX configuration parameter set. In an example, a bit value of 1 instructs the MAC entity to activate the corresponding DRX configuration parameter set, while a bit value of 0 instructs the UE to deactivate the corresponding DRX configuration parameter set. The UE may identify the DRX configuration parameter set corresponding to a bit in the MAC CE SDU based on the position of the bit in the SDU. For example, the UE may identify the DRX configuration parameter if the index or order of the DRX configuration parameter set matches the position of the bit in the MAC CE SDU.
Regarding Claim 10,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein after the receiving DRX
configuration information, the method further comprises: performing a DRX operation on an active resource set by using a target DRX parameter in the M DRX configurations, wherein there is an association relationship between the target DRX parameters and the active resource set, and the active resource set comprises a carrier or a BWP; and/or wherein the DRX configuration information comprises the M DRX configurations, and each DRX configuration carries a configuration index; or the DRX configuration information comprises one first parameter set and M second parameter sets, and each second parameter set carries a sub configuration index, wherein the first parameter set comprises a configured value of a fixed DRX parameter, the second parameter set comprises a configured value of a variable DRX parameter, and different second parameter sets comprise different configured values of the variable DRX parameter; or wherein the DRX configuration information comprises the M DRX configurations, and there is a mapping relationship between locations of the DRX configurations in RRC signaling and configuration indices.
[0158] Turning now to NR-PDCCH based DRX aspects, in one example, a DRX parameter is set per MAC entity, which may be complemented by the support of component carrier (CC) BWP activation or deactivation. The gNB may control the UE DRX using a single DRX configuration parameter set per MAC entity at a time, complemented by BandWidth Part (BWP) activation or deactivation within an activated CC. The UE may be configured with multiple DRX configuration parameter sets but, in some cases, only one set is in use at any given point in time. The activation or de-activation of BWP may trigger an update or a reselection of the DRX configuration parameter set for DRX control.
Regarding Claim 11,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein a default configuration is comprised in the M configurations, and the default configuration is used by the terminal device to perform a DRX operation when activating a DRX state.
[0008] In an example, an apparatus (e.g., UE), receives a configuration signal, and, based on the configuration signal, determines a processor interrupt time unit to be used for timing of a medium access control (MAC) procedure. The processor interrupt time unit may be based on at least one of: a capability of the apparatus, a minimum slot duration associated with the apparatus, or a minimum slot duration associated with a numerology. The capability of the apparatus may include a battery level associated with the apparatus, a category of the apparatus, or a power setting associated with the apparatus. The numerology may be an active uplink numerology, an active downlink numerology, a reference numerology, or a default numerology.
[0165] In another example, DRX uses multiple DRX configurations. The gNB may control DRX using multiple DRX configuration sets per MAC entity with one or more configuration sets active at a time. For example, the gNB may configure the UE through RRC signaling with more than one set of DRX configuration parameters. The gNB may then use a MAC CE to activate or deactivate one or more set of DRX configuration parameter sets.
[0166] Turning now to DRX configurations in support of various DRX embodiments described herein, multiple DRX configurations can be utilized in NR to better serve different use cases' trade-offs between power savings and latency. In an example, a single DRX configuration per MAC entity has various parameters, such as, for example and without limitation:
[0167] A shortOnDurationTimer: duration that the UE waits for, after waking up from DRX, to receive common group PDCCHs.
Regarding Claim 12,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 11, wherein the DRX configuration information comprises the M DRX configurations, and the default configuration is the first of the M DRX configurations that is present in RRC signaling; or the default configuration is a DRX configuration in the M DRX configurations that corresponds to a specified configuration index; and/or wherein the DRX configuration information carries a default index, and the default index is a configuration index of the default configuration; or the DRX configuration information comprises the M DRX configurations, each of the M DRX configurations comprises an index, the index is used to indicate whether the DRX configuration is the default configuration, the index in the default configuration is a default value, and the index in the rest of the DRX configurations is not the default value; or the default configuration comprises an index, the index is a default value, and the rest of the DRX configurations does not comprise the index.
[0064] In accordance with another example, the NR-UNIT (TTI* or processor interrupt time unit) may be the smallest of the possible slot (or mini-slot) durations across the numerologies with which the UE is configured. The configuration may be static or through semi-static RRC signaling.
[0069] In accordance with another example, the NR-UNIT (TTI* or processor interrupt time unit) may be the slot (or mini-slot) duration of a reference or default numerology.
Regarding Claim 13,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein when the DRX configuration information is received, the method further comprises: performing a DRX operation; and/or wherein when the DRX configuration information is received, the method further comprises: storing the M DRX configurations; and/or wherein the DRX configuration information carries a DRX state option, and the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform, when receiving the DRX configuration information, an operation corresponding to the DRX state option; wherein the DRX state option comprises activation, and when the DRX configuration information is received, the method further comprises: performing a DRX operation based on the DRX state option; or the DRX state option is deactivation, and when the DRX configuration information is received, the method further comprises: storing the M DRX configurations based on the DRX state option.
[0247] With respect to signaling DRX configuration changes, triggers in the network (NW) may be implicit or explicit, such that the network knows when to update the parameters and when a triggering event in the UE occurs. In an implicit example, the NW detects issues with UL beam pair and decides to initiate beam alignment/beam pairing, and adjust DRX configuration parameters accordingly in support of the beam pairing operation or as a result of the decision to use a new beam pair. In an explicit example, the UE explicitly provides feedback to the network to trigger a DRX configuration update or beam alignment/pairing update.
[0248] To this end, in the case of multi-connectivity involving two different controlling RRC entities in the network side (for e.g. 5G dual connectivity or LTE-NR dual connectivity), there may be coordination between the RRC entities for the selection of the DRX parameter values. In one example, the UE may communicate the DRX parameter set or sets received from RRC entity 1 to RRC entity 2.
[0096] In some examples, the RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the timers defined herein: drx-onDuration Timer, drx-Inactivity Timer, drx-Retransmission Timer, ULRetransmissionTimer, the drx-LongCycle, the value of drxStartOffset, and optionally the drxShortCycleTimer and shortDRX-Cycle. A HARQ RTT timer per DL HARQ process (except for the broadcast process) and UL HARQ RTT Timer per UL HARQ process may also be configured.
Regarding Claim 14,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein the DRX configuration information carries operation indication information, and the operation indication information is used to indicate that the terminal device performs at least one of the following operations after receiving the DRX configuration information: activating a DRX state at a first occasion, or performing a deactivation operation at a second occasion.
[0244] If a received DRX Command MAC control element carries a new DRX configuration index, it will indicate a DRX configuration switching, but will not put the UE into the DRX cycle (sleep). If a received DRX Command MAC control element carries the same DRX configuration index as the current index, it may put the UE into the DRX cycle (sleep) the same as the function of DRX Command MAC control element in LTE DRX procedures.
Regarding Claim 15,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 14, wherein after the receiving DRX configuration information, the method further comprises: performing a DRX operation at the first occasion; or storing the plurality of DRX configurations at the second occasion; or performing, at the second occasion, a deactivation operation on a DRX configuration of the second occasion, and performing a DRX operation at the first occasion, wherein the first occasion is later than the second occasion; or performing a DRX operation at the first occasion, and performing, at the second occasion, a deactivation operation on a DRX configuration of the second occasion, wherein the second occasion is later than the first occasion.
[0244] The proposed herein DRX aspects can be implemented using DRX Configuration Command MAC control element as well. If a received DRX Command MAC control element carries a new DRX configuration index, it will indicate a DRX configuration switching, but will not put the UE into the DRX cycle (sleep). If a received DRX Command MAC control element carries the same DRX configuration index as the current index, it may put the UE into the DRX cycle (sleep) the same as the function of DRX Command MAC control element in LTE DRX procedures.
Regarding Claim 17,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein after the receiving DRX
configuration information, the method further comprises: receiving reconfiguration indication information from the network device, wherein the reconfiguration indication information is used to reconfigure the M DRX configurations.
[0183] In another example, the MAC CE contains a single field: index of new DRX configuration j, which has K bits (K<=4). Such a MAC control element can be denoted as DRX (Configuration) Command MAC control element (j).
[0184] For convenience, a DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (i, j) is used in the description below as an example. It will be understood that the described-herein DRX procedures can be implemented by using DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (j) as well.
[0185] In an example, to support multiple DRX configurations in NR, when a DRX cycle is configured and the DRX parameters are set according to the DRX configuration index i, the Active Time includes the time while, for example and without limitation.
[0186] onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimer or drx-ULRetransmission Timer or mac-ContentionResolution Timer is running.
[0190] When DRX is configured, the MAC entity may, for each subframe:
[0213] UE stops using DRX parameters in the current DRX configuration i, and apply values of DRX parameters in the new DRX configuration j;
[0214] If onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer is running, the value may be reset or adjusted according to the new values in the new DRX configuration j. For example, value of running drx-InactivityTimer is adjusted to equal remaining value of drx-InactivityTimer+drx-InactivityTimer(j)-drx-InactivityTimer(i).
Regarding Claim 18,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 17, wherein the reconfiguration is full configuration, and the reconfiguration indication information comprises N DRX configurations, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and after the receiving reconfiguration indication information, the method further comprises: updating the M DRX configurations with the N DRX configurations; or wherein the reconfiguration is incremental configuration, and the reconfiguration indication information comprises L DRX configurations, wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and after the receiving reconfiguration indication information, the method further comprises: adding the L DRX configurations on a basis of the M DRX configurations; wherein the reconfiguration indication information further comprises at least one of a first configuration index or a second configuration index, the first configuration index is a configuration index corresponding to a to-be-retained DRX configuration in the M DRX configurations, and the second configuration index is a configuration index corresponding to a to-be-updated DRX configuration in the M DRX configurations; and after the receiving reconfiguration indication information, the method further comprises at least one of the following: retaining the DRX configuration corresponding to the first configuration index in the M DRX configurations; or updating, based on the L DRX configurations, the DRX configuration corresponding to the second configuration index in the M DRX configurations.
[0183] In another example, the MAC CE contains a single field: index of new DRX configuration j, which has K bits (K<=4). Such a MAC control element can be denoted as DRX (Configuration) Command MAC control element (j).
[0184] For convenience, a DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (i, j) is used in the description below as an example. It will be understood that the described-herein DRX procedures can be implemented by using DRX Configuration Command MAC control element (j) as well.
[0185] In an example, to support multiple DRX configurations in NR, when a DRX cycle is configured and the DRX parameters are set according to the DRX configuration index i, the Active Time includes the time while, for example and without limitation.
[0186] onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimer or drx-ULRetransmission Timer or mac-ContentionResolution Timer is running.
[0190] When DRX is configured, the MAC entity may, for each subframe:
[0213] UE stops using DRX parameters in the current DRX configuration i, and apply values of DRX parameters in the new DRX configuration j;
[0214] If onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer is running, the value may be reset or adjusted according to the new values in the new DRX configuration j. For example, value of running drx-InactivityTimer is adjusted to equal remaining value of drx-InactivityTimer+drx-InactivityTimer(j)-drx-InactivityTimer(i).
Regarding Claim 19,
Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein after the receiving DRX
configuration information, the method further comprises: receiving deconfiguration indication information from the network device, wherein the deconfiguration indication information is used to deconfigure at least one of the M DRX configurations; wherein the deconfiguration indication information comprises a third configuration index, and the third configuration index is a configuration index corresponding to a to-be-deleted DRX configuration in the M DRX configurations; and after the receiving deconfiguration indication information, the method further comprises: deleting the DRX configuration corresponding to the third configuration index in the M DRX configurations.
[0158] Turning now to NR-PDCCH based DRX aspects, in one example, a DRX parameter is set per MAC entity, which may be complemented by the support of component carrier (CC) BWP activation or deactivation. The gNB may control the UE DRX using a single DRX configuration parameter set per MAC entity at a time, complemented by BandWidth Part (BWP) activation or deactivation within an activated CC. The UE may be configured with multiple DRX configuration parameter sets but, in some cases, only one set is in use at any given point in time. The activation or de-activation of BWP may trigger an update or a reselection of the DRX configuration parameter set for DRX control.
[0165] In another example, DRX uses multiple DRX configurations. The gNB may control DRX using multiple DRX configuration sets per MAC entity with one or more configuration sets active at a time. For example, the gNB may configure the UE through RRC signaling with more than one set of DRX configuration parameters. The gNB may then use a MAC CE to activate or deactivate one or more set of DRX configuration parameter sets.
[0352] Each of the DRX configuration parameter set is indexed, or ordered, as part of the RRC message. In the next step, each of the DRX configuration set(s) is activated or deactivated through MAC CE command. The MAC CE command may consist of a header and an SDU. The header may include a logical channel dedicated to activation and deactivation of DRX configuration parameter set. The UE uses the logical channel in the MAC CE header to differentiate the DRX configuration parameter set activation or deactivation MAC CE command from other MAC CE commands. The MAC CE SDU includes a bit (for the activation or de-activation of a single DRX configuration parameter set) or a bitmap for the activation or deactivation of more than one DRX configuration parameter set. In an example, a bit value of 1 instructs the MAC entity to activate the corresponding DRX configuration parameter set, while a bit value of 0 instructs the UE to deactivate the corresponding DRX configuration parameter set.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Zhang discloses: A terminal device, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the computer program is executed by the processor.
[0446] As shown in FIG. 27B, the example WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad/indicators 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and other peripherals 138.
receiving DRX configuration information from a network device, wherein the DRX configuration information is used by the terminal device to determine M DRX configurations, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 2
[0007] It is further recognized herein that, in NR, multiple DRX configurations may be supported, and L1/2 signaling (such as MAC CE based) can be used for dynamic DRX configuration switching.
[0163] The gNB may control DRX using two DRX configuration sets per MAC entity: one configuration set for the discontinuous monitoring of group common PDCCH and the other DRX configuration set for the discontinuous monitoring of UE specific PDCCH. The UE may start by monitoring the group PD[C]CH according to the group common PDCCH, then once the UE detects an upcoming UE specific PDCCH for the group common PDCCH based on the UE specific PDCCH scheduling information in the group common PDCCH, the UE may switch to using the DRX configuration set for the discontinuous monitoring of the UE specific PDCCH.
[0165] In another example, DRX uses multiple DRX configurations. The gNB may control DRX using multiple DRX configuration sets per MAC entity with one or more configuration sets active at a time. For example, the gNB may configure the UE through RRC signaling with more than one set of DRX configuration parameters.
wherein the DRX configuration information comprises at least a first DRX configuration and a second DRX configuration, the second DRX configuration comprises some or all of DRX parameters in the first DRX configuration, and wherein the first DRX configuration comprises a first parameter having a configured value absent from the second DRX configuration and a second DRX parameter having a configured value present in the second DRX configuration
[0164] In this example of DRX configuration, the component carriers of the same MAC entity may share the same two sets of DRX configuration parameters. For example, the two sets of DRX configuration parameters may be common to the component carriers (CC) of the same MAC entity. For an example case of connectivity with more than one MAC entity, the two sets of DRX parameters may be common to all MAC entities (i.e. coordinated or synchronized), completely independent (i.e. uncoordinated or unsynchronized) between the MAC entities, or partially common (i.e. partially coordinated or synchronized) between the MAC entities. For example, some of the DRX parameters are common while some others are not.
[0165] In another example, DRX uses multiple DRX configurations. The gNB may control DRX using multiple DRX configuration sets per MAC entity with one or more configuration sets active at a time. For example, the gNB may configure the UE through RRC signaling with more than one set of DRX configuration parameters. The gNB may then use a MAC CE to activate or deactivate one or more set of DRX configuration parameter sets. In this example of DRX configuration, the MAC configuration parameters may be common to all MAC (i.e. coordinated or synchronized), completely independent (i.e. uncoordinated or unsynchronized) between the MAC entities or between the component carriers or between numerologies of the same component carriers, or partially common (i.e. partially coordinated or synchronized) between the MAC entities or between the component carriers or between the numerologies of the same component carriers (i.e. some of the DRX parameters are common while some others are not).
[0248] It is recognized herein that, in some cases, when there is more than one active DRX parameter set, whether it is within the same CC across different numerologies, or between different CCs, or between different MAC entities, is that the values of the DRX parameters if different must be properly selected to avoid a situation where the UE never has the opportunity to sleep or has very little opportunity to sleep. As a result, even if the active DRX parameter set are different, there may be some coordination in the selection of the DRX parameter values for each DRX parameter set. To this end, in the case of multi-connectivity involving two different controlling RRC entities in the network side (for e.g. 5G dual connectivity or LTE-NR dual connectivity), there may be coordination between the RRC entities for the selection of the DRX parameter values.
[0355] In some examples, the DRX Command MAC control element or a Long DRX Command MAC control element is combined with BWP Activation Command MAC control element, or CC Activation Command MAC control element, or DRX Configuration parameter set Activation Command MAC control element. The network may use such a command to order a change of active DRX configuration parameter set at the time of activation of BWP, or activation of CC or activation of DRX configuration parameter set, respectively. Upon receiving such a combined MAC control element, the UE may activate the indicated NEW DRX configuration parameter(s), for example together with the indicated BWP(s) if the received MAC CE includes BWP Activation Command MAC control element, or together with the indicated CC(s) if the received MAC CE includes CC Activation Command MAC control element.
Zhang does not disclose the final limitations.
However, Hong discloses the configured value of the second DRX parameter in the second DRX configuration is different from a configured value of the second DRX parameter in the first DRX configuration.
[136] Referring to FIG. 6, in a method of performing a DRX operation, the terminal may perform a step of receiving an RRC message including a plurality of DRX configurations from a base station (S600).
[137] For example, the terminal receives an RRC message including a plurality of DRX configuration information. Each of the plurality of DRX configuration information may include at least one of the aforementioned DRX parameters. For example, the DRX configuration information may include the aforementioned DRX parameters, and the plurality of DRX configuration information may include DRX parameters, respectively. As another example, the DRX configuration information includes the aforementioned DRX parameters, DRX parameters common to the plurality of DRX configuration information are received as common DRX configuration information, and each DRX configuration information may include only values for different DRX parameters have.
Zhang and Hong are considered to be analogous because they pertain to performing DRX operations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the concept of messaging different configuration parameters as taught by Hong so as to potentially promote service and power saving performance of the device.
Further, Han discloses wherein the computer program is executed by the processor to further implement: receiving condition information from the network device, wherein the condition information is used by the terminal device to automatically resume a specified DRX configuration.
[0036] The method for DRX configuration provided by the present invention stops executing the old on-duration timer timely after applying the new cycle configuration, which not only saves the power consume of the user equipment UE, but also avoids the new OnDuration timer from being affected by the old OnDuration timer.
Note: Applicant’s specification states that a power saving state can lead to an automatic resumption (paragraph [0130]. This reference provides receiving DRX configurations from the base station (paragraph [0006]).
Han also discloses wherein the condition information comprises a preset DRX cycle number.
[0040] In the present embodiment, before applying the new cycle configuration, at time point 2, during the time period of preparing to apply the new cycle configuration, if, at time point 2, the on-duration timer has been started, then delay applying the new DRX cycle configuration, and not applying the new cycle configuration until the on-duration timer expires. As for this embodiment, the on-duration timer which has been started in the previous DRX cycle expires at time point 4, and then the new DRX cycle configuration begins to be applied at time point 4. According to the existent start condition of the OnDuration timer, the new OnDuration timer can be normally started in the new DRX cycle. The method for DRX configuration provide by the present invention avoids the problem that the new OnDuration timer cannot be started due to the operation of the old OnDuration timer, ensures synchronization of the DRX status between the eNodeB and the UE, and avoids waste of scheduling resources.
Note: Per Applicant’s specification in paragraph [0133], the resumption of a DRX configuration at the start of a first DRX cycle after accumulative timing stops is indicative of a preset DRX cycle number. Here, Figure 4 demonstrated where the configuration is carried between old and new DRX cycles after the first duration (“Old OnDuration”) timer stops.
Han further discloses after the receiving automatic-resume condition information, the computer program is executed by the processor to further implement: resuming the specified DRX configuration when the number of DRX cycles comprised in first duration is greater than or equal to the preset DRX cycle number; or resuming the specified DRX configuration at the start of the first DRX cycle after accumulative timing of first duration stops, wherein the first duration is accumulated duration during which the terminal devices does not have uplink or downlink data transmission.
[0040] In the present embodiment, before applying the new cycle configuration, at time point 2, during the time period of preparing to apply the new cycle configuration, if, at time point 2, the on-duration timer has been started, then delay applying the new DRX cycle configuration, and not applying the new cycle configuration until the on-duration timer expires. As for this embodiment, the on-duration timer which has been started in the previous DRX cycle expires at time point 4, and then the new DRX cycle configuration begins to be applied at time point 4. According to the existent start condition of the OnDuration timer, the new OnDuration timer can be normally started in the new DRX cycle. The method for DRX configuration provide by the present invention avoids the problem that the new OnDuration timer cannot be started due to the operation of the old OnDuration timer, ensures synchronization of the DRX status between the eNodeB and the UE, and avoids waste of scheduling resources.
Note: The first duration stops at point 4 at Figure 4 in this reference (“Old OnDuration”), which can also be an accumulation of time, since a new “OnDuration timer” will start for a new DRX cycle (“first DRX cycle”). The configuration would continue with the new DRX cycle. Also note that with DRX implementation there is a possibility that no data is transmitted (see paragraph [0003] in this reference).
Zhang and Han are considered to be analogous because they pertain to performing DRX operations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the concept of sending condition information which consists of a preset duration to resume a specified DRX configuration as taught by Han so as to potentially promote service and power saving performance of the device.
Regarding Claim 21,
Zhang discloses: A network device, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the computer program is executed by the processor to implement steps of the method according to claim 1.
[0484] It is understood that any or all of the apparatuses, systems, methods and processes described herein may be embodied in the form of computer executable instructions (e.g., program code) stored on a computer-readable storage medium which instructions, when executed by a processor, such as processors 118 or 91, cause the processor to perform and/or implement the systems, methods and processes described herein.
Regarding Claim 22,
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in Claim 21.
Regarding Claim 23,
Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in Claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on October 14, 2025 is acknowledged.
The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn.
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1, 5, and 20.
No claims were canceled and there are no new claims.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15, and 17-23 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411