DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. The Specification filed 02/28/2025, paragraph [0002], claims priority to prior-filed applications, as produced herein below:
[0002] This application is a continuation of U.S. Non-Provisional Application No.
15/022,353, entitled "ELECTRICAL DISCHARGE IRRIGATOR APPARATUS AND METHOD," filed March 16, 2016, which is a 371 of International Application No. PCT/US2014/019474, entitled "ELECTRICAL DISCHARGE IRRIGATOR APPARATUS AND METHOD," filed February 28, 2014, which is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/US2013/060943, entitled "ELECTRICAL DISCHARGE IRRIGATOR APPARATUS AND METHOD," filed September 20, 2013, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 61/699,568, filed September 11, 2012.
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c), as indicated in the Specification paragraph [0002], is acknowledged. However, Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C.119(e) as follows:
The application currently claims: PCT/US2013/060943 filed September 20, 2013, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 61/699,568, filed September 11, 2012.
However, note that PCT/US2013/060943 was filed on 09/20/2013, which was not within twelve months of the filing date of 09/11/2012 of the U.S. Provisional Application No. 61/699,568. Therefore, application PCT ‘943 is not entitled to the priority benefit of the Provisional ‘568 pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 111(b)(5) and 37 CFR 1.78(a)(1)(i).
Applicant is required to correct the priority benefit claim accordingly.
The application currently claims: PCT/US2014/019474 filed February 28, 2014, which is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/US2013/060943 filed September 20, 2013.
However, note that PCT ‘474 (02/28/2014) contains Figs. 1-3 which were not disclosed in PCT ‘943 (09/20/2013). Therefore, application PCT ‘474 appears to be a Continuation-In-Part of application PCT ‘943.
Applicant is required to correct the priority benefit claim accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 17, and 19-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baker (US 7,678,069).
Regarding claim 1, Baker discloses an electrical discharge irrigation device 411 (Fig. 20), comprising: a power source 428; a circuit coupled to the power source (column 21 lines 10-24 “the power supply generally comprises a main or mother board containing general electrical components… and a daughter board containing application specific current-limiting circuitry…”; and an output tip 410 coupled to the circuit (Fig. 20; column 27 lines 7-17).
Referring to Figs. 20-22, the output tip 410 is shown comprising: a first end and a second end and a longitudinal axis L4 extending between them; an electrode 464 located in an interior space of the output tip configured to receive an electrical charge from the circuit and to release an electric discharge; and a ground return 462 comprising an inside surface of the output tip, wherein a space between the electrode and the ground return comprises a conductive medium, the conductive medium being in contact with the electrode and the ground return to produce the electric discharge (Figs. 20-22, column 27 lines 6-36 “Electrically conducting fluid will continually resupplied to maintain the conduction path between return electrode 462 and electrode terminals 464”).
Baker in Fig. 27C (annotated herein below) discloses the same elements as Figs. 20-22. Fig. 27C further discloses an outside surface formed of 578 and 518, wherein at least one aperture (side fluid paths 583) extending through such combined outside surface 578/518; and conductive fluid exits the output through the at least one side aperture 583 and through a central opening 583 at an apex of the output tip (column 30 lines 40-67; column 31 lines 1-21).
[AltContent: textbox (outside surface 578/518)][AltContent: textbox (electrode )][AltContent: textbox (Opening at apex)]
As to claim 2, Baker further discloses the electrical discharge creates cavitation within the first conductive medium (column 3 lines 61-67 “voltage may vaporize the electrically conductive fluid and generate plasma cavitation”).
As to claim 3, Baker further discloses wherein sonoluminescence occurs responsive to the cavitation, and wherein light is visible to an operator of the device during operation of the device (col. 33 lines 25-44 “when the electrode terminals are activated in the conductive material, ions in the plasma fluoresce”).
As to claim 5, Baker discloses the output tip can be utilized to create an incision 588 in tissue when at least one of the output tip or the conductive medium is positioned adjacent to the tissue 552 (Fig. 27; column 31 lines 10-13 “tissue 552 becomes ablated or transected in zone 588”).
As to claim 6, Baker discloses the output tip further comprising a pressure control mechanism of control valve 604, metering pump, or flow regulator (column 32, lines 16 29 “a control valve 604 … to allow manual control… Alternatively, a metering pump or flow regulator may be used to precisely control the flow rate of the conductive fluid”)
As to claim 7, Baker further discloses wherein the output tip is comprised of a malleable material (column 30 lines 10-13 “tubular member 578… comprises an epoxy or a silicone-based material”; such epoxy or silicone-base material are “malleable”).
As to claim 8, Baker discloses wherein the electrode opposes the inner surface at a distance, wherein the electrode is cylindrical, wherein the inner surface is cylindrical, and wherein the distance is equal between the electrode and the inner surface when measured from the electrode to the inner surface around the circumference of the electrode (Fig. 27A shows the electrodes 504 are cylindrical in shape and are spaced equidistantly between inner surfaces 512 and 518).
As to claim 9, Baker discloses wherein the output tip further comprises an insulating layer in contact with one of the electrode and the ground return (Fig. 27A: insulating layer 578, in contact with electrodes 504), wherein the insulating layer comprises at least one perforation (insulating layer 578 is perforated or broken at 502), and wherein the at least one perforation defines an area for electrical coupling between the electrode and the ground return (col. 30 line 50 – col. 31, line 10: electrical coupling occurs through conductive medium 550 within the perforation past layer 502).
Regarding claims 17-20, Baker discloses the output tip substantially as claimed as detailed above with respect to claims 1-3, 5-9. Particularly, Baker discloses the output tip 410 comprising: a first end and a second end and a longitudinal axis L4 extending between them; an electrode 464 located in an interior space of the output tip configured to receive an electrical charge from the circuit and to release an electric discharge; and a ground return 462 comprising an inside surface of the output tip, wherein a space between the electrode and the ground return comprises a conductive medium , the conductive medium being in contact with the electrode and the ground return to produce the electric discharge (Figs. 20-22, column 27 lines 6-36 “Electrically conducting fluid will continually resupplied to maintain the conduction path between return electrode 462 and electrode terminals 464”).
Regarding the newly recited limitations, Baker in Fig. 27C shows three fluid paths 583; one of the exterior side fluid paths 583 is considered to be equivalent to the at least one vent extending through the outside surface 518 of the output tip as claimed. The larger central fluid path 583 is considered to be equivalent to the at least one opening wherein the conductive medium 550 exits the output tip through the at least one opening 583 in the tip (Figs. 27-28, particularly Fig. 27C; column 30 lines 40-67; column 31 lines 1-21).
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 17-20, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,123,168 in view of Baker (7,678,069).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more element(s) and are thus much specific.
Regarding the limitation(s) “an outside surface of the output tip comprising at least one aperture extending through the outside surface of the output tip, wherein the conductive medium exits the output tip through the aperture and through an opening at an apex of the tip” in the application claims 1 and 17, the patent claim 1 recites the equivalent “two or more vents extending through the outside surface of the output tip”.
However, the patent claim 1 does not recite “an opening at an apex of the tip”. Nonetheless, note that Baker Fig. 27 shows the conductive medium 550 exits through apertures 583 on the exterior surface and through the central opening 583 at an apex of the tip. Such conductive medium exiting the apertures and the opening at an apex of the tip is well known as shown by Baker et al.
Furthermore, although the patent claims fail to recite some limitations, e.g. “a power source”, “a circuit…”, “a ground return comprising an inside surface”, note that Baker discloses all such limitations recited in the application claims as detailed in the above ground(s) of rejection under Baker. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claims to include a power source, a circuit, the ground return disposed on an inside surface of the output tip, and other elements and their arrangement as recited in the application claims, in view of Baker’s teaching of such well known suitable alternative elements and/or their arrangements within an electrical discharge irrigation device.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments regarding the prior art Baker failing to teach “at least one aperture extending through the outside surface of the output tip…” have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
It is maintained that Baker in Fig. 27C (annotated above) discloses an outside surface toward the apex portion of the output tip is formed of members 578 and 518, wherein at least one aperture (side fluid paths 583) extending through such outside surface 578/518; and conductive fluid exits the output through the at least one side aperture 583 and through a central opening 583 at an apex of the output tip (column 30 lines 40-67; column 31 lines 1-21).
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner HAO D. MAI whose telephone number is (571) 270-3002. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:00-4:30. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eric Rosen can be reached on (571) 270-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HAO D MAI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772