DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/30/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-18 have been amended.
Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (US 20150296074 A1) in view of Marshall et al. (US 20180316573 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shah teaches a first client device (primary computing device 101, Fig. 1-8) configured to be in a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) network for use with a Wi-Fi network device that provides the Wi-Fi network at a premises to monitor a second client device in the Wi-Fi network and a third client device in the Wi-Fi network (A wireless station 306 may be, for example, a local WiFi base station, wireless personal area network, [0040]), the first client device comprising:
a memory (ROM 810); and
a processor (812) configured to execute instructions stored on the memory to cause the first client device to:
associate, by the processor of the first client device, with the Wi-Fi network device to communicate with the Wi-Fi network device (For example, primary computing device 101 may be connected to server 103 by network 302, [0039]);
access, by the processor of the first client device, a host table stored at the Wi- Fi network device (Primary computing device 101 is configured to use the token to query (322) server 103 for the account information. Server 103 then provides (324) the account information (e.g. host table) to primary computing device, [0046] and On selection (116) of one or more of the account-linked devices indicated by server 103, primary computing device 101 may send information about itself to server 103 to be stored in connection with the user account and/or forwarded to the selected device(s)… primary computing device 101 may also provide a primary wireless signature for itself and/or other pairing information, [0026]);
identify, by the processor of the first client device, the second client device and the third client device based on the host table listing the second client device and the third client device (e.g. new device 506 of Fig. 5A; identification of secondary computing device 102 (based on the stored wireless signature) may occur before or in connection with pairing of the devices, [0031]);
create, by the processor of the first client device, a monitored devices list of client devices associated with the Wi-Fi network device based on the host table (During the foregoing registration process, a new user account 328 (“User 2”) is added to primary computing device 101 when the account token is received by primary computing device 101 and used to retrieve the account information from server 103 (see also, e.g., FIG. 5C), [0047]),
wherein the monitored devices list is stored in the memory of the first client device (a new user account 328 (“User 2”) is added to primary computing device 101, [0047], Fig. 5C);
add, by the processor of the first client device, the second client device to the monitored devices list of the first client device (a new user account 328 (“User 2”) is added to primary computing device 101, [0047], Fig. 5C); and
monitor, by the processor of the first client device, the second client device based on the monitored devices list, wherein the monitoring the second client device comprises:
determining, by the processor of the first client device and based on the host table, that the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device through the Wi-Fi network (the devices are configured to communicate with each other over a wireless personal area network. Accordingly, primary computing device 101 monitors the presence of secondary computing device (702). For example, primary computing device 101 may detect the wireless signature of secondary computing device 102 in a paired device list associated with the wireless hardware of primary computing device 101, and then monitor the paired device list for the wireless signature of secondary computing device 102, [0065]).
However, Shah does not clearly teach wherein the host table lists the second client device, a second client device presence information indicating whether the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device, and the third client device and providing, by the processor of the first client device, an indication when the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Marshall teaches wherein the host table lists the second client device, a second client device presence information indicating whether the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device , and the third client device (The server 140 may be programmed to generate and display a client device display 200, as illustrated by FIG. 2 in an example embodiment. The client devices display 200 may feature a list of recent client devices that have connected to a monitored network. In one embodiment, the list may be a grid view featuring panels 202 that graphically depict each client device 110 and feature detailed information about each client device, [0043] and Fig. 2);
providing, by the processor of the first client device, an indication when the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device (the server 140 may be programmed, in response to input selecting a particular client device 110 from the client device display 200, to display a graphical timeline detailing the network connection history of the particular client device, [0045] and For example, marker 330A indicates when the client device 110 connected to a first AP 120 that used the 5.0 GHz band at 12:00 on April 5, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring of Shah with the connection information of Marshall to provide improved computer and network connection diagnostic efficiency by providing an annotated client connection history in the form of an infographic timeline that integrates detailed information about wireless connections and a health index into a single rich text view as suggested, Marshall [0023].
Regarding claim 7, Shah teaches a method of using a first client device in a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) network with a Wi-Fi network device that provides the Wi-Fi network at premises to monitor a second client device in the Wi-Fi network and a third client device the Wi-Fi network (A wireless station 306 may be, for example, a local WiFi base station, wireless personal area network, [0040]), the method comprising:
associating, via a processor of the first client device which is configured to execute instructions stored on a memory of the first client device, with the Wi-Fi network device to communicate with the Wi-Fi network device (For example, primary computing device 101 may be connected to server 103 by network 302, [0039]);
accessing, via the processor of the first client device, a host table stored at the Wi-Fi network device (Primary computing device 101 is configured to use the token to query (322) server 103 for the account information. Server 103 then provides (324) the account information (e.g. host table) to primary computing device, [0046] and On selection (116) of one or more of the account-linked devices indicated by server 103, primary computing device 101 may send information about itself to server 103 to be stored in connection with the user account and/or forwarded to the selected device(s)… primary computing device 101 may also provide a primary wireless signature for itself and/or other pairing information, [0026]);
identifying, via the processor of the first client device, the second client device and the third client device based on the host table listing the second client device and the third client device (identification of secondary computing device 102 (based on the stored wireless signature) may occur before or in connection with pairing of the devices, [0031]);
creating, via the processor of the first client device, a monitored devices list of client devices associated with the Wi-Fi network device based on the host table, wherein the monitored devices list is stored in the memory of the first client device (During the foregoing registration process, a new user account 328 (“User 2”) is added to primary computing device 101 when the account token is received by primary computing device 101 and used to retrieve the account information from server 103 (see also, e.g., FIG. 5C), [0047]);
adding, via the processor of the first client device, the second client device to the monitored devices list of the first client device (a new user account 328 (“User 2”) is added to primary computing device 101, [0047], Fig. 5C); and
monitoring, via the processor of the first client device, the second client device based on the monitored devices list, wherein the monitoring the second client device comprises:
determining, via the processor of the first client device, based on the host table, whether the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device through the Wi-Fi network (the devices are configured to communicate with each other over a wireless personal area network. Accordingly, primary computing device 101 monitors the presence of secondary computing device (702). For example, primary computing device 101 may detect the wireless signature of secondary computing device 102 in a paired device list associated with the wireless hardware of primary computing device 101, and then monitor the paired device list for the wireless signature of secondary computing device 102, [0065]).
However, Shah does not clearly teach wherein the host table lists the second client device, a second client device presence information indicating whether the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device, and the third client device and providing, by the processor of the first client device, an indication when the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Marshall teaches wherein the host table lists the second client device, a second client device presence information indicating whether the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device , and the third client device (The server 140 may be programmed to generate and display a client device display 200, as illustrated by FIG. 2 in an example embodiment. The client devices display 200 may feature a list of recent client devices that have connected to a monitored network. In one embodiment, the list may be a grid view featuring panels 202 that graphically depict each client device 110 and feature detailed information about each client device, [0043] and Fig. 2);
and the third client device and providing, by the processor of the first client device, an indication when the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device (the server 140 may be programmed, in response to input selecting a particular client device 110 from the client device display 200, to display a graphical timeline detailing the network connection history of the particular client device, [0045] and For example, marker 330A indicates when the client device 110 connected to a first AP 120 that used the 5.0 GHz band at 12:00 on April 5, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring of Shah with the connection information of Marshall to provide improved computer and network connection diagnostic efficiency by providing an annotated client connection history in the form of an infographic timeline that integrates detailed information about wireless connections and a health index into a single rich text view as suggested, Marshall [0023].
Regarding claim 13, Shah teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium (device of Fig. 8, network of Fig. 3) having computer-readable instructions stored thereon, the computer-readable instructions being capable of being read by a processor of a first client device in a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) network for use with a Wi-Fi network device that provides the Wi-Fi network at a premises to monitor a second client device in the Wi-Fi network and a third client device in the Wi-Fi network, wherein the computer-readable instructions being capable of instructing the processor of the first client device to perform a method comprising:
associating, via the processor of the first client device, with the Wi-Fi network device to communicate with the Wi-Fi network device (For example, primary computing device 101 may be connected to server 103 by network 302, [0039]);
accessing, via the processor of the first client device, a host table stored at the Wi-Fi network device (Primary computing device 101 is configured to use the token to query (322) server 103 for the account information. Server 103 then provides (324) the account information (e.g. host table) to primary computing device, [0046] and On selection (116) of one or more of the account-linked devices indicated by server 103, primary computing device 101 may send information about itself to server 103 to be stored in connection with the user account and/or forwarded to the selected device(s)… primary computing device 101 may also provide a primary wireless signature for itself and/or other pairing information, [0026]);
identifying, via the processor of the first client device, the second client device and the third client device based on the host table listing the second client device and the third client device (identification of secondary computing device 102 (based on the stored wireless signature) may occur before or in connection with pairing of the devices, [0031]);
creating, via the processor of the first client device, a monitored devices list of client devices associated with the Wi-Fi network device based on the host table, wherein the monitored devices list is stored in a memory of the first client device (During the foregoing registration process, a new user account 328 (“User 2”) is added to primary computing device 101 when the account token is received by primary computing device 101 and used to retrieve the account information from server 103 (see also, e.g., FIG. 5C), [0047]);
adding, via the processor of the first client device, the second client device to the monitored devices list of the first client device (a new user account 328 (“User 2”) is added to primary computing device 101, [0047], Fig. 5C); and
monitoring, via the processor of the first client device, the second client device based on the monitored devices list, wherein the monitoring the second client device comprises:
determining, via the processor of the first client device, based on the host tablet that the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device through the Wi-Fi network (the devices are configured to communicate with each other over a wireless personal area network. Accordingly, primary computing device 101 monitors the presence of secondary computing device (702). For example, primary computing device 101 may detect the wireless signature of secondary computing device 102 in a paired device list associated with the wireless hardware of primary computing device 101, and then monitor the paired device list for the wireless signature of secondary computing device 102, [0065]).
However, Shah does not clearly teach wherein the host table lists the second client device, a second client device presence information indicating whether the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device, and the third client device and providing, by the processor of the first client device, an indication when the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Marshall teaches wherein the host table lists the second client device, a second client device presence information indicating whether the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device , and the third client device (The server 140 may be programmed to generate and display a client device display 200, as illustrated by FIG. 2 in an example embodiment. The client devices display 200 may feature a list of recent client devices that have connected to a monitored network. In one embodiment, the list may be a grid view featuring panels 202 that graphically depict each client device 110 and feature detailed information about each client device, [0043] and Fig. 2);
and the third client device and providing, by the processor of the first client device, an indication when the second client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device (the server 140 may be programmed, in response to input selecting a particular client device 110 from the client device display 200, to display a graphical timeline detailing the network connection history of the particular client device, [0045] and For example, marker 330A indicates when the client device 110 connected to a first AP 120 that used the 5.0 GHz band at 12:00 on April 5, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring of Shah with the connection information of Marshall to provide improved computer and network connection diagnostic efficiency by providing an annotated client connection history in the form of an infographic timeline that integrates detailed information about wireless connections and a health index into a single rich text view as suggested, Marshall [0023].
Claims 2, 4, 8, 10, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Marshall and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20140230074 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the client device of claim 1.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach wherein said processor is configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said client device additionally to indicate, in a state where the second client device is associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device associated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein said processor is configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said client device additionally to indicate, in a state where the second client device is associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device associated with the Wi-Fi network device (The recently connected device list may include items, such as a device-friendly name, an IP address, a port number, the last connected time, and the last connected network access type regarding each device, Lee [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the managing client device method and apparatus of Shah and Marshall with the device discovery of Lee to provide a method and a system to discover the intermediate device IMD connected to the network and manage the state of the intermediate device as suggested, Lee [0062].
Regarding claim 4, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the client device of claim 1.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach wherein said processor is configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said client device additionally to: not add the third client device to the monitored devices list; not determine whether the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device; and not provide an indication when the third client device is currently associated with the Wi- Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein said processor is configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said client device additionally to: not add the third client device to the monitored devices list (Assuming that the second intermediate device IMD2 is not present in the recently connected devices, the second intermediate device IMD2 is in a state in which it has not yet been discovered by the client device CD, Lee [0090]); not determine whether the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device (For example, since the first intermediate device IMD1 that has transmitted the unicast device discovery response message is a currently active state, the client device CD may update that the first intermediate device IMD1 is in the active state into the active device list, Lee [0087]; one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that this limitation may not be executed since the second device has not be discovered and is not included in the list); and not provide an indication when the third client device is currently associated with the Wi- Fi network device (The local application 110 of the client device CD may display the updated active device list or the updated recently connected device list on a screen of the client device CD, Lee[0088]; the device has not been discovered -not in the list- thus no indication can be provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the managing client device method and apparatus of Shah and Marshall with the device discovery of Lee to provide a method and a system to discover the intermediate device IMD connected to the network and manage the state of the intermediate device as suggested, Lee [0062].
Regarding claim 8, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the method of claim 7.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach further comprising indicating, via the processor and in a state where the second client device is associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device associated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches indicating, via the processor and in a state where the second client device is associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device associated with the Wi-Fi network device (The recently connected device list may include items, such as a device-friendly name, an IP address, a port number, the last connected time, and the last connected network access type regarding each device, Lee [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Marshall and Marshall with the device discovery of Lee to provide a method and a system to discover the intermediate device IMD connected to the network and manage the state of the intermediate device as suggested, Lee [0062].
Regarding claim 10, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the method of claim 7.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach further comprising: not adding, via the processor, the third client device to the monitored devices list; not determining, via the processor, whether the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device; and not providing, via the processor, an indication when the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches not adding, via the processor, the third client device to the monitored devices list (Assuming that the second intermediate device IMD2 is not present in the recently connected devices, the second intermediate device IMD2 is in a state in which it has not yet been discovered by the client device CD, Lee [0090]); not determining, via the processor, whether the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device (For example, since the first intermediate device IMD1 that has transmitted the unicast device discovery response message is a currently active state, the client device CD may update that the first intermediate device IMD1 is in the active state into the active device list, Lee [0087]; one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that this limitation may not be executed since the second device has not be discovered and is not included in the list); and not providing, via the processor, an indication when the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device (The local application 110 of the client device CD may display the updated active device list or the updated recently connected device list on a screen of the client device CD, Lee [0088]; the device has not been discovered -not in the list- thus no indication can be provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the managing client device method and apparatus of Shah and Marshall with the device discovery of Lee to provide a method and a system to discover the intermediate device IMD connected to the network and manage the state of the intermediate device as suggested, Lee [0062].
Regarding claim 14, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 13.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach wherein the computer- readable instructions are capable of instructing the processor to perform the method further comprising indicating, via the processor and in a state where the second client device is associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device associated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the computer- readable instructions are capable of instructing the processor to perform the method further comprising indicating, via the processor and in a state where the second client device is associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device associated with the Wi-Fi network device (The recently connected device list may include items, such as a device-friendly name, an IP address, a port number, the last connected time, and the last connected network access type regarding each device, Lee [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method and apparatus of Shah and Marshall with the device discovery of Lee to provide a method and a system to discover the intermediate device IMD connected to the network and manage the state of the intermediate device as suggested, Lee [0062].
Regarding claim 16, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 13.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach wherein the computer- readable instructions are capable of instructing the processor to perform the method further comprising: not adding, via the processor, the third client device to the monitored devices list; not determining, via the processor, whether the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device and not providing, via the processor, an indication when the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the computer- readable instructions are capable of instructing the processor to perform the method further comprising: not adding, via the processor, the third client device to the monitored devices list (Assuming that the second intermediate device IMD2 is not present in the recently connected devices, the second intermediate device IMD2 is in a state in which it has not yet been discovered by the client device CD, Lee [0090]); not determining, via the processor, whether the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device (For example, since the first intermediate device IMD1 that has transmitted the unicast device discovery response message is a currently active state, the client device CD may update that the first intermediate device IMD1 is in the active state into the active device list, Lee [0087]; one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that this limitation may not be executed since the second device has not be discovered and is not included in the list); and not providing, via the processor, an indication when the third client device is currently associated with the Wi-Fi network device (The local application 110 of the client device CD may display the updated active device list or the updated recently connected device list on a screen of the client device CD, Lee [0088]; the device has not been discovered -not in the list- thus no indication can be provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the managing client device method and apparatus of Shah and Marshall with the device discovery of Lee to provide a method and a system to discover the intermediate device IMD connected to the network and manage the state of the intermediate device as suggested, Lee [0062].
Claims 3, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Marshall and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20200304378 A1) .
Regarding claim 3, Marshall as modified by Marshall teaches the client device of claim 1.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach wherein said processor is configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said client device additionally to indicate, in a state where the second client device is not associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device disassociated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches wherein said processor is configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said client device additionally to indicate, in a state where the second client device is not associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device disassociated with the Wi-Fi network device (Association Data 260 includes records for each new association event e.g., each time a client device connected or attempted to connect to the access point, or disconnected from an access point, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Shah and Marshall with the station movement of Choi to provide a method and a system to predict station movement to generate dynamic RF site configurations as suggested, Choi [0001].
Regarding claim 9, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the method of claim 7.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach further comprising indicating, via the processor and in a state where the second client device is not associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device disassociated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches further comprising indicating, via the processor and in a state where the second client device is not associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device disassociated with the Wi-Fi network device (Association Data 260 includes records for each new association event e.g., each time a client device connected or attempted to connect to the access point, or disconnected from an access point, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Shah and Marshall with the station movement of Choi to provide a method and a system to predict station movement to generate dynamic RF site configurations as suggested, Choi [0001].
Regarding claim 15, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 13.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach wherein the computer- readable instructions are capable of instructing the processor to perform the method further comprising indicating, via the processor and in a state where the second client device is not associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device disassociated with the Wi-Fi network device.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches wherein the computer- readable instructions are capable of instructing the processor to perform the method further comprising indicating, via the processor and in a state where the second client device is not associated with the Wi-Fi network device, time information related to when the second client device disassociated with the Wi-Fi network device (Association Data 260 includes records for each new association event e.g., each time a client device connected or attempted to connect to the access point, or disconnected from an access point, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Shah and Marshall with the station movement of Choi to provide a method and a system to predict station movement to generate dynamic RF site configurations as suggested, Choi [0001].
Claims 5-6, 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Marshall and further in view of Kanazawa et al. (US 20040214617 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the client device of claim 1.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach wherein said processor is configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said client device additionally to: establish a time range; associate the second client device with the time range; and determine, from the host table, whether the second client device has associated with the Wi-Fi network device within the time range.
In an analogous art, Kanazawa teaches wherein said processor is configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said client device additionally to: establish a time range (a given period of time, [0055]); associate the second client device with the time range (The home server 101 determines that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network 10 if no reply is returned when a given period of time elapses after the home server 101 sends a state confirmation message, [0055]); and determine, from the host table, whether the second client device has associated with the Wi-Fi network device within the time range (The home server 101 determines that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network 10 if no reply is returned when a given period of time elapses after the home server 101 sends a state confirmation message, [0055]; and when the home server 101 assigns an IP address to a device, it stores the IP address in the device management information 103. The home server 101 also communicates with a device to which an IP address is assigned to acquire device attribute information from the device, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Shah and Marshall with management of Kanazawa to provide a method and a system to determine whether the mobile device is disconnected from the network as suggested, Kanazawa [0010].
Regarding claim 6, Shah as modified by Marshall and Kanazawa teaches the client device of claim 5. Kanazawa further teaches wherein said processor is configured to execute instructions stored on said memory to cause said client device additionally to provide an indication when the second client device has not associated with the Wi-Fi network device within the time range (When the home server 101 detects that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network 10, it sends an alarm message to a power-on device that is connected to the home network 10 via the home network 10 in order to notify the device that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network, Kanazawa [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Shah and Marshall with management of Kanazawa to provide a method and a system to determine whether the mobile device is disconnected from the network as suggested, Kanazawa [0010].
Regarding claim 11, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the method of claim 7.
However, Shah and Marshall do teach further comprising: establishing, via the processor, a time range; associating, via the processor, the second client device with the time range; and determining, via the processor and from the host table, whether the second client device has associated with the Wi-Fi network device within the time range.
In an analogous art, Kanazawa teaches further comprising: establishing, via the processor, a time range (a given period of time, [0055]); associating, via the processor, the second client device with the time range (The home server 101 determines that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network 10 if no reply is returned when a given period of time elapses after the home server 101 sends a state confirmation message, [0055]); and determining, via the processor and from the host table, whether the second client device has associated with the Wi-Fi network device within the time range (The home server 101 determines that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network 10 if no reply is returned when a given period of time elapses after the home server 101 sends a state confirmation message, [0055]; and when the home server 101 assigns an IP address to a device, it stores the IP address in the device management information 103. The home server 101 also communicates with a device to which an IP address is assigned to acquire device attribute information from the device, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Shah and Marshall with management of Kanazawa to provide a method and a system to determine whether the mobile device is disconnected from the network as suggested, Kanazawa [0010].
Regarding claim 12, Shah as modified by Marshall and Kanazawa teaches the method of claim 11. Kanazawa further teaches further comprising providing, via the processor, an indication when the second client device has not associated with the Wi-Fi network device within the time range (When the home server 101 detects that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network 10, it sends an alarm message to a power-on device that is connected to the home network 10 via the home network 10 in order to notify the device that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Shah and Marshall with management of Kanazawa to provide a method and a system to determine whether the mobile device is disconnected from the network as suggested, Kanazawa [0010].
Regarding claim 17, Shah as modified by Marshall teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 13.
However, Shah and Marshall do not teach wherein the computer- readable instructions are capable of instructing the processor to perform the method further comprising: establishing, via the processor, a time range; associating, via the processor, the second client device with the time range; and determining, via the processor and from the host table, whether the second client device has associated with the Wi-Fi network device within the time range.
In an analogous art, Kanazawa teaches wherein the computer- readable instructions are capable of instructing the processor to perform the method further comprising: establishing, via the processor, a time range (a given period of time, [0055]); associating, via the processor, the second client device with the time range (The home server 101 determines that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network 10 if no reply is returned when a given period of time elapses after the home server 101 sends a state confirmation message, [0055]); and determining, via the processor and from the host table, whether the second client device has associated with the Wi-Fi network device within the time range (The home server 101 determines that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network 10 if no reply is returned when a given period of time elapses after the home server 101 sends a state confirmation message, [0055]; and when the home server 101 assigns an IP address to a device, it stores the IP address in the device management information 103. The home server 101 also communicates with a device to which an IP address is assigned to acquire device attribute information from the device, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Shah and Marshall with management of Kanazawa to provide a method and a system to determine whether the mobile device is disconnected from the network as suggested, Kanazawa [0010].
Regarding claim 18, Shah as modified by Marshall and Kanazawa teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 17. Kanazawa further teaches wherein the computer- readable instructions are capable of instructing the processor to perform the method further comprising providing, via the processor, an indication when the second client device has not associated with the Wi-Fi network device within the time range (When the home server 101 detects that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network 10, it sends an alarm message to a power-on device that is connected to the home network 10 via the home network 10 in order to notify the device that the PDA 108 is disconnected from the home network, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the monitoring method of Shah and Marshall with management of Kanazawa to provide a method and a system to determine whether the mobile device is disconnected from the network as suggested, Kanazawa [0010].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Manroa et al. (US 20130283358 A1) discloses: A WiFi network manager stores a unique identifier value such as a network address associated with a communication device as being a valid credential for the communication device to subsequently access a WiFi network including one or more access points. The WiFi network manager monitors use of the unique identifier value to access the WiFi network. In response to detecting misuse of the unique identifier value by two or more communication devices using the unique identifier value to use the WiFi network, the WiFi network manager at least temporarily prevents access to the WiFi network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641