PDETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 01, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 18, it is unclear how a liquid epoxy resin can define the epoxy resin (D) per claim 1, which as part of the powdery and/or granular material is necessarily in solid form, not liquid form.
Claim Interpretation
Consistent with Applicant’s previous comments filed March 03, 2025, the presently claimed “powdery and/or granular material” is being interpreted as a material wherein all of the included components (A), (D) and (FP) are either in powdered or granular form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed March 18, 2026 with respect to the 35 USC 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive in overcoming the rejection. However, upon further review and consideration of the prior art of record, a new ground of rejection is made in view of US 2017/0362395 (Inoubli). Accordingly, the previous allowability of claims 1, 15 and 16 is rescinded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 15, 16, 18, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0362395 (Inoubli).
Inoubli discloses a polymer composition in the form of a dry powder [0017] comprising
an epoxy resin (meets Applicant’s epoxy resin (D)); and
multistage polymer particles comprising a polymeric core (A1) derived from butadiene units [0092] and a grafted shell polymer (B1) derived from vinyl monomers such as (meth)acrylate monomers [0076]/[0095-0098] (meets Applicant’s graft copolymer having an elastic body derived from butadiene and a graft part derived from (meth)acrylate monomers), wherein the multi stage polymer particles make up “at least 50 wt.% of the composition” [0040] and “at most 99 wt.%” [0115] (meets Applicant’s polymer particles (A) content of 50 to 99 wt.%) (e.g., abstract, [0016-0017], [0038-0051], [0058], [0076], [0092-0098], [0115] examples, claims).
As to claims 1 and 5, while not expressly set forth in the working example, it is within the purview of Inoubli’s inventive disclosure, and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to formulate a powdered composition for the expected additive effect and with the reasonable expectation of success comprising:
1 to 50 wt.% epoxy resin (meets Applicants’ epoxy resin (D) and content thereof); and
50 to 99 wt.% multistage polymer particles comprising a polymeric core (A1) derived from butadiene units and a grafted shell polymer (B1) derived from (meth)acrylate monomers (meets Applicants’ graft copolymer having an elastic body derived from butadiene and a graft part derived from (meth)acrylate monomers and content thereof).
As to claim 3, Inoubli is silent in describing the graft ratio of the grafted polymer shell, thus implying that any graft rate (inclusive of that presently claimed) can be satisfactorily used, absent evidence of criticality therefor.
As to claim 7, it would be expected that a similarly-constituted powdered composition per Inoubli would necessarily have the same properties (inclusive of that presently claimed). “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties” because a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, MPEP 2112.01 (II). Where the claimed and prior products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established, In re Best 195 USPQ 430. Where applicant claims a composition in terms of function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function property or characteristic is not explicitly disclosed, a rejection under 103 is appropriate (MPEP 2112).
As to claim 8, Inoubli’s powdered composition has a volume medium particle size of from 1 to 500 µm [0124]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to formulate a powdered composition having a volume average particle size as presently claimed with the reasonable expectation of success in accordance with the desired application, absent evidence of criticality therefor.
As to claim 15, Inoubli is silent in describing the molecular weight of the grafted polymer shell, thus implying that any molecular weight (inclusive of that presently claimed) can be satisfactorily used, absent evidence of criticality therefor.
As to claim 16, Inoubli’s multistage polymer particles have a particle size of from 20 to 800 µm [0075], i.e., larger than 90 nm. Thus, it is within the purview of Inoubli;s inventive disclosure to use multistage polymer particles necessarily having a particle size as presently claimed.
As to claim 18, Inoubli discloses the use of a liquid epoxy resin [0176].
As to claim 19, Inoubli discloses the grafted polymer shell can be derived from a mixture of (meth)acrylic monomers inclusive of methyl methacrylate and butyl acrylate [0097].
As to claim 21, Inoubli discloses the epoxy resin can be a bisphenol type epoxy resin [0070].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 16, 18, 19 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 17/698248 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims embrace similarly-constituted powdery and/or granular materials wherein the resin (B) is an epoxy resin. The present claims are unlimited as regards total volume of pores, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. US 2017/0362395 (Inoubli) does not disclose or suggest the further inclusion of a free polymer as presently claimed.
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765