DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's arguments, filed 9/28/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed 9/28/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
The examiner acknowledges the applicant’s request for interview in their response in the event that the next office action was not a notice of allowance. However, it would not be appropriate to hold an interview after performing examination of the instant claims until an office action is issued unless the examiner has identified potentially allowable subject matter and such an interview could result in a notice of allowance via examiner’s amendment. See MPEP 713.01. Any examination on the merits should be made of record (including examination of the claims as amended). Accordingly, the examiner encourages the applicant to file an automated interview request or call the examiner to set up an interview in response to this office action.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-12, 14-16, 20, 22-25, and 27-30 are the current claims pending claims hereby under examination. Claims 3, 8-10, 13, 17-19, 21, and 26 have been canceled. Claims 29-30 have been newly added. Claims 1, 7, 12, and 16 have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites "An implantable or ambulatory medical device system to improve detection of respiratory vibration information" in lines 1-2, and claim 12 recites "A method for improving detection of respiratory vibration information by an implantable or ambulatory medical device system" in lines 1-2. The Examiner treats the improvement language in these preambles as a statement of intended purpose. Claim 1 otherwise recites a structurally complete medical-device system, and claim 12 otherwise recites a complete sequence of sensing and signal-processing steps. The preambles do not require a separate detecting operation beyond the structures and operations recited in the bodies of the claims.
Claim 23 recites "the crackle" in line 1, and claim 28 recites "the crackle" in line 1. The Examiner interprets these recitations as requiring crackle to be one of the at least two respiratory vibration types recited in the respective independent claim, with the selected crackle further limited to a fine crackle or a coarse crackle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 12, 14, 15, 20, 23, 24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maile et al. (US 2017/0347968 A1), hereinafter Maile, and further in view of Scheiner et al. (US 2005/0137490 A1), hereinafter Scheiner, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2014/0171815 A1), hereinafter Yang, and further in view of Lange et al. (US 2013/0245502 A1), hereinafter Lange, and further in view of Stamatopoulos et al. (US 2019/0083001 A1), hereinafter Stamatopoulos.
Regarding claim 1, Maile teaches an implantable or ambulatory medical device system to improve detection of respiratory vibration information (Maile, [0045]: "The ambulatory system 105 may include an ambulatory medical device (AMD) 110"; [0048]: "a respiratory monitor 160 for monitoring patient respiration", wherein AMD 110 may be implantable, wearable, or otherwise ambulatory and the respiratory monitor evaluates respiratory information).
Maile further teaches a physiologic sensor configured to sense physiologic information cyclic with patient respiration for a plurality of respiratory cycles of a patient (Maile, [0054]: respiratory-phase detector 214 may be coupled to "an accelerometer, an impedance sensor, or a flow sensor to sense a respiration signal", wherein the sensed respiration signal is cyclic with the patient's respiration and is evaluated across successive respiratory cycles).
Also, regarding claim 1, Maile does not fully teach a vibration sensor in a housing of the implantable or ambulatory medical device system configured to sense vibration information indicative of patient respiratory vibrations greater than 20 Hz for the plurality of respiratory cycles of the patient. Rather, Maile teaches an implantable or wearable accelerometer sensor 302 coupled to acceleration sensing circuit 315 to sense respiratory-vibration information in first frequency band B1 of approximately 100-300 Hz, and Maile separately teaches that AMD 110 may be implantable and may house sensing circuitry (Maile, [0045], [0047], [0055], [0065]-[0066]). Maile also states that accelerometer sensor 302 and microphone sensor 304 may be encapsulated together (Maile, [0065]). However, Maile does not identify that encapsulation as the housing of AMD 110 or otherwise place accelerometer sensor 302 inside the AMD housing.
Scheiner teaches an accelerometer located within the housing of an implantable medical device (Scheiner, [0022]: the components of implantable device 108, including accelerometer 126, "are housed within an implantable housing"; [0029]: "accelerometer 126 is located internally to the housing of implantable device 108" and may be an accelerometer "packaged to fit in the implantable housing").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maile in view of Scheiner to locate Maile's accelerometer sensor 302 within the housing of an implantable AMD. Maile already contemplates an implantable accelerometer, and Scheiner demonstrates that the same class of vibration sensor can operate from within an implantable device housing, so the change concerns sensor placement rather than the sensing principle. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid using a separate implanted device solely for sound or vibration monitoring. Scheiner expressly identifies that advantage when explaining that an already implanted device can be used for sound monitoring instead of implanting an additional device for that purpose (Scheiner, [0028]-[0029]). Locating Maile's accelerometer in the existing implantable AMD housing serves that implantation objective while preserving Maile's respiratory-vibration sensing function.
Also, regarding claim 1, the modified Maile does not fully teach a phase lock loop (PLL) circuit comprising a phase comparator circuit, a low-pass filter circuit, and an oscillator circuit, the PLL circuit configured to receive the physiologic information cyclic with patient respiration and generate, from the physiologic information cyclic with patient respiration, a phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal having a phase aligned to a respiration phase of the patient, and an assessment circuit configured to detect respiratory phase transitions using the phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal. Rather, Maile senses a respiration signal using an accelerometer, an impedance sensor, or a flow sensor, and respiratory-phase detector 214 detects from that respiration signal an inspiration phase, an expiration phase, and the transitional phases therebetween, including according to signal-amplitude ranges or respiratory reference times (Maile, [0054]). However, the modified Maile does not process that same sensed respiration signal with a PLL circuit to generate a phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal and detect the respiratory phase transitions using that output.
Yang teaches a PLL that receives a physiological signal and includes the claimed phase-comparison, filtering, and oscillator functions. Loop 230 estimates the phase difference between the physiological signal and a local oscillator waveform as the product of those signals; Ki and Kp represent characteristics of a low-pass filter applied to the product; "The local oscillator waveform is a pure sinusoidal waveform"; and "the phase of a local oscillator waveform associated with loop 230 is locked to the phase of the physiological signal" (Yang, [0042]). Loop 230 updates the oscillator phase (Yang, [0043]). Yang further teaches conditioning its physiological input for phase tracking, including range-bounding the signal and filtering it to the selected loop lock range, and uses parallel loops with different passbands and free-run frequencies to acquire varying rhythms (Yang, [0040]-[0044]). Yang describes peaks in the respiratory-sound energy envelope as representing breathing and snoring and troughs as representing intervals between those events (Yang, [0038]). Yang identifies a human respiratory range of approximately three to twenty cycles per minute (Yang, [0039]). Thus, Yang teaches a PLL that generates a sinusoidal oscillator output maintained in phase lock with a respiration-frequency physiological input.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Yang to condition Maile's sensed respiration signal for the selected respiratory lock range as taught by Yang, supply that same respiration signal to Yang's PLL, and supply the resulting phase-locked sinusoidal oscillator output to respiratory-phase detector 214 as the signal from which respiratory phases and transitions are detected. Maile already uses the sensed respiration signal itself to identify inspiration, expiration, and the transitions therebetween and to synchronize the separately sensed respiratory-sound signal (Maile, [0054], [0057]). Yang teaches maintaining a pure sinusoidal oscillator in phase lock with the received physiological signal and continually updating the oscillator phase as the rhythm changes (Yang, [0041]-[0043]). Because Maile's input is the sensed respiration signal from which respiratory phases are determined, corresponding locations of Yang's phase-locked sinusoid would recur in relation to the respiratory landmarks identified by Maile. A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use Maile's respiratory-phase information to establish which locations of the sinusoidal output correspond to inspiration, expiration, and their transitions, and to use those corresponding locations to detect respiratory-phase transitions using the established correspondence from the sinusoidal output. This would account for a phase offset between the sensed respiration signal and the oscillator output, rather than assuming that an arbitrary sinusoidal crossing identifies a respiratory transition. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Yang's phase tracking to provide Maile with a continuously phase-tracked sinusoidal respiratory reference for phase detection and synchronization as respiratory timing varies. Yang's disclosed input conditioning and respiratory-frequency loop ranges provide a reasonable expectation that the technique would operate on Maile's respiration signal. The same sinusoidal output would provide the respiration reference for the subsequent synchronization and alignment of the vibration information.
Also, regarding claim 1, the modified Maile does not expressly disclose identifying, using the detected respiratory phase transitions, a first set of respiratory cycles of the plurality of respiratory cycles having a duration within a threshold. Rather, the modified Maile detects successive respiratory phases and transitions and processes information from multiple respiratory cycles (Maile, [0054], [0057]). However, the modified Maile does not reject or retain cycles according to whether their duration falls within an accepted interval before later alignment and averaging.
Scheiner teaches qualifying cyclic physiologic data according to cycle interval before ensemble averaging (Scheiner, [0046]: ensemble averager 430 includes logic "to reject data from cardiac cycles outside the range of normal" and "this logic may be adaptive", wherein completed physiologic cycles are accepted or rejected according to an interval criterion).
Lange further teaches respiratory-cycle duration and duration homogeneity (Lange, [0303]: "the breathing length (time between two successive end-inspiration events)" and a criterion under which "the standard deviations of the length... of nearest 12 cycles is less than 20%", wherein respiratory-cycle duration is measured from recurring respiratory landmarks and neighboring cycles are evaluated for length stability).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Scheiner and Lange to calculate respiratory-cycle intervals from Maile's detected transitions and exclude cycles outside an accepted duration range before alignment and averaging. Maile's detected transitions provide cycle boundaries, and Lange establishes that respiratory-cycle duration can be measured between recurring respiratory landmarks, so the screening operation can use timing information already available in the modified system. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the duration screen so that the subsequent ensemble average is formed from physiologically comparable cycles rather than from cycles having abnormal timing. Scheiner expressly places its interval screen before averaging and rejects cycles outside the normal range, including cycles that may be of non-physiologic origin (Scheiner, [0046]). Using the same pre-averaging quality control for Maile's respiratory cycles therefore prevents out-of-range cycles from entering the alignment and averaging set and yields a first set having durations within the accepted threshold.
Also, regarding claim 1, the modified Maile does not fully teach aligning segments of the vibration information corresponding to the first set of respiratory cycles using the phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal. Rather, Maile teaches synchronization of the respiratory-sound signal to the respiration signal and timing adjustment for sensor-response delay (Maile, [0057]: "the respiratory sounds signal may be synchronized to the respiration signal" and synchronization may include "adjusting the timings of the respiratory sounds signal based on the response delay"). However, the modified Maile does not align the duration-qualified segments according to corresponding respiratory landmarks supplied by the phase-corrected sinusoidal output.
Lange teaches aligning respiratory-cycle information according to corresponding respiratory landmarks before averaging (Lange, [0275]: "synchronized ensemble averaging of aligned respiration signal complexes" is implemented using "signal peak attributes... as alignment points", wherein respiratory complexes are shifted to corresponding peak locations before averaging; Lange's averaged respiratory cycle places inspiration and expiration sections on opposite sides of the peak-associated alignment location).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Lange to align the duration-qualified vibration-information segments according to corresponding respiratory-phase locations identified using Yang's phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal. Maile already places the respiratory-sound and respiration signals on a common time basis, so the respiratory landmarks can be used to shift the corresponding vibration samples without changing either sensing path. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform that alignment to reduce cycle-to-cycle timing variation before ensemble averaging. Lange expressly explains that aligning respiratory complexes before synchronized ensemble averaging allows small inter-complex variations to be averaged out (Lange, [0275]). Applying that alignment using the same sinusoidal output used for respiratory-transition detection places corresponding respiratory portions at common phase locations before the later averaging operation.
Also, regarding claim 1, the modified Maile does not fully teach identifying, in the aligned segments, vibration portions corresponding to at least two respiratory vibration types selected from wheeze, rhonchus, crackle, or stridor. Rather, Maile recognizes the claimed respiratory-sound types (Maile, [0005]). However, the modified Maile does not identify type-labeled portions within the aligned respiratory-vibration segments.
Stamatopoulos teaches identifying wheeze and crackle content in breath cycles and phases (Stamatopoulos, [0010]: recognizing "a plurality of breath cycles and a plurality of breath phases" and "detecting wheezing"; [0303]: an area of interest may comprise "a breath phase... a breath cycle or more than one breath phases or breath cycles"; [0431]-[0432]: wheeze descriptors are extracted and "descriptors pertaining to crackle are also extracted", wherein wheeze and crackle content is separately identified within respiratory-cycle information).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Stamatopoulos to apply Stamatopoulos's wheeze and crackle classification to the aligned respiratory-vibration segments. The classifier operates on respiratory-sound information already organized by respiratory cycle or phase, so it can be applied to the aligned sound portions without altering the sensing or respiratory-timing paths. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to distinguish wheeze and crackle because Stamatopoulos teaches that their separately extracted acoustic descriptors are used to detect and track lung pathology, disease severity, and progression over time (Stamatopoulos, [0292]-[0294]). Maile likewise uses respiratory information to monitor patient respiratory conditions (Maile, [0048]). Providing Maile's downstream assessment with event-specific wheeze and crackle information therefore preserves diagnostically meaningful differences between those respiratory phenomena instead of treating the abnormal sound content as an undifferentiated signal.
Also, regarding claim 1, the modified Maile does not fully teach for each of the at least two respiratory vibration types, average the aligned vibration portions corresponding to the respiratory vibration type to produce a type-specific composite respiratory vibration having an improved signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) relative to the vibration information for an individual respiratory cycle. Rather, Maile teaches ensemble averaging synchronized respiratory-sound information from multiple respiration cycles (Maile, [0057]: "The portion of the synchronized respiratory sounds signal during inspiration phase of multiple respiration cycles may be ensemble-averaged"), and the modified Maile separately identifies wheeze and crackle portions. However, the modified Maile does not yet maintain a separate averaging operation for each classified type or expressly provide the claimed type-specific SNR result.
Scheiner teaches ensemble averaging corresponding physiologic-sound samples and separately averaging like events (Scheiner, [0044]: ensemble averaging may "accentuate the heart sounds ... while filtering out random or spurious noise" and may average "between 2 and 128 cardiac cycles"; [0062]: the system may "use two averaging processes in order that like events are averaged separately", wherein repeated like-event content is reinforced while uncorrelated noise is suppressed).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Scheiner to route the aligned wheeze portions and aligned crackle portions to separate ensemble-averaging streams. Maile already performs ensemble averaging and the preceding classification separates the two event types, so the modification changes the grouping of the averaging inputs rather than the sensing operation. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to average each type separately so that corresponding recurring content of one identified type is reinforced without being mixed with a different respiratory-sound type. Scheiner expressly teaches separate averaging so that like events are averaged separately and teaches that ensemble averaging accentuates recurring sound information while filtering random or spurious noise (Scheiner, [0044], [0062]). Stamatopoulos likewise treats wheeze and crackle as separately extracted respiratory features (Stamatopoulos, [0293]). Because the portions are first aligned to corresponding respiratory locations and then grouped by the same identified sound type, a person of ordinary skill would reasonably expect corresponding recurring type-specific content to reinforce while uncorrelated noise is reduced, providing the disclosed SNR benefit for each composite.
Also, regarding claim 1, the modified Maile does not fully teach determining, for each of the at least two respiratory vibration types, a trend of the corresponding type-specific composite respiratory vibration over multiple groups of respiratory cycles. Rather, Maile teaches temporal trending of respiratory-sound information (Maile, [0073]: trending circuit 531 "may track the temporal changes of the spectral contents of the respiratory sounds" and "may generate a trend of the spectral contents PS1 or PS2"). However, the modified Maile does not apply that trend calculation separately to successive groups of each newly created type-specific composite.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Stamatopoulos by applying Maile's existing trend operation separately to successive composites in each type-specific stream. The modified system already maintains wheeze and crackle as separate processed respiratory-sound measures, and Maile's trend circuitry is capable of following temporal changes in respiratory-sound measures. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to preserve a separate temporal history for each type because Stamatopoulos teaches that wheeze and crackle descriptors are separately useful for detecting and tracking their characteristics and that respiratory recordings are compared over time to assess onset, stability, or progression of lung pathology or disease (Stamatopoulos, [0293]-[0294]). Maile similarly uses respiratory-sound trends to follow temporal change associated with respiratory distress (Maile, [0073]-[0074]). Separate type-specific trends therefore retain the longitudinal behavior of each diagnostically relevant sound phenomenon for the monitoring purpose already taught by the art.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Maile further teaches the housing comprises an implantable housing (Maile, ¶[0045]: “The AMD 110 may include an implantable device that may be implanted within the body 102”; ¶[0047]: “The AMD 110 may house an electronic circuit for sensing a physiological signal”, wherein, in Maile’s implantable-device embodiment, the housing of AMD 110 is implanted with the device and therefore comprises an implantable housing).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Maile further teaches the physiologic information and the vibration information comprise different types of information, wherein the physiologic information comprises at least one of electrocardiogram information, accelerometer information, impedance information, acoustic information, or blood flow information (Maile, ¶[0054]: respiratory-phase detector 214 may be coupled to “an accelerometer, an impedance sensor, or a flow sensor to sense a respiration signal”; ¶[0057]: “the respiratory sounds signal may be synchronized to the respiration signal”; ¶[0065]-[0066]: accelerometer sensor 302 and acceleration-sensing circuit 315 sense acceleration information, wherein an impedance respiration signal may supply the claimed physiologic information while a distinct acceleration respiratory-vibration signal supplies the vibration information).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Maile does not fully teach the assessment circuit is configured to determine a change in patient status, to detect a physiological condition of the patient, or to determine a patient therapy parameter using at least one trend of a corresponding type-specific composite respiratory vibration. Rather, the inherited claim 1 path produces type-specific composite trends, and Maile teaches using a respiratory-sound trend in respiratory-condition assessment (Maile, ¶[0074]). However, Maile does not apply that assessment to one of the newly created type-specific composite trends. For this rejection, the Examiner relies on the alternatively recited detection of a physiological condition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Stamatopoulos by supplying at least one type-specific composite trend to Maile’s trend-based respiratory-condition assessment. The type-specific trend is a processed respiratory-sound measure already available in the modified system and is compatible with Maile’s respiratory monitoring circuitry. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use that trend in the condition assessment because Stamatopoulos teaches that wheeze and crackle acoustic features are used to determine lung pathology, disease, and severity, while Maile relates changes in respiratory-sound trends to respiratory distress such as asthma (Stamatopoulos, ¶[0292]-[0294]; Maile, ¶[0074]). Using the temporal behavior of a respiratory-sound feature known to carry disease information makes Maile’s condition assessment responsive to changes in that clinically relevant feature rather than only to an aggregate respiratory-sound measure.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Maile does not expressly disclose the first set of respiratory cycles of the patient comprises at least 5 respiratory cycles. Rather, the claim 1 path establishes selection of a duration-qualified first set and Scheiner teaches ensemble averaging “between 2 and 128 cardiac cycles” (Scheiner, ¶[0044]), but the established modification does not require that the qualified first set contain at least five cycles.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Scheiner to select at least five duration-qualified respiratory cycles for the first set before the inherited averaging operation. Scheiner expressly identifies a finite operating range of 2 to 128 completed cycles for ensemble averaging. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use a multi-cycle set because Scheiner teaches that averaging multiple cycles accentuates recurring sound information while filtering random or spurious noise (Scheiner, ¶[0044]). Once using multiple qualified cycles for that noise-reduction purpose, selecting five is an ordinary choice within Scheiner’s expressly disclosed finite range and requires no different processing technique from the averaging already incorporated into the claim 1 path.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Maile does not fully teach the assessment circuit is configured to determine a change in patient condition using the determined trends, wherein the change in patient condition includes an indication of at least one of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD); asthma; heart failure (HF); pneumonia; bronchitis; or sleep apnea of the patient. Rather, the inherited claim 1 path produces the type-specific composite trends, and Maile determines the presence, onset, improvement, or worsening of target respiratory conditions including asthma, COPD, acute bronchitis, and sleep apnea (Maile, ¶[0048], [0090]). However, Maile does not apply that change determination to the type-specific composite trends.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Stamatopoulos by applying Maile’s condition-change assessment to one or more of the type-specific composite trends. The modified monitoring path already produces longitudinal wheeze- and crackle-specific measures that can be supplied to Maile’s assessment circuitry. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use those longitudinal measures for condition-change detection because Stamatopoulos expressly compares respiratory recordings over time to classify the onset, stability, or progression of lung pathology or disease, and Maile expressly monitors respiratory information for the presence, onset, improvement, or worsening of respiratory conditions (Stamatopoulos, ¶[0294]; Maile, ¶[0048], [0090]). Using the change in a separately tracked disease-relevant acoustic feature therefore provides a direct basis for determining whether the monitored respiratory condition is changing.
Regarding claim 12, Maile teaches a method for improving detection of respiratory vibration information by an implantable or ambulatory medical device system (Maile, [0085]: method 700 "may be implemented in and executed by the respiratory monitoring system"; [0045]: "The ambulatory system 105 may include an ambulatory medical device (AMD) 110", wherein the disclosed respiratory-monitoring method is performed by an implantable, wearable, or otherwise ambulatory medical-device system).
Maile further teaches sensing, using a physiologic sensor, physiologic information cyclic with patient respiration for a plurality of respiratory cycles of a patient (Maile, [0054]: respiratory-phase detector 214 may be coupled to "an accelerometer, an impedance sensor, or a flow sensor to sense a respiration signal", wherein the respiration signal supplies cyclic physiologic information over successive respiratory cycles).
Also, regarding claim 12, Maile does not fully teach sensing, using a vibration sensor in a housing of the implantable or ambulatory medical device system, vibration information indicative of patient respiratory vibrations greater than 20 Hz for the plurality of respiratory cycles of the patient. Rather, Maile teaches an implantable or wearable accelerometer sensor 302 coupled to acceleration sensing circuit 315 to sense respiratory-vibration information in first frequency band B1 of approximately 100-300 Hz, and Maile separately teaches an implantable AMD that may house sensing circuitry (Maile, [0045], [0047], [0055], [0065]-[0066]). Maile also states that accelerometer sensor 302 and microphone sensor 304 may be encapsulated together (Maile, [0065]). However, Maile does not place accelerometer sensor 302 inside the AMD housing.
Scheiner teaches sensing with an accelerometer located within the housing of an implantable medical device (Scheiner, [0022]: implantable device 108 includes accelerometer 126 among the components "housed within an implantable housing"; [0029]: "accelerometer 126 is located internally to the housing of implantable device 108").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maile in view of Scheiner to sense Maile's respiratory-vibration information with accelerometer sensor 302 located inside the housing of an implantable AMD. Maile already contemplates an implantable accelerometer, and Scheiner demonstrates that the same class of vibration sensor can operate from within an implantable device housing, so the change concerns sensor placement rather than the sensing principle. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid using a separate implanted device solely for sound or vibration monitoring. Scheiner expressly identifies that advantage when explaining that an already implanted device can be used for sound monitoring instead of implanting an additional device for that purpose (Scheiner, [0028]-[0029]). The internal placement therefore serves the same implantation objective while preserving Maile's greater-than-20-Hz respiratory-vibration sensing operation.
Also, regarding claim 12, the modified Maile does not fully teach receiving, using a phase lock loop (PLL) circuit comprising a phase comparator circuit, a low-pass filter circuit, and an oscillator circuit, the physiologic information cyclic with patient respiration; generating, using the PLL circuit, a phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal having a phase aligned to a respiration phase of the patient; and detecting, using an assessment circuit, respiratory phase transitions using the phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal. Rather, Maile senses a respiration signal using an accelerometer, an impedance sensor, or a flow sensor and detects inspiration, expiration, and respiratory-phase transitions from that signal (Maile, [0054], [0087]). However, the modified method does not receive and process that same sensed respiration signal using the claimed PLL circuit to generate the phase-corrected sinusoidal output used for detecting the transitions.
Yang teaches a PLL that receives a physiological signal and includes the claimed phase-comparison, filtering, and oscillator functions. Loop 230 estimates the phase difference between the physiological signal and a local oscillator waveform as the product of those signals; Ki and Kp represent characteristics of a low-pass filter applied to the product; "The local oscillator waveform is a pure sinusoidal waveform"; and "the phase of a local oscillator waveform associated with loop 230 is locked to the phase of the physiological signal" (Yang, [0042]). Loop 230 updates the oscillator phase (Yang, [0043]). Yang further teaches conditioning its physiological input for phase tracking, including range-bounding the signal and filtering it to the selected loop lock range, and uses parallel loops with different passbands and free-run frequencies to acquire varying rhythms (Yang, [0040]-[0044]). Yang describes peaks in the respiratory-sound energy envelope as representing breathing and snoring and troughs as representing intervals between those events (Yang, [0038]). Yang identifies a human respiratory range of approximately three to twenty cycles per minute (Yang, [0039]). Thus, Yang teaches a PLL that generates a sinusoidal oscillator output maintained in phase lock with a respiration-frequency physiological input.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Yang to condition Maile's sensed respiration signal for the selected respiratory lock range as taught by Yang, receive that same respiration signal with Yang's PLL, generate the phase-locked sinusoidal oscillator output, and use that output as the respiration signal supplied to Maile's respiratory-phase detector 214. Maile already uses the sensed respiration signal to establish respiratory timing for detecting inspiration, expiration, and transitions and for synchronizing respiratory-sound information (Maile, [0054], [0057], [0087]). Yang teaches maintaining a pure sinusoidal oscillator in phase lock with the received physiological signal and updating its phase as the rhythm changes (Yang, [0041]-[0043]). Because Yang's PLL receives Maile's sensed respiration signal, corresponding locations of the phase-locked sinusoid would recur in relation to the respiratory landmarks identified from that signal. A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to establish the correspondence between those sinusoidal locations and Maile's respiratory landmarks, including the relevant phase offset, so that the assessment circuit could detect subsequent inspiration-to-expiration and expiration-to-inspiration transitions using the sinusoidal output itself. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use Yang's phase tracking to provide a continuously phase-tracked sinusoidal respiratory reference for the same phase-detection and synchronization operations. Yang's disclosed input conditioning and respiratory-frequency loop ranges provide a reasonable expectation of success. The same output would provide the respiratory timing reference for the subsequent alignment of the vibration information.f Maile's own sensed respiration signal is supplied to that PLL after the input conditioning taught by Yang, and the resulting phase-locked sinusoidal output is used as the respiration signal for Maile's detector 214 (Maile, [0054]; Yang, [0040]-[0043]).
Also, regarding claim 12, the modified Maile does not expressly disclose identifying, using the assessment circuit, a first set of respiratory cycles of the plurality of respiratory cycles having a duration within a threshold using the detected respiratory phase transitions. Rather, the modified method detects respiratory phases and transitions and processes data from multiple cycles (Maile, [0054], [0057], [0087]-[0088]). However, it does not reject or retain cycles according to a duration interval.
Scheiner teaches rejecting cyclic physiologic data according to cycle interval before ensemble averaging (Scheiner, [0046]: ensemble averager 430 rejects "data from cardiac cycles outside the range of normal" and the logic may be adaptive). Lange teaches respiratory-cycle duration and duration homogeneity (Lange, [0303]: "the breathing length (time between two successive end-inspiration events)" and the nearest twelve cycle lengths are evaluated using a less-than-20-percent standard deviation criterion).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Scheiner and Lange to calculate respiratory-cycle intervals from the detected transitions and exclude cycles outside an accepted duration range before alignment and averaging. The detected transitions provide cycle boundaries, and Lange establishes that respiratory-cycle duration can be measured between recurring respiratory landmarks, so the screening operation can use timing information already available in the method. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the duration screen so that the later ensemble average is formed from physiologically comparable cycles rather than from cycles having abnormal timing. Scheiner expressly rejects cycles outside the normal interval before averaging, including cycles that may be of non-physiologic origin (Scheiner, [0046]). Applying that pre-averaging quality control to the respiratory cycles therefore keeps out-of-range cycles from entering the alignment and averaging set.
Also, regarding claim 12, the modified Maile does not fully teach aligning, using the assessment circuit, segments of the vibration information corresponding to the first set of respiratory cycles using the phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal. Rather, Maile synchronizes respiratory-sound and respiration signals and compensates response delay (Maile, [0057]: the respiratory-sound signal may be synchronized to the respiration signal and its timing adjusted based on response delay). However, the modified method does not align the duration-qualified segments to corresponding respiratory landmarks supplied by the phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal.
Lange teaches aligning respiratory-signal complexes by corresponding peak locations before averaging (Lange, [0275]: "synchronized ensemble averaging of aligned respiration signal complexes" using "signal peak attributes... as alignment points", wherein the respiratory complexes are shifted to common landmark locations before averaging).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Lange to align the duration-qualified vibration-information segments according to corresponding respiratory-phase locations identified using Yang's phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal before averaging. Maile already places the respiratory-sound and respiration signals on a common time basis, so the respiratory landmarks can be used to shift corresponding samples without changing the sensing operation. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce cycle-to-cycle timing variation before ensemble averaging. Lange expressly explains that aligning respiratory complexes before synchronized ensemble averaging allows small inter-complex variations to be averaged out (Lange, [0275]). Using the same Yang sinusoidal output previously used to detect the respiratory phase transitions applies Lange's alignment technique while maintaining the same respiratory timing reference for selecting and aligning the vibration segments.
Also, regarding claim 12, the modified Maile does not fully teach identifying, using the assessment circuit, in the aligned segments, vibration portions corresponding to at least two respiratory vibration types selected from wheeze, rhonchus, crackle, or stridor. Rather, Maile recognizes wheeze, rhonchus, and crackle as respiratory-sound types (Maile, [0005]). However, the modified method does not identify type-labeled portions in the aligned segments.
Stamatopoulos teaches detecting wheeze and crackle content within breath cycles or phases (Stamatopoulos, [0010]: recognizing breath cycles and phases and "detecting wheezing"; [0303]: an area of interest may be a breath phase, breath cycle, or multiple phases or cycles; [0431]-[0432]: separate wheeze and crackle descriptors are extracted).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Stamatopoulos to apply Stamatopoulos's wheeze and crackle classification to the aligned respiratory-vibration segments. The event classifier operates on respiratory-sound information organized by respiratory cycle or phase, so it can be applied after alignment without altering the sensing or phase-detection operations. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to distinguish wheeze and crackle because Stamatopoulos teaches that their separately extracted acoustic descriptors are used to detect and track lung pathology, disease severity, and progression over time (Stamatopoulos, [0292]-[0294]). Maile's method likewise evaluates respiratory information for respiratory conditions (Maile, [0048]). Providing event-specific wheeze and crackle information therefore preserves diagnostically meaningful differences between the abnormal sound phenomena for the downstream monitoring operation.
Also, regarding claim 12, the modified Maile does not fully teach averaging, using the assessment circuit, for each of the at least two respiratory vibration types, the aligned vibration portions corresponding to the respiratory vibration type to produce a type-specific composite respiratory vibration having an improved SNR relative to the vibration information for an individual respiratory cycle. Rather, Maile ensemble averages synchronized respiratory-sound information across multiple cycles (Maile, [0057]), and the modified method separately identifies wheeze and crackle portions. However, the modified method does not maintain a separate average for each classified type or expressly provide the type-specific SNR result.
Scheiner teaches ensemble averaging recurring physiologic sounds to reduce noise and separate like-event averaging (Scheiner, [0044]: ensemble averaging may "accentuate the heart sounds... while filtering out random or spurious noise" and may average "between 2 and 128 cardiac cycles"; [0062]: "use two averaging processes in order that like events are averaged separately").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Scheiner to route the aligned wheeze portions and aligned crackle portions to separate ensemble-averaging streams. Maile already performs ensemble averaging and the preceding classification separates the two event types, so the modification changes the grouping of the averaging inputs rather than the sensing operation. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to average each type separately so that corresponding recurring content of one identified type is reinforced without being mixed with a different respiratory-sound type. Scheiner expressly teaches separate averaging so that like events are averaged separately and teaches that ensemble averaging accentuates recurring sound information while filtering random or spurious noise (Scheiner, [0044], [0062]). Stamatopoulos likewise treats wheeze and crackle as separately extracted respiratory features (Stamatopoulos, [0293]). Because the portions are first aligned to corresponding respiratory locations and then grouped by the same identified sound type, a person of ordinary skill would reasonably expect corresponding recurring type-specific content to reinforce while uncorrelated noise is reduced, providing the disclosed SNR benefit for each composite.
Also, regarding claim 12, the modified Maile does not fully teach determining, using the assessment circuit, for each of the at least two respiratory vibration types, a trend of the corresponding type-specific composite respiratory vibration over multiple groups of respiratory cycles. Rather, Maile trends respiratory-sound information over time (Maile, [0073]: trending circuit 531 may track "the temporal changes of the spectral contents of the respiratory sounds" and generate a trend of PS1 or PS2). However, the modified method does not separately trend successive groups of each newly created type-specific composite.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Stamatopoulos by applying Maile's existing trend operation separately to successive composites in each type-specific stream. The modified method already maintains wheeze and crackle as separate processed respiratory-sound measures, and Maile's trend circuitry is capable of following temporal changes in respiratory-sound measures. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to preserve a separate temporal history for each type because Stamatopoulos teaches that wheeze and crackle descriptors are separately useful for detecting and tracking their characteristics and that respiratory recordings are compared over time to assess onset, stability, or progression of lung pathology or disease (Stamatopoulos, [0293]-[0294]). Maile similarly uses respiratory-sound trends to follow temporal change associated with respiratory distress (Maile, [0073]-[0074]). Maintaining separate trends therefore retains the longitudinal behavior of each diagnostically relevant sound phenomenon for the monitoring purpose already taught by the art.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Maile further teaches the physiologic information and the vibration information comprise different types of information, wherein the physiologic information comprises at least one of electrocardiogram information, accelerometer information, impedance information, acoustic information, or blood flow information (Maile, ¶[0054]: a respiration signal may be sensed using an impedance sensor; ¶[0057]: the respiratory-sound signal is separately synchronized to the respiration signal; ¶[0065]-[0066]: accelerometer sensor 302 and acceleration-sensing circuit 315 sense acceleration information, wherein the physiologic respiration information may be impedance information and the distinct vibration information may be acceleration information).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Maile does not fully teach determining a change in patient status, detecting a physiological condition of the patient, or determining a patient therapy parameter using at least one trend of a corresponding type-specific composite respiratory vibration. Rather, the inherited claim 12 path produces type-specific composite trends, and Maile teaches using a respiratory-sound trend in respiratory-condition assessment (Maile, ¶[0074]). However, Maile does not apply that assessment to one of the newly created type-specific composite trends. For this rejection, the Examiner relies on the alternatively recited detection of a physiological condition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Stamatopoulos by supplying at least one type-specific composite trend to Maile’s trend-based respiratory-condition assessment. The trend is a processed respiratory-sound measure already available in the modified method and is compatible with Maile’s respiratory monitoring operation. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use that trend in the condition assessment because Stamatopoulos teaches that wheeze and crackle acoustic features are used to determine lung pathology, disease, and severity, while Maile relates changes in respiratory-sound trends to respiratory distress such as asthma (Stamatopoulos, ¶[0292]-[0294]; Maile, ¶[0074]). Using the temporal behavior of a respiratory-sound feature known to carry disease information makes the condition assessment responsive to changes in that clinically relevant feature rather than only to an aggregate respiratory-sound measure.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Maile does not fully teach determining, using the assessment circuit, a change in patient condition using the determined trends, wherein the change in patient condition includes a change in an indication of at least one of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD); asthma; heart failure (HF); pneumonia; bronchitis; or sleep apnea of the patient. Rather, the inherited claim 12 path produces the type-specific composite trends, and Maile determines the presence, onset, improvement, or worsening of target respiratory conditions including asthma, COPD, acute bronchitis, and sleep apnea (Maile, ¶[0048], [0090]). However, Maile does not apply that change determination to the type-specific composite trends.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Stamatopoulos by applying Maile’s condition-change assessment to one or more of the type-specific composite trends. The modified method already produces longitudinal wheeze- and crackle-specific measures that can be supplied to Maile’s condition-assessment operation. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use those longitudinal measures because Stamatopoulos expressly compares respiratory recordings over time to classify the onset, stability, or progression of lung pathology or disease, and Maile expressly monitors respiratory information for the presence, onset, improvement, or worsening of respiratory conditions (Stamatopoulos, ¶[0294]; Maile, ¶[0048], [0090]). Using the change in a separately tracked disease-relevant acoustic feature therefore provides a direct basis for determining a change in the monitored respiratory condition.
Regarding claim 23, the modified Maile further teaches the crackle comprises a fine crackle or a coarse crackle (Maile, ¶[0005]: “discontinuous or non-stationary sounds such as fine or coarse crackles”, wherein either expressly disclosed crackle alternative satisfies the added limitation when crackle is selected as one of the at least two respiratory-vibration types).
Regarding claim 24, the modified Maile further teaches the vibration sensor comprises an acceleration sensor or an acoustic sensor configured to sense vibration information indicative of patient respiratory vibrations greater than 20 Hz and less than 1000 Hz for the plurality of respiratory cycles of the patient (Maile, ¶[0066]: “an acceleration sensing circuit 315 coupled to the accelerometer sensor 302 to sense an acceleration signal”; ¶[0055]: “the first frequency band B1 may be in a range of approximately 100-300 Hz”, wherein Maile's accelerometer sensor 302 supplies the recited acceleration-sensor alternative and senses respiratory-vibration information in a band entirely greater than 20 Hz and less than 1000 Hz).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Maile further teaches the crackle comprises a fine crackle or a coarse crackle (Maile, ¶[0005]: “discontinuous or non-stationary sounds such as fine or coarse crackles”, wherein either disclosed crackle alternative satisfies the added method limitation when crackle is selected as one of the at least two respiratory-vibration types).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maile et al. (US 2017/0347968 A1), hereinafter Maile, and further in view of Scheiner et al. (US 2005/0137490 A1), hereinafter Scheiner, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2014/0171815 A1), hereinafter Yang, and further in view of Lange et al. (US 2013/0245502 A1), hereinafter Lange, and further in view of Stamatopoulos et al. (US 2019/0083001 A1), hereinafter Stamatopoulos, and further in view of McEwen (US 4,550,726), hereinafter McEwen.
The modified Maile teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
The modified Maile teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above.
McEwen is analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor of analyzing respiratory-cycle information and is reasonably pertinent to determining whether successive respiratory cycles are sufficiently similar in duration or I/E ratio for averaging (McEwen, col. 8, ll. 19-61; col. 8, l. 62-col. 9, l. 16).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Maile does not fully teach the threshold comprises a range within 5% to 10% of the duration of a first respiratory cycle or of the inspiration/expiration (I/E) ratio of the first respiratory cycle. Rather, the inherited claim 1 path establishes a duration-based cycle-qualification threshold before alignment and averaging. However, that path does not define the threshold as a range within 5% to 10% of the duration or I/E ratio of a first respiratory cycle.
McEwen teaches comparing a subsequent respiratory cycle with a first respiratory cycle using a percentage tolerance for both total cycle period and I/E ratio (McEwen, col. 8, ll. 19-61: first referential breathing cycle C1 has its "inspiration time to expiration time ratio... and total period" determined; the corresponding values of second referential breathing cycle C2 are compared with those of C1; and, when the C2 values are "within about ten percent of corresponding values determined in respect of first referential breathing cycle C1", the cycles are deemed "sufficiently similar"). McEwen's disclosure of a tolerance of about ten percent teaches or suggests selecting a 10% tolerance, which is within the claimed 5% to 10% interval (MPEP § 2144.05(I)). The specification identifies 5% and 10% as examples of selected tolerances and does not describe criticality for the recited interval (specification, [0100]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of McEwen to use the first accepted respiratory cycle as the reference and accept a subsequent cycle when its total period falls within a selected tolerance of 10% of that first cycle. The inherited claim 1 path already provides respiratory-cycle boundaries and duration values, so no new sensing operation is required. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use McEwen's percentage screen because McEwen uses that comparison to determine whether respiratory cycles are sufficiently similar to be averaged together (McEwen, col. 8, ll. 19-61). Applying the same duration-based similarity gate before alignment and averaging prevents cycles with materially different respiratory timing from being combined with the reference cycle and supplies an objective acceptance criterion within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Maile does not expressly disclose the first set of respiratory cycles of the patient comprises at least 5 respiratory cycles. Rather, the inherited claim 12 path establishes a duration-qualified first set and Scheiner teaches ensemble averaging "between 2 and 128 cardiac cycles" (Scheiner, [0044]), but the established method does not require at least five cycles in that set.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Scheiner to select at least five duration-qualified respiratory cycles for the first set before the inherited averaging operation. Scheiner expressly identifies a finite operating range of 2 to 128 completed cycles for ensemble averaging. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use a multi-cycle set because Scheiner teaches that averaging multiple cycles accentuates recurring sound information while filtering random or spurious noise (Scheiner, [0044]). Selecting five is an ordinary choice within Scheiner's disclosed finite range and uses the same averaging technique already incorporated into the claim 12 path.
Also, regarding claim 16, the modified Maile does not fully teach the threshold comprises a range within 5% to 10% of the duration of a first respiratory cycle or of the inspiration/expiration (I/E) ratio of the first respiratory cycle. Rather, the inherited claim 12 path establishes duration-based qualification of the cycles collected for averaging. However, the established method does not define the qualification threshold as a selected tolerance from 5% through 10% about the duration or I/E ratio of a first respiratory cycle.
McEwen teaches determining the I/E ratio and total period of a first referential breathing cycle C1 and comparing the corresponding values of second referential breathing cycle C2 with C1 using an approximately ten-percent tolerance (McEwen, col. 8, ll. 19-61). McEwen further teaches that, after defining a reference breathing cycle, the I/E ratio and total period of each subsequent active breathing cycle are compared with the corresponding values of that single stored reference (McEwen, col. 8, l. 62-col. 9, l. 16). McEwen's disclosure of a tolerance of about ten percent teaches or suggests selecting a 10% tolerance, which is within the claimed 5% to 10% interval (MPEP § 2144.05(I)). The specification identifies 5% and 10% as examples of selected tolerances and does not describe criticality for the recited interval (specification, [0100]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of McEwen to retain the first accepted respiratory cycle as a fixed comparison reference while the multi-cycle set is collected and to accept later cycles when their total period falls within a selected tolerance of 10% of that first cycle. The inherited method already provides the cycle boundaries and duration values needed for repeated comparisons. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use one fixed reference so that each candidate cycle is evaluated against the same timing standard while the set is accumulated. McEwen demonstrates that approach by comparing subsequent active breathing cycles to a stored respiratory-cycle reference after the reference is established (McEwen, col. 8, l. 62-col. 9, l. 16).
The modification therefore supplies a consistent duration-based similarity criterion within the claimed range across the at-least-five-cycle set.
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maile et al. (US 2017/0347968 A1), hereinafter Maile, and further in view of Scheiner et al. (US 2005/0137490 A1), hereinafter Scheiner, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2014/0171815 A1), hereinafter Yang, and further in view of Lange et al. (US 2013/0245502 A1), hereinafter Lange, and further in view of Stamatopoulos et al. (US 2019/0083001 A1), hereinafter Stamatopoulos, with Reichert et al., “Analysis of Respiratory Sounds: State of the Art,” Clinical Medicine: Circulatory, Respiratory and Pulmonary Medicine, vol. 2, pp. 45-58 (2008), hereinafter Reichert, cited as evidence.
The modified Maile teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
The modified Maile teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 22, the modified Maile does not fully teach the at least two respiratory vibration types comprise a continuous adventitious respiratory vibration type and a discontinuous adventitious respiratory vibration type. Rather, the inherited claim 1 path identifies wheeze and crackle as respiratory-vibration types, and Maile characterizes wheeze as continuous and crackle as discontinuous (Maile, ¶[0005]). However, Maile describes those categories as abnormal respiratory sounds and does not expressly use the claimed adventitious terminology.
Reichert is cited as evidence that the already identified wheeze and crackle have the claimed classifications. Reichert identifies crackles as adventitious and discontinuous sounds and wheeze as an adventitious and continuous sound (Reichert, p. 47). Thus, the wheeze already identified by the modified Maile is a continuous adventitious respiratory vibration type, and the crackle already identified by the modified Maile is a discontinuous adventitious respiratory vibration type.
Regarding claim 27, the modified Maile does not fully teach the at least two respiratory vibration types comprise a continuous adventitious respiratory vibration type and a discontinuous adventitious respiratory vibration type. Rather, the inherited claim 12 path identifies wheeze and crackle as respiratory-vibration types, and Maile characterizes wheeze as continuous and crackle as discontinuous (Maile, ¶[0005]). However, Maile does not expressly characterize those types as adventitious.
Reichert is cited as evidence that the already identified wheeze and crackle have the claimed classifications. Reichert identifies crackles as adventitious and discontinuous sounds and wheeze as an adventitious and continuous sound (Reichert, p. 47). Thus, the wheeze already identified by the modified Maile is a continuous adventitious respiratory vibration type, and the crackle already identified by the modified Maile is a discontinuous adventitious respiratory vibration type.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maile et al. (US 2017/0347968 A1), hereinafter Maile, and further in view of Scheiner et al. (US 2005/0137490 A1), hereinafter Scheiner, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2014/0171815 A1), hereinafter Yang, and further in view of Lange et al. (US 2013/0245502 A1), hereinafter Lange, and further in view of Stamatopoulos et al. (US 2019/0083001 A1), hereinafter Stamatopoulos, and further in view of Hatlestad et al. (US 2010/0010378 A1), hereinafter Hatlestad.
The modified Maile teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 25, the modified Maile does not expressly disclose the assessment circuit is configured to store the type-specific composite respiratory vibration in memory in the housing. Rather, the inherited claim 1 path produces the type-specific composite and establishes the in-housing vibration-sensing arrangement, but it does not store that processed composite in memory within the housing.
Hatlestad teaches storing processed, type-associated respiratory-sound information in implant memory. Controller 32 may assess the “type, degree and/or severity of adventitious lung sounds, and store one or more of such assessments in memory 34” (Hatlestad, ¶[0035]). Hatlestad also teaches processing the accelerometer lung-sound signal to generate processed sensed signals and “storing one or more of the raw or processed sensed signals in the memory 34 for later retrieval” (Hatlestad, ¶[0044]). Memory 34 is a component of implantable device 18 housed within the implantable housing (Hatlestad, ¶[0029]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Hatlestad to store each type-specific composite respiratory vibration in memory within the implantable housing. The composite is processed respiratory-sound information, and Hatlestad stores processed sensed signals and type-associated lung-sound information in implant memory, so the storage operation is compatible with the modified Maile output. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to retain the processed composite in implant memory rather than requiring all underlying raw samples to be retained or transmitted because Hatlestad explains that implant-side processing can decrease storage requirements and transmission load while allowing processed signals to be retrieved later (Hatlestad, ¶[0044]). Storing the already processed type-specific composite serves those resource and later-retrieval objectives while placing the retained information in the housing memory recited by the claim.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maile et al. (US 2017/0347968 A1), hereinafter Maile, and further in view of Scheiner et al. (US 2005/0137490 A1), hereinafter Scheiner, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2014/0171815 A1), hereinafter Yang, and further in view of Lange et al. (US 2013/0245502 A1), hereinafter Lange, and further in view of Stamatopoulos et al. (US 2019/0083001 A1), hereinafter Stamatopoulos, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2013/0060149 A1), hereinafter Song.
The modified Maile teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 29, the modified Maile does not fully teach the assessment circuit is configured to identify each vibration portion of the vibration portions corresponding to the at least two respiratory vibration types using a frequency of the vibration portion and a phase of the phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal corresponding to the vibration portion. Rather, the inherited claim 1 path identifies wheeze and crackle portions using Stamatopoulos's respiratory-sound classification and generates Yang's phase-corrected sinusoidal output for respiratory-phase detection and vibration-segment alignment. However, the established modification does not expressly use the frequency of each vibration portion together with the corresponding phase of the sinusoidal output in identifying the respiratory vibration type.
Song teaches distinguishing wheezing and crackles using respiratory-sound frequency characteristics and the respiratory phase in which the sound occurs (Song, [0095]: "Wheezing will typically be detected primarily during expiration whereas crackles occur during or at end inspiration"; "the primary frequency component will tend to be different between crackles and wheezing"; and "a frequency threshold and/or a duration threshold may be applied in respiration sound signatures which may further include detecting the particular sound characteristics during a predefined time window of the respiration cycle, e.g. inspiration vs. expiration phase", wherein frequency characteristics and respiratory-phase-specific occurrence are used in distinguishing respiratory-sound types).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Song to identify wheeze and crackle vibration portions using their frequency characteristics together with the corresponding respiratory phase indicated by Yang's sinusoidal output signal. The modified Maile already identifies wheeze and crackle portions and uses Yang's sinusoidal output as the respiratory-phase reference for detecting transitions and aligning vibration information. Song teaches that wheezing and crackles have different frequency characteristics and occur at different portions of the respiratory cycle, and that respiratory-sound signatures may use frequency thresholds together with sound characteristics detected during inspiration or expiration (Song, [0095]). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use both characteristics to distinguish wheeze and crackle portions based on their frequency and their occurrence within the respiratory cycle, rather than relying on frequency alone. Since the modified Maile already uses Yang's phase-corrected sinusoidal output to identify respiratory-phase transitions and align the vibration information, the phase of that output corresponding to each vibration portion would provide the respiratory-phase information for Song's discrimination technique. Using that existing phase reference with the vibration frequency would permit identification of each vibration portion according to both its frequency and its corresponding respiratory phase without requiring a separate respiratory-phase determination.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maile et al. (US 2017/0347968 A1), hereinafter Maile, in view of Scheiner et al. (US 2005/0137490 A1), hereinafter Scheiner, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2014/0171815 A1), hereinafter Yang, and further in view of Lange et al. (US 2013/0245502 A1), hereinafter Lange, and further in view of Stamatopoulos et al. (US 2019/0083001 A1), hereinafter Stamatopoulos, and further in view of Baker, Jr. (US 2005/0197793 A1), hereinafter Baker.
The modified Maile teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 30, the modified Maile does not fully teach the assessment circuit is configured to, after aligning the segments of the vibration information using the phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal, assign the aligned vibration portions corresponding to each of the at least two respiratory vibration types to a respective type-specific buffer, and average the aligned vibration portions in each respective type-specific buffer to produce the corresponding type-specific composite respiratory vibration. Rather, the inherited claim 1 path aligns vibration segments using Yang's phase-corrected sinusoidal output, identifies wheeze and crackle portions, and separately averages the aligned portions of each type to produce respective type-specific composites. However, the established modification does not expressly assign the aligned portions to respective type-specific buffers before averaging.
Baker is analogous art because its buffered ensemble-averaging techniques are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by claim 30 of retaining corresponding portions of separately processed physiological-signal streams before forming separate composite waveforms (Baker, [0067]-[0071], [0078], [0087]).
Baker teaches separate input buffers that retain physiological-signal samples before ensemble averaging. Baker stores input samples in a "one-second-delay buffer" before averaging them with corresponding samples of a previous composite pulse (Baker, [0070]-[0071]) and stores the red and infrared low-pass waveforms in respective one-second input buffers (Baker, [0078]). Baker also maintains the completed red and infrared composite pulses in separate composite-pulse buffers (Baker, [0087]). Thus, the pertinent teaching for the claimed intermediate storage is Baker's use of separate input buffers before ensemble averaging, with the separate composite buffers confirming continued separation of the processed streams.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Maile in view of Baker so that, after the vibration segments are aligned and the aligned portions are identified by respiratory vibration type, the aligned wheeze portions are assigned to one input buffer and the aligned crackle portions are assigned to another input buffer, and the portions in each buffer are then averaged to produce the corresponding type-specific composite. The modified Maile already aligns and classifies the vibration portions and, through Scheiner, separately averages like events (Scheiner, [0062]). Baker teaches retaining distinct physiological-signal streams in separate input buffers before ensemble averaging (Baker, [0070]-[0071], [0078]). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply that buffering arrangement to preserve the separation of the already classified wheeze and crackle streams while sufficient aligned portions are accumulated for their respective averages. The processing sequence is alignment, type identification, assignment to the corresponding buffer, and averaging of the assigned portions. This applies Baker's pre-averaging storage technique to keep the separate signal streams organized during composite formation.
Response to Arguments
Objections
Applicant's arguments filed 9/28/2026, page 9, regarding the previous objection to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant amended claim 1 to correct the misplaced conjunction and punctuation identified in the previous Office Action. The amendment resolves the identified grammatical informalities. Accordingly, the objection to claim 1 is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The previous interpretations of the preambles of claims 1 and 12 have been reconsidered and are maintained. The language concerning improving detection of respiratory vibration information continues to be interpreted as a statement of intended purpose, rather than requiring a separate detecting operation beyond the structures and steps recited in the claims.
For claims 7 and 16, "a range within 5% to 10% of the duration" is interpreted as a selected tolerance X, where X is from 5% through 10%, about the duration or I/E ratio of the first respiratory cycle. It is not interpreted as requiring the compared cycles to differ by at least 5%. This is consistent with the specification's description of a selected percentage threshold or range (Instant Specification, [0100]).
The previous interpretations of "the crackle" in claims 23 and 28 are also maintained. In each claim, crackle is interpreted as one of the at least two respiratory vibration types selected in the respective independent claim, with the selected crackle further limited to a fine crackle or a coarse crackle.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant's arguments filed 9/28/2026, page 9, regarding the previous rejections of claims 7 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant amended claims 7 and 16 to replace "N%" with "5% to 10%." The amendments resolve the previously identified indefiniteness because the percentage tolerance is now expressly defined. Accordingly, the previous rejections of claims 7 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 9/28/2026, pages 10-13, regarding the previous rejections of claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-12, 14-16, 20, 22-25, and 27-28 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered. The present rejections have been revised in view of the amended limitations of claims 1 and 12 so that Yang's PLL is applied directly to Maile's sensed respiration signal. Dripps is not relied upon in the present rejections. Accordingly, Applicant's Dripps-specific criticisms are moot as to the present rejections to the extent they concern teachings no longer relied upon. Applicant's arguments concerning the claimed sinusoidal output and combined processing architecture remain relevant and are addressed below.
Applicant's Argument: Applicant argues that Dripps does not generate the phase-corrected sinusoidal output signal now required by claims 1 and 12 because Dripps's oscillator remains locked to the pulsatile PPG waveform and its phase-difference signal 410 is not a sinusoidal oscillator output aligned to respiration. Applicant further argues that supplying signal 410 to Maile's respiratory-phase detector 214 does not establish using the claimed sinusoidal output for both respiratory-transition detection and vibration-segment alignment, and that the remaining references do not remedy this deficiency.
Examiner's Response: As acknowledged in the prior action, Dripps's oscillator remains locked to the PPG waveform and its signal 410 is not itself the claimed phase-corrected sinusoidal output. However, the present rejection no longer relies on Dripps. Yang teaches a PLL in which the received physiological signal is compared with a pure sinusoidal local oscillator, the comparison product is low-pass filtered, and the oscillator phase is updated to maintain phase lock with the received signal (Yang, [0042]-[0043]). As set forth in the present rejection, Maile's own sensed respiration signal is supplied to that PLL after the input conditioning taught by Yang, and the resulting phase-locked sinusoidal output is used as the respiration signal for Maile's detector 214 (Maile, [0054]; Yang, [0040]-[0043]). Because the PLL receives Maile's sensed respiration signal, recurring locations of the oscillator waveform would have a corresponding relationship to the respiratory landmarks identified by Maile. The proposed modification uses that relationship to identify the sinusoidal locations corresponding to respiratory-phase transitions, accounting for the relevant phase offset, and detects the transitions using the established correspondence using those locations of the sinusoidal output. The rejection therefore does not rely on the assumption that an arbitrary oscillator zero crossing necessarily corresponds to a respiratory transition. The same output is then used as the respiratory reference for aligning the duration-qualified vibration segments under Lange. The present rejection therefore does not depend on Dripps's PPG oscillator or signal 410 performing a function that Dripps does not disclose.
Applicant's Argument: Applicant further argues that the previous Office Action does not establish an articulated reason or reasonable expectation of success for the ordered processing architecture of amended claims 1 and 12. Applicant contends that the cited references disclose separate operations but do not establish why a person of ordinary skill would combine them into a sequence in which the same PLL-generated sinusoidal output is used for respiratory-transition detection and alignment of duration-qualified vibration segments before classification, type-specific averaging, and trending.
Examiner's Response: Applicant's argument is not persuasive as to the present combination. Maile already uses a respiration signal to determine respiratory phases and synchronize respiratory-sound information (Maile, [0054], [0057]). The Yang modification provides a phase-tracked sinusoidal form of that same respiration signal, so the same timing reference can be used for transition detection and for the later alignment operation. Scheiner and Lange then provide the duration-screening and alignment techniques applied before averaging (Scheiner, [0046]; Lange, [0275], [0303]). Performing classification on the aligned segments is a predictable implementation because the segments have already been placed on a common respiratory-phase basis, permitting the respiratory-sound portions to be assessed in a consistent phase context before the identified types are routed to separate averages. Stamatopoulos supplies the wheeze and crackle classification, while Scheiner teaches separate averaging of like events (Stamatopoulos, [0431]-[0432]; Scheiner, [0044], [0062]). The rejection does not require that classification could only occur after alignment; rather, it identifies a reason why the claimed order would have been useful and predictable in the modified Maile.
Scheiner further teaches that ensemble averaging recurring sound information accentuates the recurring content while filtering random or spurious noise (Scheiner, [0044]). Aligning portions to corresponding respiratory locations and then grouping them by the same identified respiratory-sound type increases the comparability of the samples entering each average. A person of ordinary skill would therefore reasonably expect corresponding recurring type-specific content to reinforce while uncorrelated noise is reduced. Maile's existing trend operation is then applied separately to the resulting type-specific composites, consistent with Stamatopoulos's use of separately extracted respiratory features to follow lung pathology over time (Maile, [0073]-[0074]; Stamatopoulos, [0293]-[0294]). Each modification is applied at the point where its input information is available and for the benefit taught by the cited art, and the signals passed between the stages are ordinary respiratory timing information and digitized vibration samples. The present combination therefore provides both an articulated reason for the claimed arrangement and a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant's Argument: Applicant argues that dependent claims 7 and 16 contain patentable subject matter beyond their respective independent claims and that McEwen does not remedy the deficiencies asserted concerning those independent claims. Applicant makes corresponding arguments that Reichert does not cure the asserted deficiencies for claims 22 and 27 and that Hatlestad does not cure the asserted deficiencies for claim 25.
Examiner's Response: Applicant's arguments are not persuasive as to the present dependent-claim rejections. Claims 7 and 16 incorporate the revised independent-claim grounds described above. McEwen is relied upon for the additional percentage-tolerance limitation and teaches accepting a respiratory cycle when its total period or I/E ratio is within about ten percent of the corresponding value of a reference cycle, which teaches or suggests selecting a 10% tolerance within the claimed interval (McEwen, col. 8, ll. 19-61). For claim 16, Scheiner additionally teaches averaging a finite set of 2 to 128 cycles, and McEwen teaches comparing subsequent cycles to a fixed stored reference (Scheiner, [0044]; McEwen, col. 8, l. 62-col. 9, l. 16). Reichert remains cited for the classification of wheeze and crackle as continuous and discontinuous adventitious respiratory sounds, respectively (Reichert, p. 47). Hatlestad remains relied upon for the additional storage limitation of claim 25 (Hatlestad, [0029], [0035], [0044]). These references address the respective dependent-claim limitations and are not relied upon to supply the PLL-generated sinusoidal output.
Claims 21 and 26 have been canceled, and the previous rejections concerning those claims are moot.
Claims 29 and 30 were newly added and were not subject to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Their present rejections are set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791