DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 2-4 are canceled. Claims 1 and 5-20 are pending where claim 1 has been amended. Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from consideration and claims 1 and 5-8 remain for examination on the merits.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previous 35 USC 103 rejections of the claims have been withdrawn in view of amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Magnetic properties and hyperfine interactions of amorphous Fe-Hf alloys” by Liou et al in view of CN 101195874 to Gong et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) and in view of the evidentiary reference “The Preparation of High-Purity Iron (99.987%) Employing a Process of Direct Reduction–Melting Separation–Slag Refining” by Li et al.
Regarding claim 1, Liou discloses examples of metallic glasses with compositions of Fe50Hf50 and Fe60Hf40 (Liou, abstract, page 3536 “II. Experiment,” Figures 1 and 3), lying within the instantly claimed range of 15≤x≤66.6 where TM is Hf and E is Fe.
Regarding the limitations “0< n ≤ 15… NP is at least one species of element selected from the element group consisting of B, V, Mn, Ga, In, Sn, Pb and Bi…” and “0<z≤5… A is at least one element group selected from the group consisting of P and N… wherein the P is at least one species of element selected from the element group consisting of Mo, Ta and W, and, wherein the N is at least one species of element selected from the element group consisting of C, N, Si, P, Ge, Pd, Pt, and Au,” the instantly claimed lower limits of >0 allow for as little as one atom of any of B, V, Mn, Ga, In, Sn, Pb and Bi and as little as one atom of Mo, Ta, W, C, N, Si, P, Ge, Pd, Pt, and Au. The evidentiary reference “The Preparation of High-Purity Iron (99.987%) Employing a Process of Direct Reduction–Melting Separation–Slag Refining” by Li et al discloses that trace amounts of V, Mn, Mo, P, N, Mo, C, N, Si and P exist as inevitable impurities in Fe (Murray, page 1096, Table 2), i.e. these elements cannot practically be fully removed from a source material of Fe. As Fe is present in the alloy of Liou, trace non-zero amounts of V, Mn, Mo, P, N, Mo, C, N, Si and P would be expected to be present in the alloy of Liou and as such the impurities present would constitute z and n values slightly greater than zero, lying within the instantly claimed ranges. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to not fully remove to the last atom all impurities of V, Mn, Mo, P, N, Mo, C, N, Si and P from the alloy of Liou. The motivation for doing so would be to avoid the extreme costs and processing conditions necessary to fully remove all impurities V, Mn, Mo, P, N, Mo, C, N, Si and P from the alloy of Liou, if such a task is even realistically possible.
Liou does not explicitly disclose the limitation “0 < p ≤ 2… wherein the PN is at least one species of element selected from the element group consisting of Sc, La, Pr, Sm, Dy, Ho and Er.
Gong discloses that 0.1 mol% to 10 mol% of La, Sc, Sm, Ho and/or Er (overlapping the instantly claimed range of 0 < p ≤ 2 may be added to an Fe-based amorphous alloy in order to increase the amorphous forming ability of the alloy, thereby improving the bending strength and hardness of the alloy which reduces production costs and enables mass-production (Gong, para [0007-0008, 0011]).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.1 mol% to 10 mol% of La, Sc, Sm, Ho and/or Er to the Fe-based amorphous alloy of Liou as suggested by Gong. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the amorphous forming ability of the alloy, thereby improving the bending strength and hardness of the alloy which reduces production costs and enables mass-production (Gong, para [0007-0008, 0011]).
Regarding the limitation “resettable,” when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Liou in view of Gong would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Liou in view of Gong has the same or substantially the same composition and amorphous structure.
Regarding claims 5-8, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Liou in view of Gong would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Liou in view of Gong has the same or substantially the same composition and amorphous structure.
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “TDPAC study of mechanically alloyed amorphous and intermetallic Fe-Hf alloys” by Iwashita et al in view of CN 101195874 to Gong et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) and in view of the evidentiary reference “The Preparation of High-Purity Iron (99.987%) Employing a Process of Direct Reduction–Melting Separation–Slag Refining” by Li et al.
Regarding claim 1, Iwashita discloses examples of an amorphous alloy (i.e. metallic glass) with a composition of Fe57Hf43 (Iwashita, abstract, page 527 “2. Experimental”), lying within the instantly claimed range of 15≤x≤66.6 where TM is Hf and E is Fe.
Regarding the limitations “0< n ≤ 15… NP is at least one species of element selected from the element group consisting of B, V, Mn, Ga, In, Sn, Pb and Bi…” and “0<z≤5… A is at least one element group selected from the group consisting of P and N… wherein the P is at least one species of element selected from the element group consisting of Mo, Ta and W, and, wherein the N is at least one species of element selected from the element group consisting of C, N, Si, P, Ge, Pd, Pt, and Au,” the instantly claimed lower limits of >0 allow for as little as one atom of any of B, V, Mn, Ga, In, Sn, Pb and Bi and as little as one atom of Mo, Ta, W, C, N, Si, P, Ge, Pd, Pt, and Au. The evidentiary reference “The Preparation of High-Purity Iron (99.987%) Employing a Process of Direct Reduction–Melting Separation–Slag Refining” by Li et al discloses that trace amounts of V, Mn, Mo, P, N, Mo, C, N, Si and P exist as inevitable impurities in Fe (Murray, page 1096, Table 2), i.e. these elements cannot practically be fully removed from a source material of Fe. As Fe is present in the alloy of Iwashita, trace non-zero amounts of V, Mn, Mo, P, N, Mo, C, N, Si and P would be expected to be present in the alloy of Iwashita and as such the impurities present would constitute z and n values slightly greater than zero, lying within the instantly claimed ranges. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to not fully remove to the last atom all impurities of V, Mn, Mo, P, N, Mo, C, N, Si and P from the alloy of Iwashita. The motivation for doing so would be to avoid the extreme costs and processing conditions necessary to fully remove all impurities V, Mn, Mo, P, N, Mo, C, N, Si and P from the alloy of Iwashita, if such a task is even realistically possible.
Iwashita does not explicitly disclose the limitation “0 < p ≤ 2… wherein the PN is at least one species of element selected from the element group consisting of Sc, La, Pr, Sm, Dy, Ho and Er.
Gong discloses that 0.1 mol% to 10 mol% of La, Sc, Sm, Ho and/or Er (overlapping the instantly claimed range of 0 < p ≤ 2 may be added to an Fe-based amorphous alloy in order to increase the amorphous forming ability of the alloy, thereby improving the bending strength and hardness of the alloy which reduces production costs and enables mass-production (Gong, para [0007-0008, 0011]).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.1 mol% to 10 mol% of La, Sc, Sm, Ho and/or Er to the Fe-based amorphous alloy of Iwashita as suggested by Gong. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the amorphous forming ability of the alloy, thereby improving the bending strength and hardness of the alloy which reduces production costs and enables mass-production (Gong, para [0007-0008, 0011]).
Regarding the limitation “resettable,” when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Iwashita in view of Gong would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Iwashita in view of Gong has the same or substantially the same composition and amorphous structure.
Regarding claims 5-8, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Iwashita in view of Gong would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Iwashita in view of Gong has the same or substantially the same composition and amorphous structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 5-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN D WALCK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738