DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments, Amendments
Applicant is thanked for their October 4, 2025 response to the Office Action filed July 9, 2024. In particular, Applicant is thanked for their amendment to claim 24, rendering the previous 35 USC §112(b) indefiniteness rejection withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 4, 11 – 16, and 23 – 26 have been considered, and inasmuch as they pertain to prior art still being relied upon, the examiner’s response follows below. Respectfully, any arguments/ remarks directed towards newly amended limitations are moot if they resulted in a new ground(s) of rejection.
Regarding the 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 1 – 4, 11, 13, 15, 24, and 25 as being unpatentable over Su et al (WO 2019/091987), in view of Hartenstein et al (US 6,711,470), in view of Sikora et al (US 2015/0112456), Applicant remarked that (inter alia): the amended claim 1 now recites "the indoor gas detector is capable of being worn on a human to detect the polluted gas in the indoor space in real-time." Paragraph [0018] of the specification of the present application recites: "In another embodiment, alternatively, the indoor gas detector lb may be a portable detection device. In one embodiment, the indoor gas detector lb may be a wearable device, such as a watch or a bracelet which can be worn on a human body (as shown in Fig. 1B to Fig. lE)…Su and Hartenstein, while disclosing air quality monitoring and control, focus on the overall environmental control of a building or space. Neither reference teaches nor suggests designing the detector to be "wearable" to provide personalized, real-time detection…
The examiner respectfully notes the following, and responds to Applicant’s remarks in view of the rejection of former Claim 31:
Respectfully, the rejection of clam 3 includes mapping to Su et al pg 13/24, lns 20 – 23, provided below:
Although page 13/24 does not explicitly state that the “wired or wireless communication module” is capable of being worn on a human:
Su et al figure 1 discloses that “(t)he air purification monitoring system 10 typically comprises a computing device 30 including a processor 31. The computing device 30 may be any suitable computing device, such as a personal computer, e.g. a desktop computer or a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a personal digital assistant, a mobile communication device such as a smartphone and so on.” (pg 7/24 – 8/24, lns 32 – 2 )
Su et al figure 2 discloses a wireless communication module (40) (pg 10/24, lns 22 – 32), where “any suitable mobile communication device 40, e.g. a smart phone, tablet computer, personal digital assistant, and so on, may be used for this purpose.”
It is respectfully noted that in the remarks filed July 24, 20242, and filed January 22, 20253, Applicant did not argue that Su et al disclosed the claim 3 limitations of “the indoor gas detector is capable of being worn on a human”.
It is respectfully noted that criticality has not been provided for the limitation “the indoor gas detector is capable of being worn on a human”. Rather, a capability of “being worn” is one of three embodiments disclosed in paragraph [0018], as Applicant states that the indoor gas detector may be fixed in the indoor space, and also may be portable.
Regarding the assertion that Su et al lacks “to detect the polluted gas in the indoor space in real time”,
Su et al discloses: “the sensors are communicatively coupled over a communication link (25), The devices may communicate with each other through their respective wireless transceivers using any suitable wireless communication protocol, e.g. Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, a mobile communication protocol such as 2G, 3G, 4G or 5G, a suitable near- field communication (NFC) protocol or a proprietary protocol… Any suitable embodiment of wired or wireless communication between such respective devices may be contemplated” (pg 9/24, lns 14 – 19). As these are similar communication means disclosed by Applicant4, it has been understood that Su et al discloses detecting and communicating polluted gas in real time.
Su et al discloses: “The sensory output device 35 may form part of a mobile communication device 40, with the computing device 30 adapted to communicate with the mobile communication device over a wireless communication link 37, e.g. using any of the aforementioned wireless communication protocols.” (pg 10/24 – 11/24, lns 22- 2)
Although Applicant may have intended the statement in quotations to be metaphorical, it is respectfully noted that a "wearable detection + intelligent control" is not recited in the amended claim 1, contrary to the remark on lines 15 – 17, pg 17/21. (provided below, for convenience)
Accordingly, while Applicant’s remarks have been thoughtfully considered, the rejection of former Claim 3, and current Claim 1 has been maintained.
Regarding the 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 1 – 4, 11, 13, 15, 24, and 25 as being unpatentable over Su et al (WO 2019/091987), in view of Hartenstein et al (US 6,711,470), in view of Sikora et al (US 2015/0112456), Applicant remarked - continued - (inter alia): In addition, the term "wearable" requires both structural and functional suitability. The original claim 3 recites "the indoor gas detector is capable of being worn on a human to detect the polluted gas in the indoor space in real-time." This not only involves its function but also requires the design to meet human use requirements, such as a lightweight and miniaturized design, battery power and low power consumption, and human comfort and secure fastening (e.g., clips, wristbands, or lanyards). Su does not disclose or suggest these types of design features. Su's "standalone" nature is merely relative to a central control system, and Su's device still functions as an environmental detector.
The examiner respectfully notes that, while original claim 35 discloses that the indoor gas detector is capable of being worn, a review of the disclosure lacks any specific structural and functional attributes that enable the detector of being worn. To the contrary, the indoor gas detector may be fixed in the indoor space [0018].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 13, 15, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Su et al (WO 2019/091987), in view of Hartenstein et al (US 6,711,470), in view of Sikora et al (US 2015/0112456).
In re Claim 1, Su et al discloses a method (figure 7) for intelligently preventing and handling indoor air pollution (contaminants) by filtering and exchanging of a polluted gas in an indoor space, wherein the method comprises:
detecting a polluted gas (“a particular type of unfavourable matter”) in an outdoor space and transmitting an outdoor gas detection data thereof, wherein an outdoor gas detector (pg 4/24, lns 18 – 19: (24)) comprising a gas detection module (20) is provided to detect the polluted gas in the outdoor space and transmit the outdoor gas detection data thereof;
Please note that the outdoor gas detector of Su et al comprises a gas detection module further comprising an “outdoor temperature sensor” (pg 4/24, lns 18 – 19); “outdoor particle concentration” (pg 14/24, lns 26 – 27); “Coutdoor is the ambient CO2 concentration in the outside world” (pg 16/24, lns 29 – 31); “a further CO2 sensor placed in the outside world” (pg 17/24, lns 25 – 26); “using outdoor analyte sensor” (pg 19/24, lns 20 – 25);
detecting the polluted gas in the indoor space (fig 1: (1)) and transmitting an indoor gas detection data thereof (via a communication link (25)), wherein an indoor gas detector comprising another gas detection module (fig 1: (20)) is provided to detect the polluted gas in the indoor space and transmit (via (25)) the indoor gas detection data thereof;
“The sensors 21 , 22, 23 may be integrated in any suitable device, such as the air purification apparatus 50, the computing device 30 or a stand-alone sensor device 20, e.g. a sensor box or the like”.(pg 9/24, lns 3 - 5)
“The processor 31 may be adapted to monitor the concentration of a particular pollutant, the temperature within the enclosed space 1 and/or the pressure within the enclosed space 1 based on the sensor data provided by the sensors 21, 22, 23 of the sensor device 20. In an embodiment, the processor 31 may be integrated into such a stand-alone sensor device 20, i.e. the stand-alone sensor device 20 may comprise the computing device 30.” (pg 9/24, lns 9 – 13)
providing an indoor gas exchange system (figs 1, 4) in the indoor space for purification so as to introduce an outdoor gas (via (57)) into the indoor space for gas exchange, wherein the indoor gas exchange system comprises a gas exchanger (50) adapted to receive the outdoor gas detection data (pg 17/24, lns 25 – 26) and the indoor detection data (via (25)), compare the outdoor gas detection data with the indoor detection data (pg 19/24, lns 8-16), and introduce the outdoor gas (via control of (65)) into the indoor space for gas exchange (pg 13/24, lns 30 – 33); and
providing a comparison of the outdoor gas detection data and the indoor gas detection data by the gas exchanger (50), thereby providing a selection for the gas exchanger to control gas exchange of the polluted gas in the indoor space, wherein the gas exchanger performs a computation (pg 16/24, ln 11 – 33, pg 17/24, lns 22 – 29) to control introduction (fig 7: step 107) of the outdoor gas into the indoor space (fig 7: step (105)), so as to achieve the gas exchange of the polluted gas in the indoor space with the outdoor gas (via operation of system (50), pg 4/24, ln 29 – pg 5/24 ln 4; pg 19/24, lns 5 – 18), thereby allowing the indoor gas detection data of the polluted gas in the indoor space to be decreased to a safety detection value and allowing the polluted gas in the indoor space to be exchanged into a clean, safe, and breathable gas;
wherein the gas exchanger (fig 4: (50)) comprises at least one gas inlet (57), an inlet channel (annotated, below), a cleaning unit (63), at least one flow-guiding component (67), at least one gas outlet (53), at least one gas-exchange inlet (51), a gas-exchange channel (annotated, below), at least one gas-exchange outlet (59), and a control driving unit (30, wirelessly) (pg 5/24, lns 21 – 29; pg 9/24, lns 20 - 33);
wherein the at least one gas inlet (57) is connected to the inlet channel (annotated below);
the cleaning unit (63) is disposed in the inlet channel (57);
the at least one gas outlet (53) is in communication with the inlet channel (57) (as seen in fig 4, via (65)) and connected to the at least one flow-guiding component (67); and
the at least one gas-exchange inlet (51) is connected to the gas-exchange channel which is in communication with the at least one gas-exchange outlet (59);
wherein the control driving unit (30) controls the operation of the flow guiding component and performs the computation after receiving the outdoor gas detection data and the indoor gas detection data through a wireless transmission, so as to intelligently control the outdoor gas to be introduced into the indoor space, so that the polluted gas in the indoor space is exchanged with the outdoor gas (pg 13/24, lns 20 – 33), thereby allowing the indoor gas detection data of the polluted gas in the indoor space to be decreased to the safety detection value (pg 19/24, lns 5 – 18);
wherein the gas detection module (20) comprises a control circuit board***, a gas detection main body (21), a microprocessor (31), and a communication device (figs 1, 2: (25, 37))
*** Although Su et al does not explicitly state that the gas detection module (20) comprises a control circuit board, as “the sensor device 20 may comprise the computing device 30.” (pg 9/24, lns 9 – 13), and computing devices comprise control circuit boards, it has been understood that the gas detection module comprises a control circuit board.
wherein the gas detection main body, the microprocessor, and the communication device, wherein the gas detection main body, the microprocessor, and the communication device are integrally packaged with and electrically connected to the control circuit board (as Su et al discloses “a module”, it has been understood to be integrally packaged);
the microprocessor controls an operation of the gas detection main body for detecting a detection signal of the polluted gas which is received and processed by the microprocessor (“adapted to communicate with the air purification monitoring system 10 according to any of the described embodiments, which itself may be communicatively coupled to a separate sensor device 20”); and the outdoor gas detection data and the indoor detection data are provided to the communication devices for wirelessly transmitting outward (pg /24, lns 14 – 28; pg 13/24, lns 19 – pg 14/24, ln 2); and
wherein the indoor gas detector (20) (pg 9, ln 4, ln 19) is capable of being worn on a human to detect the polluted gas in the indoor space in real-time. (pg 9/24, lns 17 – 28, pg 13, lns 20 – 23; pg 10, ln 22 – pg 11, ln 2).
Regarding the limitation “capable of being worn”, in that Su et al discloses a stand-alone sensor device coupled over a wireless link, such sensor devices are capable of being worn (“to bear or have on the person6); without a claimed structural difference in detectors, Su et al discloses the limitation.
Additionally, Su et al discloses wherein “a computing device may be a tablet computer, a personal digital assistant or a mobile communication device such as a smartphone and so on” (pg 7/24)
Su et al may be construed as lacking (which the examiner does not concede):
wherein the method comprises providing a comparison of the outdoor gas detection data and the indoor gas detection data by the gas exchanger (50); and
wherein the gas detection main body, the microprocessor, and the communication device are integrally packaged with and electrically connected to the gas detection modules control circuit board.
Hartenstein et al teaches a method of using an indoor air quality monitoring system (figs 2, 3: (80)), for monitoring and adjusting indoor air quality, comprising:
detecting outdoor air(gas) (72) qualities/contaminants via a sensor array (82), and sending an outdoor air(gas) qualities/contaminant data to a gas exchanger (processor (86)),
detecting indoor7 air(gas) (68) qualities/contaminants via the sensor array (82), and sending an outdoor air(gas) qualities/contaminant data to the gas exchanger (86) (col 8, lns 3 – 30)
providing an intelligent comparison the outdoor air and indoor air data (col 9, lns 55 – 65), and if corrective action is required,
providing an intelligent selection of an HVAC control (90) (col 10, lns 1 – 26, col 11, lns 5 – 37),
wherein the gas exchanger (86) performs an intelligent computation (pg 16, ln 11 – 33, pg 17, lns 22 – 29) to intelligently control an HVAC system (col 13, lns 21 – 23), thereby allowing the indoor gas detection data of the polluted gas in the indoor space to be decreased to a safety detection value(level) (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Su et al, as taught by Hartenstein et al, such that detected indoor air/gas contaminant levels and detected outdoor air/gas contaminant levels are assessed via a gas exchanger (processor), to provide an intelligent system operation, for the benefit of providing an intelligent decision about the quality of the air and minimizing the cost of operating an HVAC system (Hartenstein et al, Abstract).
Sikora et al teaches a module platform for a building control system (figs 1, 8, 9), comprising an indoor gas detector (11A-G) [0029, 0051], the indoor gas detector (11n) comprising a gas detection module (fig 8: (60)) [0052], the gas detection module comprises a control circuit board (figs 8, 9: (60)), a environment gas detection main body (fig 9: (160)), a microprocessor (fig 9: (150)), and a communication device (fig 9: (162) [0054]),
wherein the gas detection main body (160), the microprocessor (150), and the communication device (162) are integrally packaged with and electrically connected to the control circuit board (60) [0054, 0055](as seen in fig 9);
the microprocessor (150) controls an operation of the environment detection main body (160) for detecting a detection signal of a polluted gas [0058] which is received and processed by the microprocessor (150), and
the indoor gas detector (11A-G) can be in communication (wired or wirelessly) with a building automation system ((12),via (17)) to send and/or receive signals (e.g. data) that corresponding to operational parameters (e.g. schedule, set points, etc.).[0027, 0032, 0034]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed system, as taught by Sikora et al, such that the gas detection main body, the microprocessor, and the communication device are integrally packaged with and electrically connected to the gas detection modules control circuit board, to facilitate a gas detector that is easily configured by a user/installer to suit specific customer applications [0027].
In re Claim 2, Su et al discloses wherein the polluted gas comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of particulate matters (PM1, PM2.5, and PM10) (pg 7, lns 29 – 31; col 8, lns 16 - 18), carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO2), ozone (03), sulfur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), lead (Pb), total volatile organic compounds (TVOC), formaldehyde (HCHO) (col 8, ln 18), bacteria, fungi, and viruses.
Claim 3 has been cancelled by Applicant.
In re Claim 4, Su et al discloses wherein the gas detection module of the outdoor gas detector is configured for detecting and transmitting the outdoor gas detection data, and the gas detection module of the indoor gas detector (21) is configured for detecting and transmitting the indoor gas detection data (pg 9, lns 10 – 28).
Claim 5 has been cancelled by Applicant
Claims 6 – 9 have been withdrawn by Applicant
Claim 10 has been cancelled by Applicant
In re Claim 11, the proposed method has been discussed, wherein Su et al discloses when the control driving unit (30) compares the indoor gas detection data with the outdoor gas detection data and determines that the outdoor gas detection data is better (has lower concentrations of unfavorable matter) than the indoor gas detection data, the control driving unit selectively introduces the outdoor gas into the indoor space by enabling (via control signal) the gas exchanger and controlling an operation time of the gas exchanger (pg 16/24, lns 11 – 14 “over a defined period of time”; pg 16, ln 14 – pg 17, ln 15 ), so that the outdoor gas (57) is introduced into the inlet channel from the at least one gas inlet, passing through the cleaning unit (63) for filtering and purifying, and introduced into the at least one gas outlet (53) to enter into the indoor space by the flow-guiding component (67), and the polluted gas (83) in the indoor space is introduced into the gas-exchange channel from the at least one gas-exchange inlet (51) and discharged from the at least one gas-exchange outlet (59), thereby allowing the polluted gas in the indoor space to be exchanged with the outdoor gas and allowing the indoor gas detection data of the polluted gas in the indoor space to be decreased (pg 5/24, lns 16 – 20) to the safety detection value.
In re Claim 13, the proposed method has been discussed, wherein Su et al discloses wherein the indoor gas exchange system comprises a cleaner (61) for filtering and purifying the polluted gas in the indoor space (pg 11, lns 20 – 29);
the cleaner comprises the gas detection module (“an analyte sensor” (pg 4/24, ln 1; pg 8/24, lns 8-19), and the microprocessor of the gas detection module is adapted to output a device gas detection data to the communication device wirelessly (pg 9/24, lns 17 – 28);
when the device gas detection data indicates that the indoor space is in a polluted state (pg 10, lns 1 - 7), the gas detection module selectively enables the cleaner (pollutant removal structure (61) and operation of the at least one flow-guiding component (67)) and controls an operation time of the cleaner, so that the polluted gas in the indoor space is filtered and purified, thereby the indoor gas detection data of the polluted gas is decreased to the safety detection value; and
the gas detection module of the cleaner is adapted to output a reminder as an indication for replacing filtering consumables of the cleaner.
Regarding the limitation “as an indication for replacing”, in that Su et al discloses a sensory output device to produce an output that can be detected by one of the human senses; in that the output is not an “indication of replacing filters” amounts to a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed. Accordingly, the intended use of the “output” does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
In re Claim 15, the proposed method has been discussed, wherein Su et al discloses wherein the indoor gas exchange system comprises an air conditioner for adjusting a temperature and a humidity of the indoor space (pg 11, ln 34 – pg 12, ln 2);
the air conditioner (fig 4, heat exchanger (70)) comprises the gas detection module, and the microprocessor of the gas detection module is adapted to output a device gas detection data to the communication device wirelessly;
when the device gas detection data indicates that the indoor space is in a polluted state, the gas detection module of the air conditioner selectively enables the air conditioner and controls an operation time of the air conditioner to adjust the temperature (pg 11, ln 30 – 34), the humidity (inherent, with the adjustment of temperature) and a gas flow (via (69)) in the indoor space, and the polluted gas in the indoor space is filtered and purified, thereby the indoor gas detection data of the polluted gas is decreased to the safety detection value; and
the gas detection module (50) of the air conditioner is adapted to detect the device gas detection data to output a reminder (pg 10, ln 10 – pg 11, ln 2) as an indication for replacing** filtering consumables of the air conditioner.
**Regarding the limitation “as an indication for replacing”, in that Su et al discloses a sensory output device to produce an output that can be detected by one of the human senses; in that the output is not an “indication of replacing filters” amounts to a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed. Accordingly, the intended use of the “output” does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Claims 17 – 22 have been withdrawn by Applicant
In re Claim 24, the proposed method has been discussed, wherein Su et al discloses wherein the communication device is a wireless transmission device (pg 9/24, ln 17 – 28; pg 10/24, ln 22 – pg 11/24, ln 2).
In re Claim 25, the proposed method has been discussed, wherein Su et al discloses wherein the cleaning unit is a high-efficiency particulate air filter (pg 7, ln 29).
Claims 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Su et al (WO 2019/091987), in view of Hartenstein et al (US 6,711,470), in view of Sikora et al (US 2011/50112456), and further in view of Choi et al (KR 2005 0123305).
In re Claim 12, the proposed method has been discussed, wherein Su et al discloses wherein when the control driving unit (30) compares the indoor gas detection data with the outdoor gas detection data and determines that the indoor gas detection data is better (has lower concentrations of unfavorable matter) than the outdoor gas detection data (pg 19, lns 19 – 25), the control driving unit selectively disabling the gas exchanger (disabled via “valve arrangement 65” ), (pg 12/24, lns 18 – 21; pg 13, lns 29 – 33) so that the outdoor gas (via gas inlet (57)) is not introduced into the indoor space, and the polluted gas (83) in the indoor space is introduced into the gas-exchange channel (pg 11, lns 20 – 28) from the at least one gas-exchange inlet (51) and discharged from the at least one gas-exchange outlet (59), thereby allowing the polluted gas (83) in the indoor space to be discharged to the outdoor space and allowing the indoor gas detection data of the polluted gas in the indoor space to be decreased to the safety detection value.
Su et al may be construed as lacking wherein the control driving unit comprises intelligently and selectively disabling the gas exchanger (which the examiner does not admit). However, such a technique is known in the ventilation arts, as evidenced by Choi et al.
Choi et al teaches a method for ventilating air with cleaning (Abstract), comprising:
a gas exchanger (figs 2 - 5: (100)) comprises at least one gas inlet (10), an inlet channel, a cleaning unit (200), at least one flow-guiding component (140, 110), at least one gas outlet (330), at least one gas-exchange inlet (101), a gas-exchange channel, and at least one gas-exchange outlet (20);
wherein, during a clean ventilation mode (fig 5), the gas inlet damper (16) is selectively controlled closed, the flow guiding component (140) selectively opens a channel (at (103)), thereby selectively disabling the gas exchanger from allowing outdoor airflow (gas) from being introduced into the indoor space.
Please refer to the translated portions of Choi et al, provided below.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed method, as taught by Choi et al, such that the gas exchanger (select portions of gas exchange system) is selectively disabled, for the benefit of enabling and/or disabling select elements of the system, to achieve a desired operating condition predicated upon controlling polluted air.
In re Claim 14, the proposed method has been discussed, wherein Su et al discloses that when the gas exchanger (50) compares the indoor gas detection data with the outdoor gas detection data and determines that the indoor gas detection data is better (has lower concentrations of unfavorable matter) than the outdoor gas detection data (pg 19, lns 19 – 25) and the device gas detection data of the cleaner (please note the device gas detection data of the cleaner is the same or shared data with the gas exchanger 50 ) indicates the indoor space is in the polluted state, the gas exchanger is selectively disabled (disabled via “valve arrangement 65” ), (pg 12/24, lns 18 – 21; pg 13, lns 29 – 33) so that the outdoor gas (via gas inlet (57)) is not introduced into the indoor space, and the gas detection module selectively enables the cleaner (61) and controls the operation time of the cleaner, thereby allowing the polluted gas in the indoor space (via (55)) to be filtered and purified and allowing the indoor gas detection data of the polluted gas in the indoor space to be decreased to the safety detection value.
Su et al may be construed as lacking wherein the control driving unit comprises selectively disabling the gas exchanger (which the examiner does not admit). However, such a technique is known in the ventilation arts, as evidenced by Choi et al.
Choi et al teaches a method for ventilating air with cleaning (Abstract), comprising:
a gas exchanger (fig 5: (100)) comprises at least one gas inlet (10), an inlet channel, a cleaning unit (200), at least one flow-guiding component (140, 110), at least one gas outlet (330), at least one gas-exchange inlet (101), a gas-exchange channel, and at least one gas-exchange outlet (20);
wherein, during a clean ventilation mode (fig 5), the gas inlet damper (16) is selectively controlled closed, the flow guiding component (140) selectively opens a channel (at (103)), thereby selectively disabling the gas exchanger from allowing outdoor airflow (gas) from being introduced into the indoor space.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed method, as taught by Choi et al, such that the gas exchanger (select portions of gas exchange system) is selectively disabled, for the benefit of enabling and/or disabling select elements of the system, to achieve a desired operating condition predicated upon controlling polluted air.
In re Claim 16, the proposed method has been discussed, wherein Su et al discloses wherein the proposed method discloses wherein when the gas exchanger (50) compares the indoor gas detection data with the outdoor gas detection data and determines that the indoor gas detection data is better (has lower concentrations of unfavorable matter) than the outdoor gas detection data and the device gas detection data of the air conditioner (please note the device gas detection data of the air conditioner is the same or shared data with the gas exchanger 50 ) indicates the indoor space is in the polluted state, the gas exchanger is selectively disabled (disabled via “valve arrangement 65” ), (pg 12, lns 18 – 21; pg 13, lns 29 – 33), so that the outdoor gas is not introduced into the indoor space, and the gas detection module selectively enables the air conditioner (Su et al, Claim 12) and controls the operation time of the air conditioner, thereby allowing the polluted gas in the indoor space (via (83)) to be discharged to the outdoor space (via (69[Wingdings font/0xE8]59)) and allowing the indoor gas detection data of the polluted gas in the indoor space to be decreased to the safety detection value.
Su et al may be construed as lacking wherein the control driving unit comprises selectively disabling the gas exchanger (which the examiner does not admit). However, such a technique is known in the ventilation arts, as evidenced by Choi et al.
Choi et al teaches a method for ventilating air with cleaning (Abstract), comprising:
a gas exchanger (fig 5: (100)) comprises at least one gas inlet (10), an inlet channel, a cleaning unit (200), at least one flow-guiding component (140, 110), at least one gas outlet (330), at least one gas-exchange inlet (101), a gas-exchange channel, and at least one gas-exchange outlet (20);
wherein, during a clean ventilation mode (fig 5), the gas inlet damper (16) is selectively controlled closed, the flow guiding component (140) selectively opens a channel (at (103)), thereby selectively disabling the gas exchanger from allowing outdoor airflow (gas) from being introduced into the indoor space.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed method, as taught by Choi et al, such that the gas exchanger (select portions of gas exchange system) is selectively disabled, for the benefit of enabling and/or disabling select elements of the system, to achieve a desired operating condition predicated upon controlling polluted air.
Claims 17 – 22 have been withdrawn by Applicant
Claims 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Su et al (WO 2019/091987), in view of Hartenstein et al (US 6,711,470), in view of Sikora et al (US 2011/50112456), and further in view of Takeda et al (US 2004/0007000).
In re Claim 23 and 26, the proposed method has been discussed (In re Claim 1, and 25, above), but is silent as to
whether the safety detection value comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of :
a concentration of PM2.5 which is less than 10 g/m3,
a concentration of carbon dioxide which is less than 1000 ppm,
a concentration of total volatile organic compounds which is less than 0.56 ppm,
a concentration of formaldehyde which is less than 0.08 ppm,
a number of bacteria which is less than 1500 CFU/m3,
a number of fungi which is less than 1000 CFU/m3,
a concentration of sulfur dioxide which is less than 0.075 ppm,
a concentration of nitrogen dioxide which is less than 0.1 ppm,
a concentration of carbon monoxide which is less than 35 ppm,
a concentration of ozone which is less than 0.12 ppm [0435], and
a concentration of lead which is less than 0.15 g/m3.
and
whether the cleaning unit further comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a photocatalyst unit, a photo plasma unit, a negative ion unit, and a plasma ion unit.
Takeda et al teaches an air refining device (301) [0457 - 0497], wherein a safety detection value comprises a concentration of ozone which is less than 0.12 ppm (0.1 ppm) [ 0497], and wherein a cleaning unit (fig 51: (301)) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a photocatalyst unit (fig 51) [0459], a photo plasma unit [0227], and a negative ion unit (10) [0457 - 0462].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed method, as taught by Takeda et al such that the method further includes
wherein the safety detection value comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a concentration of ozone which is less than 0.12 ppm8, and
wherein the cleaning unit further comprises at least one of a photocatalyst unit, a photo plasma unit, and a negative ion unit9,
such that ozone is generated as a byproduct as ions are generated, and the sterilizing effect of ozone can be used to synergistically augment the sterilizing effect of positive and negative ions [0458], without exceeding a safety detection concentration level, to assure user safety.
Conclusion
x
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892: Notice of References Cited.
Although not relied upon, please refer to the July 9, 2025 Notice of References Cited, page 1, line O, as Mo et al (CN 113280446) discloses a micro-gas detecting device, comprising comprises: a control circuit board; a gas detecting main body, detecting the gas outside the main body; a microprocessor, receiving the gas detection data for operation processing; a communication device, receiving the gas detection data of the microprocessor; wherein the main body of the device has a detection air inlet, a detecting air outlet, and a buckle ear 16; the buckle ear 16 can buckle hanging belt; the main body 1 is hung and worn on the user to carry.
Although not relied upon, please refer to the March 26, 2024 Notice of References Cited, page 2, line H, as Hart et al (US 10,006,858) discloses a portable environment quality monitor having an enclosure to enclose and protect the monitor from an environment and for attaching to a user's clothing or jewelry. The enclosure includes a controlled airflow intake for receiving air from the environment in which the monitor is worn for forming an airflow sampling path. (Abstract).
Darveau (US 2015/0212057) discloses a wearable air quality monitor (Title), the monitor displaying a sampling of carbon monoxide (CO) and particulate matter (PM) data, and a program capable of performing the functions of sampling, interpreting the sampled data through an interpolation function on the sensors' response curve, and calibration (Abstract), and comprising a communication interface with receiving and transmitting signals [0038].
Belinsky et al (US 2015/0077737) discloses an environmental detector for monitoring air quality continuously using a plurality of sensors. The environmental detector continuously records the sensor measurements and makes the measurements available to a user though a server based platform. The environmental detector further analyzes the sensor data to detect hazards and uses the plurality of sensor measurements to further characterize the hazards and to decrease instances of false alarms. (Abstract) Furthermore, the environmental detector may be in communication with an electronic device, for example, a smartphone, game system, television, tablet, laptop, desktop, other mobile personal computers, electronic medical devices, and/or wearable technology (e.g. smart watches or smart glasses). [0044].
Contact Information
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866.217.9197 (toll-free). If you are a Pro Se inventor and would like assistance, please all the Pro Se assistance center at 866.767.3848. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, please call 800.786.9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571.272.1000.
/Frances F Hamilton/
Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 Originally filed Claim 3 has been incorporated into amended independent Claim 1, filed October 4, 2025.
2 Remarks in response to the office action filed April 26, 2024
3 Remarks in response to the office action filed October 24, 2024
4 [0017]
5 Current Claim 1
6 Merriam-Webster, © 2024 Merriam-Webster, Incorporated
7 Please note that “recirculated air” is analog to the claimed “indoor air”.
8 In re Claim 23
9 In re Claim 26