DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, which read on claims 1-4, 6 and 8-26, in the reply filed on March 28, 2023, is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 10, 14-18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 10, 14-18 and 20, all recitations of “the membrane” should read –the pressure-retaining membrane--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 14 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US4580691 (“Hansen”).
Regarding claim 1, Hansen discloses (see figs. 1-3) a pressure relief device, comprising:
a pressure-retaining membrane (40);
a support member flange (mainly defined by 51 and 55); and
a modular support strip (52 and/or 54) joined to the support member flange, the support strip positioned adjacent to a surface (concave bottom surface of membrane 40, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) of the membrane,
wherein the modular support strip is configured to support the membrane (see specification col. 8, lines 29-45) when the membrane is subjected to pressure from a pressurizable volume (“a vessel” which can be mounted in a reversible manner with vent system, 10; see specification col. 6, lines 60-65, and col. 7, lines 23-29); and
a sharp or pointed element (75 having blades 76 with respective cutting edges 77) configured to apply stress to one or more discrete locations (locations which abut points 78 of cutting edges 77) on a membrane (40);
wherein the modular support strip is configured to activate by deforming (see deformed position illustrated in fig. 3) in response to a predetermined pressure acting on the membrane; and
wherein the membrane is configured to contact the sharp or pointed element when the modular support strip has deformed (see specification col. 9, lines 4-18).
Regarding claim 2, Hansen discloses the membrane (40) being formed of a polymer material (“synthetic resin polymers”; see specification col. 7, lines 50-54).
Regarding claim 3, Hansen discloses the modular support strip (52 and/or 54) being arched (arched to conform to spherical surface of dome 42; see specification col. 8, lines 22-23).
Regarding claim 4, Hansen discloses pressure acting on the membrane (40) imparts a compressive force (force causing buckling of strip 52 from position of fig. 2 to position of fig. 3) on the modular support strip (52 and/or 54).
Regarding claim 6, Hansen discloses the pressure-retaining membrane (40) has a first surface (convex upper surface of dome 42, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) and a second surface (concave lower surface of dome 42, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), wherein the first surface is configured to face the pressurizable volume (“a vessel” which can be mounted in a reversible manner with vent system 10; see specification col. 6, lines 60-65, and col. 7, lines 23-29), and wherein the modular support strip (52 and/or 54) is positioned adjacent to the second surface of the membrane (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Hansen discloses the pressure-retaining membrane (40) being domed (see dome 42).
Regarding claim 9, Hansen discloses a support ring (2) configured to support the membrane (40) against a housing (3 and/or 5); and,
a piercing mechanism (75),
wherein the piercing mechanism is mounted on the support ring (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Hansen discloses a support ring (2) configured to support the membrane (2) against a housing (3 and/or 5); and,
a piercing mechanism (75),
wherein the piercing mechanism is formed integrally with the support ring (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Hansen discloses the modular support strip (52 and/or 54) defines at least one hole (62), wherein the at least one hole is configured to set the predetermined pressure at which the modular support strip will deform (see specification col. 8, lines 43-45).
Regarding claim 13, Hansen discloses the modular support strip (52 and/or 54) defines at least one notch (62) configured to set the predetermined pressure at which the modular support strip will deform (see specification col. 8, lines 43-45).
Regarding claim 14, Hansen discloses the sharp or pointed element (75) being configured to pierce (see specification col. 9, lines 4-18) the membrane (40).
Regarding claim 26, Hansen discloses (see figs. 7-10) a pressure relief device, comprising:
a housing (housing defining “vessel” in specification col. 6, lines 60-65, and col. 7, lines 23-29);
a piercing mechanism (200);
a support member (150) comprising a modular support strip (52 and/or 54), wherein the piercing mechanism is held between the housing and the support member;
a membrane (140), wherein the membrane is supported by the modular support strip (see specification col. 8, lines 29-45); and,
a protective layer (160), wherein the membrane is held between the support member and the protective layer (see figs. 7 and 8);
wherein the modular support strip is configured to fail in response to a predetermined pressure imparted on the modular support strip via the membrane (see specification col. 8, lines 43-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US10436339 (“Tomasko”).
Regarding claim 12, Hansen discloses the modular support strip (52 and/or 54) defining a weakened portion, which is an aperture (62), wherein the aperture is configured to set the predetermined pressure at which the modular support strip will deform (see specification col. 8, lines 43-45).
Hansen does not disclose the weakened portion being an indentation.
However, Tomasko teaches (see fig. 2) a weakened portion being an indentation (24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Hansen by configuring the weakened portion of the support strip to be an indentation, as taught by Tomasko, to have a weakened portion while maintaining better tensile strength.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US4122595 (“Wood”).
Regarding claim 15, Hansen discloses the invention as claimed except for the membrane including a line of weakness.
However, Wood teaches (see fig. 2) a reverse-buckling rupture disk having a membrane (16) including a line of weakness (28, 42 and 44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Hansen by configuring the membrane to have a line of weakness, as taught by Wood, so the membrane would rupture along a desired predetermined pattern.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen alone, as applied to claim 1 above, or alternatively in view of engineering expedient.
Regarding claims 16-18, Hansen discloses the membrane (40) being configured to achieve a desired minimum net flow area (see flow area illustrated in fig. 3), in which a relatively small amount of the passageway will be blocked, thereby allowing high flow and rapid equilibration (see specification col. 9, lines 54-57).
However, Hansen is silent to the minimum net flow area of above 50%, 60% or 70% compared to nominal pipe size flow area after opening.
One of ordinary skill in the art would know that the size of the net flow area after opening determines the time it takes to reach equilibration across the pressure relief device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Hansen by configuring the membrane to achieve a minimum net flow area of above 70% compared to nominal pipe size flow area after opening, to allow for the desired equilibration time across the pressure relief device.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US2013/0032219 (“Heim”).
Regarding claim 19, Hansen discloses the pressure relief device (see fig. 1) being a high flow pressure relief device; however, Hansen does not disclose the pressure relief device being a battery vent device.
Heim teaches (see fig. 2) a pressure relief device, which is a battery vent device (see paragraph [0047]), having a membrane (134) which is gas-permeable (see paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Hansen by configuring the membrane to be gas-permeable and the pressure relief device to be a battery vent device, as taught by Heim, to have a battery vent device with a membrane that can be configured to be thin while withstanding the predetermined pressure up until a rupture pressure is reached.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of engineering expedient, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Heim.
Regarding claim 20, Hansen discloses the membrane (40) which is gas and liquid impermeable. Hansen does not disclose the membrane being gas permeable.
Heim teaches (see fig. 2) a pressure relief device, which is a battery vent device (see paragraph [0047]), having a membrane (134) which is gas-permeable (see paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Hansen by configuring the membrane to be gas-permeable and the pressure relief device to be a battery vent device, as taught by Heim, to have a battery vent device with a membrane that can be configured to be thin while withstanding the predetermined pressure up until a rupture pressure is reached.
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view US4591520 (“Brodie”).
Regarding claim 21, Hansen discloses (see figs. 1-7) a pressure relief device, comprising:
an inlet housing (5);
a support ring (defined mainly by 51 and 55);
at least one modular support strip (52);
a flexible membrane (40) sealed between the inlet housing and support ring, wherein the at least one modular support strip provides structural support for the flexible membrane (see specification col. 8, lines 29-45).
Hansen does not disclose the flexible membrane being a flexible graphite membrane, the flexible graphite membrane being provided with at least one line of weakness. Brodie teaches a pressure relief device having a flexible graphite membrane (diaphragm 7 having graphite layer 15; see specification col. 3, lines 24-28), the flexible graphite membrane being provided with at least one line of weakness (32; see fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Hansen by configuring the flexible membrane to be a flexible graphite membrane having at least one line of weakness, as taught by Brodie, to make the pressure relief device resistant to corrosive environments while having the flexible membrane rupture along a predetermined desired pattern.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Hansen and Brodie discloses a sharp or pointed element (Hansen, 75) configured to pierce the flexible graphite membrane (Hansen, 40, as modified by Brodie, 7, above).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Hansen and Brodie discloses the at least one modular support strip (Hansen, 52) is configured to deform (Hansen, with the assistance of weakened portion 62) in response to a predetermined pressure acting on the flexible graphite member (Hansen, 40, as modified by Brodie, 7, above).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Hansen and Brodie discloses the flexible graphite membrane (Hansen, 40, as modified by Brodie, 7, above) being domed (Hansen, see fig. 2, and Brodie, fig. 8).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of Brodie, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of EP0556512 (“Farwell”).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Hansen and Brodie discloses the domed flexible graphite membrane (Hansen, 40, as modified by Brodie, 7, above) has a center and an apex (Hansen, apex coinciding with aperture 63), wherein the apex is in line with the center of the flexible graphite membrane.
However, the combination of Hansen and Brodie does not disclose the apex being offset from the center of the flexible graphite membrane.
Farwell teaches a flexible membrane (see figs. 16 and 17) having a center (center relative to the outer periphery of the planar portion of the diaphragm as illustrated in fig. 17), wherein an apex (apex of dome 114 defined relatively at the intersection of score lines 116; see figs. 16 and 17) is offset from the center of the flexible membrane.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify the combination of Hansen and Brodie by offsetting the apex from the center of the flexible graphite membrane, as taught by Farwell, to have fluid flow through the pressure relief device in a desired manner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 25, 2025, have been fully considered.
With regards Applicant’s arguments concerning the claim objections set forth in the prior Office action dated January 26, 2024, Applicant’s amendments have overcome these objections, and are therefore now withdrawn. However, new claim objections have been made to add clarity to the claims, see Office action, above.
With regards to the interpretation of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) of limitations “stress-applying device” and “piercing mechanism”, Applicant’s recent amendments have provided sufficient structure to overcome these interpretations. The claims are, therefore, not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation.
With regards to the rejections of claims 9, 10, 16-18 and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), Applicant’s amendments have overcome these rejections; therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection(s) of the claims are now withdrawn.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues that Hansen does not disclose the “modular support strip” as claimed. Applicant alleges that element “52” of Hansen cannot read on a “modular support strip” because it contradicts the use of the term “modular” in the specification.
With regards to the interpretation of the term “modular” as being “of, relating to, or based on a module or a modulus”, wherein the term “module” is interpreted as “a standard or unit of measurement”, this interpretation is relative for the present situation, because the term “module” or “modular” merely establishes a single element or unit (e.g., “n” widgets), by which a grouping volume or count can be determined.
Additionally, the specification states “FIGS. 1A-2E depict a modular support strip” (see paragraph [0090]). In the embodiment of figures 1A-1C, which is described to have “a modular support strip”, the modular support strip (132) is illustrated as a single integral unit with the support member (134) in the same manner as Hansen (modular support strip 52, and support member 51 & 55). Although Hansen does not explicitly describe the method of manufacture (e.g., welding), in an apparatus claim, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In the present case, both the “modular support strip” of the present disclosure and Hansen can be integrally attached to the support member.
It appears that Applicant is relying upon features, which are not recited in the claims (e.g., a modular support strip retained by mechanical fasteners). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) of claims 12 and 15-21, since Applicant’s arguments only address the subject matter of claim 1, these arguments are deemed to be addressed in the response above.
Conclusion
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753