DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are under examination.
Claim 14 is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-13, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Hachiya et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2015/0333303 (A1) as previously cited), hereinafter Hachiya, in view of Niziol et al. (WO2020/056527 A1 as cited in the IDS), hereinafter Niziol.
Regarding claim 1, Hachiya discloses an energy storage unit comprising:
a rack assembly (i.e., at least ref. 10 as shown in Figs. 1-4 and disclosed in [0025], etc., also see Title, Abstract, [0006]-[0011], [0026], [0037]); and
a plurality of battery modules supported by the rack assembly (i.e., at least battery shelf assemblies refs. 50-1 to 50-3 loaded with a plurality battery unit(s) ref. 30, as shown in Figs. 1-3 and disclosed in [0025]-[0026], also see [0012]-[0013], [0038]-[0040], [0064]), each battery module of the plurality of battery modules being configured to slide between a connected position and a disconnected position (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0038] whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that since Hachiya discloses said battery shelf (i.e., of said battery shelf assembly as discussed above) can be slid on horizontal surfaces so as to connect a connector disposed on the back side of the rack to said rear connector member of said battery shelf assembly, the skilled artisan would appreciate that each battery module (i.e., at least battery shelf assembly) at least is configured to slide between a connected and disconnected position, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses the rack assembly comprising:
a frame having at least one shelf and a plurality of stoppers, the at least one shelf being adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules thereon (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0037]-[0038] whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R are disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, the retaining plate is configured to retain battery shelf assembly ref. 5, etc., and whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R at least provide said shelf and a plurality of stoppers, the at least one shelf being adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules thereon so as to be slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates, and such that said retaining plates retain said battery shelf assembly, etc., (See Annotated Fig. 9, also see Figs. 3-4 with said retaining plates on said frame ref. 10), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses a plurality of first electrical connectors connected to the frame (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0042]-[0044], [0065]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said first electrical connectors are at least those as shown in Fig. 3 and Annotated Fig. 9, so as to at least connect said battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 as disclosed in [0038] and shown in Figs. 1-3, 5-6, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses in [0025] a control unit ref. 70 disposed under the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0027] the control unit ref. 70 is configured to control operations of power storage system ref. 1 and is composed of one or more control devices, etc., which at least provides a system control unit connected to the frame as shown in Fig. 1, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said control unit is at least connected to the frame so as to be disposed under the battery shelf assemblies and such that said control unit ref. 75 is fixed on the rack ref. 10 as disclosed in [0082], etc., (also see [0031]-[0036]), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses in [0064] power of the battery shelf assemblies as a whole is output through a rear connector member ref. 181 disposed at a power terminal part (not shown) on the rear surface of the battery shelf etc., which at least provides a power terminal, with at least one battery module of the plurality of battery modules being in the connected position, the power terminal being electrically connected to the at least one battery module (also see [0067], [0084], [0088], Figs. 8-9), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses in [0040] Fig. 9 shows a power supply connector (floating connector) ref. 180 that includes the rear connector ref. 181 and the other connector ref. 191, etc., which at least provides each battery module of the plurality of battery modules having two second electrical connectors at a rear thereof, such that Annotated Fig. 9 at least provides two second electrical connectors at a rear thereof (also see [0055], [0064], Fig. 8, [0076]-[0078], [0083], [0085], [0090], [0092], Figs. 2, 7), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses in [0040] as shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (See Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., which at least provides one battery module of the plurality of battery modules being in the connected position (i.e., also see [0041], [0043]-[0044], [0065], [0077]-[0078], [0083]), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Hachiya discloses in [0040] as shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (See Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., and Annotated Fig. 9 provides that said at least two second electrical connectors of the at least one battery module (i.e., at least battery shelf assembly(s)) and said one first electrical connector of the plurality of first electrical connectors (as discussed above), this at least provides each one of the two second electrical connectors of the one battery module being connected to one first electrical connector of the plurality of first electrical connectors (i.e., also see [0041], [0043]-[0044], [0065], [0077]-[0078], [0083]), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Hachiya discloses in [0038] whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., (also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), this at least provides the first and second electrical connectors being configured such that inserting the plurality of battery modules on the at least one shelf by sliding the plurality of battery modules on the at least one shelf to the connected position connects the second electrical connectors with the first electrical connectors, such that since Hachiya discloses said battery shelf (i.e., of said battery shelf assembly as discussed above) can be slid on horizontal surfaces so as to connect a connector disposed on the back side of the rack to said rear connector member of said battery shelf assembly, the skilled artisan would appreciate that each battery module (i.e., at least battery shelf assembly) at least is configured to slide between a connected and disconnected position, such that the connected position connects the second electrical connectors with the first electrical connectors so that other connector ref. 191 disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10 is connected to the a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Hachiya discloses in [0037]-[0038] whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R are disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, the retaining plate is configured to retain battery shelf assembly ref. 5, etc., and whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R at least provide said shelf and a plurality of stoppers, and such that said retaining plates retain said battery shelf assembly, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that this at least provides the plurality of battery modules being configured to stop at the connected position by the plurality of stoppers by abutting the plurality of stoppers (i.e., at least as discussed above and shown in Annotated Fig. 9) so as to retain said battery shelf assembly(s), lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Hachiya is silent as to a rack assembly comprising: a main power terminal, with at least one battery module of the plurality of battery modules being in the connected position, the main power terminal be electrically connected to the at least one battery module. Furthermore, Hachiya is silent as to the plurality of the first electrical connectors being electrically insulated from the frame.
Niziol teaches safe transport and storage of energy storage devices (Title). Niziol further teaches an energy storage unit comprising:
a rack assembly (Figs. 4a, 4d, 6d, [0034], [0077]); and
a plurality of battery modules (i.e., cassettes, [0017]) supported by the rack assembly (See Fig. 6d) such that a plurality of battery packs, etc. may be contained within the cassette, etc. ([0017], [0086], [0091]). Niziol further teaches a main power terminal electrically connected to the plurality of battery modules (i.e., at least host power system monitoring board ref. 129 communicatively coupled to the host equipment, charging cart assembly, or rack, etc., for collecting and analyzing information from all cassette discharge boards, and communicating with all external systems and logging data, etc., also See Annotated Fig. 4c, [0036], [0086], [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hachiya with the teachings of Niziol, whereby the energy storage unit including at least one battery module of the plurality of the battery modules being in the connected position as disclosed by Hachiya further includes a main power terminal, with at least one battery module of the plurality of battery modules being in the connected position, the main power terminal be electrically connected to the at least one battery module as taught by Niziol so as to communicatively coupled to the host equipment, charging cart assembly, or rack, etc., so as to collecting and analyzing information from all cassette discharge boards, and communicating with all external systems and logging data, etc.
Although Hachiya is silent as to the plurality of first electrical connectors being electrically insulated from the frame, since Hachiya discloses in [0043] as shown in Fig. 9, bracket ref. 17 has a support member ref. 25, on which the other connector ref. 191 is mounted, and a coupling member ref. 26 which couples the support member ref. 25 to the strut ref. 11 of the rack ref. 10, etc., and further discloses in [0094] regarding the configuration of Fig. 9, the shapes of the support member ref. 25 and the coupling member ref. 26 can be appropriately changed, for example, any material, shape, etc., may be adopted for the support member ref. 25 as long as it has the sufficient rigidity not to be significantly bent when connector members are connected with each other, and for the coupling member ref. 26, too various materials and shapes can be adopted other than the metal member having an L-shaped cross-section, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that any material (e.g., other than a metal) at least encompasses materials that are electrically insulating (e.g., non-metal materials, etc.), and since no chemical and/or structural distinction is provided as to said electrical insulation from the frame, and Hachiya at least embodies under broadest reasonable interpretation many different materials, the claim limitation is met, lacking any further distinction thereof.
In the alternative, Niziol further discloses a plurality of first electrical connectors connected to the frame (i.e., male connector(s), ref. 146, Figs. 4d-e, ref. 146, [0087]-[0088], Figs. 14a-b, ref. 808).
Niziol further discloses the at least one energy storage device is individually coupled to the electronic circuitry and electrically isolated from other at least one energy storage devices ([0011], [0062], [0099]), thus reading on “the plurality of first electrical connectors being electrically insulated from the frame”, whereby since the energy storage devices are electrically isolated from each other at least provides they are also electrically isolated from the frame so as not to be electrically connected.
Niziol further teaches in [0017] advantageously, a plurality of battery packs rated below 100Wh may be contained within the cassette such that the battery packs can have a combined energy of more than 100Wh, while adhering to the above-noted regulations, whereby accordingly, one or more battery packs, such as Lithium ion cell packs in a convenient carrying case, which provides quick connectivity of the individual packs to their loads or charging devices without any interconnection between the packs and without the need to remove the battery packs from the case, such that in addition, spring-loaded contacts may be employed for effortless, reliable "plug-in" interconnectivity between the cassette and the loads or charging devices, and also provide quadruple redundancy of connectors for individual power lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hachiya with the teachings of Niziol, whereby the energy storage unit including a plurality of first electrical connectors as disclosed by Hachiya further includes a plurality of the first electrical connectors being electrically insulated from the frame as taught by Niziol so as to provide quick connectivity of the individual packs to their loads or charging devices without any interconnection between the packs and without the need to remove the battery packs from the case, etc.
Annotated Figure 9 (Hachiya)
Annotated Figure 4c (Niziol)
Regarding claim 2, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hachiya is silent as to the first electrical connectors are power busbars, and the second electrical connectors are busbar blade connectors.
Although Hachiya is silent as to the first electrical connectors are power busbars, and the second electrical connectors are busbar blade connectors, since Hachiya discloses art recognized connectors and their use, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the first electrical connectors as power busbars and second electrical connectors as busbar blade connectors as an obvious alternative means to connect the modules/batteries, lacking any further distinction thereof as claimed.
In the alternative, Niziol teaches the first electrical connectors are busbar blade connectors (i.e., male connector(s), Figs. 4d-f, ref. 146, See Figs. 4d-e), and the second electrical connectors (i.e., female connector, Fig. 4f, ref. 147, [0087]) are power busbars (Figs. 4d-e, [0087], [0090]) such that the male connectors (ref. 146) are received in female connectors (ref. 147) of cassette (ref. 126) to make electrical contact, etc. and couple to circuit board (ref. 148) with circuitry (ref. 127) that includes a power bus (See Fig. 4c).
Niziol further teaches in [0017] advantageously, a plurality of battery packs rated below 100Wh may be contained within the cassette such that the battery packs can have a combined energy of more than 100Wh, while adhering to the above-noted regulations, whereby accordingly, one or more battery packs, such as Lithium ion cell packs in a convenient carrying case, which provides quick connectivity of the individual packs to their loads or charging devices without any interconnection between the packs and without the need to remove the battery packs from the case, such that in addition, spring-loaded contacts may be employed for effortless, reliable "plug-in" interconnectivity between the cassette and the loads or charging devices, and also provide quadruple redundancy of connectors for individual power lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hachiya with the teachings of Niziol, whereby the energy storage unit including the first/second electrical connectors as disclosed by Hachiya further includes the first electrical connectors are power busbars, and the second electrical connectors are busbar blade connectors as taught by Niziol so as to provide quick connectivity of the individual packs to their loads or charging devices without any interconnection between the packs and without the need to remove the battery packs from the case, etc.
Regarding claim 3, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya further discloses in [0055] Fig. 8 is a perspective view illustrating the structure of the floating connector, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0057] the movable connector member ref. 131 has base part ref. 132 and plug part ref. 135 protruding from the base part, whereby the external shape of the plug part ref. 135 corresponds to the recessed part ref. 123 of the non-movable connector member ref. 121, and in order to facilitate insertion of the plug part ref. 135 into the recessed part ref. 123, the plug part ref. 135 has a taper part ref. 135s at its distal end, that makes the plug part ref. 135 a tapered shape, etc., and further discloses in [0064] power of the battery shelf assemblies as a whole is output through a rear connector member ref. 181 disposed at a power terminal part (not shown) on the rear surface of the battery shelf, whereby the rear connector ref. 181 is identical to the non-movable connector member ref. 121 of Fig. 8, and further discloses in [0065] the connection member ref. 191 is identical to the movable connector member ref. 131 shown in Fig. 8, etc., which at least provides the first electrical connectors are busbar blade connectors, and the second electrical connectors are power busbars, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 9, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya discloses in [0092] the number of racks ref. 10 is not limited to one, two or more racks ref. 10 may be disposed which are electrically connected with one another in series or in parallel, which at least provides some battery modules of the plurality of battery modules are connected in series, such that since said racks include said battery shelf assembly(s) that are connected in series and/or parallel that this at least provides some of said battery modules are connected in series, etc. (also see [0036], [0064], [0091]). Hachiya further teaches three shelves accommodate a total of 24 battery units (ref. 30), all of which are electrically connected in series ([0036]), thus reading on “at least some battery modules of the plurality of battery modules are connected in series”.
Regarding claim 10, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya discloses in [0092] the number of racks ref. 10 is not limited to one, two or more racks ref. 10 may be disposed which are electrically connected with one another in series or in parallel, which at least provides some battery modules of the plurality of battery modules are connected in parallel, such that since said racks include said battery shelf assembly(s) that are connected in series and/or parallel that this at least provides some of said battery modules are connected in parallel, etc. (also see [0036], [0064], [0091]).
Regarding claim 11, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya discloses in [0092] the number of racks ref. 10 is not limited to one, two or more racks ref. 10 may be disposed which are electrically connected with one another in series or in parallel, and further discloses it is not necessary that all units are connected in series, and, for example, combination of series connection and parallel connection may be used ([0036]), thus reading on “a first group of battery modules connected in series; and a second group of battery modules connected in series, the first group of battery modules being connected in parallel with the second group of battery modules” such that the combination of series and parallel connection, as well as the one or more racks including battery shelf assembly(s), etc., at least provides the skilled artisan with the finite number of combinations so as to arrive at a first and second group of battery modules, respectively, individually connected in series, such that the first group and second group are then connected together in parallel.
Regarding claim 12, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya further discloses the frame has a plurality of guiding brackets (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0037]-[0038], whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, etc., such with no limitation intended, the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R may be a metal member which is L-shaped in cross-section and has sufficient rigidity, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses in [0038] when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slide on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., which at least provides each battery module of the plurality of battery modules is received laterally in one guiding bracket of the plurality of guiding brackets, lacking any further distinction thereof (also see Figs. 3-4 and 9).
Regarding claim 13, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 12. Hachiya discloses in [0037]-[0038], whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, etc., such with no limitation intended, the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R may be a metal member which is L-shaped in cross-section and has sufficient rigidity, etc., whereby although Hachiya is silent as to each of the plurality of guiding brackets forms a C-shaped channel, the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in shape of the guiding bracket is matter of obvious engineering choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant, such that said guiding bracket as not limited by Hachiya is provides as such so to provide a guiding bracket with sufficient rigidity (MPEP 2144.04, IV., B., In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
Regarding claim 15, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya further teaches each battery module of the plurality of battery modules has a fixing bracket (i.e., at least fixing bracket such as coupling member ref. 26) as shown in Fig. 9, ref. 26 that is fixed by S2 fixing screws ([0043], [0045]-[0047], [0169], Fig. 9, ref. S2), whereby the fixing bracket is connected to the frame (See Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1) via fixing screws ([0043], [0045]-[0047], [0169], Fig. 9, ref. S2).
Regarding claim 16, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya further discloses in [0039] various sizes of battery shelf assemblies can be accommodated, whereby depending on a size for battery shelf assembly, a number of tiers of rack may be four or more, etc., which at least provides a range of shelves that overlaps the claimed range of the at least one shelf is at least six shelves, and each one of the at least six shelves receives at least one battery module of the plurality of battery modules, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.) (also see [0093], Figs. 3-4 and 9).
Regarding claims 17-19 and 21, Hachiya discloses an energy storage unit comprising:
a rack assembly (i.e., at least ref. 10 as shown in Figs. 1-4 and disclosed in [0025], etc., also see Title, Abstract, [0006]-[0011], [0026], [0037]); and
a plurality of battery modules supported by the rack assembly (i.e., at least battery shelf assemblies refs. 50-1 to 50-3 loaded with a plurality battery unit(s) ref. 30, as shown in Figs. 1-3 and disclosed in [0025]-[0026], also see [0012]-[0013], [0038]-[0040], [0064]), each battery module of the plurality of battery modules defining a first module end and a second module end, the second module end having an engaging bracket connected thereto (See Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1 and Annotated Fig. 3 below),
and each battery module of the plurality of battery modules being configured to move between a connected position and a disconnected position (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0038] whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that since Hachiya discloses said battery shelf (i.e., of said battery shelf assembly as discussed above) can be slid on horizontal surfaces so as to connect a connector disposed on the back side of the rack to said rear connector member of said battery shelf assembly, the skilled artisan would appreciate that each battery module (i.e., at least battery shelf assembly) at least is configured to move between a connected position and a disconnected position, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses the rack assembly comprising:
a frame having: at least one shelf adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules therein; and a plurality of stoppers each defining a first end and a second end, the first end having a vertically elevated member (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0037]-[0038] whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R are disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, the retaining plate is configured to retain battery shelf assembly ref. 5, etc., and whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R at least provide said shelf and a plurality of stoppers, the at least one shelf adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules therein; and a plurality of stoppers each defining a first end and a second end, the first end having a vertically elevated member so as to be slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates, and such that said retaining plates retain said battery shelf assembly, etc., (See Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 3-4 with said retaining plates on said frame ref. 10), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first/second end(s) of said stopper(s).
Hachiya further discloses in [0025] a control unit ref. 70 disposed under the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0027] the control unit ref. 70 is configured to control operations of power storage system ref. 1 and is composed of one or more control devices, etc., which at least provides a system control unit connected to the frame as shown in Fig. 1, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said control unit is at least connected to the frame so as to be disposed under the battery shelf assemblies and such that said control unit ref. 75 is fixed on the rack ref. 10 as disclosed in [0082], etc., (also see [0031]-[0036]), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses in [0064] power of the battery shelf assemblies as a whole is output through a rear connector member ref. 181 disposed at a power terminal part (not shown) on the rear surface of the battery shelf etc., which at least provides a power terminal, with at least one battery module of the plurality of battery modules being in the connected position, the power terminal being electrically connected to the at least one battery module (also see [0067], [0084], [0088], Figs. 8-9), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Hachiya discloses in [0037]-[0038] whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R are disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, the retaining plate is configured to retain battery shelf assembly ref. 5, etc., and whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R at least provide said shelf and a plurality of stoppers, and such that said retaining plates retain said battery shelf assembly, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that this at least provides each battery module being configured to be inserted in the rack assembly by sliding on the at least one shelf to the connected position, in which a corresponding one of the elevated member of the plurality of stoppers is configured to limit vertical movement of the one of the plurality of battery modules by engaging the engaging bracket of the one of the plurality of battery modules (i.e., at least as discussed above and shown in Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1) so as to retain said battery shelf assembly(s), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further teaches a bracket (i.e., at least engaging bracket) as shown in Fig. 9, ref. 17 that is fixed by S1 fixing screws ([0169], Fig. 9, ref. S1), whereby the second module end at least has an engaging bracket when connected thereto (See Annotated Fig. 9) via fixing screws ([0169], Fig. 9, ref. S1). Hachiya teaches the bracket (ref. 17) may be configured to be movable in vertical direction, etc. ([0042]), whereby the couple member ref. 26 (and the entire bracket ref. 17) is movable in vertical direction, etc. such that the movability range may be 1 mm to several mm ([0047]), thus reading on “limits vertical movement of the one of the plurality of battery modules by engaging the engaging bracket of the one of the plurality of battery modules” (with regards to claim 17), and which at least provides limiting vertical movement of the one of the plurality of battery modules to less than five millimetres, thereby providing a range that at least overlaps the claimed range of less than five millimetres (with regards to claim 18), and further overlaps the claimed range of vertical movement is limited to less than three millimetres (with regards to claim 19), thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.). Hachiya further teaches in [0078]-[0079] the battery units (ref. 30) are loaded into the fixed battery shelf (ref. 55) one by one, such that the fixed battery shelf at least provides that the vertical movement of the one of the plurality of battery modules is limited relative to the at least one shelf so as to be fixed (Also see Fig. 9, [0042], [0085]) (with regards to claim 21).
However, Hachiya is silent as to a rack assembly comprising a main power terminal, with at least one battery module of the plurality of battery modules being in the connected position, the main power terminal being electrically connected to the at least one battery module.
Niziol teaches safe transport and storage of energy storage devices (Title). Niziol further teaches an energy storage unit comprising:
a rack assembly (Figs. 4a, 4d, 6d, [0034], [0077]); and
a plurality of battery modules (i.e., cassettes, [0017]) supported by the rack assembly (See Fig. 6d) such that a plurality of battery packs, etc. may be contained within the cassette, etc. ([0017], [0086], [0091]). Niziol further teaches a main power terminal electrically connected to the plurality of battery modules (i.e., at least host power system monitoring board ref. 129 communicatively coupled to the host equipment, charging cart assembly, or rack, etc., for collecting and analyzing information from all cassette discharge boards, and communicating with all external systems and logging data, etc., also See Annotated Fig. 4c, [0036], [0086], [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hachiya with the teachings of Niziol, whereby the energy storage unit including at least one battery module of the plurality of the battery modules being in the connected position as disclosed by Hachiya further includes a main power terminal, with at least one battery module of the plurality of battery modules being in the connected position, the main power terminal be electrically connected to the at least one battery module as taught by Niziol so as to communicatively coupled to the host equipment, charging cart assembly, or rack, etc., so as to collecting and analyzing information from all cassette discharge boards, and communicating with all external systems and logging data, etc.
Annotated Figure 3 (Hachiya)
Regarding claim 20, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 17. Hachiya further discloses a plurality of first electrical connectors connected to the frame (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0042]-[0044], [0065]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said first electrical connectors are at least those as shown in Fig. 3 and Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1, so as to at least connect said battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 as disclosed in [0038] and shown in Figs. 1-3, 5-6, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses in [0040] Fig. 9 shows a power supply connector (floating connector) ref. 180 that includes the rear connector ref. 181 and the other connector ref. 191, etc., which at least provides each battery module of the plurality of battery modules having two second electrical connectors at a rear thereof, such that Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1 at least provides two second electrical connectors at a rear thereof (also see [0055], [0064], Fig. 8, [0076]-[0078], [0083], [0085], [0090], [0092], Figs. 2, 7), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hachiya further discloses in [0040] as shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (See Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., which at least provides one battery module of the plurality of battery modules being in the connected position (i.e., also see [0041], [0043]-[0044], [0065], [0077]-[0078], [0083]), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Hachiya discloses in [0040] as shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (See Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., and Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1 provides that said at least two second electrical connectors of the at least one battery module (i.e., at least battery shelf assembly(s)) and said one first electrical connector of the plurality of first electrical connectors (as discussed above), this at least provides each one of the two second electrical connectors of the one battery module being connected to one first electrical connector of the plurality of first electrical connectors (i.e., also see [0041], [0043]-[0044], [0065], [0077]-[0078], [0083]), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Although Hachiya is silent as to the plurality of first electrical connectors being electrically insulated from the frame, since Hachiya discloses in [0043] as shown in Fig. 9, bracket ref. 17 has a support member ref. 25, on which the other connector ref. 191 is mounted, and a coupling member ref. 26 which couples the support member ref. 25 to the strut ref. 11 of the rack ref. 10, etc., and further discloses in [0094] regarding the configuration of Fig. 9, the shapes of the support member ref. 25 and the coupling member ref. 26 can be appropriately changed, for example, any material, shape, etc., may be adopted for the support member ref. 25 as long as it has the sufficient rigidity not to be significantly bent when connector members are connected with each other, and for the coupling member ref. 26, too various materials and shapes can be adopted other than the metal member having an L-shaped cross-section, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that any material (e.g., other than a metal) at least encompasses materials that are electrically insulating (e.g., non-metal materials, etc.), and since no chemical and/or structural distinction is provided as to said electrical insulation from the frame, and Hachiya at least embodies under broadest reasonable interpretation many different materials, the claim limitation is met, lacking any further distinction thereof.
In the alternative, Niziol further discloses a plurality of first electrical connectors connected to the frame (i.e., male connector(s), ref. 146, Figs. 4d-e, ref. 146, [0087]-[0088], Figs. 14a-b, ref. 808).
Niziol further discloses the at least one energy storage device is individually coupled to the electronic circuitry and electrically isolated from other at least one energy storage devices ([0011], [0062], [0099]), thus reading on “the plurality of first electrical connectors being electrically insulated from the frame”, whereby since the energy storage devices are electrically isolated from each other at least provides they are also electrically isolated from the frame so as not to be electrically connected.
Niziol further teaches in [0017] advantageously, a plurality of battery packs rated below 100Wh may be contained within the cassette such that the battery packs can have a combined energy of more than 100Wh, while adhering to the above-noted regulations, whereby accordingly, one or more battery packs, such as Lithium ion cell packs in a convenient carrying case, which provides quick connectivity of the individual packs to their loads or charging devices without any interconnection between the packs and without the need to remove the battery packs from the case, such that in addition, spring-loaded contacts may be employed for effortless, reliable "plug-in" interconnectivity between the cassette and the loads or charging devices, and also provide quadruple redundancy of connectors for individual power lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hachiya with the teachings of Niziol, whereby the energy storage unit including a plurality of first electrical connectors as disclosed by Hachiya further includes a plurality of the first electrical connectors being electrically insulated from the frame as taught by Niziol so as to provide quick connectivity of the individual packs to their loads or charging devices without any interconnection between the packs and without the need to remove the battery packs from the case, etc.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hachiya and Niziol as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Muller et al. (U.S. Patent 5,462,453), hereinafter Muller.
Regarding claim 4, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya further discloses in [0055] Fig. 8 is a perspective view illustrating the structure of the floating connector, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0057] the movable connector member ref. 131 has base part ref. 132 (i.e., at least base portion) and plug part ref. 135 protruding from the base part, whereby the external shape of the plug part ref. 135 corresponds to the recessed part ref. 123 of the non-movable connector member ref. 121, and in order to facilitate insertion of the plug part ref. 135 into the recessed part ref. 123, the plug part ref. 135 has a taper part ref. 135s at its distal end, that makes the plug part ref. 135 a tapered shape, etc., and further discloses in [0064] power of the battery shelf assemblies as a whole is output through a rear connector member ref. 181 disposed at a power terminal part (not shown) on the rear surface of the battery shelf, whereby the rear connector ref. 181 is identical to the non-movable connector member ref. 121 of Fig. 8, and further discloses in [0065] the connection member ref. 191 is identical to the movable connector member ref. 131 shown in Fig. 8, etc., which at least provides the plurality of second electrical connectors (ref. 181 (121), etc.) includes: a base portion (i.e., at least as shown in Fig. 8-9) connected to the battery module (i.e., at least connected to battery shelf assembly(s)), lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Hachiya is silent as to a resilient upper arm connected to the base portion; and a resilient lower arm connected to the base portion, the resilient upper and lower arms defining a connecting region therebetween and having an initial position, the resilient upper and lower arms being biased toward the initial position upon displacement of any one of the resilient upper and lower arms.
The combined teachings of Hachiya and Niziol disclose the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Muller teaches an electrical connector for battery terminals (Title), whereby the electrical connector comprises an electric contact, etc. (Abstract). Muller further teaches a resilient upper arm (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 30) connected to the base portion (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 28); and a resilient lower arm (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 30) connected to the base portion (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 28), the resilient upper and lower arms defining a connecting region therebetween and having an initial position (See Annotated Fig. 2). Muller further teaches the resilience of the arms (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 32) and legs (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 30) exerts a biasing force on the terminal (Fig. 3, refs. 12, 14) along a portion H of the height of the terminal, etc. so as to ensure contact between terminal (Fig. 3, ref. 12, 14) and its respective electric contact (Figs. 2-3 and 7, ref. 22), etc., thereby significantly reducing the risk of burning the terminals (refs. 12, 14) (C4:L55-66, C5:L1), which at least provides that the resilient upper and lower arms are biased toward the initial position upon displacement of any one of the resilient upper and lower arms so as to ensure contact between terminal and respective electric contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hachiya and Niziol with the teachings of Muller, whereby the second electrical connectors as disclosed by Hachiya further includes the electrical connectors as taught by Muller so as to ensure contact between terminal and its respective electric contact, thereby significantly reducing the risk of burning the terminals.
Annotated Figure 2 (Muller)
Regarding claim 5, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya further discloses in [0055] Fig. 8 is a perspective view illustrating the structure of the floating connector, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0057] the movable connector member ref. 131 has base part ref. 132 (i.e., at least base portion) and plug part ref. 135 protruding from the base part, whereby the external shape of the plug part ref. 135 corresponds to the recessed part ref. 123 of the non-movable connector member ref. 121, and in order to facilitate insertion of the plug part ref. 135 into the recessed part ref. 123, the plug part ref. 135 has a taper part ref. 135s at its distal end, that makes the plug part ref. 135 a tapered shape, etc., and further discloses in [0064] power of the battery shelf assemblies as a whole is output through a rear connector member ref. 181 disposed at a power terminal part (not shown) on the rear surface of the battery shelf, whereby the rear connector ref. 181 is identical to the non-movable connector member ref. 121 of Fig. 8, and further discloses in [0065] the connection member ref. 191 is identical to the movable connector member ref. 131 shown in Fig. 8, etc., which at least provides the plurality of second electrical connectors (ref. 181 (121), etc.) includes: a base portion (i.e., at least as shown in Fig. 8-9) connected to the battery module (i.e., at least connected to battery shelf assembly(s)), lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Hachiya is silent as to the base portion defining a center plane; an upper arm connected to the base portion, the upper arm having: a first upper arm member extending away from the base portion to a first end of the first upper arm; a second upper arm member connected to the first end of the first upper arm member, the second upper arm member extending diagonally from the first end of the first upper arm toward the center plane and the base portion to a second end of the second upper arm; and a third upper arm member connected to the second end of the second upper arm member, the third upper arm extending toward the base, a lower arm connected to the base portion, the lower arm having: a first lower arm member extending away from the base portion to a first end of the first upper arm; a second lower arm member connected to the first end of the first lower arm member, the second lower arm member extending diagonally from the first end of the first lower arm toward the center plane and the base portion to a second end of the second lower arm; and a third lower arm member connected to the second end of the second lower arm, the third lower arm extending toward the base, the third upper arm member and the third lower arm member defining a connecting region therebetween, and the upper and lower arm having an initial position, and being biased toward the initial position.
The combined teachings of Hachiya and Niziol disclose the energy storage unit as discussed above in claim 1. Muller teaches a base portion (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 28) defining a center plane (See Annotated Fig. 2); an upper arm (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 30) connected to the base portion (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 28), the upper arm having: a first upper arm member extending away from the base portion to a first end of the first upper arm member (See Annotated Fig. 2); a second upper arm member connected to the first end of the first upper arm member (See Annotated Fig. 2), the second upper arm member extending diagonally from the first end of the first upper arm member toward the center plane and the base portion to a second end of the second upper arm member (See Annotated Fig. 2); and a third upper arm member connected to the second end of the second upper arm member (See Annotated Fig. 2), the third upper arm extending toward the base portion (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 28) (See Annotated Fig. 2). Muller further discloses a lower arm (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 30) connected to the base portion (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 28) (See Annotated Fig. 2), the lower arm having: a first lower arm member extending away from the base portion to a first end of the first lower arm member (See Annotated Fig. 2); a second lower arm member connected to the first end of the first lower arm member (See Annotated Fig. 2), the second lower arm member extending diagonally from the first end of the first lower arm member toward the center plane and the base portion to a second end of the second lower arm member (See Annotated Fig. 2); and a third lower arm member connected to the second end of the second lower arm member (See Annotated Fig. 2), the third lower arm member extending toward the base portion (See Annotated Fig. 2), the third upper arm member and the third lower arm member defining a connecting region therebetween (See Annotated Fig. 2). Muller further teaches the resilience of the arms (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 32) and legs (Figs. 2 and 7, ref. 30) exerts a biasing force on the terminal (Fig. 3, refs. 12, 14) along a portion H of the height of the terminal, etc. so as to ensure contact between terminal (Fig. 3, ref. 12, 14) and its respective electric contact (Figs. 2-3 and 7, ref. 22), etc., thereby significantly reducing the risk of burning the terminals (refs. 12, 14) (C4:L55-66, C5:L1), which at least provides that the upper and lower arms are biased toward the initial position upon displacement of any one of the resilient upper and lower arms so as to ensure contact between terminal and respective electric contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Niziol with the teachings of Muller, whereby the second electrical connectors as disclosed by Niziol further includes the electrical connectors as taught by Muller so as to ensure contact between terminal and its respective electric contact, thereby significantly reducing the risk of burning the terminals.
Annotated Figure 2 (Muller)
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hachiya and Niziol as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of (2017 Tyco Electronics Corporation, a TE Connectivity Ltd. Company as cited in IDS), hereinafter TE Connectivity.
Regarding claims 6-8, Hachiya discloses the energy storage unit and first and second electrical connectors as discussed above in claim 1. Hachiya further discloses each first electrical connector of the plurality of first electrical connectors is vertically aligned with at least one second electrical connector of the plurality of second electrical connectors (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1).
However, Hachiya is silent as to each first electrical connector of the plurality of first electrical connectors is vertically aligned with at least one second electrical connector of the plurality of second electrical connectors within a tolerance of five millimetres or less (with regards to claim 6), wherein the tolerance is three millimetres or less (with regards to claim 7), and wherein the tolerance is 1.5 millimetres or more (with regards to claim 8).
The combined teachings of Hachiya and Niziol disclose the energy storage unit and first and second electrical connectors as discussed above in claim 1. TE Connectivity teaches bus bar connectivity (Title) for typical power connector applications such as power racks, rack-mounted switching power supplies, modular power supply, alternative (green) energy systems, etc. (Page 1:L11-15). TE Connectivity further teaches pluggable bus bar connectors (e.g., silver plated copper alloy, Ref. part number 213647-1), whereby said bus bar connector is blind mateable (misalignment up to 0.060” [1.522 mm] for both series) such as 125 series as shown for Reference Part Number 213647-1 (Page 3), which is at least a tolerance within the claimed range of five millimetres or less (with regards to claim 6), and a tolerance that is within the claimed range of three millimetres or less (with regards to claim 7), and also a tolerance within the claimed range of 1.5 millimetres or more (with regards to claim 8), thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 12th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to claim 1
Applicant argues Pages 2-3, “The Applicant disagrees, and submits that claim 1 is patentable over Hachiya in view of Niziol for at least the following reasons. Claim 1 recites: "the rack assembly comprising: a frame having at least one shelf and a plurality of stoppers".” Applicant further argues Page 3, “However, these alleged stoppers are not described anywhere in Hachiya. In fact, Hachiya is silent on the retaining plates 15L causing stoppage of the battery module. On the basis of non- referenced and non-described parts of the Figures, the Examiner is attempting to address a problem that is not explicitly discussed in Hachiya with a solution that is likewise not explicitly disclosed in Hachiya.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, Hachiya further discloses the rack assembly comprising: a frame having at least one shelf and a plurality of stoppers, the at least one shelf being adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules thereon (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0037]-[0038] whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R are disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, the retaining plate is configured to retain battery shelf assembly ref. 5, etc., and whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R at least provide said shelf and a plurality of stoppers, the at least one shelf being adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules thereon so as to be slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates, and such that said retaining plates retain said battery shelf assembly, etc., (See Annotated Fig. 9, also see Figs. 3-4 with said retaining plates on said frame ref. 10), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that the skilled artisan would appreciate the plain meaning of “retaining”, such that said retaining plates is commensurate in scope with the broad claim limitation of said plurality of stoppers, and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
In response to applicant's argument above, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicants further argue Pages 3-4, “Moreover, Figure 9 of Hachiya (the annotated figure referred to by the Examiner) clearly shows that the battery shelf assemblies 50 define a recess that appears to be designed to provide clearance from the alleged stoppers (applies to both alleged stoppers). The recess has been circled for clarity in Figure 9 reproduced below. Figure 4 of Hachiya has been reproduced below and the alleged stoppers have being circled. It can be seen that some of these alleged stoppers are at the front end of the retaining plates 15L. If these highlighted features were indeed stoppers, as the Examiner contends, then the battery shelf would be stopped right at the beginning of the rearward movement of the battery shelf. Not withstanding the above, in Hachiya, the presence of the stopper would contradict one of the stated advantages of Hachiya, etc. If the alleged stoppers were truly stoppers, as contented by the Examiner, backward deviation of the battery shelf would not be possible, such that the position gap could not be absorbed.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, Hachiya further discloses the rack assembly comprising: a frame having at least one shelf and a plurality of stoppers, the at least one shelf being adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules thereon (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0037]-[0038] whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R are disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, the retaining plate is configured to retain battery shelf assembly ref. 5, etc., and whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R at least provide said shelf and a plurality of stoppers, the at least one shelf being adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules thereon so as to be slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates, and such that said retaining plates retain said battery shelf assembly, etc., (See Annotated Fig. 9, also see Figs. 3-4 with said retaining plates on said frame ref. 10), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that the skilled artisan would appreciate the plain meaning of “retaining”, such that said retaining plates is commensurate in scope with the broad claim limitation of said plurality of stoppers, and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
In response to applicant's argument above, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
With regards to claim 17
Applicants further argue Page 5, “In addition to the above, it is unclear how the stoppers of Hachiya disclose the following features of claim 17: "a plurality of stoppers each defining a first end and a second end, the first end having a vertically elevated member". Also, it is unclear how the alleged stoppers would be configured to engage the bracket 17, which the Examiner asserts corresponds to the engaging bracket of claim 1 according to the annotated Figure 9.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, Hachiya further discloses the rack assembly comprising: a frame having: at least one shelf adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules therein; and a plurality of stoppers each defining a first end and a second end, the first end having a vertically elevated member (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0037]-[0038] whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R are disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, the retaining plate is configured to retain battery shelf assembly ref. 5, etc., and whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R at least provide said shelf and a plurality of stoppers, the at least one shelf adapted to receive the plurality of battery modules therein; and a plurality of stoppers each defining a first end and a second end, the first end having a vertically elevated member so as to be slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates, and such that said retaining plates retain said battery shelf assembly, etc., (See Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 3-4 with said retaining plates on said frame ref. 10), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first/second end(s) of said stopper(s).
As to Applicants’ argument, “it is unclear how the alleged stoppers would be configured to engage the bracket 17”, since Hachiya discloses in [0037]-[0038] whereby retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R are disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, the retaining plate is configured to retain battery shelf assembly ref. 5, etc., and whereby when the battery shelf ref. 55 is mounted, the shelf can be moved to the back side while being slid on the horizontal surfaces of the retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R, etc., such that disclosed in [0040] and shown in Fig. 3, the other connector ref. 191 is disposed on a back side of the rack ref. 10, to which a rear connector members ref. 181 (see Fig. 7) on the battery shelf assemblies ref. 50 is connected, etc., also see [0039], [0053], [0079], Figs. 1-5), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R at least provide said shelf and a plurality of stoppers, and such that said retaining plates retain said battery shelf assembly, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that this at least provides each battery module being configured to be inserted in the rack assembly by sliding on the at least one shelf to the connected position, in which a corresponding one of the elevated member of the plurality of stoppers is configured to limit vertical movement of the one of the plurality of battery modules by engaging the engaging bracket of the one of the plurality of battery modules (i.e., at least as discussed above and shown in Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 1) so as to retain said battery shelf assembly(s), lacking any further distinction thereof. Furthermore, Hachiya teaches a bracket (i.e., at least engaging bracket) as shown in Fig. 9, ref. 17 that is fixed by S1 fixing screws ([0169], Fig. 9, ref. S1), whereby the second module end at least has an engaging bracket when connected thereto (See Annotated Fig. 9) via fixing screws ([0169], Fig. 9, ref. S1). Hachiya teaches the bracket (ref. 17) may be configured to be movable in vertical direction, etc. ([0042]), whereby the couple member ref. 26 (and the entire bracket ref. 17) is movable in vertical direction, etc. such that the movability range may be 1 mm to several mm ([0047]), thus reading on “limits vertical movement of the one of the plurality of battery modules by engaging the engaging bracket of the one of the plurality of battery modules”.
Furthermore, and to clarify as cited by the examiner in [0037] Figs. 3-4 show struts positioned at four corners of the support base, etc., whereby rack ref. 10 forms an accommodating space, etc., and rack ref. 10 includes inner struts ref. 12, such that retaining plates ref. 15L and ref. 15R are attached to struts such as refs. 12, such that as previously cited in [0040] a bracket ref. 17, laterally long plate, is disposed on two struts ref. 11, etc., and bracket ref. 17 supports the other connector ref. 191, etc., such that as disclosed in previously cited [0043] bracket ref. 17 has a support member ref. 25, on which the other connector ref. 191 is mounted, and a coupling member ref. 26 which couples the support member ref. 25 to the strut ref. 11 of the rack ref. 10, such that since Hachiya discloses in [0037]-[0038] retaining plates refs. 15L, 15R are disposed on two adjacent inner struts ref. 12 substantially horizontally, the retaining plate is configured to retain battery shelf assembly ref. 5, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that said bracket at least engages the battery shelf assembly, and thereby subsequently engages the retaining plates so as to retain said battery shelf assembly, etc., lacking any further structural distinction as to engage, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that the limitation is broad in scope.
In response to applicant's argument above, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Therefore the current rejection 35 U.S.C. 103 for claims 1-3, 9-13, and 15-21 in view of Hachiya and Niziol is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ebisawa et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2014/0186676 A1) discloses an electrical storage device (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0037] the connectors ref. 10 are each a connector for power supply and signal supply, and as shown in Figs. 1 to 3, the connectors ref. 10 are attached to the attaching panel ref. 51 of the housing rack ref. 50 and, when the battery unit ref. 70 is inserted into the housing rack ref. 50, the connector ref. 10 is fitted to a battery-side connector ref. 60 attached to the battery unit ref. 70, etc.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727