DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's response filed 26 February 2026 has been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-4 and 6-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 16 and 20 are currently amended; claims 2-4, 7, 10-11, 13-15 and 17-19 are original; claims 6, 8-9 and 12 are previously presented; claim 5 in cancelled.
Abstract
3. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract contains the legal term “embodiment” and that it should be removed. It is suggested to add “aspect” instead of “embodiment”.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1, 4, 6-16 and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-11, 13-14, 16 and 20 of co-pending Application No. 17/487,208. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the co-pending Application No. 17/487,208 and is covered by the co-pending Application No. 17/487,208 and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Instant Application - 17/487,778
Co-pending Application - 17/487,208
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: initiating a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system, wherein at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is a cloud-based storage system, by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume, the metadata defining the mapping and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system; and providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system.
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: initiating, by a storage system controller of a target storage system, a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to the target storage system by mapping a volume in the target storage system to the dataset stored in the source storage system using a metadata representation that identifies unmigrated data blocks of the dataset in the source storage system and migrated data blocks of the dataset in the target storage system; and during migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system, updating the metadata representation of the volume to include a first set of metadata objects that map a first set of logical addresses to a first set of storage locations in the source storage system and a second set of metadata objects that map a second set of logical addresses to a second set of storage locations in the target storage system, and access requests for portions of the dataset are serviced using the first set of metadata objects to access unmigrated portions of the dataset on the source storage system and the second set of metadata objects to access migrated portions of the dataset on the target storage system.
13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the target storage system and the source storage system are collocated, and wherein one of the target storage system or the source storage system is an on-premises storage system that implements a cloud infrastructure.
4. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein both the source storage system and the target storage system are cloud-based storage systems.
13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the target storage system and the source storage system are collocated, and wherein one of the target storage system or the source storage system is an on-premises storage system that implements a cloud infrastructure.
6. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, wherein the volume is created in response to a request to migrate the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system.
3. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, wherein the volume is created in response to a request to migrate the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system.
7. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the read/write access is provided before any portion of the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system.
4. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein data services are provided before portion of the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system.
8. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, further comprising: providing, by the target storage system, data services for the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system, wherein the data services include at least one of snapshotting, cloning, data reduction, virtual copy, or replication.
5. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein data services are provided during migration including at least one of snapshotting, cloning, data reduction, virtual copy, or replication.
9. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, further comprising: migrating a portion of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system; and updating a mapping of the target storage system to the dataset to point to a location of the migrated portion in the target storage system.
6. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, further comprising: migrating a portion of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system; and updating a mapping of the target storage system to the dataset to point to a storage location of the migrated portion in the target storage system.
10. (Original) The method of claim 6, wherein the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system without participation by a host.
7. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system without participation by a host.
11. (Original) The method of claim 6, wherein the dataset is encrypted, and wherein the target storage system includes one or more encryption keys for reading the dataset.
8. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the dataset is encrypted, and wherein the target storage system includes one or more encryption keys for reading the dataset.
12. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the target storage system from a host, a request directed at least in part to an unmigrated portion of the dataset; and servicing, by the target storage system, the request.
9. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a host, a request directed to an unmigrated portion of the dataset; and servicing, the request using the first set of metadata objects.
13. (Original) The method of claim 9, wherein an update to the dataset is propagated to the source storage system.
10. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein an update to the dataset is propagated to the source storage system.
14. (Original) The method of claim 9, wherein an update to the dataset is not propagated to the source storage system.
11. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein an update to the dataset is not propagated to the source storage system.
15. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: providing, by the target storage system, data services for the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system.
16. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 14, wherein data services are provided before a portion of the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system.
16. (Currently Amended) An apparatus comprising: a memory; and a hardware processor, operatively coupled to the memory, configured to: initiate a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system, wherein at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is a cloud-based storage system, by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume, the metadata defining the mapping and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system; and provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system.
14. (Currently Amended) An apparatus comprising: a memory; and a storage system controller of a target storage system, operatively coupled to the memory, configured to: initiate a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to the target storage system by mapping a volume in the target storage system to the dataset stored in the source storage system using a metadata representation that identifies data objects in the source storage system; and during migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system, update the metadata representation of the volume to include a first set of metadata objects that map a first set of logical addresses to a first set of storage locations in the source storage system and a second set of metadata objects that map a second set of logical addresses to a second set of storage locations in the target storage system, and access requests for portions of the dataset are serviced using the first set of metadata objects to access unmigrated portions of the dataset on the source storage system and the second set of metadata objects to access migrated portions of the dataset on the target storage system.
13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the target storage system and the source storage system are collocated, and wherein one of the target storage system or the source storage system is an on-premises storage system that implements a cloud infrastructure.
18. (Original) The apparatus of claim 16, wherein both the source storage system and the target storage system are cloud-based storage systems.
13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the target storage system and the source storage system are collocated, and wherein one of the target storage system or the source storage system is an on-premises storage system that implements a cloud infrastructure.
19. (Original) The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the read/write access is provided before any portion of the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system.
16. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 14, wherein data services are provided before a portion of the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system.
20. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions, which when executed, cause a processing device to: initiate a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system, wherein at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is a cloud-based storage system, by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume, the metadata defining the mapping and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system; and provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system
20. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions, which when executed, cause a storage system controller to: initiate, by the storage system controller of a target storage system, a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to the target storage system by mapping a volume in the target storage system to the dataset stored in the source storage system using a metadata representation that identifies data objects in the source storage system; and during migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system, update the metadata representation of the volume to include a first set of metadata objects that map a first set of logical addresses to a first set of storage locations in the source storage system and a second set of metadata objects that map a second set of logical addresses to a second set of storage locations in the target storage system, and access requests for portions of the dataset are serviced using the first set of metadata objects to access unmigrated portions of the dataset on the source storage system and the second set of metadata objects to access migrated portions of the dataset on the target storage system.
13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the target storage system and the source storage system are collocated, and wherein one of the target storage system or the source storage system is an on-premises storage system that implements a cloud infrastructure.
Noted, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1, 3-11, 13-14, 16 and 20 of the co-pending Application No. 17/487,208 to arrive at the claims 1, 4, 6-16 and 18-20 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 7-8, 12, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al. (previously presented) (US 2016/0269488 A1) hereinafter ZHAO, in view of Butterworth et al. (previously presented) (US 2016/0092119 A1) hereinafter Butterworth.
As to claim 1, ZHAO discloses a method comprising: initiating a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system (Fig. 3-6, Para. 60, FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 for data migration from a source device 102, i.e., a source storage system, to a target device 104, i.e., a target storage system, according to an example conventional system. The source device is the device from which data is to be transferred and the target device is the device to which the data is transferred. Para. 26, “During the process of migration, source machines may function as background devices of target machines. Further, during the data migration process, the target machines may function as clients of the source machines. For example, the target machines may keep their services running during migration and, if requested, data may be obtained from the source machines to service the client request.”. Para. 71, “the communication device(s) 206 may send a write request to the source device 202, which may be intercepted by the target device 204. For example, the target device may have assumed the identity of the source device (e.g., might be using the identification or routing information of the source device). Therefore, the request may be sent directly to the target device without the communication device(s) being aware of the change.”. Thus, a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to the target storage system initiated since the target device receives the client request instead of the source device for data migration from the source device to the target device.) wherein at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is a cloud- based storage system (Para. 61, “The target device 104 can be an offsite device, such as a device that is included in, or associated with, an external computing environment. For example, the target device 104 can be maintained by a commercial data source that is configured to provide various services and/or applications by application of a cloud computing environment. Thus, the target device 104 can be controlled and maintained by a third party, wherein the data is maintained and provided in a secured configuration. As illustrated, the target device 104 can be included, at least partially in a cloud computing environment 108.”. Para. 78, “the source device 404 may contain at least some of the data, applications, and/or services that are used by the client device 402. The source device 404 may be located on-site or within the premises or control of an enterprise (e.g., company, network, and so on).”. Para. 104, “The source device may be, for example a server of an enterprise (e.g., a company). The target device may be located offsite, or "in the cloud".”. Thus, at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is a cloud- based storage system.); and
providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system (Fig. 3, Para. 76, “Another task may be the processing of requests from the client-side device 306. Such service requests may be to read data (read request 310) and/or to write data (write request 312). For a read request 310, the target device 304 may determine whether the data to be read has been migrated from the source device 302. If the data to be read has been migrated to the target device 304, the target device 304 may process the request directly, at 314.”. Para. 77, “If the data to be read has not been migrated, the target device 304 may simulate the client (e.g., the client-side device 306 that sent the request) of the source device 302 to acquire the data from the source device 302, at 316. This may be similar to a direct transfer between the source device 302 and its client (e.g., the respective client-side device 306). Upon receiving the data from the source device 302, the acquired data may be stored on the target device 304.”. Para. 61, The target device 104 can be an offsite device, such as a device that is included in, or associated with, an external computing environment. For example, the target device 104 can be maintained by a commercial data source that is configured to provide various services and/or applications, i.e. providing, by the target storage system, read/write access, by application of a cloud computing environment. Thus, the target device 104 can be controlled and maintained by a third party, wherein the data is maintained and provided in a secured configuration. Para. 64, When a decision is made to transfer data from the source device 102 to the target device 104, a link 112 is established between the source device 102 and the target device 104. For example, an operator (e.g., information technology personnel or someone with the proper authority) of the enterprise can contract with a third party entity, wherein the third party entity provides the cloud computing services, i.e. read/write access. Therefore, the target device such as the target storage system provides read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system.).
ZHAO does not explicitly disclose a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume, the metadata defining the mapping and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system; and providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Butterworth discloses a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume (Fig. 8-9, Para. 60, receiving a migration request for data migration from a source storage system to a target storage system; building a virtual file system, i.e., creating a mapping of a volume, for reading data blocks in the source storage system; and migrating data blocks in the source storage system to the target storage system via the virtual file system. Para. 69, “In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system.”. Para. 61, a virtual file system for reading data blocks in the source storage system may be built. Specifically, in this embodiment, virtual file system 526 is built in a target storage system 520, i.e., creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system, to directly read data blocks from source storage system 410, rather than data being delivered via a third-party migration controller. Thus, a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume.) the metadata defining the mapping (Para. 69, “In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system.”, where virtual file system represents here as metadata which defining the mapping. Thus, the metadata defining the mapping.) and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system (Para. 69. In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path, i.e., a logical path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system.); and
providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system (Fig. 7-8, Para. 74, source storage system 410 may become external storage of target storage system 720, and target storage system 720 provides data storage services to the client, i.e., providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset. Therefore, at this point it may be considered the ongoing data migration operation is a data operation inside the target storage system. Para. 79, the migrating data blocks in the source storage system to the target storage system via the virtual file system, i.e., metadata, comprises: with respect to data blocks in the source storage system, on the basis of the progress of copying the data blocks from the source storage system to the target storage system, setting metadata that describes migration status of the data blocks, the metadata comprising at least one of "unmigrated," "under migration" and "migrated". Para. 69. In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path, i.e., the logical path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system. Thus, providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of ZHAO by using metadata in the target storage system such as the target device of ZHAO that describes migration status of the data blocks such as migrated data blocks or unmigrated data blocks in order to provide the data block in response to client request as disclosed by Butterworth (Para. 88). Thus, as combined, rendering obvious, “initiating a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume, the metadata defining the mapping and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system; and providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system” as claimed. The progress of data migration may further be recorded so as to learn which data blocks in source storage system have been migrated, which ones are being migrated and which ones have not been migrated (Butterworth, Para. 79). One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to make this modification in order to ensure a client desiring to access a data storage system can still access the data storage system during data migration without waiting for hours by providing more convenient and efficient data migration without changing the architecture of an existing data storage system as suggested by Butterworth (Para. 22; 101).
As to claim 16, ZHAO discloses an apparatus comprising: a memory; and a hardware processor, operatively coupled to the memory (Para. 38), configured to: initiate a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system (Fig. 3-6, Para. 60, FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 for data migration from a source device 102, i.e., a source storage system, to a target device 104, i.e., a target storage system, according to an example conventional system. The source device is the device from which data is to be transferred and the target device is the device to which the data is transferred. Para. 26, “During the process of migration, source machines may function as background devices of target machines. Further, during the data migration process, the target machines may function as clients of the source machines. For example, the target machines may keep their services running during migration and, if requested, data may be obtained from the source machines to service the client request.”. Para. 71, “the communication device(s) 206 may send a write request to the source device 202, which may be intercepted by the target device 204. For example, the target device may have assumed the identity of the source device (e.g., might be using the identification or routing information of the source device). Therefore, the request may be sent directly to the target device without the communication device(s) being aware of the change.”. Thus, a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to the target storage system initiated since the target device receives the client request instead of the source device for data migration from the source device to the target device.),
wherein at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is a cloud- based storage system (Para. 61, “The target device 104 can be an offsite device, such as a device that is included in, or associated with, an external computing environment. For example, the target device 104 can be maintained by a commercial data source that is configured to provide various services and/or applications by application of a cloud computing environment. Thus, the target device 104 can be controlled and maintained by a third party, wherein the data is maintained and provided in a secured configuration. As illustrated, the target device 104 can be included, at least partially in a cloud computing environment 108.”. Para. 78, “the source device 404 may contain at least some of the data, applications, and/or services that are used by the client device 402. The source device 404 may be located on-site or within the premises or control of an enterprise (e.g., company, network, and so on).”. Para. 104, “The source device may be, for example a server of an enterprise (e.g., a company). The target device may be located offsite, or "in the cloud".”. Thus, at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is a cloud- based storage system.); and
provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system (Fig. 3, Para. 76, “Another task may be the processing of requests from the client-side device 306. Such service requests may be to read data (read request 310) and/or to write data (write request 312). For a read request 310, the target device 304 may determine whether the data to be read has been migrated from the source device 302. If the data to be read has been migrated to the target device 304, the target device 304 may process the request directly, at 314.”. Para. 77, “If the data to be read has not been migrated, the target device 304 may simulate the client (e.g., the client-side device 306 that sent the request) of the source device 302 to acquire the data from the source device 302, at 316. This may be similar to a direct transfer between the source device 302 and its client (e.g., the respective client-side device 306). Upon receiving the data from the source device 302, the acquired data may be stored on the target device 304.”. Para. 61, The target device 104 can be an offsite device, such as a device that is included in, or associated with, an external computing environment. For example, the target device 104 can be maintained by a commercial data source that is configured to provide various services and/or applications, i.e. providing, by the storage controller on the target storage system, data services, by application of a cloud computing environment. Thus, the target device 104 can be controlled and maintained by a third party, wherein the data is maintained and provided in a secured configuration. Para. 64, When a decision is made to transfer data from the source device 102 to the target device 104, a link 112 is established between the source device 102 and the target device 104. For example, an operator (e.g., information technology personnel or someone with the proper authority) of the enterprise can contract with a third party entity, wherein the third party entity, i.e. the storage controller, provides the cloud computing services, i.e. data services. Therefore, the target device such as the target storage system provides read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system.).
ZHAO does not explicitly disclose a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume, the metadata defining the mapping and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system; and provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Butterworth discloses a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume (Fig. 8-9, Para. 60, receiving a migration request for data migration from a source storage system to a target storage system; building a virtual file system, i.e., creating a mapping of a volume, for reading data blocks in the source storage system; and migrating data blocks in the source storage system to the target storage system via the virtual file system. Para. 69, “In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system.”. Para. 61, a virtual file system for reading data blocks in the source storage system may be built. Specifically, in this embodiment, virtual file system 526 is built in a target storage system 520, i.e., creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system, to directly read data blocks from source storage system 410, rather than data being delivered via a third-party migration controller. Thus, a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume.), the metadata defining the mapping (Para. 69, “In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system.”, where virtual file system represents here as metadata which defining the mapping. Thus, the metadata defining the mapping.) and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system (Para. 69. In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path, i.e., a logical path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system.); and
provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system (Fig. 7-8, Para. 74, source storage system 410 may become external storage of target storage system 720, and target storage system 720 provides data storage services to the client, i.e., providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset. Therefore, at this point it may be considered the ongoing data migration operation is a data operation inside the target storage system. Para. 79, the migrating data blocks in the source storage system to the target storage system via the virtual file system, i.e., metadata, comprises: with respect to data blocks in the source storage system, on the basis of the progress of copying the data blocks from the source storage system to the target storage system, setting metadata that describes migration status of the data blocks, the metadata comprising at least one of "unmigrated," "under migration" and "migrated". Para. 69. In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path, i.e., the logical path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system. Thus, providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of ZHAO by using metadata in the target storage system such as the target device of ZHAO that describes migration status of the data blocks such as migrated data blocks or unmigrated data blocks in order to provide the data block in response to client request as disclosed by Butterworth (Para. 88). Thus, as combined, rendering obvious, “initiate a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume, the metadata defining the mapping and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system; and provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system” as claimed. The progress of data migration may further be recorded so as to learn which data blocks in source storage system have been migrated, which ones are being migrated and which ones have not been migrated (Butterworth, Para. 79). One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to make this modification in order to ensure a client desiring to access a data storage system can still access the data storage system during data migration without waiting for hours by providing more convenient and efficient data migration without changing the architecture of an existing data storage system as suggested by Butterworth (Para. 22; 101).
As to claim 20, ZHAO discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions (Para. 38), which when executed, cause a processing device to: initiate a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system (Fig. 3-6, Para. 60, FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 for data migration from a source device 102, i.e., a source storage system, to a target device 104, i.e., a target storage system, according to an example conventional system. The source device is the device from which data is to be transferred and the target device is the device to which the data is transferred. Para. 26, “During the process of migration, source machines may function as background devices of target machines. Further, during the data migration process, the target machines may function as clients of the source machines. For example, the target machines may keep their services running during migration and, if requested, data may be obtained from the source machines to service the client request.”. Para. 71, “the communication device(s) 206 may send a write request to the source device 202, which may be intercepted by the target device 204. For example, the target device may have assumed the identity of the source device (e.g., might be using the identification or routing information of the source device). Therefore, the request may be sent directly to the target device without the communication device(s) being aware of the change.”. Thus, a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to the target storage system initiated since the target device receives the client request instead of the source device for data migration from the source device to the target device.), wherein at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is a cloud- based storage system (Para. 61, “The target device 104 can be an offsite device, such as a device that is included in, or associated with, an external computing environment. For example, the target device 104 can be maintained by a commercial data source that is configured to provide various services and/or applications by application of a cloud computing environment. Thus, the target device 104 can be controlled and maintained by a third party, wherein the data is maintained and provided in a secured configuration. As illustrated, the target device 104 can be included, at least partially in a cloud computing environment 108.”. Para. 78, “the source device 404 may contain at least some of the data, applications, and/or services that are used by the client device 402. The source device 404 may be located on-site or within the premises or control of an enterprise (e.g., company, network, and so on).”. Para. 104, “The source device may be, for example a server of an enterprise (e.g., a company). The target device may be located offsite, or "in the cloud".”. Thus, at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is a cloud- based storage system.); and
provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system (Fig. 3, Para. 76, “Another task may be the processing of requests from the client-side device 306. Such service requests may be to read data (read request 310) and/or to write data (write request 312). For a read request 310, the target device 304 may determine whether the data to be read has been migrated from the source device 302. If the data to be read has been migrated to the target device 304, the target device 304 may process the request directly, at 314.”. Para. 77, “If the data to be read has not been migrated, the target device 304 may simulate the client (e.g., the client-side device 306 that sent the request) of the source device 302 to acquire the data from the source device 302, at 316. This may be similar to a direct transfer between the source device 302 and its client (e.g., the respective client-side device 306). Upon receiving the data from the source device 302, the acquired data may be stored on the target device 304.”. Para. 61, The target device 104 can be an offsite device, such as a device that is included in, or associated with, an external computing environment. For example, the target device 104 can be maintained by a commercial data source that is configured to provide various services and/or applications, i.e. providing, by the storage controller on the target storage system, data services, by application of a cloud computing environment. Thus, the target device 104 can be controlled and maintained by a third party, wherein the data is maintained and provided in a secured configuration. Para. 64, When a decision is made to transfer data from the source device 102 to the target device 104, a link 112 is established between the source device 102 and the target device 104. For example, an operator (e.g., information technology personnel or someone with the proper authority) of the enterprise can contract with a third party entity, wherein the third party entity, i.e. the storage controller, provides the cloud computing services, i.e. data services. Therefore, the target device such as the target storage system provides read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system.).
ZHAO does not explicitly disclose a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume, the metadata defining the mapping and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system; and provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Butterworth discloses a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume (Fig. 8-9, Para. 60, receiving a migration request for data migration from a source storage system to a target storage system; building a virtual file system, i.e., creating a mapping of a volume, for reading data blocks in the source storage system; and migrating data blocks in the source storage system to the target storage system via the virtual file system. Para. 69, “In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system.”. Para. 61, a virtual file system for reading data blocks in the source storage system may be built. Specifically, in this embodiment, virtual file system 526 is built in a target storage system 520, i.e., creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system, to directly read data blocks from source storage system 410, rather than data being delivered via a third-party migration controller. Thus, a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume.), the metadata defining the mapping (Para. 69, “In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system.”, where virtual file system represents here as metadata which defining the mapping. Thus, the metadata defining the mapping.) and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system (Para. 69. In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path, i.e., a logical path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system.); and
provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system (Fig. 7-8, Para. 74, source storage system 410 may become external storage of target storage system 720, and target storage system 720 provides data storage services to the client, i.e., providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset. Therefore, at this point it may be considered the ongoing data migration operation is a data operation inside the target storage system. Para. 79, the migrating data blocks in the source storage system to the target storage system via the virtual file system, i.e., metadata, comprises: with respect to data blocks in the source storage system, on the basis of the progress of copying the data blocks from the source storage system to the target storage system, setting metadata that describes migration status of the data blocks, the metadata comprising at least one of "unmigrated," "under migration" and "migrated". Para. 69. In the virtual file system, each file/folder has it unique virtual path, i.e., the logical path. The virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system. Thus, providing, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of ZHAO by using metadata in the target storage system such as the target device of ZHAO that describes migration status of the data blocks such as migrated data blocks or unmigrated data blocks in order to provide the data block in response to client request as disclosed by Butterworth (Para. 88). Thus, as combined, rendering obvious, “initiate a migration of a dataset from a source storage system to a target storage system by creating a mapping of a volume in the target storage system to portions of data in the source storage system through metadata associated with the volume, the metadata defining the mapping and providing a logical path to access portions of data in the source storage system; and provide, by the target storage system, read/write access to the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system by using metadata associated with the volume to navigate the logical path to access the portions of data in the source storage system” as claimed. The progress of data migration may further be recorded so as to learn which data blocks in source storage system have been migrated, which ones are being migrated and which ones have not been migrated (Butterworth, Para. 79). One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to make this modification in order to ensure a client desiring to access a data storage system can still access the data storage system during data migration without waiting for hours by providing more convenient and efficient data migration without changing the architecture of an existing data storage system as suggested by Butterworth (Para. 22; 101).
As to claims 7 and 19, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 16 above. In addition, ZHAO discloses wherein the read/write access is provided before any portion of the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system (Fig. 3, Para. 76, “Another task may be the processing of requests from the client-side device 306. Such service requests may be to read data (read request 310) and/or to write data (write request 312). For a read request 310, the target device 304 may determine whether the data to be read has been migrated from the source device 302. If the data to be read has been migrated to the target device 304, the target device 304 may process the request directly, at 314.”. Para. 77, “If the data to be read has not been migrated, the target device 304 may simulate the client (e.g., the client-side device 306 that sent the request) of the source device 302 to acquire the data from the source device 302, at 316. This may be similar to a direct transfer between the source device 302 and its client (e.g., the respective client-side device 306). Upon receiving the data from the source device 302, the acquired data may be stored on the target device 304.”. Para. 61, The target device 104 can be an offsite device, such as a device that is included in, or associated with, an external computing environment. For example, the target device 104 can be maintained by a commercial data source that is configured to provide various services and/or applications, i.e. providing, by the storage controller on the target storage system, data services, by application of a cloud computing environment. Thus, the target device 104 can be controlled and maintained by a third party, wherein the data is maintained and provided in a secured configuration. Para. 64, When a decision is made to transfer data from the source device 102 to the target device 104, a link 112 is established between the source device 102 and the target device 104. For example, an operator (e.g., information technology personnel or someone with the proper authority) of the enterprise can contract with a third party entity, wherein the third party entity, i.e. the storage controller, provides the cloud computing services, i.e. data services. Therefore, the read/write access is provided before any portion of the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system.).
As to claim 8, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. In addition, ZHAO discloses further comprising: providing, by the target storage system, data services for the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system, wherein the data services include at least one of snapshotting, cloning, data reduction, virtual copy, or replication (Para. 61, The target device 104 can be an offsite device, such as a device that is included in, or associated with, an external computing environment. For example, the target device 104 can be maintained by a commercial data source that is configured to provide various services and/or applications, i.e. providing, by the storage controller on the target storage system, data services, by application of a cloud computing environment. Para. 27, “a cloud service can be replicated without shutdown and, thus, during the replication, the user will not notice the change of server. The disclosed aspects provide a one-time migration and copies data from the old system (e.g., source) to the new system (e.g., target).”. Thus, the data services further include one or more features including at least one of snapshotting, cloning, data reduction, virtual copy, and replication.).
As to claim 12, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. In addition, ZHAO discloses further comprising: receiving, by the target storage system from a host, a request directed at least in part to an unmigrated portion of the dataset (Para. 86, Through the session 416 established with the client device 402 and the link 420 with the host service 408, the target device 406 may function as an intermediary for the client device 402 and the host service 408. Thus, the target device 406 may receive requests from the client device 402, i.e. a host, and may process such requests, while data is being migrated from the source device 404. Para. 72, during the process of migration, the target device 304 may function as a client of the source device 302. The target device 304 may keep its services running during migration and, therefore, requests from at least one client-side device 306 may be processed. For example, if a response to the request includes data not yet migrated, i.e. an unmigrated portion of the dataset, to the target device 304, at least a portion of the requested data may be obtained from the source device 302.); and
servicing, by the target storage system, the request (Para. 26, “During the process of migration, source machines may function as background devices of target machines. Further, during the data migration process, the target machines may function as clients of the source machines. For example, the target machines may keep their services running during migration and, if requested, data may be obtained from the source machines to service the client request.”. Para. 72, “during the process of migration, the target device 304 may function as a client of the source device 302. The target device 304 may keep its services running during migration and, therefore, requests from at least one client-side device 306 may be processed. For example, if a response to the request includes data not yet migrated to the target device 304, at least a portion of the requested data may be obtained from the source device 302.”. Thus, the request being serviced by the target storage system.).
As to claim 15, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. In addition, ZHAO discloses further comprising: providing, by the target storage system, data services for the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system (Fig. 3, Para. 76, “Another task may be the processing of requests from the client-side device 306. Such service requests may be to read data (read request 310) and/or to write data (write request 312). For a read request 310, the target device 304 may determine whether the data to be read has been migrated from the source device 302. If the data to be read has been migrated to the target device 304, the target device 304 may process the request directly, at 314.”. Para. 77, “If the data to be read has not been migrated, the target device 304 may simulate the client (e.g., the client-side device 306 that sent the request) of the source device 302 to acquire the data from the source device 302, at 316. This may be similar to a direct transfer between the source device 302 and its client (e.g., the respective client-side device 306). Upon receiving the data from the source device 302, the acquired data may be stored on the target device 304.”. Para. 61, The target device 104 can be an offsite device, such as a device that is included in, or associated with, an external computing environment. For example, the target device 104 can be maintained by a commercial data source that is configured to provide various services and/or applications, i.e. providing, by the storage controller on the target storage system, data services, by application of a cloud computing environment. Thus, the target device 104 can be controlled and maintained by a third party, wherein the data is maintained and provided in a secured configuration. Para. 64, When a decision is made to transfer data from the source device 102 to the target device 104, a link 112 is established between the source device 102 and the target device 104. For example, an operator (e.g., information technology personnel or someone with the proper authority) of the enterprise can contract with a third party entity, wherein the third party entity, i.e. the storage controller, provides the cloud computing services, i.e. data services. Therefore, the target device such as the target storage system provides data services for the dataset before completing migration of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system.).
8. Claims 2-3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO and Butterworth as applied above, and further in view of Baruch et al. (previously presented) (US 10,210,073 B1) hereinafter Baruch.
As to claim 2, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Combination of ZHAO and Butterworth do not explicitly disclose wherein the cloud-based storage system is a virtual storage system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Baruch discloses wherein the cloud-based storage system is a virtual storage system (Fig. 1, Col. 2 lines 61-64, the term "storage system" may encompass physical computing systems, cloud or virtual computing systems, i.e., a virtual storage system, or a combination thereof. Col. 9 lines 14-17, “source side host 104 may operate one or more applications 101, and target side storage 120 may be a virtual or cloud storage system.”. Col. 13 lines 65-67; Col. 14 lines 1-5, “FIG. 6, computer 600 may include processor 602, volatile memory 604 (e.g., RAM), non-volatile memory 606 (e.g., one or more hard disk drives (HDDs), one or more solid state drives (SSDs) such as a flash drive, one or more hybrid magnetic and solid state drives, and/or one or more virtual storage volumes, such as a cloud storage, or a combination of physical storage volumes and virtual storage volumes)”. Thus, the cloud-based storage system is a virtual storage system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Baruch into combined method of ZHAO and Butterworth by using storage system as cloud or virtual computing system such as virtual storage system, physical computing system such as physical storage system for either target storage system or source storage system in order to migrate data form source storage system to target storage system as suggested by Baruch (Col. 2 lines 61-64). Data can be migrated from physical storage system to cloud storage system such as the virtual storage system for performing data migration during system failure in either of the storage system. One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to make this modification such that source site and target sites can behave simultaneously as source site for some stored data and as a target site for other stored data in the event of a disaster at the storage systems as suggested by Baruch (Col. 3, lines 17-38).
As to claims 3 and 17, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 16 above. In addition, Baruch discloses wherein at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is physical storage system (Fig. 1, Col. 2 lines 61-64, the term "storage system" may encompass physical computing systems, i.e., physical storage system, cloud or virtual computing systems, or a combination thereof. Col. 13 lines 65-67; Col. 14 lines 1-5, “FIG. 6, computer 600 may include processor 602, volatile memory 604 (e.g., RAM), non-volatile memory 606 (e.g., one or more hard disk drives (HDDs), one or more solid state drives (SSDs) such as a flash drive, one or more hybrid magnetic and solid state drives, and/or one or more virtual storage volumes, such as a cloud storage, or a combination of physical storage volumes and virtual storage volumes)”. Col. 4 line 42-51, “source DPA 112 and target DPA 124 may perform various data protection services, such as data replication of a storage system, and journaling of I/O requests issued by hosts 104 and/or 116. In some embodiments, when acting as a target DPA, a DPA may also enable rollback of data to an earlier point-in-time (PIT), and enable processing of rolled back data at the target site. In some embodiments, each DPA 112 and 124 may be a physical device, a virtual device, or may be a combination of a virtual and physical device.”. Thus, at least one of the source storage system and the target storage system is physical storage system.).
9. Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO and Butterworth as applied above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (previously presented) (US 9,740,759 B1) hereinafter Zhang.
As to claims 4 and 18, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 16 above. Combination of ZHAO and Butterworth do not explicitly disclose wherein both the source storage system and the target storage system are cloud-based storage systems.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses wherein both the source storage system and the target storage system are cloud-based storage systems (Col. 4 lines 13-18, the current disclosure may enable a client to communicate with multiple clouds presented as a single cloud by a cloud router. In certain embodiments, the current disclosure may enable read write access to cloud data while the data is being migrated from a first cloud, i.e., the source storage system, to a second cloud, i.e., the target storage system. Thus, both the source storage system and the target storage system are cloud-based storage systems.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhang into combined method of ZHAO and Butterworth by using both source and target storage systems as cloud-based storage system in order to migrate data form source storage system to target storage system as suggested by Zhang (Col. 4 lines 13-18). Data can be migrated from one cloud storage system to another cloud storage system for performing data migration in secure manner by providing read write access to cloud data. One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to provide secure and reliable separation of code and data used to deliver services to different customers by using cloud computing infrastructures which use virtual machines to provide services to customers as suggested by Zhang (Col. 3, lines 16-41).
10. Claims 6, 9-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO and Butterworth as applied above, in view of Hardy et al. (previously presented) (US 2020/0073955 A1) hereinafter Hardy.
As to claim 6, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Combination of ZHAO and Butterworth do not explicitly disclose wherein the volume is created in response to a request to migrate the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hardy discloses wherein the volume is created in response to a request to migrate the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system (Para. 31, “identifying a request to migrate data associated with a volume from a source storage pool to a destination storage pool. Additionally, the method includes allocating one or more rank extents within the destination storage pool. Further, the method includes populating empty volume extents of the volume with corresponding offset locations within the allocated one or more rank extents within the destination storage pool. Also, the method includes transferring the data associated with the volume from one or more rank extents within the source storage pool to one or more offset locations within the allocated one or more rank extents of the destination storage pool.”. Para. 58, “FIG. 5, method 500 may initiate with operation 502, where a request to migrate data associated with a volume from a source storage pool to a destination storage pool is identified. In one embodiment, the volume includes a storage volume that organizes and presents a logical representation of the data in a contiguous manner to one or more hosts.”. Thus, the volume is created in response to a request to migrate the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hardy into combined method of ZHAO and Butterworth by mapping a volume in the destination storage system to the dataset in the source storage system for migrating the dataset of ZHAO as suggested by Hardy (Para. 84). Data is migrating from one or more ranks of the source storage pool to one or more ranks of the destination storage pool, according to the correspondence between the logical volume extents of the volume and the physical offset locations within the rank extents of the destination storage pool. One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to make this modification in order to reduce an amount of time and resources of one or more systems performing the data migration, which improves a performance of the one or more systems as suggested by Hardy (Para. 27).
As to claim 9, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. In addition, Hardy discloses further comprising: migrating a portion of the dataset from the source storage system to the target storage system (Para. 26, “the method includes migrating data from one or more ranks of the source storage pool to one or more ranks of the destination storage pool, according to the correspondence between the logical volume extents of the volume and the physical offset locations within the rank extents of the destination storage pool.”.); and updating a mapping of the target storage system to the dataset to point to a location of the migrated portion in the target storage system (Para. 76, the previously allocated volume extent is updated to identify the offset location, i.e., updating a mapping, within the allocated rank extent of the destination storage pool where the data associated with the previously allocated volume extent was migrated. In yet another example, the stored data is migrated from the rank extent in the source storage pool to an offset location within an allocated rank extent of the destination storage pool.).
As to claim 10, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6 above. In addition, ZHAO discloses wherein the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system without participation by a host (Para. 147, during the process of migration, source machines may function as background devices of target machines. Further, during the data migration process, the target machines may function as clients of the source machines. For example, the target machines may keep their services running during migration and, if necessary, data can be obtained from the source machines to service a client request. Therefore, client devices, i.e., a host, are not aware that data migration is occurring or that data migration has occurred. Thus, the dataset is copied from the source storage system to the target storage system without participation by a host.).
As to claim 14, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9 above. In addition, ZHAO discloses wherein an update to the dataset is not propagated to the source storage system (Para. 27, “The disclosed aspects provide a one-time migration and copies data from the old system (e.g., source) to the new system (e.g., target). In such a manner, the disclosed aspects operate similar to a "do not migrate" process, however, there is no synchronization back to the old system with the aspects disclosed herein.”. Thus, an update to the dataset is not propagated to the source storage system.).
11. Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO, Butterworth and Hardy as applied above, and further in view of Murali et al. (previously presented) (US 9,582,524 B1) hereinafter Muralli.
As to claim 11, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6 above. Combination of ZHAO, Butterworth and Hardy do not explicitly disclose wherein the dataset is encrypted, and wherein the target storage system includes one or more encryption keys for reading the dataset.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Murali discloses wherein the dataset is encrypted, and wherein the target storage system includes one or more encryption keys for reading the dataset (Col. 1 line 54-62, “the data may be data that is stored in an encrypted form, for example through use of a Hardware Security Module (HSM). Such embodiments may enable a rotation (e.g., change) of an encryption key or algorithm such that the original data in Table A is encrypted using a first encryption key, a first set of encryption keys, and/or a first encryption algorithm, and the migrated data in Table B is encrypted using a second encryption key, second set of encryption keys, and/or second encryption algorithm.”. Thus, the dataset is encrypted, and wherein the target storage system includes one or more encryption keys for reading the dataset.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Murali into the combined method of ZHAO, Butterworth and Hardy by including the encryption key for the dataset of ZHAO for reading the data using the provided encryption key as disclosed by Murali (Col. 1 line 55-62). The data services of Murali used in the environment of ZHAO in order to migrate data safely form source system to target system in the encrypted form. One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to make this modification in order to protect sensitive data such as the financial transaction data by providing the data in the encrypted form as suggested by Murali (Col. 1 line 55-67; Col. 2 line 1-7).
As to claim 13, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9 above. In addition, Murali discloses wherein an update to the dataset is propagated to the source storage system (Col. 10 line 24-31, “After migration of the first data portion is completed, at 414 one or more other indices (e.g., other than the primary key index) may be created for the second table, in one or more regions. At 416 replication between regions may be enabled for the second table, such that changes (e.g., row inserts, deletes, and/or updates) may be propagated in the corresponding second table in one or more other regions for which replication is enabled.”. Col. 10 line 35-44, “the status table may be updated to indicate that one or more data writing processes are to write to both the first and second tables, and that one or more data reading processes are to read from the first table (but not the second table). By having writing processes write to both the first and second table, embodiments may ensure that the first table continues to store up-to-date data in case the migration fails and the system is to be rolled back (e.g., revert to using the original, unmigrated first table).”. Thus, an update to the dataset is propagated to the source storage system.).
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant’s arguments filed on 26 February 2026, with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For Examiner's response, see discussion below:
Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-10, applicant argues that “the cited portions of Butterworth do not teach or suggest metadata associated with the volume that defines the claimed mapping. The cited portions of Butterworth describe a migration technique in which each data block is associated with a piece of block-level metadata that stores migration status information such as "unmigrated," "under migration," or "migrated." (See Butterworth at paragraph [0079]). Butterworth's migration-status metadata specific to each block is structurally and functionally different from the metadata recited in the amended claims, which defines the mapping between the target volume and portions of the dataset stored on the source storage system. Butterworth's block-status metadata does not provide a logical path to data stored in the source storage system. It does not map logical paths in the target storage system to physical locations of portions of the dataset in the source storage system.”
Examiner respectfully responds that Butterworth discloses the above feature in paragraph 60-61 and 69. Butterworth’s paragraph 69 indicated that the virtual file system achieves a mapping relationship from actual storage locations of files/folders to virtual paths such as the logical path, so that the target storage system may read data blocks in the source storage system. The virtual file system is built in the target storage system to directly read data blocks from source storage system indicated in paragraph 61. Examiner broadest reasonable interpretation: the virtual file system acts here as claimed metadata and the target storage system uses the virtual file system such as the metadata in order to directly read data blocks from source storage system using the virtual path such as the logical path obtained from the mapping relationship.
Therefore, combined method of ZHAO and Butterworth alone or in combination teaches all independent and dependent claims as claimed.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yetukuri et al. (US 2017/0228178 A1) teaches utilization of storage arrays within and across datacenters.
14. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad S Bhuyan/Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168