DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 8 has been cancelled. New claim 21 was added. Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “…wherein the at least one automation system function comprises a programmable logic controller (PLC) program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands, information about connected sensors/actuators, and information regarding a specific firmware version …" Examiner was unable to find clear support for the above features i.e., automatically controlling an automation system based on sensor data and sensors and actuating actuators without requiring user-initiated commands. Page 9 of the reply notes that paras. [0005, 0039, 0054, 0061, 0074, 0076] support the above features. However, Examiner did not find specific support for these features in the above paragraphs. Examiner also conducted a word search of the specification using the terms, "sensor" and "actuat*", but only a limited number of instances of these terms were found, and they generally only noted that there may be information in a system component about connected sensors or actuators e.g., see paras. [0056, 0019]. If specific support for the amended limitations exist in the specification, Examiner respectfully requests that the corresponding paragraph numbers be provided in the next reply.
Claim 11 is similar to claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2-7, 9-10 and 12-21 are rejected for failing to cure the deficiencies of their respective parent claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 14 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite the limitation, “…wherein the at least one automation system function comprises a programmable logic controller (PLC) program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands, information about connected sensors/actuators, and information regarding a specific firmware version …" The meaning of the limitation is somewhat unclear i.e., it is unclear whether the automation system further comprises information about connected sensors/actuators and information about a specific firmware version, or whether connected actuators are actuated without requiring such information. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the limitation as referring to the former.
Claims 2-7, 9-10 and 17-21 are rejected for failing to cure the deficiencies of parent claim.
Claim 14 recites, "the second configuration data structure." This term lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott (US 2006/0143572) in view of Rolfes (US 2018/0162652) and further in view of Kim (US 2016/0195864).
Regarding claim 1, Scott teaches a method comprising:
generating a first configuration data structure for a first control system controlling an automation system; wherein the generating is carried out by a second control system of the automation system or a cloud computing unit of a cloud system that is separate from the first control system (Fig. 19, [0058], server may store configuration data, which may have been provided to it by a controlling device at a site; thus, such configuration data is generated at the server/centralized sharing service i.e., the second control system and/or the cloud computing unit; the server then provides it to controlling devices i.e., the first control system, to update those devices; the above devices and networks are part of and/or help control a system with automation elements e.g., the automatic display of a control GUI, system component and device action management etc.; see Scott [0029, 0032, 0061]; note that the "second control system" could also be understood as a portion of the server/centralized sharing service e.g., the processor and memory therein, which performs the operations of the invention);
providing the first configuration data structure that comprises a cloud component, which provides at least one cloud function with a uniform data structure which is executable on the cloud computing unit (Fig. 14, [0049, 0058-0061, 0035, 0050], claim 6, the configuration file on the server can include various kinds of data e.g., GUI elements/pages, which perform functions e.g., transmitting a command to an appliance, changing configuration data page etc.; [0050, 0058], the file can also include data used for an automated updating function, which is executed in part by the server/centralized sharing service);
providing the first configuration data structure that comprises a system component, which provides at least one automation system function which is carried out on the first control system (Fig. 14, [0049, 0058-0061, 0035, 0050], the configuration file can include various types of data e.g., drivers which allow connection/communication; a project identity area which identifies the author, revision, target device and provides other information that facilitates communication/connection with the server, in the context of automating device updates, as noted in [0050]; GUI elements/pages, which perform functions e.g., transmitting a command to an appliance associated with the target device, changing configuration data page etc.) and
providing a database integrated with the cloud computing unit configured to use entries from the database to add and/or change the at least one system function or to add and/or change the at least one cloud function ([0060], claim 1, the server stores the configuration files in a database; Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], each file can be for adding a GUI element or other feature); and
wherein the at least one automation system function comprises information regarding a specific version ([0050], it is known for configuration data to identify the target device and revision for the configuration data),
wherein the at least one cloud function comprises an analysis of voice commands or comprises enablement of transmission of a corresponding control command in the form of an input data to the first control system (Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], claim 6, the configuration file on the server can include various kinds of data e.g., GUI elements/pages, which perform functions e.g., transmitting a command to an appliance associated with the target device, changing configuration data page etc.).
However, Scott does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one system function comprises a programmable logic controller (PLC) program, information about connected sensors/actuators, and information regarding a specific firmware version; the PLC program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands.
In the same field of endeavor, Rolfes teaches wherein the at least one system function comprises a programmable logic controller (PLC) program, information about connected sensors/actuators, and information regarding a specific firmware version (Rolfes describes a controlling device that controls a conveyor system, where the controlling device can provide a GUI for controlling the conveyor system, and also can provide configuration data e.g., firmware updates, to the conveyor system e.g., see Rolfes Fig. 2, [0018, 0020, 0022, 0040]; the updates/configuration data can be for a PLC e.g., see Rolfes [0018]; Rolfes further teaches that the GUI of the controlling device can provide information regarding connected sensors and actuators e.g., see Rolfes Figs. 4, 6, 8 [0022, 0026, 0030, 0034]; in the view of the Examiner, it would be obvious to modify the configuration data of Scott to include the above features, and to be applied to a conveyor system as described in Rolfes).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the at least one system function comprises a programmable logic controller (PLC) program, information about connected sensors/actuators, and information regarding a specific firmware version as suggested in Rolfes into Scott because Scott and Rolfes pertain to analogous fields of technology. Scott pertains to a system including a server, a controlling device and an appliance/system managed by the controlling device. In Scott, the controlling device may receive configuration data to help the controlling device manage the appliance/system e.g., software relating to drivers, device actions, and a GUI presented at the controlling device; see Scott [0061, 0029, 0050]. Rolfes likewise pertains to a controlling device and an appliance/system managed by the controlling device e.g., a conveyor system. Similar to Scott, the controlling device can present a GUI, and further can use obtained configuration date to update the firmware and/or PLC of the conveyor system. The GUI described in Rolfes can also present data indicating the state/actuation of the conveyor e.g. stopped, running etc., and sensor data. It would be obvious to modify Scott to include the above features of Rolfes; for example, it would be obvious for configuration data at the controlling device, as described in Scott, to include information relating to a PLC, firmware and sensor/actuator GUI elements, as described in Rolfes, and to apply the features of the Scott inventor to the controlling devices and conveyor systems of Rolfes. It would be desirable to incorporate these features to Scott so that the invention of Scott could be applied to a wider array of systems e.g., conveyor systems. It should be noted that Scott contemplates applying its features and operations to a wide variety of systems and devices e.g., see Scott [0029, 0061].
However, the combination of Scott and Rolfes does not expressly disclose the PLC program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the PLC program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands ([0276-0277], a network device can be updated using configuration data e.g., a system profile; the system profile/configuration data controls controls any operation of the network device; the network device can be, for example, a conveyor system; the conveyor system may use sensors; for example, a velocity can detect a problematic change in speed of the conveyor belt; then, the system may automatically adjust the belt speed or shut off the belt to avoid damage to the belt).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the PLC program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands as suggested in Kim into Scott and Rolfes because Scott/Rolfes and Kim pertain to analogous fields of technology. Scott/Rolfes pertains to a conveyor system including a controlling device, which updates the PLC and firmware of the conveyor system; the updates can further relate to actuators and sensors e.g., see Rolfes Fig. 2, [0018, 0020, 0022, 0040]; Rolfes Figs. 4, 6, 8 [0022, 0026, 0030, 0034]. Scott/Rolfes also notes that the updates can relate to an emergency stop operation e.g., see Rolfes [0019]. Kim also pertains to a conveyor system that can be updated based on configuration data. In Kim, the updates can pertain to any operation of the conveyor system e.g., the stop of a conveyor belt in response to sensor data. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Scott/Rolfes so that the updating process of Scott/Rolfes can be applied to a variety of known operations, such as sensor-based actuation operations e.g., see Kim [0276-0277].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches
wherein the cloud component further comprises: display names, data formatting, units, threshold values, authorization information, predefined visualizations, statistical evaluations, a control system status, meta information, alarm configurations, configurations of aggregate formations, definitions of additional calculations, user authorizations, algorithms for data analysis, data export definitions, VPN configurations, backup/restore information, diagnostic information, and/or rules (Scott Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], claim 6, the configuration file on the server can include various kinds of data e.g., GUI elements/pages, which perform functions e.g., transmitting a command to an appliance associated with the target device, changing configuration data page etc.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches wherein the system component further comprises: information about a data collection frequency, information about a data transmission frequency, information about a data transmission type, information about a type of data sent, configurations of the PLC program, visualization components, firmware versions, backup and diagnostic settings, settings as to whether data should be sent compressed or uncompressed, settings about possible preaggregations or filtering of data, settings about scaling and/or conversion of values (Scott Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], the configuration file can include various types of data e.g., drivers which allow connection/communication; a project identity area which identifies the author, revision, target device and provides other information that facilitates communication/connection with the server, in the context of automating device updates, as noted in [0050]; some of the above can be considered information about a data transmission type or information about a type of data sent).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches sending, by the cloud computing unit, the first configuration data structure to the first control system via the second control system, wherein the second control system acts as a gateway (Scott Fig. 19, [0058], a device at a site can upload a configuration file to an Internet server e.g., a "cloud computing unit"; the server may deploy the configuration file to a target device, which in turn may control an appliance e.g., “a first control system”; Scott [0058], it is known that a server and device may communicate using an intermediate device, such as a gateway).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches obtaining the system component by the cloud computing unit from the first control system or from the second control system, wherein the generation of the first configuration data structure for the first control system is based on the obtained system component (Scott Fig. 19, [0058], a device at a site can upload a configuration file to an Internet server; the site device can be considered to be part of the “first control system”; the server may deploy the configuration file to a target device, which in turn may control an appliance; Scott Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], the configuration file can include various types of data e.g., drivers which allow connection/communication; a project identity area which identifies the author, revision, target device and provides other information that facilitates communication/connection with the server, in the context of automating device updates, as noted in Scott [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches before the first configuration data structure is sent to the first control system, modifying, by the cloud computing unit, the cloud component or the system component of the first configuration data structure based on user inputs input by a user via a user unit and/or based on entries in the database (Scott Abstract, [0059, 0006], a configuration file can be modified at a server, and then the file can be deployed to a target device; Scott [0061], the server may pre-process the configuration file to make it compatible with the target device, before downloading of the file to the target device; Scott [0059], the updates can be stored as entries in a database e.g., stored at the server in the form of a line entry identifying a particular client; also, a user can utilize an interface on a client device/unit to update entries).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches wherein the database is formed in the cloud system in the first or second control system or in another memory (Scott [0060], claim 1, the server stores the configuration files in a database).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches
obtaining process data from the first or second control system by the cloud computing unit (Scott [0060], the target device can transmit a download request or identification information to the server, which is evaluated by the server);
evaluating the process data (Scott [0060], the target device can transmit a download request or identification information to the server, which is evaluated by the server); and
outputting input data to the first or second control system, which trigger the at least one system function in the first or second control system (Scott Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], the configuration file can include various types of data e.g., drivers which allow connection/communication; a project identity area which identifies the author, revision, target device and provides other information that facilitates communication/connection with the server, in the context of automating device updates, as noted in Scott [0050]; GUI elements/pages, which perform functions e.g., transmitting a command to an appliance associated with the target device, changing configuration data page etc.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches
obtaining a unique identifier from the first control system by the second control system (Scott [0060], the server receives a MAC address and identification information from a target device);
checking whether a configuration data structure corresponding to the identifier is present in a memory of the second control system (Scott [0060], the server determines and transmits corresponding data in response e.g., a current file version and a representation of the stored configuration file); and
if a configuration data structure corresponding to the identifier is present in the memory, sending the corresponding configuration data structure to the first control system (Scott [0060], the server determines and transmits corresponding data in response e.g., a current file version and a representation of the stored configuration file).
Regarding claim 11, Scott teaches a method for configuring a first control system of an automation system, the method comprising:
receiving by the first control system a first configuration data structure from a cloud computing unit of a cloud system that is separate from the first control system or from a second control system of the automation system (Fig. 19, [0058], server may store configuration data, which may have been provided to it by a controlling device at a site; thus, such configuration data is generated at the server/centralized sharing service i.e., the second control system and/or the cloud computing unit; the server then provides it to controlling devices i.e., the first control system, to update those devices; the above devices and networks are part of and/or help control a system with automation elements e.g., the automatic display of a control GUI, system component and device action management etc.; see Scott [0029, 0032, 0061]; note that the "second control system" could also be understood as a portion of the server/centralized sharing service e.g., the processor and memory therein, which performs the operations of the invention), wherein the first configuration data structure comprises:
a cloud component which provides at least one cloud function with a uniform data structure which is adapted to be carried out on the cloud computing unit (Fig. 14, [0049, 0058-0061, 0035, 0050], claim 6, the configuration file on the server can include various kinds of data e.g., GUI elements/pages, which perform functions e.g., transmitting a command to an appliance, changing configuration data page etc.; [0050, 0058], the file can also include data used for an automated updating function, which is executed in part by the server/centralized sharing service); and
a system component which provides at least one automation system function executable by the first control system (Scott Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], the configuration file can include various types of data e.g., drivers which allow connection/communication; a project identity area which identifies the author, revision, target device and provides other information that facilitates communication/connection with the server, in the context of automating device updates, as noted in [0050]; GUI elements/pages, which perform functions e.g., transmitting a command to an appliance associated with the target device, changing configuration data page etc.);
taking over the system component of the first configuration data structure (Scott Fig. 19, [0058], a device at a site can upload a configuration file to an Internet server; the site device and the server can be considered to part of a “second control system”; the server may deploy the configuration file to a target device, which in turn may control an appliance i.e., “a first control system”; put another way, at least the server and the target device take over or exert control over all components in the configuration file); and
providing a database integrated with the cloud computing unit configured to use entries from the database to add and/or change the at least one system function or to add and/or change the at least one cloud function (Scott [0060], claim 1, the server stores the configuration files in a database; Scott Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], each file can be for adding a GUI element or other feature); and
wherein the at least one automation system function comprise cloud function comprises an analysis of voice commands or comprises enablement of transmission of a corresponding control command in the form of an input data to the first control system (Scott Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], claim 6, the configuration file on the server can include various kinds of data e.g., GUI elements/pages, which perform functions e.g., transmitting a command to an appliance associated with the target device, changing configuration data page etc.).
However, Scott does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one automation system function comprises a programmable logic controller (PLC) program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user initiated commands.
In the same field of endeavor, Rolfes teaches wherein the at least one automation system function comprises a programmable logic controller (PLC) program configured to automatically control the automation system (Rolfes describes a controlling device that controls a conveyor system, where the controlling device can provide a GUI for controlling the conveyor system, and also can provide configuration data e.g., firmware updates, to the conveyor system e.g., see Rolfes Fig. 2, [0018, 0020, 0022, 0040]; the updates/configuration data can be for a PLC e.g., see Rolfes [0018]; Rolfes further teaches that the GUI of the controlling device can provide information regarding connected sensors and actuators e.g., see Rolfes Figs. 4, 6, 8 [0022, 0026, 0030, 0034]; in the view of the Examiner, it would be obvious to modify the configuration data of Scott to include the above features, and to be applied to a conveyor system as described in Rolfes).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the at least one automation system function comprises a programmable logic controller (PLC) program configured to automatically control the automation system as suggested in Rolfes into Scott because Scott and Rolfes pertain to analogous fields of technology. Scott pertains to a system including a server, a controlling device and an appliance/system managed by the controlling device. In Scott, the controlling device may receive configuration data to help the controlling device manage the appliance/system e.g., software relating to drivers, device actions, and a GUI presented at the controlling device; see Scott [0061, 0029, 0050]. Rolfes likewise pertains to a controlling device and an appliance/system managed by the controlling device e.g., a conveyor system. Similar to Scott, the controlling device can present a GUI, and further can use obtained configuration date to update the firmware and/or PLC of the conveyor system. The GUI described in Rolfes can also present data indicating the state/actuation of the conveyor e.g. stopped, running etc., and sensor data. It would be obvious to modify Scott to include the above features of Rolfes; for example, it would be obvious for configuration data at the controlling device, as described in Scott, to include information relating to a PLC, firmware and sensor/actuator GUI elements, as described in Rolfes, and to apply the features of the Rolfes invention to the controlling devices and conveyor systems of Scott. It would be desirable to incorporate these features to Scott so that the invention of Scott could be applied to a wider array of systems e.g., conveyor systems. It should be noted that Scott contemplates applying its features and operations to a wide variety of systems and devices e.g., see Scott [0029, 0061].
However, the combination of Scott and Rolfes does not expressly disclose the PLC program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the PLC program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands ([0276-0277], a network device can be updated using configuration data e.g., a system profile; the system profile/configuration data controls any operation of the network device; the network device can be, for example, a conveyor system; the conveyor system may use sensors; for example, a velocity can detect a problematic change in speed of the conveyor belt; then, the system may automatically adjust the belt speed or shut off the belt to avoid damage to the belt).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the PLC program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands as suggested in Kim into Scott and Rolfes because Scott/Rolfes and Kim pertain to analogous fields of technology. Scott/Rolfes pertains to a conveyor system including a controlling device, which updates the PLC and firmware of the conveyor system; the updates can further relate to actuators and sensors e.g., see Rolfes Fig. 2, [0018, 0020, 0022, 0040]; Rolfes Figs. 4, 6, 8 [0022, 0026, 0030, 0034]. Scott/Rolfes also notes that the updates can relate to an emergency stop operation e.g., see Rolfes [0019]. Kim also pertains to a conveyor system that can be updated based on configuration data. In Kim, the updates can pertain to any operation of the conveyor system e.g., the stop of a conveyor belt in response to sensor data. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Scott/Rolfes so that the updating process of Scott/Rolfes can be applied to a variety of known operations, such as sensor-based actuation operations e.g., see Kim [0276-0277].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 11. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches sending a unique identifier by the first control system to the second control system when the first control system is connected to the automation system (Scott Figs. 19-20, [0060], the server receives a MAC address and identification information from a target device when the target device is connected to the server-based system).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 11. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches storing the cloud component of the first configuration data structure in a memory of the first control system (Scott Fig. 19, [0058], a device at a site can upload a configuration file to an Internet server; the server may deploy the configuration file to a target device, which in turn may control an appliance i.e., “a first control system”; see also Scott Fig. 2, [0030-0031], which describes memory at a target/controlling device)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 11. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches
generating the second configuration data structure based on an existing unique configuration and the cloud component from the first configuration data structure by the first control system (Scott [0060], the target device sends a download request to the server, based on an earlier exchange with the server involving the MAC address of the target device, the configuration file and an MD5 value of all components within the configuration file; the download request is based on and is for the configuration file and all of its components); and
sending the generated second configuration data structure to the cloud computing unit (Scott [0060], the target device sends a download request to the server, based on an earlier exchange with the server involving the MAC address of the target device, the configuration file and an MD5 value of all components within the configuration file; the download request is based on and is for the configuration file and all of its components; see also Scott Figs. 9, 14, [0035, 0039-0050], the PC may start with a configuration file and a GUI component with various elements i.e., a first configuration data structure, then add to the elements i.e., a second configuration data structure, then send the second configuration structure to the server).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 11. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches
generating a generated system component, based on an existing unique configuration, by the first or second control system; and
sending the generated system component to the cloud computing unit,
wherein the receiving of the first configuration data structure is based on the system component (Scott Fig. 19, [0058], a device at a site can upload a configuration file to an Internet server; the site device can be considered to be part of the “first control system”; the server may deploy the configuration file to a target device, which in turn may control an appliance; Scott Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], the configuration file can include various types of data e.g., drivers which allow connection/communication; a project identity area which identifies the author, revision, target device and provides other information that facilitates communication/connection with the server, in the context of automating device updates, as noted in Scott [0050]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 11. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches
sending process data by the first or second control system to the cloud computing unit, wherein the process data are evaluated by the cloud computing unit (Scott [0060], the target device can transmit a download request or identification information to the server, which is evaluated by the server); and
obtaining input data from the cloud computing unit after evaluating the process data, wherein the input data trigger at least one system function in the first or second control system (Scott Fig. 14, [0049, 0058, 0035, 0061, 0050], the configuration file can include various types of data e.g., drivers which allow connection/communication; a project identity area which identifies the author, revision, target device and provides other information that facilitates communication/connection with the server, in the context of automating device updates, as noted in [0050]; GUI elements/pages, which perform functions e.g., transmitting a command to an appliance associated with the target device, changing configuration data page etc.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Claim 17 also corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches a cloud computing unit configured to carry out the method according to claim 1 (Scott Fig. 19, Abstract, [0058] teaches a server or a server-based system/unit).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Claim 18 also corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches a control system configured to carry out the method according to claim 1 (Scott Fig. 19, Abstract, [0058] teaches a server or a server-based system/unit).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Claim 19 also corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches a computer-implemented system program comprises, the system comprising a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to carry out the method according to claim 1 (Scott Fig. 19. [0058-0060] describes a server and various connected devices; each device inherently has a processor, memory and program instructions to perform the described operations).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 17. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches a configuration data structure of an automation system, the system comprising a configuration data structure; at least one processor and a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions stored therein, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (Scott Fig. 19. [0058-0060] describes a server and various connected devices; each device inherently has a processor, memory and program instructions to perform the described operations; Scott Fig. 14, 19, Abstract, [0058] describes various configuration files and components; see also remarks relating to claim 1).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Scott, Rolfes and Kim also teaches obtaining a second
configuration data structure, generated by the first control system, by the cloud computing
unit from the first control system (Scott [0060], the target device sends various types of data/data structures to the server; for example, the target device may transmit identification data e.g., a MAC address together with installer ID).
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant's amendments to claims 1 and 11.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant alleges that the cited prior art does not teach the amended limitation of “…wherein the at least one automation system function comprises a programmable logic controller (PLC) program configured to automatically control the automation system based on sensor data received from connected sensors and to actuate connected actuators without requiring user-initiated commands, information about connected sensors/actuators, and information regarding a specific firmware version …"
Examiner has therefore rejected claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott, Rolfes and Kim. Some of Applicant's remarks are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. For example, new reference Kim teaches that it is known to update a device e.g., a conveyor system, using configuration data e.g., a profile. The update can relate to any operations of the conveyor system including, for example, actuation of a conveyor belt based on sensor data e.g., see Kim [0276-0277].
Applicant further alleges that the combination of Scott and Rolfes is not proper, in part because "Scott provides no teaching or suggestion to incorporate PLC-based automatic logic, sensor-driven control or autonomous execution into its remote control framework." (see page 12 of the reply). Examiner respectfully submits that even if this were true, such explicit teachings are not required to provide a basis for the combination of the Scott and Rolfes references. To provide such a basis, the Examiner need only show, for example, the use of a known technique to improve similar devices or methods in the same way. Alternatively, the Examiner can show that it would be obvious to substitute an element in a primary reference with a similar element in a secondary reference to obtain predictable results (See MPEP 2143). In many respects, the systems described in Scott and Rolfes are similar. Scott broadly relates to a method for updating a control system e.g., a controlling device for managing a target device/appliance using a server and configuration data. (For example, see claims 1-5 and 9). Rolfes also relates to a method involving a controlling device that provides updates to a target device/system using configuration data. In Rolfes, the configuration data can be used to update a PLC program of a conveyor system e.g., see Rolfes Fig. 2, [0018, 0020, 0022, 0040] and Rolfes Figs. 4, 6, 8 [0022, 0026, 0030, 0034]. In the view of the Examiner and given the above similarities, it would be obvious to modify Scott based on an improvement or substitution rationale; that is, Scott teaches a system for updating a device, as does Rolfes, and it would be obvious to modify the updating process of Scott to be applied to a conveyor device using a PLC program, as taught in Rolfes.
Applicant further alleges that claim 11 is allowable in view of its similarity to claim 1. Claim 11 is rejected for largely the same reasons as discussed above in connection with claim 1.
Applicant further alleges that claims 2-7, 9, 10 and 12-21 are allowable in view of their dependency on claims 1 and 11. Claims 2-7, 9, 10 and 12-21 are likewise rejected as being taught by Scott, Rolfes and Kim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ketterle (US 2019/0346824) teaches a system for automated configuration of an industrial controller unit using a server system e.g., see Kettlerle Abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118