Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 8/19/2025. Claims 1-8, 11-18 are pending. Claims 3, 4, 11-18 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention, in accordance with 37 CFR 1.142(b). Applicant’s arguments have been considered. Claims 1, 2, 5-8 are non-finally rejected for reasons below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2019/0148775) in view of Kim (US 2016/0028115) and Ji (US 2019/0181502).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an energy storage device comprising:
a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode is a Si-based electrode [0138];
a separator between the first electrode and the second electrode; and
an electrolyte composition; wherein said electrolyte composition comprises:
at least one carbonate solvent,
at least one further solvent as a co-solvent, wherein said co-solvent is selected from the group consisting of a carbonate solvent, a fluorinated aromatic compound solvent, an aromatic compound solvent, a fluorinated ester solvent, a fluorinated ether solvent, a fluorinated phosphorous-containing compound solvent and a fluorinated sulfur-containing compound solvent;
at least one Li salt; and
at least one electrolyte additive compound.
Regarding claim 2, the second electrode is a Si- dominant electrode [0138].
Regarding claim 5, the carbonate solvent is one or more of cyclic carbonates, linear carbonates, fluorine-containing cyclic carbonates and/or fluorine-containing linear carbonates.
Regarding claim 7, the carbonate solvent is ethylene carbonate (EC) [0133].
Regarding claim 8, said co-solvent is 1,1,2,2- tetrafluoroethyl 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE) [0133].
Regarding claim 1, Zhang does not disclose the electrolyte additive as claimed. Kim teaches a non-aqueous battery comprising an electrolyte solution having a non-aqueous organic solvent, an imide-based lithium salt, and an additive lithium difluoro bis(oxalate)phosphate (LiDFOP) [0010]. The electrolyte solution additive may improve output characteristics at high and low temperatures and may prevent a swelling phenomenon by suppressing the decomposition of PF6− on the surface of a cathode, which may occur during a high-temperature cycle of a lithium secondary battery including the electrolyte solution additive, and preventing an oxidation reaction of an electrolyte solution [0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add an additive, such as lithium difluoro bis(oxalate)phosphate (LiDFOP), to the electrolyte of Zhang, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of improving output characteristics at high and low temperatures, and prevent swelling.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a Si-based anode, but does not disclose wherein said Si-based electrode comprises silicon particles having an average largest dimension between about 0.5 um and about 25 um. Ji teaches a lithium rechargeable battery comprising several types of silicon materials, e.g., silicon nanopowders, silicon nanofibers, porous silicon, and ball-milled silicon, have also been reported as viable candidates as active materials for the negative or positive electrodes. Small particle sizes (for example, sizes in the nanometer range) generally can increase cycle life performance. They also can display very high initial irreversible capacity. However, small particle sizes also can result in very low volumetric energy density (for example, for the overall cell stack) due to the difficulty of packing the active material. Larger particle sizes, (for example, sizes in the micron range) generally can result in higher density anode material. However, the expansion of the silicon active material can result in poor cycle life due to particle cracking. For example, silicon can swell in excess of 300% upon lithium insertion. Because of this expansion, anodes including silicon should be allowed to expand while maintaining electrical contact between the silicon particles [0041]. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to use silicon particles and adjust the particle sizes, as taught by Ji, for the benefit of optimizing their capacity and energy density, as well as to prevent particle cracking.
Claims 1, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over O’Neill (Us 2015/0214577) in view of Kim (US 2016/0028115) and Ji (US 2019/0181502).
Regarding claim 1, an energy storage device comprising:
a first electrode and a second electrode,
a separator between the first electrode and the second electrode; and
an electrolyte composition; wherein said electrolyte composition comprises:
at least one carbonate solvent,
at least one further solvent as a co-solvent, wherein said co-solvent is selected from the group consisting of a carbonate solvent, a fluorinated aromatic compound solvent, an aromatic compound solvent, a fluorinated ester solvent, a fluorinated ether solvent, a fluorinated phosphorous-containing compound solvent and a fluorinated sulfur-containing compound solvent;
at least one Li salt; and
at least one electrolyte additive compound.
Regarding claim 6, said electrolyte composition comprises at least two further solvents as co-solvents, wherein said further solvents are selected from the group consisting of one or more carbonate solvents, fluorinated aromatic compound solvents, aromatic compound solvents, fluorinated ester solvents, fluorinated ether solvents, fluorinated phosphorous-containing compound solvents and/or fluorinated sulfur-containing compound solvents. Refer to Table 1, Example 27.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang does not disclose the electrolyte additive as claimed. Kim teaches a non-aqueous battery comprising an electrolyte solution having a non-aqueous organic solvent, an imide-based lithium salt, and an additive lithium difluoro bis(oxalate)phosphate (LiDFOP) [0010]. The electrolyte solution additive may improve output characteristics at high and low temperatures and may prevent a swelling phenomenon by suppressing the decomposition of PF6− on the surface of a cathode, which may occur during a high-temperature cycle of a lithium secondary battery including the electrolyte solution additive, and preventing an oxidation reaction of an electrolyte solution [0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add an additive, such as lithium difluoro bis(oxalate)phosphate (LiDFOP), to the electrolyte of Zhang, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of improving output characteristics at high and low temperatures, and prevent swelling.
Regarding claim 1, O’Neill discloses a carbon anode, but does not disclose wherein at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode is a Si-based electrode, wherein said Si-based electrode comprises silicon particles having an average largest dimension between about 0.5 um and about 25 um. Ji teaches a lithium rechargeable battery comprising several types of silicon materials, e.g., silicon nanopowders, silicon nanofibers, porous silicon, and ball-milled silicon, have also been reported as viable candidates as active materials for the negative or positive electrodes. Small particle sizes (for example, sizes in the nanometer range) generally can increase cycle life performance. They also can display very high initial irreversible capacity. However, small particle sizes also can result in very low volumetric energy density (for example, for the overall cell stack) due to the difficulty of packing the active material. Larger particle sizes, (for example, sizes in the micron range) generally can result in higher density anode material. However, the expansion of the silicon active material can result in poor cycle life due to particle cracking. For example, silicon can swell in excess of 300% upon lithium insertion. Because of this expansion, anodes including silicon should be allowed to expand while maintaining electrical contact between the silicon particles [0041]. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to use silicon particles as O’Neill’s anode active material instead of carbon, and to adjust their particle sizes, as taught by Ji, for the benefit of optimizing their capacity and energy density, as well as to prevent particle cracking.
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 8/19/2025 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751