DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed October 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 7, 18, 31, 38, 40, 41, and 43 have been amended.
Claim 33 is cancelled as previously indicated.
Claim 45 has been newly added.
Claims 1-32 and 34-45 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 18-25, 27-32, and 35-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinier et al. (hereinafter Marinier) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0145079 A1) in view of Yue et al. (hereinafter Yue) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0006696 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Marinier teaches and discloses a device (UE/WTRU, figures 4 and 7E) for communicating in a wireless communication network, the device comprising an antenna arrangement (antennas, figures 2 and 4), the device being configured for beamforming a plurality of transmit beam patterns using the antenna arrangement ([0029]; [0030]; teaches beamforming a plurality of transmit beams using the antenna arrangement); wherein the device is configured for
receiving a wireless signal and for determining a corresponding beam pattern that corresponds to the wireless signal ([0061]; [0097]; “…a UE 402 may determine a correspondence between a beam used for transmission (a transmit beam or uplink beam) and a beam used for reception (a receive beam or downlink beam), for at least one pair of a transmit beam and a receive beam…”; [0106]; [0108]; teaches receiving a wireless signal and determining a corresponding beam pattern);
selecting transmit beam patterns and for forming the transmit beam patterns ([0106]; [0108]; “…Transmit beam-specific reference signal, e.g., SRS using uplink beam sweeping based on a set of uplink transmit beams…”; teaches selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern); and
receiving a response information that indicates at least one transmit beam pattern; wherein the device is configured for using the indicated transmit beam pattern ([0106]; [0108]; [0109]; “…Monitor downlink control information in all receive beams corresponding to uplink transmit beams, where downlink control information may include the best uplink transmit beam identity e.g., beam index or SRS resource indication (SRI)…”; teaches receiving a response, such as a DCI, that indicates the uplink transmit beam pattern and using the indicated uplink transmit beam pattern).
However, Marinier may not explicitly disclose selecting a subset from the plurality of transmit beam patterns, the subset comprising the corresponding beam pattern and a further transmit beam pattern; and for forming the selected subset (although Marinier does teach and suggest “…a UE may be configured to use a beam within a beam process configuration (a current beam)…and perform measurements using that beam along with a subset of other beams (possibly beams within a beam group as defined later)…”; [0163]).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue teaches and suggests selecting a subset from the plurality of transmit beam patterns (first subset of beam patterns; [0035]), the subset comprising the corresponding beam pattern and a further transmit beam pattern; and for forming the selected subset ([0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 2, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for using the indicated transmit beam pattern as corresponding beam pattern; and/or to adapt information indicating correspondence information that indicates associated transmission beam pattern ([0106]; [0108]; [0109]; “…Monitor downlink control information in all receive beams corresponding to uplink transmit beams, where downlink control information may include the best uplink transmit beam identity e.g., beam index or SRS resource indication (SRI)…”; teaches the UE is configured for using the indicated uplink transmit beam pattern).
Regarding claim 3, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device (UE/WTRU, figure 7E) comprises a memory (memory, figure 7E) having stored thereon correspondence information associating each of the plurality of transmit beam patterns with an associated reception beam pattern for receiving the wireless signal; wherein the device is configured for updating the correspondence information based on the response information so as to associate a different transmit beam pattern to the reception beam pattern ([0049]; [0102]; [0107]; teaches storing and updating the correspondence information associated with the transmit beams).
Regarding claim 4, Marinier discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern and first mode responsive to the wireless signal, the corresponding beam pattern whilst not to form other beam patterns, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for receiving a request signal indicating a request to form the subset, for switching into a second mode based on the request signal and for forming the subset in the second mode.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for receiving a request signal indicating a request to form the subset, for switching into a second mode (training mode; [0023]) based on the request signal and for forming the subset in the second mode ([0023]; [0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches a mode for training and forming subset from the beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a mode for training and forming subset from the beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 6, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured to select the subset so as to exclude at least one transmit beam pattern from the plurality of transmit beam patterns from the subset based on an operational parameter of the device or on demand based on a received command signal or trigger signal ([0055]; [0209]; [0249]; teaches excluding at least one transmit beam pattern based on operational parameters).
Regarding claim 18, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset based on a preconfigured codebook/state/alphabet/LUT/register/list associating the corresponding beam pattern with at least one additional beam pattern of the plurality of beam patterns ([0102]; [0105]; teaches selecting the beam correspondence based on a state associated with the beam sweeping pattern).
Regarding claim 19, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the codebook/state/alphabet/LUT/register/list associates the corresponding beam pattern with a number of beam patterns summing up together with the corresponding beam pattern to a predefined number of beam patterns, M ([0102]; [0105]; teaches selecting the beam correspondence based on a state associated with a number or set of beams).
Regarding claim 20, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for forming the subset whilst performing a localized beam sweeping ([0108]; [0268]; [0270]; teaches forming the beam set while performing beam sweeping).
Regarding claim 21, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for updating a lookup table indicating the plurality of transmit beam patterns based on user interaction information indicating a use of the device by a user ([0203]; [0204]; [0205]; teaches updating a table based on user information).
Regarding claim 22, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for updating a parameter setting relevant for an algorithm to determine the plurality of transmit beam patterns based on user interaction information indicating a use of the device by a user ([0203]; [0204]; [0205]; teaches updating a table based on user information).
Regarding claim 23, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the corresponding beam pattern based on a metric comparing the wireless signal with a plurality of predetermined values ([0106]; [0249]; [0268]; teaches selecting a corresponding beam sweeping pattern based on signal parameters and characteristics).
Regarding claim 24, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests a multitude of antenna arrangements or antenna panels to be used for transmission and/or reception ([0102]; [0133]; teaches an antenna panels to be used for transmission and reception).
Regarding claim 25, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the subset comprises the corresponding beam pattern and at least one additional beam pattern ([0106]; [0108]; [0109]; “…Monitor downlink control information in all receive beams corresponding to uplink transmit beams, where downlink control information may include the best uplink transmit beam identity e.g., beam index or SRS resource indication (SRI)…”; teaches the UE is configured for using the indicated uplink transmit beam pattern).
Regarding claim 27, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for labeling or identifying each transmit beam pattern of the subset individually ([0102]; teaches identifying each beam of the beam sweeping pattern).
Regarding claim 28, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for receiving response information (SRS) that indicates at least two transmit beam patterns from the subset of transmit beam patterns, wherein the device is configured for selecting one of the transmit beam patterns indicated in the response information as a transmit beam pattern for establishing a link ([0106]; [0108]; [0109]; teaches the UE is configured for receiving an SRS that indicates the uplink transmit beam pattern).
Regarding claim 29, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for receiving the wireless signal responsive to an attempt of the device to establish a connection; or by an event initiated by the wireless network ([0106]; [0108]; [0109]; teaches the UE is configured for receiving an SRS that indicates the uplink transmit beam pattern for establishing a connection).
Regarding claim 30, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) and for providing the subset so as to comprise at least pairs of simultaneously formed transmit beam patterns; and to receive response information that indicates at least one of the at least pairs ([0277]; [0311]; teaches the UE/WTRU is configured for MIMO).
Regarding claim 31, Marinier teaches and discloses a device (TRP/base station, figures 4 and 7F) configured for transmitting a stimulating signal (triggering signal) towards a transceiving device (UE/WTRU, figures 4 and 7E); receiving a plurality of transmit beam patterns from the transceiving device ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may first transmit a sequence of beam-specific reference signals (e.g., SRS) for at least one beam (e.g., a beam sweep). Such transmissions may be triggered by signaling from the network at physical or higher layers…”; teaches the TRP/base station transmits a triggering signal toward a UE/WTRU and receiving a plurality of transmit beam sweeping patterns);
selecting a corresponding beam pattern from the plurality of transmit beam patterns; and sending response information to the transceiving device, the response information indicating the corresponding beam pattern ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may subsequently receive an indication of a transmit beam, for example using an SRS indicator, along with an indication of a CSI-RS (or CSI-RS indicator) corresponding to a certain downlink transmit beam…”; teaches the selecting a beam correspondence and sending a response to the UE/TRP indicating the corresponding transmit beam sweeping patterns);
wherein the device is further configured for receiving, responsive to the stimulating signal, a first transmit beam pattern ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may first transmit a sequence of beam-specific reference signals (e.g., SRS) for at least one beam (e.g., a beam sweep). Such transmissions may be triggered by signaling from the network at physical or higher layers…”; teaches the TRP/base station transmits a triggering signal toward a UE/WTRU and receiving a plurality of transmit beam sweeping patterns).
However, Marinier may not explicitly disclose transmitting a request signal to the transceiving device, the request signal indicating a request to the transceiving device to form the plurality of transmit beam patterns; and for receiving the plurality of transmit beam patterns responsive to the request signal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue teaches and suggests transmitting a request signal (feedback signal) to the transceiving device, the request signal indicating a request to the transceiving device to form the plurality of transmit beam patterns; and for receiving the plurality of transmit beam patterns responsive to the request signal ([0023]; [0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 32, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and discloses wherein the device is configured for selecting the corresponding beam pattern based on received signal powers from each of the transmit beam patterns of the plurality of transmit beam patterns pattern ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may subsequently receive an indication of a transmit beam, for example using an SRS indicator, along with an indication of a CSI-RS (or CSI-RS indicator) corresponding to a certain downlink transmit beam…”; [0137]; [0234]; teaches the selecting a beam correspondence and the corresponding transmit beam sweeping patterns based on the received power).
Regarding claim 35, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and discloses wherein the device is configured for transmitting the response information so as to indicate at least two transmit beam patterns ([0106]; [0108]; [0109]; “…Monitor downlink control information in all receive beams corresponding to uplink transmit beams, where downlink control information may include the best uplink transmit beam identity e.g., beam index or SRS resource indication (SRI)…”; [0120]; teaches receiving a response, such as a DCI, that indicates the uplink transmit beam pattern and using the indicated uplink transmit beam pattern which includes at least two transmit beam patterns).
Regarding claim 36, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and discloses wherein the device is configured for autonomously sending the stimulating signal ([0055]; [0120]; teaches the triggering signal is sent autonomously).
Regarding claim 37, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and discloses wherein the device is configured for Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) and for receiving the subset so as to comprise at least pairs of transmit beam patterns; and to transmit response information that indicates at least one of the at least pairs ([0277]; [0311]; teaches the UE/WTRU is configured for MIMO).
Regarding claim 38, Marinier teaches and discloses a system (figure 4) comprising: at least one first device (UE/WTRU, figures 4 and 7E) for communicating in a wireless communication network, the device comprising an antenna arrangement (antennas, figures 2 and 4), the first device being configured for beamforming a plurality of transmit beam patterns using the antenna arrangement ([0029]; [0030]; teaches beamforming a plurality of transmit beams using the antenna arrangement); wherein the device is configured for receiving a wireless signal and for determining a corresponding beam pattern that corresponds to the wireless signal ([0061]; [0097]; “…a UE 402 may determine a correspondence between a beam used for transmission (a transmit beam or uplink beam) and a beam used for reception (a receive beam or downlink beam), for at least one pair of a transmit beam and a receive beam…”; [0106]; [0108]; teaches receiving a wireless signal and determining a corresponding beam pattern); selecting transmit beam patterns and for forming the transmit beam patterns ([0106]; [0108]; “…Transmit beam-specific reference signal, e.g., SRS using uplink beam sweeping based on a set of uplink transmit beams…”; teaches selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern); and
receiving a response information that indicates at least one transmit beam pattern; wherein the device is configured for using the indicated transmit beam pattern ([0106]; [0108]; [0109]; “…Monitor downlink control information in all receive beams corresponding to uplink transmit beams, where downlink control information may include the best uplink transmit beam identity e.g., beam index or SRS resource indication (SRI)…”; teaches receiving a response, such as a DCI, that indicates the uplink transmit beam pattern and using the indicated uplink transmit beam pattern); and
at least one second device (TRP/base station, figures 4 and 7F) configured for transmitting a stimulating signal (triggering signal) towards a transceiving device (UE/WTRU, figures 4 and 7E); receiving a plurality of transmit beam patterns from the transceiving device ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may first transmit a sequence of beam-specific reference signals (e.g., SRS) for at least one beam (e.g., a beam sweep). Such transmissions may be triggered by signaling from the network at physical or higher layers…”; teaches the TRP/base station transmits a triggering signal toward a UE/WTRU and receiving a plurality of transmit beam sweeping patterns); selecting a corresponding beam pattern from the plurality of transmit beam patterns; and sending response information to the transceiving device, the response information indicating the corresponding beam pattern ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may subsequently receive an indication of a transmit beam, for example using an SRS indicator, along with an indication of a CSI-RS (or CSI-RS indicator) corresponding to a certain downlink transmit beam…”; teaches the selecting a beam correspondence and sending a response to the UE/TRP indicating the corresponding transmit beam sweeping patterns).
However, Marinier may not explicitly disclose selecting a subset from the plurality of transmit beam patterns, the subset comprising the corresponding beam pattern and a further transmit beam pattern; and for forming the selected subset (although Marinier does teach and suggest “…a UE may be configured to use a beam within a beam process configuration (a current beam)…and perform measurements using that beam along with a subset of other beams (possibly beams within a beam group as defined later)…”; [0163]).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue teaches and suggests selecting a subset from the plurality of transmit beam patterns (first subset of beam patterns; [0035]), the subset comprising the corresponding beam pattern and a further transmit beam pattern; and for forming the selected subset ([0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 39, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and suggests wherein the system is a measurement environment or a wireless communication network or a wireless communication system ([0050]; figure 4; teaches the system is a wireless communication system).
Regarding claim 40, Marinier teaches and discloses a method for operating a device (UE/WTRU, figures 4 and 7E) comprising an antenna arrangement (antennas, figures 2 and 4), the device being configured for beamforming a plurality of transmit beam patterns using the antenna arrangement ([0029]; [0030]; teaches beamforming a plurality of transmit beams using the antenna arrangement), the method comprising:
receiving a wireless signal and determining a corresponding beam pattern that corresponds to the wireless signal ([0061]; [0097]; “…a UE 402 may determine a correspondence between a beam used for transmission (a transmit beam or uplink beam) and a beam used for reception (a receive beam or downlink beam), for at least one pair of a transmit beam and a receive beam…”; [0106]; [0108]; teaches receiving a wireless signal and determining a corresponding beam pattern);
selecting transmit beam patterns and for forming the transmit beam patterns ([0106]; [0108]; “…Transmit beam-specific reference signal, e.g., SRS using uplink beam sweeping based on a set of uplink transmit beams…”; teaches selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern); and
receiving a response information that indicates at least one transmit beam pattern of the selected subset ([0106]; [0108]; [0109]; “…Monitor downlink control information in all receive beams corresponding to uplink transmit beams, where downlink control information may include the best uplink transmit beam identity e.g., beam index or SRS resource indication (SRI)…”; teaches receiving a response, such as a DCI, that indicates the uplink transmit beam pattern and using the indicated uplink transmit beam pattern); and
using the indicated transmit beam pattern ([0106]; [0108]; [0109]; “…Monitor downlink control information in all receive beams corresponding to uplink transmit beams, where downlink control information may include the best uplink transmit beam identity e.g., beam index or SRS resource indication (SRI)…”; teaches the UE is configured for using the indicated uplink transmit beam pattern).
However, Marinier may not explicitly disclose selecting a subset from the plurality of transmit beam patterns, the subset comprising the corresponding beam pattern and a further transmit beam pattern; and for forming the selected subset (although Marinier does teach and suggest “…a UE may be configured to use a beam within a beam process configuration (a current beam)…and perform measurements using that beam along with a subset of other beams (possibly beams within a beam group as defined later)…”; [0163]).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue teaches and suggests selecting a subset from the plurality of transmit beam patterns (first subset of beam patterns; [0035]), the subset comprising the corresponding beam pattern and a further transmit beam pattern; and for forming the selected subset ([0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 41, Marinier teaches and discloses a method for testing or updating a device (TRP/base station, figures 4 and 7F) comprising an antenna arrangement (inherent component of the TRP/base station, figure 7F), the method comprising:
using an antenna of a stimulating device (UE/WTRU, figures 4 and 7E) for sending a stimulus signal (triggering signal) to the device along a reception direction so as to stimulate the device to establish a link with the stimulating device being a source of the stimulus signal; using an interface for receiving, from the device, a plurality of transmit beam patterns comprising a corresponding beam pattern corresponding to the stimulus signal and a further transmit beam pattern ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may first transmit a sequence of beam-specific reference signals (e.g., SRS) for at least one beam (e.g., a beam sweep). Such transmissions may be triggered by signaling from the network at physical or higher layers…”; teaches the TRP/base station transmits a triggering signal toward a UE/WTRU and receiving a plurality of transmit beam sweeping patterns);
using an antenna for transmitting, to the device, information indicating the selected at least one transmit beam pattern ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may subsequently receive an indication of a transmit beam, for example using an SRS indicator, along with an indication of a CSI-RS (or CSI-RS indicator) corresponding to a certain downlink transmit beam…”; teaches the selecting a beam correspondence and sending a response to the UE/TRP indicating the corresponding transmit beam sweeping patterns); and
updating information of a memory of the device based on the information indicating the at least one selected transmit beam pattern ([0102]; [0107]; teaches updating the based the beam correspondence and the corresponding transmit beam sweeping patterns).
However, Marinier may not explicitly disclose selecting at least one of the plurality of transmit beam patterns, the plurality comprising a corresponding transmit beam pattern being selected by the device as transmit beam pattern corresponding to the stimulus signal (although Marinier does teach and suggest “…a UE may be configured to use a beam within a beam process configuration (a current beam)…and perform measurements using that beam along with a subset of other beams (possibly beams within a beam group as defined later)…”; [0163]).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue teaches and suggests selecting at least one of the plurality of transmit beam patterns (first subset of beam patterns; [0035]), the plurality comprising a corresponding transmit beam pattern being selected by the device as transmit beam pattern corresponding to the stimulus signal ([0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 42, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and discloses wherein the transmitting of the information indicating the selected at least one transmit beam pattern comprises referring to a beam-ID or SRS associated with the transmit beam pattern ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may subsequently receive an indication of a transmit beam, for example using an SRS indicator, along with an indication of a CSI-RS (or CSI-RS indicator) corresponding to a certain downlink transmit beam…”; teaches the selecting a beam correspondence and sending a response to the UE/TRP indicating the corresponding transmit beam sweeping patterns including SRS associated with the transmit beam sweeping pattern).
Regarding claim 43, Marinier teaches and discloses a method for testing or updating a device (TRP/base station, figures 4 and 7F) comprising an antenna arrangement (inherent component of the TRP/base station, figure 7F), the method comprising:
using an antenna of a stimulating device (UE/WTRU, figures 4 and 7E) for sending a stimulus signal (triggering signal) to the device along a reception direction so as to stimulate the device to establish a link with the stimulating device being a source of the stimulus signal; using an interface for receiving, from the device, a transmit beam pattern ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may first transmit a sequence of beam-specific reference signals (e.g., SRS) for at least one beam (e.g., a beam sweep). Such transmissions may be triggered by signaling from the network at physical or higher layers…”; teaches the TRP/base station transmits a triggering signal toward a UE/WTRU and receiving a plurality of transmit beam sweeping patterns); using a signal to report, to the device, a quality measure of the transmit beam pattern; and measuring the subset of beam patterns to evaluate the device ([0099]; “…a beam correspondence may be pre-determined for at least a subset of all transmit and receive beams according to a mapping stored in memory. A mapping may be performed as part of a calibration or testing procedure…”; [0120]; “…A UE 402 may subsequently receive an indication of a transmit beam, for example using an SRS indicator, along with an indication of a CSI-RS (or CSI-RS indicator) corresponding to a certain downlink transmit beam…”; teaches the selecting a beam correspondence and sending a response to the UE/TRP indicating the corresponding transmit beam sweeping patterns).
However, Marinier may not explicitly disclose selecting an area to be covered with during the testing and selecting a subset of beam patterns formable with the device so as to illuminate the area (although Marinier does teach and suggest “…a UE may be configured to use a beam within a beam process configuration (a current beam)…and perform measurements using that beam along with a subset of other beams (possibly beams within a beam group as defined later)…”; [0163]).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue teaches and suggests selecting an area to be covered with during the testing and selecting a subset of beam patterns formable with the device so as to illuminate the area ([0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 44, Marinier, as modified by Yue, further teaches and discloses wherein the selection of the area is determined from a measurement of the stimulus signal ([0120]; “…A UE 402 may first transmit a sequence of beam-specific reference signals (e.g., SRS) for at least one beam (e.g., a beam sweep). Such transmissions may be triggered by signaling from the network at physical or higher layers…”; teaches the TRP/base station transmits a triggering signal toward a UE/WTRU and receiving a plurality of transmit beam sweeping patterns).
Regarding claim 45, Marinier discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern and first mode responsive to the wireless signal, the corresponding beam pattern whilst not to form other beam patterns, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the subset is a strict subset of the plurality of transmit beam patterns.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue teaches and suggests wherein the subset is a strict subset of the plurality of transmit beam patterns ([0023]; [0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Claims 5 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinier et al. (hereinafter Marinier) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0145079 A1) in view of Yue et al. (hereinafter Yue) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0006696 A1), and further in view of NAGARAJA et al. (hereinafter Nagaraja) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0249453 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern and a location of a covering a region/zone or area of the transmit beam pattern with respect to the source of the wireless signal, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset as a number of transmit beam patterns that comprise at least one of: a transmission power towards or in the direction of a source of the wireless signal being above a threshold value.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Nagaraja further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset as a number of transmit beam patterns that comprise at least one of: a transmission power towards or in the direction of a source of the wireless signal being above a threshold value ([0167]; [0177]; teaches selecting beam sweeping based on a transmission power being above a threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting beam sweeping based on a transmission power being above a threshold as taught by Nagaraja with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of improving multi-beam operations by restricting beams, as suggested by Nagaraja.
Regarding claim 26, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the subset comprises the corresponding beam pattern and at least one additional beam pattern, wherein the additional beam pattern provides signal power towards a source of the stimulus signal above a threshold and/or within a tolerance range.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Nagaraja further teaches and suggests wherein the subset comprises the corresponding beam pattern and at least one additional beam pattern, wherein the additional beam pattern provides signal power towards a source of the stimulus signal above a threshold and/or within a tolerance range ([0167]; [0177]; teaches the beam correspondence and additional beams that provide a transmission power being above a threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the beam correspondence and additional beams that provide a transmission power being above a threshold as taught by Nagaraja with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of improving multi-beam operations by restricting beams, as suggested by Nagaraja.
Claims 7-17 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinier et al. (hereinafter Marinier) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0145079 A1) in view of Yue et al. (hereinafter Yue) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0006696 A1), and further in view of Hakola et al. (hereinafter Hakola) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0344385 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset so as to comprise a predefined number of beam patterns, and such that the beam patterns of the subset are correlated to each other by a local variance of the main directions of their beam patterns.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Hakola teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset so as to comprise a predefined number of beam patterns, and such that the beam patterns of the subset are correlated to each other by a local variance of the main directions of their beam patterns ([0036]; [0037]; [0040]; teaches selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sending information representing ranked indicator regarding beamforming as taught by Hakola with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of performing beamforming training, as suggested by Hakola.
Regarding claim 8, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset such that the predefined number of beam patterns locally covers an area around the corresponding beam pattern.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Hakola teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset such that the predefined number of beam patterns locally covers an area around the corresponding beam pattern ([0036]; [0037]; [0040]; [0063]; teaches selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that locally cover the area corresponding to the beam pattern; figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that locally cover the area corresponding to the beam pattern as taught by Hakola with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue and Hakola, for the purpose of performing beamforming training, as suggested by Hakola.
Regarding claim 9, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset such that the predefined number of beam patterns has a maximum density around the corresponding beam pattern.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Hakola teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset such that the predefined number of beam patterns has a maximum density around the corresponding beam pattern ([0036]; [0037]; [0040]; [0063]; teaches selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that has a maximum density around the area corresponding to the beam pattern; figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that has a maximum density around the area corresponding to the beam pattern as taught by Hakola with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue and Hakola, for the purpose of performing beamforming training, as suggested by Hakola.
Regarding claim 10, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset such that the predefined number of beam patterns are spread in a spreading area being at least a part of a sphere comprising an area illuminated by the corresponding beam pattern.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Hakola teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset such that the predefined number of beam patterns are spread in a spreading area being at least a part of a sphere comprising an area illuminated by the corresponding beam pattern ([0036]; [0037]; [0040]; [0063]; teaches selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that is spread in an area at least in part of a sphere; figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that is spread in an area at least in part of a sphere as taught by Hakola with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue and Hakola, for the purpose of performing beamforming training, as suggested by Hakola.
Regarding claim 11, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset such that the predefined number is, within the capabilities of the device, uniformly distributed with the spreading area.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Hakola teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset such that the predefined number is, within the capabilities of the device, uniformly distributed with the spreading area ([0036]; [0037]; [0040]; [0063]; teaches selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that is uniformly within the spreading area of the area corresponding to the beam pattern; figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that is uniformly within the spreading area of the area corresponding to the beam pattern as taught by Hakola with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue and Hakola, for the purpose of performing beamforming training, as suggested by Hakola.
Regarding claim 12, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset so as to comprise exactly the predefined number of beam patterns, the predefined number being advantageously 8.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Hakola teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset so as to comprise exactly the predefined number of beam patterns, the predefined number being advantageously 8 ([0063]; [0071]; teaches a predetermined number of beams being 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sending information representing ranked indicator regarding beamforming as taught by Hakola with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue and Hakola, for the purpose of performing beamforming training, as suggested by Hakola.
Regarding claim 13, Marinier discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for signaling information indicating that a number of selected beam patterns considered as candidates for the subset exceeds the predefined number.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for signaling information indicating that a number of selected beam patterns considered as candidates for the subset exceeds the predefined number ([0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches a number of selected subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as candidate beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a number of selected subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as candidate beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 14, Marinier discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the subset is a first subset, wherein the device is configured for receiving, responsive to signaling the information indicating that a number of selected beam patterns considered as candidates for the subset exceeds the predefined number, a signal indicating a request to form at least a second subset and for selecting and forming at least the second subset comprising at least one different beam pattern when compared to the first set of beam patterns.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue further teaches and suggests wherein the subset is a first subset, wherein the device is configured for receiving, responsive to signaling the information indicating that a number of selected beam patterns (first subset of beam patterns; [0035]) considered as candidates for the subset exceeds the predefined number, a signal indicating a request to form at least a second subset and for selecting and forming at least the second subset comprising at least one different beam pattern when compared to the first set of beam patterns ([0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 15, Marinier discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for selecting the second subset such that beam patterns of the first and second subset cover at least partially a different area of a sphere around the device.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue further teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting the second subset such that beam patterns of the first and second subset cover at least partially a different area of a sphere around the device ([0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 16, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured for selecting subsequent subsets, each subset comprised of a maximum of beam patterns.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Hakola teaches and suggests wherein the device is configured for selecting subsequent subsets, each subset comprised of a maximum of beam patterns ([0036]; [0037]; [0040]; [0071]; teaches selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that is a maximum of the number of beams; figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset comprising a specific number of beam patterns that is a maximum of the number of beams as taught by Hakola with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of performing beamforming training, as suggested by Hakola.
Regarding claim 17, Marinier discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the beam patterns in each subset differ compared to the beam patterns in the previously selected subsets.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yue further teaches and suggests wherein the beam patterns in each subset differ compared to the beam patterns in the previously selected subsets ([0035]; “…identifies for itself the set of unique beams or beam patterns from the beams…”; [0036]; “…the BS obtains corresponding downlink channel information generated in response to the first subset of selected training RF beam patterns…”; [0037]; claim 10; teaches selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting a subset from the beam patterns, where the subset comprises the beam patterns and corresponding unique set of beam pattern in order to form the subset of beam patterns as taught by Yue with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of optimizing beam patterns in order to improve selective beamforming and beamforming training, as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 34, Marinier, as modified by Yue, discloses beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern, but may not explicitly disclose sending information representing performance indicators or ranked orders according to metrics/criteria to the transceiving device, the information indicating the corresponding beam pattern to be chosen or input for choosing/selecting the corresponding beam patterns and/or the subset of transmit beams at the transceiving device.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Hakola teaches and suggests sending information representing performance indicators or ranked orders according to metrics/criteria to the transceiving device, the information indicating the corresponding beam pattern to be chosen or input for choosing/selecting the corresponding beam patterns and/or the subset of transmit beams at the transceiving device ([0041]; [0042]; [0044]; teaches sending information representing ranked indicator regarding beamforming).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sending information representing ranked indicator regarding beamforming as taught by Hakola with the method and device for beamforming and uplink control and data transmission by selecting uplink transmit beam sweeping pattern as disclosed by Marinier, as modified by Yue, for the purpose of performing beamforming training, as suggested by Hakola.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-32 and 34-45 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
February 6, 2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477