Detailed Action
Information Disclosure
The information disclosure statement submitted 04/01/2026 has been considered.
Response to Amendments
The amendments made to the claims 04/01/2026 have been entered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 and 8-24 are currently pending.
Claims 3 and 13 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-12, and 14-24 are under examination.
New Claim Objection
Claim 11 states “The method of claim 11…”. The claim is dependent upon itself but the limitation appears to narrow the limitation of claim 10. The claim is therefore understood to mean “The method of claim 10…”.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-12, and 14-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganloev (WO2019/135157) in view of Kawai (BMC Cancer, 2021, 21:116, published online 02/04/2021), Wiseman (Drugs, 1996, Vol. 52(4): 606-623), and Taieb (British Journal of Cancer, 2019, 121:434-442).
In regards to claim 1, 6-7, and 9, Ganloev on p. 4-5 para. [0011] teaches a method of treating patients diagnosed with colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancers comprising administering bevacizumab followed by administering (b) a dose of 85 mg/m2 oxaliplatin, (c) followed by administering a 400 mg/m2 dose of 5-fluorouracil (5-FU), (d) followed by administering a dose of 60 mg/m2 of 6R-MTHF, (e) followed by administering a dose of 2,400 mg/m2 of 5-FU, and (f) followed by administering a dose of 60 mg/m2 of 6R-MTHF. Ganloev in the same paragraph discloses the method further comprising administering bevacizumab at a dose of 5 mg/kg.
In regards to claims 1 and 2, Ganloev on p. 27-28, para. [0086] teaches a treating a patient with stage IV metastatic colorectal cancer, wherein the patient has been diagnosed with metastatic colorectal colon cancer confirmed by sigmoidectomy.
In regards to claim 4-5, Ganloev on p. 6, para. [0017] contemplates repeating steps every two weeks.
In regards to claim 8, the instant claims differs from the art in the timing of administering bevacizumab. The art teaches administration as the first step (see rejection of claim 9 above). Claim 8 specifies administration after administering oxaliplatin. This difference does not seem to amount to a significant change considering that the outcomes of both methods are similar (See rejection of claims 16 and 17 below). It would be within the skillset of one of ordinary skill in the art to alter the methods in Ganloev so that bevacizumab is administer prior to oxaliplatin.
The MPEP section 2144.05 states
“The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references), is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.”
In regards to claim 9, Ganloev in para. [0022] contemplates a dose of 5 mg/kg of bevacizumab by intravenous infusion. Ganloev in para. [0047] states “Bevacizumab is formulated as a concentrated infusion solution. Bevacizumab may be administered as an intravenous infusion as 5 mg/kg of body weight given once every 2 weeks.”
In regards to claims 10-12, Ganloev on p. 18, para. [0051]-[0052] contemplates reconstituting 6-MTHF in aqueous media and from a hemisulfate salt.
In regards to claim 14, Ganloev on p. 18, para. [0050] contemplates addition of citric acid and/or ascorbic acid.
In regards to claim 15, Ganloev on p. 19, para. [0053] discusses diastereomeric purity.
In regards to claims 16-17, Ganloev on p. 8, para. [0024] contemplates results of practicing its method which include “no progression of said solid tumors after 2, 4, 8, 16, or 24 weeks of treatment...”.
In regards to claims 18-23, Ganloev on p. 5-6, para. [0012]-[0015] discusses administration times.
Ganloev discusses irinotecan on p. 1, l. 27-29 where it states “Standard first-line systemic therapy for metastatic colorectal cancer, in accordance with current European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO) guidelines is chemotherapy with 5-FU, LV, oxaliplatin/irinotecan and bevacizumab.” This is further affirmed by Kawai.
Kawai in its abstract states “Irinotecan (IRI) and oxaliplatin (Ox) are standard therapeutic agents of the first-line treatments for metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC).
Ganloev does not explicitly discuss continuous intravenous infusion of irinotecan. This is addressed by Wiseman.
Wiseman in sec. Clinical Efficacy teaches continuous intravenous infusion of irinotecan. Additionally, Wisemen teaches doses of irinotecan ranging from 30mg/m2/day by continuous intravenous infusion for 5 days and dose amounts of 200 mg/m2 administered once every 3 to 4 weeks.
None of Ganloev, Kawai, or Wisemen discuss BRAF-mutant metastatic colon cancer. This is addressed by the teachings of Taieb.
In regards to claim 24, Taieb discusses treatment options for BRAF-mutant metastatic colon cancer. Taieb on p. 437, sec. Current Systemic Treatments for BRAF-MT-MCRC states A more aggressive strategy, involving combination of doublet with EGFR inhibitor, cetuximab, or triplet with bevacizumab, which inhibits vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) might be of interest in [metastatic colorectal cancer] patients with BRAF-mt tumours, as suggested by some clinical data, although these data are based on small subgroups.”
Ganloev continues “In a 2010 study by Masi et al., patients with wild-type and mutated BRAF CRC tumours had similar median PFS and OS when the treatment was based on the triplet FOLFOCIRI (folinic acid, fluorouracil, oxaliplatin and irinotecan) with bevacizumab, suggesting that this aggressive therapeutic strategy could also lead to the loss of the negative prognostic impact of BRAF mutation.”
Taieb essentially teaches that combination therapy comprising oxaliplatin and additional chemotherapeutic agents, including 5-FU (fluorouracil) shows promising results in treating metastatic colorectal cancer.
Ganloev teaches a method of treating metastatic colorectal cancer comprising administering oxaliplatin, 5-FU, 6R-MTHF, and further comprising bevacizumab Ganloev additionally teaches it’s method is effective in treating metastatic colorectal cancer. Kawai teaches that standard procedure for treating colorectal cancer and/or metastatic colorectal cancer includes administration of either oxaliplatin or irinotecan. This teaching establishes irinotecan as an alternative to oxaliplatin. Wiseman teaches continuous intravenous infusion of irinotecan. Taieb teaches the efficacy of similar treatments in treating BRAF-mutant metastatic colorectal cancer.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of Ganloev towards treating BRAF-mutant metastatic colorectal cancer with a reasonable assumption of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to apply the method as Taieb states triplet chemotherapy methods have found success in treating BRAF-mutant metastatic colorectal cancer.
Double Patenting
Copending Application 18/075,391
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 17-21, 32-36, 40, 46-49, 51-54, and 68-74 of copending Application No. 18/075,391 (reference application) in view of Kawai (BMC Cancer, 2021, 21:116, published online 02/04/2021), and Wiseman (Drugs, 1996, Vol. 52(4): 606-623). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application is drawn to methods of treating colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancer comprising steps similar if not identical to those instantly claimed.
The reference claims are drawn to methods of treating patients diagnosed with colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancer comprising the steps of administering bevacizumab, oxaliplatin, 5-FU, and 6R-MTHF in particular order.
The instant claims are identical except they claim continuous intravenous infusion of irinotecan in place of oxaliplatin. This difference is addressed by Kawai and Wiseman, as discussed in the 103 rejection above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
U.S. Patent 10,292,984
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,292,984 in view of Wiseman (cited above).
The reference claims are drawn to methods comprising steps of administering 5-FU and 6R-MTHF. The steps involved administering 5-FU first, followed 6R-MTH. The method optionally includes administering irinotecan in no specific order. The reference specification in col. 5, Table 1, teaches dose amounts of irinotecan at 180 mg/m2. The reference specification in col. 4 l. 15-16 also teaches that doses of 6R-MTHF can be repeated. While the reference specification does not teach repeated steps of 5-FU, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to repeat said step of administering the 5-FU in view of the teaching that 6R-MTHF may be repeated. The reference claims also claim 6R-MTHF dose amounts of 60 mg/m2. Where the reference claims are drawn to 500 mg/m2 of 5-FU, it would be within the skillset of one ordinary skill to modify the claim to instead use 400 mg/m2. Reference claims 3 and 6 are drawn to embodiments wherein the human subject suffers from colorectal cancer.
Wiseman teaches continuous intravenous administration of irinotecan.
U.S. Patent 10,328,079
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 10,328,079 in view of Wiseman (cited above).
The reference claims are drawn to methods comprising administering 10-1000 mg/m2 of 5-FU, 5-1000 mg/m2 of 6R-MTHF, administering a second dose of 5-FU, and optionally administering a final dose of 5-1000 mg/m2 of 6R-MTHF. Reference claim 2 specifies the methods involved administering to a human diagnosed with colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancer. Reference claim 6 claims additionally administering the anticancer drug irinotecan.
Wiseman discusses dose of irinotecan. The reference specification in col. 17/18 Table 1 teaches irinotecan dose amounts of 180 mg/m2. Wiseman teaches continuous intravenous administration of irinotecan.
U.S. Patent 10,639,311
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,639,311 in view of Wiseman (cited above).
The reference claims are drawn to a method comprising administering 400 mg/m2 of 5-FU followed by 60-240 mg/m2 of 6R-MTHF, followed by 2400 mg/m2 of 5-FU. Reference claim 5 further comprises administering irinotecan. The reference specification in col. 4, l. 19-20 teaches doses of 6R-MTHF can be repeated. The reference specification in col. 6, table 1 teaches doses of irinotecan at 180 mg/m2. Reference claim 4 specifies that the human subject suffers from colorectal cancer.
Wiseman teaches continuous intravenous administration of irinotecan.
U.S. Patent 11,389,452
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-41 of U.S. Patent No. 11,389,452 in view of Wiseman.
The reference claims are drawn to methods comprising administering 400 or 500 mg/m2 of 5-FU and 30-240 mg/m2 of 6R-MTHF to a subject suffering from colorectal cancer. Reference claim 6 specifies a method further comprising administering irinotecan. The reference specification in col. 4 l. 16-17 teaches that doses of 6R-MTHF can be repeated. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to also repeat doses of 5-FU in view of the teaching that doses may be repeated. The reference specification in col. 5, Table 1 teaches irinotecan doses of 180 mg/m2. Wiseman teaches continuous intravenous administration of irinotecan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant states that “claim 1 requires a continuous intravenous (IV) infusion of a pharmaceutical composition comprising 180 mg/m2 (of BSA) irinotecan. In contrast, Ganloev does not specifically recite administration of 180 mg/m2 irinotecan. In addition, Ganloev requires bevacizumab administration. In contrast, claim 1 does not require bevacizumab in its treatment regimen. Only in dependent claims, such as amended claims 6, 8, and 9, is bevacizumab administration mentioned. Ad none of these dependent claims require bevacizumab.” (emphasis by applicant).
Applicant continues and submits that “the examples and claims of Ganloev are directed to the administration of oxaliplatin. Ganloev generally recites administration of irinotecan in a method of treating a patient diagnosed with cancer in an embodiment as a member of a laundry list of chemotoxic agent options…Ganloev does not tech or suggest the specifically defined dose of a continuous intravenous (IV) infusion of a pharmaceutical composition comprising 180 mg/m2 (of BSA) irinotecan as required by the amended claims…”.
Regarding Wiseman, applicant states “Wiseman notes that the recommended dose of irinotecan in the US is between 50 and 150 mg/m2, which is less than the claimed 180 mg/m2, and that the recommended dose in Europe is 250-350 mg/m2, which is more than the claimed 180 mg/m2. Further, none of the examples of Wiseman disclose continuous intravenous (IV) infusion of a pharmaceutical composition comprising 180 mg/m2 (of BSA) irinotecan, let alone as part of the specific method required by the instant claims.
Regarding Taieb, applicant states “Taieb does recite administration of irinotecan, however, not with the remaining specifically required steps of the amended claims.”
Regarding the double patenting rejections, applicant states that the claims of copending application 18/075,391 require oxaliplatin administration and do not teach or suggest administration of irinotecan, let alone a continuous intravenous (IV) infusion of a pharmaceutical composition comprising 180 mg/m2 (of BSA) irinotecan. Applicant continues “Kawai and Wiseman do not remedy the deficiencies of the ‘391 application…”.
Regarding US Patent 10,292,984, applicant states that the “’984 patent require 500 mg/m2 (of BSA) 5-flurouracil (5-FU), and only optional administration of irinotecan…”.
Similar arguments are made regarding the 10,328,079 US patent and the 10,639,311 US patent. Specifically, applicant states “the claims of the ‘079 patent do not recite any compositions comprising 5-FU greater than 1000 mg/m2, and only optional administration of irinotecan” and “the claims of ‘311 patent only recite optional administration of irinotecan in dependent claim 9…”.
Regarding the 11,389,452 patent, applicant states “the ‘452 patent only recites optional administration of irinotecan in dependent claims 6-9, and does not specifically recite the specific final three steps noted above.”
Regarding the limitation “a continuous intravenous (IV) infusion of a pharmaceutical composition comprising 180 mg/m2 (of BSA) irinotecan”, Wiseman (cited above) in sec. Clinical Efficacy teaches “In Japan [maximum tolerable doses] were 30 mg/m2/day by continuous intravenous infusion for 5 days or 200 mg/m2 administered one every 3 to 4 weeks.” While an explicit teaching of 180 mg/m2 via continuous IV infusion is not taught, one of ordinary skill could easily modify the continuous IV infusion to deliver 180 mg/m2 of irinotecan. The critical difference between the art and the instant claims is the order of the steps and/or the inclusion of specific chemotoxic compounds. While Ganloev does require oxaliplatin, Kawai lists irinotecan as an alternative compound to oxaliplatin as discussed in the 103 rejection above.
Additionally, the claims state “comprising the following steps”. This open language does not exclude one of ordinary skill in the art from including irinotecan and does not exclude one of ordinary skill from modifying the method of Ganloev to use irinotecan in place of oxaliplatin. Similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the methods of the copending application and US patents via the teachings of Kawai and Wiseman.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624