DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 3/5/2026.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10, and 18 are amended.
Claims 2, 11-13, and 19 are cancelled.
Claims 20-21 are newly added.
Claims 1, 3-10, 14-18, and 20-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Office Action fails to establish that LibreTexts constitutes prior art against the instant invention (p. 12, see footnote 1).
The Examiner agrees that LibreTexts does not constitute prior art. However, the Examiner does not depend on LibreTexts for its prior art date. Rather, the Examiner uses LibreTexts to illustrate the common knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art. Specifically, LibreTexts is used to show that two resistors (R1 and R2) connected in parallel to a voltage source can be reduced to an equivalent resistor (Req) having an equivalent resistance (RP). This technique of reducing series and parallel resistors into equivalent resistors in circuit diagrams is learned in high school physics, or at least in a college physics II class.
Applicant argues that Kessler fails to disclose “a resistor that has a predetermined electric resistance value and is shared by a first conductive path and a second conductive path,” and “a switch electrically connected between each of the first load and the second load and the resistor and physically switchable between the first conductive path where the resistor and the first load are connected in series via the first hardware node and the second conductive path where the resistor and the second load are connected in series via the second hardware node” (p. 12-13). Specifically, Applicant argues that combining Kessler’s distinct reference resistors into a single mathematical equivalent is improper because it would render Kessler unsatisfactory for its intended purpose of utilizing distinct dedicated reference resistors in parallel branches to measure and control individual heating elements (p. 13). Applicant argues that the Office Action’s reliance on LibreTexts’ mathematical abstraction to justify this physical, structural modification is unreasonable, as it would completely defeat the operational principle of Kessler’s independent load sensing configuration (p. 13).
The Examiner agrees that LibreTexts relates on a mathematical abstraction of combining parallel resistors into equivalent resistor. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that such a modification would completely defeat the operational principle of Kessler’s independent load sensing.
First, the Examiner contends that Applicant’s interpretation of Kessler’s intended purpose as “utilizing distinct dedicated reference resistors in parallel branches to measure and control individual heating elements” is far too narrow. Rather, Kessler explicitly defines the intended purpose/object of the invention as: “to provide a safe, high-quality and energy-efficient vaporizer unit, in which a reliable administration of active ingredients is provided and wherein a potential risk of overheating and of correlated emission of pollutants may be avoided” ([0006]). Applicant has not suggested why modifying parallel resistors into a single resistor would contravene such an intended purpose.
Furthermore, while Kessler does suggest that “[e]ach heating element is preferably series-connected to a separate reference resistor” ([0020]; emphasis added), this is a merely a preferred embodiment. “The disclosure of desirable alternative does not necessarily negate a suggestion for modifying the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention” and “the prior art' s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed”. See MPEP 2143.01. Here, Kessler does not discourage a configuration where one resistor is used to provide measurements to a plurality of heating elements. In fact, Kessler contemplates such a configuration. Specifically, Kessler discloses that the device is “characterized in that the control and measurement device (22) is provided with at least one reference resistor (25), which is series-connected with the at least one heating element (36)” ([0076]). This description includes a configuration where one reference resistor is series-connected with a plurality of heating elements.
Even if one of skill in the art were to consider a narrower object of the invention of “precisely measuring the resistance of the heating elements” (see [0020]), modifying Kessler’s disclosed separate reference resistors into a single reference resistor would not be unsatisfactory for Kessler’s intended purpose if such a modification would allow for the precise measurement of the resistance of the heating elements as suggested in Kessler. Here, although Kessler discloses that each heating element is associated with a reference resistor for current measurement ([0020], see Fig. 2), Kessler further discloses that the control and measurement device includes a switching device that selects one reference resistor/heating element pair for measurement at a time ([0047]). As a result, only a single measurement path is active during operation. Since the remaining reference resistors are inactive during that time, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a plurality of reference resistors are not required for performing an accurate measurement to be performed. Rather, a single resistor would have been sufficient in providing an accurate measurement in Kessler’s contemplated measurement process in which only one of the heating lines is selected for temperature measurement at a time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler et al. (US 2019/0059446; of record) in view of Egoyants et al. (US 2014/0202476; of record) and Taschner et al. (US 2018/0000160; of record), as evidenced by LibreTexts (“Resistors in Series and Parallel;” of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kessler discloses a vaporizer unit (abstract) for an electronic cigarette (see para. 3; “aerosol generation device”) comprising:
a current source (27; “power supply”) providing electric power to all active electric components within the inhaler (para. 39; “configured to discharge electricity”) including a first heating element (36; see Fig. 2; “first load”) and a second heating element (36; Fig. 2; “second load”) for heating vaporizing a liquid from a liquid reservoir (12; para. 35) to form an aerosol (para. 36; must include “aerosol source”) and having a taste (para. 13; “flavor source”) (i.e. the liquid reservoir combines both an aerosol source and a flavor source), wherein the heating elements have a resistance correlated to a temperature (para. 19, 51; “correlation between temperature and electric resistance value”);
at least one reference resistor (25; [0043]; Fig. 2, illustrating three reference resistors), a first conductive path (see Fig. 2) and a second conductive path (see Fig. 2);
a switching device (24; “switch”) electrically connected between each of the first load and the second load and the at least one resistor (see Fig. 2), which preferably defines one of the reference resistors (25) as the reference resistor to be measured and provides an electrical connection between the heating element and the corresponding reference resistor (para. 47; “switchable between the first conductive path where a resistor and first load a connected in series” and “the second conductive path where another resistor and second load are connected in series”);
an operation amplifier (23) including an input terminal (see Fig. 2) electrically connected to a connection node between the switch and the resistor (see Fig. 2); and
a control device (21; “processing device”) which determines the measured resistance of the corresponding heating element (para. 46) and then determines temperature through the resistance measurement (paras. 19, 51) by measuring the voltage drop of the reference resistors and voltage source and forward the measurement to the control device (para. 46; “based on output of the operational amplifier”), wherein
the control device controls the switching device (para. 47) such that the detection of resistance is performed one at a time (see para. 47) and sequentially (para. 61) (“temperature detection performed in different periods of time”),
such that the control device includes a pressure sensor for controlling the heating elements (para. 44) and independently controls the heating elements (para. 45) and performs measurements of the resistance of the heating elements (para. 45) during inhalation (para. 50) wherein during a period duration (33), different heating elements (36) may be measured sequentially on the various heating elements (para. 61), wherein the heating elements are repeatedly heated (see Fig. 4).
Kessler further discloses that the device is “characterized in that the control and measurement device (22) is provided with at least one reference resistor (25), which is series-connected with the at least one heating element (36); ([0076]). This description includes a configuration where one reference resistor is series-connected with a plurality of heating elements.
However, Kessler is does not explicitly teach the resistor is shared by the first conductive path and the second conductive path, wherein a first hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the first load and a second hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the second load. Rather, Kessler discloses that each reference resistor (25) is connected to a respective heating element (36; see [0020]), wherein the reference resistors (25) are connected in parallel relative to each other (see Fig. 2) and does not illustrate a configuration of only one reference resistor being series-connected with a plurality of heating elements.
LibreTexts evidences the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art regarding the physics of circuit arrangements. Specifically, LibreTexts shows that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that two resistors (R1 and R2) connected in parallel to a voltage source (Fig. 10.3.4(a); p. 4) can be reduced to an equivalent resistor (Req) having an equivalent resistance (RP) (Fig. 10.3.4(b); pp. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted Kessler’s parallel reference resistor arrangement for a single resistor connected in series because (a) Kessler suggests a configuration where only one reference resistor is connected to a plurality of heating elements (see [0076]) and (b) such a modification would have involved a mere substitution of known resistor arrangements. Moreover, such a modification would have simplified the circuit element (reducing the number of resistor elements) but would not have changed the principle operation of Kessler and would still allow the switching device to define a single connection between each heating element and the reference resistor to be defined to perform precise measurement thereof ([0047]).
One of skill in the art would appreciate that such a modification would have resulted in the following configuration (see annotated Fig. 2 below) including a first hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the first load and a second hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the second load, the resistor and the first load are connected in series via the first hardware node, and the resistor and the second series are connected via the second hardware node.
Regarding the claim limitation “a switch…switchable between the first conductive path…and the second conductive path,” this limitation have been considered, and construed as the manner of operating an apparatus that adds no additional structure to the apparatus as claimed. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Since Kessler’s switch device, operational amplifier, and circuit element are the same as instantly claimed, it is capable of being operated with similar if not identical claimed characteristics. Specifically, Kessler’s switching device which provides an electrical connection between one heating element and modified single series-connected resistor (para. 47) and in which the heating elements are measured sequentially (para. 61) and therefore measure the first conductive path and the second conductive path sequentially. Moreover, Kessler discloses a situation where the first and second heating elements (36) are turned on during an inhalation period (33; para. 50), and the control device measures the resistance of the heating elements (36) sequentially (para. 61; i.e. the first heating element is measured and then the second heating element is measured), all of which takes place when both the first and the second heating elements are turned on (i.e. the second heating element is turned on while the first heating element is measured; the first heating element is turned on while the second heating element is measured).
However, Kessler is silent as to while receiving an aerosol generation request, the processing device repeats heating the first load and the second load periodically, and in one cycle of heating the first load and the second load, the processing device first starts heating the first load, next starts heating the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed, then stops the heating of the first load when a predetermined time elapses from the start of the heating of the first load, and after that stops the heating of the second load. Specifically, Kessler discloses that both the first and second heating elements are turned on during an inhalation in which the processing device sequentially performs the temperature detection process of the first and second heating elements.
Egoyants teaches an apparatus for volatilizing a smokeable material (abstract) comprising a heater (3) comprising two or more heating regions (10) that are activated sequentially, one after the other, in response to a single initial puff (para. 71), for example at regular, predetermined intervals over the expected inhalation period (para. 71). Moreover, Egoyants teaches that activating individual heating regions rather than the entire heater means that the energy required to heat the smokable material is reduced and therefore the maximum required output of the energy source is reduced thus requiring a smaller and lighter energy source (para. 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of activating the heaters sequentially in response to a single initial puff as in Egoyants with the method of performing the measurements of the heater elements sequentially at switching on, switching off, and/or during an inhalation as in Kessler to reduce the amount of energy required to heat the smokable material and thus beneficially reducing the size energy source (Egoyants; para. 72).
Lastly, modified Kessler is silent as to the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed and the heating of the second load is stopped while supplying the second load with a lower voltage than a voltage applied to the second load in the heating of the second load, and the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the first load during a period when the heating of the first load is stopped and the heating of the second load is performed while supplying the first load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the first load in the heating of the first load.
Taschner teaches a vaporizer (abstract) comprising a heater that is controlled by heater control circuitry ([0029]) using a four-point resistive measurement ([0056]) which includes a precision resistance measurement circuit to track the resistance of the heater and uses two smaller leads (506) to sense a low voltage drop across a region of the heater by applying a testing current (e.g., a small but known constant current) that is different than the heating current used to heat the heater at high temperatures and may be applied to the heater when taking measurements between heating ([0055], [0060]; see also [0029], describing applying a smaller current to measure a voltage drop), such that the four-point measurement control determines the temperature of the heater with a relatively fine resolution ([0029]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a lower current corresponds to a lower voltage applied according to Ohm’s law (V = IR). Thus, Taschner teaches applying a lower voltage to the heating element for the temperature measurement than a voltage normally applied to cause vaporization.
It would have been obvious to said skilled artisan to have added Taschner’s four-point resistive measurement system and applied the method of applying a lower current (and thus a lower voltage) to the heater to modified Kessler in order to obtain the predictable result of determining the temperature of the heater with the benefit of making such a determination with a relatively fine resolution (Taschner; [0029], [0060]) which gives a more accurate resistance measurement (Taschner; [0056]).
Regarding the claim limitation “while receiving an aerosol generation request, the processing device repeats heating the first load and the second load periodically, and in one cycle of heating the first load and the second load, the processing device first starts heating the first load, next starts heating the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed, then stops the heating of the first load when a predetermined time elapses from the start of the heating of the first load, and after that stops the heating of the second load, the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed and the heating of the second load is stopped while supplying the second load with a lower voltage than a voltage applied to the second load in the heating of the second load, and the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the first load during a period when the heating of the first load is stopped and the heating of the second load is performed while supplying the first load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the first load in the heating of the first load,” modified Kessler operates such that control device repeats heating of the heating elements (see Fig. 4) by sequentially activating the first and second heaters during a single inhalation for a predetermined period (Egoyants; para. 71) and sequentially measuring (para. 61) the heating elements at switching on, switching off, and/or during inhalation (para. 50) by applying a lower current/voltage (Taschner; [0055]). This operation reads on the claimed limitation, as described below.
In response to an inhalation, modified Kessler would first activate the first heater such that the second and third heaters have yet to be activated (i.e., switching on the first load and during a single inhalation; “first starts heating the first load”). During the activation of the first heater in which the second heater is deactivated (i.e., switching on the first heater and during inhalation; “period when the heating of the first load is performed and the heating of the second load is stopped”), the control device would sequentially measure the plurality of heating elements. This involves configuring the switching device to select and measure the first conductive path with the first heating element, then select and measure the second conductive path with the second heating element (“temperature detection process of the second load”), and finally to select and measure a third conductive path including the third heating element. Such a temperature measurement includes sending a lower current/voltage to the second heater to perform the temperature detection of the second heating element (“supplying the second load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the second load in the heating of the second load”).
Afterwards, the second heater is activated during the single puff (i.e., sequentially activating the first and second heaters during a single inhalation; “next starts heating the second load”). During activation of the second heater, the first heater is then deactivated after a predetermined period (i.e., switching on the second heater, switching off the first heater, and during a single inhalation; “then stop heating of the first load when a predetermined time elapses from the start of heating of the first load”). The control device again sequentially selects and measures each of the heating elements. This involves configuring the switching device to select the first conductive path for measuring the first heating element (“temperature detection process of the first load during a period when the heating of the first load is stopped and the heating of the second load is performed”), then to select the second conductive path for measuring the second heating element, and finally to select the third conductive path for measuring the third heating element. Such a temperature measurement includes sending a lower current/voltage to the first heater to perform the temperature detection of the first heating element (“supplying the first load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the first load in the heating of the first load”).
Lastly, the first heater and the second heater are deactivated and the third heater is activated (“after that stops the heating of the second load”). During activation of the third heater, the control device finally sequentially measures the plurality of heating elements which would involve measuring the first heating element, the second heating element, and the third heating element.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kessler discloses that the voltage input into the positive terminal of the operational amplifier is equal to the voltage of the current source (27; see para. 47). Since the first conductive path and the second conductive path are connected to the same current source (see Fig. 2), the first and second conductive paths will have the same voltage as the positive terminal of the operational amplifier.
Regarding claim 10, Kessler discloses a vaporizer unit (abstract) for an electronic cigarette (see para. 3; “aerosol generation device”) comprising:
a current source (27; “power supply”) providing electric power to all active electric components within the inhaler (para. 39; “configured to discharge electricity”) including a first heating element (36; see Fig. 2; “first load”) and a second heating element (36; Fig. 2; “second load”) for heating a liquid from a liquid reservoir (12; para. 35) to form an aerosol (para. 36; must include “aerosol source”) and having a taste (para. 13; “flavor source”) (i.e. the liquid reservoir combines both an aerosol source and a flavor source), wherein the heating elements have a resistance correlated to a temperature (para. 19, 51; “correlation between temperature and electric resistance value”);
at least one reference resistor (25; [0043]; Fig. 2, illustrating three reference resistors), a first conductive path (see Fig. 2), and a second conductive path (see Fig. 2);
a switching device (24; “first switch”) electrically connected between each of the first load and the second load and the at least one resistor (see Fig. 2), which preferably defines one of the reference resistors (25) as the reference resistor to be measured and provides an electrical connection between the heating element and the corresponding reference resistor (para. 47; “switchable between the first conductive path where a resistor and first load a connected in series” and “the second conductive path where another resistor and second load are connected in series”);
an operation amplifier (23) including an input terminal (see Fig. 2) electrically connected to a connection node between the switch and the resistor (see Fig. 2); and
a control device (21; “processing device”) which determines the measured resistance of the corresponding heating element (para. 46) and then determines temperature through the resistance measurement (paras. 19, 51) by measuring the voltage drop of the reference resistors and voltage source and forward the measurement to the control device (para. 46; “based on output of the operational amplifier”), wherein
the control device controls the switching device (para. 47) such that the detection of resistance is performed one at a time (see para. 47) and sequentially (para. 61) (“temperature detection performed in different periods of time”),
such that the control device includes a pressure sensor for controlling the heating elements (para. 44) and independently controls the heating elements (para. 45) and performs measurements of the resistance of the heating elements (para. 45) during inhalation (para. 50) wherein during a period duration (33), different heating elements (36) may be measured sequentially on the various heating elements (para. 61), wherein the heating elements are repeatedly heated (see Fig. 4).
However, Kessler is does not explicitly teach the resistor is shared by the first conductive path and the second conductive path, wherein a first hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the first load and a second hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the second load. Rather, Kessler discloses that each reference resistor (25) is connected to a respective heating element (36; see [0020]), wherein the reference resistors (25) are connected in parallel relative to each other (see Fig. 2) and does not illustrate a configuration of only one reference resistor being series-connected with a plurality of heating elements.
LibreTexts evidences the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art regarding the physics of circuit arrangements. Specifically, LibreTexts shows that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that two resistors (R1 and R2) connected in parallel to a voltage source (Fig. 10.3.4(a); p. 4) can be reduced to an equivalent resistor (Req) having an equivalent resistance (RP) (Fig. 10.3.4(b); pp. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted Kessler’s parallel reference resistor arrangement for a single resistor connected in series because (a) Kessler suggests a configuration where only one reference resistor is connected to a plurality of heating elements (see [0076]) and (b) such a modification would have involved a mere substitution of known resistor arrangements. Moreover, such a modification would have simplified the circuit element (reducing the number of resistor elements) but would not have changed the principle operation of Kessler and would still allow the switching device to define a single connection between each heating element and the reference resistor to be defined to perform precise measurement thereof ([0047]).
One of skill in the art would appreciate that such a modification would have resulted in the following configuration (see annotated Fig. 2 above) including a first hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the first load and a second hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the second load, the resistor and the first load are connected in series via the first hardware node, and the resistor and the second series are connected via the second hardware node.
Regarding the claim limitation “a first…switchable between a first conductive path…and the second conductive path” this limitation has been considered, and construed as the manner of operating an apparatus that adds no additional structure to the apparatus as claimed. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Since Kessler’s switch device, operational amplifier, and circuit element are the same as instantly claimed, it is capable of being operated with similar if not identical claimed characteristics. Specifically, Kessler’s switching device which provides an electrical connection between the heating element and corresponding resistor (para. 47) and in which the heating elements are measured sequentially (para. 61) and therefore capable of measuring a first series circuit formed between the first heating element and first resistor, and the second heating element and the second resistor sequentially. Moreover, Kessler discloses a situation where the first and second heating elements (36) are turned on during an inhalation period (33; para. 50), and the control device measures the resistance of the heating elements (36) sequentially (para. 61; i.e. the first heating element is measured and then the second heating element is measured), all of which takes place when both the first and the second heating elements are turned on (i.e. the second heating element is turned on while the first heating element is measured; the first heating element is turned on while the second heating element is measured).
However, Kessler is silent as to while receiving an aerosol generation request, the processing device repeats heating the first load and the second load periodically, and in one cycle of heating the first load and the second load, the processing device first starts heating the first load, next starts heating the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed, then stops the heating of the first load when a predetermined time elapses from the start of the heating of the first load, and after that stops the heating of the second load. Specifically, Kessler discloses that both the first and second heating elements are turned on during an inhalation in which the processing device sequentially performs the temperature detection process of the first and second heating elements.
Egoyants teaches an apparatus for volatilizing a smokeable material (abstract) comprising a heater (3) comprising two or more heating regions (10) that are activated sequentially, one after the other, in response to a single initial puff (para. 71), for example at regular, predetermined intervals over the expected inhalation period (para. 71). Moreover, Egoyants teaches that activating individual heating regions rather than the entire heater means that the energy required to heat the smokable material is reduced and therefore the maximum required output of the energy source is reduced thus requiring a smaller and lighter energy source (para. 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of activating the heaters sequentially in response to a single initial puff as in Egoyants with the method of performing the measurements of the heater elements sequentially at switching on, switching off, and/or during an inhalation as in Kessler to reduce the amount of energy required to heat the smokable material and thus beneficially reducing the size energy source (Egoyants; para. 72).
Lastly, modified Kessler is silent as to the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed and the heating of the second load is stopped while supplying the second load with a lower voltage than a voltage applied to the second load in the heating of the second load, and the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the first load during a period when the heating of the first load is stopped and the heating of the second load is performed while supplying the first load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the first load in the heating of the first load.
Taschner teaches a vaporizer (abstract) comprising a heater that is controlled by heater control circuitry ([0029]) using a four-point resistive measurement ([0056]) which includes a precision resistance measurement circuit to track the resistance of the heater and uses two smaller leads (506) to sense a low voltage drop across a region of the heater by applying a testing current (e.g., a small but known constant current) that is different than the heating current used to heat the heater at high temperatures and may be applied to the heater when taking measurements between heating ([0055], [0060]; see also [0029], describing applying a smaller current to measure a voltage drop), such that the four-point measurement control determines the temperature of the heater with a relatively fine resolution ([0029]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a lower current corresponds to a lower voltage applied according to Ohm’s law (V = IR). Thus, Taschner teaches applying a lower voltage to the heating element for the temperature measurement than a voltage normally applied to cause vaporization.
It would have been obvious to said skilled artisan to have added Taschner’s four-point resistive measurement system and applied the method of applying a lower current (and thus a lower voltage) to the heater to modified Kessler in order to obtain the predictable result of determining the temperature of the heater with the benefit of making such a determination with a relatively fine resolution (Taschner; [0029], [0060]) which gives a more accurate resistance measurement (Taschner; [0056]).
Regarding the claim limitation “while receiving an aerosol generation request, the processing device repeats heating the first load and the second load periodically, and in one cycle of heating the first load and the second load, the processing device first starts heating the first load, next starts heating the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed, then stops the heating of the first load when a predetermined time elapses from the start of the heating of the first load, and after that stops the heating of the second load, the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed and the heating of the second load is stopped while supplying the second load with a lower voltage than a voltage applied to the second load in the heating of the second load, and the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the first load during a period when the heating of the first load is stopped and the heating of the second load is performed while supplying the first load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the first load in the heating of the first load,” modified Kessler operates such that control device repeats heating of the heating elements (see Fig. 4) by sequentially activating the first and second heaters during a single inhalation for a predetermined period (Egoyants; para. 71) and sequentially measuring (para. 61) the heating elements at switching on, switching off, and/or during inhalation (para. 50) by applying a lower current/voltage (Taschner; [0055]). This operation reads on the claimed limitation, as described below.
In response to an inhalation, modified Kessler would first activate the first heater such that the second and third heaters have yet to be activated (i.e., switching on the first load and during a single inhalation; “first starts heating the first load”). During the activation of the first heater in which the second heater is deactivated (i.e., switching on the first heater and during inhalation; “period when the heating of the first load is performed and the heating of the second load is stopped”), the control device would sequentially measure the plurality of heating elements. This involves configuring the switching device to select and measure the first conductive path with the first heating element, then select and measure the second conductive path with the second heating element (“temperature detection process of the second load”), and finally to select and measure a third conductive path including the third heating element. Such a temperature measurement includes sending a lower current/voltage to the second heater to perform the temperature detection of the second heating element (“supplying the second load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the second load in the heating of the second load”).
Afterwards, the second heater is activated during the single puff (i.e., sequentially activating the first and second heaters during a single inhalation; “next starts heating the second load”). During activation of the second heater, the first heater is then deactivated after a predetermined period (i.e., switching on the second heater, switching off the first heater, and during a single inhalation; “then stop heating of the first load when a predetermined time elapses from the start of heating of the first load”). The control device again sequentially selects and measures each of the heating elements. This involves configuring the switching device to select the first conductive path for measuring the first heating element (“temperature detection process of the first load during a period when the heating of the first load is stopped and the heating of the second load is performed”), then to select the second conductive path for measuring the second heating element, and finally to select the third conductive path for measuring the third heating element. Such a temperature measurement includes sending a lower current/voltage to the first heater to perform the temperature detection of the first heating element (“supplying the first load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the first load in the heating of the first load”).
Lastly, the first heater and the second heater are deactivated and the third heater is activated (“after that stops the heating of the second load”). During activation of the third heater, the control device finally sequentially measures the plurality of heating elements which would involve measuring the first heating element, the second heating element, and the third heating element.
Regarding claim 14, modified Kessler further discloses a first transistor (26; “second switch”) connected in series to the first load (36; see Fig. 2; para. 43) and a second transistor (26; “third switch”) connected in series to a second load (36; see Fig. 2; para. 43) which independently control the heating elements corresponding to the transistors (para. 45; “allows discharging from the power supply to the load”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kessler discloses the electronic control device is configured to perform control so that during activation of the second heater in which the first heater is deactivated (i.e. the first transistor 26 is off while the second transistor 26 is on; “when the second switch is in a non-conductive state where discharging to the first load is stopped”), the control device again sequentially measure the plurality of heating elements. This involves configuring the switching device to select the first conductive path to measure the first heating element, then to select the second conductive path for measuring second heating element.
Regarding claim 16, modified Kessler discloses the control device is configured to perform control so that during the activation of the first heater in which the second heater is deactivated (i.e., the first transistor 26 is on while the second transistor 26 is off; “when the third switch is in a non-conductive state where discharging to the second load is stopped”), the control device would sequentially measure the plurality of heating elements. This involves measuring the first heating element, then configuring the switching device to select the second conductive path to measure second heating element, and finally measuring the third heating element.
Regarding claims 17-18, modified Kessler discloses the electronic control device (21) controls the transistors (26) control and regulate the heating elements (36; paras. 45, 49; “control the switch to be in a conductive state to start heating the load when the aerosol generation request is received”).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kessler discloses the operational amplifier (23) includes a positive input terminal (+), which one of skill in the art would appreciate is the non-inverting terminal, that is electrically connected to the first and second heating elements via the switching device, which provides an electrical connection between the heating element and resistor ([0047]).
Claims 4-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler et al. in view of Egoyants et al. and Taschner et al., and evidenced by LibreTexts, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (WO 2019/082264; US 2020/0260793 is used for translation; of record).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kessler discloses the power supply unit as discussed above with respect to claim 2, further comprising a first transistor (26; “first switch”) and a second transistor (26; “second switch”) connected in series with the first and second loads (36) respectively (para. 59; see Fig. 2) which allows the electronic control device (21) to control the transistors and independently control the heating elements corresponding to the transistor (para. 45).
However, modified Kessler is silent as to the switching is connected to each of a connection node between the first load and the first switch and a connection node between the second load and the second switch. Instead, Kessler teaches that the connection nodes are located between the in series reference resistor (25; also known as shunts) and the heating elements (36).
Yamada teaches an aerosol generation device (abstract) including a first member (102; “power supply unit”) comprising: a circuit (Fig. 2) including an element (112) for obtaining a value of current flowing through the load (132) and a resistance value of the load (para. 122), a shunt resistor (212), a first field effect transistor (FET) operating as a switch (Q2), and a second FET operating as a switch (Q2; para. 132). Yamada teaches that the second FET is used to power the second path to in order to calculate a resistance value of the heater and determine a temperature of the load (para. 137; “switching element”). Yamada further teaches that the first FET is used for supplying power to the heater (para. 136; “first switching element”). Therefore, Yamada teaches that the second FET (Q2; “switching element”) is connected to a connection node (see Fig. 2) that is located between the first FET (Q1; “first or second switching element”) and the load (132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit of Kessler such that the switching device is connected to a connection nodes between the first and second transistors and the first and second heating elements as in Yamada in order to identify when the aerosol source is in an insufficient quantity (Yamada; para. 18) thereby preventing unintended smoke flavor from being emitted (Yamada; para. 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Kessler discloses the electronic control device (21) is adapted for detecting a breath by a consumer and controlling a heating element (36) to heat up liquid (para. 44) via the transistors (26; see para. 45) (i.e. “processing device controls the first switch and the second switch to heat the first load and the second load”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kessler further discloses that measurements may occur at switching on, switching of, and during inhaling (para. 50).
Regarding the claim limitation “before an aerosol generation request is received, the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the second load and the heating control of controlling the second switch so as to heat the second load; and during a period when the heating control of the second load is performed, the processing device performs the temperature detection of the first load” this limitation has been considered, and construed as the manner of operating an apparatus that adds no additional structure to the apparatus as claimed. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114. However, because the circuit of modified Kessler is structurally similar to that instantly disclosed, it is capable of being operated with similar if not identical claimed characteristics. Specifically, a temperature measurement occurs after switching on the device in Kessler. Moreover, heating and temperature measurement in a first inhalation occur before a second inhalation which also involves heating and temperature measurement.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kessler further discloses that during a period duration (33; Fig. 4) the plurality of heating elements may be measured sequentially (para. 61) and period duration preferably varies over the duration of operation (para. 62; interpreted as a different execution interval of the temperature detection that can be “longer than an execution interval of the temperature detection process of the second load performed before the generation request is received”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goch (US 2017/0071251; of record) in view of Kessler et al. (US 2019/0059446; of record), Egoyants et al. (US 2014/0202476; of record) and Taschner et al. (US 2018/0000160), as evidenced by LibreTexts (“Resistors in Series and Parallel”).
Regarding claim 9, Goch discloses a smoking device (abstract) comprising a storage battery module (19; “power supply unit”) comprising:
a battery source (21; see Fig. 1; “power supply”) arranged for operating a chamber-heating device (7) for heating a tobacco pad (27) and a liquid heating device (4) for heating liquid (para. 29); and
a printed circuit board (25) with a control arrangement (24) for activating the liquid-heating device or chamber-heating device (para. 45).
However, Goch is silent as to a resistor having a predetermined electric resistance value with a first conductive path and a second consecutive path; a switch electrically connected between each of the first load and the second load and the resistor and physically switchable between first conductive path where the resistor and the first load are connected in series and a second conductive path where the resistor and the second load are connected in series; an operational amplifier including an input terminal electrically connected to a connection node between the switch and the resistor; and a processing device configured to detect a temperature of each of the first load and the second load based on output of the operational amplifier, wherein the processing device controls the switch such that a temperature detection process of the first load based on the output of the operational amplifier and a temperature detection process of the second load based on the output of the operational amplifier are performed in different periods.
Kessler teaches a vaporizer unit (abstract) for an electronic cigarette (see para. 3; “aerosol generation device”) comprising:
a current source (27; “power supply”) providing electric power to all active electric components within the inhaler (para. 39; “configured to discharge electricity”) including a first heating element (36; see Fig. 2; “first load”) and a second heating element (36; Fig. 2; “second load”) for heating vaporizing a liquid from a liquid reservoir (12; para. 35) to form an aerosol (para. 36; must include “aerosol source”) and having a taste (para. 13; “flavor source”) (i.e. the liquid reservoir combines both an aerosol source and a flavor source), wherein the heating elements have a resistance correlated to a temperature (para. 19, 51; “correlation between temperature and electric resistance value”);
at least one reference resistor (25; [0043]; Fig. 2, illustrating three reference resistors), a first conductive path (see Fig. 2) and a second conductive path (see Fig. 2);
a switching device (24; “switch”) electrically connected between each of the first load and the second load and the at least one resistor (see Fig. 2), which preferably defines one of the reference resistors (25) as the reference resistor to be measured and provides an electrical connection between the heating element and the corresponding reference resistor (para. 47; “switchable between the first conductive path where a resistor and first load a connected in series” and “the second conductive path where another resistor and second load are connected in series”);
an operation amplifier (23) including an input terminal (see Fig. 2) electrically connected to a connection node between the switch and the resistor (see Fig. 2); and
a control device (21; “processing device”) which determines the measured resistance of the corresponding heating element (para. 46) and then determines temperature through the resistance measurement (paras. 19, 51) by measuring the voltage drop of the reference resistors and voltage source and forward the measurement to the control device (para. 46; “based on output of the operational amplifier”), wherein
the control device controls the switching device (para. 47) such that the detection of resistance is performed one at a time (see para. 47) and sequentially (para. 61) (“temperature detection performed in different periods of time”),
such that the control device includes a pressure sensor for controlling the heating elements (para. 44) and independently controls the heating elements (para. 45) and performs measurements of the resistance of the heating elements (para. 45) during inhalation (para. 50) wherein during a period duration (33), different heating elements (36) may be measured sequentially on the various heating elements (para. 61), wherein the heating elements are repeatedly heated (see Fig. 4).
Kessler further discloses that the device is “characterized in that the control and measurement device (22) is provided with at least one reference resistor (25), which is series-connected with the at least one heating element (36); ([0076]). This description includes a configuration where one reference resistor is series-connected with a plurality of heating elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the printed circuit board of Goch to include the circuit of Kessler because the circuit would allow for measurement of the temperature of the heating devices to diagnose an operation status of the heating element (e.g. wrong liquid, no liquid, not enough liquid) thereby reducing the potential risk of overheating and correlated emission of pollutants (Kessler; Para. 6 and 19).
However, modified Goch does not explicitly teach the resistor is shared by the first conductive path and the second conductive path, wherein a first hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the first load and a second hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the second load. Rather, Goch, as modified by Kessler, discloses that each reference resistor (Kessler, 25) is connected to a respective heating element (Kessler, 36), wherein the reference resistors (Kessler, 25) are connected in parallel relative to each other (see Fig. 2 of Kessler) and does not illustrate a configuration of only one reference resistor being series-connected with a plurality of heating elements as suggested by Kessler ([0076]).
LibreTexts evidences the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art regarding the physics of circuit arrangements. Specifically, LibreTexts shows that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that two resistors (R1 and R2) connected in parallel to a voltage source (Fig. 10.3.4(a); p. 4) can be reduced to an equivalent resistor (Req) having an equivalent resistance (RP) (Fig. 10.3.4(b); pp. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted Kessler’s parallel reference resistor arrangement for a single resistor connected in series because (a) Kessler suggests a configuration where only one reference resistor is connected to a plurality of heating elements (see [0076]) and (b) such a modification would have involved a mere substitution of known resistor arrangements. Moreover, such a modification would have simplified the circuit element (reducing the number of resistor elements) but would not have changed the principle operation of Kessler and would still allow the switching device to define a single connection between each heating element and the reference resistor to be defined to perform precise measurement thereof ([0047]).
One of skill in the art would appreciate that such a modification would have resulted in the following configuration (see annotated Fig. 2 above) including a first hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the first load and a second hardware node electrically connecting the resistor to the second load, the resistor and the first load are connected in series via the first hardware node, and the resistor and the second series are connected via the second hardware node.
Regarding the claim limitation “a switch… switchable between the first conductive path…and the second conductive path” this limitation has been considered, and construed as the manner of operating an apparatus that adds no additional structure to the apparatus as claimed. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Since modified Goch’s switch device, operational amplifier, and circuit element are the same as instantly claimed, it is capable of being operated with similar if not identical claimed characteristics. Specifically, modified Goch’s switching device which provides an electrical connection between the heating element and corresponding resistor (Kessler, para. 47) and in which the heating elements are measured sequentially (Kessler, para. 61) and therefore capable of measuring a first series circuit formed between the first heating element and first resistor, and the second heating element and the second resistor sequentially. Moreover, modified Goch discloses a situation where the first and second heating elements (Kessler, 36) are turned on during an inhalation period (Kessler, 33; para. 50), and the control device measures the resistance of the heating elements (Kessler, 36) sequentially (Kessler, para. 61; i.e. the first heating element is measured and then the second heating element is measured), all of which takes place when both the first and the second heating elements are turned on (i.e. the second heating element is turned on while the first heating element is measured; the first heating element is turned on while the second heating element is measured).
Moreover, modified Goch is silent is silent as to while receiving an aerosol generation request, the processing device repeats heating the first load and the second load periodically, and in one cycle of heating the first load and the second load, the processing device first starts heating the first load, next starts heating the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed, then stops the heating of the first load when a predetermined time elapses from the start of the heating of the first load, and after that stops the heating of the second load. Specifically, modified Goch discloses that both the first and second heating elements are turned on during an inhalation in which the processing device sequentially performs the temperature detection process of the first and second heating elements (as modified by Kessler above).
Egoyants teaches an apparatus for volatilizing a smokeable material (abstract) comprising a heater (3) comprising two or more heating regions (10) that are activated sequentially, one after the other, in response to a single initial puff (para. 71), for example at regular, predetermined intervals over the expected inhalation period (para. 71). Moreover, Egoyants teaches that activating individual heating regions rather than the entire heater means that the energy required to heat the smokable material is reduced and therefore the maximum required output of the energy source is reduced thus requiring a smaller and lighter energy source (para. 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of activating the heaters sequentially in response to a single initial puff as in Egoyants with the method of performing the measurements of the heater elements sequentially at switching on, switching off, and/or during an inhalation as in Kessler to reduce the amount of energy required to heat the smokable material and thus beneficially reducing the size energy source (Egoyants; para. 72).
Lastly, modified Goch is silent as to the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed and the heating of the second load is stopped while supplying the second load with a lower voltage than a voltage applied to the second load in the heating of the second load, and the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the first load during a period when the heating of the first load is stopped and the heating of the second load is performed while supplying the first load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the first load in the heating of the first load.
Taschner teaches a vaporizer (abstract) comprising a heater that is controlled by heater control circuitry ([0029]) using a four-point resistive measurement ([0056]) which includes a precision resistance measurement circuit to track the resistance of the heater and uses two smaller leads (506) to sense a low voltage drop across a region of the heater by applying a testing current (e.g., a small but known constant current) that is different than the heating current used to heat the heater at high temperatures and may be applied to the heater when taking measurements between heating ([0055], [0060]; see also [0029], describing applying a smaller current to measure a voltage drop), such that the four-point measurement control determines the temperature of the heater with a relatively fine resolution ([0029]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a lower current corresponds to a lower voltage applied according to Ohm’s law (V = IR). Thus, Taschner teaches applying a lower voltage to the heating element for the temperature measurement than a voltage normally applied to cause vaporization.
It would have been obvious to said skilled artisan to have added Taschner’s four-point resistive measurement system and applied the method of applying a lower current (and thus a lower voltage) to the heater to modified Goch in order to obtain the predictable result of determining the temperature of the heater with the benefit of making such a determination with a relatively fine resolution (Taschner; [0029], [0060]) which gives a more accurate resistance measurement (Taschner; [0056]).
Regarding the claim limitation “while receiving an aerosol generation request, the processing device repeats heating the first load and the second load periodically, and in one cycle of heating the first load and the second load, the processing device first starts heating the first load, next starts heating the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed, then stops the heating of the first load when a predetermined time elapses from the start of the heating of the first load, and after that stops the heating of the second load, the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the second load during a period when the heating of the first load is performed and the heating of the second load is stopped while supplying the second load with a lower voltage than a voltage applied to the second load in the heating of the second load, and the processing device performs the temperature detection process of the first load during a period when the heating of the first load is stopped and the heating of the second load is performed while supplying the first load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the first load in the heating of the first load,” modified Goch operates such that control device repeats heating of the heating elements (see Fig. 4) by sequentially activating the first and second heaters during a single inhalation for a predetermined period (Egoyants; para. 71) and sequentially measuring (Kessler, para. 61) the heating elements at switching on, switching off, and/or during inhalation (Kessler, para. 50) by applying a lower current/voltage (Taschner; [0055]). This operation reads on the claimed limitation, as described below.
In response to an inhalation, modified Goch would first activate the first heater such that the second and third heaters have yet to be activated (i.e., switching on the first load and during a single inhalation; “first starts heating the first load”). During the activation of the first heater in which the second heater is deactivated (i.e., switching on the first heater and during inhalation; “period when the heating of the first load is performed and the heating of the second load is stopped”), the control device would sequentially measure the plurality of heating elements. This involves configuring the switching device to select and measure the first conductive path with the first heating element, then select and measure the second conductive path with the second heating element (“temperature detection process of the second load”), and finally to select and measure a third conductive path including the third heating element. Such a temperature measurement includes sending a lower current/voltage to the second heater to perform the temperature detection of the second heating element (“supplying the second load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the second load in the heating of the second load”).
Afterwards, the second heater is activated during the single puff (i.e., sequentially activating the first and second heaters during a single inhalation; “next starts heating the second load”). During activation of the second heater, the first heater is then deactivated after a predetermined period (i.e., switching on the second heater, switching off the first heater, and during a single inhalation; “then stop heating of the first load when a predetermined time elapses from the start of heating of the first load”). The control device again sequentially selects and measures each of the heating elements. This involves configuring the switching device to select the first conductive path for measuring the first heating element (“temperature detection process of the first load during a period when the heating of the first load is stopped and the heating of the second load is performed”), then to select the second conductive path for measuring the second heating element, and finally to select the third conductive path for measuring the third heating element. Such a temperature measurement includes sending a lower current/voltage to the first heater to perform the temperature detection of the first heating element (“supplying the first load with a lower voltage than a voltage supplied to the first load in the heating of the first load”).
Lastly, the first heater and the second heater are deactivated and the third heater is activated (“after that stops the heating of the second load”). During activation of the third heater, the control device finally sequentially measures the plurality of heating elements which would involve measuring the first heating element, the second heating element, and the third heating element.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler et al. in view of Egoyants et al. and Taschner et al., and evidenced by LibreTexts, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sur (US 2019/0274353).
Regarding claim 21, modified Kessler discloses the power supply unit as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
However, modified Kessler is silent as to a regulator configured to step down a voltage to provide an output voltage, wherein the output voltage is an operation voltage for both the processing device and the operational amplifier.
Sur teaches an aerosol delivery device (abstract) comprising a control component (208; Fig. 7B) coupled to a heating element (220) including an operational amplifier (706) and a buck regulator (704; “regulator”) configured to step down the voltage and step up the current from a power source (212; [0105]; “output voltage”) to the heating element and operational amplifier (see Fig. 7B; see also [0007], [0017], and [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the buck regulator as in Sur to modified Kessler’s circuit design in order to obtain the predictable result of stepping down the voltage and stepping up the current from the power source to the heating element (Sur; [0105]) with the benefit of providing sufficient current flow for powering the heating element in a way that would more quickly/rapidly activate the heating element while utilizing a power source that is smaller in size that it can more easily be handled (Sur; [0044]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Reevell (US 2017/0245551) teaches an electric circuitry comprising a resistor having a known resistance in series with at least one heating element ([0079]).
Soriano et al. (US 2019/0364971) teaches an aerosol generation system where a shunt resistor is arranged in series with or parallel to the heating system ([0071]), wherein the heating system may comprise a single or multiple heating elements ([0103]).
/SONNY V NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755