DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on March 9, 2026 was received. Claims 1 and 19-20 were amended. Claim 14-18 was canceled. Claim 20 was added.
The text of those sections of Title 35. U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action Issued December 9, 2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (Electrochemical Copper Metallization of Glass Substrates Mediated by Solution-Phase Deposition of Adhesion-Promotion Layers) in view of Baumann (WO2017214179A1) and Dvash (US20200331196).
Regarding claim 1, Miller teaches a method of copper metallizing a glass substrate (abstract) (a method for forming a glass structure having a metallized surface portion). Miller teaches to provide a glass substrate with an adhesion promoting layer of Pd-TiO2 to form a catalyst layer (catalyst component), thus, Miller teaches to provide a glass structure formed by a first flowable material (for the glass substrate, first and third component) and a second flowable material with catalyst component (Pd is a catalyst/at least second additional component, TiO2 is a glass forming material/third additional component, see Baurmann paragraphs 0046-0047 0061) (providing a glass structure formed by a first material and a second material forming a catalyst component) (page D630 Experimental, right column paragraphs 2 and 4). Miller teaches to expose the glass structure to a copper electroless plating bath containing copper sulfate (metal salt) to form the copper plating layer on the surface of the glass structure (D630 right column paragraph 6 to D631 left column first paragraph, see figure 1) (exposing the glass structure to a bath containing a metal salt during which nucleation occurs and a metallic surface coating is formed on at least a portion of an outer surface of the glass structure containing the catalyst component).
Miller teaches the Pd-TiO2 layer is formed on a glass substrate for the electroless plating but does not explicitly teach the glass structure, the glass substrate (from a first material) and the Pd-TiO2 layer (from a second material), is formed by using flowable material, adapted to form a unitary glass structure in a printing operating. However, Baumann teaches a method of making a glass component with custom-tailored composition profiles by additively manufacture, direct ink write (paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0008, 0028 and 0043). Baumann teaches to form the glass structure by printing a first ink comprising a glass component (first flowable material having a first and third component adapted to form a glass), a second ink comprising the glass component with a catalyst (second flowable material having the first component and third component) and a second compound of metal/ metal ions/ metal salt, which is the catalyst in Miller (at least second component) (paragraphs 0009, 0045, 0052, 0053, 0055 and 0063), wherein the glass component is silica and/or titania (paragraphs 0046-0047), which overlaps with Miller’s adhesion layer Pd-TiO2 component. Baumann teaches the glass forming material are silica titania mixture (paragraphs 0046-0047), thus indicating both first and second flowable material comprising a first component (silica) and a third component (titania, which is different from the first component). Baumann teaches the printing is conducted in a printing nozzle device 208 by different inks for the first ink and a second ink 203, 204 to form a monolithic glass structure (unitary, integral) with two portions (a first portion and second portion of the unitary glass structure) (paragraphs 0117, 0126, 0119-0120 and 0122 see figure 2b). Baumann’s printing method is considered as a printing operation as both inks were extruding from the same nozzle during the printing process. Baumann teaches to print the first flowable material to form a 3D printed structure (initially forming a unitary structure in a first manufacturing by direct ink write) and then supply the second flowable material to selectively form additional 3D glass structure with embedded metal/ metal ions/ metal salt on it (once the unitary glass structure is formed, performing a second direct ink write, additive manufacturing printing operation) (paragraphs 0072-0073, 0097, 0119-0120, see figure 2B, see for example paragraphs 0121-0122, 0126-0128 and figure 4A and 4B). The claim does not require the first and second direct ink write additive manufacturing have to be different; instant specification indicated the two direct ink write additive manufacturing are the same. Baumann teaches the method may create a compositional change (gradient or pattern) that may not be symmetrical about any axis, for example, a pattern may be formed as a complete 3d structure (paragraphs 0116 and 0073), which indicate the second flowable material is applied to a first portion of the unitary glass structure after the first flowable material has been applied to form a complete 3d structure (once the unitary glass structure is formed and the first, direct ink write, additive manufacturing printing operation is complete, then patterning a pattern on an upper surface portion of the first portion of the unitary glass structure through a second direct ink write, additive manufacturing printing operation using a second flowable material). Regarding the shape of the pattern, it is well settled that the configuration of a claimed feature was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature (patterning having at least one linear section) was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the configuration of pattern to include at least one linear section in light of the teaching of Baumann. Thus, Baumann teaches the method allows to form pattern with different compositions using the two inks, which reads on the limitation of the second flowable material is applied using a print head to selectively cover sub portions of the first flowable material to form a predetermined pattern on a surface portion of the unitary glass structure. In addition, Baumann teaches a monolithic glass structure with costume tailor dopant component (catalyst mixed with glass) is formed (paragraphs 0010, 0002 and 0072), thus, indicating the first flowable material and second flowable material comprising the same glass forming component (first component, which is silica and/or titania) with the second flowable material comprising additional catalyst component. Therefore, Baumann teaches forming a glass structure using a first flowing material having a first component and third component adapted to form a glass, and a second flowable material having a first component and third (silica and titania) and at least one additional second component (Pd catalyst, metal/ metal ion/ metal salt), the second flowable material forming a catalyst component which forms an activated surface of the glass structure and a structural portion of the glass structure. Miller teaches the catalyst component is formed on the planar surface to form an activated surface of the glass structure (see figure 1 and page D630 Experimental, right column paragraphs 2 and 4) and Baumann teaches the second flowable material is printed selectively on the planar upper surface portion of the unitary glass structure exposed (see figure 2B), thus, the combination with Baumann would result in the second flowable material being formed on the planar upper surface portion of the glass structure formed by the first flowable material. Baumann further teaches to treat the 3D structure formed by the first and second flowable materials with heat to remove solvents and organic components (paragraphs 0105-0106). Since Miller teaches the metallic surface coating is formed on the glass structure area where the catalyst is formed, thus the combination of Miller and Baumann teaches the metallic surface coating is formed on pattern of the second flowable material which comprises the catalyst (the metallic surface coating being in accordance with the predetermined pattern). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention form the glass structure using a first flowable material and a second flowable material with catalyst using the additively manufactured printing method as suggested by Baumann in the method of Miller because Baumann teaches such method is able to form a monolithic glass structure with costume tailor dopant component with specific pattern and gradient composition (catalyst mixed with glass) (paragraphs 0010, 0002, 0072 and 0116 ad 0118), which is desired by Miller as Miller is intended to form the Pd-TiO2 layer with high adhesion to the glass substrate, and monolith structure of the glass with the Pd component embedded in the surface would be ultimately the highest adhesion to achieve.
Miller in view of Baumann teaches all the limitation of the claim. Nevertheless, Dvash further teaches a method of additive manufacturing of a three dimensional object having an agent which promotes electroless metal deposition dispersed therein in a configured pattern (abstract). Dvash teaches the method comprising dispensing a first material and a second material comprising an agent (electrically conductive material) which promote electroless metal deposition (catalyst), wherein dispensing the first and second material is according to a secondary configured pattern and the electrically conductive material dispersed onto at least a portion of the object in the secondary configured pattern (paragraphs 0030-0035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the catalyst pattern using 3D printing as suggested by Dvash in the method of Miller and Baumann because Dvash teaches such method is able to provide three dimensional objects with wide variety of external and or internal surfaces and utilized same to selectively form electrically conductive material in a wide variety of patterns, which can be utilized in application and functional electric devices, antennas, capacitors, electrical circuits, electromagnetic shields, and the like (pargraph 0109).
Regarding claim 2, Baumann teaches to sinter the glass structure after it is formed (paragraph 00111), which is before the electroless plating step in Miller.
Regarding claim 3, Baumann teaches the second flowable material (used to form the metal structure on the surface of the glass structure) comprises metal component and salt (paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0055, 0053, 0061 0063).
Regarding claim 4, Baumann teaches the second flowing material (used to form the metal structure on the surface of the glass structure) comprises a flowable mixture of salt, SiO2 and metal (paragraphs 0055, 0053, 0061 0063), and Miller teaches the metal is Pd (abstract, page D630 Experimental, right column paragraphs 2 and 4)
Regarding claim 5, Baumann teaches the second flowable material (used to form the metal structure on the surface of the glass structure) comprises a flowable mixture of salt, SiO2, TiO2 and metal (paragraphs 0046-0047, 0055, 0053, 0061 0063), and Miller teaches the metal is Pd (abstract, page D630 Experimental, right column paragraphs 2 and 4).
Regarding claims 6-7, Miller teaches to heat the bath of the metal salt to 35ºC (D630 right column paragraph 6 to D631 left column first paragraph, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Baumann teaches the drying step is performed at the temperature below the boiling point of the solvent (paragraphs 0105), which includes water and alcohol (paragraph 0051) with boiling point below 100ºC. Thus, Baumann teaches the heating temperature in the drying step overlaps with the claimed range of room temperature to about 150ºC. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Baumann teaches the treating step includes a burnout step that is performed at the temperature of 250ºC to 600ºC (paragraph 0106).
Regarding claim 10, Miller teaches the metal salt is copper sulfate (D630 right column paragraph 6 to D631 left column first paragraph, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Miller teaches the electroless plating bath comprises formaldehyde as reducing agent (D630 right column paragraph 6 to D631 left column first paragraph, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Baumann teaches the burnout step to remove organic and solvent comprises heating the glass structure for 0.5-24 hours (paragraph 0106), which touches the claimed range. When a touching or overlapping range is found in the prior art, this is considered sufficient to support a holding of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 13, Baumann teaches sintering is performed at 500-1600ºC (paragraph 0111), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 19, Miller teaches a method of copper metallizing a glass substrate (abstract) (a method for forming a glass structure having a metallized surface portion). Miller teaches to provide a glass substrate with an adhesion promoting layer of Pd-TiO2 to form a catalyst layer (catalyst component), thus, Miller teaches to provide a glass structure formed by a first material (first component) (for the glass substrate) and a second material with catalyst component (Pd is a catalyst/at least a second additional component, TiO2 is a glass forming material/ first component, see Baurmann paragraph 0061) (providing a glass structure formed by a first material and a second material forming a catalyst component) (page D630 Experimental, right column paragraphs 2 and 4). Miller teaches to expose the glass structure to a copper electroless plating bath containing copper sulfate (metal salt) to form the copper plating layer on the surface of the glass structure (D630 right column paragraph 6 to D631 left column first paragraph, see figure 1) (exposing the glass structure to a bath containing a metal salt during which nucleation occurs and a metallic surface coating is formed on at least a portion of an outer surface of the glass structure containing the catalyst component).
Miller teaches the Pd-TiO2 layer is formed on a glass substrate for the electroless plating but does not explicitly teach the glass structure, the glass substrate (from a first material) and the Pd-TiO2 layer (from a second material), is formed by using flowable material, adapted to form a glass. However, Baumann teaches a method of making a glass component with custom-tailored composition profiles by direct ink write additively manufacture (paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0008, 0028 and 0043). Baumann teaches to form the glass structure by printing a first ink comprising a glass component (first flowable material having a first component adapted to form a glass), a second ink comprising the first component (second flowable material having the first component) and a second compound of metal/ metal ions/ metal salt, which is the catalyst in Miller (and a second component forming a catalyst which is different from the first component) (paragraphs 0009, 0045, 0052, 0053, 0055 and 0063), wherein the glass component is silica and/or titania (paragraphs 0046-0047), which overlaps with Miller’s adhesion layer Pd-TiO2 component. Baumann teaches to print the first flowable material to form a 3D printed structure (initially carry out a first direct ink write additive manufacturing operation to form a first portion of a unitary glass structure) and then supply the second flowable material to selectively form additional 3D glass structure with embedded metal/ metal ions/ metal salt on it (performing a patterning operation to create a predetermined pattern on the first portion of the unitary glass structure using a second direct ink write, additive manufacturing operation) (paragraphs 0072-0073, 0097, 0119-0120, see figure 2B, see for example paragraphs 0121-0122, 0126-0128 and figure 4A and 4B). The claim does not require the first and second direct ink additive manufacturing to be different, thus Baumann’s direct ink additive manufacture reads on the claimed limitations. Baumann teaches the method may create a compositional change (gradient or pattern) that may not be symmetrical about any axis, for example, a pattern may be formed as a complete 3d structure (paragraphs 0116 and 0073), which indicate the second flowable material is applied to a first portion of the unitary glass structure after the first flowable material has been applied to form a complete 3d structure. Regarding the shape of the pattern, it is well settled that the configuration of a claimed feature was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature (pattern includes a plurality of parallel sections) was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B). Thus, Baumann teaches the method allows to form pattern with different/gradient compositions using the two inks, which reads on the limitation of the second flowable material is applied using a print head to selectively cover sub portions of the first flowable material to form a predetermined pattern on a surface portion of the unitary glass structure. Baumann teaches a monolithic glass structure with costume tailor dopant component (catalyst mixed with glass) is formed (paragraphs 0010, 0002 and 0072), thus, indicating the first flowable material and second flowable material comprising the same glass forming component (first component, which is silica and/or titania,) with the second flowable material comprising additional catalyst component. Therefore, Baumann teaches forming a structure using a first flowable material, adapted to form a glass (silica and/or titania), and a second flowable material which includes a catalyst (silica and/or titania, and metal/ metal ions/ metal salt), formed on the surface of the 3D structure formed by first flowable material as the part of the structural portion and activated portion (second flowable material is applied to form at least a designated portion of an outer surface of the structure and the first flowable material forms a reminder of the structure). Baumann teaches the printing is conducted in a printing nozzle device 208 by different inks for the first ink and a second ink 203, 204 to form a monolithic glass structure (unitary, integral) with two portions (a first portion and second portion of the unitary glass structure) (paragraphs 0117, 0126, 0119-0120 and 0122 see figure 2b). Baumann’s printing method is considered as a single printing operation as both inks were extruding from the same nozzle during the printing process. Baumann further teaches to heat treat the 3D structure formed by the first and second inks with heat to remove solvents and organic components (paragraphs 0105-0106). Baumann teaches to sinter the glass structure to produce a consolidated structure after it is formed (paragraph 00111), which is before the electroless plating step in Miller. Miller teaches the catalyst component is formed on the upper surface to form an activated surface of the glass structure (see figure 1 and page D630 Experimental, right column paragraphs 2 and 4) and Baumann teaches the second flowable material is printed selectively on the planar upper surface portion of the unitary glass structure exposed (see figure 2B), thus, the combination with Baumann would result in the second flowable material being formed on the upper surface portion of the glass structure formed by the first flowable material. Since Miller teaches the metallic surface coating is formed on the glass structure area where the catalyst is formed, thus the combination of Miller and Baumann teaches the metallic surface coating is formed on pattern of the second flowable material which comprises the catalyst (the metallic surface is formed only on a designated portion of the upper surface portion of the glass structure containing the second flowable material having the catalyst, and wherein the designated portion is in accordance with the predetermined pattern). Regarding the shape of the pattern, it is well settled that the configuration of a claimed feature was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature (serpentine pattern) was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the configuration of pattern to include at least one linear section in light of the teaching of Baumann. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention form the glass structure using a first flowable material and a second flowable material with catalyst using the additively manufactured printing method as suggested by Baumann in the method of Miller because Baumann teaches such method is able to form a monolithic glass structure with costume tailor dopant component with specific pattern and gradient composition (catalyst mixed with glass) (paragraphs 0010, 0002, 0072 and 0116 ad 0118), which is desired by Miller as Miller is intended to form the Pd-TiO2 layer with high adhesion to the glass substrate, and monolith structure of the glass with the Pd component embedded in the surface would be ultimately the highest adhesion to achieve.
Miller in view of Baumann teaches all the limitation of the claim. Nevertheless, Dvash further teaches a method of additive manufacturing of a three dimensional object having an agent which promotes electroless metal deposition dispersed therein in a configured pattern (abstract). Dvash teaches the method comprising dispensing a first material and a second material comprising an agent (electrically conductive material) which promote electroless metal deposition (catalyst), wherein dispensing the first and second material is according to a secondary configured pattern and the electrically conductive material dispersed onto at least a portion of the object in the secondary configured pattern (paragraphs 0030-0035). Dvash further teaches the secondary pattern is a serpentine pattern as claimed (see figures 9-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the catalyst pattern using 3D printing as suggested by Dvash in the method of Miller and Baumann because Dvash teaches such method is able to provide three dimensional objects with wide variety of external and or internal surfaces and utilized same to selectively form electrically conductive material in a wide variety of patterns, which can be utilized in application and functional electric devices, antennas, capacitors, electrical circuits, electromagnetic shields, and the like (pargraph 0109).
Regarding claim 20, Miller teaches a method of copper metallizing a glass substrate (abstract) (a method for forming a glass structure having a metallized surface portion). Miller teaches to provide a glass substrate with an adhesion promoting layer of Pd-TiO2 to form a catalyst layer (catalyst component), thus, Miller teaches to provide a glass structure formed by a first flowable material (for the glass substrate, first and third component) and a second flowable material with catalyst component (Pd is a catalyst/at least second additional component, TiO2 is a glass forming material/third additional component, see Baurmann paragraphs 0046-0047 0061) (providing a glass structure formed by a first material and a second material forming a catalyst component) (page D630 Experimental, right column paragraphs 2 and 4). Miller teaches to expose the glass structure to a copper electroless plating bath containing copper sulfate (metal salt) to form the copper plating layer on the surface of the glass structure (D630 right column paragraph 6 to D631 left column first paragraph, see figure 1) (exposing the glass structure to a bath containing a metal salt during which nucleation occurs and a metallic surface coating is formed on at least a portion of an outer surface of the glass structure containing the catalyst component).
Miller teaches the Pd-TiO2 layer is formed on a glass substrate for the electroless plating but does not explicitly teach the glass structure, the glass substrate (from a first material) and the Pd-TiO2 layer (from a second material), is formed by using flowable material, adapted to form a unitary glass structure in a printing operating. However, Baumann teaches a method of making a glass component with custom-tailored composition profiles by additively manufacture, direct ink write (paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0008, 0028 and 0043). Baumann teaches to form the glass structure by printing a first ink comprising a glass component (first flowable material having a first and third component adapted to form a glass), a second ink comprising the glass component with a catalyst (second flowable material having the first component and third component) and a second compound of metal/ metal ions/ metal salt, which is the catalyst in Miller (at least second component) (paragraphs 0009, 0045, 0052, 0053, 0055 and 0063), wherein the glass component is silica and/or titania (paragraphs 0046-0047), which overlaps with Miller’s adhesion layer Pd-TiO2 component. Baumann teaches the glass forming material are silica titania mixture (paragraphs 0046-0047), thus indicating both first and second flowable material comprising a first component (silica) and a third component (titania, which is different from the first component). In addition, titania is claimed inventions adhesion agent to assist in adhering the second component to the first portion of the unitary glass structure. Baumann teaches the printing is conducted in a printing nozzle device 208 by different inks for the first ink and a second ink 203, 204 to form a monolithic glass structure (unitary, integral) with two portions (a first portion and second portion of the unitary glass structure) (paragraphs 0117, 0126, 0119-0120 and 0122 see figure 2b). Baumann’s printing method is considered as a printing operation as both inks were extruding from the same nozzle during the printing process. Baumann teaches to print the first flowable material to form a 3D printed structure (initially forming a unitary structure in a first manufacturing by direct ink write) and then supply the second flowable material to selectively form additional 3D glass structure with embedded metal/ metal ions/ metal salt on it (once the unitary glass structure is formed, performing a second direct ink write, additive manufacturing printing operation) (paragraphs 0072-0073, 0097, 0119-0120, see figure 2B, see for example paragraphs 0121-0122, 0126-0128 and figure 4A and 4B). The claim does not require the first and second direct ink write additive manufacturing have to be different; instant specification indicated the two direct ink write additive manufacturing are the same. Baumann teaches the method may create a compositional change (gradient or pattern) that may not be symmetrical about any axis, for example, a pattern may be formed as a complete 3d structure (paragraphs 0116 and 0073), which indicate the second flowable material is applied to a first portion of the unitary glass structure after the first flowable material has been applied to form a complete 3d structure (once the unitary glass structure is formed and the first, direct ink write, additive manufacturing printing operation is complete, then patterning a pattern on an upper surface portion of the first portion of the unitary glass structure through a second direct ink write, additive manufacturing printing operation using a second flowable material). Regarding the shape of the pattern, it is well settled that the configuration of a claimed feature was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature (serpentine pattern having a plurality of liner, parallel portions interconnected by uniform, U-shaped sections, to form a continuous, unbroken path) was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the configuration of pattern to include at least one linear section in light of the teaching of Baumann. Thus, Baumann teaches the method allows to form pattern with different compositions using the two inks, which reads on the limitation of the second flowable material is applied using a print head to selectively cover sub portions of the first flowable material to form a predetermined pattern on a surface portion of the unitary glass structure. In addition, Baumann teaches a monolithic glass structure with costume tailor dopant component (catalyst mixed with glass) is formed (paragraphs 0010, 0002 and 0072), thus, indicating the first flowable material and second flowable material comprising the same glass forming component (first component, which is silica and/or titania) with the second flowable material comprising additional catalyst component. Therefore, Baumann teaches forming a glass structure using a first flowing material having a first component and third component adapted to form a glass, and a second flowable material having a first component and third (silica and titania) and at least one additional second component (Pd catalyst, metal/ metal ion/ metal salt), the second flowable material forming a catalyst component which forms an activated surface of the glass structure and a structural portion of the glass structure. Miller teaches the catalyst component is formed on the planar surface to form an activated surface of the glass structure (see figure 1 and page D630 Experimental, right column paragraphs 2 and 4) and Baumann teaches the second flowable material is printed selectively on the planar upper surface portion of the unitary glass structure exposed (see figure 2B), thus, the combination with Baumann would result in the second flowable material being formed on the planar upper surface portion of the glass structure formed by the first flowable material. Baumann further teaches to treat the 3D structure formed by the first and second flowable materials with heat to remove solvents and organic components (paragraphs 0105-0106). Since Miller teaches the metallic surface coating is formed on the glass structure area where the catalyst is formed, thus the combination of Miller and Baumann teaches the metallic surface coating is formed on pattern of the second flowable material which comprises the catalyst (the metallic surface coating being in accordance with the predetermined pattern). Baumann teaches the burnout step to remove organic and solvent comprises heating the glass structure for 0.5-24 hours (paragraph 0106), which touches the claimed range. When a touching or overlapping range is found in the prior art, this is considered sufficient to support a holding of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549. Baumann teaches sintering is performed at 500-1600ºC (paragraph 0111), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention form the glass structure using a first flowable material and a second flowable material with catalyst using the additively manufactured printing method as suggested by Baumann in the method of Miller because Baumann teaches such method is able to form a monolithic glass structure with costume tailor dopant component with specific pattern and gradient composition (catalyst mixed with glass) (paragraphs 0010, 0002, 0072 and 0116 ad 0118), which is desired by Miller as Miller is intended to form the Pd-TiO2 layer with high adhesion to the glass substrate, and monolith structure of the glass with the Pd component embedded in the surface would be ultimately the highest adhesion to achieve.
Miller in view of Baumann teaches all the limitation of the claim. Nevertheless, Dvash further teaches a method of additive manufacturing of a three dimensional object having an agent which promotes electroless metal deposition dispersed therein in a configured pattern (abstract). Dvash teaches the method comprising dispensing a first material and a second material comprising an agent (electrically conductive material) which promote electroless metal deposition (catalyst), wherein dispensing the first and second material is according to a secondary configured pattern and the electrically conductive material dispersed onto at least a portion of the object in the secondary configured pattern (paragraphs 0030-0035). Dvash further teaches the secondary pattern is a serpentine pattern as claimed (see figures 9-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the catalyst pattern using 3D printing as suggested by Dvash in the method of Miller and Baumann because Dvash teaches such method is able to provide three dimensional objects with wide variety of external and or internal surfaces and utilized same to selectively form electrically conductive material in a wide variety of patterns, which can be utilized in application and functional electric devices, antennas, capacitors, electrical circuits, electromagnetic shields, and the like (pargraph 0109).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
Miller and Baumann do not involves creating a patterned metal surface portion on only a portion of the upper surface of a glass structure, or the claimed predetermined pattern.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
As recited above, Miller teaches the electroless plating metal is only formed on the surface of the catalyst, while Baumann teaches a pattern with second flowable material (catalyst) is formed on the first portion formed by the first flowable material, wherein the pattern is complete structure. In addition, it is well settled that the configuration of a claimed feature was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature (the shape of pattern) was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the configuration of pattern to include at least one linear section in light of the teaching of Baumann. Thus, the combination of references teaches forming a pattern with second flowable material containing the catalyst on the first glass portion for electroless plating only on the pattern. Nevertheless, Dvash teaches 3D printing method of forming catalyst portion/pattern for selectively electroless plating (see rejections above).
Conclusion
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717