DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment filed on 4-29-2025 is acknowledged. Claims 18-23 have been canceled. Claims 24-29 are pending and currently under examination.
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 24-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McConnell et al. (Vaccine Vol. 29 pages 1-5 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022), Moffatt et al. (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Vol. 54 No. 12, pages 4971-4977 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022 and van der Ley et al. (Journal of Endotoxin Research Vol. 9, No. 2, pages 124-128 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022) is withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 24-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McConnell et al. (Vaccine Vol. 29 page 1-5 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022), Moffatt et al. (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Vol. 55 No. 12, pages 3022-3024 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022) and van der Ley et al. (Journal of Endotoxin Research Vol. 9, No. 2, pages 124-128 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022) is withdrawn.
New Grounds of Rejection
35 USC § 103
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy Vol. 56 No. 1, pages 59-69 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022) and of Campbell, A.M. (Monoclonal Antibody Technology, Elsevier, N.Y. 1984; chapter 1, pages 1-32).
Henry et al. disclose an LPS-deficient strain of Acinetobacter baumannii comprising a mutation in the lpxA gene (see abstract).
Henry et al. differs from the instant invention in that they don’t explicitly disclose the use of said mutant strain of Acinetobacter baumannii to produce antibodies.
Campbell discloses that it is customary for any group working on a macromolecule to both clone the genes coding for it and to make antibodies to it even when there is no clear objective for their application (see page 29, section 1.3.4).
Consequently, it would have been obvious for one of skill in the art to make antibodies to the LPS-deficient strain of Acinetobacter baumannii of Henry et al. Moreover, the KSR decision sets forth “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill”. Given that Henry et al. disclose a LPS-deficient strain of Acinetobacter baumannii and the production of antibodies utilizing known antigens is well established in the art, the production of antibodies utilizing the LPS-deficient strain of Acinetobacter baumannii as disclosed by Henry et al. well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. Hence, the requirements of obviousness under the KSR decision are met.
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (PLOS One Vol. 9, Issue 6, pages 1-13) and Henry et al. (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy Vol. 56 No. 1, pages 59-69 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022).
Huang et al. disclose the use of out membrane vesicles (OMVs) from a Acinetobacter baumannii strain to produce antibodies (see abstract for example). Huang et al. further disclose that the LPS content in their may play a role in vaccine toxicity (see page 12).
Huang et al. differ from the instant claims in that they don’t explicitly disclose the use of OMVs from LPS-deficient strains to produce their antibodies.
Henry et al. disclose an LPS-deficient strain of Acinetobacter baumannii comprising a mutation in the lpxA gene (see abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize OMVs from the LPS-deficient strain of Acinetobacter baumannii of Henry et al. to eliminate the possibility of LPS toxicity in their “vaccine compositions”.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success as Huang already disclose the use of OMVs from Acinetobacter baumannii strains.
Claims 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moffatt et al. (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy Vol. 54 No. 12, pages 4971-4977 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022) and of Campbell, A.M. (Monoclonal Antibody Technology, Elsevier, N.Y. 1984; chapter 1, pages 1-32).
Moffatt et al. disclose an LPS-deficient strains of Acinetobacter baumannii ATCC 19606 (see page 4975, right-hand column). Moffatt et al. further disclose that the loss of LPS production is due to mutations in the lpxA, lpxC or lpxD genes (see Table 3 and page 4975, left-hand column).
Moffatt et al. differs from the instant invention in that they don’t explicitly disclose the use of said mutant strain of Acinetobacter baumannii ATCC 19606 to produce antibodies.
Campbell discloses that it is customary for any group working on a macromolecule to both clone the genes coding for it and to make antibodies to it even when there is no clear objective for their application (see page 29, section 1.3.4).
Consequently, it would have been obvious for one of skill in the art to make antibodies to the LPS-deficient strain of Acinetobacter baumannii ATCC 19606 of Moffatt et al. Moreover, the KSR decision sets forth “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill”. Given that Moffatt et al. disclose LPS-deficient strains of Acinetobacter baumannii ATCC 19606 and the production of antibodies utilizing known antigens is well established in the art, the production of antibodies utilizing the LPS-deficient strains of Acinetobacter baumannii ATCC 19606 as disclosed by Moffatt et al. well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. Hence, the requirements of obviousness under the KSR decision are met.
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (PLOS One Vol. 9, Issue 6, pages 1-13) and Moffatt et al. (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy Vol. 54 No. 12, pages 4971-4977 – IDS filed on 2-8-2022).
Huang et al. disclose the use of out membrane vesicles (OMVs) from a Acinetobacter baumannii strain to produce antibodies (see abstract for example). Huang et al. further disclose that the LPS content in their may play a role in vaccine toxicity (see page 12).
Huang et al. differ from the instant claims in that they don’t explicitly disclose the use of OMVs from LPS-deficient strains to produce their antibodies.
Moffatt et al. disclose an LPS-deficient strains of Acinetobacter baumannii ATCC 19606 (see page 4975, right-hand column). Moffatt et al. further disclose that the loss of LPS production is due to mutations in the lpxA, lpxC or lpxD genes (see Table 3 and page 4975, left-hand column).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize OMVs from the LPS-deficient strains of Acinetobacter baumannii ATCC 19606 of Moffatt et al. to eliminate the possibility of LPS toxicity in their “vaccine compositions”.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success as Huang already disclose the use of OMVs from Acinetobacter baumannii strains.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ROBERT A ZEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 November 1, 2025