Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-16, 19-21, 25-26 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US20110124093A1 - cited in IDS 4/8/2022), Tomasso (US5366697A1 – cited in IDS 4/8/2022) and further in view of Simpson (US20190383776A1 – cited in IDS 4/8/2022).
Regarding claims 1, 29, 30, Yamashita teaches an autosampler for dispensing samples (see [0003] which teaches a constant-temperature equipment, which acts as an autosampler, that is used to dispense samples for analysis), the autosampler comprising:
a main body (see [0015] and Fig. 1 which shows a constant-temperature equipment, which also acts as the main body by itself, comprising:
one or more sidewalls (see Fig. 2 which shows the constant-temperature equipment has multiple sides. See the annotated figure below which shows the side walls highlighted in yellow); and
a removeable lid sealed against a top portion of the one or more sidewalls (see Fig. 2 which shows a door 3, which acts as a removeable lid, sealed against the top portion of the sidewalls. See the annotated figure below which shows the door 3, which acts as the removeable lid, circled in blue), whereby a bottom surface of the lid and interior surfaces of the bottom wall and the one or more sidewalls together define a sealable chamber (see Fig. 2 which shows the bottom surface of the door 3, which acts as the lid, a bottom wall circled in green (see annotated Fig below) and the interior surfaces of the sidewalls define the interior of the constant-temperature equipment, which acts as the sealable chamber. See the annotated figure below which shows the interior of the constant-temperature equipment, which acts as a sealable chamber, circled in red. See [0003] which teaches the constant-temperature equipment is formed for maintaining environmental conditions such as temperature, humidity and density which means that the interior of the equipment acts as a sealable chamber);
a sample tray situated within the cavity comprising a plurality of sample holders for holding the samples to be dispensed (see Fig. 2 which shows a sample tray comprising a plurality of sample holders for holding samples to be dispensed. See the annotated figure below which shows the sample tray circled in black. See [0034] which teaches a sample shelf support 4, which acts as a sample tray, that holds a plurality of sample containers, which act as a plurality of samples)
wherein the sample tray is rotatable about a rotation axis that is concentric with the circle (see [0030] and Fig. 15 which teaches a sample table drive 6 which rotates the sample table 5, which acts as the sample tray 5, in a circular motion),
a disc between the sample tray and the body of the autosampler that comprises self-lubricating material as a coating between the sample tray and bottom wall (Fig 13 [0036] shows rolling bodies 19 (discs) between the sample table 5 (sample tray) and the body of the autosampler (bottom wall) comprising low frictional material (self-lubricating material) as a coating [0035]).
Yamashita does not teach explicitly teach that the autosampler dispenses samples to an analytical instrument. However, Yamashita does teach removing the sample table, which contains samples, from the constant-temperature equipment, which acts as the autosampler, and analyzing the samples (see [0078]). Removing the sample table acts as dispensing samples from the autosampler to an analytical instrument.
Furthermore, the act of the autosampler dispensing samples is being as an intended use limitation and that according to MPEP 2114 this limitation does not define the apparatus, since "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In addition, Yamashita teaches a bottom wall (see Fig. 2. See the annotated figure below which shows the bottom wall circled in green) and Yamashita teaches a non-contact coupling configured to rotate the sample tray between a plurality of dispensing positions (see [0081] which teaches a magnetic force, which acts as non-contact coupling, is the driving source for the sample table, which acts as a sample tray. See Fig. 15 and [0040] teaches the sample table 5, which acts as the sample tray, rotates by following rotary movements of the magnet housing 27, which acts as non-contact coupling).
In addition, Yamashita teaches a circular sample table, which acts as a sample tray, with a circumference of rolling bodies 19 (see Fig. 15) but does not explicitly teach wherein the samples holders are disposed about a circumference of a circle.
In the analogous art of magnetic conveyors, Tomasso teaches a circular tray 50, which acts as a sample tray, where the receptacles 60, which act as sample holders, are disposed about a circumference of a circle; the circular tray 50, which acts as the sample tray, is rotatable by its tray frame 52 about a rotation axis that is concentric of a circle (see Fig. 3 and Page 12 Column 6 [0001] Lines 7-9). See the annotated figure below which shows the circular rotational motion of the circular tray 50, which acts as the sample tray, by its tray frame 52 indicated by the blue arrow.
It would be obvious to include receptacles 60, which act as sample holders, (taught by Tomasso) disposed onto the circumference of the sample table, which acts as the sample tray, (taught by Yamashita) for the benefit of maximizing the amount of the samples the sample table, which acts as the sample tray, can hold. Furthermore, a circumference of sample holders makes it easy to dispense specific samples from their holders during the analysis stage (see Specification [0061]).
However, the combination of Yamashita and Tomasso does not teach wherein each dispensing position corresponds to an alignment of a respective sample holder with the aperture. In addition, the combination of Yamashita and Tomasso does not teach a bottom wall having an aperture for dispensing the samples therethrough to the analytical instrument
However, in the analogous art of sample organizers, Simpson teaches injecting a sample, which acts as dispensing, from sample vial carrier, which acts as a sample holder. The sample then flows through the column via a chromatographic flow stream towards the bottom of the column, which acts as the aperture (see [0006]). Simpson further teaches the plurality of sample organizer shelves within the sample manager, which acts as the autosampler, may be movable to selectively align the sample organizer shelves within the sample manager 14, which acts as the autosampler, and a transfer system 100, which acts as a dispensing apparatus with apertures, to transfer samples between the sample manager 14, which acts as the autosampler, and the sample organizer 19 (see [0068], Fig. 4 and 8-14).
It would be obvious to rotate the sample table 5, which acts as the sample tray, via the magnet housing 27, which acts as non-contact coupling, (taught by Yamashita) to align a target sample to an injection mechanism, which acts as a dispensing position, to inject a sample into a column where the sample is eluted from the bottom of the column, which acts as an aperture (taught by Simpson) for the benefit of directly analyzing a specific target sample out of a plurality of samples in the sample tray. Furthermore, aligning the sample tray towards the aperture allows easy dispensing of the samples from the sample tray (see Specification [0074]).
Furthermore, it would be obvious to selectively align sample table 5, which acts as the autosampler, (taught by Yamashita) with a transfer system 100, which acts as a dispensing apparatus with apertures, (taught by Simpson) for the benefit of dispensing specific samples from the sample table 5, which acts as the autosampler, to an analytical instrument for analysis.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the non-contact coupling is configured to exert a force on the sample tray through a surface of the sealable chamber, so as to rotate the sample tray between the plurality of dispensing positions (see Fig. 15 and [0081] which shows the sample table 5 has an electromagnet 80, which exerts a magnetic force on the sample shelf 4, which acts as the sample tray, from the bottom surface of the constant-temperature equipment 1, which acts as a sealable chamber, to rotate the sample shelf 4, which acts as the sample tray, via non-contact coupling, between a plurality of dispensing positions. See [0030] and Fig. 15 which teaches a sample table drive 6 which rotates the sample table 5, which acts as the sample tray 5, in a circular motion between a plurality of dispensing positions).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the non-contact coupling is configured to force the sample tray towards a base of the sealable chamber (see Fig. 15 and [0081] which shows the sample table 5 has an electromagnet 80, which exerts a magnetic force on the sample shelf 4, which acts as the sample tray, to move the sample shelf 4, which acts as the sample tray, via non-contact coupling towards the bottom center of the constant-temperature equipment 1, which acts as the base of the sealable chamber).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the sealable chamber and sample tray comprise a set of one or more projections and a complementary set of one or more openings for aligning the sample tray within the sealable chamber (see Fig. 1 and [0034] which shows a locational tool 20, which acts as a projection, which fits into an opening for aligning the sample shelf support 4, which acts as a sample tray, within the constant-temperature equipment 1, which acts as a sealable chamber).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita further teaches the autosampler comprises a surface between the sample tray and the body of the autosampler that comprises self-lubricating material (see Fig. 13 and [0036] which teaches rolling bodies 19, which act as contact surfaces, on the sample table 5, which acts as a sample tray, is made of low frictional resistance material, which acts as self-lubricating material).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the non-contact coupling is a magnetic non-contact coupling (see [0081] which teaches the sample table 5 has driven magnets arranged at positions, which acts as magnetic non-contact coupling).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita further teaches the non-contact coupling comprises one or more coupling elements on the sample tray and one or more respective coupling elements in the body of the autosampler coupling (see Fig. 2, Fig. 15 and [0011] which teaches the sample table 5, which also acts as a sample tray, has driven magnets 21, which act as coupling elements, and an electromagnet 80 on the housing unit on the bottom of the sample table 5, which acts as respective coupling elements in the body of the autosampler, which are fitted to the driven magnets 21 on the sample table 5).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein one or more coupling elements on the sample tray comprise a permanent magnet (see [0082] which teaches a permanent magnet is used for the driven magnet on the sample table 5, which acts as a sample tray).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 11 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein one or more coupling elements are mounted on a drive plate (see Fig. 15 which shows electromagnets 80 on the housing unit 23, which acts as coupling elements mounted on a drive plate) that is connected to a shaft that is driven by a motor and that is coincident with the rotation axis extended (see [0038] which teaches a gear motor 24 which drives a shaft which is rotatively assembled, which acts as being coincident with the rotation axis, to the housing unit 23, which acts as the drive plate, by a pulley 25b), so as to rotate the sample tray between the plurality of dispensing positions (see [0039] and Fig. 3 which teaches that the rotations of the motor cause the magnet housing 27 which holds the sample table 5, which acts as the sample tray, to rotate between different dispensing positions). See the annotated figure 3 below which shows the gear motor 24 causes magnet housing 27, which also acts as the drive plate and magnetically holds the sample table 5, which acts as the sample tray, to rotate via a pulley 25b, boxed in red, about a rotation axis indicated by a blue dashed line and arrow.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 11 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the one or more coupling elements in the body of the autosampler comprises an electromagnet configured to: exert a magnetic force on one or more coupling elements on the sample tray so as to cause the sample tray to rotate between a plurality of dispensing positions (see Fig. 2, Fig. 15 and [0011] which teaches the sample table 5, which also acts as a sample tray, has driven magnets 21, which act as coupling elements, and an electromagnet 80 on the housing unit on the bottom of the sample table 5, which acts as a respective coupling element in the body of the autosampler, which exerts a magnetic force on the driven magnets 21 on the sample table 5. The electromagnet 80 on the housing unit drives the sample table 5 and the sample shelf 4, which act as sample trays, to move rotatably between a plurality of dispensing positions).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 11 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the one or more coupling elements on the sample tray are positioned at an outer edge of the sample tray (see Fig. 2, Fig. 15 and [0011] which teaches the sample table 5, which also acts as a sample tray, has driven magnets 21, which act as coupling elements, on the outer edge of the sample table 5, which acts as a sample tray).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 11 above. Yamashita further teaches the sample tray and the body of the autosampler comprise respective contact surfaces that contact each other as the sample tray rotates between the plurality of dispensing positions, wherein the contact surface of at least one of the sample tray and the body of the autosampler comprises a self-lubricating material, wherein the autosampler is devoid of the self-lubricating material directly between the one or more coupling elements on the sample tray and the one or more coupling elements in the body of the autosampler (see Fig. 13 and [0036] which teaches rolling bodies 19, which act as contact surfaces, on the sample table 5, which acts as a sample tray, is made of low frictional resistance material, which acts as self-lubricating material).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 11 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the one or more coupling elements on the sample tray are spaced apart from the one or more respective coupling elements in the body of the autosampler parallel to the rotation axis (see Fig. 15 (1) which shows the driven magnets 21, which is a coupling element of the sample table 5, which acts as a sample tray, are spaced apart from the electromagnet 80 of the housing unit 23, which acts as a coupling element of the body of the device, in a vertical direction of the flat circular axis, which is parallel to the rotation axis). See the annotated figure 15 below which shows the driven magnets 21 spaced from the electromagnets 80 parallel to the rotation axis. The rotations axis is shown with a blue dashed line and the rotational movement is shown with a blue arrow.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 11 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the one or more coupling elements on the sample tray and the one or more respective coupling elements in the body of the autosampler are substantially equidistant from the rotation axis in a radial direction (see Fig. 15 (1) which shows the driven magnets 21, which is a coupling element of the sample table 5, which acts as a sample tray, are spaced apart from the electromagnet 80 of the housing unit 23, which acts as a coupling element of the body of the device, equidistantly from the flat circular axis in a vertical radial direction). The rotations axis is shown with a blue dashed line and the rotational movement is shown with a blue arrow. The radial direction is shown with a red line.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita further teaches further comprising a sensor for sensing the position (see [0049] which teaches the engaging pin 48 has a sensor 49 that senses the position of the engaging pin).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 8 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the set of one or more projections is rotatably mounted within the sealable chamber and configured to engage the complementary set of one or more openings on the sample tray (see Fig. 1 and [0034] which shows a locational tool 20, which acts as a projection, which can be rotatably mounted into an opening, based on its cylindrical shape, for aligning the sample shelf support 4, which acts as a sample tray, within the constant-temperature equipment 1, which acts as a sealable chamber).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 9 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the surface that comprises the self-lubricating material is a coating on a surface in the sealable chamber (see Fig. 13 and [0036] which teaches rolling bodies 19, which act as a surface in the constant-temperature equipment 1, which acts as a sealable chamber, on the sample table 5, which acts as a sample tray, is made of low frictional resistance material, which acts as self-lubricating material).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita does not teach an analytical instrument.
In the analogous art of sample organizers, Simpson teaches injecting samples from a sample manager, which acts as an autosampler, into a liquid chromatography system, which acts as an analytical instrument (see Abstract section).
It would be obvious to inject the samples from the samples in the temperature-controlled chamber, which acts as the autosampler, (taught by Yamashita) into the liquid chromatography system, which acts as the analytical instrument, (taught by Simpson) for the benefit of selecting and analyzing samples to collect information.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Musacchio et al. (WO2021/021702A1 – filed on July 27, 2020).
Regarding claim 6, the combination Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Yamashita further teaches the motor configured to cause the sample tray to rotate using the non-contact coupling (see Fig. 9 and [0037] which teaches a gear motor 24, which acts as a motor, attached to the bottom of the sample tray drive 6, which causes the sample table 5, which acts as a sample tray, to rotate via non-contact coupling) but does not teach that the motor is outside the sealable chamber (see Fig. 9 and [0037] which teaches that the gear motor 24, which acts as the motor, is inside the constant-temperature equipment 1, which acts as the sealable chamber).
In the analogous art of autosampler, Musacchio et al. teaches a stepping motor 412, which acts as a motor, is located outside the liquid chromatography system 10, which acts as the sealable chamber (see Fig. 10A, Fig. 7B and Page 18 Lines 20-23).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify the device taught by Yamashita et al. in view of Musacchio et al. to move the gear motor 24, which acts as a motor, outside of the constant-temperature equipment 1, which acts as a sealable chamber, for the benefit of allowing easy-access to replace or fix motor for maintenance purposes.
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita, Tomasso, Simpson as applied to claim 21 above, and in further view of SEAL Analytical (“The Following Documentation Is an Electronically - West Virginia.” www.state.wv.us, 26 Aug. 2020, www.state.wv.us/admin/purchase/Bids/FY2022/B_1400_AGR2200000003_02.pdf).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 21 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the sample tray comprises an identifier indicative of the quantity of sample holders of the sample tray (see Fig. 15 which shows three different sample tables 5, which acts as sample trays, each having a different arrangement of driven magnets 21, which act as magnets, on the sample tables 5, which act as sample trays, which help differentiate and identify each sample table 5 from one another based on the quantity of sample holders are on each sample table 5). For example, the sample table 5 of Fig. 15(2) has a wider magnet 5 which allows the sample table 5 to support more sample holders compared to Fig. 15(1) which has a smaller magnet 5 which leads to that sample table 5 holding fewer sample holders.
For the sake of argument, if the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson has been interpreted to not teach wherein the sample tray comprises an identifier indicative of the quantity of sample holders of the sample tray (number labels), this limitation is taught and known from analogous art.
For instance, in the analogous art of flexible analyzers, SEAL Analytical teaches a sample tray with number labels for each sample holder etched onto the sample tray which gives the quantity of sample holders on the sample tray (see the figure on Page 28).
It would be obvious to include number labels for each sample holder (taught by SEAL Analytical) on the sample table 5, which acts as the sample tray, (taught by Yamashita) for the benefit of keeping track of each sample in the sample tray based on its designated number when the samples are analyzed.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson teach all the limitations of claim 22 above. Yamashita further teaches wherein the identifier comprises one or more magnets having an arrangement that uniquely identifies the quantity of sample holders on sample tray (see Fig. 15 which shows three different sample tables 5, which acts as sample trays, each having a different arrangement of driven magnets 21, which act as magnets, on the sample tables 5, which act as sample trays, which helps identify the quantity of sample holders on each tray). For example, the sample table 5 of Fig. 15(2) has a wider magnet 5 which allows the sample table 5 to support more sample holders compared to Fig. 15(1) which has a smaller magnet 5 which leads to that sample table 5 holding fewer sample holders.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US20110124093A1 - cited in IDS 4/8/2022), Tomasso (US5366697A1 – cited in IDS 4/8/2022) and further in view of Simpson (US20190383776A1 – cited in IDS 4/8/2022) and further in view of Miyazawa (JPS6114665U).
Regarding Claim 30, Yamashita teaches rolling bodies 19 (discs that are ring shaped) such as ball casters [0035] , as well as the limitations of claims 1, 28 and 29 (as detailed above). However, The combo of Yamashita, Tomasso and Simpson does not teach that the ball casters have screws used to fix the self-lubricating material (the rolling bodies 19, discs that are ring shaped) to the bottom wall.
In the analogous art of ball casters, Miyazawa teaches a ball caster 10 with a male screw part 10a ([Description] Fig 3). It would be obvious to secure the ball casters (ring shaped discs) (Yamashita) with screws (Miyazawa) for the benefit of securing the ball casters (Yamashita) to the body of the autosampler (bottom wall) (Yamashita [0035]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 8-11 that Simpson does not teach an aperture of an autosampler. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Simpson teaches an aperture of autosampler in the 103 rejection of claim 1 above, particularly the bottom of chromatographic columns which form chromatographic flow streams, which reads on apertures of an autosampler (Simpson [0006]).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other prior art related to the claim 1 is Musacchio (WO2021021702A1 – filed on 7/27/2020). Musacchio teaches all the limitations of claim 1 except for that the samples holders are disposed about a circumference of a circle and wherein the sample tray is rotatable about a rotation axis that is concentric with the circle (see Fig. 7A which shows a sample tray 310) or a non-contact coupling configured to rotate the sample tray between a plurality of dispensing positions, wherein each dispensing position corresponds to an alignment of a respective sample holder with the aperture (see Page 3 [0001]).
/A.H.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797