DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 10/14/2025.
Claims 10 and 12 have been canceled.
Claims 1-9, 11, and 13-20 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. Applicant argues in substance that the references allegedly do not teach the newly amended features. See rejections in view of Kim (US 20080249804 A1) below. However, it is noted that Martin teaches maintaining a layout of the first wallpaper when switching patients. Applicant appears to be misinterpreting the teachings of paragraph 74. For example, Martin describes “configuration can also be saved so that the user can also use dashboard 385 for other patients” (e.g. in paragraph 74); in other words, the dashboard/wallpaper layout is maintained for multiple “other” patients. Moreover, it is noted that some patients may use a preset dashboard and, even in this case, Martin describes dashboard 385 is “similar to dashboard 325 except that the view in the second window pane is changed… new dashboard 385 has three window panes 390. Two of these panes have the same views A.sub.1 and C.sub.1 as in dashboard 325. The other window pane, however, has a new view B.sub.2”; in other words, the only difference between dashboard 325 and dashboard 385 is that one of the panes shows different content, i.e. maintains the same layout for multiple patients. This is also taught by newly cited Kim as noted below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cudich et al. (US 20090013267 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20100083164 A1), Kim (US 20080249804 A1), and Rao et al. (US 20200321086 A1).
As per independent claim 1, Cudich teaches a item information presentation method adapted to an electronic device (e.g. in paragraph 266) and comprising:
switching a user interface to an editing interface in response to determining that an edit button in the user interface is triggered (e.g. in paragraphs 56, 59, and 134, “primary toolbar can be the main mode controller for the page, allowing users to switch [to] Edit… click a button in the Dashboard, a button in [a respective] toolbar”), wherein the editing interface comprises a first wallpaper and a plurality of item information cards (e.g. in paragraphs 17, 23, 30, 38, 57, 64-65, 69, and 121, “page components can include a view of data in a list, a view of data in a record, a view of an ad-hoc application or other views… FIG. 7 shows an example with a page 702 having page components 704 and 706… page display can have a nested layout. The nested layout can include rows and columns in a cell defined by rows and columns… when in Edit or Decorate mode, users can use the secondary toolbar to specify a state for the page… Pages are designed to allow users to add net new objects to a collection… the first thing they should see is a blank form [i.e. wallpaper, note specification paragraph 38]… users can drag and drop components [i.e. cards]” and figure 7);
pinning a first item information card to a first position on the first wallpaper in a corresponding first predetermined size in response to determining that the first item information card in the plurality of item information cards is dragged to and placed at the first position on the first wallpaper (e.g. in paragraphs 42, 64-65, 99, and 121, “a cell within a row and column location can have rows and columns. The page components 812, 814 and 816 are in those positions… users can drag and drop [i.e. pin] components into a page… resize images to [fit] the column they're in… Drag and drop selections 712 can be used to drag and drop page commands and annotation boxes onto page 702. Page Component B can also be dragged and dropped from page 702 into page 714” and figure 7); and
switching the user interface to a browsing interface in response to determining that an end editing button in the editing interface is triggered (e.g. in paragraphs 55-56 and 134, “When in Read mode, there is only one state—read… primary toolbar can be the main mode controller for the page, allowing users to switch between Read and Edit modes [i.e. switching to Read mode ends editing]… click a button in the Dashboard, a button in [a respective] toolbar”), and presenting the first wallpaper in the browsing interface, wherein the first wallpaper comprises the first item information card set in the first position and the first item information card presents information (e.g. in paragraphs 17, 23, 30 and 42, “the page components can expose data from ERP, Database or other sources… a view of data in a list, a view of data in a record, a view of an ad-hoc application or other views… FIG. 7 shows an example with a page 702 having page components 704 and 706… cell within a row and column location can have rows and columns. The page components 812, 814 and 816 are in those positions”),
but does not specification teach wherein item information includes patient information and the first item information card only presents information corresponding to a single current patient of interest, wherein the single current patient of interest is a first patient, and the browsing interface further comprises a first patient button and a second patient button respectively corresponding to the first patient and another patient, wherein the first patient button and the second patient button are located outside of the first wallpaper displayed in the browsing interface; wherein the first patient belongs to a first ward; switching the single current patient of interest to the another patient in response to determining that the second patient button is triggered, and displaying the first wallpaper in the browsing interface, wherein the first wallpaper comprises the first patient information card set in the first position, and the first patient information card only presents the information corresponding to the single current patient of interest; presenting a patient button corresponding to a second ward in the browsing interface in response to determining that a ward button corresponding to the second ward is triggered; and switching the single current patient of interest to a patient corresponding to the patient button of the second ward in response to determining that the patient button corresponding to the second ward is triggered, and presenting the first wallpaper in the browsing interface with a patient information of the switched patient corresponding to the patient button of the second ward while maintaining a layout of the first wallpaper, wherein the first wallpaper comprises the first patient information card set in the first position, and the first patient information card presents the information corresponding to the single current patient of interest.
However, Martin teaches item information including patient information which is presented as a patient information card(s) of a plurality of patient information cards including a first patient information card that only presents information corresponding to a single current patient of interest, wherein the single current patient of interest is a first patient (e.g. in paragraphs 10-11, 13, 25, 65-67, and 104, “based on a cursor-click selection of a patient name in a patient list… one or more window panes of a dashboard to display…a particular view of a particular clinical information piece… a vital statistic over a time period… a laboratory measurement over the same or different time period” including “when a user selects a patient from the patient list window, the user is presented with dashboard 500 that includes (1) a scan result window 510 that displays [the] patient's scan results… demographics window 520 that displays the patient's demographic”, etc., i.e. only presents information corresponding to a single current patient of interest, and figures 2, 5, and 16), and a browsing interface further comprising a first patient item and a second patient item respectively corresponding to the first patient and another patient (e.g. in paragraphs 66-67, “patient list window 505” and figure 5), wherein the first patient item and the second patient item are located outside of a first wallpaper displayed in the browsing interface (e.g. in paragraph 66, “Optionally, the patient list window 505 may not be considered part of the dashboard”, i.e. outside first wallpaper), wherein the first patient belongs to a first ward (e.g. in paragraph 65, “patients in a particular ward in a hospital”), switching the single current patient of interest to the another patient in response to determining that the second patient item is triggered and displaying the first wallpaper in the browsing interface, wherein the first wallpaper comprises the first patient information card set in the first position and the first patient information card only presents the information corresponding to the single current patient of interest (e.g. in paragraphs 65-67 and 104, “when a user selects [another] patient from the patient list window, the user is presented with dashboard 500 that includes (1) a scan result window 510 that displays [the] patient's scan results… demographics window 520 that displays the patient's demographic”, etc., i.e. only presents information corresponding to the single current patient of interest, and figure 5 showing first wallpaper with window 510, etc. in particular position), switching the single current patient of interest to a patient corresponding to a patient button in response to determining that the patient button is triggered and presenting the first wallpaper in the browsing interface with a patient information of the switched patient corresponding to the patient button (e.g. in paragraphs 65-67 and 104, “when a user selects [other] patient from the patient list window, the user is presented with dashboard 500 that includes (1) a scan result window 510 that displays [the] patient's scan results… demographics window 520 that displays the patient's demographic”, etc., i.e. only presents information corresponding to the single current patient of interest, and figure 5 showing first wallpaper with window 510, etc. in particular position) while maintaining a layout of the first wallpaper, wherein the first wallpaper comprises the first patient information card set in the first position, and the first patient information card presents the information corresponding to the single current patient of interest (e.g. in paragraphs 65-67 and 74, “configuration can also be saved so that the user can also use dashboard 385 for other patients”, i.e. dashboard/wallpaper layout is maintained for multiple “other” patients; note: also that “similar to dashboard 325 except that the view in the second window pane is changed… new dashboard 385 has three window panes 390. Two of these panes have the same views A.sub.1 and C.sub.1 as in dashboard 325. The other window pane, however, has a new view B.sub.2”, i.e. dashboard 325 and dashboard 385 maintains the same layout, only a view in one of the panes is different). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cudich to include the teachings of Martin because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing a user to quickly and easily access and/or modify of well-known types of dashboards/information,
but the combination does not specifically teach wherein the first patient item comprises a first patient button and the second patient item comprises a second patient button; presenting a patient button corresponding to a second ward in the browsing interface in response to determining that a ward button corresponding to the second ward is triggered; and wherein the patient button includes the patient button of the second ward.
However, Kim teaches presenting a patient button including a patient button corresponding to/of a second ward in a browsing interface in response to determining that a ward button corresponding to/of the second ward is triggered (e.g. in paragraphs 229 and 239-241, “web screen is mainly divided into 5 blocks: user information display block 24, My menu block 220, main menu block 230, patient selection block 240, and patient information input/output block 250… when the button is clicked, each ward in the hospital is indicated. Here, when the nurse selects the ward of which he or she takes charge, the patients' list 240-3 of the pertinent ward is output as shown in FIG. 17B. The nurse selects the patient whose information he or she wants in the patients' list” and figures 16-17B showing layout; note that information corresponding to the selected patient appears in patient information input/output bock 250, i.e. maintains layout for patients). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Kim because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing a user to easily find patients based on relevant information,
but the combination does not specifically teach wherein the first patient item comprises a first patient button and the second patient item comprises a second patient button.
However, Rao teaches a first patient item comprising a first patient button and a second patient item comprising a second patient button (e.g. in paragraphs 81-82, “the healthcare provider may indicate a selection of a patient of interest (e.g. patient under check-up) from the list of patients. In one embodiment, the healthcare provider selects/clicks the selectable link/button provided in each of display area 431, 433 and 436… display area 510 is shown indicating the name (“Feinstein, Clara”) of the selected patient. Display area 520 specifies the details of the selected patient” and figure 5; note: also shows first button and second button in area 510 being located outside a first wallpaper, e.g. area 520). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Rao because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of more clearly providing indicators for patient selection (also amounts a simple substitution that yields predictable results [e.g. see KSR Int'l Co v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(B)]; e.g. items replaced with buttons).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the editing interface further comprises an item selection box, the item selection box comprises a plurality of patient information items (e.g. Martin, in paragraphs 62 and 67, “dashboard has one or more window panes 345-380 associated with it… Each window pane provides a specific view for one or more clinical data items… different information for a particular patient”), wherein the plurality of patient information items comprise at least one of vitals sign information, diagnosis and annotation information, examination result information, imaging examination information, intake/output record information, medication record information, doctor order information, vascular lines record information, consultation record information, and ventilator record information, and the plurality of patient information items comprise a first patient information item corresponding to the plurality of patient information items (e.g. Martin, in paragraphs 62 and 67, “Each window pane provides a specific view for one or more clinical data items… different information for a particular patient. One window pane might show a CT scan of the patient, the other window pane might show a lab report, and the third window might show a graph of oxygen saturation” and figure 5), and the method further comprising: displaying the plurality of patient information cards corresponding to the first patient information item in the item selection box in response to determining that the first patient information item is clicked (e.g. Martin, in paragraphs 63 and 68, “When one of those items is selected (e.g., with click on that item), the corresponding dashboard is displayed” and figures 5-6 showing dashboard including plurality), wherein the plurality of patient information cards further comprise a second patient information card corresponding to a second predetermined size, and patient information corresponding to the second patient information card and the first patient information card are partially the same (e.g. Martin, in paragraph 69, “dashboard 600 presents the user with a dashboard that includes graph of glucose 605, graph of temperature 610, and image view 615 of the patient. In some embodiments, the different dashboards are linked to display situationally appropriate information. For example, a dashboard showing a patient's condition may be linked to another dashboard related to treating that condition”, i.e. partially the same, and figures 5-6).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches presenting the first patient information card in the corresponding first predetermined size during the process of dragging the first patient information card (e.g. Cudich, in paragraphs 30 and 65, “users can drag and drop components into a page” and “Page Component B can also be dragged and dropped from page 702 into page 714” and figure 7), wherein the first wallpaper comprises NxM grids, and the first predetermined size is nixmi grids, where N, M, ni, mi are positive integers, and ni<N, mi<M (e.g. Cudich, in paragraphs 38 and 42, “layout can include rows and columns in a cell defined by rows and columns” and figure 7; Martin, in paragraph 104, “selects a layout for a first dashboard (e.g., eight square window panes, etc.)”).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein after the step of pinning the first patient information card to the first position on the first wallpaper in the corresponding first predetermined size, the method further comprising: adjusting a size of the first patient information card on the first wallpaper in response to the editing interface receiving a drag operation on an outer frame of the first patient information card (e.g. Cudich, in paragraphs 42, 64-65, 99, and 121, “a cell within a row and column location can have rows and columns. The page components 812, 814 and 816 are in those positions… users can drag and drop [i.e. pin] components into a page…”; Martin, in paragraph 104, “In some embodiments the layout can be modified by dragging the edges of the window panes” and figures 2 and 18 showing layout of different sized window panes).
Claims 19-20 are the device claims corresponding to method claims 1 and 8, and are rejected under the same reasons set forth and the combination further teaches a display displaying a user interface (e.g. Cudich, in paragraph 14, “web display”; Martin, in paragraph 115, “display devices”); a storage circuit storing a program code (e.g. Cudich, in paragraph 267, “computer readable storage medium can have stored instructions”); an input interface receiving a trigger event executed on the user interface (e.g. Cudich, in paragraph 65, “mouse”; Martin, in paragraph 115); and a processor coupled to the display, the storage circuit, and the input interface, wherein the processor accesses the program code (e.g. Cudich, in paragraphs 266-267, “microprocessor(s)… stored instructions which can be used to program a computer to perform”; Martin, in figure 21).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cudich et al. (US 20090013267 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20100083164 A1), Kim (US 20080249804 A1), and Rao et al. (US 20200321086 A1) and further in view of Martin et al. (US 20100057646 A1, hereinafter “Martin2”) and Markowitz (US 20030100999 A1).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein after the step of pinning the first patient information card to the first position on the first wallpaper in the corresponding first predetermined size, the method further comprising: providing a save template option (e.g. Cudich, in paragraphs 65 and 70, “Upon making changes to a page--either by adding, removing or moving a component, or by adding or modifying rich text--a user can decide to save the page”; Martin, in paragraph 113 and 118, “provides the user with the option to save the edited dashboard”),
but does not specifically teach the option including a dialog box in response to determining that a save as template button in the editing interface is triggered, wherein the save template dialog box comprises a for personal use template button and a for public use by unit template button; saving a current layout of the first wallpaper as a for personal use template exclusively to an account in response to determining that the for personal use template button is triggered; and saving the current layout of the first wallpaper as a for public use by unit template that is shared by a working unit in response to determining that the for public use by unit template button is triggered.
However, Martin2 teaches a for personal use template action and a for public use by unit template action and saving a current layout of a first wallpaper as a for personal use template exclusively to an account in response to determining that the for personal use template action is triggered (e.g. in paragraphs 118, 126-127 and 130, “option to save the edited dashboard… doctors' private dashboards are available only to themselves… doctors determine who can use their versions”) and saving the current layout of the first wallpaper as a for public use by unit template that is shared by a working unit in response to determining that the for public use by unit template action is triggered (e.g. in paragraphs 118, 126 and 130, “option to save the edited dashboard… doctors 1312 and 1314 can have private or public dashboards. Their public dashboards can be…read by other doctors… doctors determine who can use their versions”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Martin2 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of facilitating security and/or permissions.
Markowitz teaches a save dialog box in response to determining that a save as template button in an editing interface is triggered (e.g. in paragraph 205, “chooses Save from the File menu. This brings up a "Save Data Object" dialog”), wherein the save template dialog box comprises respective action buttons and saving in a particular manner in response to determining that a respective action button of the respective action buttons is triggered (e.g. in paragraphs 84 and 205, “a series of combo boxes, for setting the group and world access permissions… a "Save Data Object" dialog, in which the user can navigate to the folder where he/she wants to save the…Set, and enter…permissions for it”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Markowitz because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing a user to easily save items with desired permissions.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cudich et al. (US 20090013267 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20100083164 A1), Kim (US 20080249804 A1), and Rao et al. (US 20200321086 A1) and further in view of Martin et al. (US 20100057646 A1, hereinafter “Martin2”) and Louch et al. (US 20080034314 A1).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches presenting a specific wallpaper corresponding to a specific template in the browsing interface in response to determining that the specific template is selected, wherein the specific wallpaper comprises at least one specific patient information card, and each of the specific patient information cards presents at least one specific patient information corresponding to the current patient of interest (e.g. Martin, in paragraphs 10-11, 13, 20 and 87, “displaying the remaining dashboards as selectable icons in a second display area of the interface… selection of a selectable icon (e.g., a cursor click on the icon) in the second display area causes the display of the icon's associated dashboard in the first display area” and figures 5-6 showing patient information),
but does not specifically teach wherein the editing interface further comprises an applying template button, the method further comprising: providing a template application dialog box in response to determining that the applying template button is triggered, wherein the template application dialog box comprises a for personal use template button, a for public use template button, and a for public use by unit template button; providing at least one for personal use template corresponding to an account in the template application dialog box in response to determining that the for personal use template button is triggered; providing at least one for public use template in the template application dialog box in response to determining that the for public use template button is triggered; providing at least one for public use by unit template that is shared by a working unit in the template application dialog box in response to determining that the for public use by unit template button is triggered and the specific template among the at least one for personal use template, the at least one for public use template, and the at least one for public use by unit template.
However, Martin2 teaches an editing interface comprising an applying template button and providing a template application dialog box in response to determining that the applying template button is triggered (e.g. in paragraph 66, “The pull-down arrow displays a listing of available dashboard configurations for selection”), providing at least one for personal use [first type] template corresponding to an account in the template application dialog box (e.g. in paragraphs 126-127 and 130, “doctors' private dashboards are available only to themselves… doctors determine who can use their versions”); providing at least one for public use [second type] template in the template application dialog box (e.g. in paragraphs 126-127 and 130, “doctors 1312 and 1314 can have private or public dashboards. Their public dashboards can be used by anyone… doctors determine who can use their versions”) and providing at least one for public use by unit [third type] template that is shared by a working unit in the template application dialog box (e.g. in paragraphs 126 and 130, “doctors 1312 and 1314 can have private or public dashboards. Their public dashboards can be…read by other doctors… doctors determine who can use their versions”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Martin2 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of facilitating security and/or permissions.
Louch teaches template application dialog comprising a first type of template button, a second type of template button, and a third type of template button, wherein a respective type of template is provided in response to determining that the respective type of template button is triggered to select a specific template among at least one first type of template, at least one second type of template, and at least one third type of template (e.g. in paragraph 82, “if many dashboards are available, the dashboards may be arranged hierarchically by type (e.g., sports dashboard, work dashboard, travel dashboard, etc.), or alphabetically, or by any other categorization methodology. For example, a number of categories may be displayed, and clicking on one of the categories causes a pull-down menu to be displayed, listing a number of dashboards in that category”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Louch because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of assisting the user in locating a desired type of dashboard and/or organizing dashboards.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cudich et al. (US 20090013267 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20100083164 A1), Kim (US 20080249804 A1), and Rao et al. (US 20200321086 A1) and further in view of Shin et al. (US 20100295789 A1).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, but the combination does not specifically teach wherein the editing interface further comprises a add new page button, and the method further comprises: providing a second wallpaper and the item selection box in the editing interface in response to determining that the add new page button in the editing interface is triggered; displaying a plurality of patient information cards corresponding to a second patient information item in the item selection box in response to determining that the second patient information item in the plurality of patient information items is clicked; presenting a third patient information card in a corresponding third predetermined size in a process of dragging the third patient information card in response to determining that the third patient information card in the plurality of patient information cards corresponding to the second patient information item is dragged; and pinning the third patient information card to a second position on the second wallpaper in the corresponding third predetermined size in response to determining that the third patient information card is dragged to and placed at the second position on the second wallpaper.
However, the combination teaches displaying a plurality of patient information cards corresponding to a second patient information item in the item selection box in response to determining that the second patient information item in the plurality of patient information items is clicked (e.g. Martin, in paragraphs 63 and 68, “When one of those items is selected (e.g., with click on that item), the corresponding dashboard is displayed” and figures 5-6 showing dashboard including plurality) and Shin teaches an editing interface comprising a add new page button (e.g. in paragraph 33, “page addition button 213 may be provided at a boundary of each page”), and providing a second wallpaper and the item selection box in the editing interface in response to determining that the add new page button in the editing interface is triggered (e.g. in paragraphs 34-35 and 40, “the page may be outputted as a blank page… tree region”), presenting a third item in a corresponding third predetermined size in a process of dragging the third item in response to determining that the third item in a plurality of items corresponding to an item is dragged and pinning the third item to a second position on the second wallpaper in the corresponding third predetermined size in response to determining that the third item is dragged to and placed at the second position on the second wallpaper (e.g. in paragraph 40, “user can select one of the widget icons contained in the icon tree region 241 and then move the selected widget icon to the eleventh page WP11 through a drag operation” and figure 2 showing item pinned a particular size). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Shin because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing the user to quickly and easily create new dashboards.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the browsing interface comprises a first page button and a second page button respectively corresponding to the first wallpaper and the second wallpaper (e.g. Martin, in paragraphs 20 and 87, “displaying the remaining dashboards as selectable icons in a second display area of the interface”), and the method further comprising: presenting the second wallpaper in the browsing interface in response to determining that the second page button is triggered (e.g. Martin, in paragraphs 87-88, “selection of a selectable icon (e.g., a cursor click on the icon) in the second display area causes the display of the icon's associated dashboard in the first display area”), wherein the second wallpaper comprises the third patient information card disposed at the second position, and the third patient information card presents another information corresponding to the single current patient of interest (e.g. Martin, in paragraphs 61 and 87-88, different dashboard displayed for patient).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cudich et al. (US 20090013267 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20100083164 A1), Kim (US 20080249804 A1), and Rao et al. (US 20200321086 A1) and further in view of Medhi (US 20120023429 A1).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and the combination further techs wherein in response to determining that the information of the single current patient of interest comprises a plurality of data corresponding to a plurality of time points, the method further comprising: presenting data corresponding to time points in the first patient information card (e.g. Martin, in paragraphs 13 and 67, “showing a vital statistic over a time period, while a right side of dashboard shows several stack-aligned panes, each showing a laboratory measurement over the same or different time period”), but does not specifically teach presenting more data corresponding to more time points in response to determining that the size of the first patient information card is expanded by the drag operation. However, Medhi teaches presenting more data corresponding to more time points in response to determining that a size of an item is expanded by a drag operation (e.g. in paragraph 24, “user may change the size of the user-selected portion 206 (e.g., by using a point and click user-interface device such as a mouse to drag, slide, or otherwise move one or more borders of the user-selected portion 206)… to show more detail or less detail of the represented data sets” and figure 7 showing time points). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Medhi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing the user to easily show more or less information.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cudich et al. (US 20090013267 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20100083164 A1), Kim (US 20080249804 A1), and Rao et al. (US 20200321086 A1) and further in view of Hubbard et al. (US 20050242946 A1).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but the combination does not specifically teach wherein the first patient button and the second patient button are respectively marked with a first warning indicator and a second warning indicator, wherein the first warning indicator and the second warning indicator are changed in real-time according to a degree of urgency of the first patient and the another patient, wherein the first patient button and the second patient button are respectively marked with a first button color and a second button color, and the first button color and the second button color respectively correspond to a degree of required care of the first patient and the another patient. However, Hubbard a first patient item and the second patient item being respectively marked with a first warning indicator and a second warning indicator, wherein the first warning indicator and the second warning indicator are changed in real-time according to a degree of urgency of a first patient and another patient, wherein the first patient item and the second patient item are respectively marked with a first item color and a second item color, and the first item color and the second item color respectively correspond to a degree of required care of the first patient and the another patient (e.g. in paragraphs 39 and 53,“the best case is for all of the icons .box-solid. or .circle-solid. to be green. The colors yellow and red are employed to indicate two levels of alarm. Because the color red is more visually acute, the more red icons are displayed, the greater the need for immediate patient care to be performed. The blinking red icon is the most visually acute, indicating that a caregiver page is in-progress. The color yellow is used to indicate that the need for patient care is less urgent, i.e., no immediate response required… a level of assistance required by the patient”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Hubbard because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing relevant information and/or assistance for patients.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cudich et al. (US 20090013267 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20100083164 A1), Kim (US 20080249804 A1), and Rao et al. (US 20200321086 A1) and further in view of Prokle et al. (US 20210295984 A1) and Mizuno et al. (US 6380953 B1).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but the combination does not specifically teach wherein the first patient information card comprises a Gantt chart card, wherein the Gantt chart card comprises a medical information Gantt chart corresponding to the single current patient of interest, and wherein the medical information Gantt chart presents a specific medical information of the single current patient of interest in a first specified time interval.
However, Prokle teaches information comprising a Gantt chart item, wherein the Gantt chart item comprises a medical information Gantt chart corresponding to a patient of interest and wherein the medical information Gantt chart presents a specific medical information of the patient of interest (e.g. in paragraphs 57 and 62, “workflow schedule 46 is displayed as a Gantt chart (see FIG. 3, where each horizontal bar corresponding to a patient... labeled appropriately, e.g. by patient name, type of imaging procedure, and/or so forth... what stage of procedure each patient is predicted to be in”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Prokle because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing relevant information of a patient.
Mizuno teaches a Gantt chart presenting information in a first specified time interval (e.g. in column 5 lines 17-48, “as a mode upon displaying schedule information of the Gantt chart on the window 2, a day mode for displaying information in units of days, a month mode for displaying information in units of months… as a GUI button for selecting one of the normal and reduced-scale modes, a reduced-scale button 7a for displaying schedule information by changing, e.g., the reduction scale on the time axis is provided… a list of one day/five days/one week” and figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Mizuno because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing user to quickly and easily control how Gantt chart information is displayed.
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein a color of the medical information Gantt chart corresponds to a degree of abnormality of the specific medical information (e.g. Prokle, paragraphs 57 and 62, “… Each color shade (labelled 1-4) is indicative of a different component of the report (e.g., patient earliness, patient lateness”), and the medical information Gantt chart indicates a length of time overdue (e.g. Prokle, paragraph 57, “show the planned workflow and highlight the deviations therefrom”, i.e. time overdue).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the medical information Gantt chart comprises a first time scale button and a second time scale button and wherein the first time scale button and the second time scale button respectively correspond to the first specified time interval and a second specified time interval, and the method further comprises: adjusting the medical information Gantt chart to present the specific medical information of the single current patient of interest in the second specified time interval in response to determining that the second time scale button is triggered (e.g. Mizuno, in column 5 lines 17-48, “as a mode upon displaying schedule information of the Gantt chart on the window 2, a day mode for displaying information in units of days, a month mode for displaying information in units of months… as a GUI button for selecting one of the normal and reduced-scale modes, a reduced-scale button 7a for displaying schedule information by changing, e.g., the reduction scale on the time axis is provided… a list of one day/five days/one week” and figure 3 showing buttons).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cudich et al. (US 20090013267 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20100083164 A1), Kim (US 20080249804 A1), and Rao et al. (US 20200321086 A1) and further in view of Barrett et al. (US 20100113891 A1).
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but the combination does not specifically teach wherein the first patient information card comprises an examination item trend graph of the single current patient of interest, and wherein the examination item trend graph comprises a historical variation trend and a predicted variation trend of a specific examination item. However, Barrett teaches a patient information card comprising an examination item trend graph of a current patient of interest, wherein the examination item trend graph comprises a historical variation trend and a predicted variation trend of a specific examination item (e.g. in paragraph 68, “a graph 142 which displays a trend of the patient's (patient ID #1006) hemoglobin levels, both measured (open circles) and predicted (open squares)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Barrett because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing relevant information of a patient (also amounts a simple substitution that yields predictable results [e.g. see KSR Int'l Co v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1396 (U.S. 2007).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cudich et al. (US 20090013267 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20100083164 A1), Kim (US 20080249804 A1), and Rao et al. (US 20200321086 A1) and further in view of Baba et al. (US 20100331700 A1) and Edelson et al. (US 20150332012 A1).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but the combination does not specifically teach wherein the first patient information card comprises an early warning map of organ risk of the single current patient of interest, wherein the early warning map of the organ risk is in form of a radar map, and wherein the early warning map of the organ risk indicates a current risk score and a predicted risk score of each of a plurality of organ functions.
However, Baba teaches information comprising an early warning map of organ risk of a current patient of interest, wherein the early warning map of the organ risk is in form of a radar map and wherein the early warning map of the organ risk indicates a risk score of each of a plurality of organ functions (e.g. in paragraphs 56 and 58, “calculates the similarity between the distribution of the measured values calculated in step SA2 and the measured value distribution model for each cardiac disease type stored in the state space database… radar chart RC quantitatively indicates the risk of having each cardiac disease. The higher the similarity, the higher the risk”, and figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Baba because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing relevant information of a patient (also amounts a simple substitution that yields predictable results [e.g. see KSR Int'l Co v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1396 (U.S. 2007).
Edelson teaches a risk score including a current risk score and a predicted risk score (e.g. in paragraphs 7 and 25, “cardiac… early warning… an aggregate score and a trend of the aggregate score… automatically detected when the scores, recorded data values (e.g., vital signs), and/or trends meet or exceed a certain threshold. Some embodiments perform the alerting (i.e., generate the alarms) in real time”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Edelson because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of generating an alarm when a patient’s health is deteriorating.
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein in response to determining that the predicted risk score of a specific organ function of the plurality of organ functions exceeds a predetermined threshold, a warning prompt corresponding to the specific organ function is provided (e.g. Edelson, in paragraphs 7 and 25, “cardiac… early warning… alarm is generated …when the…trends meet or exceed a certain threshold”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For example,
Wilkes et al. (US 20040078231 A1) teaches “Upon selection of a ward by the user, a patient list is provided wherein the user can select a patient and associated records for display on the computing device” (e.g. in paragraph 218).
Ginburg et al. (US 20210174916 A1) teaches “a Flowsheet Editor Interface that provides a method by which a user/medical care provider can configure the formatting and display of data intended for the medical records dashboard…including drag and drop of Flowsheet elements… a user/medical care provider can drag and drop portions of a medical records dashboard to arrange the medical records dashboard into…into an arrangement that is best for a particular patient… the Customizable, Correlative Line Graph can…be pinned to the medical records dashboard” (e.g. in paragraphs 179, 212, and 357).
Page et al. (US 20210065888 A1) teaches “multi-patient GUI 1300 includes links to patient-specific interfaces… each patient-specific interface may be identified by the room that patient is currently located in. For example, as shown in FIG. 13, links are displayed for interfaces specific to patients located in a first operating room (OR 1), a second operating room (OR 2), a third operating room (OR 3), and so forth. Additional patient links may be viewed by scrolling the interface. Selection of a patient link may launch the single-patient GUI for that patient” (e.g