Claim(s) 1-7, 9-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0086567 in view of Zhang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0106564.
Hawkins discloses an aqueous binder composition which comprises a polymeric crosslinking agent comprising at least two carboxylic acid groups such as polycarboxylic acids or polyacrylic acids in amounts of 10-30% by weight. See paragraph 0035. The binder can include a polyol having at least two hydroxyl groups as claimed in amounts of 10-25% by weight. See paragraphs 0055, 0061. The composition can further comprise silane coupling agents in amount of 0.1-5 percent by weight. See paragraph 0037-0038. The composition can further comprise glycerol, polydimethylsiloxane, paraffin, vegetable oils, hydrophobized silica as process additives in amounts of 0-25 percent by weight. See paragraph 0054-0055. The binder does not include formaldehyde or require the presence of a polyol having a number average molecular weight of 2,000 Daltons or above. The composition can have a pH of about 1-6. See paragraph 0062.
With regard to the claims as amended 1/9/26, Hawkins discloses that the carbohydrate can be starch, which is not a reducing sugar.
Hawkins differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose employing the particularly claimed polyols.
However, Zhang teaches including polyols having a molecular weight below 2,000 Daltons such as sugar alcohols including glycerol, erythritol, arabitol, xylitol, sorbitol, maltitol, mannitol, iditol, and other as set forth in paragraph 0043 as a secondary crosslinking agent.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated the low molecular sugar alcohols as taught by Zhang into the composition of Hawkins in order to improve binder and product performance.
While Hawkins does not identically disclose the claimed proportions, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate compositions wherein the amounts of components are within ranges disclosed by the prior art. Further, with regard to the peak tack force, it would have been obvious to have selected the relative proportions of the binder which produced a binder having the desired degree of tack, since the binder is used as adhesives for nonwovens, the degree of tack would have been an important feature, to produce either a high tack or low tack binder, depending on how the nonwovens were to be used.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hawkins requires the presence of a carbohydrate. However, the carbohydrate can be starch which is not a reducing sugar.
With regard to the polyols claimed, Zhang teaches adding such polyols as secondary crosslinking agents. While Zhang also employs polyols having a higher molecular weight, it is not necessary that all of Zhang be incorporated into Hawkins in order for the teachings of Zhang to be relevant to Hawkins.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789