Claim Objections
Claim 17, lines 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: “with the working fluid” should be - -with the first portion of the working fluid- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-10, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich (US 3965673 as referenced in OA dated 2/23/2023) in view of Bacic et al (US 20170370242 as referenced in OA dated 9/29/2023) and Roberge et al (US 20130183136 as referenced in OA dated 6/24/2024) and Coffinberry (US 4550561 as referenced in OA dated 7/18/2025) and Claeys (US 20040195447 as referenced in OA dated 7/18/2025)
Regarding claim 1, Friedrich discloses an aircraft power generation system (Figure 1), comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10. Column 4, line 22-37 states 10 has a compressor and combustor. Column 5, line 16-21 states 10 has a shaft. A gas turbine has a turbine. See Cambridge Aerospace and American Heritage Dictionary definition of gas turbine) including a compressor section (Column 4, line 22-37 states 10 has a compressor and combustor), a turbine section (Gas turbine 10 has a turbine), and an engine shaft (Column 5, line 16-21 states 10 has a shaft), the compressor section arranged in serial flow arrangement with the turbine section (See diagram in the definition of gas turbine from American Heritage Dictionary), and the engine shaft rotatable with at least a portion of the compressor section and with at least a portion of the turbine section (Functional Language, the shaft is rotatable with the compressor and turbine. See diagram of gas turbine from American Heritage Dictionary. Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary states that the turbine drives the compressor which happens through the shaft);
a reverse Brayton cycle system (Figure 1; 50, 28, 44, 42), including a compressor (Figure 1; 50), a driveshaft (Figure 1; 28), a turbine (Figure 1; 42), a first heat exchanger (Figure 1; 44), upstream of the turbine, the driveshaft rotatable with the compressor or the turbine, wherein the compressor, the first heat exchanger and the turbine are in a serial flow arrangement;
a gearbox (Figure 1; 22), wherein the gearbox is configured to receive mechanical energy from the engine shaft and transmit mechanical energy to the reverse Brayton cycle system through the driveshaft (Functional Language, the gearbox performs this function);
and an electrical powertrain (Figure 1; 24 and the component which 24 supplies electrical energy) operably coupled with the driveshaft;
a working fluid (The working fluid in the reverse Brayton cycle), wherein the working fluid is in the reverse Brayton cycle system.
Friedrich does not disclose a second heat exchanger downstream of the turbine and upstream of the turbine section, the second heat exchanger receiving a fluid from the turbine; wherein the compressor, the first heat exchanger, the second heat exchanger and the turbine are in a serial flow arrangement; and an electrical powertrain operably coupled with the driveshaft in series on an opposing side of the compressor and turbine from the gearbox, and a thermal management system, wherein the second heat exchanger is upstream of the thermal management system; and wherein a first portion of the working fluid is directed through the first heat exchanger and a second portion of the working fluid bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein the first portion of the working fluid is also directed through the turbine section and the second heat exchanger and exits having a lower pressure and a lower temperature than the second portion of the working fluid that bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein a control valve is configured to regulate mixing of the first portion of the working fluid and the second portion of the working fluid downstream of the second heat exchanger.
However, Bacic teaches an aircraft power generation system (Figure 7), comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10) including a compressor section (Figure 1; 14, 15), a turbine section (Figure 1; 17,18, 19), and an engine shaft (The shaft in Figure 1 coupling Figure 1; 15 and 17), the compressor section arranged in serial flow arrangement with the turbine section, and the engine shaft rotatable with at least a portion of the compressor section and with at least a portion of the turbine section (Functional Language, the shaft is rotatable with the compressor and turbine. See diagram of gas turbine from American Heritage Dictionary. Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary states that the turbine drives the compressor which happens through the shaft);
a turbine (Figure 7; 306. Paragraph 0049, 0060), including a turbine (Figure 7; 306. Paragraph 0049, 0060), a driveshaft (The driveshaft connecting Figure 7; 306 to 324), and a second heat exchanger (Figure 7; 334. Paragraph 0021, 0071) upstream of the turbine section, the second heat exchanger receiving a fluid (The fluid from the turbine) from the turbine, the driveshaft rotatable with the turbine (Functional Language, the driveshaft is rotatable with the compressor), wherein the turbine, the second heat exchanger are in a serial flow arrangement;
a thermal management system (The environmental control system of Paragraph 0070);
a working fluid (The working fluid in Figure 7; 306, 308, 323), wherein the working fluid is in the turbine (In the combined invention of Friedrich in view of Bacic the working fluid is in the reverse Brayton cycle), and wherein the working fluid is in fluid communication with the thermal management system (Paragraph 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich to include a second heat exchanger downstream of the turbine and upstream of the turbine section, the second heat exchanger receiving a fluid from the turbine, wherein the turbine and the second heat exchanger are in a serial flow arrangement as taught by and suggested by Roberge in order to control the thermal growth of the casing and provide acceptable flow and pressure for the cabin (Paragraph 0002, 0013, The modification has a first branch in Figure 1; 47 of Friedrich with Figure 6; 202, 210, 212, 214 of Bacic and a second branch leading to an environmental control system and cabin).
It is herein asserted that the combined invention of Friedrich in view of Bacic has wherein the compressor, the first heat exchanger, the second heat exchanger and the turbine are in a serial flow arrangement because the compressor, the first heat exchanger and the turbine are in a serial flow arrangement in Friedrich and Bacic adds a second heat exchanger in serial flow arrangement with the turbine, so that in the combined invention of Friedrich and Bacic the compressor, the first heat exchanger, the second heat exchanger and the turbine are in a serial flow arrangement.
Friedrich in view of Bacic does not teach an electrical powertrain operably coupled with the driveshaft in series on an opposing side of the compressor and turbine from the gearbox, wherein the second heat exchanger is upstream of the thermal management system; and wherein a first portion of the working fluid is directed through the first heat exchanger and a second portion of the working fluid bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein the first portion of the working fluid is also directed through the turbine section and the second heat exchanger and exits having a lower pressure and a lower temperature than the second portion of the working fluid that bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein a control valve is configured to regulate mixing of the first portion of the working fluid and the second portion of the working fluid downstream of the second heat exchanger.
However, Roberge teaches an aircraft power generation system (Figure 3), comprising:
a compressor (Figure 1; 22 as applied to Figure 3), a driveshaft (The driveshaft of Figure 1; 44A and 44B as applied to Figure 3 and Figure 3; 22S)
and an electrical powertrain (Figure 3; 70) operably coupled with the driveshaft in series on an opposing side (Figure 3; 70 is on an opposing side of Figure 1; 38G) of the compressor from a gearbox (Figure 1; 38G as applied to Figure 3. Paragraph 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich and Bacic to include an electrical powertrain operably coupled with the driveshaft in series on an opposing side of the compressor (The electrical powertrain is also on an opposing side of the turbine from the gearbox in the combined invention of Friedrich and Bacic from the gearbox because the electrical powertrain of Roberge is at a terminating end of the driveshaft) from the gearbox as taught by and suggested by Roberge because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Roberge’s placement of an electrical powertrain according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Friedrich in view of Bacic’s aircraft power generation system, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case allowing the driveshaft to generate electricity, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has an electrical powertrain being on an opposite side of the gearbox with the compressor and turbine between the electrical powertrain and gearbox).
Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge does not teach wherein the second heat exchanger is upstream of the thermal management system; and wherein a first portion of the working fluid is directed through the first heat exchanger and a second portion of the working fluid bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein the first portion of the working fluid is also directed through the turbine section and the second heat exchanger and exits having a lower pressure and a lower temperature than the second portion of the working fluid that bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein a control valve is configured to regulate mixing of the first portion of the working fluid and the second portion of the working fluid downstream of the second heat exchanger.
However, Coffinberry teaches wherein a second heat exchanger (Figure 2; 44) is upstream of a thermal management system (Figure 2; E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich and Bacic and Roberge to include wherein the second heat exchanger is upstream of the thermal management system as taught by and suggested by Coffinberry in order to further cool the air supplied to the thermal management system and other systems (Column 3, lines 16-21, Column 4, lines 43-52, The modification adds a second heat exchanger upstream of the thermal management system)
Friedrich and Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry does not teach wherein a first portion of the working fluid is directed through the first heat exchanger and a second portion of the working fluid bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein the first portion of the working fluid is also directed through the turbine section and the second heat exchanger and exits having a lower pressure and a lower temperature than the second portion of the working fluid that bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein a control valve is configured to regulate mixing of the first portion of the working fluid and the second portion of the working fluid downstream of the second heat exchanger.
However, Claeys teaches an aircraft power generation system (Figure 1), comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10. Paragraph 0020);
a reverse Brayton cycle system (Figure 1; 24, 32, 40), including a compressor (Figure 1; 24), a driveshaft (The shaft connecting Figure 1; 24 and 40), a turbine (Figure 1; 40), and a first heat exchanger (Figure 1; 32), the driveshaft rotatable with the compressor or the turbine (Functional Language, the driveshaft is rotatable with the compressor and turbine), and the compressor, the first heat exchanger, and the turbine in a serial flow arrangement;
a second heat exchanger (Figure 1; 50), wherein the first heat exchanger interacts with a working fluid (The working fluid is air. Paragraph 0020) upstream of the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle system and the second heat exchanger interacts with the working fluid downstream of the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle system;
wherein a first portion (The portion of the working fluid through Figure 1; 32) of the working fluid is directed through the first heat exchanger and a second portion (The portion of the working fluid through Figure 1; 80) of the working fluid bypasses the first heat exchanger,
wherein the first portion of the working fluid is also directed through the turbine section and the second heat exchanger and exits having a lower pressure and a lower temperature (The first portion of the working fluid has a lower pressure and temperature than the second portion of the working fluid. Paragraph 0021 states that when the air is cool, 80 is used because 40 and 12 are not needed, so that the turbine and second heat exchanger decrease the temperature of the air. Decreasing the temperature of the air also decreases the pressure due to Gay-Lussac’s law) than the second portion of the working fluid that bypasses the first heat exchanger,
wherein a control valve (Figure 1; 80) is configured to regulate mixing of the first portion of the working fluid and the second portion of the working fluid downstream of the second heat exchanger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich and Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry wherein a first portion of the working fluid is directed through the first heat exchanger and a second portion of the working fluid bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein the first portion of the working fluid is also directed through the turbine section and the second heat exchanger and exits having a lower pressure and a lower temperature than the second portion of the working fluid that bypasses the first heat exchanger, wherein a control valve is configured to regulate mixing of the first portion of the working fluid and the second portion of the working fluid downstream of the second heat exchanger as taught by and suggested by Claeys in order to bypass at least the first and second heat exchanger and turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle (Paragraph 0021, The modification has a bypass with valve which bypasses at least the first heat exchanger, second heat exchanger and turbine).
Regarding claim 3, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich does not disclose wherein the thermal management system further comprises an environmental control system, and wherein the environmental control system is in fluid communication with the reverse Brayton cycle system.
However, Bacic teaches wherein the thermal management system further comprises an environmental control system (The environmental control system of Paragraph 0070), and wherein the environmental control system is in fluid communication with the turbine (In the combined invention of Friedrich in view of Bacic the working fluid is in fluid communication with the reverse Brayton cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich wherein the thermal management system further comprises an environmental control system, and wherein the environmental control system is in fluid communication with the turbine (In the combined invention of Friedrich in view of Bacic the working fluid is in fluid communication with the reverse Brayton cycle) reverse Brayton cycle system as taught by and suggested by Bacic in order to control the thermal growth of the casing and provide acceptable flow and pressure for the cabin (Paragraph 0002, 0013, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich does not disclose an active clearance control system operably coupled with the turbine section of the gas turbine engine.
However, Bacic teaches an active clearance control system (Figure 7; 334, 332, 310, 312, 314) operably coupled with the turbine section of the gas turbine engine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich to include an active clearance control system operably coupled with the turbine section of the gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Bacic in order to control the thermal growth of the casing and provide acceptable flow and pressure for the cabin (Paragraph 0002, 0013, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich does not disclose an active clearance control valve positioned downstream of the second heat exchanger and upstream of the turbine section of the gas turbine engine.
However, Bacic teaches an active clearance control valve (Figure 7; 332) positioned downstream of the second heat exchanger and upstream of the turbine section of the gas turbine engine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich to include an active clearance control valve positioned downstream of the second heat exchanger and upstream of the turbine section of the gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Bacic in order to control the thermal growth of the casing and provide acceptable flow and pressure for the cabin (Paragraph 0002, 0013, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich does not disclose wherein the working fluid in the active clearance control system reduces a radial distance between a turbine case and a turbine blade during engine operation.
However, Bacic teaches wherein the working fluid in the active clearance control system reduces a radial distance (The distance between Figure 7; 320, 316) between a turbine case (Figure 7; 316) and a turbine blade (The blade with Figure 7; 320) during engine operation (Paragraph 0002).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich wherein the working fluid in the active clearance control system reduces a radial distance between a turbine case and a turbine blade during engine operation as taught by and suggested by Bacic in order to control the thermal growth of the casing and provide acceptable flow and pressure for the cabin (Paragraph 0002, 0013, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich further discloses wherein the working fluid is a compressible fluid (The working fluid is air which is a compressible fluid).
Regarding claim 21, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich does not disclose wherein a first part of the first portion of the working fluid from the second heat exchanger is directed to the thermal management system, wherein a second part of the first portion of the working fluid from the second heat exchanger is directed to the active clearance control system.
However, Bacic teaches wherein a first part of the working fluid (The part of the working fluid of Figure 7; 308 going to the ECS. In the context of Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Cofinberry and Claeys, this is a first part of the first portion of the working fluid because it is from the portion of working fluid through the first heat exchanger) from the second heat exchanger is directed to the thermal management system, wherein a second part of the working fluid (The part of the working fluid in Figure 7; 308 going to 310. In the context of Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Cofinberry and Claeys, this is a second part of the first portion of the working fluid because it is from the portion of working fluid through the first heat exchanger) from the second heat exchanger is directed to the active clearance control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich wherein a first part of the first portion of the working fluid from the second heat exchanger is directed to the thermal management system, wherein a second part of the first portion of the working fluid from the second heat exchanger is directed to the active clearance control system as taught by and suggested by Bacic in order to control the thermal growth of the casing and provide acceptable flow and pressure for the cabin (Paragraph 0002, 0013, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 23, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry does not teach wherein the second portion of the working fluid bypasses the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger.
However, Claeys teaches wherein the second portion of the working fluid bypasses the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry wherein the second portion of the working fluid bypasses the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger as taught by and suggested by Claeys in order to bypass at least the first and second heat exchanger and turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle (Paragraph 0021, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Waltner et al (US 20170225794 as referenced in OA dated 2/23/2023)
Regarding claim 12, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich further discloses a propulsion device (Figure 1; 1 or 3).
Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry does not teach wherein the propulsion device is coupled to the electrical powertrain.
However, Waltner teaches an aircraft power generation system (Figure 2), comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Figure 2; 202. Paragraph 0015, 0017);
an electrical powertrain (Figure 2; 210, 208);
a propulsion device (Figure 2; 202 and 102 are propulsion devices), wherein the propulsion device is coupled to the electrical powertrain (The coupling of the electrical powertrain and propulsion device shown in Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich in view of Bacic and Roberge and Coffinberry and Claeys wherein the propulsion device is coupled to the electrical powertrain as taught by and suggested by Waltner in order to provide contingency power (Paragraph 0018. The modification has the electrical powertrain coupled to the propulsion device).
Claim(s) 17, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich in view of Bacic and Warner et al (US 4430867 as referenced in OA dated 7/28/2025)
Regarding claim 17, Friedrich discloses an aircraft power generation system (Figure 1):
a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10. Column 4, line 22-37 states 10 has a compressor and combustor. Column 5, line 16-21 states 10 has a shaft. A gas turbine has a turbine. See Cambridge Aerospace and American Heritage Dictionary definition of gas turbine) including a compressor section (Column 4, line 22-37 states 10 has a compressor and combustor), a turbine section (Gas turbine 10 has a turbine), and an engine shaft (Column 5, line 16-21 states 10 has a shaft), the compressor section arranged in serial flow arrangement with the turbine section (See diagram in the definition of gas turbine from American Heritage Dictionary), and the engine shaft rotatable with at least a portion of the compressor section and with at least a portion of the turbine section (Functional Language, the shaft is rotatable with the compressor and turbine. See diagram of gas turbine from American Heritage Dictionary. Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary states that the turbine drives the compressor which happens through the shaft);
a reverse Brayton cycle system (Figure 1; 50, 28, 44, 42), including a compressor (Figure 1; 50), a driveshaft (Figure 1; 28), a turbine (Figure 1; 42), and a first heat exchanger (Figure 1; 44), the driveshaft rotatable with the compressor or the turbine (Functional Language, the driveshaft is rotatable with the compressor or turbine), and the compressor, the first heat exchanger, and the turbine in serial flow arrangement;
a plenum (The plenum where Figure 1; 17a is located) configured to direct outside air to the compressor section of the gas turbine engine (Functional Language, column 8, line 37-39);
a gearbox (Figure 1; 22), wherein the gearbox is configured to receive mechanical energy from the engine shaft and transmit mechanical energy to the reverse Brayton cycle system through the driveshaft (Functional Language, the gearbox performs this function),
a working fluid circuit (Figure 1; 47) operably coupled with the reverse Brayton cycle system,
wherein the first heat exchanger interacts with a first portion of a working fluid (The portion of the working fluid from Figure 1; 44 that feeds 42) of the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle system.
Friedrich does not disclose a working fluid circuit operably coupled with the reverse Brayton cycle system and the turbine section, the working fluid circuit receiving fluid from the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle system, the working fluid circuit configured to deliver a first portion of a working fluid to an active clearance control valve positioned upstream of the turbine section of the gas turbine engine and the first portion of the working fluid and a second portion of the working fluid to a thermal management system, the first portion of the working fluid having a first pressure and a first temperature and the second portion of the working fluid having a second pressure and a second temperature, the first pressure less than the second pressure and the first temperature less than the second temperature; and
a second heat exchanger, and the second heat exchanger interacts with the first portion of the working fluid downstream of the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle system.
However, Bacic teaches an aircraft power generation system (Figure 7), comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10) including a compressor section (Figure 1; 14, 15), a turbine section (Figure 1; 17,18, 19), and an engine shaft (The shaft in Figure 1 coupling Figure 1; 15 and 17), the compressor section arranged in serial flow arrangement with the turbine section, and the engine shaft rotatable with at least a portion of the compressor section and with at least a portion of the turbine section (Functional Language, the shaft is rotatable with the compressor and turbine. See diagram of gas turbine from American Heritage Dictionary. Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary states that the turbine drives the compressor which happens through the shaft);
a working fluid circuit (The circuit downstream of Figure 7; 306) operably coupled with the turbine and the turbine section, the working fluid circuit receiving fluid from the turbine, the working fluid circuit configured to deliver a first portion (The portion to Figure 7; 310) of a working fluid (The working fluid from Figure 7; 306) to an active clearance control valve (Figure 7; 332) positioned upstream of the turbine section of the gas turbine engine and the first portion of the working fluid and a second portion (The portion to the ECS) of the working fluid to a thermal management system (The ECS of Figure 7), the first portion of the working fluid having a first pressure and a first temperature (The first pressure and temperature of the first portion) and the second portion of the working fluid having a second pressure and a second temperature (The second pressure and temperature of the first portion), the first pressure less than the second pressure and the first temperature less than the second temperature (Functional Language, The first pressure and temperature is less than the second pressure and temperature because the first portion is mixed with lower pressure bypass air, so that the first portion, after mixing, has lowered pressure. A lowered pressure results in a lower temperature due to Gay-Lussac's Law).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich to include a working fluid circuit operably coupled with the turbine (In the context of Friedrich, the turbine of Bacic is the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle of Friedrich) and the turbine section, the working fluid circuit receiving fluid from the turbine (In the context of Friedrich, the turbine of Bacic is the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle of Friedrich), the working fluid circuit configured to deliver a first portion of a working fluid to an active clearance control valve positioned upstream of the turbine section of the gas turbine engine and the first portion of the working fluid and a second portion of the working fluid to a thermal management system, the first portion of the working fluid having a first pressure and a first temperature and the second portion of the working fluid having a second pressure and a second temperature, the first pressure less than the second pressure and the first temperature less than the second temperature as taught by and suggested by Bacic in order to control the thermal growth of the casing and provide acceptable flow and pressure for the cabin (Paragraph 0002, 0013, The modification has a first branch in Figure 1; 47 of Friedrich with Figure 7; 348, 334, 332, 310, 312, 314 of Bacic and a second branch leading to an environmental control system and cabin).
Friedrich in view of Bacic does not teach a second heat exchanger, and the second heat exchanger interacts with the first portion of the working fluid downstream of the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle system.
However, Warner teaches a second heat exchanger (Figure 1; 120), wherein a first heat exchanger (Figure 1; 55) interacts with a first portion of the working fluid (The portion of the fluid through Figure 1; 53, 55, 80, 120) upstream of a turbine (Figure 1; 80) of a reverse Brayton cycle system (Figure 1; 53, 55, 80. Column 3, lines 10-13) and the second heat exchanger interacts with the first portion of the working fluid downstream of the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich and Bacic to include a second heat exchanger, and the second heat exchanger interacts with the first portion of the working fluid downstream of the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle system as taught by and suggested by Warner in order to prevent ice in the conduit (Column 5, line 3-6, The modification adds a second heat exchanger downstream of the turbine).
Regarding claim 22, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Warner teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich does not disclose wherein the working fluid circuit is fluidly coupled downstream to the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle.
However, Bacic teaches wherein the working fluid circuit is fluidly coupled downstream to the turbine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich wherein the working fluid circuit is fluidly coupled downstream to the turbine (In the context of Friedrich, the turbine of Bacic is the turbine of the reverse Brayton cycle of Friedrich)as taught by and suggested by Bacic in order to control the thermal growth of the casing and provide acceptable flow and pressure for the cabin (Paragraph 0002, 0013, This is the same modificaiotn as claim 17).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich in view of Bacic and Warner as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Mackin et al (US 20140250898 as referenced in OA dated 2/18/2025)
Regarding claim 19, Friedrich in view of Bacic and Warner teaches the invention as claimed.
Friedrich in view of Bacic and Warner does not teach a control valve positioned upstream of the thermal management system and downstream of the compressor of the reverse Brayton cycle system.
However, Mackin teaches an aircraft power generation system (Figure 4 with the clearance system of Paragraph 0072. Figure 4 has an additional turbine outlet as shown in Figure 6; 270 which is directed toward a clearance system of Paragraph 0072):
a gas turbine engine (Figure 2; 200 as applied to Figure 4) including a compressor section (Figure 2; 210 and 212 as applied to Figure 4), a turbine section (Figure 2; 222, 220 as applied to Figure 4), and an engine shaft section (Figure 2; 216, 218 as applied to Figure 4), the compressor section arranged in serial flow arrangement with the turbine section (Paragraph 0035, 0036), and the engine shaft rotatable with at least a portion of the compressor section and with at least a portion of the turbine section (Paragraph 0035, 0036);
a control valve (Figure 2; 258 as applied to Figure 4) positioned upstream of a thermal management system (Figure 4; 254) and downstream of a compressor (Figure 2; 232 as applied to Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Friedrich in view of Bacic and Warner to include a control valve positioned upstream of the thermal management system and downstream of the compressor of the reverse Brayton cycle system as taught by and suggested by Mackin in order to supply regulated working fluid to a thermal management system (Paragraph 0042, The modification has valve downstream of the compressor feeding the thermal management system).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the amended features, but does not provide rationale for this assertion, so that these assertions are conclusory.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Scarponi et al (US 20150285089 as referenced in OA dated 6/24/2024) states in Figure 3 and Paragraph 0047 that it is known for a generator and gearbox to be on opposite sides of a driveshaft with a compressor and turbine between the generator and gearbox
Berryann et al (US 20130000317 as referenced in OA dated 6/24/2024) show in Figure 5 that it is known for a generator and gearbox to be on opposite sides of a driveshaft with a compressor between the generator and gearbox
Foutch et al (US 20150275769 as reference in OA dated 2/2/2024) states in Paragraph 0042 that air from a turbine can be used for clearance purposes.
Mackin et al (US 20130187007 as reference in OA dated 2/2/2024) states in Paragraph 0067 that air from a turbine can be used for clearance purposes.
Todd et al (US 20140079546 as referenced in OA dated 2/23/2023) states in paragraph 0003 that a gas turbine typically has a shaft that transfers power from a turbine to compressor and fan.
Ackermann (US 20130192252 as referenced in OA dated 2/23/2023) states in paragraph 0004 that a gas turbine typically has a shaft that transfers power from a turbine to compressor and fan.
Kurschat (US 20130174570 as referenced in OA dated 2/23/2023) states in paragraph 0016 and Figure 1 that a gas turbine typically has a compressor, combustor, turbine and shaft.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741