DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated September 24, 2025, claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending. Claim 21 is newly added. Claim 7 is previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Hu determines the charging policy according to the obtained screen brightness level rather than determining the start time when the battery is charged based on the charging policy according to the obtained screen brightness level (see page 10 of the applicant remarks).
It should be noted, that Yin teaches each of the features of claim 1, except that the using state is that of a front desk running state and a bright screen state, thus, showing that these are states that the terminal use used in. In other words, the reference of Yin teaches determining the start time according to a using state of the terminal device, and the reference of Hu teaches a type of terminal device using state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8-14 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. US20190267814A1 in view of Hu et al. WO2018086362A1.
Regarding claim 1, Yin discloses a charging method (¶2).
Yin discloses determining a time interval for charging a battery according to historical charging data of the battery (¶43 - a charging method that can be used to analyze and learn a charging habit of a user according to historical usage state information, thereby estimating an accurate charging end time point).
Yin discloses charging the battery via a first charging policy within the time interval (¶30 - determine whether to execute a first-stage charging on the battery module 131) wherein the first charging policy comprises a first preset charging parameter (¶31; FIG. 3A illustrates a first-stage charging, or first charging policy between T0 and Tf where charging is performed up to EQfirst).
Yin discloses acquiring a present charging parameter when the battery is charged according to the first charging policy (FIG. 3A – curve between Tf and Ts); and in response to determining that the present charging parameter reaches the first preset charging parameter, maintaining a present electric quantity of the battery (FIG. 3A – curve between Tf and Ts; ¶31 – “in a time range from the charging stop time point Tf to a charging recovery time point Ts, the power supply circuit 133 does not charge the battery module 131” such that the battery level is maintained).
Yin discloses determining a starting time (FIG. 3A -Ts) when the battery is charged according to a second charging policy (Ts to Te) according to a present using state of a terminal device (EQsecond) and a cut-off time of the time interval (¶26 the processor estimates the resuming charging time according to the recorded usage state information; ¶32 - At the resuming charging time point Ts, the power supply circuit 133 starts to execute a second-stage charging on the battery module 131).
Yin discloses in response to determining that a time duration while maintaining the present electric quantity of the battery reaches the starting time (Ts), starting charging the battery via the second charging policy from the starting time to charge the battery from the present electric quantity (¶32 - At the resuming charging time point Ts, the power supply circuit 133 starts to execute a second-stage charging on the battery module 131) to full before the cut-off time (charging end time point Te).
Yin does not explicitly disclose the present using state comprises data indicating whether there is an application in a front desk running state and a bright screen state.
Hu discloses the present using state comprises data indicating whether there is an application in a front desk running state and a bright screen state (page 6 at step 235 – the charging current is compared to the current screen brightness and the current is adjusted to account for the screen brightness and usage – or running state. The charging current is increased from, for example, 1.5A to 1.8A. The term “front desk running state” is not defined within the specification. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this is interpreted to mean the state where the device is in use.).
It would be obvious to apply the using state as taught by Hu, to Yin, in order to provide an accurate electric quantity to Yin from the current changes caused by a running/bright screen state as taught by Hu. By taking into account the screen brightness, heat generation can be avoided which affects the life of the battery and the ability opt store power (page 2 – background).
Regarding claim 2, Yin discloses the charging the battery via the first charging policy comprises:
determining the first preset charging parameter (¶29 - charging start time point or the battery level – FIG. 3A);
charging the battery according to the first preset charging parameter and the present charging parameter (¶29-30; FIG. 3A – slope between T0-Tf charging to EQfirst).
Regarding claim 3, Yin discloses the determining the first preset charging parameter comprises:
determining the first preset charging parameter according to at least one of: attribute data of the battery, the historical charging data (¶29 – charging start time), or state information of the terminal device comprising the battery (¶25; fig. 3a - battery level %).
Regarding claim 4, Yin discloses the first preset charging parameter comprises at least one of a first cut-off voltage or a first cut-off current (¶33; FIG. 3A-3B - EQfirst – electric quantity), and the present charging parameter comprises at least one of a present battery voltage or a present charging current (the supply of charging to the battery is, by nature, a voltage/current, thus, when it is presently charging, charging voltage/current is supplied to the battery).
wherein the charging the battery according to the first preset charging parameter and the present charging parameter comprises at least one of following scenarios:
charging the battery at a constant current according to the first cut-off voltage until the present battery voltage reaches the first cut-off voltage (FIG. 3A – charging occurs to a target battery level %, thus, charging at a constant current to EQfirst, or a first cutoff voltage).
Regarding claim 6, Yin discloses the charging the battery via the second charging policy after the time when the present electric quantity is maintained reaches the starting time and charging the battery full from the present electric quantity before the cut-off time comprises:
determining a second preset charging parameter through which the battery is charged via the second charging policy according to the present using state of the terminal device (¶32 - charging start time point Ts or the battery level – FIG. 3A);
wherein the second preset charging parameter comprises:
a second cut-off voltage (EQsecond) for charging the battery at a constant current (after Te) (¶32; FIG. 3A);
charging the battery according to the second preset charging parameter, and charging the battery full from the present electric quantity before the cut-off time (FIG. 3A @ Lre; ¶¶32 – continuously charge for recharging time length Lre, the electric quantity increases from the first to the second electric quantity).
Regarding claim 8, Yin discloses the determining the time interval for charging the battery according to the historical charging data comprises:
determining the time interval for charging the battery full according to time information of historical charging interval in the historical charging data (¶22 - The processor 110 records the charging start time point, the current electric quantity reading, and the charging end time point as usage state information”; ¶43 – “learn a charging habit of a user according to historical usage state information, thereby estimating an accurate charging end time point”).
Regarding claim 9, Yin discloses determining a first time when a charging connection is established (T0) (FIG. 3A; ¶29).
Yin discloses wherein the charging the battery via the first charging policy comprises:
determining that the battery is charged via the first charging policy in response to determining that the first time when the charging connection is established is within the time interval (FIG. 3A - T0-Tf; ¶29-31).
Regarding claim 10, Yin discloses charging the battery via a third charging policy in response to determining that the first time when the charging connection is established is not within the time interval (FIG. 3B – charging is begun when the battery % is above EQfirst, thus charging is begun at a different timing, the third policy is a rest period before beginning the second charging policy between Ts and Te);
Yin discloses wherein the third charging policy is different from the first charging policy and the second charging policy (the rest period is different from that shown in FIG. 3A which shows the first policy between T0 and Tf and the second policy between Ts and Te).
Regarding claim 11, Yin discloses a charging apparatus (FIG. 1).
The charging apparatus includes a processor (110); and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (¶7 – “non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing multiple pieces of program code, wherein after the program code is loaded into a processor, the processor executes the program code”.
Yin discloses to determine a time interval for charging a battery according to historical charging data of the battery (¶43 - a charging method that can be used to analyze and learn a charging habit of a user according to historical usage state information, thereby estimating an accurate charging end time point).
Yin discloses to charge the battery via a first charging policy within the time interval (¶30 - determine whether to execute a first-stage charging on the battery module 131) wherein the first charging policy comprises a first preset charging parameter (¶31; FIG. 3A illustrates a first-stage charging, or first charging policy between T0 and Tf where charging is performed up to EQfirst).
Yin discloses to acquire a present charging parameter when the battery is charged according to the first charging policy; and in response to determining that the present charging parameter reaches the first preset charging parameter, maintaining a present electric quantity of the battery (FIG. 3A – curve between Tf and Ts; ¶31 – “in a time range from the charging stop time point Tf to a charging recovery time point Ts, the power supply circuit 133 does not charge the battery module 131” such that the battery level is maintained).
Yin discloses to determine a starting time (FIG. 3A -Ts) when the battery is charged according to a second charging policy (Ts to Te) according to a present using state of a terminal device (EQsecond) and a cut-off time of the time interval (¶26 the processor estimates the resuming charging time according to the recorded usage state information; ¶32 - At the resuming charging time point Ts, the power supply circuit 133 starts to execute a second-stage charging on the battery module 131).
Yin discloses to start charging the battery via the second charging policy in response to determining that a time duration while maintaining the present electric quantity of the battery reaches the starting time (Ts), starting charging the battery via the second charging policy from the starting time to charge the battery from the present electric quantity (¶32 - At the resuming charging time point Ts, the power supply circuit 133 starts to execute a second-stage charging on the battery module 131) to full before the cut-off time (charging end time point Te).
Yin does not explicitly disclose the present using state comprises data indicating whether there is an application in a front desk running state and a bright screen state .
Hu discloses the present using state comprises data indicating whether there is an application in a front desk running state and a bright screen state (page 6 at step 235 – the charging current is compared to the current screen brightness and the current is adjusted to account for the screen brightness and usage – or running state. The charging current is increased from, for example, 1.5A to 1.8A. The term “front desk running state” is not defined within the specification. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this is interpreted to mean the state where the device is in use.).
It would be obvious to apply the using state as taught by Hu, to Yin, in order to provide an accurate electric quantity to Yin from the current changes caused by a running/bright screen state as taught by Hu. By taking into account the screen brightness, heat generation can be avoided which affects the life of the battery and the ability opt store power (page 2 – background).
Regarding claim 12, Yin discloses that in response to the charging the battery via the first charging policy:
Determine the first preset charging parameter (¶29 - charging start time point or the battery level – FIG. 3A);
charge the battery according to the first preset charging parameter and the present charging parameter (¶29-30; FIG. 3A – slope between T0-Tf charging to EQfirst).
Regarding claim 13, Yin discloses in response to determining the first preset charging parameter:
determine the first preset charging parameter according to at least one of: attribute data of the battery, the historical charging data (¶29 – charging start time), or state information of the terminal device comprising the battery (¶25; fig. 3a - battery level %).
Regarding claim 14, Yin discloses the first preset charging parameter comprises at least one of a first cut-off voltage or a first cut-off current (¶33; FIG. 3A-3B - EQfirst – electric quantity), and the present charging parameter comprises at least one of a present battery voltage or a present charging current (the supply of charging to the battery is, by nature, a voltage/current, thus, when it is presently charging, charging voltage/current is supplied to the battery).
Yin discloses that in response to the charging the battery according to the first preset charging parameter and the present charging parameter:
charge the battery at a constant current according to the first cut-off voltage until the present battery voltage reaches the first cut-off voltage (FIG. 3A – charging occurs to a target battery level %, thus, charging at a constant current to EQfirst, or a first cutoff voltage).
Regarding claim 16, Yin discloses that in response to charging the battery via the second charging policy after the time when the present electric quantity is maintained reaches the starting time and charging the battery full from the present electric quantity before the cut-off time:
determine a second preset charging parameter through which the battery is charged via the second charging policy according to the present using state of the terminal device (¶32 - charging start time point Ts or the battery level – FIG. 3A);
wherein the second preset charging parameter comprises:
a second cut-off voltage (EQsecond) for charging the battery at a constant current (after Te) (¶32; FIG. 3A);
charge the battery according to the second preset charging parameter, and charging the battery full from the present electric quantity before the cut-off time (FIG. 3A @ Lre; ¶¶32 – continuously charge for recharging time length Lre, the electric quantity increases from the first to the second electric quantity).
Regarding claim 17, Yin discloses in response to determining the time interval for charging the battery according to the historical charging data comprises:
determine a time interval for charging the battery full according to time information of historical charging interval in the historical charging data (¶22 - The processor 110 records the charging start time point, the current electric quantity reading, and the charging end time point as usage state information”; ¶43 – “learn a charging habit of a user according to historical usage state information, thereby estimating an accurate charging end time point”).
Regarding claim 18, Yin discloses determine a first time when a charging connection is established (T0) (FIG. 3A; ¶29).
Yin discloses determine that the battery is charged via the first charging policy in response to determining that the first time when the charging connection is established is within the time interval (FIG. 3A - T0-Tf; ¶29-31).
Regarding claim 19, Yin discloses charge the battery via a third charging policy in response to determining that the first time when the charging connection is established is not within the time interval (FIG. 3B – charging is begun when the battery % is above EQfirst, thus charging is begun at a different timing, the third policy is a rest period before beginning the second charging policy between Ts and Te);
Yin discloses wherein the third charging policy is different from the first charging policy and the second charging policy (the rest period is different from that shown in FIG. 3A which shows the first policy between T0 and Tf and the second policy between Ts and Te).
Regarding claim 20, Yin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, in which computer-executable instructions are stored, the computer-executable instructions are executed by a processor to implement a charging method (¶7 – “The non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing multiple pieces of program code, wherein after the program code is loaded into a processor, the processor executes the program code”).
Yin discloses determining a time interval for charging a battery according to historical charging data of the battery (¶43 - a charging method that can be used to analyze and learn a charging habit of a user according to historical usage state information, thereby estimating an accurate charging end time point).
Yin discloses charging the battery via a first charging policy within the time interval (¶30 - determine whether to execute a first-stage charging on the battery module 131) wherein the first charging policy comprises a first preset charging parameter (¶31; FIG. 3A illustrates a first-stage charging, or first charging policy between T0 and Tf where charging is performed up to EQfirst).
Yin discloses acquiring a present charging parameter when the battery is charged according to the first charging policy; and in response to determining that the present charging parameter reaches the first preset charging parameter, maintaining a present electric quantity of the battery (FIG. 3A – curve between Tf and Ts; ¶31 – “in a time range from the charging stop time point Tf to a charging recovery time point Ts, the power supply circuit 133 does not charge the battery module 131” such that the battery level is maintained).
Yin discloses determining a starting time (FIG. 3A -Ts) when the battery is charged according to a second charging policy (Ts to Te) according to a present using state of a terminal device (EQsecond) and a cut-off time of the time interval (¶26 the processor estimates the resuming charging time according to the recorded usage state information; ¶32 - At the resuming charging time point Ts, the power supply circuit 133 starts to execute a second-stage charging on the battery module 131).
Yin discloses in response to determining that a time duration while maintaining the present electric quantity of the battery reaches the starting time (Ts), starting charging the battery via the second charging policy from the starting time to charge the battery from the present electric quantity (¶32 - At the resuming charging time point Ts, the power supply circuit 133 starts to execute a second-stage charging on the battery module 131) to full before the cut-off time (charging end time point Te).
Yin does not explicitly disclose the present using state comprises data indicating whether there is an application in a front desk running state and a bright screen state .
Hu discloses the present using state comprises data indicating whether there is an application in a front desk running state and a bright screen state (page 6 at step 235 – the charging current is compared to the current screen brightness and the current is adjusted to account for the screen brightness and usage – or running state. The charging current is increased from, for example, 1.5A to 1.8A. The term “front desk running state” is not defined within the specification. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this is interpreted to mean the state where the device is in use.).
It would be obvious to apply the using state as taught by Hu, to Yin, in order to provide an accurate electric quantity to Yin from the current changes caused by a running/bright screen state as taught by Hu. By taking into account the screen brightness, heat generation can be avoided which affects the life of the battery and the ability opt store power (page 2 – background).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. US20190267814A1 in view Hu et al. WO2018086362A1 and further in view of McBee US20090167238A1.
Regarding claim 5, Yin discloses that the maintaining the present electric quantity of the battery when the present charging parameter reaches the first preset charging parameter comprises:
Yin discloses determining the present electric quantity of the battery in response to determining that the present charging parameter reaches the first preset charging parameter (¶31 – at a point in time that EQfirst corresponds to stop time point Tf).
Although Yin teaches maintaining the charge at EQfirst for a predetermined time (¶31; FIG. 3A), Yin does not explicitly teach a fluctuation range.
McBee discloses maintaining a fluctuation range (3.6 – 3.7 V) of the present electric quantity in a preset threshold value by floating charge (¶22).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the float charging of McBee to the charge maintenance of Yin in order to extend the life of the battery by supplying sufficient and consistent power (McBee; ¶10).
Regarding claim 15, Yin discloses that maintaining the present electric quantity of the battery when the present charging parameter reaches the first preset charging parameter comprises:
Yin discloses determine the present electric quantity of the battery in response to determining that the present charging parameter reaches the first preset charging parameter (¶31 – at a point in time that EQfirst corresponds to stop time point Tf).
Although Yin teaches maintaining the charge at EQfirst for a predetermined time (¶31; FIG. 3A), Yin does not explicitly teach a fluctuation range.
McBee discloses maintain a fluctuation range (3.6 – 3.7 V) of the present electric quantity in a preset threshold value by floating charge (¶22).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the float charging of McBee to the charge maintenance of Yin in order to extend the life of the battery by supplying sufficient and consistent power (McBee; ¶10).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. US20190267814A1 in view Hu et al. WO2018086362A1 as evidenced by Kim et al. US20200119581A1
Regarding claim 21. Although Yin does not explicitly teach that the third charging policy is a fast charging policy with an average charging power of 10 W or 15 W, it is well-known that charging devices typically transmit 10W or 15 W of power, depending on the type of charging that is being supported.
This is evidenced by Kim, which teaches that a charging device typically transmits about 10W of power, if fast charging is supported it is possible to transmit 15W (¶108).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a typical power output to the charging device of Yin in order to maintain conventional standards in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859