This office action is in response to Applicants’ remarks received on September 22, 2026.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 2-5 are canceled. Claims 1, 6 are withdrawn. Claims 7-8 are under consideration.
Priority: The instant application has a benefit date of October 1, 2021.
Objections and Rejections
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukhopadhayay et al. (2020 Biomacromolecules 21: 867-877; previously cited) in view of Perriman et al. (2010 Nature Chemistry 2(8): 622-626; previously cited) and McDaniel (US 20100233146; previously cited). Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose that under chemical and thermal stresses, the structure of alpha-CT (chymotrypsin) can be easily perturbed and unfolded leading to formation of inactive fibrillar aggregates, thereby preventing its application in industrial processes (at least p. 870). Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose that moreover, the use of organic solvents can be deleterious to the functionality of alpha-CT, thus preventing its use in nonaqueous conditions required for the industrial processes (at least p. 870). Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose that therefore, stabilizing alpha-CT in nonaqueous and under green environment conditions can be highly beneficial (at least p. 870). Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose preparing a waterless alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate comprising covalently linking DMAPA to native alpha-CT by the carbodiimide (EDC) mediated activation method to obtain cationized alpha-CT, coupling the cationized alpha-CT with anionic polymer surfactant (glycolic acid ethoxylate lauryl ether), mixing and dialyzing to obtain a polymer-surfactant conjugated cationized-alpha-CT, lyophilizing the polymer-surfactant conjugated cationized-alpha-CT to obtain a low density powder, which when annealed in an oven yielded a waterless protein polymer surfactant bioconjugate system (at least p. 869). Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose that the water-less alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate was prepared from known procedures for other types of proteins, citing at least ref. 9 to Perriman et al. 2010 (at least p. 869, 876). Mukhopadhayay et al. do not explicitly teach poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether or incorporating the waterless alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate with a thermoplastic adhesive.
Perriman et al. disclose preparing a solvent-free protein liquid, where the anionic polymer surfactants for binding to the cationized biomolecules are poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether or glycolic acid ethoxylate lauryl ether (at least p. 622).
McDaniel discloses compositions and/or materials, including a coating, an elastomer, an adhesive, etc., comprising an active enzyme including esterase, antimicrobial peptide, lysozyme, and/or peptidase, among others (at least abstract, paragraphs 0003-0010, p. 298-300 claims 1, 12); where the enzyme is chymotrypsin (at least example 33, p. 300 claim 12); where the elastomer is a thermoplastic elastomer (at least paragraphs 1085-1115, 1137-1155), including blends of thermoplastic adhesive and/or elastomeric adhesive (at least paragraphs 1165-1166, 1170-1172, 1177-1180,1196-1197, 1201-1204, 1207-1208, 1219-1224) and/or a protein adhesive (“protein glue”) (at least paragraphs 1225-1226) (also p. 304 claims 76-77, 78-79). McDaniel discloses that an adhesive typically comprises a solid or a liquid, but converts into a solid final form ("set") during normal use with desired attachment and material strength properties. For example, a liquid adhesive typically solidifies via a mechanism such as curing (i.e., a chemical reaction), cooling if molten, liquid component loss ( e.g., evaporation, heating), or a combination thereof; while a solid adhesive may cure into a final solid form, or already be in a solid final form (e.g., a pressure sensitive adhesive) (at least paragraph 1156). McDaniel discloses that the proteinaceous molecule (e.g. peptide) and/or property of the proteinaceous molecule may be stabilized in a material formulation by immobilization (e.g. attachment, linking, tethering, and/or conjugation) to another molecule; for example conjugated, chemically linked, tethered to a carrier molecule, including polymers (at least paragraph 0528).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references and arrive at the claimed method for making a chymotrypsin protein liquid/thermoplastic material comprising mixing cationized chymotrypsin and anions of poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether to form a cationized chymotrypsin-anion complex; lyophilizing and melting the cationized chymotrypsin-anion complex to form a water-free chymotrypsin ionic liquid; blending the chymotrypsin ionic liquid with a molten thermoplastic adhesive (“hot glue”); and cooling to create a proteolytic thermoplastic adhesive (glue) (instant claim 7). The motivation to do so is given by the prior art. Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose proteins, including chymotrypsin, can be stabilized in a water-less protein polymer surfactant bioconjugate system for industrial processes. Perriman et al. disclose polymers for the waterless protein polymer surfactant bioconjugate system of Mukhopadhayay et al. include poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether. McDaniel discloses industrial and commercial use of proteins and enzymes, including chymotrypsin, in compositions and/or materials including an elastomer, adhesive, including blends of thermoplastic adhesive and/or elastomeric adhesive and/or protein adhesive. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have reasonable motivation to incorporate the poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether of Perriman et al. for the anionic polymer in the method for forming the water-less alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate system of Mukhopadhayay et al. and to further incorporate the water-less alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate system into a thermoplastic adhesive blend (or “glue”) as suggested in McDaniel because there was interest in stabilizing proteins and enzymes, such as chymotrypsin, for industrial use in thermoplastic/adhesive materials. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art discloses waterless protein polymer surfactant bioconjugates systems stabilize proteins for various uses in industry.
Reply: Applicants’ remarks have been considered but they are not persuasive.
The reasons for maintaining the 103 rejection are the same as previously noted and are incorporated herein.
Applicants assert that in the examples demonstrated in Mukhopadhayay et al., both ionic liquids are classified as highly polar and hydrophilic solvents and expected/shown to be soluble with native proteins and/or protein-polymer surfactant conjugates. Applicants assert that consequently, the hydrophilic nature of these imidazolium-based ionic liquids does not suggest, imply, or inform a skilled practitioner that the water-free chymotrypsin-polymer surfactant or other protein-polymer surfactant conjugates are currently claimed will be miscible in very hydrophobic materials such as "hot glue" comprised of high molecular weight polymers of poly(ethylene-co-vinyl acetate).
Applicants’ remarks are not persuasive. As previously noted, Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose that their results show that the chymotrypsin is stabilized in the neat ionic liquid environment to yield a composite liquid, which not only acts as a nonaqueous, nonvolatile, and environmentally benign solvent, but also provides a biocatalytic platform of carrying out reactions for biotransformations, food processing, drug delivery, and various other applications (p. 867). Mukhopadhayay et al. has also disclosed that bioconjugation of proteins with poly(ethylene glycol)-based polymeric surfactant (a widely used method for stabilizing proteins for various other applications) helps in stabilizing a protein at extremely high concentrations and temperature (citing Perriman et al.) (p. 868) and further that ionic liquids (ILs) have low vapor and high thermal stability (p. 868).
As noted above, Perriman et al. disclose preparing a solvent-free protein liquid, where the anionic polymer surfactants for binding to the cationized biomolecules are poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether or glycolic acid ethoxylate lauryl ether (at least p. 622), where the protein-poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether conjugate has a residual water content of less than 0.1 wt% and a decomposition temperature of 408º C (p. 623).
Therefore, since Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose that the ionic liquid that the water-less alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate chymotrypsin is stabilized in is a nonaqueous, nonvolatile, and environmentally benign solvent, where it was further recognized that poly(ethylene glycol)-based polymeric surfactant helps in stabilizing a protein at extremely high concentrations and temperature (Perriman et al.), one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success that the water-free chymotrypsin-polymer surfactant or other protein-polymer surfactant conjugates will be miscible in various hydrophobic materials, including the "hot glue" or molten thermoplastic adhesives disclosed in McDaniel.
Regarding Applicants’ remarks that there is no mention and/or means to anticipate hydrophilic or hydrophobic properties of the intended elastomers, thermoplastic adhesives, or elastomeric additives discussed in McDaniel that could be speculated to be compatible with protein-polymer surfactant liquids, the remarks are not persuasive. McDaniel has disclosed that the proteinaceous molecule that is incorporated in the coating is stabilized in a material (at least paragraph 0528). As noted above, Mukhopadhayay et al. has disclosed that the chymotrypsin is stabilized in a material that is nonaqueous, nonvolatile, and environmentally benign. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have reasonable expectation that the coating materials selected from elastomers, thermoplastic adhesives, and/or elastomeric additives of McDaniel are compatible with the protein-polymer surfactant liquids of Mukhopadhayay et al./Perriman et al.
Regarding Applicants’ remarks that finally, the application describes the preparation and analysis of IgG biomaterials in the form of solvent-free liquids and their incorporation into commercial hot glue is a unique and novel way to perform to perform the claimed invention, the remarks are not persuasive. In this instance, the method for stabilizing a protein material with a poly(ethylene glycol)-based polymeric surfactant in an ionic liquid for incorporation into industrial processes and applications including coatings and adhesives are disclosed and suggested in the prior art.
Regarding Applicants’ remarks that it is well accepted that chemical modifications to proteins are highly unpredictable and random, and as a result, greatly impact protein activity and functionality, the remarks are not persuasive. In this instance, the prior art has disclosed that bioconjugation of proteins with poly(ethylene glycol)-based polymeric surfactant (a widely used method for stabilizing proteins for various other applications) helps in stabilizing a protein at extremely high concentrations and temperature (Mukhopadhayay et al./Perriman et al.) and further demonstrate that a protein-poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether conjugate has a residual water content of less than 0.1 wt% and a decomposition temperature of 408º C (Perriman et al.) and that a protein-polymer surfactant conjugate is stabilized in a neat ionic liquid environment to yield a composite liquid that provides a biocatalytic platform for protein/enzyme (Mukhopadhayay et al.). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success that the poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether of Perriman et al. can be incorporated for the anionic polymer in the method for forming the water-less alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate system of Mukhopadhayay et al.
Regarding Applicants’ remarks that the combination of a modified and cationized chymotrypsin enzyme described by Mukhopadhayay et al. with stoichiometric amounts of poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether described in Perriman et al. does not suggest the resulting chymotrypsin polymer will exhibit the same biological activity and solubility of a cationized chymotrypsin prepared using a different anionic polymer surfactant as described by the prior art Mukhopadhayay et al.
Applicants’ remarks are not persuasive. In this instance, Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose that the water-less alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate was prepared from known procedures for other types of proteins, citing at least ref. 9 to Perriman et al. 2010 (at least p. 869, 876), where Perriman et al. disclose preparing a solvent-free protein liquid, where the anionic polymer surfactants for binding to the cationized biomolecules are poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether or glycolic acid ethoxylate lauryl ether (at least p. 622).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success that the poly(ethylene glycol) 4-nonylphenyl 3-sulfopropyl ether of Perriman et al. can be incorporated for the anionic polymer in the method for forming the water-less alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate system of Mukhopadhayay et al. where the resulting chymotrypsin polymer will exhibit the same biological activity and solubility because Mukhopadhayay et al. disclose that the water-less alpha-CT polymer surfactant bioconjugate can be prepared from known procedures for other types of proteins.
Applicants assert that finally, it cannot be inferred that the combination of cationized protein (chymotrypsin) and anionic polymer surfactant will lead to the same solubility in neat ionic liquids or immobilization as presented by the McDaniel patent.
Applicants’ remarks are not persuasive for the reasons already noted above. Specifically, McDaniel has disclosed that the proteinaceous molecule that is incorporated in the coating is stabilized in a material (at least paragraph 0528). As noted above, Mukhopadhayay et al. in view of Perriman et al. have disclosed that the protein (chymotrypsin) polymer surfactant bioconjugate is stabilized in a material that is nonaqueous, nonvolatile, and environmentally benign. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have reasonable expectation that the coating materials selected from elastomers, thermoplastic adhesives, and/or elastomeric additives of McDaniel are compatible with the protein-polymer surfactant liquids of Mukhopadhayay et al./Perriman et al.
See also the reasons noted on at least p. 6-7 of the October 7, 2025, final office action.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukhopadhayay et al. (2020 Biomacromolecules 21: 867-877; previously cited) in view of Perriman et al. (2010 Nature Chemistry 2(8): 622-626; previously cited), McDaniel (US 20100233146; previously cited), and Liu et al. (2014 WIRES Nanomed Nanobiotechnol 5: 599-614; previously cited). The teachings of Mukhopadhayay et al., Perriman et al., and McDaniel over instant claim 7 are noted above.
Regarding instant claim 8, McDaniel discloses that in some embodiments, the proteinaceous composition further comprises a carrier (e.g. microsphere, liposome, etc.) (at least paragraphs 0303, 0529) and/or fillers selected from among a microsphere, a nanofiller, nanotube (at least paragraphs 1305, 1311, 1312-1314). Liu et al. disclose that materials and/or polymers having antifouling properties are critical to many biomedical and engineering applications such as medical implants and coatings (at least p. 599). Liu et al. disclose that antifouling polymers have been widely used to modify nanoparticles, such as gold nanoparticles, gold nanorods, quantum dots, magnetic particles, polymer particles, liposomes, etc. to improve their stability in ionic solutions, protein solutions, complex media, for in vitro or in vivo biomedical applications (at least p. 604-605). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to further blend one or more of the gold nanorods and quantum dots disclosed in Liu et al. with the chymotrypsin ionic liquid blended with a molten thermoplastic adhesive (“hot glue”) in the method of Mukhopadhayay et al., Perriman et al. and McDaniel noted above. The motivation to do so is given by the prior art, which disclose that materials and/or polymers having functionalized properties can be blended or combined with nanomaterials for uses in industry and biomedical applications.
Reply: Applicants’ remarks are not persuasive. As noted above, the 103 rejection adequately provides motivation to combine the references and a reasonable expectation of success to thereby arrive at the claimed method. McDaniel discloses incorporating carriers and/or fillers into the proteinaceous composition (see above), where known carriers and fillers include nanoparticles, nanotubes, quantum dots, etc. (McDaniel; Liu et al.) for incorporation into polymer compositions to improve their stability in ionic solutions, protein solutions, complex media, for in vitro or in vivo biomedical applications (Liu et al.).
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marsha Tsay/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656