Status of Claims
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). Claims 1-18 are pending and under exam.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
The rejection is withdrawn in view of claim amendments to clarify the antecedent basis for the nucleic acid sequence encoding CAR that binds CD70.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 1-18 of U.S. Patent No.12,227,763, and 11,649,438 respectively.
The rejection is withdrawn in view of the terminal disclaimer filed and approved on 10/31/2025.
MAINTAINED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 9 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (cited in IDS of 12/27/2021, hereinafter "Liu") in view of Marcinkiewicz (Nat Biotechnol, 2017, hereinafter "Marcinkiewicz", See PTO-892), Sadelain (Cancer Discov. 2013 Apr, hereinafter "Sadelain", See PTO-892) and Wang et al (Clin Cancer Res. 2017 May 1, hereinafter "Wang", See PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1: Liu Taught that “αβ T-cell receptor (TCR) on allogeneic CAR-T cells needs to be eliminated to avoid graft-versus-host-disease (GVHD), and human leukocyte antigens class I (HLA-Is) on CAR-T cells need to be removed to minimize their immunogenicity.” Liu taught to disrupt TRAC and B2M genes in CAR-T cells as a solution. (See Liu at p. 154, col. 1, 1st para). Liu also found that tumor size in a lymphoma mouse model was substantially smaller in all of the mice treated with standard CAR-T cells and TRAC and B2M disrupted CAR-T cells, whereas progressive tumor growth was observed in the control group treated with unmodified T cells or PBS. (See Liu, p. 157, col. 1, para 3). Liu taught that
T
R
A
C
-
B
2
M
-
CAR-T cells are “promising reagents for cancer therapy.” (See Liu p. 157, para 1). Liu did not teach CD70 CAR inserted in Trac locus as required by instant claims.
Marcinkiewicz taught that the “CRISPR technology [can be used] to insert a B-cell-specific CAR into the TRAC locus, putting the CAR under the control of the endogenous TRAC promoter and simultaneously disrupting the endogenous TCR by knocking out one of its multiple subunits. This elegant move addressed two possible shortcomings of CAR-T cells—variable CAR expression levels and interference from TCR activity.” (See Marcinkiewicz col. 1, para 3). Marcinkiewicz further taught that whether the design can be “broadly applicable to other types of CARs and malignancies remains to be determined. It will be important to test the approach against solid tumors, which have proved difficult to target with CAR-T cells.” (See Marcinkiewicz col. 3, para 2). As such, Sadelain taught the importance of the promoter identity and strength for CAR expression. Specifically, Sadelain taught that “The titration of cytokine secretion by T cells is important because of the potential toxicity of elevated systemic levels. One may address this concern by appropriately calibrating promoter strength or through conditional cytokine release following T cell activation utilizing nuclear factor of activated T cells (NFAT)-inducible promoters.” (See Sadelain p. 5, para 3). As such, a person in reading Marcinkiewicz in view of Sadelain would have been motivated to use the trac locus for expression of a CAR and use an exogenous promoter as taught by Sadelain to optimize cytokine secretion by the CAR. It has been held that "a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." See KSR International Co. v Teleflex, Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1390. It is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try to use exogenous promoters for integration of a CAR into TRAC locus as taught by Marcinkiewicz in view of teachings of Sadelain. None of the cited references taught the use of CD70 CARs for cancer therapy.
Wang taught that a lot of tumors express CD70 including solid cancers such as clear cell renal cancer (RCC), glioblastoma, and hematological malignancies, and that it is a potential immunotherapeutic target. Wang taught that CD70 CARs in which different portions of CD27 were fused with various co-stimulatory signaling domains from 41BB and/or CD28, and CD3-zeta, in a murine model was effective in vitro and in vivo, respectively. (See Wang p. 2, para 2).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an exogenous promoter for expression of a CD70 CAR inserted in a TRAC locus of a T-cell, where the TRAC and B2M have been disrupted in view of teachings of the prior art as set forth above.
Regarding claim 2: Sadelain taught a NFAT promoter, a eukaryotic promoter.
Regarding claims 5 and 6: Liu taught disruption of TRAC and B2M using CRISPR/Cas9.
Regarding claim 9: Wang taught CD70 CARs with various co-stimulatory signaling domains from 41BB and/or CD28, and CD3-zeta
Claims 3-4, 7-8 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (cited in IDS of 12/27/2021, hereinafter "Liu") in view of Marcinkiewicz (Nat Biotechnol, 2017, hereinafter "Marcinkiewicz", See PTO-892 of 5/6/2025), Sadelain (Cancer Discov. 2013 Apr, hereinafter "Sadelain", See PTO-892 of 5/6/2025); Wang et al (Clin Cancer Res. 2017 May 1, hereinafter "Wang", See PTO-892 of 5/6/2025) and Eyquem (cited in IDS of 12/27/2021, hereinafter "Eyquem").
Regarding claims 3 and 4: The teachings of Liu in view of Marcinkiewicz, Sadelain and Wang are set forth above. Briefly, the prior art taught the benefits of a TRAC, B2M disrupted CAR-T-cell for cancer therapy. Additionally, Marcinkiewicz taught the use of TRAC locus for CAR integration but indicated that it remains to be probed for all CAR expression. Sadelain taught the importance of primer strength titration for eliciting appropriate cytokine release from a CAR and Wang taught the use of CD70 CAR for certain cancers. None of the references specifically taught the use of EF-1alpha promoter for CAR expression as required by the claim. Eyquem taught an EF-1alpha promoter for expressing a CAR inserted into a TRAC locus. Eyquem taught that the EF-1alpha promoter was able to elicit much higher CAR expression compared to endogenous TRAC promoter.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a stronger promoter for expression of a CAR.
Regarding claims 7-8: Eyquem taught the design of “[a] gRNA to target the first exon of the constant chain of the TCRα gene (TRAC). The sequence targeted is located upstream of the transmembrane domain of the TCRα. This domain is required for the TCRα and β assembly and addressing to the cell-surface. Both, non-homologous end joining (NHEJ) and integration of the CAR by HDR at this locus would then efficiently disrupt the TCR complex.” As such Eyquem taught integrating a CAR at the disrupted TRAC location as required by claim 7.
Regarding claim 14: Eyquem taught that a population of cells that have been modified by a CRISPR/Cas9 mediated CAR gene targeted into the TRAC locus. Eyquem observed over 70% TCR- human primary T cells (Page 10, Graph (d)), and over 90% CAR+ cells.
Regarding claim 15-18: Eyquem taught that the T cells used in their experiments were taken from healthy donors, see page 7, 1st full ¶. Mice were injected with NALM-6 cells (pre-B acute lymphoblastic leukemia), followed by CAR T cells injected four days later. (Liu et al. taught wherein the cells are allogeneic and wherein the patient has a B-cell malignancy, claims 17-18, page 154, 1st col).
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (cited in IDS of 12/27/2021, hereinafter "Liu") in view of Marcinkiewicz (Nat Biotechnol, 2017, hereinafter "Marcinkiewicz", See PTO-892 of 5/6/2025), Sadelain (Cancer Discov. 2013 Apr, hereinafter "Sadelain", See PTO-892 of 5/6/2025) and Wang et al (Clin Cancer Res. 2017 May 1, hereinafter "Wang", See PTO-892 of 5/6/2025) and McDonagh et al (US8067546B2; Published 2011-11-29; See IDS filed 12/27/2021; hereinafter "McDonagh).
Regarding claim 10: The teachings of Liu in view of Marcinkiewicz, Sadelain and Wang are set forth above. None of the cited prior art taught the use of a CAR comprising an anti-CD70 antigen binding fragment comprising the recited sequences.
McDonagh taught an anti-CD70 antigen binding fragment comprising SEQ ID NO: 14 and SEQ ID NO: 24 which are 100% identical to claimed SEQ ID NO: 1592 and SEQ ID NO: 1593 (See Alignment below). McDonagh showed that the treatment of multiple myeloma mice with the CD70 antibody comprising recited sequence prolonged survival of the mice. (See McDonagh, FIGs 7A-C). As such it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a CAR comprising the claimed heavy and light chain variable regions comprising the recites sequence.
Query 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQAPGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTY 60
QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQAPGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTY
Sbjct 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQAPGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTY 60
Query 61 ADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARDYGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSS 118
ADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARDYGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSS
Sbjct 61 ADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARDYGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSS 118
SEQ ID NO: 1592 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 14 of McDonagh
Query 1 DIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYLASNLES 60
DIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYLASNLES
Sbjct 1 DIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYLASNLES 60
Query 61 GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGTKVEIK 111
GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGTKVEIK
Sbjct 61 GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGTKVEIK 111
SEQ ID NO: 1593 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 24 of McDonagh
Response to Arguments: Applicants argued that the cited references do not teach or suggest all the elements of the claimed invention as “the cited paragraphs from Sadelain refer to expression of exogenous cytokines, and not to expression of a CAR. Specifically, Sadelain references an "approach to enhance the potency of CAR-targeted T cells is to further genetically modify the T cells to secrete pro-inflammatory or pro-proliferative cytokines." (Emphasis added). Thus, Sadelain teaches that secretion of exogenous cytokines can be controlled by calibration of promoter strength, but contain no disclosure relevant to expression of a CAR (which is not excreted) via an exogenous promoter.” Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument regarding the use of an exogenous promoter is noted. As Applicant pointed out, Sadlein did teach the use of an exogenous promoter for a CAR; however, Sadlein employs the exogenous promoter to modulate cytokine secretion rather than to enhance CAR expression. It is also pointed out that the claims, as presently drafted, do not recite any specific purpose for the exogenous promoter, and therefore, the structural presence of an exogenous promoter in the claimed CARs does not distinguish the claimed subject matter from Sadlein. Even if the claims were amended to recite that an exogenous promoter for the purpose of enhancing CAR expression, the claims would still remain obvious, as Liu, which discloses disruption of TRAC and B2M, Marcinkiewicz, which teaches CAR insertion at the TRAC locus, and Wang, which demonstrates the utility of CD70 CARs for cancer therapy. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ an exogenous promoter in the TRAC locus to express a CD70 CAR and achieve enhanced CAR expression, absent unexpected results. Accordingly, the claimed invention remains obvious over the cited references.
As such the claims are obvious over the cited art, because the claims do not recite any specific purpose for the exogenous promoter, and the difference in functional intent between Sadlein and the claimed invention does not render the claimed subject matter non-obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims indicated in the table below are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim pending claims of copending Application Nos. 17/776,871, 17/776,846 and 17/776,860 indicated below (reference applications). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Reference Application/Patent
Claim # of reference application/patent
Instant claim #
17/776,871
1
1, 18
34
9
35
10
36
11
37
12
17/776,846
1
1, 18
45
9
46
10
47
11
48
12
17/776,860
1
1, 18
34
9
35
10
36
11
37
12
Re. Reference application 17/776,860 and 17/776,846
Claim 1 of the reference applications require treatment of a cancer (as required by instant claim 1), specifically RCC (17/776,860 as required by claim 18) or hematological malignancy (17/776,846 as required by instant claim 18). The pending claim falls within the scope of pending claims 1 and 18, and represents a species of the broader claim 1 of the reference application. Issued claim 1 is therefore considered to anticipate the scope of instant claim.
Further as explained below, SEQ ID Nos: 49, 50, 48 and 46 are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID Nos: 1592, 1593, 1500 and 1276 respectively.
Query 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQAPGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTY 60
QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQAPGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTY
Sbjct 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQAPGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTY 60
Query 61 ADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARDYGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSS 118
ADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARDYGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSS
Sbjct 61 ADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARDYGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSS 118
SEQ ID NO: 1592 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 49 of 17/776,871; 17/776,860 and 17/776,846
Query 1 DIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYLASNLES 60
DIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYLASNLES
Sbjct 1 DIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYLASNLES 60
Query 61 GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGTKVEIK 111
GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGTKVEIK
Sbjct 61 GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGTKVEIK 111
SEQ ID NO: 1593 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 50 of 17/776,871; 17/776,860 and 17/776,846
Query 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQAPGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTY 60
QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQAPGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTY
Sbjct 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQAPGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTY 60
Query 61 ADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARDYGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSSGG 120
ADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARDYGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSSGG
Sbjct 61 ADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARDYGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSSGG 120
Query 121 GGSGGGGSGGGGSGDIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQ 180
GGSGGGGSGGGGSGDIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQ
Sbjct 121 GGSGGGGSGGGGSGDIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQ 180
Query 181 PPKLLIYLASNLESGVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGT 240
PPKLLIYLASNLESGVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGT
Sbjct 181 PPKLLIYLASNLESGVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGT 240
Query 241 KVEIK 245
KVEIK
Sbjct 241 KVEIK 245
SEQ ID NO: 1500 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 48 of 17/776,871; 17/776,860 and 17/776,846
Query 1 MALPVTALLLPLALLLHAARPQVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQ 60
MALPVTALLLPLALLLHAARPQVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQ
Sbjct 1 MALPVTALLLPLALLLHAARPQVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTNYGMNWVRQ 60
Query 61 APGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTYADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARD 120
APGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTYADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARD
Sbjct 61 APGQGLKWMGWINTYTGEPTYADAFKGRVTMTRDTSISTAYMELSRLRSDDTAVYYCARD 120
Query 121 YGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSSGGGGSGGGGSGGGGSGDIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRA 180
YGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSSGGGGSGGGGSGGGGSGDIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRA
Sbjct 121 YGDYGMDYWGQGTTVTVSSGGGGSGGGGSGGGGSGDIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRA 180
Query 181 SKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYLASNLESGVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAE 240
SKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYLASNLESGVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAE
Sbjct 181 SKSVSTSGYSFMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYLASNLESGVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAE 240
Query 241 DVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGTKVEIKSAAAFVPVFLPAKPTTTPAPRPPTPAPTIASQPL 300
DVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGTKVEIKSAAAFVPVFLPAKPTTTPAPRPPTPAPTIASQPL
Sbjct 241 DVAVYYCQHSREVPWTFGQGTKVEIKSAAAFVPVFLPAKPTTTPAPRPPTPAPTIASQPL 300
Query 301 SLRPEACRPAAGGAVHTRGLDFACDIYIWAPLAGTCGVLLLSLVITLYCNHRNRKRGRKK 360
SLRPEACRPAAGGAVHTRGLDFACDIYIWAPLAGTCGVLLLSLVITLYCNHRNRKRGRKK
Sbjct 301 SLRPEACRPAAGGAVHTRGLDFACDIYIWAPLAGTCGVLLLSLVITLYCNHRNRKRGRKK 360
Query 361 LLYIFKQPFMRPVQTTQEEDGCSCRFPEEEEGGCELRVKFSRSADAPAYQQGQNQLYNEL 420
LLYIFKQPFMRPVQTTQEEDGCSCRFPEEEEGGCELRVKFSRSADAPAYQQGQNQLYNEL
Sbjct 361 LLYIFKQPFMRPVQTTQEEDGCSCRFPEEEEGGCELRVKFSRSADAPAYQQGQNQLYNEL 420
Query 421 NLGRREEYDVLDKRRGRDPEMGGKPRRKNPQEGLYNELQKDKMAEAYSEIGMKGERRRGK 480
NLGRREEYDVLDKRRGRDPEMGGKPRRKNPQEGLYNELQKDKMAEAYSEIGMKGERRRGK
Sbjct 421 NLGRREEYDVLDKRRGRDPEMGGKPRRKNPQEGLYNELQKDKMAEAYSEIGMKGERRRGK 480
Query 481 GHDGLYQGLSTATKDTYDALHMQALPPR 508
GHDGLYQGLSTATKDTYDALHMQALPPR
Sbjct 481 GHDGLYQGLSTATKDTYDALHMQALPPR 508
SEQ ID NO: 1276 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 46 of 17/776,871; 17/776,860 and 17/776,846
Re. Reference application 17/776,871
Claim 1 of the reference application requires treatment of a cancer (as required by instant claim 1 and 18), specifically a CD70+ solid tumor (as required by claim 17) using a T-cell comprising a CAR binding CD70, a disrupted TRAC gene disrupted B2M wherein the CAR is inserted into the disrupted TRAC gene. The pending claim falls within the scope of pending claims 1 and 17-18, and represents a species of the broader claim 1 of the reference application. Issued claim 1 is therefore considered to anticipate the scope of instant claim.
Response to Arguments: Applicants argued that the present application has an effective filing date which is earlier than the effective filing date of U.S. Application Nos: 17/776,871, 17/776,846 and 17/776,860, for the 18/289,028. Consequently, pursuant to M.P.E.P. § 1490(VI)(D) this rejection should be withdrawn.
It is submitted that according to MPEP 804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i) and MPEP 1490(VI)(D)(2)(a), a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is only withdrawn when it is the only rejection remaining in an application having the earliest effective U.S. filing date (taking into account any benefit under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) ) with respect to the conflicting claims); at which point the "provisional" nonstatutory double patenting rejection in the other (later filed) application(s) will be converted into a nonstatutory double patenting rejection when the application with the earliest U.S. effective filing date issues as a patent.
Conclusion
Claims 11 - 13 are found free of art.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAGAMYA NMN VIJAYARAGHAVAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/EVELYN Y PYLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633