DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendments/arguments filed June 18th, 2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-12, 15-20, 22-25 and are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the limitations of claim(s) , 1, 3-7, 9-12, 15-20, 22-25 under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, except for the following argument.
Applicant asserts
First, it is noted that all previous arguments regarding the Ly reference are respectfully maintained. For instance, Ly still completely fails to describe or suggest at least that the autonomous vehicle comprises an autonomous surface-operating vehicle having a primary task that is different from the at least the first service.
Examiner response
The examiner respectfully disagrees, Ly teaches (See at least paragraph [0040] “Each vehicle 2 is an autonomous driving vehicle that can autonomously travel based on instruction information indicating an instruction from the center server 1.”). The examiner notes, (an autonomous vehicles primary task is to drive, therefore the autonomous vehicle primary task is different than the first service).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-4,7, 17-20, and 22-23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210407287, to Ly et al. (hereinafter Ly), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20200273335, to Murakami et al (hereinafter Murakami), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20220250654, to Zhang et al (hereinafter Zhang).
As per claim 1, and commensurate with respect to claims 19, and 20, Ly discloses, A method comprising: detecting, by a processing system including at least one processor, (See at least paragraph [0056] “The described traffic management systems and associated methods provide a fast solution to restore or establish traffic control at a location or intersection where a traffic controller or traffic signals are malfunctioning or failing”). Further Ly discloses, (See at least paragraph [0058] “It should be appreciated that acts associated with the above-described methodologies, features, and functions (other than any described manual acts) may be carried out by one or more data processing systems, such as for example traffic control module 210, via operation of at least one processor 212”).
a loss of power event for a managed area, wherein the managed area includes a plurality of infrastructure elements that rely upon electric power grid power, wherein the plurality of infrastructure elements provides a plurality of infrastructure services; (See [FIG. 1] and at least paragraph [0015] [0032-0033] “traffic signals, such as for example traffic signals 108, 110, 112, 114 of intersection 102, sometimes malfunction due to for example natural disaster, bad weather, power outage or traffic controller malfunction which causes the traffic lights 108, 110, 112, 114 to flash or not work at all.”)
identifying, by the processing system, at least two vehicles (See at least paragraph [0027] “The plurality of portable traffic controller units 130 may be transported by a plurality of drones 140 at the same time or may be transported one after another by a drone 140 to a specific location, such as intersection 102.”) capable of providing at least two services of the plurality of infrastructure services, (See at least paragraph [0025] “Multiple portable traffic controller units 130 may be necessary at large or complex intersections with many traffic signals where only one portable traffic controller unit 130 may not be enough. In a scenario, a first portable traffic controller unit 130 may provide traffic control for vehicles, wherein a second portable traffic controller unit 130 may provide traffic control for pedestrians.”). Further Ly discloses, (See at least paragraph [0044] “the solar drone 300 can comprise a light source 350 to illuminate or brighten for example a remote area at night, as chosen by the user. The light source 350 can comprise LED lights and/or incandescent light bulbs. Further, the light source 350 can be adapted to turn into a portable heater when used in a low temperature environment.”)
wherein at least one first vehicle of the at least two vehicles is identified to provide at least first service of the at least two services, (See at least paragraph [0025] “first portable traffic controller unit 130 may provide traffic control for vehicles”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0025] “Multiple portable traffic controller units 130 may be necessary at large or complex intersections with many traffic signals where only one portable traffic controller unit 130 may not be enough. In a scenario, a first portable traffic controller unit 130 may provide traffic control for vehicles, wherein a second portable traffic controller unit 130 may provide traffic control for pedestrians.”). Further Ly discloses, (See at least paragraph [0044] “the solar drone 300 can comprise a light source 350 to illuminate or brighten for example a remote area at night, as chosen by the user. The light source 350 can comprise LED lights and/or incandescent light bulbs. Further, the light source 350 can be adapted to turn into a portable heater when used in a low temperature environment.”)
wherein the at least one first vehicle comprises an autonomous vehicle, (See at least paragraph [0020] “The drone 140 can fly autonomously”)
wherein at least one second vehicle of the at least two vehicles is identified to provide at least a second service of the at least two services, (See at least paragraph [0025] “wherein a second portable traffic controller unit 130 may provide traffic control for pedestrians.”). Further Ly discloses, (See at least paragraph [0044] “the solar drone 300 can comprise a light source 350 to illuminate or brighten for example a remote area at night, as chosen by the user. The light source 350 can comprise LED lights and/or incandescent light bulbs. Further, the light source 350 can be adapted to turn into a portable heater when used in a low temperature environment.”)
and wherein the at least one second vehicle comprises at least one non-autonomous vehicle; (See at least paragraph [0018] “The flight of UAVs may operate with various degrees of autonomy: either under remote control by a human operator or autonomously by onboard computer”)
wherein the transmitting further comprises transmitting a second instruction to the at least one second vehicle to deploy to the location to provide the at least the second service. (See at least paragraph [0027] “The plurality of portable traffic controller units 130 may be transported by a plurality of drones 140 at the same time or may be transported one after another by a drone 140 to a specific location, such as intersection 102.”). Ly further discloses, (See at least paragraph [0025] “A second portable traffic controller unit 130 can be positioned at a second landing pad 152 providing traffic control for pedestrians”). Further Ly discloses, (See at least paragraph [0044] “the solar drone 300 can comprise a light source 350 to illuminate or brighten for example a remote area at night, as chosen by the user. The light source 350 can comprise LED lights and/or incandescent light bulbs. Further, the light source 350 can be adapted to turn into a portable heater when used in a low temperature environment.”)
Ly does not explicitly disclose, however Murakami discloses, wherein the autonomous vehicle comprises an autonomous surface-operating vehicle having a primary task that is different from the first service, (See at least paragraph [0040] “Each vehicle 2 is an autonomous driving vehicle that can autonomously travel based on instruction information indicating an instruction from the center server 1.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0127] “as shown in FIG. 16, the vehicle 2 displays an image 265 modeled after a traffic signal or a message 266 “Please cooperate with one-side traffic” on the external display device 26, and alternately switches between a first signal traffic signal image 265 as a green signal and a second traffic signal image 265 as a red signal at every predetermined time.”). Further, examiner notes, (an autonomous vehicles primary task is to drive, therefore the autonomous vehicle primary task is different than the first service).
transmitting, by the processing system, a first instruction to the autonomous surface-operating vehicle (See at least paragraph [0038] “Each vehicle 2 is an autonomous driving vehicle that can autonomously travel based on instruction information indicating an instruction from the center server 1”) to deploy to a location of at least one of the plurality of infrastructure elements to provide the at least the first service that is different from the primary task of the autonomous surface- operating vehicle, (See at least paragraph [0127] “In FIG. 15, an accident scene 58 is a place where traffic on one-side lanes is obstructed due to an automobile accident. The vehicle control device 21 specifies the accident scene 58 where the emergency situation occurs based on the emergency information, obtains adjacent areas 59, 60 upstream and downstream of the accident scene 58 on the lanes on which traffic is obstructed, generates instruction information for one-side traffic in the adjacent areas 59, 60, and transmits the instruction information to other vehicles 2. The vehicle 2 that receives the instruction information autonomously travels while setting the adjacent areas 59, 60 indicated by the instruction information as a destination, and in a case of arriving at the adjacent areas 59, 60, as shown in FIG. 16, the vehicle 2 displays an image 265 modeled after a traffic signal or a message 266 “Please cooperate with one-side traffic” on the external display device 26, and alternately switches between a first signal traffic signal image 265 as a green signal and a second traffic signal image 265 as a red signal at every predetermined time. With this, vehicles that arrive at the accident scene 58 are made to pass through the accident scene 58 alternately.”)
Further, Zhang discloses, wherein the identifying comprises: broadcasting one or more offers to a plurality of vehicles including the at least two vehicles (See at east paragraph [0074] “an auction system sends a bid announcement to at least one connected autonomous vehicle (AV) of a vehicle fleet (e.g., a connected fleet). ”). Further, (See at east paragraph [0062] “at least one connected autonomous vehicle (AV) of a vehicle fleet (e.g., a connected fleet, as described above) receives from an auction system, a bid announcement for performing a perception task using the connected AV.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0058] ‘’ the auction system 304 can determine, based on the other bids 320, one or more AVs of the connected fleet to act as the bid-winning AV.’). requesting a providing of the at least two services; (See at east paragraph [0018] “ the auctioneer offers localization tasks instead of, or in addition to, perception tasks.”).
and obtaining a first response from the autonomous surface-operating vehicle indicating an availability of the autonomous surface-operating vehicle (See at east paragraph [0024] “auction-based cooperative perception system (e.g., receive or send one or more of announcements, tasks, updates, bids, or cooperative perception messages).”). Further, (See at east paragraph [0057] “The auction system 304 that is acting as the “auctioneer” can also receive, from at least one AV of the connected fleet that has the computation and communication capabilities for performing the other perception task 316,) ”). to provide the at least the first service; (See at least paragraph [Column 12 Line 44-47] “capabilities of the AV 302 to perform the perception task”).
Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, route planning systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Ly to incorporate the teachings of Murakami and Zhang such that the teachings of Murakami deploying a vehicle which has a different task that the primary vehicles task of the vehicle, and the auction based system of Zhang will aid in abruptly dispatching a ground based vehicle in order ensure safety and congestion to the roadways.
As per claim 3, and commensurate with respect to claims 22, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, discloses the features of claim 1, Ly further discloses, wherein the plurality of infrastructure services comprises a safety lighting service. (See at least paragraph [0044] “a light source 350 to illuminate or brighten for example a remote area at night”)
As per claim 4, and commensurate with respect to claims 23, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, discloses the features of claim 1, and Ly further discloses, wherein the plurality of infrastructure services comprises a traffic signal service. (See [FIG.1 item 130] and at least paragraph [0014], “Traffic signals 108, 110, 112, 114 are herein also referred to as traffic lights.”)
As per claim 7, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, discloses the features of claim 1, and Ly further discloses, wherein the at least one first vehicle comprises a plurality of vehicles, wherein the plurality of vehicles further comprises an autonomous aerial vehicle. (See at least paragraph [0027], “plurality of drones 140.”)
As per claim 17, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, discloses the features of claim 1, and Ly further discloses, wherein the location of the at least one of the plurality of infrastructure elements comprises a road intersection. (See [FIG. 1] at least paragraph [0014], “intersection 102 of a first street 104 and a second street 106 includes multiple traffic signals 108, 110, 112, 114.”)
As per claim 18, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, discloses the features of claim 1, and Ly further discloses, wherein the location of the at least one of the plurality of infrastructure elements comprises at least one of: an alleyway; a roadway; a walking path; or a park. (See at least paragraph [0014], “intersection 102 of a first street 104 and a second street 106”)
Claims 5, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210407287, to Ly et al. (hereinafter Ly), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20200273335, to Murakami et al (hereinafter Murakami), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20220250654, to Zhang et al (hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0174448, to Gomez Guiterrez et al. (hereinafter Gomez Guiterrez
As per claim 5, and commensurate with respect to claims 24, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, discloses the features of claim 1, Ly does not explicitly discloses, However Gomez Guiterrez discloses, wherein the plurality of infrastructure services comprises a communication network connectivity service. (See at least paragraph [0039], “the central facility 216 may be in communication with any number of UAVs. In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the first, second, and third UAVs 116 , 118 , 120 are in communication with one another via direct wireless connection and via the data network 214.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power outage traffic signal vehicle as disclosed by Ly as modified by Murakami to include communication network as taught by Gomez Guiterrez with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the system of Ly would be able to communicate with each vehicle in order to provide the services.
Claims 6, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210407287, to Ly et al. (hereinafter Ly), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20200273335, to Murakami et al (hereinafter Murakami), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20220250654, to Zhang et al (hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of U.S Patent Publication 2009/0058186, to Brown et al (hereinafter Brown).
As per claim 6, and commensurate with respect to claims 25, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, a discloses the features of claim 1, but Ly fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the plurality of infrastructure services comprises an electric power provisioning service.
However, Brown discloses, wherein the plurality of infrastructure services comprises an electric power provisioning service. (See at least paragraph [Abstract], “emergency electrical power to the traffic light controller by means of a portable generator”.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power outage traffic signal vehicle as disclosed by Ly as modified by Murakami to include a generator as taught by Brown with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the system of Ly would be able to power the traffic signal with a generator until the traffic signal becomes fully functional on its own.
Claims 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210407287, to Ly et al. (hereinafter Ly), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20200273335, to Murakami et al (hereinafter Murakami), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20220250654, to Zhang et al (hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of U.S Patent Publication 2017/0103265, to Channah et al (hereinafter Channah), and further in view of U.S Patent Publication 2016/0059962, to Abuelsaad et al (hereinafter Abuelsaad)
As per claim 9, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, a discloses the features of claim 1, but Ly fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the identifying comprises: determining a duration of time for which the at least one first vehicle is capable of providing the at least the first service, wherein the first instruction is to deploy to the location for the duration of time.
However, Abuelsaad discloses, wherein the identifying comprises: determining a duration of time (See at least paragraph [0019], “UAV program 110 accounts for the capabilities of UAV 108, including battery life, flight time capability, launch time restraints, etc. in determining when and for how long to deploy UAV 108”) wherein the instruction is to deploy to the location for the duration of time. (See at least paragraph [0019], “UAV program 110 deploys UAV 108 (step 208). Responsive to determining that an obstruction will persist, UAV program 110 determines when and for how long to deploy UAV 108.”)
Further, Channah discloses, for which the at least one vehicle is capable of providing the at least one of the plurality of infrastructure services, (See at least paragraph [0011], “determining a battery level for the particular mobile camera, and determining whether the battery level for the particular mobile camera satisfies a threshold battery level”). Further, FIG. 1 illustrates, multiple aerial cameras 104a-d.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power outage traffic signal vehicle as disclosed by Ly as modified by Murakami to include determining the battery capabilities of the UAV deployment because determining the battery threshold will aid in Ly discloses with being able to provide traffic signal coordination for a longer period of time.
Claims 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210407287, to Ly et al. (hereinafter Ly), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20200273335, to Murakami et al (hereinafter Murakami), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20220250654, to Zhang et al (hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of U.S Patent Publication 2017/0103265, to Channah et al (hereinafter Channah), and further in view of U.S Patent Publication 2016/0059962, to Abuelsaad et al (hereinafter Abuelsaad).
As per claim 10, Ly as modified by Murakami, Zhang, Channah, and Abuelsaad discloses the features of claim 9, Ly further discloses, further comprising: identifying at least a third vehicle that is capable of providing the first service; and transmitting an third instruction to the at least the third vehicle to deploy to the location to provide the first service (See at least paragraph [0025] “wherein a second portable traffic controller unit 130 may provide traffic control for pedestrians.”). Ly further disclose, (See at least paragraph [0027] “The plurality of portable traffic controller units 130 may be transported by a plurality of drones 140 at the same time or may be transported one after another by a drone 140 to a specific location, such as intersection 102.”). Ly further discloses, (See at least paragraph [0025] “A second portable traffic controller unit 130 can be positioned at a second landing pad 152 providing traffic control for pedestrians”). Further Ly discloses, (See at least paragraph [0044] “the solar drone 300 can comprise a light source 350 to illuminate or brighten for example a remote area at night, as chosen by the user. The light source 350 can comprise LED lights and/or incandescent light bulbs. Further, the light source 350 can be adapted to turn into a portable heater when used in a low temperature environment.”)
Ly fails to explicitly disclose, for a time following the duration of time for which the at least one first vehicle is capable of providing the first service.
However, Abuelsaad discloses, for a time following the duration of time for which the at least one first vehicle is capable of providing the first service. (See at least paragraph [0019], “If UAV program 110 determines that the obstruction will persist (“yes” branch, decision block 206), then UAV program 110 deploys UAV 108 (step 208). Responsive to determining that an obstruction will persist, UAV program 110 determines when and for how long to deploy UAV 108. UAV program 110 determines when to deploy UAV 108 based on monitored conditions, policy, and user definitions. For example, a local government may have policies to restrict the use of UAVs, such as prohibiting the use of UAVs from sunset to sunrise, or allowing only a particular number of UAVs to fly in a specified area at one time. In another example, a user may define that UAV program 110 deploys UAV 108 when the user cannot see a distance of 0.25 miles ahead. UAV program 110 accounts for the capabilities of UAV 108, including battery life, flight time capability, launch time restraints, etc. in determining when and for how long to deploy UAV 108”. )
Ly as modified by Abuelsaad, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, autonomous controls. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Ly as modified by Murakami, Channah, and Abuelsaad to incorporate the teachings of Abuelsaad to include replacing drones when the drone has a low battery, because replacing a drone with low battery will aid in maintaining portable traffic signals at the intersection.
Claims 11, and 12, Claims is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210407287, to Ly et al. (hereinafter Ly), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20200273335, to Murakami et al (hereinafter Murakami), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20220250654, to Zhang et al (hereinafter Zhang). and further in view of U.S Patent Publication 2020/0346751, to Horelik et al (hereinafter Horelik).
As per claim 11, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, discloses the features of claim 1, but Ly fails to explicitly disclose, further comprising: registering the at least one first vehicle to a vehicle status database, wherein an entry for the at least one first vehicle in the vehicle status database includes information identifying a capability of providing the first service, wherein the identifying is in accordance with the vehicle status database.
However, Horelik discloses, further comprising: registering the at least one vehicle to a vehicle status database, (See at least paragraph [0110], “emergency data manager 100, via the emergency network managers 379, determines UAV or drone availability.” wherein an entry for the at least one vehicle in the vehicle status database includes information identifying a capability of providing the at least one of the plurality of infrastructure services, wherein the identifying is in accordance with the vehicle status database. (See at least paragraph [0110], “availability is determined based on various factors, parameters, etc. For example, the time to reach the emergency location (ETA), battery remaining in the drone”) wherein the identifying is in accordance with the vehicle status database. (See at least paragraph [0060], “UAV availability is determined using UAV status”)
Ly as modified by Horelik, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, autonomous controls. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Ly as modified by Murakami to incorporate the teachings of Horelik to include determining status of the availability and capability of the drone based on parameter and battery remaining on the drone because obtaining status information of the drone will aid on in the system of Ly by having the capacity of providing more accurate service.
As per claim 12, Ly, as modified by Murakami, Zhang, and Horelik discloses the features of claim 11, but Ly fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the identifying comprises: determining at least one of: a current location or an anticipated location of the at least one first vehicle; and determining an availability of the at least one first vehicle.
However, Horelik discloses, wherein the identifying comprises: determining at least one of: a current location or an anticipated location of the at least one vehicle; (See at least paragraph [0041], “An emergency alert may include information related to a device, the device user, past and current location”) and determining an availability of the at least one vehicle. (See at least paragraph [0060], “UAV availability is determined using UAV status”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Ly with the system of Horelik for the same reasons as the analysis in claim 11.
Claims 15, and 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210407287, to Ly et al. (hereinafter Ly), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20200273335, to Murakami et al (hereinafter Murakami), and further in view of US Patent Publication 20220250654, to Zhang et al (hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0131727, to Abdullatif et al (hereinafter Abdullatif).
As per claim 15, Ly as modified by Murakami, and Zhang, discloses the claim features of claim 1, but Ly fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the first instruction to the at least one first vehicle further includes a third instruction to interact with the at least the one second vehicle for at least one task, and wherein the second instruction to the at least the one second vehicle further includes a fourth instruction to interact with the at least one first vehicle for the at least one task.
However, Abdullatif discloses, wherein the first instruction to the at least one first vehicle further includes a third instruction to interact with the at least the one second vehicle for at least one task, and wherein the second instruction to the at least the one second vehicle further includes a fourth instruction to interact with the at least one first vehicle for the at least one task. (See at least paragraph [0006], “Each of the UAVs is further configured to receive initial values for system variables based on mission parameters for the multi-UAV mission and a first and second criteria associated with a task allocation for the UAV”)
Ly as modified by Abdullatif, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, autonomous controls. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Ly to incorporate the teachings of Abdullatif to include drones communicating tasks because drones communication tasks will aid in Ly as the vehicles will be able to assist each other while providing services.
As per claim 16, Ly as modified by Murakami, Zhang, Abdullatif discloses the features of claim 15, and Ly further discloses, wherein the at least one task comprises: a recharging task; or a refueling task. (See at least paragraph [0041], “solar power generating UAV 300 , herein also referred to as solar drone 300 , comprises capabilities of generating, storing and providing electrical power to another device”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESAM NMN ALMADHRHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666