DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
3. Applicant’s argument, filed on 04/13/2026 regarding rejection of claims, 11, 3, 5- 9, 11-13, 15—20 has been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (WO 2020061899 A1)hereinafter Tang/copy attached and further in view of Wang et al. (WO2017149361) hereinafter Wang
As to claim 1 Tang teaches A terminal handover method, performed by a terminal and comprising: ([0014] the terminal device determines the target cell for handover from multiple candidate cells based on the handover conditions included in the conditional handover command.)
starting a first timer during a handover of the terminal; ([0020] the terminal device starts a timer, including: the terminal device starts the timer according to a condition switching command received from the network device)
wherein a starting condition of the first timer comprises: ; ([0021] the time when the terminal device starts the timer can be the time when the terminal device receives the conditional handover command sent by the source base station, or the time when the terminal device obtains the handover condition in the conditional handover command (i.e., the time when message parsing is completed), or the time when the terminal device starts the timer is a preset time after the time when the terminal device receives the conditional handover command sent by the source base station (or the time when a certain message is received).)
reception of a handover command and handover condition ([0020][0021]terminal receives handover command and the terminal device obtains the handover condition in the conditional handover command)
, and detection that a measurement result satisfies the handover condition,([0135] when a terminal device receives a conditional handover command sent by the source base station, it begins to evaluate whether the measurement conditions of multiple candidate cells meet the handover conditions based on the conditional handover command, that is, to select a target cell whose signal strength meets the handover conditions from multiple candidate cells.)
wherein the handover condition comprises a measurement result of the potential target cell is greater than a second threshold.([0124][0125][0147]terminal device sends a measurement report to the source base station; source base station makes an early handover decision based on the measurement report reported by the terminal device; first handover condition includes that the communication quality of a candidate cell that can be used as the target cell needs to be higher than a second quality threshold)
Tang does not teach and releasing a random access resource that is reserved or configured for the handover by a potential target cell when the first timer expires;
Wang teaches and releasing a random access resource that is reserved or configured for the handover by a potential target cell when the first timer expires; ([0017][0054][0076] source node sets a resource release timer when either a random access detect message has been received from the target node or the random access timer has expired. In those implementations, the source node releases the one or more resources associated with the UE when either a release message has been received from the target node or the resource release timer has expired)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Wang with the teaching of Tang because Wang teaches that UE Context Release request may reduce the number of handover command retransmissions at the source eNB and/or prevent unnecessary data forwarding traffic over the X2 interface in the event of a random access failure at the target eNB B. (Wang [0070])
As to claim 18 The combination Tang and Wang specifically Tang teaches
A communications device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program is executed by the processor, the processor is configured to implement steps of the terminal handover method according to claim 1. ([0075][0076 ] Fig. 5, terminal includes a processor controls transceiver and the processor execute program stored in memory)
Claim 20 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 18.
As to claim 3. The combination Tang and Wang specifically Tang teaches
wherein the starting condition of the first timer further comprises at least one of the following: ([0020] the terminal device starts a timer, including: the terminal device starts the timer according to a condition switching command received from the network device.
a measurement result of the source cell is less than a first threshold; ([0159] he wireless link of the terminal device fails due to a decrease in the communication quality of the source cell where the terminal device is located, the terminal device needs to determine a target base station according to the second handover condition. Optionally, the communication quality threshold included in the second handover condition can be lower than the communication quality threshold included in the first handover condition.)
and the measurement result of the potential target cell is greater than the measurement result of the source cell for a third threshold.
Claim(s) 5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Wang and further in view of Johansson et al. (US 20130183974 A1) hereinafter Johansson
As to claim 5. The combination Tang and Wang does not teach
further comprising: if the first timer expires or the first timer stops, performing one of the following operations
prohibiting initiating random access to the potential target cell corresponding to the first timer;
prohibiting initiating random access to all the potential target cells;
allowing a random access procedure in progress to continue;
allowing a random access procedure in progress to continue until a second timer expires;
stopping a random access procedure in progress;
determining a handover failure;
sending an indication for indicating that the potential target cell releases the random access resource that is reserved or configured for the handover; and
sending an indication for indicating that the first timer has expired or stopped;
Johansson teaches determining a handover failure; ([0036] UE 101 detects a failure event such as a radio link failure (RLF) or a handover failure (HOF).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Johansson with the teaching of Tang and Wang because Johansson teaches that detecting a failure a handover failure would allow UE to performs an RRC reestablishment procedure to restore the RRC connection by selecting a target cell with the target base station and performs the RRC reestablishment.(Johansson [0036])
As to claim 8. The combination Tang and Wang does not teach wherein there are a plurality of first timers, and each potential target cell corresponds to one first timer; or all potential target cells correspond to one of the first timers
Johansson teaches wherein there are a plurality of first timers, and each potential target cell corresponds to one first timer; or all potential target cells correspond to one of the first timers([0070] Fig. 1, if it does not receive a random access detect message before the timer T.sub.RA 220 expires, the source eNB 1 12 (determining a random access failure at the target eNB 1 14) is configured to stop scheduling retransmissions of the handover command and refrain from forwarding any buffered data to the target eNB 1 14.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Johansson with the teaching of Tang and Wang because Johansson teaches that detecting a failure a handover failure would allow UE to performs an RRC reestablishment procedure to restore the RRC connection by selecting a target cell with the target base station and performs the RRC reestablishment.(Johansson [0036])
Claim(s) 9, 11, 12 , 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yiu et al. (US 20190387440 A1) hereinafter Yiu and Tang
As to claim 9. Yiu teaches A terminal handover method, performed by a source base station or a target base station, comprising:
starting a first timer during a handover of a terminal, ([0044][0045] Fig. 1C, , a validity timer may be associated with the CHO command by the source 011; conditional handover CHO command or configuration may indicate to start the timer(s) when the CHO command is received by the UE 101/102, when the UE 101/102 detects or estimates that the serving cell/beam signal strength/quality is below a configured or determined threshold)
wherein a random access resource that is reserved or configured for the handover by a potential target cell is released ([0052][0058] Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B,communication between the source and target RAN nodes 111/112 may include the source RAN node 111/112 indicating to the target RAN node 111/112 to release RACH resources when a CHO exit condition has been met and/or when the CHO has failed. The source RAN node 111/112 may send such an indication in response to when an exit condition timer at the source RAN node 111/112 expires i.e., timer expires)
Yiu does not teach wherein a starting condition of the first timer comprises:
reception of a handover command and handover condition, and detection that a measurement result satisfies the handover condition, wherein the handover condition comprises a measurement result of the potential target cell is greater than a second threshold.
Tang teaches wherein a starting condition of the first timer comprises: ; ([0021] the time when the terminal device starts the timer can be the time when the terminal device receives the conditional handover command sent by the source base station, or the time when the terminal device obtains the handover condition in the conditional handover command (i.e., the time when message parsing is completed), or the time when the terminal device starts the timer is a preset time after the time when the terminal device receives the conditional handover command sent by the source base station (or the time when a certain message is received).)
reception of a handover command and handover condition ([0020][0021]terminal receives handover command and the terminal device obtains the handover condition in the conditional handover command)
, and detection that a measurement result satisfies the handover condition,([0135] when a terminal device receives a conditional handover command sent by the source base station, it begins to evaluate whether the measurement conditions of multiple candidate cells meet the handover conditions based on the conditional handover command, that is, to select a target cell whose signal strength meets the handover conditions from multiple candidate cells.)
wherein the handover condition comprises a measurement result of the potential target cell is greater than a second threshold.([0124][0125][0147]terminal device sends a measurement report to the source base station; source base station makes an early handover decision based on the measurement report reported by the terminal device; first handover condition includes that the communication quality of a candidate cell that can be used as the target cell needs to be higher than a second quality threshold)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Tang with the teaching of Yiu because Tang teaches that, improving the conditional handover method to ensure the selection of a target cell with better communication quality in abnormal scenarios, completing cell handover accurately, and maintaining communication between the terminal device and the base station, while avoiding resource waste.(Tang [0263])
As to claim 11. The combination of Yiu and Tang specifically Tang teaches the starting condition of the first timer further comprises at least one of the following: : ([0021] the time when the terminal device starts the timer can be the time when the terminal device receives the conditional handover command sent by the source base station, or the time when the terminal device obtains the handover condition in the conditional handover command (i.e., the time when message parsing is completed), or the time when the terminal device starts the timer is a preset time after the time when the terminal device receives the conditional handover command sent by the source base station (or the time when a certain message is received).)
the a measurement result of the source cell is less than a first threshold([0159] he wireless link of the terminal device fails due to a decrease in the communication quality of the source cell where the terminal device is located, the terminal device needs to determine a target base station according to the second handover condition. Optionally, the communication quality threshold included in the second handover condition can be lower than the communication quality threshold included in the first handover condition.)and
the measurement result of the potential target cell is greater than the measurement result of the source cell for a third threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Tang with the teaching of Yiu because Tang teaches that, improving the conditional handover method to ensure the selection of a target cell with better communication quality in abnormal scenarios, completing cell handover accurately, and maintaining communication between the terminal device and the base station, while avoiding resource waste.(Tang [0263])
As to claim 12. The combination of Yiu and Tang specifically Yiu teaches wherein the terminal handover method further comprises: if the first timer expires or the first timer stops, performing one of the following operations:
sending an indication to the potential target cell, wherein the indication is used for indicating that the potential target cell releases the random access resource reserved or configured for the handover; ([0212] Fig. 12at operations 1220-1225, the source RAN node 111 may instruct the target RAN node 112 to release the target resources (for example, RACH resources) when the exit condition is fulfilled or when the conditional handover CHO condition is not fulfilled;, a timer may be set by the target RAN node 112 and when the timer expires, the resource(s) may be autonomously released.)
sending an indication to the potential target cell, wherein the indication is used for indicating that the potential target cell sets the random access resource reserved or configured for the handover to be invalid;
sending an indication to the terminal, wherein the indication is used for indicating that the random access resource reserved or configured for the handover is invalid;
sending an indication to the terminal, wherein the indication is used for indicating that the first timer has expired or stopped;
sending an indication to the terminal, wherein the indication is used for indicating that the terminal is not allowed to initiate random access to the potential target cell corresponding to the first timer;
sending an indication to the terminal, wherein the indication is used for indicating that the terminal is not allowed to initiate random access to all the potential target cells; and determining a handover failure.
As to claim 19. The combination of Yiu, and Yang specifically Yiu teaches A base station, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program is executed by the processor, the processor is configured to implement steps of the terminal handover method according to claim 9.([0123] Fig. 3, processor coupled to memory storing program instructions perform processes)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang Wang, Johansson and further in view of Kato et al. (US 20130215848 A1) hereinafter Kato
As to claim 6. The combination Tang , Wang, Johansson does not teach , wherein the stopping a random access procedure in progress comprises at least one of the following: determining that the random access procedure has failed; and indicating to an upper layer that the random access procedure has failed.
Kato teaches wherein the stopping a random access procedure in progress comprises at least one of the following: determining that the random access procedure has failed; and indicating to an upper layer that the random access procedure has failed. ([0068]) If the number of transmissions of the random access preamble exceeds the maximum number of transmissions of the random access preamble indicated by the system information, the mobile station apparatus 1 determines that random access has failed, and stops the communication with the base station apparatus 3. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Kato with the teaching of Tang Wang, Johansson because Kato teaches that stopping communication with base station would enable efficient random access in a case where transmission timings on the side of mobile station apparatuses vary among individual cells. (Kato [0011])
Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Wang and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20190246323 A1) hereinafter Kim
As to claim 7. The combination Tang, Wang specifically Tang teaches that further comprising: performing one of the following operations within a preset period of time before timeout of the first timer: ([0212] The T3 time can be a time before or after the first time. If the terminal device does not meet the P1 event within the time period corresponding to the first duration after the first moment, it will not report a measurement report)
wherein the preset period of time is determined in one of the following manners: being configured by the source cell; being configured by the target cell; and being specified by a protocol ([0010] timer can be configured by the source base station,)
The combination Tang , Wang does not teach prohibiting initiating random access to the potential target cell corresponding to the first timer; and prohibiting initiating random access to all the potential target cells,
Kim teaches teach prohibiting initiating random access to the potential target cell corresponding to the first timer; and prohibiting initiating random access to all the potential target cells, ([0180] UE stop performing random access to the first candidate target cell)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Kim with the teaching of Tang Wang because Kim teaches that when channel quality of a second target cell among the candidate target cells is higher than channel quality of the 1st target cell UE can perform handover or random access to a new target cell without waiting for a RACH failure in a current target cell.(Kim [0008])
Claim(s) 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 20150271717 A1) hereinafter Moon and further in view of Tang
As to claim 13. Moon teaches A terminal handover method, performed by a terminal and comprising: ([0006] Fig. 1, if a UE 110 detects a handover event by measuring the strength (e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP)) of a downlink signal,)
starting a second timer during a handover of the terminal; ([0068] Fig. 13, UE may start each of multiple handover timers TTTs related to handover for detected multiple target cells, if the multiple target cells for handover are detected while the RLF timer is running.)
and if the second timer expires but access to a target cell is not yet successful, determining a handover failure, ([0068] Fig. 13, 1307, if all of the multiple waiting timers T312s are terminated before the RLF timer is terminated, i.e., second timer expires the UE may stop the running of the RLF timer, determine (or declare) the channel situation of the serving cell as the RLF situation, and perform RRC connection reconfiguration/handover fail.); wherein a starting condition of the second timer comprises: detection that a measurement result satisfies a handover condition;([0081][0105] [0106] Fig. 15, UE may terminate the first waiting timer T312.sub.MR and start a second waiting timer T312.sub.HOCMD related to reception of the handover command message, an event A6 considers only the signal strength or quality of a Secondary Cell (SCell) i.e., measurement result, and does not consider the signal strength or quality of a Primary Cell (PCell))
Moon does not teach reception of a handover command and handover condition, and detection that a measurement result satisfies the handover condition, wherein the handover condition comprises a measurement result of the potential target cell is greater than a second threshold.
Tang teaches reception of a handover command and handover condition ([0020][0021]terminal receives handover command and the terminal device obtains the handover condition in the conditional handover command)
, and detection that a measurement result satisfies the handover condition,([0135] when a terminal device receives a conditional handover command sent by the source base station, it begins to evaluate whether the measurement conditions of multiple candidate cells meet the handover conditions based on the conditional handover command, that is, to select a target cell whose signal strength meets the handover conditions from multiple candidate cells.)
wherein the handover condition comprises a measurement result of the potential target cell is greater than a second threshold.([0124][0125][0147]terminal device sends a measurement report to the source base station; source base station makes an early handover decision based on the measurement report reported by the terminal device; first handover condition includes that the communication quality of a candidate cell that can be used as the target cell needs to be higher than a second quality threshold)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Tang with the teaching of Moon because Tang teaches that, improving the conditional handover method to ensure the selection of a target cell with better communication quality in abnormal scenarios, completing cell handover accurately, and maintaining communication between the terminal device and the base station, while avoiding resource waste.(Tang [0263])
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon, Johansson and further in view of You et al. (US 20210360494 A1) hereinafter You
As to claim 17. The combination of Moon and Tang does not teach wherein there are a plurality of second timers, and each potential target cell corresponds to one second timer; or all potential target cells correspond to one of the second timers
You teaches wherein there are a plurality of second timers, and each potential target cell corresponds to one second timer; or all potential target cells correspond to one of the second timers. ([0147]Fig. 6, in a case that the first resource timer does not expire and the first access timer expires, if the terminal device does not successfully access the first target network device, the processing unit 610 is configured to perform at least one of the following steps: determining not to establish a connection with the first target network device; selecting a second target network device among the plurality of target network devices to perform access again i.e., timer corresponds to multiple target cells,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of You with the teaching of Moon and Tang because You teaches that selecting a second target network device among the plurality of target network would guarantee the integrity of the working mechanism during the handover procedure.(You [0006])
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon, Tang
As to claim 15. The combination of Moon and Tang specifically Tang teaches, the starting condition of the first timer further comprises at least one of the following: ([0021] the time when the terminal device starts the timer can be the time when the terminal device receives the conditional handover command sent by the source base station, or the time when the terminal device obtains the handover condition in the conditional handover command (i.e., the time when message parsing is completed), or the time when the terminal device starts the timer is a preset time after the time when the terminal device receives the conditional handover command sent by the source base station (or the time when a certain message is received).)
the a measurement result of the source cell is less than a first threshold;; ([0159] he wireless link of the terminal device fails due to a decrease in the communication quality of the source cell where the terminal device is located, the terminal device needs to determine a target base station according to the second handover condition. Optionally, the communication quality threshold included in the second handover condition can be lower than the communication quality threshold included in the first handover condition.)
and the measurement result of the potential target cell is greater than the measurement result of the source cell for a third threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Tang with the teaching of Moon because Tang teaches that, improving the conditional handover method to ensure the selection of a target cell with better communication quality in abnormal scenarios, completing cell handover accurately, and maintaining communication between the terminal device and the base station, while avoiding resource waste.(Tang [0263])
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon , Tang and further in view of Shimezawa et al. (US 20170201306 A1) hereinafter Shimezawa
As to claim 16. The combination of Moon and Tang does not teaches wherein the terminal handover method further comprises: if the second timer expires or the second timer stops, performing one of the following operations: prohibiting initiating random access to the potential target cell corresponding to the second timer;
prohibiting initiating random access to all the potential target cells; allowing a random access procedure in progress to continue; stopping a random access procedure in progress; sending an indication for indicating that the potential target cell releases the random access resource that is reserved or configured for the handover; and sending an indication for indicating that the second timer has expired or stopped, or, wherein the terminal handover method further comprises: performing one of the following operations within a preset period of time before timeout of the second timer: prohibiting initiating random access to the potential target cell corresponding to the second timer; and prohibiting initiating random access to all the potential target cells.
Shimezawa Teaches wherein the terminal handover method further comprises: if the second timer expires or the second timer stops, performing one of the following operations: prohibiting initiating random access to the potential target cell corresponding to the second timer; ([0181] [0184]In a case where the MAC CE indicating the deactivation of the secondary cell is received, or in a case where the deactivation timer associated with the secondary cell expires; the terminal device stops the random access procedure being performed)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Shimezawa with the teaching of Moon and Tang because Shimezawa teaches that stops the random access procedure being performed would reduce power consumption of the terminal device. (Shimezawa[0324])
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeon; Hyoungsuk et al. [US 20190254074 A1] Random Access Using Supplemental Uplink
ZHANG; Xiaobo [US 20190335402 A1] METHOD AND DEVICE IN UE AND BASE STATION USED FOR POWER ADJUSTMENT
HONG; Jongwoo et al. [US 20200029384 A1] METHOD FOR PERFORMING PATH RESELECTION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND APPARATUS THEREFOR
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413