Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-32, 36, 38, 40, 46-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0127405 A1) in view of Banerjea et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0303275 A\1)
Claim 26, Ma teaches a method of operating a first wireless device including two transceivers, the two transceivers including a cellular transceiver and a WiFi transceiver [par 0002, radio communications continuously increases, a radio communication device (such as a smart mobile terminal) is equipped with a variety of radio transceivers that support different radio technologies, and forms a multiple radio terminal (MRT). The MRT may be provided simultaneously therein with a long term evolution (LTE) or LTE- advanced (LTE-A) radio transceiver, a wireless local area network (WLAN) access radio transceiver, a Bluetooth radio transceiver, a global navigation satellite system radio transceiver, etc. The phenomenon of the co-location or coexistence of multiple radio transceivers in a same communication device (MRT) is called in-device coexistence (IDC)]
the method comprising: performing, at the first wireless device, one or more of: 1) identifying resource units (RUs) which are preferred for WiFi uplink (UL) communications for in-device coexistence (IDC) reasons and ii) identifying channels which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons [abstract, par 0082, The method includes: a terminal sets up an uplink scheduling request SR message carrying in-device coexistence IDC information, the IDC information being configured for a network side to allocate an uplink resource to the terminal; and the terminal transmits the SR message. Here, the terminal, based on its own communication state, finds that the WIFI module is also performing related data communication. Then, when the terminal transmits the uplink scheduling request, the IDC information is carried in the SR message to indicate that the terminal is performing WIFI data communication];
and operating the WiFi transceiver in the first wireless device to transmit UL IDC information to a WiFi access point [par 0081, 0082, Step 801, the terminal transmits an SR message carrying IDC information. the terminal, based on its own communication state, finds that the WIFI module is also performing related data communication. Then, when the terminal transmits the uplink scheduling request, the IDC information is carried in the SR message to indicate that the terminal is performing WIFI data communication];
said WiFi access point not having control over resource utilization by the cellular transceiver in the first wireless device but being responsible for scheduling UL resources to be used by wireless devices for WiFi UL communications, said UL IDC information identifying at least one of: i) RUs which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons or ii) identifying channels which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons[par 0082-0086, a network device allocates the uplink resource based on the IDC information and transmits a scheduling response to the terminal. the uplink resource away from the WIFI 2.4 GHZ frequency band means that an RB (a physical resource block) in which the uplink resource is located is the one in the cell that has a larger frequency difference from WIFI 2.4 GHZ over all of the uplink resource block]
said UL IDC information being information that can be used by the WiFi access point when scheduling UL resources for WiFi UL communications to avoid IDC conflicts at the first wireless device [par 0003, 0004, Because of simultaneous operation of multiple radio transceivers of MRT on overlapping or adjacent wireless spectra, when data transmission for a first radio transceiver overlaps in time domain with data reception for a second radio transceiver, the data reception for the second radio transceiver may be interfered with by the data transmission for the first radio transceiver. Some radio resource management techniques are proposed in LTE/LTE-A systems to eliminate the aforementioned interference. An example is to reduce interference with a radio communication signal by disabling other communication signals].
Ma fail to show the network side being a WiFi access point. In an analogous art Banerjea shows the network side being a WiFi access point [par 0036, 0037, 0066, For the stations STA1-STA4 and the AP 110, the one or more transceivers may include Wi- Fi transceivers, Bluetooth transceivers, cellular transceivers, and any other suitable radio frequency (RF) transceivers (not shown for simplicity) to transmit and receive wireless communication signals. An AP may allocate specific or dedicated RUs to a number of wireless devices using a trigger frame. In some implementations, the trigger frame may identify a number of STAs associated with the AP, and may solicit uplink (UL) multi-user (MU) data transmissions from the identified STAs using their allocated Rus].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because AP is suitable device that allows one or more wireless devices to connect to a network (such as a local area network (LAN), wide area network (WAN).
Claim 27, Ma and Banerjea disclose the method of claim 26, wherein said UL IDC information includes information identifying RUs which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons [Ma, par 0082, 0084, terminal transmits the uplink scheduling request, the IDC information is carried in the SR message to indicate that the terminal is performing WIFI data communication. After receiving the SR message, the network device allocates the uplink resource far away from WIFI 2.4 GHZ frequency band to the terminal. The terminal utilizes this uplink resource for data transmission, so as to reduce interference with that coexisting radio technology].
Claim 28, Ma and Banerjea illustrate the method of claim 26, Ma fail to show wherein said UL IDC information includes information identifying channels which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons.
In an analogous art Banerjea show wherein said UL IDC information includes information identifying channels which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons [par 0072, 0077, The present disclosure may allow the wireless devices to transmit wireless signals at power levels greater than the PSD limits imposed on OFDMA transmissions, which can increase the range of the wireless devices. For example, by qualifying a wireless device operating in Europe as a frequency hopping device, the wireless device may transmit OFDMA communications on a 2 MHz RU using power levels up to 20 dBm (such as compared to the ETSI's limit of 14 dBm on OFDMA transmissions on a 2 MHz channel).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
Claim 29, Ma and Banerjea provide the method of claim 26, Ma show IDC information is being requested [par 0007, an uplink scheduling request SR message carrying IDC information, the IDC information being configured for a network side to allocate an uplink resource to the terminal]
MA fail to show further comprising: receiving, at the WiFi transceiver, a trigger frame from the WiFi access point indicating that information is being requested; and responding to the trigger frame by performing said step of operating the WiF1 transceiver in the first wireless device to transmit UL information to a WiF1 access point.
In an analogous art Banerjea show further comprising: receiving, at the WiFi transceiver, a trigger frame from the WiFi access point indicating that information is being requested [par 0068, The AP gains access to the wireless medium at time tsub.2, and may transmit a trigger frame 502 to the stations STA1-STAn on a downlink (DL) channel Time tsub.2 may indicate a beginning of a transmit opportunity (TXOP)
508. The trigger frame 502 may allocate a dedicated RU to each of a number of the stations STA1-STAn identified by the trigger frame 502, and may solicit UL MU data transmissions from the identified stations STA1-STAn],
and responding to the trigger frame by performing said step of operating the WiF1 transceiver in the first wireless device to transmit UL information to a WiFi access point [par 0069, 0070, The AP gains access to the wireless medium at time tsub.2, and may transmit a trigger frame 502 to the stations STA1-STAn on a downlink
(DL) channel Time tsub.2 may indicate a beginning of a transmit opportunity (TXOP)
508. The trigger frame 502 may allocate a dedicated RU to each of a number of the stations STA1-STAn identified by the trigger frame 502, and may solicit UL MU data transmissions from the identified stations STA1-STAn. the identified stations STA1- STAn may begin transmitting UL MU data 504 on their respective dedicated RUs. In some aspects, each of the identified stations STA1-STAn may determine whether the frequency band associated with its allocated RU has been idle for a duration (such as a PIFS duration) prior to transmitting UL MU data to the AP)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
Claim 30, Ma and Banejea illustrate the method of claim 26, further comprising: checking, at the first wireless device, for an actual or potential IDC problem [Ma, par 0062, 0065, the terminal reports the IDC information to the network side, so that the network side schedules frequency domain or time domain of different radio technology communications in a separate manner based on the IDC information, the IDC information includes one or more of: in-device coexistence indication information (e.g., indicating whether there are other radio technologies coexisting with LTE/NR (New Air Interface) within the terminal), receiving frequency domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTE/NR, receiving time domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTE/NR, transmitting frequency domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTENR, transmitting time domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTE/NR, in-device coexisting time domain allocation information, and in-device coexisting frequency domain allocation information]
Claim 31, Ma and Banerjea conveys the method of claim 30, wherein checking, at the first wireless device, for an actual or potential IDC problem includes: checking for an actual IDC problem [Ma, par 0062, 0065, the terminal reports the IDC information to the network side, so that the network side schedules frequency domain or time domain of different radio technology communications in a separate manner based on the IDC information, the IDC information includes one or more of: in-device coexistence indication information (e.g., indicating whether there are other radio technologies coexisting with LTE/NR (New Air Interface) within the terminal), receiving frequency domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTE/NR, receiving time domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTE/NR, transmitting frequency domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTENR, transmitting time domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTE/NR, in-device coexisting time domain allocation information, and in-device coexisting frequency domain allocation information]
Claim 32, Ma and Banerjea create the method of claim 30, Ma fail to show wherein checking, at the first wireless device, for an actual or potential IDC problem includes: checking for a potential IDC problem in said first wireless device by checking for a cellular resource grant of RUs or channels which may be used by the WiFi transceiver for UL transmissions [par 0081, 0082, 0083, Step 801, the terminal transmits an SR message carrying IDC information. the terminal, based on its own communication state, finds that the WIFI module is also performing related data communication. Then, when the terminal transmits the uplink scheduling request, the IDC information is carried in the SR message to indicate that the terminal is performing WIFI data communication. a network device allocates the uplink resource based on the IDC information and transmits a scheduling response to the terminal.
Ma fail to show cellular resource grant of RUs or channels which may be used by the WiFi transceiver for UL transmissions
In an analogous art Banerja show cellular resource grant of RUs or channels which may be used by the WiFi transceiver for UL transmissions [par 0074, 0101, In some implementations, if a wireless device is allocated an RU having a number (N.sub.RU) of subcarriers in a wireless network utilizing an 80 MHz channel having a total number (N.sub.tot) of available subcarriers, then the power spectral density (PSD) gain (G.sub.PSD) of the wireless device when transmitting data using a smaller RU (as compared with the allocated RU) may be expressed as G.sub.PSD=10 log 10(N.sub.tot/N.sub.RU). When an RU is initially allocated to a wireless device for UL OFDMA transmissions, the AP may reset its count value to a maximum count value of “15,” for example, because both Japan and Europe consider a wireless device to be a frequency hopping device based at least in part on the wireless device hopping between 15 different channels (or RUs) within a given sequence period];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
Claim 36 Ma and Banerjea create the method of claim 29, Ma fail to show wherein the UL IDC information includes a list of one or more suggested unlicensed channels to be used by the WiFi access point for scheduling of a first wireless device UL multi-user (MU) transmission.
In an analogous art Banerjea show wherein the UL IDC information includes a list of one or more suggested unlicensed channels to be used by the WiFi access point for scheduling of a first wireless device UL multi-user (MU) transmission [par 0034, the WLAN 120 may allow for multiple-inout multiple-output (MIMO) communications between the AP 110 and the stations STA1-STA4. The MIMO communications may include single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO) and multi-user MIMO (MU-MIMO) communications. In some aspects, the WLAN 120 may utilize a multiple channel access mechanism such as, for example, an orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (OFDMA) mechanism].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
Claim 38 Ma and Banerjea create the method of claim 29, Ma fail to show wherein the UL IDC information includes a list of one or more suggested RUs to be used by the WiFi access point for scheduling of first wireless device UL multi-user (MU) transmission.
In an analogous art Banerjea show wherein the UL IDC information includes a list of one or more suggested RUs to be used by the WiFi access point for scheduling of first wireless device UL multi-user (MU) transmission [par 0031, The AP also can allocate resource units (RUs) to the number of Wi-Fi devices for uplink (UL) data transmissions based on the determined frequency hopping schedule. The Wi-Fi devices can receive the determined frequency hopping schedule and the allocation of RUs, and thereafter transmit UL data based on the determined frequency hopping schedule and the allocated Rus].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
Claim 40 , Ma and Banerjea reveal the method of claim 29, Ma fail to show UL IDC information[par 0007, an uplink scheduling request SR message carrying IDC information, the IDC information being configured for a network side to allocate an uplink resource to the terminal]
Ma disclose wherein the UL IDC information includes a list of one or more RUs not to be used by the WiFi access point for scheduling of first wireless device UL multi-user (MU) transmission.
In an analogous art Banerjea show wherein the UL information includes a list of one or more RUs not to be used by the WiFi access point for scheduling of first wireless device UL multi-user (MU) transmission [fig4, par 0065, For example, a first subcarrier allocation 410 may include a number of resource units RU1-RU37 each including 26 subcarriers, a second subcarrier allocation 420 may include a number of resource units RU1-RU16 each including 52 subcarriers, a third subcarrier allocation 430 may include a number of resource units RU1-RU8 each including 106 subcarriers, a fourth subcarrier allocation 440 may include a number of resource units RU1-RU4 each including 242 subcarriers, a fifth subcarrier allocation 450 may include a number of resource units RU1-RU2 each including 484 subcarriers, and a sixth subcarrier allocation 460 may include one RU including 996 subcarriers (with the left half of the channel for single-user (SU) operations). For each of the example subcarrier allocations 410, 420, 430, 440, 450, and 460 depicted in FIG. 4, adjacent RUs may be separated by a null subcarrier (such as a DC subcarrier), for example, to reduce leakage between adjacent RUs. It is noted that the numbers 26, 52, 106, 242, 484, and 996 in the example subcarrier allocation diagram 400 represent the number of frequency subcarriers in each of the resource units for a corresponding subcarrier allocation].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
Claim 46 Ma and Benerjea display the method of claim 30, Ma fail to show further comprising: storing, in the first wireless device, current IDC status information [Ma par 0046, a terminal sets up an SR message carrying IDC information, the IDC information being configured for a network side to allocate an uplink resource to the terminal];
and updating the current IDC status information based on the outcome of said check for an actual or potential IDC problem, said updating including updating the current IDC status to indicate no IDC problem when said check does not detect an actual or potential IDC problem and updating the current IDS status to indicate an IDC problem when said check for an actual or potential IDC problem detected an actual or potential IDC problem [par 0070, 0071, an allocating module 502, configured to allocate uplink resource to a terminal based on the IDC information. the IDC information includes one or more of: in-device coexistence indication information (e.g., indicating whether there are other radio technologies coexisting with LTE/NR (New Air Interface) in the terminal), receiving frequency domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTENR, receiving time domain information of other in-device coexisting radio technologies other than the LTE/NR],
and updating the current IDS status to indicate an IDC problem when said check for an actual or potential IDC problem detected an actual or potential IDC problem [par 0073, a second transmitting module 503, configured to issue feedback information about the SR message to the terminal, the feedback information carrying the uplink resource allocated to the terminal].
Claim 47, Ma and Banerjea provide the method of claim 46, Ma fail to show IDC information[par 0007, an uplink scheduling request SR message carrying IDC information, the IDC information being configured for a network side to allocate an uplink resource to the terminal]
Ma fail to show further comprising: receiving a trigger frame from the WiFi access point requesting information; and determining whether or not to respond to the received trigger frame requesting information based on the current IDC status information.
In an analogous art Banerjea show further comprising: receiving a trigger frame from the WiFi access point requesting information [par 0066, An AP may allocate specific or dedicated RUs to a number of wireless devices using a trigger frame. In some implementations, the trigger frame may identify a number of STAs associated with the AP, and may solicit uplink (UL) multi-user (MU) data transmissions from the identified STAs using their allocated RUs. The trigger frame may use association identification (AID) values, assigned by the AP to its associated STAs, to identify which STAs are to transmit UL data to the AP in response to the trigger frame];
and determining whether or not to respond to the received trigger frame requesting IDC information based on the current status information [par 0069, The stations STAT-STAn may receive the trigger frame 502 at (or around) time t.sub.3. Each of the identified stations STA1-STAn may decode the trigger frame 502 to determine the size and location of the dedicated RU allocated by the trigger frame 502. In some aspects, the trigger frame 502 may schedule UL data transmissions from the identified stations STA1-STAn to commence at an unspecified interframe spacing (xIFS) duration after reception of the trigger frame 502)
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
Claim 48, Ma and Banerjea determines the method of claim 47, Ma show IDC information[par 0007, an uplink scheduling request SR message carrying IDC information, the IDC information being configured for a network side to allocate an uplink resource to the terminal]
Ma fail to show wherein determining whether or not to respond to the received trigger frame requesting IDC information based on the current IDC status information includes: determining to provide IDC information in response to the trigger frame requesting IDC information when the stored current IDC status information indicates an actual or potential IDC problem; and determining to refrain from communicating IDC information in response to the trigger frame requesting IDC information when the stored current IDC status information does not indicate an actual or potential IDC problem.
In an analogous art Banerjea show wherein determining whether or not to respond to the received trigger frame requesting IDC information based on the current IDC status information includes: determining to provide IDC information in response to the trigger frame requesting IDC information when the stored current status information indicates an actual or potential IDC problem [par 0066, 0106, The trigger frame may use association identification (AID) values, assigned by the AP to its associated STAs, to identify which STAs are to transmit UL data to the AP in response to the trigger frame. In some aspects, the trigger frame may indicate the RU size and location, the modulation and coding scheme (MCS), and the power level for UL transmissions to be used by each of the STAs identified in the trigger frame. As used herein, the RU size may indicate the bandwidth of the RU, and the RU location may indicate which frequency subcarriers are allocated to the RU]
and determining to refrain from communicating information in response to the trigger frame requesting IDC information when the stored current IDC status information does not indicate an actual or potential problem[par 0090, Because the first trigger frame 610 has already informed the stations STA1-STA4 of the frequency hopping schedule and has already allocated unique sequences of RUs to each of the stations STA1-STA4 for the sequence period, the second trigger frame 620 may not contain the frequency hopping schedule and may not allocate RUs to the stations STA1-STA4 (such as to minimize the size and transmit duration of the second trigger frame 620)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
Claim 49, Ma describes a first wireless device comprising: a cellular transceiver; a WiFi transceiver; and a processor configured to operate the first wireless device to: perform[par 0002, radio communications continuously increases, a radio communication device (such as a smart mobile terminal) is equipped with a variety of radio transceivers that support different radio technologies, and forms a multiple radio terminal (MRT). The MRT may be provided simultaneously therein with a long term evolution (LTE) or LTE-advanced (LTE-A) radio transceiver, a wireless local area network (WLAN) access radio transceiver, a Bluetooth radio transceiver, a global navigation satellite system radio transceiver, etc. The phenomenon of the co-location or coexistence of multiple radio transceivers in a same communication device (MRT) is called in-device coexistence (IDC)],
at the first wireless device, one or more of: 1) identifying resource units (RUs) which are preferred for WiFi uplink (UL) communications for in-device coexistence (IDC) reasons and ii) identifying channels which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons[abstract, par 0082, The method includes: a terminal sets up an uplink scheduling request SR message carrying in-device coexistence IDC information, the IDC information being configured for a network side to allocate an uplink resource to the terminal; and the terminal transmits the SR message. Here, the terminal, based on its own communication state, finds that the WIFI module is also performing related data communication. Then, when the terminal transmits the uplink scheduling request, the IDC information is carried in the SR message to indicate that the terminal is performing WIFI data communication];
and operate the WiFi transceiver in the first wireless device to transmit UL IDC information to a WiFi access point[par 0081, 0082, Step 801, the terminal transmits an SR message carrying IDC information. the terminal, based on its own communication state, finds that the WIFI module is also performing related data communication. Then, when the terminal transmits the uplink scheduling request, the IDC information is carried in the SR message to indicate that the terminal is performing WIFI data communication];
said WiFi access point not having control over resource utilization by the cellular transceiver in the first wireless device but being responsible for scheduling UL resources to be used by wireless devices for WiFi UL communications, said UL IDC information identifying at least one of: i) RUs which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons or ii) identifying channels which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons[par 0082-0086, a network device allocates the uplink resource based on the IDC information and transmits a scheduling response to the terminal. the uplink resource away from the WIFI 2.4 GHZ frequency band means that an RB (a physical resource block) in which the uplink resource is located is the one in the cell that has a larger frequency difference from WIFI 2.4 GHZ over all of the uplink resource block]
said UL IDC information being information that can be used by the WiFi access point when scheduling UL resources for WiFi UL communications to avoid IDC conflicts at the first wireless device[par 0003, 0004, Because of simultaneous operation of multiple radio transceivers of MRT on overlapping or adjacent wireless spectra, when data transmission for a first radio transceiver overlaps in time domain with data reception for a second radio transceiver, the data reception for the second radio transceiver may be interfered with by the data transmission for the first radio transceiver. Some radio resource management techniques are proposed in LTE/LTE-A systems to eliminate the aforementioned interference. An example is to reduce interference with a radio communication signal by disabling other communication signals].
Ma fail to show the network side being a WiFi access point. In an analogous art Banerjea shows the network side being a WiFi access point [par 0036, 0037, 0066, For the stations STA1-STA4 and the AP 110, the one or more transceivers may include Wi- Fi transceivers, Bluetooth transceivers, cellular transceivers, and any other suitable radio frequency (RF) transceivers (not shown for simplicity) to transmit and receive wireless communication signals. An AP may allocate specific or dedicated RUs to a number of wireless devices using a trigger frame. In some implementations, the trigger frame may identify a number of STAs associated with the AP, and may solicit uplink (UL) multi-user (MU) data transmissions from the identified STAs using their allocated Rus].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because AP is suitable device that allows one or more wireless devices to connect to a network (such as a local area network (LAN), wide area network (WAN).
Claim 50, Ma and Banerjea display the first wireless device of claim 49, wherein said UL IDC information includes information identifying RUs which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons [Ma, par 0082, 0084, terminal transmits the uplink scheduling request, the IDC information is carried in the SR message to indicate that the terminal is performing WIFI data communication. After receiving the SR message, the network device allocates the uplink resource far away from WIFI 2.4 GHZ frequency band to the terminal. The terminal utilizes this uplink resource for data transmission, so as to reduce interference with that coexisting radio technology].
Claim 51 Ma and Banerjea reveal the first wireless device of claim 49, Ma show IDC information[par 0007, an uplink scheduling request SR message carrying IDC information, the IDC information being configured for a network side to allocate an uplink resource to the terminal]
Ma fail to show wherein said UL IDC information includes information identifying channels which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons.
In an analogous art Banerjea show wherein said UL IDC information includes information identifying channels which are preferred for WiFi UL communications for IDC reasons [par 0072, 0077, The present disclosure may allow the wireless devices to transmit wireless signals at power levels greater than the PSD limits imposed on OFDMA transmissions, which can increase the range of the wireless devices. For example, by qualifying a wireless device operating in Europe as a frequency hopping device, the wireless device may transmit OFDMA communications on a 2 MHz RU using power levels up to 20 dBm (such as compared to the ETSI's limit of 14 dBm on OFDMA transmissions on a 2 MHz channel).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
Claim 52 Ma and Banerjee disclose the first wireless device of claim 49, Ma show IDC information is being requested [par 0007, an uplink scheduling request SR message carrying IDC information, the IDC information being configured for a network side to allocate an uplink resource to the terminal]
Ma fail to show wherein the processor is further configured to operate the first wireless device to: receive, at the WiFi transceiver, a trigger frame from the WiFi access point indicating that IDC information is being requested; and respond to the trigger frame by performing said step of operating the WiFi transceiver in the first wireless device to transmit UL IDC information to a WiFi access point.
In an analogous art Banerjee show wherein the processor is further configured to operate the first wireless device to: receive, at the WiFi transceiver, a trigger frame from the WiFi access point indicating that IDC information is being requested[par 0068, The AP gains access to the wireless medium at time tsub.2, and may transmit a trigger frame 502 to the stations STA1-STAn on a downlink (DL) channel Time tsub.2 may indicate a beginning of a transmit opportunity (TXOP)
508. The trigger frame 502 may allocate a dedicated RU to each of a number of the stations STA1-STAn identified by the trigger frame 502, and may solicit UL MU data transmissions from the identified stations STA1-STAn];
and respond to the trigger frame by performing said step of operating the WiFi transceiver in the first wireless device to transmit UL IDC information to a WiFi access point[par 0069, 0070, The AP gains access to the wireless medium at time tsub.2, and may transmit a trigger frame 502 to the stations STA1-STAn on a downlink
(DL) channel Time tsub.2 may indicate a beginning of a transmit opportunity (TXOP)
508. The trigger frame 502 may allocate a dedicated RU to each of a number of the stations STA1-STAn identified by the trigger frame 502, and may solicit UL MU data transmissions from the identified stations STA1-STAn. the identified stations STA1- STAn may begin transmitting UL MU data 504 on their respective dedicated RUs. In some aspects, each of the identified stations STA1-STAn may determine whether the frequency band associated with its allocated RU has been idle for a duration (such as a PIFS duration) prior to transmitting UL MU data to the AP)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma and Banerjea because this provides a Wi-Fi network to increase the wireless range of Wi-Fi devices without violating power spectral density limits imposed by governmental regulations.
4. Claim(s) 33, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0127405 A1) in view of Banerjea et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0303275 A1) in further view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2014/0335855 A1).
Claim 33, Ma and Banerjea defines the method of claim 29, Ma and Banerjea fail to show wherein said received trigger frame is an In-Device Coexistence Report Poll (IDCRP) type trigger frame.
In an analogous art Lee show wherein said received trigger frame is an In-Device Coexistence Report Poll (IDCRP) type trigger frame [par 0098, For instance, the E- UTRAN may use the RLF information including the |DC-related information to determine a measurement threshold that is used to trigger IDC-related report i.e. when 1DC-related report is triggered].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma, Banerjea, and Lee because this provides a method and apparatus for transmitting radio link failure (RLF) information in a wireless communication system.
5. Claim(s) 34, 42-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0127405 A1) in view of Banerjea et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0303275 A1) in further view of Min et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0214036 A1).
Claim 34, Ma and Banjerea describe the method of claim 29, Ma and Banjerea fail to show wherein said received trigger frame is of type BQORP (Bandwidth Query Report Poll) or BSRP (Buffer Status Report Poll).
In an analogous art Min show wherein said received trigger frame is of type BQORP (Bandwidth Query Report Poll) or BSRP (Buffer Status Report Poll) [par 0111, In some embodiments, the AP 502 may select, from the plurality of frequency bands, select a subset of frequency bands for which the AP 502 is to request, from an STA 504, per-band buffer status reports (BSRs) that indicate per-band information related to data sizes to be sent by the STA 504. In some embodiments, the AP 502 may transmit a Trigger Frame (TF) for a multi-band BSR polling (MB-BSRP) to request the per-band BSRs].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma, Banerjea, and Min because buffer status reports (BSRs) indicate per-band information related to data sizes to be sent by the STA
Claim 42 Ma and Banjerea create the method of claim 29, Ma and Banerjea fail to show wherein the UL IDC information is transmitted in a bandwidth query report (BQR).
In an analogous art Min show wherein the UL IDC information is transmitted in a bandwidth query report (BQR) [par 0111, In some embodiments, the AP 502 may select, from the plurality of frequency bands, select a subset of frequency bands for which the AP 502 is to request, from an STA 504, per-band buffer status reports (BSRs) that indicate per-band information related to data sizes to be sent by the STA 504. In some embodiments, the AP 502 may transmit a Trigger Frame (TF) for a multi-band BSR polling (MB-BSRP) to request the per-band BSRs].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma, Banerjea, and Min because buffer status reports (BSRs) indicate per-band information related to data sizes to be sent by the STA
Claim 43 , Ma, Banerjea, and Min disclose the method of claim 42, Ma and Banerjea fail to show wherein the BQR includes a bitmap indicating subchannels available at the first wireless device transmitting the BQR.
In an analogous art Min show wherein the BQR includes a bitmap indicating subchannels available at the first wireless device transmitting the BQR [par 0132, /n some embodiments, a new “Band Index (B8-B9)” subfield can be defined by repurposing the 2-bit “Reserved” subfield to indicate the target frequency band of the “Available Channel Bitmap (BO-B7)” subfield (embodiments are not limited to these names, types and/or sizes). In the current frame format, the value of “Available Channel Bitmap” always indicates the channel availability of the current operating band where the current frame is transmitted].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma, Banerjea, and Min because buffer status reports (BSRs) indicate per-band information related to data sizes to be sent by the STA Claim
44, Ma, Banerjea, and Min convey the method of claim 43, Ma and Banerjea fail to show wherein the bitmap includes bits; wherein each bit in the bitmap corresponds to
a 20 MHz subchannel within an operating channel; and wherein each bit in the bitmap has a value, said value indicating whether the 20 MHz subchannel corresponding to the bit is: 1) available to be used for WiFi UL MU transmissions or ii) is not to be used for WiFi UL MU transmissions due to being busy, unavailable or due to an IDC issue.
In an analogous art Min show wherein the bitmap includes bits; wherein each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a 20 MHz subchannel within an operating channel; and wherein each bit in the bitmap has a value, said value indicating whether the 20 MHz subchannel corresponding to the bit is: i) available to be used for WiFi UL MU transmissions or ii) is not to be used for WiFi UL MU transmissions due to being busy, unavailable or due to an IDC issue [par 0136, In some embodiments, a Band Bitmap (of 2 bits or other size) may indicate the target frequency bands for the following “Available Channel Bitmap” subfield(s). In some embodiments, an available Channel Bitmap (of 8 bits or 16 bits or other size) may indicate channel availability of 20 MHz or 40 MHz) channels per band indicated in the “Band Bitmap” subfield. In a non-limiting example, the STA 504 may include up to 3 “Available Channel Bitmap” subfields (embodiments are not limited to this number). In a non-limiting example, the size of the subfield can be either 8 bit each bit indicating 20 MHz channel for 2.4 and 5 GHz and 40 MHz for 6 GHz band (embodiments are not limited to these numbers).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma, Banerjea, and Min because buffer status reports (BSRs) indicate per-band information related to data sizes to be sent by the STA
6. Claim(s) 35, 37, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0127405 A1) in view of Banerjea et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0303275 A1) in further view of Asterjachi et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0366254 A1).
Claim 35, Ma and Banerjea disclose the method of claim 29, Ma and Banerjea fail to show wherein the received trigger frame includes a control ID value in the range of 8 to 15 indicating IDC information is being requested.
In an analogous art Asterjadhi show wherein the received trigger frame includes a control ID value in the range of 8 to 15 indicating IDC information is being requested [fig 8B, par 0091, Another type of information indicated in the control ID field 662 or 797, as shown in row 865 of FIG. 8B, includes unicast trigger information. The unicast trigger information may provide STAs communicating with each other an indication of a trigger frame (resource allocation and other parameters for uplink). FIG. 15 is a diagram of the HE control information field 795 format when the control ID field 797 indicates unicast trigger information. For example, in conjunction with FIG. 8B, when the control ID field 662 value is 5, it indicates a trigger frame (i.e., an enhanced version of QoS Control) and the control information field 664]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma, Banerjea, and Asterjadhi because this provide generating the frame comprising the selected number of control fields, each control field comprising an end of control field, the end of control field storing an indicator indicative of an end of the selected number of control fields or a presence of another control field in the frame.
Claim 37 Ma and Banerjea disclose the method of claim 36, Ma and Banerjea fail to show wherein the UL IDC information includes a control ID value and a control subfield, the control ID value indicating that a specified channel indicated in the control subfield associated with the control ID value is a recommended sub-channel.
In an analogous art Asterjadhi show wherein the UL IDC information includes a control ID value and a control subfield [abstract, The method further includes generating the frame comprising the selected number of control fields, each control field comprising an end of control field, the end of control field storing an indicator indicative of an end of the selected number of control fields or a presence of another control field in the frame. The method further includes transmitting the frame],
the control ID value indicating that a specified channel indicated in the control subfield associated with the control ID value is a recommended sub-channel [par 0083, For example, in conjunction with FIG. 8A, when the control ID field 662 value is 4, it indicates CQI or MCS feedback information and the control information field 664 comprises CQI control field 1171, a channel bitmap field 1172, a subchannel bitmap field 1173, and a channeV/MCS feedback field 1174. In some embodiments, the CQI control field 1171 may comprise 1 byte, the channel bitmap field 1172 may comprise 1 byte, the subchannel bitmap field 1173 may comprise 0 to 8 bytes, and the channel/MCS feedback field 1174 may comprise 0 to 3 times the number of spatial streams]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma, Banerjea, and Asterjadhi because this provide generating the frame comprising the selected number of control fields, each control field comprising an end of control field, the end of control field storing an indicator indicative of an end of the selected number of control fields or a presence of another control field in the frame.
Claim 39, Ma and Banerjea disclose the method of claim 38, Ma and Banerjea fail to show wherein the UL IDC information is communicated in a control subfield identified by a control ID value indicating that a specified RU associated with the control ID value is a recommended RU.
In an analogous art Asterjadhi show wherein the UL IDC information is communicated in a control subfield identified by a control ID value indicating that a specified RU associated with the control ID value is a recommended RU [par 0103, the control information field 664 comprises a UL PPDU length field 2102, a resource unit (RU) allocation field 2104, and a third field 2106. The UL PPDU length field 2102 may indicate the length of the UL MU response. In some aspects, the UL PPDU length field 2102 comprises between 9-12 bits. The RU allocation field 2104 may indicate the resource unit (RU) assigned for transmitting the UL MU response. In some aspects, the RU allocation field 2104 may comprise between 1-15 bits. The third field may comprise between 1-15 bits and may be reserved for future use].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ma, Banerjea, and Asterjadhi because this provide generating the frame comprising the selected number of control fields, each control field comprising an end of control field, the end of control field storing an indicator indicative of an end of the selected number of control fields or a presence of another control field in the frame.
7. Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0127405 A1) in view of Banerjea et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0303275 A1) in further view of Patil et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0310342 A1).
Claim 41, Ma, and Banerjea disclose the method of claim 40, Ma and Banerjea fail to show wherein the UL IDC information is communicated in a control subfield identified by a control ID value indicating that a specified RU associated with the control ID value is not to be used by the WiFi access point when scheduling the first wireless device for UL transmissions.
In an analogous art Patil show wherein the UL IDC information is communicated in a control subfield identified by a control ID value indicating that a specified RU associated with the control ID value is not to be used by the WiFi access point when scheduling the first wireless device for UL transmissions[par 0039, 0092, a wireless device, such as an access point, to receive a trigger frame defining how resource units may be utilized during a transmission opportunity. The transmission opportunity may be defined, at least in part, by the trigger frame itself. The receiving device may decode the trigger frame to determine resource units to be utilized for particular types of transmissions. An access point may also indicate one or more resource units that should not be utilized for transmissions by any devices, whether those transmissions are destined for the access point or destined for another device]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ma, Banerjea, and Patil because indicating that resource units “RU-E” may be used to transmit data during the transmission opportunity.
8. Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0127405 A1) in view of Banerjea et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0303275 A1) in further view of Asterjad