DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
An amendment was filed on 10/23/2026. Claim 1 was amended, claims 8-11 have been canceled, and new claims 19-23 have been added. Currently, claims 1-7 and 12-23 are pending and are being examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Notably, newly cited Abdulreda is utilized to teach the new claim limitations of claim 1 and 19-23
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12-13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auld (US 20170312422) in view of Abdulreda (US 20120289891), with Chu (US 4636197) being utilized as extrinsic evidence for claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, Auld discloses a handheld fluid injection device (abstract), comprising:
a handpiece (8) comprising an interior compartment (54) and a port (26) at a distal end thereof (fig. 3B, cooperating connector 26 at a distal end of plunger chamber 54), the port (26) configured to receive and engage a syringe (fig. 3A, connector 26 engaging with syringe cartridge 10);
a plunger (70) movably disposed within the interior compartment, a distal end of the plunger (70) configured to slidably engage with a cavity of the syringe (fig. 3A, plunger 70 to be advanced into plunger); and
a drive unit (30) operatively coupled to the plunger (70) (fig. 3B, syringe driver 30 with outer housing 32 with enclosed proximal end 34 and distal end 36 wherein the drive unit controls operations of the plunger (paragraph 0009, “Generally, the syringe driver is a self-powered device that uses gas pressure to pressurize a substantially incompressible fluid. The flow of the pressurized, incompressible fluid is used to drive a downstream actuator that pushes the syringe plunger through a syringe cartridge to deliver fluid into the body.”),
the drive unit is configured to move the plunger in a distal direction to inject fluids (fig. 3A, syringe driver 30 configured to press into syringe)
Auld fails to teach wherein the drive unit is an electromechanically driven drive unit, wherein the drive unit comprises a wireless communication module in wireless communication with an input device, wherein the drive unit controls operations of the plunger based on wireless communications received from the input device for injecting fluids from the syringe, and wherein the drive unit is configured to move the plunger in a distal direction to inject fluids in response to wireless communications received from the input device, and move the plunger in a proximal direction to draw fluids in response to wireless communications received from the input device following activation of a reverse mode.
However, Abdulreda teaches a drive unit as an electromechanically driven drive unit (fig. 3 utilizes a step motor 50), wherein the drive unit comprises a wireless communication module in wireless communication with an input device (fig. 3 shows a control unit 55 in communication with a control unit 55, which is in communication with a foot pedal 45. Paragraph 0035 describes the interface between the foot pedal and the control unit may be wireless, wherein the foot pedal is interpreted as the input device), wherein the drive unit is configured to move the plunger in a distal direction to inject fluids in response to wireless communications received from the input device (paragraph 0036 describes foot pedal 46 controlling an injection mode, with paragraph 0045 describing driving a plunger forward in an injection mode), and move the plunger in a proximal direction to draw fluids in response to wireless communications received from the input device following activation of a reverse mode (paragraph 0036 describes a second foot pedal 47 controlling an aspiration mode, which activates a “reverse mode”. Paragraph 0045 describes moving a plunger backward in an aspiration mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld such that the drive unit is an electromechanically driven drive unit, wherein the drive unit comprises a wireless communication module in wireless communication with an input device, wherein the drive unit controls operations of the plunger based on wireless communications received from the input device for injecting fluids from the syringe, and wherein the drive unit is configured to move the plunger in a distal direction to inject fluids in response to wireless communications received from the input device, and move the plunger in a proximal direction to draw fluids in response to wireless communications received from the input device following activation of a reverse mode, as taught by Abdulreda, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of remotely controlling the injection of fluid, as well as granting an option of drawing in fluid (see Abdulreda, paragraph 0010), for instance for the sake of refilling the syringe as a known practice in the art (see Chu)
Regarding claim 2, Auld discloses the device further comprising the syringe (10) engaged with the handpiece (8) and comprising a cavity (18) partially defining a reservoir for fluid (fig. 3a, syringe cartridge 10 with a cavity for fluid).
Regarding claim 12, Auld fails to teach wherein the drive unit further comprises an electrically-driven actuator operatively coupled to an elongated drive device that is mechanically engaged with the plunger.
However, Abdulreda teaches the drive unit (50) comprises an electrically-driven actuator operatively coupled to an elongated drive device that is mechanically engaged with the plunger (fig. 3, platform 60 or means of moving said platform)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld such that the drive unit further comprises an electrically-driven actuator operatively coupled to an elongated drive device that is mechanically engaged with the plunger, as taught by Abdulreda , for the purpose of providing a suitable structure to perform the same function of pushing the plunger into the syringe barrel (see Abdulreda, paragraph 0030), since substituting one means of doing so with an equivalent means of doing so would involve ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Auld, as modified by Abdulreda, discloses wherein rotational movement of the actuator causes linear movement of the plunger (paragraph 0030, actuator denoting either the platform 60 or the means by which it is moved, with paragraph 0031 describing the step motor 50 as one that turns a full rotation of the motor into a series of steps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld such that rotational movement of the actuator causes linear movement of the plunger, as taught by Abdulreda , for the purpose of providing a suitable structure to perform the same function of pushing the plunger into the syringe barrel (see Abdulreda, paragraph 0030), since substituting one means of doing so with an equivalent means of doing so would involve ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 22, Auld does not teach wherein the drive unit is configured to stop movement of the plunger to stop movement of the plunger in response to wireless communications corresponding to an undepressed position of a footpedal of the input device.
However, Abdulreda teaches wherein a degree of rotation of the foot pedal dictates the flow rate of injection and aspiration (paragraph 0031. Paragraph 0014 describes how an injection mode is active in response to rotating the foot pedal from the resting position). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that if movement of the plunger is dictated by degree of rotation, and activation of the plunger occurs once rotation occurs from a resting position, bringing the footpedal to the resting position/undepressed position would stop movement of the plunger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld such that the drive unit is configured to stop movement of the plunger to stop movement of the plunger in response to wireless communications corresponding to an undepressed position of a footpedal of the input device, as taught by Abdulreda, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of remotely controlling the injection of fluid, as well as granting an option of drawing in fluid (see Abdulreda, paragraph 0010).
Claims 3-5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auld in view of Abdulreda, and further in view of Humayun (US 20090143734).
Regarding claim 3, Auld, as modified by Abdulreda, discloses a foot controller having a footpedal (fig. 5, foot pedal 45), but does not teach discloses wherein the input device comprises a surgical console in communication with a foot controller having a footpedal.
However, Humayun teaches an input device that comprises a foot controller having a footpedal (fig. 9 teaches a wireless foot controller 142, paragraph 0070). The input device may also be interpreted as comprising a surgical console in communication with a foot controller having a footpedal (claim 109, “a console coupled to the sterile surgical tray for monitoring at least one surgical function during a surgery”, paragraph 0110, “In other embodiments, the adjustment signal may be received wirelessly from a user control located on a remote instrument, for example, a foot pedal associated with the tray.” The handpiece 8 would be in wireless communication with the input device, and paragraph 0077, “the independent surgical center 1402 communicates and/or is coupled/connected to the various surgical and/or other devices through a network interface 1440. The network interface 1440 can operate on a wired connection and/or a wireless connection using Bluetooth™, Zigbee™, Wifi or IEEE 802.11, or any other wireless communication protocol.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input device disclosed in Auld such that it comprises a surgical console in communication with a foot controller having a footpedal, as taught by Humayun, for the purpose of providing a suitable control means that allows connection to multiple parts of a surgical system to be wirelessly connected (see Humayun, paragraph 0076)
Regarding claim 4, Auld discloses wherein the drive unit is controlled by operation of the actuator (paragraph 0053, “For example, in some embodiments, the actuator 80 may include a mechanical or electronic button or lever that allows a user to control output of mechanical energy from the energy storage device 40.”), but fails to teach wherein the drive unit is controlled by operation of the foot controller.
However, Abdulreda teaches wherein the drive unit is controlled by operation of the foot controller (paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld such that the drive unit is controlled by operation of the foot controller, as taught by Abdulreda, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of remotely controlling the injection of fluid, as well as granting an option of drawing in fluid (see Abdulreda, paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 5, Auld discloses wherein the depression of the actuator causes actuation of the plunger to inject fluid from the syringe (paragraph 0057, “Further actuation of the actuator 80 causes the pressurized fluid 60 to flow through the valve 56 into the piston chamber 54, thereby advancing the actuator plunger 70”), but fails to teach wherein the depression of the footpedal causes actuation of the plunger.
However, Abdulreda teaches wherein depression of the footpedal causes actuation of the plunger to inject fluid from the syringe (paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld such that depression of the footpedal causes actuation of the plunger to inject fluid from the syringe, as taught by Abdulreda, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of remotely controlling the injection of fluid, as well as granting an option of drawing in fluid (see Abdulreda, paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 23, Auld, as modified by Abdulreda, is silent to wherein the wireless communications received by the wireless communication module are wirelessly relayed from a surgical console in communication with a foot controller.
However, Humayun teaches an input device that comprises a foot controller having a footpedal (fig. 9 teaches a wireless foot controller 142, paragraph 0070). Wireless communications are wirelessly relayed from a surgical console (1402) in communication with the foot controller (claim 109, “a console coupled to the sterile surgical tray for monitoring at least one surgical function during a surgery”, paragraph 0110, “In other embodiments, the adjustment signal may be received wirelessly from a user control located on a remote instrument, for example, a foot pedal associated with the tray.” The handpiece 8 would be in wireless communication with the input device, and paragraph 0077, “the independent surgical center 1402 communicates and/or is coupled/connected to the various surgical and/or other devices through a network interface 1440. The network interface 1440 can operate on a wired connection and/or a wireless connection using Bluetooth™, Zigbee™, Wifi or IEEE 802.11, or any other wireless communication protocol.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld in view of Abdulreda such that the wireless communications received by the wireless communication module are wirelessly relayed from a surgical console in communication with a foot controller, as taught by Humayun, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of keeping a network of instruments all wirelessly connected (see Humayun, paragraph 0076).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auld in view of Abdulreda and Humayun, and further in view of Kashani (US 20200016334).
Regarding claim 6, Auld, as modified by Abdulreda, discloses wherein a degree of depression of the footpedal affects injection flow rate (paragraph 0031), but is silent to wherein an injection flow rate of the handheld fluid injection device linearly corresponds to a position on the footpedal.
However, Kashani teaches wherein an injection flow rate of the handheld fluid injection device linearly corresponds to a position on the footpedal (paragraph 0021, “In such an example, the amount of pressure the surgeon exerts on foot pedal 120 may linearly and proportionally correspond to the change in the target flow rate. For instance, control module 101 may be configured with a flow rate range of 0 cc/min to X cc/min. In that example, pressing foot pedal 120 halfway sends an indication to control module 101 that the user requires a flow rate of X/2. Similarly, pressing foot pedal 120 all the way sends an indication to control module 101 that the user requires a flow rate of X.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld in view of Abdulreda such that an injection flow rate of the handheld fluid injection device linearly corresponds to a position on the footpedal, as taught by Kashani, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of proportionately correspond a pressure on the foot pedal to a change in target flow rate (see Kashani, paragraph 0021) thus granting an intuitive control of flow rate.
Regarding claim 7, Auld discloses wherein a speed of movement of the plunger within the interior compartment has a linear profile (paragraph 0057, “As a result, in exemplary embodiments, the output flow of the incompressible fluid 60 when the actuator 80 and valve 56 are activated may be linear, exponential, polynomial, or other desired profile” NOTE: one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that because the plunger controls fluid being injected, the speed of the plunger would affect the output flow), but fails to teach wherein the speed of the plunger linearly corresponds to a position of the footpedal.
However, Kashani teaches an injection system (abstract) wherein a flow rate linearly corresponds on an amount of pressure exerted on a foot pedal (paragraph 0021, “In such an example, the amount of pressure the surgeon exerts on foot pedal 120 may linearly and proportionally correspond to the change in the target flow rate. For instance, control module 101 may be configured with a flow rate range of 0 cc/min to X cc/min. In that example, pressing foot pedal 120 half way sends an indication to control module 101 that the user requires a flow rate of X/2.”). Because one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the flow rate from Auld would involve the speed of movement of the plunger, it stands to reason that Kashani would teach increasing the speed of the plunger to increase flow rate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld such that a speed of movement of the plunger within the interior compartment linearly corresponds to a position of the footpedal, as taught and suggested by Kashani, for the purpose of providing a suitably intuitive relationship between how much pressure is placed on the foot pedal and how much fluid is being injected (see Kashani, paragraph 0021).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auld in view of Abdulreda and Humayun, and further in view of Battiato (US 5868710).
Regarding claim 14, Auld, as modified by Humayun, discloses a display screen of the surgical console (see Humayun, fig. 14, paragraph 0101, “The output device(s) may comprise a speaker, a display screen…”), but fails to teach wherein information about fluid injection is displayed on a display screen of the surgical console.
However, Battiato teaches a fluid injection device (abstract) wherein information about fluid injection, such as volume injected, volume remaining, and current flow rate, is displayed on a display screen (col. 20, lines 36-44,“Specifically, as can be seen in FIGS. 13B and 13C, the display 30 of the power head 22 is a segmented display, including segments which can be illuminated to provide injection information such as volume injected, volume remaining, and current flow rate.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld in view of Humayun such that information about fluid injection is displayed on a display screen or the surgical console, as taught by Battiato, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that shows the volume injected and the current flow rate of the system (see Battiato, col. 20, lines 36-44).
Regarding claim 15, Auld, as modified by Humayun, discloses a visualization system (see Humayun, fig. 14, display screen 1428), but fails to teach wherein information about fluid injection is displayed on a display screen of a visualization system.
However, Battiato teaches wherein information about fluid injection is displayed on a display screen of a visualization system (col. 20, lines 36-44, “Specifically, as can be seen in FIGS. 13B and 13C, the display 30 of the power head 22 is a segmented display, including segments which can be illuminated to provide injection information such as volume injected, volume remaining, and current flow rate.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld such that information about fluid injection is displayed on a display screen of a visualization system, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that shows the volume injected and the current flow rate of the system (see Battiato, col. 20, lines 36-44).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auld in view of Abdulreda, and further in view of Barrett (US 20090221914).
Regarding claim 19, Auld, as modified by Abdulreda, does not teach wherein activation of the reverse mode is initiated by operation of a switch on the foot controller.
However, Barrett teaches a medical fluid injection system (abstract) wherein an aspiration mode and an injection mode are switched between using a switch (fig. 4 shows an aspirate switch 204 and a saline switch 206, with figs. 2E-2F showing a pump reversing between aspirating into a waste bag 52 and injecting from a saline bag 50). Such a function is also available on a footpedal (fig. 6, alternative remote control 14’ as a foot pedal including a saline switch 64). While operation of a switch on the foot controller switches to an injection mode and not a reverse mode, one of ordinary skill in the art can glean that switching between two modes using a switch on the foot controller is taught by Barrett, and thus the exact mapping of functions to each button/trigger depending on user needs would be obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld in view of Abdulreda such that activation of the reverse mode is initiated by operation of a switch on the foot controller, as taught by Barrett, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of simplifying the foot interface to only require one pedal instead of two.
Regarding claim 20, Auld, as modified by Abdulreda does not teach wherein the wireless communications received from the input following activation of the reverse mode correspond to depression of a footpedal of the foot controller.
However, Barrett teaches wherein wireless communications received from the input following activation of the separate mode corresponds to depression of a foot pedal of the foot controller (paragraph 0145, speed pedal 66’ provides a command signal for either aspiration or injection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Auld in view of Abdulreda such that the wireless communications received from the input following activation of the reverse mode correspond to depression of a footpedal of the foot controller, as taught by Barrett, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of simplifying the foot interface to only require one pedal instead of two.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auld in view of Abdulreda, and further in view of Kashani.
Regarding claim 21, Auld, as modified by Abdulreda, discloses wherein a degree of depression of the footpedal affects injection flow rate (paragraph 0031), does not teach wherein a speed of movement of the plunger in the proximal direction linearly corresponds to a position of the footpedal.
However, Kashani teaches wherein an injection flow rate of the handheld fluid injection device linearly corresponds to a position on the footpedal (paragraph 0021, “In such an example, the amount of pressure the surgeon exerts on foot pedal 120 may linearly and proportionally correspond to the change in the target flow rate. For instance, control module 101 may be configured with a flow rate range of 0 cc/min to X cc/min. In that example, pressing foot pedal 120 half way sends an indication to control module 101 that the user requires a flow rate of X/2. Similarly, pressing foot pedal 120 all the way sends an indication to control module 101 that the user requires a flow rate of X.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclsoded in Auld in view of Abdulreda such that a speed of movement of the plunger in the proximal direction linearly corresponds to a position of the footpedal, as taught by Kashani, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of proportionately correspond a pressure on the foot pedal to a change in target flow rate (see Kashani, paragraph 0021) thus granting an intuitive control of flow rate.
Conclusion
/Brandon W. Levy/Examiner, Art Unit 3781