DETAILED ACTION
Response to Pre-Appeal Brief Conference Request
Applicant’s arguments were considered and after further consideration of the prior art in the panel meeting, the prior rejection is withdrawn and an updated rejection based on a different interpretation of the prior art is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “the drive shaft is configured to pass through a bearing washer…” is unclear as to whether the bearing washer being referred to is the bearing washer previously positively recited in the claim, or if this is an additional / distinct bearing washer. In order to overcome this rejection, it is suggested to amend the claim language to clarify this component.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under the same rationale as being dependent upon claim 1 and its limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(e) the invention was described in a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent, or on an international application by another who has fulfilled the requirements of paragraphs (1), (2), and (4) of section 371(c) of this title before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent.
The changes made to 35 U.S.C. 102(e) by the American Inventors Protection Act of 1999 (AIPA) and the Intellectual Property and High Technology Technical Amendments Act of 2002 do not apply when the reference is a U.S. patent resulting directly or indirectly from an international application filed before November 29, 2000. Therefore, the prior art date of the reference is determined under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) prior to the amendment by the AIPA (pre-AIPA 35 U.S.C. 102(e)).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Khaw et al. (US 2003/0135086; hereinafter “Khaw”).
Regarding claim 1, Khaw discloses an intravascular blood pump device comprising: a rotor (e.g. Fig. 2 & 5 – where the examiner considers both the impeller #16 and impeller body #14 to be the claimed rotor) mounted on a drive shaft (where the examiner considers both elements 26 and 20 to be the claimed drive shaft) and configured to pump blood through a subject's body (e.g. ¶¶ 24), the rotor comprising at least a proximal bearing spacer sleeve and distal bearing spacer sleeve (e.g. ¶¶ 51 – “impeller 12 may be supported by two bearings at either end of the impeller 12 between impeller 12 and collets 48, 50. The bearings may be…plain bearings” – where the examiner is considering the sleeve of the proximal and distal plain bearings in this embodiment to be the claimed proximal and distal bearing spacer sleeves); a bearing washer positioned on the drive shaft adjacent and distal to the distal bearing spacer sleeve (e.g. Fig. 2, #28; ¶¶ 51 – “the impeller shaft 26 may be equipped with collars 28 that may be attached to each end of impeller 12 and inserted into collet 48, 50”); a pump housing configured to be disposed around the rotor mounted on the drive shaft (e.g. Fig. 5, #60/62 – where the examiner considers the mounting through the retaining ring to be indirectly mounted on the driveshaft), the pump housing comprising a proximal bushing disposed on a proximal side of the rotor mounted on the drive shaft and a distal bushing disposed on a distal side of the rotor mounted on the drive shaft (e.g. ¶¶ 41 – where the retainer rings 58 are the claimed bushings); wherein the drive shaft is configured to pass through the proximal and distal bushings of the pump housing (where the examiner notes the collets have openings in the middle for the driveshaft components #26 to pass through); the drive shaft is configured to pass through a bearing washer (¶¶ 51 – element 28 as referenced above) such that the distal bearing spacer sleeve is a sliding bearing that contacts the bearing washer to form a distal rotor bearing (e.g. ¶¶ 51 – “impeller 12 may be supported by two bearings at either end of the impeller 12 between impeller 12 and collets 48, 50. The bearings may be…plain bearings” – where the examiner notes plain bearings are a type of sliding bearing).
Regarding claim 2, Khaw discloses the rotor is configured to pump blood from a first location within the subject's body to a second location within the subject's body (e.g. ¶¶ 58 – “move blood in and out of the left ventricle into the aorta”).
Regarding claim 3, Khaw discloses the rotor is configured to pump blood from a left ventricle of the subject to an aorta of the subject (e.g. ¶¶ 58 – “move blood in and out of the left ventricle into the aorta”).
Regarding claim 4, Khaw discloses the rotor is configured to pump blood from a left ventricle of the subject (e.g. ¶¶ 58 – “move blood in and out of the left ventricle into the aorta”).
Regarding claim 5, Khaw discloses the intravascular blood pump device according to claim 1, further comprising: a motor configured to drive the rotor to pump blood through the subject's body, by rotating the rotor in a given direction of rotation (e.g. ¶¶ 36-38); and a drive shaft, a portion of which is configured to extend from outside the subject's body to a pump section of the drive shaft, the drive shaft being configured to impart rotational motion from the motor to the rotor by rotating, at least a portion of the drive shaft comprising a plurality of wires disposed in a wound configuration that is such that, in response to the drive shaft rotating in the given direction of rotation (e.g. ¶¶ 62 – “The metal coil in the first drive shaft may be rotated in the reverse direction, and impeller 12 may be adapted to operate in the reverse direction. Alternatively, the impeller may be rotated in the same direction as in the aortic valve embodiment with impeller blades reversed and adapted to move blood in the opposite direction.”).
Regarding claim 6, Khaw teaches a method comprising: placing an intravascular blood pump device inside a body of a patient (e.g. ¶¶ 24-25) the intravascular blood pump device including: an impeller (e.g. Fig. 2 & 5 – where the examiner considers both the impeller #16 and impeller body #14 to be the claimed impeller) with a frame disposed around the impeller (e.g. Fig. 5, #60/62), the impeller including proximal and distal spacer bearing sleeves (e.g. ¶¶ 51 – “impeller 12 may be supported by two bearings at either end of the impeller 12 between impeller 12 and collets 48, 50. The bearings may be…plain bearings” – where the examiner is considering the sleeve of the proximal and distal plain bearings in this embodiment to be the claimed proximal and distal bearing spacer sleeves) and the frame including a proximal bushing disposed on a proximal side of the impeller and a distal bushing disposed on a distal side of the impeller (e.g. ¶¶ 41 – where the retainer rings 58 are the claimed bushings), and an axial shaft that passes through the proximal and distal bushings of the frame and the proximal and distal spacer bearing sleeves of the impeller (where the examiner notes the collets have openings in the middle for the driveshaft component #26 to pass through) wherein a bearing washer is positioned on the axial shaft distal and adjacent to the distal spacer bearing sleeve (e.g. Fig. 2, #28; ¶¶ 51 – “the impeller shaft 26 may be equipped with collars 28 that may be attached to each end of impeller 12 and inserted into collet 48, 50”), the axial shaft being coupled to the bearing washer such that the distal bearing spacer sleeve is a sliding bearing that contacts the bearing washer to form a distal rotor bearing (e.g. ¶¶ 51 – “impeller 12 may be supported by two bearings at either end of the impeller 12 between impeller 12 and collets 48, 50. The bearings may be…plain bearings” – where the examiner notes plain bearings are a type of sliding bearing); and pumping blood through the patient's body, using the impeller (e.g. ¶¶ 58 – “move blood in and out of the left ventricle into the aorta”).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796