DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1,3,5,8-14,17-18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites:
A system for predicting a future change in a mental health state of a user and for administering therapeutic digital content accordingly, the system comprising:
one or more processors of a smart device of the user; and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to:
monitor, via one or more sensors of the smart device of the user user's smart devices, a plurality of parameters of the user;
extract features from the plurality of parameters;
determine feature changes over time;
predict the future change in the mental health state of the user based on the features and based on the feature changes over time;
classify the future change in the mental health state of the user into (i) a step- up classification, (ii) a step-down classification, or (iii) a no change classification;
responsive to the step-up classification, output the therapeutic digital content comprising cognitive behavioral therapy;
responsive to the step-down classification, output the therapeutic digital content comprising a wellness application; and
responsive to the no change classification, output the therapeutic digital content comprising a previously selected therapeutic digital content.
Step 1:
The claim as a whole falls within at least one statutory category, i.e. a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Step 2A Prong One:
The highlighted portion, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls under “Certain methods of organizing human activity” because the steps of extracting data to detect a change in mental state and generating contents to communicate to a person has been traditionally performed by a physician when treating a patient, i.e. managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)
The highlighted portion, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls under “Mental processes”.
But for a generic computer recited with a high level of generality in a post hoc manner to implement the abstract idea, the identified steps may be practically performed in the human mind either mentally or with pen and paper.
Accordingly, these limitations have been found to be directed towards concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
The different categories of abstract ideas are being considered together as one single abstract idea. MPEP 2106.04(II)(B)
Dependent claim(s) recite(s) additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claim(s) 3, 5, 8-11 reciting limitations further defining the abstract idea, which may be performed in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components, and/or may be a method of managing relationship or interactions between people).
Step 2A Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the following additional element(s), if any:
one or more processors of a smart device of the user; and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to:
monitor, via one or more sensors of the smart device of the user user's smart devices, a plurality of parameters of the user;
output the therapeutic digital content comprising cognitive behavioral therapy;
output the therapeutic digital content comprising a wellness application; and
output the therapeutic digital content comprising a previously selected therapeutic digital content.
The additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se.
Regarding the processor and memory, when read in light of the Specification as originally filed by one of ordinary skill in the art, the broadest reasonable interpretation of these limitations would include a generic computer and associated generic components.
These limitations amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (e.g. invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea). MPEP 2106.05(f))
Regarding the user’s smart devices, the Specification as originally filed on 05 October 2021 discloses a smart phone (page 11 paragraph 0030), as well as a gyrometer, a camera, etc. (page 27 paragraph 0096). Accordingly, this limitation merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (such as mere data collection). MPEP 2106.05(g)
Regarding the step of selectively outputting various forms of contents, this limitation merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (such as mere data display). MPEP 2106.05(g)
Dependent claim(s) recite(s) additional subject matter which amount to limitation(s) consistent with the additional element(s) in the independent claims (such as claim(s) 3 reciting electronic recordkeeping of patient records, additional limitation(s) which add(s) insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea by selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, claim 5 reciting a sensor, additional limitation(s) which add(s) insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea which amounts to mere data gathering, claim 9 reciting a smartphone, additional limitation(s) which amount(s) to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, claims 10-11 reciting outputting an alert to a device, additional limitation(s) which add(s) insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea).
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and/or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use.
The additional elements of, as discussed above and incorporated herein, amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and/or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Mere instructions to apply an exception, insignificant extra-solution activity, and linking to a particular technological environment using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding the smart devices, Madan (20140052475) discloses gyroscope and accelerometer of a mobile device (page 5 paragraph 0038) of a smartphone (page 5 paragraph 0039), and amount(s) to element(s) that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) activity in particular fields.
Regarding the cognitive behavioral therapy and wellness app, Clark (20190189259) discloses cognitive behavioral therapy (page 19 paragraph 0461) and a wellness App (page 17 paragraph 0355) in a manner that would amount(s) to element(s) that have been recognized as WURC activity in particular fields.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (such as claim(s) 3 reciting electronic patient records; e.g., electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii); claim 5 reciting a patient sensor, Hong (20160259908) discloses body sensors as being WURC in the pertinent arts (page 3 paragraph 0041); claims 10, 11 reciting outputting an alert to a device, Hong discloses determining the mental state of a patient and generating requests for emergency services in a manner that would be WURC in the pertinent arts (Figure 8 label 803, paragraph 0159)).
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim(s) 12-14, 17-18, 20-21 recite(s) substantially similar limitations as those of claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8-11 above, and are therefore rejected for substantially similar rationale as applied above, and incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8-14, 17-18, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiLorenzo (20020177882) in view of Dilorenzo (20070150025, hereafter referred to as “Dilorenzo ‘025”) and Madan.
Claim 1: DiLorenzo discloses:
A system (Abstract illustrating a system) for predicting a future change in a mental health state of a user (page 14 paragraph 0135 illustrating predicting a future trends and rates of change of patient parameters) and for administering therapeutic digital content accordingly (page 20-21 paragraph 0190 illustrating automatically adjusting the treatment parameters [considered to be a form of “therapeutic digital content”]), the system comprising:
one or more processors of
a memory storing instructions (Figure 3 illustrating a computer memory) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to:
monitor,
extract features from the plurality of parameters (page 9 paragraph 0090 illustrating extracting relevant information [considered to be a form of “features”] from the sensed data);
determine feature changes over time (page 14 paragraph 0135 illustrating calculating the rate of change, including trends and rates of change, in spike parameters [considered to be a form of “feature changes”] over a period of time);
predict the future change in the mental health state of the user based on the features and based on the feature changes over time (page 14 paragraph 0135 illustrating determining the future behavior including trends and rates of change in the future);
classify the future change in the mental health state of the user into (i) a step- up classification (page 21 paragraph 0195 illustrating determining that the treatment is an undertreatment based on the predicted future trend of the patient), (ii) a step-down classification (page, or (iii) a no change classification;
responsive to the step-up classification, output the therapeutic digital content comprising cognitive behavioral therapy (page 21 paragraph 0195 illustrating adjusting the treatment magnitude up);
responsive to the step-down classification, output the therapeutic digital content (page 21 paragraph 0195 illustrating adjusting the treatment magnitude down)
responsive to the no change classification, output the therapeutic digital content comprising a previously selected therapeutic digital content (page 21 paragraph 0195 illustrating maintaining the current treatment magnitude).
DiLorenzo does not disclose:
a smart device;
one or more sensors of the smart device;
a wellness application.
Dilorenzo ‘025 discloses:
a wellness application (page 18 paragraph 0156 illustrating providing treatment regimen including behavioral modifications).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the behavioral modification treatment of Dilorenzo ‘025 within the patient treatment system of DiLorenzo with the motivation of improving patient care by providing efficacious treatments to patients who may not need pharmacological treatments (Dilorenzo ‘025; page 18 paragraph 0156).
DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 do not disclose:
a smart device;
one or more sensors of the smart device.
Madan discloses:
a smart device (page 5 paragraph 0039 illustrating a mobile device in the form of a smartphone);
one or more sensors of the smart device (page 5 paragraph 0038 illustrating a plurality of sensors of a mobile device, e.g. accelerometer, gyroscope).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the smart sensors of Madan within the patient treatment system of DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 with the motivation of improving patient care by providing remote sensor data in a convenient manner that could help detect early symptoms of a seizure for a patient (Madan; page 1 paragraph 0017).
Claim 3: DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 and Madan disclose:
The system of claim 1, as discussed above and incorporated herein.
DiLorenzo further discloses:
wherein the plurality of parameters are selected from the group consisting of: physiological data of the user (page 2 paragraph 0018 illustrating physiological data), data derived from contextual input from the user such as ecological momentary assessment data (this limitation is rendered optional by the limitation “selected from the group consisting of” and therefore need not be taught by the applied art), data from electronic health records (page 9 paragraph 0095 illustrating historical patient data), data reflecting behavior of the user (page 2-3 paragraph 0021 illustrating monitoring the patient’s tremors [considered to be a form of “behavior”]), and data indicative of the mental health state of the user (page 24 column 2 claim 26 illustrating estimating the patient’s mental state).
Claim 5: DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 and Madan disclose:
The system of claim 1, as discussed above and incorporated herein.
DiLorenzo further discloses:
further comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to:
receive data indicative of a conscious mental health state of the user (page 23 paragraph 0273 illustrating receiving input from the patient [considered to be a form of “conscious mental health state”]); and
monitor physiological parameters indicative of a subconscious mental health state of the user using a sensor (Figure 1 label 27, page 5 paragraph 0058 illustrating a sensor used to measure patient data [considered to be a form of “subconscious mental health state”]) of the one or more sensors (as discussed above, and incorporated herein),
wherein extracting the features from the plurality of parameters further comprises extracting the features from the data indicative of the conscious mental health state and the physiological parameters (page 10 paragraph 107 illustrating identifying features that are representative of the subject).
Claim 8: DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 and Madan disclose:
The system of claim 1, as discussed above and incorporated herein.
DiLorenzo further discloses:
wherein predicting the future change in the mental health state of the user occurs at a predetermined time interval (page 23 paragraph 0273 illustrating a daily time interval).
Claim 9: DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 and Madan disclose:
The system of claim 1, as discussed above and incorporated herein.
DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 do not disclose:
wherein the smart device includes a smartphone.
Madan discloses
wherein the smart device includes a smartphone (page 5 paragraph 0039 illustrating a smartphone).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the smartphone of Madan within the patient treatment system of DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 and Madan with the motivation of improving patient care by providing remote sensor data in a convenient manner that could help detect early symptoms of a seizure for a patient (Madan; page 1 paragraph 0017).
Claim 10: DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 and Madan disclose:
The system of claim 1, as discussed above and incorporated herein.
DiLorenzo further discloses:
further comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to:
responsive to the step-up classification, output an alert via a device separate from the system if the step-up classification has a severity above a predefined severity threshold (page 20-21 paragraph 0190 illustrating notifying a physician when the electrodes require impending replacement).
Claim 11: DiLorenzo in view of Dilorenzo ‘025 and Madan disclose:
The system of claim 1, as discussed above and incorporated herein.
DiLorenzo does not disclose:
further comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to:
responsive to the no change classification, output an alert via a device separate from the system if the no change classification has remained for a predetermined time interval.
Dilorenzo ‘025 discloses
responsive to the no change classification (page 14 paragraph 0123 illustrating prescribing a maximum amount of pharmacological agent [considered to be a form of “no change classification”, see discussion of claim 1 above regarding outputting previous treatment for no change in classification), output an alert via a device separate from the system if the no change classification has remained for a predetermined time interval (page 14 paragraph 0123 illustrating notifying a physician after a time period).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the physician notification of DiLorenzo ‘025 within the patient treatment system of DiLorenzo in view of DiLorenzo ‘025 and Madan with the motivation of providing improved patient care by notifying physicians of patients who are not improving and would need intervention (Dilorenzo ‘025; page 14 paragraph 0123).
Claim(s) 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 20, 21 recite(s) substantially similar limitations as those of claim(s) 1, 9, 3, 5, 5, 8, 10 above, respectively, and are therefore rejected for substantially similar rationale as applied above, and incorporated herein.
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks filed on 26 September 2025, Applicant makes numerous arguments. Examiner will address these arguments in the order presented.
On page 7-8 Applicant argues that the claims recite eligible subject matter because the various sensors and units are integrated into a smartphone.
While Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered, they are not found persuasive because the smartphone has been merely invoked in a post hoc manner to implement the abstract idea, namely collecting and processing data.
As discussed in the section above and incorporated herein, the smartphone has been found to be directed towards mere insignificant extrasolution activity in a manner that would be WURC in the pertinent arts.
For this reason, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 on page 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Based on the evidence presented above, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fors (20080208630) discloses processing patient data to generate a patient context (Abstract) in a manner similar to those disclosed in the instant pending Specification as originally filed.
Dhumne (20110118555) discloses monitoring patient’s physio-psychological conditions (Abstract) in a manner similar to those disclosed in the instant pending Specification as originally filed.
/T.N.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/KAMBIZ ABDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3685