DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed 07/07/2026.
Claims 1, and 16 are amended.
Claims 2, 5, 6, 9-15, 17 and 20 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 16, 18 and 19 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 16, 18 and 19 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Note: Independent claims 1 and 16 recite two different potential inventions. The claims are subject to restriction and therefore, not in condition for an allowance.
101
Applicant argues “Here, as stated previously, the amended claims are not directed to a method of organizing human activity or a mental process but instead, recites the following specific, processor-executed technical operations that improve a computing process required for financial transaction by preventing the need for additional hardware and software to perform a financial transaction… As stated previously, the claimed invention serves as an improvement and technical solution to a technical problem - namely, the problem of reducing false transaction declines in the context of catastrophic events, using machine learning techniques and data-driven rule generation. When, for example, false transaction declines are reduced at the processor, the associated computing system does not have to utilize additional methods to allow financial transactions typically not allowed during catastrophic events. Humans cannot perform these tasks, especially during catastrophic events where lives are at stake. The claims do not merely automate a human activity but use the claimed elements to improve a computing process.” Examiner disagrees.
First, the Applicant’s arguments highlight that not only are the claims directed to a business process improvement but they are automated processes that are being done by a computing device. The reduction of false transaction decline is not directed at computing technology or a particular technological environment, it is directed at business transaction processes, e.g. transaction declines, “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology. For example, in Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019), the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology.” MPEP 2106.05(a) (II).
Secondly, ‘Humans cannot perform these tasks, especially during catastrophic events where lives are at stake. The claims do not merely automate a human activity but use the claimed elements to improve a computing process.”’ It is unclear whether Applicant is insinuating that due to a catastrophic event, a person is incapable of evaluating fraud indicators and approving a payment transaction, and that is why a “computing process” is necessary. This additionally, highlights that the described “computing processes” are actually an automation of a computer function that could be performed by humans, perhaps as implied, when there isn’t a catastrophic event.
According to the disclosure(¶ 69), “adjusting fraud rule 391 to include the catastrophic event threshold 371, the catastrophic-event-related-merchant category code 373, and the catastrophic event location 372, improves upon existing fraud detection systems by allowing issuers to suppress fraud decline decisions for certain catastrophic-event-related-merchant category codes during catastrophic events, thereby alleviating painful false declines for certain catastrophic-event-related-merchant category codes.” The recited “practical application”/improvement is not actually performed by a computing device or the recited processor. Rather remote entities “issuers” are the ones that provide Applicants recited improvements. The processor itself does not achieve the recited improvement. Applicant again conflates what a 101 subject matter rejection is by arguing, the prior art, Allerkamp. used in the 103 rejection.
Therefore, based on case law precedent, the claims are claiming subject matter similar to concepts already identified by the courts as dealing with abstract ideas. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561, U.S. 593, 611 (2010)). Mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment do not amount to practical applications. The subject matter rejection is retained.
112
Due to Applicant’s amendments, prior 112 rejections are withdrawn.
103
Applicant argues “Nowhere in Allerkamp, including the paragraph referenced above by the Examiner, does Allerkamp nor the cited referenced disclose "utilizing, at the processor, the catastrophic event detection machine learning model to generate a catastrophic event score, the catastrophic event score being configured to serve as an indicator of a catastrophic event; determining, at the processor, whether to generate a catastrophic-event-based fraud rule from a financial fraud rule based upon the catastrophic event score and a geographical location of the catastrophic event; adjusting, based upon the catastrophic event score, the financial fraud rule to generate the catastrophic-event-based fraud rule; utilizing the newly created catastrophic-event-based fraud rule to approve a payment transaction.” Examiner disagrees.
The combination of Allerkamp and Elewitz teach the amended claim limitations. Allerkamp teaches “determining, at the processor, whether to generate a catastrophic-event-based fraud rule from a financial fraud rule based upon the catastrophic event score and a geographical location of the catastrophic event; adjusting, based upon the catastrophic event score, the financial fraud rule to generate the catastrophic-event-based fraud rule; and utilizing the newly created catastrophic-event-based fraud rule to approve a payment transaction (Abstract; column 11, line 9-67, column 12, line 1-21, column 13, line 1-67, column 14, line 1-7).
According to Applicant’s disclosure(Abstract; ¶ 56), “ In some embodiments, the catastrophic event threshold 371 is a threshold used to determine whether to decline or approve a payment transaction based on the catastrophic event score 370…The financial fraud rules may be adjusted by adding a catastrophic event threshold to the financial fraud rules that utilize the catastrophic event score to determine whether a financial transaction is fraudulent.” Similar to the disclosure, Allerkamp’s Fraud rule also is associated with a threshold.
Allerkamp discloses If the threshold risk number is not exceeded(FRAUD RULE), at block 66, the insurance computing system 12 determines that the submitted claim is not fraudulent (e.g., likely not fraudulent)(CATASTROPHIC-EVENT BASED FRAUD RULE) and proceeds to validate the submitted claim, and may eventually make a payout to the client…. The insurance computing system may compare the risk score with a threshold number, and if the threshold number is exceeded (FRAUD RULE), the insurance computing system may prompt the client to contact a service representative to further process or validate the claim. Otherwise, if the threshold number is not exceeded(FRAUD RULE), the insurance computing system may continue processing the claim autonomously (CATASTROPHIC-EVENT BASED FRAUD RULE)…. If the validation process is completed, then the client would eventually receive funds associated with the submitted claim (PAYMENT TRANSACTION). (Abstract; column 13, line 1-67).
There is a determination of whether to adjust based on the risk score and the threshold. The risk score takes into account geographical location information. Based on the threshold, a catastrophic rule is followed and ultimately a decision is made on approving the transaction’s funds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Standard
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (101 Analysis: Step 1). Even if the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (101 Analysis: Step 2a(Prong 1), and if so, Identify whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluate those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. (101 Analysis: Step 2a (Prong 2). If additional elements does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception, claim still requires an evaluation of whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. If the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself (there is an inventive concept in the claim), the claim is eligible. If the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more (there is no inventive concept in the claim), the claim is ineligible. (101 Analysis: Step 2b).
The 2019 PEG explains that the abstract idea exception includes the following groupings of subject matter: a) Mathematical concepts b) Certain methods of organizing human activity and c) Mental processes
Analysis
In the instant case, claim 1 is directed to a method, claims 9 and 16 are directed to an article of manufacture.
101 Analysis: Step 2a (Prong 1) – Identifying an Abstract Idea
The claims recite the steps of “extracting… data… translating data… selecting… model… utilizing … model to generate…score… determining … whether to generate…rule… adjusting … rule… and utilizing rule… to approve…transaction.” The claim recites an abstract idea that is directed towards certain methods of organizing human activity, in this case, mitigating risk, specifically, evaluating data to determine fraud for approving a transaction, for example insurance fraud.
101 Analysis: Step 2a (Prong 2) – Identifying a Practical Application
The claim does currently recite a potential additional element but based on the specification, proves to not be an additional element and much more does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claim recites “extracting… data from a network.” According to the disclosure(¶ 48), “the historical catastrophic event data 311 and the historical catastrophic event data 312 include historical data related to catastrophic events that have occurred previously and that have been extracted from at least one of a social media resource 361 (such as, for example, social media applications) or news resource 362 (such as, for example, news media applications).” Additionally, according to the disclosure(¶ 52-54), “In some embodiments, catastrophic event detector 330 receives the catastrophic event data 360 and payment transaction data 390 and uses a machine learning training application to train a machine learning algorithm to output the catastrophic event detection machine learning model 331. In some embodiments, the catastrophic event detection machine learning model 331 output by the machine learning training application is trained to generate the catastrophic event score 370.” The recited “extraction” is information collected from the news and social media networks, which does not require a computing device.
Therefore, based on case law precedent, the claims are claiming subject matter similar to concepts already identified by the courts as dealing with abstract ideas. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561, U.S. 593, 611 (2010)). Mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment do not amount to practical applications.
101 Analysis - Step 2b
Viewed as a whole, instructions/method claims recite mitigating risk as performed by a generic computer.
Dependent claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 18 and 19 provide further descriptive details of the main crux of the independent claims towards determining whether a transaction is fraudulent.
The method claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Instead, the claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Conclusion
The claim as a whole, does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claim does not affect an improvement to another technology or technical filed; the claim does not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself; and the claim does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Dependent claims do not resolve the deficiency of independent claims and accordingly stand rejected under 35 USC 101 based on the same rationale.
Dependent claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 18 and 19 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allerkamp et al. (US 11,836,803) (“Allerkamp”), and further in view of Elewitz et al. (US 2021/0110294)(“Elewitz”).
Regarding claim 1, Allerkamp discloses extracting, at a processor, historical catastrophic event data from a network (Figure 1; column 8, line 14-66, column 9, line 1-67, column 10, line 1-67; claim 1, 6);
Allerkamp - At block 54, the insurance computing system 12 identifies similar insurance claims associated with the geographical area. In particular, the insurance computing system 12 may send a query to the insurance database 14 for a subset of the claims 22 that were submitted in the same geographical area. (Figure 1; column 8, line 14-66);
translating, at the processor, the historical catastrophic event data into machine learning feature form ( column 8, line 14-66, column 9, line 1-67, column 10, line 1-67, column 11, line 1-67, column 12, line 1-67; claim 8, 9);
Allerkamp - the insurance computing system 12 may use machine learning algorithms to determine the fraud indicators. That is, the insurance computing system 12 may generate or receive a mathematical model by receiving sample data (e.g., insurance claims that have been identified as fraudulent and insurance claims that have been identified as not fraudulent), predicting whether an insurance claim of the sample data is fraudulent, and receiving an indication of whether the prediction was true or false. The insurance computing system 12 may then extract characteristics of insurance claims that indicate fraud and identify such characteristics as fraud indicators. (Figure 1; column 9, line 63-67, column 10, line 1-30)
utilizing, at the processor, the catastrophic event detection machine learning model to generate a catastrophic event score, the catastrophic event score being configured to serve as an indicator of a catastrophic event (Abstract; column 8, line 14-66, column 9, line 1-67, column 10, line 1-67, column 11, line 1-67, column 12, line 1-67, column 13, line 1-67, column 14, line 1-7; claim 9);
Allerkamp - Weighting may be variable and capable of adjustments based on an algorithm (e.g., a learning algorithm), artificial intelligence, an evolutionary algorithm, or the like, which take into account data (e.g., historical data or real-time data) from previous outcomes…. the insurance computing system 12 may generate the risk score by weighting each of the first, second, and third set of fraud indicators and accumulating the weighted fraud indicators. The weights may correspond to a relevance or confidence level of the fraud indicators. That is, if the first set of indicators is more likely to indicate fraud than the second set of indicators, then the first set of indicators may be weighted more heavily … an insurance computing system to autonomously assess the risk of fraud associated with a claim by generating a risk score. The risk score may provide an indication of a likelihood of fraud associated with the claim based on similar insurance claims in the same geographical area, client information indicative of a likelihood to commit fraud, and/or a type of the claim. The insurance computing system may compare the risk score with a threshold number, and if the threshold number is exceeded, the insurance computing system may prompt the client to contact a service representative to further process or validate the claim. (Abstract; column 12, line 45-67);
determining, at the processor, whether to generate a catastrophic-event-based fraud rule from a financial fraud rule based upon the catastrophic event score and a geographical location of the catastrophic event (Abstract; column 3, line 39-65, column 4, line 55-65, column 5, line 1-18, column 12, line 6-67, column 13, line 1-67, column 14, line 1-7; claim 9);
Claim Interpretation- According to the disclosure(Abstract), “The financial fraud rules may be adjusted by adding a catastrophic event threshold to the financial fraud rules that utilize the catastrophic event score to determine whether a financial transaction is fraudulent”.
Allerkamp - The risk score may provide an indication of a likelihood of fraud associated with the claim based on similar insurance claims in the same geographical area, client information indicative of a likelihood to commit fraud, and/or a type of the claim. In one embodiment, the insurance computing system may compare the risk score with a threshold number, and if the threshold number is exceeded, the insurance computing system may prompt the client to contact a service representative (e.g., a live person) to further process or validate the claim. Otherwise, if the threshold number is not exceeded, the insurance computing system may continue processing the claim autonomously (column 3, line 39-65)
adjusting, based upon the catastrophic event score, the financial fraud rule to generate the catastrophic-event-based fraud rule (Abstract; Fig 3; column 3, line 4-65, column 4, line 4-65, column 5, line 1-18, column 11, line 1-18, column 12, line 6-67, column 13, line 1-67, column 14, line 1-7; claim 9);
Claim Interpretation- According to the disclosure(Abstract), “The financial fraud rules may be adjusted by adding a catastrophic event threshold to the financial fraud rules that utilize the catastrophic event score to determine whether a financial transaction is fraudulent”.
Allerkamp - At block 64, the insurance computing system 12 determines if the risk score exceeds a threshold risk number. The risk score exceeding the threshold risk number may indicate that the submitted claim is fraudulent or likely fraudulent (e.g., that the submitted claim may bear additional scrutiny to confirm that the claim is fraudulent). The risk score being less than or equal to the threshold risk number may indicate that the submitted claim is not fraudulent or not likely fraudulent (e.g., that there is no or little indication that the submitted claim is fraudulent or that any indication of fraud is minimal, negligible, or within acceptable standards). The threshold risk number may vary in geographical areas, as risk tolerance may shift due to, for example, socioeconomic statistics, crime statistics, and/or fraud statistics that may be associated with a respective geographical area….If the threshold risk number is not exceeded, at block 66, the insurance computing system 12 determines that the submitted claim is not fraudulent (e.g., likely not fraudulent) and proceeds to validate the submitted claim, and may eventually make a payout to the client. (Abstract; column 13, line 1-67)
and utilizing the newly created catastrophic-event-based fraud rule to approve a payment transaction (Abstract; column 4, line 38-67, column 7, line 38-65, column 8, line 4-66, column 13, line 1-67, column 14, line 1-7; claim 9);
Allerkamp - If the threshold risk number is not exceeded, at block 66, the insurance computing system 12 determines that the submitted claim is not fraudulent (e.g., likely not fraudulent) and proceeds to validate the submitted claim, and may eventually make a payout to the client…. The insurance computing system may compare the risk score with a threshold number, and if the threshold number is exceeded, the insurance computing system may prompt the client to contact a service representative to further process or validate the claim. Otherwise, if the threshold number is not exceeded, the insurance computing system may continue processing the claim autonomously…. In one embodiment, the insurance computing system may compare the risk score with a threshold number, and if the threshold number is exceeded, the insurance computing system may prompt the client to contact a service representative (e.g., a live person) to further process or validate the claim…. If the validation process is completed, then the client would eventually receive funds associated with the submitted claim. (Abstract; column 13, line 1-67)
Allerkamp does not disclose selecting, at the processor, based on an assessment of a root mean square error (RMSE), a machine learning model for use as a catastrophic event detection machine learning model.
Elewitz teaches selecting, at the processor, based on an assessment of a root mean square error (RMSE), a machine learning model for use as a catastrophic event detection machine learning model (¶ 151-167);
Elewitz - the risk predictions generated by the complex predictive model to the risk predictions generated by the logistic models. Based on this comparison, the processor determines a root mean square error (RMSE) value between the complex predictive model risk predictions and the logistic model risk predictions. (¶ 165)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Allerkamp(column 14, line 1-7), which teaches “insurance companies may validate an insurance claim while decreasing or minimizing the need for a human adjuster to check for fraud, which leads to a more efficient and streamlined process for clients to receive funds associated with their insurance claims” and Elewitz (¶ 165) which teaches “the risk predictions generated by the complex predictive model to the risk predictions generated by the logistic models” in order to provide a determination of risk during certain types of events with machine learning (Elewitz; ¶ 5).
Regarding claims 3, and 18, Allerkamp discloses determining, with the processor, a start date of the catastrophic event and a location of the catastrophic event based on catastrophic event data (column 5, line 19-43, column 8, line 1-66, column 10, line 59-67).
Regarding claims 4, and 19, Allerkamp discloses wherein: the start date of the catastrophic event and the location of the catastrophic event are used approve a financial transaction as the payment transaction (column 5, line 19-43, column 10, line 47-67).
Claims 7, 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allerkamp et al. (US 11,836,803) (“Allerkamp”), in view of Elewitz et al. (US 2021/0110294)(“Elewitz”), and further in view of Adjaoute (US 2019/0213498) (“Adjaoute”).
Regarding claim 7, neither Allerkamp nor Elewitz discloses wherein: the catastrophic-event-related-merchant category code corresponds to merchant category that relates to the catastrophic event. Adjaoute teaches wherein: the catastrophic-event-related-merchant category code corresponds to merchant category that relates to the catastrophic event (¶ 83, 94-99, 108, 109, 117, 139-141, 146). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Allerkamp, Elewitz and Adjaoute in order to provide a record of fraud transactions towards the end of preventing them (Adjaoute; ¶ 8-11, 94-96).
Regarding claim 8, Adjaoute teaches wherein: in response to determining that the financial transaction is a catastrophic event related transaction, providing, with the at least one processor, a notification to an issuer system to allow the financial transaction to occur (¶ 129, 187, 195, 197).
Regarding claim 16, Allerkamp discloses extract historical catastrophic event data from a network(Figure 1; column 8, line 14-66, column 9, line 1-67, column 10, line 1-67; claim 1, 6);
Allerkamp - At block 54, the insurance computing system 12 identifies similar insurance claims associated with the geographical area. In particular, the insurance computing system 12 may send a query to the insurance database 14 for a subset of the claims 22 that were submitted in the same geographical area. (Figure 1; column 8, line 14-66)
translate the historical catastrophic event data into machine learning feature form ( column 8, line 14-66, column 9, line 1-67, column 10, line 1-67; claim 8, 9);
Allerkamp - the insurance computing system 12 may use machine learning algorithms to determine the fraud indicators. That is, the insurance computing system 12 may generate or receive a mathematical model by receiving sample data (e.g., insurance claims that have been identified as fraudulent and insurance claims that have been identified as not fraudulent), predicting whether an insurance claim of the sample data is fraudulent, and receiving an indication of whether the prediction was true or false. The insurance computing system 12 may then extract characteristics of insurance claims that indicate fraud and identify such characteristics as fraud indicators. (Figure 1; column 9, line 63-67, column 10, line 1-30);
utilize the catastrophic event detection machine learning model to generate a catastrophic event score, the catastrophic event score being configured to serve as an indicator of the catastrophic event (Abstract; column 12, line 6-67, column 13, line 1-67, column 14, line 1-7; claim 9);
Allerkamp - Weighting may be variable and capable of adjustments based on an algorithm (e.g., a learning algorithm), artificial intelligence, an evolutionary algorithm, or the like, which take into account data (e.g., historical data or real-time data) from previous outcomes…. the insurance computing system 12 may generate the risk score by weighting each of the first, second, and third set of fraud indicators and accumulating the weighted fraud indicators. The weights may correspond to a relevance or confidence level of the fraud indicators. That is, if the first set of indicators is more likely to indicate fraud than the second set of indicators, then the first set of indicators may be weighted more heavily … an insurance computing system to autonomously assess the risk of fraud associated with a claim by generating a risk score. The risk score may provide an indication of a likelihood of fraud associated with the claim based on similar insurance claims in the same geographical area, client information indicative of a likelihood to commit fraud, and/or a type of the claim. The insurance computing system may compare the risk score with a threshold number, and if the threshold number is exceeded, the insurance computing system may prompt the client to contact a service representative to further process or validate the claim. (Abstract; column 12, line 45-67)
determine, at the processor, whether to generate a catastrophic-event-based fraud rule from a financial fraud rule based upon the catastrophic event score and a geographical location of the catastrophic event (Abstract; column 3, line 39-65, column 4, line 55-65, column 5, line 1-18, column 12, line 6-67, column 13, line 1-67, column 14, line 1-7; claim 9);
Claim Interpretation- According to the disclosure(Abstract), “The financial fraud rules may be adjusted by adding a catastrophic event threshold to the financial fraud rules that utilize the catastrophic event score to determine whether a financial transaction is fraudulent”.
Allerkamp - The risk score may provide an indication of a likelihood of fraud associated with the claim based on similar insurance claims in the same geographical area, client information indicative of a likelihood to commit fraud, and/or a type of the claim. In one embodiment, the insurance computing system may compare the risk score with a threshold number, and if the threshold number is exceeded, the insurance computing system may prompt the client to contact a service representative (e.g., a live person) to further process or validate the claim. Otherwise, if the threshold number is not exceeded, the insurance computing system may continue processing the claim autonomously (column 3, line 39-65)
adjust, based upon the catastrophic event score, the financial fraud rule to generate the catastrophic-event-based fraud rule (Abstract; Fig 3; column 3, line 4-65, column 4, line 4-65, column 5, line 1-18, column 11, line 9-67, column 12, line 6-67, column 13, line 1-67, column 14, line 1-7; claim 9);
Claim Interpretation- According to the disclosure(Abstract), “The financial fraud rules may be adjusted by adding a catastrophic event threshold to the financial fraud rules that utilize the catastrophic event score to determine whether a financial transaction is fraudulent”.
Allerkamp - At block 64, the insurance computing system 12 determines if the risk score exceeds a threshold risk number. The risk score exceeding the threshold risk number may indicate that the submitted claim is fraudulent or likely fraudulent (e.g., that the submitted claim may bear additional scrutiny to confirm that the claim is fraudulent). The risk score being less than or equal to the threshold risk number may indicate that the submitted claim is not fraudulent or not likely fraudulent (e.g., that there is no or little indication that the submitted claim is fraudulent or that any indication of fraud is minimal, negligible, or within acceptable standards). The threshold risk number may vary in geographical areas, as risk tolerance may shift due to, for example, socioeconomic statistics, crime statistics, and/or fraud statistics that may be associated with a respective geographical area….If the threshold risk number is not exceeded, at block 66, the insurance computing system 12 determines that the submitted claim is not fraudulent (e.g., likely not fraudulent) and proceeds to validate the submitted claim, and may eventually make a payout to the client. (Abstract; column 13, line 1-67)
utilize the newly created catastrophic-event-based fraud rule to approve a payment transaction when the catastrophic event score is below or equal to a catastrophic event threshold, a risk score is below or equal to a predetermined threshold, and a country code is an issuer country code (Abstract; column 4, line 38-67, column 7, line 38-65, column 8, line 4-66, column 13, line 1-67, column 14, line 1-7; claim 9);
Allerkamp - If the threshold risk number is not exceeded, at block 66, the insurance computing system 12 determines that the submitted claim is not fraudulent (e.g., likely not fraudulent) and proceeds to validate the submitted claim, and may eventually make a payout to the client…. The insurance computing system may compare the risk score with a threshold number, and if the threshold number is exceeded, the insurance computing system may prompt the client to contact a service representative to further process or validate the claim. Otherwise, if the threshold number is not exceeded, the insurance computing system may continue processing the claim autonomously…. In one embodiment, the insurance computing system may compare the risk score with a threshold number, and if the threshold number is exceeded, the insurance computing system may prompt the client to contact a service representative (e.g., a live person) to further process or validate the claim…. If the validation process is completed, then the client would eventually receive funds associated with the submitted claim…The geographical area may be of any suitable scope, such as address, street, neighborhood, city, county, zip code, state, country, and so on... (Abstract; column 8, line 4-66, column 13, line 1-67);
Allerkamp does not disclose select, based on an assessment of a root mean square error (RMSE), a machine learning model for use as a catastrophic event detection machine learning model.
Elewitz teaches select, based on an assessment of a root mean square error (RMSE), a machine learning model for use as a catastrophic event detection machine learning model (¶ 151-167);
Elewitz - the risk predictions generated by the complex predictive model to the risk predictions generated by the logistic models. Based on this comparison, the processor determines a root mean square error (RMSE) value between the complex predictive model risk predictions and the logistic model risk predictions. (¶ 165)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Allerkamp(column 14, line 1-7), which teaches “insurance companies may validate an insurance claim while decreasing or minimizing the need for a human adjuster to check for fraud, which leads to a more efficient and streamlined process for clients to receive funds associated with their insurance claims” and Elewitz (¶ 165) which teaches “the risk predictions generated by the complex predictive model to the risk predictions generated by the logistic models” in order to provide a determination of risk during certain types of events with machine learning (Elewitz; ¶ 5).
Neither Allerkamp nor Elewitz discloses a merchant category code associated with the payment transaction is equal to a catastrophic-event-related-merchant category code,. Adjaoute teaches a merchant category code associated with the payment transaction is equal to a catastrophic-event-related-merchant category code (¶ 83, 94-102, 108, 109, 117, 139-141, 146).
Adjaoute - these attributes, in the context of a payment card fraud application would include datapoints for card type, transaction type, merchant name, merchant category code (MCC), (¶ 94)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Allerkamp, Elewitz and Adjaoute in order to provide a record of fraud transactions towards the end of preventing them (Adjaoute; ¶ 8-11, 94-96).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dominguez., (US 10460382) teaches payment transaction and fraud detection with merchants.
Duan (US 20150095247) teaches fraud detection with multiple events and event profiles, fraud scores.
Bruckhaus (US 8666829) teaches fraud detection focuses on the events with the payment transactions.
Abadi et al (US 20230030327) teaches non-fraud scores calculated with the payment transaction and the event.
Dixon (US 11741478) teaches machine learning and a catastrophic event.
Knutsson et al (US 2020/0234305) (“Knutsson”) teaches fraud detection with multiple events and event profiles, fraud scores.
Scragg (US 20110016052) teaches the filtering of fraud rules (VISA)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ILSE I IMMANUEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699