DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2,4-5,10-11 and 13-16 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 16 are currently amended.
Claim Objections
In claim 1 and 16, consider -- a plurality of cleaning chambers, wherein of the cleaning chambers is stacked in a vertical direction--.
In claim 1 and 16, consider -- the fourth retransfer robot is configured to transfer the substrate from at least one cleaning chamber of the plurality of cleaning chambers to [[rest]] another cleaning chamber of the plurality of cleaning chambers respectively--
disposed along the vertical direction--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 10-11, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong-‘997 (US Pub. 20110104997 A1; previously cited), in view of Rangarajan (US Pub. 20210323118 A1; previously cited), Chen (CN 105598827 A, previously cited), Jeong-‘842 (US Pub. 20040216842 A1, previously cited), Miyazaki (US Pat. 20140083468 A1; previously cited) and Katsuoka (US Pub. 20010044266 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Jeong-‘997 discloses:
A substrate processing system, comprising:
a front-end module (60, fig. 5; [0056]) ;
a first processing line comprising a first polishing line (10, fig. 5; [0055]) and a first cleaning line (120, fig. 5; [0059]);
a second processing line comprising a second polishing line (10’, fig. 5) and a second cleaning line (120’, fig. 5) and disposed in parallel to the first processing line;
a first stage (16a, fig. 5; [0061]) disposed between the first cleaning line and the second cleaning line;
a first retransfer robot (50, fig. 5; [0056]) configured to transfer a substrate from the front-end module to the first stage ([0055-0057] – wafer transfer device transfers wafers from cassette 60 to input stage 16a);
a second stage (18, fig. 5; [0058]) disposed between the first polishing line and the second polishing line;
and a second retransfer robot (40, fig. 5; [0058]) configured to transfer the substrate between at least two locations of the first cleaning line, the second cleaning line, the first stage, and the second stage ([0061] – wafer transfer device 40 transfers wafer from stage 16a to stage 18).
Joeng-‘997 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein each of the first cleaning line and the second cleaning line comprises: a chamber portion comprising a plurality of cleaning chambers of which at least a portion is stacked in a vertical direction; and
a fourth retransfer robot circularly rotatable along an axis vertically extended along a stacking direction of the cleaning chambers and movable along a horizontal direction, wherein the fourth retransfer robot is configured to transfer the substrate from at least one of the cleaning chambers to rest of the cleaning chambers respectively disposed along the vertical direction, the horizontal direction, and a circumference direction in relative thereto
wherein each of the first polishing line and the second polishing line comprises:
a first rotating portion configured to form a first transfer orbit in a circle on a first axis according to a rotation on a first axis and transfer the substrate among a first transfer location, a second transfer location, and a third transfer location;
a second rotating portion configured to form a second transfer orbit in a circle on a second axis according to a rotation and transfer the substrate between the second transfer location and a first polishing location, wherein the second transfer location is simultaneously located on the first transfer orbit and the second transfer orbit and the first transfer orbit and the second transfer orbit are overlapped with each other at the second transfer location
a third rotating portion configured to form a third transfer orbit in a circle on a third axis according to a rotation and transfer the substrate between the third transfer location and a second polishing location, wherein the third transfer location is simultaneously located on the first transfer orbit and the third transfer orbit and the first transfer orbit and the third transfer orbit are overlapped with each other at the third transfer location;
a first polishing pad configured to rotate at a location at which at least a portion of the first polishing pad overlaps the first polishing location; and
a second polishing pad configured to rotate at a location at which at least a portion of the second polishing pad overlaps the second polishing location,
wherein the first rotating portion comprises:
three branches directly extended from the first axis with an equal angular interval in 120 degrees between each two of the three branches; and
three third stages respectively connected to the three branches and disposed sequentially at the first transfer location, the second transfer location, and the third transfer location
wherein in a plan view, the first rotating portion is disposed between the first polishing pad and the second polishing pad, and the first axis is displaced from a line connecting the second axis and the third axis,
wherein the second rotating portion comprises:
at least one first carrier head to be disposed alternately at the second transfer location and the first polishing location, and
the third rotating portion comprises:
at least one second carrier head to be disposed alternately at the third transfer location and the second polishing location,
wherein each of the first polishing line and the second polishing line further comprises:
a first loading portion configured to load or unload the substrate from the second transfer location to the first carrier head; and
a second loading portion configured to load or unload the substrate from the third transfer location to the second carrier head,
wherein each of the first loading portion and the second loading portion comprises:
a cleaning nozzle configured to clean the first carrier head or the second carrier head disposed at the second transfer location or the third transfer location,
wherein when the first carrier head is disposed at the second transfer location, the
cleaning nozzle of the first loading portion overlaps the first carrier head when viewed from a rotation axis of the first carrier head.
However, Jeong-‘997 discloses that each polishing line comprises two polishing pads corresponding to two polishing pads that rotate (14a, 14b, 14a’ 14b’, fig. 5 corresponding to a polishing location in each polishing line in the respective half of the apparatus, functionality explained with respect to another embodiment in [0046], polishing surfaces have a polishing pad as generally explained in [0004]).
Regarding the limitation wherein each of the first cleaning line and the second cleaning line comprises: a chamber portion comprising a plurality of cleaning chambers of which at least a portion is stacked in a vertical direction; and
a fourth retransfer robot circularly rotatable along an axis vertically extended along a stacking direction of the cleaning chambers and movable along a horizontal direction, wherein the fourth retransfer robot is configured to transfer the substrate from at least one of the cleaning chambers to rest of the cleaning chambers respectively disposed along the vertical direction, the horizontal direction, and a circumference direction in relative thereto
Ann fig. B (fig. 2 of Miyazaki)
Miyazaki, in the same field of endeavor, relating to chemical mechanical polishing, teaches a cleaning portion comprises a chamber portion (entirety of fig. 3, the cleaning chambers positioned in multiple chamber portions 190, 191, 192, 193, 194, fig. 3; [0071, 0079]) comprising a plurality of cleaning chambers of which at least a portion is stacked in a vertical direction (201b and 201a in fig. 3; [0069], and a fourth retransfer robot (240, fig. 3; [0081-0082]) circularly rotatable along an axis vertically extended along a stacking direction of the cleaning chambers and movable along a horizontal direction (see dashed line in ann. fig. B above, the robot extends out/moves [at least partially] horizontally, and also rotates out [in an axis along a stacking direction, given the movement of the arm] and this allows the saving of time by moving the wafer in a complex pattern as in [0082]), wherein the fourth retransfer robot is configured to transfer the substrate from at least one of the cleaning chambers to rest of the cleaning chambers respectively disposed along the vertical direction, the horizontal direction, and a circumference direction in relative ([0084], the robot can move vertically between 201a and 201b, and also feeds into 202a and 202b, see fig. 3). Miyazaki teaches this arrangement of stacked cleaning chambers saves space ([0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the stacked cleaning chambers of Miyazaki into Jeong-‘997 , because this saves space, and the arrangement also saves time by allowing movement in a complex pattern)
Ann. Fig. A (Rangarajan, fig. 3A)
Rangarajan, in the same field of endeavor, relating to chemical mechanical polishing teaches:
a second rotating portion configured to form a second transfer orbit in a circle according to a rotation on a second axis and transfer the substrate between the second transfer location and a first polishing location (ann. fig. A, above, the rotating portion transfers between, the rotating portion shown in fig. 1A, 1B, and explained in [0073-0075], and is configured to transfer the substrate between a transfer location and over the polishing pad, with a pair of polishing heads 131, fig. 1), and
a third rotating portion configured to form a third transfer orbit in a circle according to a rotation on a third axis and transfer the substrate between the third transfer location and a second polishing location (an analogous third rotation portion applies to the polishing station 100a as shown in ann. fig A above),
wherein the second rotating portion comprises; at least one first carrier head (the two carrier heads 131 in fig. 1a of Rangarajan; which rotate about shaft 132, fig. 1A as in [0080]) to be disposed alternately at the second transfer location and the first polishing location, and the third rotating portion comprises: at least one second carrier head (symmetrically placed, as applicable to ann. Fig. A/fig. 3A of Rangarajan) to be disposed alternately at the third transfer location and the second polishing location (this occurs by rotation, as previously explained with respect to the carrier heads 131 of Rangarajan).
Rangarajan teaches that this arrangement provides for “facilitate the simultaneous substrate loading/unloading and polishing operations of at least two substrates to enable the high throughput density substrate handling methods” ([0074]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the transfer arrangement of Rangarajan into the apparatus of Jeong-‘997 , because this would facilitate high throughput.
Rangarajan, also teaches of a means to transfer a substrate between two locations within a polishing line (350, fig. 3b, [0110]).
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, as related to chemical mechanical polishing teaches of a first rotating portion (turntable 21, fig. 1 [0035]) configured to form a first transfer orbit in a circle according to a rotation (the turntable turns by rotation; [0035], and is shown as generally round) on a first axis and transfer the substrate among a first transfer location, a second transfer location, and a third transfer location and wherein the first rotating portion comprises: three third stages to be respectively disposed sequentially at the first transfer location, the second transfer location, and the third transfer location. (the disclosure provides for at least 4 platforms 22, as shown in fig. 4 and explained in [0042-0043], corresponding to 4 different transfer locations).
Chen also teaches of wherein both the second and third transfer location is simultaneously located with a corresponding polishing head (fig. 1 shows that the turntable has 2 locations 22 co-located with the polishing head 12; the polishing head 12 is shown in fig. 2, and explained in [0035]).
Chen teaches that this transport assembly saves space and provides for improved production efficiency ([0035]) and provides an improvement over using manipulators in that it is more efficient and saves space ([0006]). Chen further teaches that the typical CMP process involves multiple polishing steps through multiple polishing modules ([0004]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the transfer arrangement of Chen into the apparatus of Jeong-‘997, as modified, because this arrangement provides for an efficient and space saving way to transfer wafers between multiple polishing locations/pads, thus facilitating efficient transfer of wafers when multiple CMP steps are necessary.
The arrangement of Jeong-‘997, as modified, would have resulted in the claimed limitations, wherein the second transfer location is simultaneously located on the first transfer orbit and the second transfer orbit, and wherein the third transfer location is simultaneously located on the first transfer orbit and the third transfer orbit, the first transfer orbit and the second transfer orbit are overlapped with each other at the second transfer location, the first transfer orbit and the third transfer orbit are overlapped with each other at the third transfer location, as the first transfer orbit would have been the rotating portion taught by Chen, and the second and third obits from by the assembly of Rangarajan.
One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have understood that as each transfer platform 22 of Chen is configured to interface with the polishing head 12, and as the assembly 120 of Rangarajan is provided with a polishing head 131, that the combination would have resulted in three transfer orbits, with the first transfer orbit having a second transfer location that is located at the same place as a polishing head on a second transfer orbit, and with a third transfer location that is located at the same place as a polishing head on a third transfer orbit, as this would enable wafer transfers from one polishing head to another, and thus between two polishing stations.
As for the limitations of three branches directly extended from the first axis with a regular interval between each two of the three branches; and three third stages connected to the three branches, Chen, as incorporated into Jeong-‘997, as modified teaches the placement of the stages on a platform (Chen, at 21, fig. 1), with the stages positioned at regular intervals (the 4 stages are at regular interval between any 2).
As for the limitation “an equal angular interval in 120 degrees” Chen teaches that the number of polishing stages is an result effective variable, having an effect on the convivence of operation of the CMP apparatus ([0043]), and further teaches that an ideal number would have one more than the number of polishing stations (referencing m=n+1, where n is the number of polishing stations; m - the number of loading and unloading stations). MPEP 2144.04 provides that selection of result effective variables through routine optimization would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Chen demonstrates the number of transfer stages relative to the number of polishing stations is a result effective variable, and thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have, through routine optimization, selected a number of stages to be 3. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have selected said variable with a reasonable expectation of success. In the alternative, as explained above, Chen demonstrates that it is desirable to have 3 transfer stages in light of the apparatus of Jeong-‘997 in view of Rangarajan, having two polishing stations, because it is preferred to have one extra transfer stage than the number of polishing stations, as being convenient for operation ([0043]), and thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated three transfer stages into Jeong-‘997 in view of Rangarajan.
As of the limitation of 120 degrees, between the stages, Chen demonstrates that it is desirable to rotate within the transfer orbit by a consistent predetermined angle to move wafers between different polishing processes, with return to an original position ([0042-0043]). Chen also teaches that the stages are evenly spaced ([0017]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the stages of Jeong-‘997 as modified, with an even 120 degree angle spacing (which would occur with only 3 stages as 360 degrees divided by 3), thus providing for an evenly spaced set of 3 stages, for the purpose of facilitating movement between different polishing processes, as taught by Chen. In the alterative, MPEP 2144 provides that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”, and thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have an equal angular interval in 120 degrees between each two of the three branches (polishing stages) as a relative dimension of an apparatus that would not perform differently than the prior art device.
Jeong-‘842, in the same field of endeavor, related to chemical mechanical polishing teaches the placement of stages, in a rotatable manner, on branches extending from a central rotational axis (branches/arms 183x and 183y, with stages 182x and 182y; fig. 29 indicates the rotation, [0173,0180-0181]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the platform of Chen for the plurality of arms supporting a plurality of stages taught by Jeong-‘842, as equivalents in the arm for the same purpose of supporting stages on an orbit.
As for the limitation wherein in a plan view, the first rotating portion is disposed between the first polishing pad and the second polishing pad, and the first axis is displaced from a line connecting the second axis and the third axis [the second and third axis of the second and third rotating portions], it was noted above that Chen teaches that it is desirable to rotate within the transfer orbit by a consistent predetermined angle to move wafers between different polishing processes, with return to an original position ([0042-0043]). Chen also teaches that the stages are evenly spaced ([0017]) and that with this arrangement both the second and third transfer location is simultaneously located with a corresponding polishing head (fig. 1 shows that the turntable has 2 locations 22 co-located with the polishing head 12; the polishing head 12 is shown in fig. 2, and explained in [0035]). Also noted above, the second and third rotation portions taught using Rangarajan, provide for “facilitate the simultaneous substrate loading/unloading and polishing operations of at least two substrates to enable the high throughput density substrate handling methods” ([0074]), with the two positions of the substrate arranged 180 degrees form each other, to provide for said “simultaneous substrate loading/unloading and polishing operations”. Because Chen teaches of evenly spaced (at 120 degrees apart), and because of the transfer locations being simultaneously located with the two polishing stations, one would understand that geometrically, the arrangement would result in the first rotating portion is disposed between the first polishing pad and the second polishing pad, and the first axis is displaced from a line connecting the second axis and the third axis, given the arrangement of the polishing pads, and the second and third rotating portions. To provide for both simultaneous location of the stages with the two polishing heads in a manner such that the first axis is not displaced from a line connecting the second axis and the third axis would require that the stages of the first rotation portion be 180 degrees apart (so a line crossing the two stages would cross the axis around which it rotates), but Chen teaches of providing evenly spaced stages at 120 degrees apart.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Jeong-‘997 such that in a plan view, the first rotating portion is disposed between the first polishing pad and the second polishing pad, and the first axis is displaced from a line connecting the second axis and the third axis, for the reasons given above.
In the alternative, MPEP 2144 provides that rearrangement of parts is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. It would also have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Jeong-‘997 such that in a plan view, the first rotating portion is disposed between the first polishing pad and the second polishing pad, and the first axis is displaced from a line connecting the second axis and the third axis, as a rearrangement of the position of the first rotating portion. In addition, it is respectfully submitted that a curved line can be drawn between the second axis and the third axis, avoiding the first axis.
Ann. fig. 10 (Katsuoka)
Katsuoka, in the same field of endeavor, relating to chemical mechanical polishing, teaches of a rotating wafer transporter with
a loading portion configured to load or unload the substrate from the second transfer location to the first carrier head (30L/30R, figs. 9 and 10; [0093, 0125] that loads to carrier head/top ring 32L/32R; the pusher is further described in detail in [0146-0153] figs. 11 and 12A, and its motion to load a wafer into the top ring is described in [0156]).
Katsuoka generally teaches that the pusher 30 is positioned below the rotary transporter (fig. 3, rotary transporter is 27L/27R, the pusher is 30L/30R. and that the rotary transporter transports wafers through the use of 4 stages through an indexing motion ([0093]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the wafer grabbing by the carrier head of Chen, as incorporated into Jeong-‘997 , as modified, for the pusher of Katsuoka, as a simple substitution for the same purpose of loading/unloading the top ring or carrier head. The result would have been expected to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Katsuoka, also teaches of a cleaning nozzle configured to clean a carrier head disposed at a transfer location (nozzles 501-504, fig. 10; [0142], carrier head 32, above rotary transporter 27, comprises 4 transfer positions; nozzles that clean carrier head further described in [0125]; nozzle 506, fig. 10 is shown of the analogous structure as nozzles 501-504). Katsuoka teaches that these nozzles are provided at a stationary location ([0142]) and serve the purpose of preventing the top ring/carrier head from drying out ([0103]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added nozzles positioned at the second or third transfer location of Jeong-‘997 , as modified, as taught by Katsuoka, for the purpose of preventing the top ring/carrier head from drying out.
Regarding the limitation wherein when the first carrier head is disposed at the second transfer location, the cleaning nozzle of the first loading portion overlaps the first carrier head when viewed from a rotation axis of the first carrier head. (see placement of nozzle 504, ann. fig 10 of Katsuoka above, the “overlap” depends on the perspective viewed of the nozzle, and the instant claim does not require a plan view - the nozzle overlaps the carrier head at an angle to prevent the carrier head from drying out, regarding the limitation that it overlaps the first carrier head when viewed from a rotation axis of the first carrier head, as previously mentioned in [0080] of Rangarajan above, the carrier head rotates around 132, fig. 1A of Rangarajan, which provides for a rotation axis, and the examiner notes, in a manner consistent with the instant disclosure, the axis 132, fig. 1A in Rangarajan is an imaginary line that extends up/down relative to the figure/page, and one can “view” something from the rotation axis at any angle [both from the perspective into/out of the page, and left and right along the page, given an axis that extends up/down along a page, i.e. any spherical angle] and given that the axis is a line that extends without terminating, the view from the axis can be at any elevation up/down along the axis, thus one can draw a line through the axis at an elevation and angle such that it intersects the nozzle, the head and the axis itself; instant fig. 3 does not appear to show nozzles on the rotation axis of head 12121)
With respect to claim 2, Jeong-‘997, as modified teaches of the limitations of claim 1 above, however does not explicitly teach: a third retransfer robot configured to transfer the substrate between at least two locations of the second stage, the first polishing line, and the second polishing line.
Rangarajan, in the same field of endeavor, as related to chemical mechanical polishing teaches: a third retransfer robot (314, fig. 3A) configured ([0114]) to transfer the substrate between at least two locations of a second stage (180, fig. 3A, and also of a load location 140, fig. 3B), the first polishing line (100a, fig. 3A), and the second polishing line (100b, Fig. 3A; [0074-0076]). Rangarajan teaches that this layout provides modularity and flexibility ([0147]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the third transfer robot of Rangarajan, into Jeong-‘997 , as modified, and provide for the configuration with a second stage of Rangarajan, because this layout provides modularity and flexibility.
With respect to claim 4, Jeong-‘997, as modified teaches of the limitations of claim 2 above, and further teaches wherein the second retransfer robot is configured to transfer an unpolished substrate in a state before polishing from the first stage to the second stage (Jeong-‘997 , [0061] – wafer transfer device 40 transfers wafer from stage 16a to stage 18).
With respect to claim 5, Jeong-‘997, as modified, teaches of the limitations of claim 4 above, and further teaches, wherein the third retransfer robot is configured to transfer the unpolished substrate from the second stage to the first transfer location of one of the first polishing line and the second polishing line (the third retransfer robot 314 of Rangarajan is configured to transfer wafers from a second stage 180, fig. 3a to a first transfer location of each polishing line specifically, a load location 140, shown in fig. 3b; thus with in combination with the teachings of Chen, it would have been configured to transfer to an load location of the turntable 22; further evidence is provided in [0042] of Chen which provides that wafers can be placed in a “loading and unloading platforms 22 corresponding to no polishing assemblies” for further transport to the polishing modules/assemblies).
With respect to claim 10, Jeong-‘997, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches: wherein the second retransfer robot is configured to transfer a polished substrate obtained after polishing from one of the first polishing line and the second polishing line to one of the first cleaning line and the second cleaning line (Jeong-‘997, [0061] “the wafer W1 is transferred from the wafer transfer station 18 to the cleaner buffer 16b of the first cleaning apparatus 120 by the wafer transfer device 40,”) .
With respect to claim 11, Jeong-‘997, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 10 above, and further teaches: wherein the first retransfer robot is configured to transfer a cleaned substrate obtained after cleaning from one of the first cleaning line and the second cleaning line to the front-end module (Jeong-‘997, [0061]; “further transferred from there through the cleaning module 124 to the wafer output stage 16c by the internal wafer transfer device 122 and then transferred from the wafer output stage 16c to the cassette 60 by the wafer transfer device 50.”).
With respect to claim 13, Jeong-‘997, as modified, teaches of the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches a first chamber portion (190, fig. 3 of Miyazaki; [0071]) comprising at least one of the cleaning chambers; and a second chamber portion (Miyazaki, 192, 193, 194, fig. 3; [0079]) comprising at least one of the cleaning chambers, and disposed separately from the first chamber portion in the horizontal direction, wherein the fourth retransfer robot is disposed (in 191, fig. 3; [0081]) between the first chamber portion and the second chamber portion.
With respect to claim 14, Jeong-‘997, as modified, teaches of the limitation of claim 13 above and further teaches wherein the second retransfer robot is configured to transfer a substrate obtained after polishing from one of the first polishing line and the second polishing line to the first chamber portion of one of the first cleaning line and the second cleaning line .
Jeong-‘997 teaches that the second retransfer robot is adapted to transfer a wafer to 16b,16b’ and as modified, it would have transferred the wafer to the first cleaning chamber, as the first cleaning chamber in Miyazaki is where the cleaning process begins.
With respect to claim 15, Jeong-‘997, as modified, teaches of the limitations of claim 14 above, and further teaches wherein the first retransfer robot is configured to transfer a substrate obtained after cleaning from the second chamber portion of one of the first cleaning line and the second cleaning line to the front-end module.
Miyazaki teaches that the wafer after cleaning transported ([0086]) from the second chamber portion to the front-end module by a robot 22 that also transfers ([0066]) the wafer to polishing from the front-end module. This operates the same way as the apparatus of Jeong-‘997.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the first retransfer robot of Jeong-‘997 to perform the function.
With respect to claim 16, Jeong-‘997 discloses:
A substrate processing system, comprising: a front-end module (60, fig. 5; [0056]) disposed in a first direction (along 52);
a first processing line comprising a first polishing line (10, fig. 5; [0055]) and a first cleaning line (120, fig. 5; [0059]); and disposed in a second direction (processing line is disposed perpendicular to 52) vertical to the first direction;
a second processing line comprising a second polishing line (10’, fig. 5) and a second cleaning line (120’, fig. 5) and disposed in a third direction vertical (processing line is disposed perpendicular to 52) to the first direction and parallel to the second direction;
and a second stage (18, fig. 5; [0058]) disposed between the first processing line and the second processing line, wherein, via the second stage, a substrate is transferred from the first polishing line or the second polishing line to the first cleaning line or the second cleaning line, or transferred from the first cleaning line or the second cleaning line to the first polishing line or the second polishing line (([0061] “the wafer W1 is transferred from the wafer transfer station 18 to the cleaner buffer 16b of the first cleaning apparatus 120 by the wafer transfer device 40,”)
Joeng-‘997 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein each of the first cleaning line and the second cleaning line comprises: a chamber portion comprising a plurality of cleaning chambers of which at least a portion is stacked in a vertical direction; and
a fourth retransfer robot circularly rotatable along an axis vertically extended along a stacking direction of the cleaning chambers and movable along a horizontal direction, wherein the fourth retransfer robot is configured to transfer the substrate from at least one of the cleaning chambers to rest of the cleaning chambers respectively disposed along the vertical direction, the horizontal direction, and a circumference direction in relative thereto
wherein each of the first polishing line and the second polishing line comprises:
a first rotating portion configured to form a first transfer orbit in a circle on a first axis according to a rotation and transfer the substrate among a first transfer location, a second transfer location, and a third transfer location;
a second rotating portion configured to form a second transfer orbit in a circle on a second axis according to a rotation and transfer the substrate between the second transfer location and a first polishing location, wherein the second transfer location is simultaneously located on the first transfer orbit and the second transfer orbit and the first transfer orbit and the second transfer orbit are overlapped with each other at the second transfer location
a third rotating portion configured to form a third transfer orbit in a circle on a third axis according to a rotation and transfer the substrate between the third transfer location and a second polishing location, wherein the third transfer location is simultaneously located on the first transfer orbit and the third transfer orbit, and the first transfer orbit and the third transfer orbit are overlapped with each other at the third transfer location
a first polishing pad configured to rotate at a location at which at least a portion of the first polishing pad overlaps the first polishing location; and
a second polishing pad configured to rotate at a location at which at least a portion of the second polishing pad overlaps the second polishing location,
wherein the first rotating portion comprises:
three branches directly extended from the first axis with an equal angular interval in 120 degrees between each two of the three branches; and three third stages to be respectively connected to the three branches and disposed sequentially at the first transfer location, the second transfer location, and the third transfer location,
wherein in a plan view, the first rotating portion is disposed between the first polishing pad and the second polishing pad, and the first axis is displaced from a line connecting the second axis and the third axis
wherein the second rotating portion comprises: at least one first carrier head to be disposed alternately at the second transfer location and the first polishing location,
and the third rotating portion comprises: at least one second carrier head to be disposed alternately at the third transfer location and the second polishing location,
wherein each of the first polishing line and the second polishing line further comprises: a first loading portion configured to load or unload the substrate from the second transfer location to the first carrier head; and a second loading portion configured to load or unload the substrate from the third transfer location to the second carrier head, wherein each of the first loading portion and the second loading portion comprises: a cleaning nozzle configured to clean the first carrier head or the second carrier head disposed at the second transfer location or the third transfer location, wherein when the first carrier head is disposed at the second transfer location, the cleaning nozzle of the first loading portion overlaps the first carrier head when viewed from a rotation axis of the first carrier head.
However, Jeong-‘997 discloses that each polishing line comprises two polishing pads corresponding to two polishing pads that rotate (14a, 14b, 14a’ 14b’, fig. 5 corresponding to a polishing location in each polishing line in the respective half of the apparatus, functionality explained with respect to another embodiment in [0046], polishing surfaces have a polishing pad as generally explained in [0004]).
Regarding the limitation wherein each of the first cleaning line and the second cleaning line comprises: a chamber portion comprising a plurality of cleaning chambers of which at least a portion is stacked in a vertical direction; and
a fourth retransfer robot circularly rotatable along an axis vertically extended along a stacking direction of the cleaning chambers and movable along a horizontal direction, wherein the fourth retransfer robot is configured to transfer the substrate from at least one of the cleaning chambers to rest of the cleaning chambers respectively disposed along the vertical direction, the horizontal direction, and a circumference direction in relative thereto
Miyazaki, in the same field of endeavor, relating to chemical mechanical polishing, teaches a cleaning portion comprises a chamber portion (entirety of fig. 3, the cleaning chambers positioned in multiple chamber portions 190, 191, 192, 193, 194, fig. 3; [0071, 0079]) comprising a plurality of cleaning chambers of which at least a portion is stacked in a vertical direction (201b and 201a in fig. 3; [0069], and a fourth retransfer robot (240, fig. 3; [0081-0082]) circularly rotatable along an axis vertically extended along a stacking direction of the cleaning chambers and movable along a horizontal direction (see dashed line in ann. fig. B above, the robot extends out/moves [at least partially] horizontally, and also rotates out [in an axis along a stacking direction, given the movement of the arm] and this allows the saving of time by moving the wafer in a complex pattern as in [0082]), wherein the fourth retransfer robot is configured to transfer the substrate from at least one of the cleaning chambers to rest of the cleaning chambers respectively disposed along the vertical direction, the horizontal direction, and a circumference direction in relative ([0084], the robot can move vertically between 201a and 201b, and also feeds into 202a and 202b, see fig. 3). Miyazaki teaches this arrangement of stacked cleaning chambers saves space ([0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the stacked cleaning chambers of Miyazaki into Jeong-‘997 , because this saves space, and the arrangement also saves time by allowing movement in a complex pattern
Rangarajan, in the same field of endeavor, relating to chemical mechanical polishing teaches:
a second rotating portion configured to form a second transfer orbit in a circle on a second axis according to a rotation and transfer the substrate between the second transfer location and a first polishing location (ann. fig. A, above in the body of the rejection of claim 1, the rotating portion transfers between, the rotating portion shown in fig. 1A, 1B, and explained in [0073-0075], and is configured to transfer the substrate between a transfer location and over the polishing pad, with a pair of polishing heads 131, fig. 1), and
a third rotating portion configured to form a third transfer orbit in a circle on an third axis according to a rotation and transfer the substrate between the third transfer location and a second polishing location (an analogous third rotation portion applies to the polishing station 100a as shown in ann. fig A above),
wherein the second rotating portion comprises: at least one first carrier head (the two carrier heads 131 in fig. 1a of Rangarajan; which rotate about shaft 132, fig. 1A as in [0080]) to be disposed alternately at the second transfer location and the first polishing location, and the third rotating portion comprises: at least one second carrier head (symmetrically placed, as applicable to ann. Fig. A/fig. 3A of Rangarajan) to be disposed alternately at the third transfer location and the second polishing location (this occurs by rotation, as previously explained with respect to the carrier heads 131 of Rangarajan).
Rangarajan teaches that this arrangement provides for “facilitate the simultaneous substrate loading/unloading and polishing operations of at least two substrates to enable the high throughput density substrate handling methods” ([0074]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the transfer arrangement of Rangarajan into the apparatus of Jeong-‘997, because this would facilitate high throughput.
Rangarajan, also teaches of a means to transfer a substrate between two locations within a polishing line (350, fig. 3b, [0110]).
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of a first rotating portion (turntable 21, fig. 1 [0035]) configured to form a first transfer orbit in a circle according to a rotation on a first axis (the turntable turns by rotation; [0035], and is shown as generally round) and transfer the substrate among a first transfer location, a second transfer location, and a third transfer location and wherein the first rotating portion comprises: three third stages to be respectively disposed sequentially at the first transfer location, the second transfer location, and the third transfer location. (the disclosure provides for at least 4 platforms 22, as shown in fig. 4 and explained in [0042-0043], corresponding to 4 different transfer locations).
Chen also teaches of wherein both the second and third transfer location is simultaneously located with a corresponding polishing head (fig. 1 shows that the turntable has 2 locations 22 co-located with the polishing head 12; the polishing head 12 is shown in fig. 2, and explained in [0035]).
Chen teaches that this transport assembly saves space and provides for improved production efficiency ([0035]) and provides an improvement over using manipulators in that it is more efficient and saves space ([0006]). Chen further teaches that the typical CMP process involves multiple polishing steps through multiple polishing modules ([0004]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the transfer arrangement of Chen into the apparatus of Jeong-‘997 , as modified, because this arrangement provides for an efficient and space saving way to transfer wafers between multiple polishing locations/pads, thus facilitating efficient transfer of wafers when multiple CMP steps are necessary.
The arrangement of Jeong-‘997, as modified, would have resulted in the claimed limitations, wherein the second transfer location is simultaneously located on the first transfer orbit and the second transfer orbit, and wherein the third transfer location is simultaneously located on the first transfer orbit and the third transfer orbit, as the first transfer orbit would have been the rotating portion taught by Chen, and the second and third obits from by the assembly of Rangarajan.
One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have understood that as each transfer platform 22 of Chen is configured to interface with the polishing head 12, and as the assembly 120 of Rangarajan is provided with a polishing head 131, that the combination would have resulted in three transfer orbits, with the first transfer orbit having a second transfer location that is located at the same place as a polishing head on a second transfer orbit, and with a third transfer location that is located at the same place as a polishing head on a third transfer orbit, as this would enable wafer transfers from one polishing head to another, and thus between two polishing stations.
As for the limitations of three branches directly extended from the first axis with a regular interval between each two of the three branches; and three third stages connected to the three branches, Chen, as incorporated into Jeong-‘997, as modified teaches the placement of the stages on a platform (Chen, at 21, fig. 1), with the stages positioned at regular intervals (the 4 stages are at regular interval between any 2).
As for the limitation “an equal angular interval in 120 degrees” Chen teaches that the number of polishing stages is an result effective variable, having an effect on the convivence of operation of the CMP apparatus ([0043]), and further teaches that an ideal number would have one more than the number of polishing stations (referencing m=n+1, where n is the number of polishing stations; m - the number of loading and unloading stations). MPEP 2144.04 provides that selection of result effective variables through routine optimization would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Chen demonstrates the number of transfer stages relative to the number of polishing stations is a result effective variable, and thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have, through routine optimization, selected a number of stages to be 3. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have selected said variable with a reasonable expectation of success. In the alternative, as explained above, Chen demonstrates that it is desirable to have 3 transfer stages in light of the apparatus of Jeong-‘997 in view of Rangarajan, having two polishing stations, because it is preferred to have one extra transfer stage than the number of polishing stations, as being convenient for operation ([0043]), and thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated three transfer stages into Jeong-‘997 in view of Rangarajan.
As of the limitation of 120 degrees, between the stages, Chen demonstrates that it is desirable to rotate within the transfer orbit by a consistent predetermined angle to move wafers between different polishing processes, with return to an original position ([0042-0043]). Chen also teaches that the stages are evenly spaced ([0017]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the stages of Jeong-‘997 as modified, with an even 120 degree angle spacing (which would occur with only 3 stages as 360 degrees divided by 3), thus providing for an evenly spaced set of 3 stages, for the purpose of facilitating movement between different polishing processes, as taught by Chen. In the alterative, MPEP 2144 provides that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”, and thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have an equal angular interval in 120 degrees between each two of the three branches (polishing stages) as a relative dimension of an apparatus that would not perform differently than the prior art device.
Jeong-‘842, in the same field of endeavor, related to chemical mechanical polishing teaches the placement of stages, in a rotatable manner, on branches extending from a central rotational axis (branches/arms 183x and 183y, with stages 182x and 182y; fig. 29 indicates the rotation, [0173,0180-0181]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the platform of Chen for the plurality of arms supporting a plurality of stages taught by Jeong-‘842, as equivalents in the arm for the same purpose of supporting stages on an orbit.
As for the limitation wherein in a plan view, the first rotating portion is disposed between the first polishing pad and the second polishing pad, and the first axis is displaced from a line connecting the second axi