DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3-16 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendments on 01/09/2026, have been fully considered. The reasons set forth below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The formal drawings received on 06/06/2023 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Independent Claim(s):
Step 1: Statutory Category. Claim(s) 1 and 3-16 is/are directed to statutory category of subject matter. The claim(s) does/do fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim(s) is/are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Step 2A: Prong One. Judicial Exception. Claim(s) 1 and 3-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) are directed to abstract idea of filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information, as explained in detail below. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
The independent claim(s) recites, in part, Claims 1, 9, 12. An aggregating server comprising: a remote node input interface configured to receive node images representing nodes in a remote address space; an address space description interface configured to import node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; a node filter located between the remote node input interface and an aggregation module, the node filter configured to filter the node images received from the remote node input interface, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information imported via the address space description interface, wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; and the aggregation module configured to instantiate proxy nodes, wherein the proxy nodes represent the nodes of interest; wherein the remote node input interface, address space description interface, node filter, and aggregation module comprise computer instructions executed by a processor; wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes. Claims 7, 13. A node description information generator, configured to generate node aggregation description information to be imported by an aggregating server for filtering node images to be aggregated, the node description information generator comprising: a generator input interface configured to receive node description information of nodes in a remote address space; a generator processing module configured to generate node aggregation description information based on the node description information of nodes and on a node aggregation configuration, wherein the node aggregation description information comprises descriptions of only nodes of interest associated with an application; and a generator output interface configured to output the generated node aggregation description information; wherein the generator input interface, generator processing module, and generator output interface comprise computer instructions executed by a processor; wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes. These steps describe the concept of filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information, which corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts, such as Filtering content (BASCOM). The concept relates to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” in which “Concepts relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity.” The concept described in the claim(s) is/are not meaningfully different than “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” found by the courts to be abstract ideas. As such, the description in the claim(s) of filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information is an abstract idea. Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp. 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“[T]he first step in the Alice inquiry in this case asks whether the focus of the claims [was] on the specific asserted improvement in computer capabilities … or, instead, on a process that qualifies as an ‘abstract idea’ for which computers are invoked merely as a tool.”) No such evidence exists on this record. Unlike Enfish, where the claims were focused on a specific improvement in how the computer functioned, the claim here merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the abstract concepts, and the claims are not rooted in technology and simply employs conventional techniques used by humans for filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information. The claim here is not similar to claimed patent’s innovative logical model for a computer database (p. 2-3), nor does the claim here have similar specific asserted improvement in computer capabilities (p. 7) as in the Enfish patent. Rather here, the claim is directed to automating the human behavior or task. (See Enfish Memo and Enfish v. Microsoft, May 2016). In addition, simply limiting the invention to a technological environment does “not make an abstract concept any less abstract under step one.” Intellectual Ventures I, 850 F.3d at 1340. Therefore, based on the similarity of the concept described in this claim to abstract ideas identified by the courts in the claim is directed to an abstract idea. For these reasons, afford are ineligible.
Step 2A: Prong Two. Practical Application. Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g). Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Step 2B: Additional Elements Significantly More Then the Judicial Exception. The independent claim(s) do/does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim recites the additional limitations of a Claims 1, 9, 12. An “aggregating server” comprising: a “remote node input interface” configured to receive node images representing nodes in a remote address space; an “address space description interface” configured to import node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; a “node filter” located between the “remote node input interface” and an “aggregation module,” the “node filter” configured to filter the node images received from the “remote node input interface,” so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information imported via the “address space description interface, wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; and;” and the “aggregation module” configured to instantiate “proxy nodes,” wherein the “proxy nodes” represent the nodes of interest; wherein the remote node input interface, address space description interface, node filter, and aggregation module comprise computer instructions executed by a “processor;” wherein the “aggregating server” provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes. Claims 7, 13. A “node description information generator,” configured to generate node aggregation description information to be imported by an “aggregating server” for filtering node images to be aggregated, the node “description information generator” comprising: a “generator input interface” configured to receive node description information of nodes in a remote address space; a “generator processing module” configured to generate node aggregation description information based on the node description information of nodes and on a node aggregation configuration, wherein the node aggregation description information comprises descriptions of only nodes of interest associated with an application; and a “generator output interface” configured to output the generated node aggregation description information, wherein the generator input interface, generator processing module, and generator output interface comprise computer instructions executed by a “processor;” wherein the “aggregating server” provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes. The Claims 1, 9, 12. “aggregating server,” “remote node input interface,” “address space description interface,” “node filter,” “aggregation module,” “proxy nodes,” and processor and Claims 7, 13. “node description information generator,” “aggregating server,” “generator input interface,” “generator processing module,” “generator output interface,” and processor” are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. Next, “receiving node images representing nodes in a remote address space; importing node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; and filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information” is stated at a high level of generality without tying it to an algorithm that would improve the functionality of the technology and its broadest reasonable interpretation comprises only filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information through the use of some unspecified generic computers and interface. The use of generic computer components for receiving node images representing nodes in a remote address space; importing node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; and filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information through an unspecified interface does not impose any meaningful limit on the computer implementation of the abstract idea. These independent claims include insignificant pre-solution limitation(s) [a remote node input interface configured to receive node images representing nodes in a remote address space; an address space description interface configured to import node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; a node filter located between the remote node input interface and an aggregation module; wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; and] and post-solution limitation(s) [the aggregation module configured to instantiate proxy nodes, wherein the proxy nodes represent the nodes of interest; wherein the remote node input interface, address space description interface, node filter, and aggregation module comprise computer instructions executed by a processor; wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes] that do not transform the patent-ineligible concept of an abstract idea to a patent-eligible concept even if they are performed using general purpose computer, as these pre-solution limitation(s) and post-solution limitation(s) add insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Additionally, adding the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception (i.e., applying the judicial exception to the Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture (OPC UA)), or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., the Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture (OPC UA)) is also found to not be enough to qualify as significantly more.
Dependent Claim(s):
Step 1: Statutory Category. Claim(s) 3-6, 8, 10, 11, and 13-16 is/are directed to statutory category of subject matter. The claim(s) does/do fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim(s) is/are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Step 2A: Judicial Exception. Claim(s) 3-6, 8, 10, 11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) are directed to abstract idea of filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information without any significant extrasolution activities, as explained in detail below. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
The dependent claim(s) recites, in part, Claim 3. The aggregating server according to claim 1, wherein the address space description interface is a file interface or a digital data connection interface. Claim 4. The aggregating server according to claim 1, wherein the node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated is related to a technical application. Claim 5. The aggregating server according to claim 1, wherein each of the proxy nodes is instantiated such that each of the proxy nodes comprises data of a corresponding node in the remote address space to be aggregated, wherein the data is consolidated and represented data of the corresponding node in the remote address space, according to an information model of the aggregation server. Claims 6, 14. The aggregating server according to claim 1, wherein the aggregating server is an Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture (OPC UA) aggregation server. Claim 8. The node description information generator according to claim 7, further comprising a configuration interface, wherein the configuration interface comprises a configuration server and/or a file interface for configuring the node description information generator. Claim 10. The system according to claim 9, further comprising a client device comprising a first client for accessing the aggregation server and representing the filtered aggregated nodes. Claim 11. The system according to claim 10, wherein the client device further comprises a second client for connecting to the configuration server of the node description information generator. Claims 15, 16. Claim 15 is substantially similar to claims 1, 7, 9, 12, and 13. These steps describe the concept of receiving node images representing nodes in a remote address space; importing node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; and filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information without any significant extrasolution activities, which corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts, such as Filtering content (BASCOM). All of these concepts relate to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” in which “Concepts relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity.” The concept described in the claim(s) is/are not meaningfully different than “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” found by the courts to be abstract ideas. As such, the description in the claim(s) of filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information without any significant extrasolution activities is an abstract idea. Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp. 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“[T]he first step in the Alice inquiry in this case asks whether the focus of the claims [was] on the specific asserted improvement in computer capabilities … or, instead, on a process that qualifies as an ‘abstract idea’ for which computers are invoked merely as a tool.”) No such evidence exists on this record. Unlike Enfish, where the claims were focused on a specific improvement in how the computer functioned, the claim here merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the abstract concepts, and the claims are not rooted in technology and simply employs conventional techniques used by humans for filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information without any significant extrasolution activities. The claim here is not similar to claimed patent’s innovative logical model for a computer database (p. 2-3), nor does the claim here have similar specific asserted improvement in computer capabilities (p. 7) as in the Enfish patent. Rather here, the claim is directed to automating the human behavior or task. (See Enfish Memo and Enfish v. Microsoft, May 2016). In addition, simply limiting the invention to a technological environment does “not make an abstract concept any less abstract under step one.” Intellectual Ventures I, 850 F.3d at 1340. Therefore, based on the similarity of the concept described in this claim to abstract ideas identified by the courts in the claim is directed to an abstract idea. For these reasons, afford are ineligible.
Step 2B: Additional Elements Significantly More Then the Judicial Exception. The dependent claim(s) do/does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim recites the additional limitations of a Claim 3. The aggregating server according to claim 1, wherein the address space description interface is a file interface or a digital data connection interface. Claim 4. The aggregating server according to claim 1, wherein the node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated is related to a technical application. Claim 5. The aggregating server according to claim 1, wherein each of the proxy nodes is instantiated such that each of the proxy nodes comprises data of a corresponding node in the remote address space to be aggregated, wherein the data is consolidated and represented data of the corresponding node in the remote address space, according to an information model of the aggregation server. Claims 6, 14. The aggregating server according to claim 1, wherein the aggregating server is an Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture (OPC UA) aggregation server. Claim 8. The node description information generator according to claim 7, further comprising a configuration interface, wherein the configuration interface comprises a configuration server and/or a file interface for configuring the node description information generator. Claim 10. The system according to claim 9, further comprising a client device comprising a first client for accessing the aggregation server and representing the filtered aggregated nodes. Claim 11. The system according to claim 10, wherein the client device further comprises a second client for connecting to the configuration server of the node description information generator. Claims 15, 16. Claim 15 is substantially similar to claims 1, 7, 9, 12, and 13. The Claims 1, 9, 12. “aggregating server,” “remote node input interface,” “address space description interface,” “node filter,” “aggregation module,” “proxy nodes,” and “processor” and Claims 7, 13. “node description information generator,” “aggregating server,” “generator input interface,” “generator processing module,” “generator output interface,” and “processor” are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. Next, “receiving node images representing nodes in a remote address space; importing node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; and filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information without any significant extrasolution activities” is stated at a high level of generality without tying it to an algorithm that would improve the functionality of the technology and its broadest reasonable interpretation comprises only filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information without any significant extrasolution activities through the use of some unspecified generic computers and interface. The use of generic computer components for filtering the node images, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information without any significant extrasolution activities through an unspecified interface does not impose any meaningful limit on the computer implementation of the abstract idea. These dependent claims include insignificant pre-solution limitation(s) and post-solution limitation(s) that do not transform the patent-ineligible concept of an abstract idea to a patent-eligible concept even if they are performed using general purpose computer, as these pre-solution limitation(s) and post-solution limitation(s) add insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Additionally, adding the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception (i.e., applying the judicial exception to the Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture (OPC UA)), or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., the Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture (OPC UA)) is also found to not be enough to qualify as significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messinger (US 20160099863) in view of Dhakshinamoorthy (US 20190107827), and further in view of Chen (US 20040220963).
1. Messinger teaches:
An aggregating server comprising: – in paragraphs [0001]- [0010], [0023]-[0071] (Exemplary methods according to the disclosure can cover all functional steps performed by the system analyzer. The attached meta-data can enable the model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 to filter out signals or certain types of DCS components.)
a remote node input interface configured to receive node images representing nodes in a remote address space; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0071] (FIG. 1 shows an exemplary system analyzer 1 including a data collecting unit 2 with data storage means 3 (e.g., a memory device) for collecting and storing data 4 representing components of a DCS and their interconnection as well as signals which can be generated, processed and/or transmitted by the DCS components. The exemplary system analyzer 1 can include a model analyzing unit 10 which is arranged to receive information on a change concerning at least one of the DCS components.)
an address space description interface configured to import node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; – in paragraphs [0025], [0063]-[0071] (The model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes. Another possible query could be to analyze which nodes influence a given node or what could be the origin of an error having manifested itself in one of the DCS components. Another exemplary query can require analyzing whether a set of nodes, such as a group of sensors or actuators, is independent of other nodes.)
a node filter located between the remote node input interface and an aggregation module, the node filter configured to provide a filtering for the node images received from the remote node input interface, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, – in paragraphs [0025]-[0071] (The attached meta-data can enable the model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 to filter out signals or certain types of DCS components. The model analyzing unit can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes, to reduce the number of nodes to be searched by filtering out those nodes which need not be regarded for the respective query depending on their type, and to perform a breadth first search over all edges and over the reduced number of nodes.)
wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information imported via the address space description interface, – in paragraphs [0025], [0063]-[0071] (The model analyzing unit can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes, to reduce the number of nodes to be searched by filtering out those nodes which need not be regarded for the respective query depending on their type, and to perform a breadth first search over all edges and over the reduced number of nodes.)
wherein the remote node input interface, address space description interface, node filter, and aggregation module comprise computer instructions executed by a processor; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0071] (DCS component can be executed. An application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components. In an exemplary embodiment they can also include software applications executed by a data processing unit included in any of the hardware components of the DCS.)
Messinger does not explicitly teach:
node images representing nodes in a remote address space; node description information of nodes in the remote address space; wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes.
However, Dhakshinamoorthy teaches:
node images representing nodes in a remote address space; – in paragraphs [0051]-[0095] (The address space 332, located remotely from computing device 310 and query server 340, exposes network nodes to the user in a meaningful context. Each node is associated with one or more particular pieces of industrial component 322. The address space 332 associates a node with each type of equipment or sensor in order to create context of the data associated with each element. The address space 332 assigns a node to a sensor, and the node includes both an attribute and a reference.)
node description information of nodes in the remote address space; – in paragraphs [0051]-[0095] (The address space 332 can associate an attribute and a reference with each node. An attribute can describe the node and include a class definition such as a data type, a name, and the like.)
wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (Views 334 is an internal representation of data within the OPC UA server 330. For example, a user may only have interest in only a specific subset of data and therefore does not wish to view particular nodes in the address space 332. Views 334 is similar to a filter that filters certain nodes while other nodes remain accessible to a user, based on the particular user.)
the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (Embedded computers, such as a PLC, can control the various automation potions of the industrial plant as these computing devices can that collects data can communicate with one or more servers that analyze the data. For example, a higher level PLC can control valves based on sensor readings.)
wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; and – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (Views 334 is an internal representation of data within the OPC UA server 330. For example, a user may only have interest in only a specific subset of data and therefore does not wish to view particular nodes in the address space 332. Views 334 is similar to a filter that filters certain nodes while other nodes remain accessible to a user, based on the particular user.)
wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes. – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (The aggregator server 360 aggregates the data from multiple servers, such as server 362a, server 362b, through server 362n. Each server 362a-362n represents a single OPC UA server, similar to OPC UA server 330. The aggregate server 360 aggregates the address spaces (such as address space 332) from each server 362a-362n. In certain embodiments, the aggregated address spaces include equipment or sensor readings. The aggregated address space includes the various node classes to identify and provide context of each value associated with the industrial components 322. For example, if a query requests a specific piece of information, the aggregate server 360 aggregates the address spaces of each server into one location. The aggregate server 360 can include an information repository where the aggregated address spaces are saved.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Messinger with Dhakshinamoorthy to include node images representing nodes in a remote address space; node description information of nodes in the remote address space; wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes, as taught by Dhakshinamoorthy, in paragraphs [0002]-[0029], to provide a platform for manufacturer-independent communication between devices of an industrial automation systems or plants and provide improved quality control and oversight that improves the efficiency of the overall industrial plant.
Combination of Messinger and Dhakshinamoorthy does not explicitly teach:
the aggregation module configured to instantiate proxy nodes, wherein the proxy nodes represent the nodes of interest.
However, Chen teaches:
the aggregation module configured to instantiate proxy nodes, wherein the proxy nodes represent the nodes of interest; – in paragraphs [0024]-[0065] (The nodes can be filtered using a desired filtering algorithm to improve the clustering. In 456, the nodes of each cluster are merged into one node. For instance, if two candidate nodes exist following the filtering, the closest two candidate nodes can be merged by, e.g., averaging the vector values of the two candidate nodes. This merging allows individual nodes to be combined to reduce the number of nodes that have to be considered. As such, the merging operation can be used to reduce the occurrence of duplicates and near-duplicates. With the framework graph, 150, p.sub.i and u.sub.j represent two types of data objects, in which p.sub.i.epsilon.P (i=1, . . . , I) and u.sub.j.epsilon.U (j=1, . . . , J). I and J are cardinalities of the node sets P and U, respectively.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Messinger and Dhakshinamoorthy with Chen to include the aggregation module configured to instantiate proxy nodes, wherein the proxy nodes represent the nodes of interest, as taught by Chen, in paragraphs [0001]-[0016], to provide clustering algorithms for grouping objects based on the similarities of the objects.
Claim 4. The aggregating server according to claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Messinger teaches:
wherein the node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated is related to the technical application. – in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], [0015]-[0071] (The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components; e.g., an application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components. The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components.)
Claim 5. The aggregating server according to claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Chen teaches:
wherein each of the proxy nodes is instantiated such that each of the proxy nodes comprises data of a corresponding node in the remote address space to be aggregated, – in paragraphs [0024]-[0065] (The nodes can be filtered using a desired filtering algorithm to improve the clustering. In 456, the nodes of each cluster are merged into one node. For instance, if two candidate nodes exist following the filtering, the closest two candidate nodes can be merged by, e.g., averaging the vector values of the two candidate nodes. This merging allows individual nodes to be combined to reduce the number of nodes that have to be considered. As such, the merging operation can be used to reduce the occurrence of duplicates and near-duplicates. With the framework graph, 150, p.sub.i and u.sub.j represent two types of data objects, in which p.sub.i.epsilon.P (i=1, . . . , I) and u.sub.j.epsilon.U (j=1, . . . , J). I and J are cardinalities of the node sets P and U, respectively.)
wherein the data is consolidated and represented data of the corresponding node in the remote address space, according to an information model of the aggregation server. – in paragraphs [0024]-[0065] (The nodes can be filtered using a desired filtering algorithm to improve the clustering. In 456, the nodes of each cluster are merged into one node. For instance, if two candidate nodes exist following the filtering, the closest two candidate nodes can be merged by, e.g., averaging the vector values of the two candidate nodes. This merging allows individual nodes to be combined to reduce the number of nodes that have to be considered. As such, the merging operation can be used to reduce the occurrence of duplicates and near-duplicates. With the framework graph, 150, p.sub.i and u.sub.j represent two types of data objects, in which p.sub.i.epsilon.P (i=1, . . . , I) and u.sub.j.epsilon.U (j=1, . . . , J). I and J are cardinalities of the node sets P and U, respectively.)
6. The aggregating server according to claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Dhakshinamoorthy teaches:
wherein the aggregating server is an Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture (OPC UA) aggregation server. – in paragraphs [0021]-[0092] (Each device connected to the OPC UA platform can include an OPC UA server.)
12. Messinger teaches:
A method for filtering aggregation node images, – in paragraphs [0001]- [0010], [0023]-[0071] (Exemplary methods according to the disclosure can cover all functional steps performed by the system analyzer. The attached meta-data can enable the model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 to filter out signals or certain types of DCS components.)
the method comprising: – in paragraphs [0001]- [0010], [0023]-[0071] (Exemplary methods according to the disclosure can cover all functional steps performed by the system analyzer.)
S1) receiving, by an aggregation server, node images representing nodes in a remote address space; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0071] (FIG. 1 shows an exemplary system analyzer 1 including a data collecting unit 2 with data storage means 3 (e.g., a memory device) for collecting and storing data 4 representing components of a DCS and their interconnection as well as signals which can be generated, processed and/or transmitted by the DCS components. The exemplary system analyzer 1 can include a model analyzing unit 10 which is arranged to receive information on a change concerning at least one of the DCS components.)
S2) importing, by the aggregation server, node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; – in paragraphs [0025], [0063]-[0071] (The model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes. Another possible query could be to analyze which nodes influence a given node or what could be the origin of an error having manifested itself in one of the DCS components. Another exemplary query can require analyzing whether a set of nodes, such as a group of sensors or actuators, is independent of other nodes.)
S3) filtering, by the aggregation server, the node so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, – in paragraphs [0025]-[0071] (The attached meta-data can enable the model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 to filter out signals or certain types of DCS components. The model analyzing unit can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes, to reduce the number of nodes to be searched by filtering out those nodes which need not be regarded for the respective query depending on their type, and to perform a breadth first search over all edges and over the reduced number of nodes.)
wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information, – in paragraphs [0025], [0063]-[0071] (The model analyzing unit can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes, to reduce the number of nodes to be searched by filtering out those nodes which need not be regarded for the respective query depending on their type, and to perform a breadth first search over all edges and over the reduced number of nodes.)
Messinger does not explicitly teach:
node images representing nodes in a remote address space; node description information of nodes in the remote address space; wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; wherein the aggregation server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes.
However, Dhakshinamoorthy teaches:
node images representing nodes in a remote address space; – in paragraphs [0051]-[0095] (The address space 332, located remotely from computing device 310 and query server 340, exposes network nodes to the user in a meaningful context. Each node is associated with one or more particular pieces of industrial component 322. The address space 332 associates a node with each type of equipment or sensor in order to create context of the data associated with each element. The address space 332 assigns a node to a sensor, and the node includes both an attribute and a reference.)
node description information of nodes in the remote address space; – in paragraphs [0051]-[0095] (The address space 332 can associate an attribute and a reference with each node. An attribute can describe the node and include a class definition such as a data type, a name, and the like.)
wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (Views 334 is an internal representation of data within the OPC UA server 330. For example, a user may only have interest in only a specific subset of data and therefore does not wish to view particular nodes in the address space 332. Views 334 is similar to a filter that filters certain nodes while other nodes remain accessible to a user, based on the particular user.)
the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (Embedded computers, such as a PLC, can control the various automation potions of the industrial plant as these computing devices can that collects data can communicate with one or more servers that analyze the data. For example, a higher level PLC can control valves based on sensor readings.)
wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; and – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (Views 334 is an internal representation of data within the OPC UA server 330. For example, a user may only have interest in only a specific subset of data and therefore does not wish to view particular nodes in the address space 332. Views 334 is similar to a filter that filters certain nodes while other nodes remain accessible to a user, based on the particular user.)
wherein the aggregation server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes. – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (The aggregator server 360 aggregates the data from multiple servers, such as server 362a, server 362b, through server 362n. Each server 362a-362n represents a single OPC UA server, similar to OPC UA server 330. The aggregate server 360 aggregates the address spaces (such as address space 332) from each server 362a-362n. In certain embodiments, the aggregated address spaces include equipment or sensor readings. The aggregated address space includes the various node classes to identify and provide context of each value associated with the industrial components 322. For example, if a query requests a specific piece of information, the aggregate server 360 aggregates the address spaces of each server into one location. The aggregate server 360 can include an information repository where the aggregated address spaces are saved.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Messinger with Dhakshinamoorthy to include node images representing nodes in a remote address space; node description information of nodes in the remote address space; wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; wherein the aggregation server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes, as taught by Dhakshinamoorthy, in paragraphs [0002]-[0029], to provide a platform for manufacturer-independent communication between devices of an industrial automation systems or plants and provide improved quality control and oversight that improves the efficiency of the overall industrial plant.
Combination of Messinger and Dhakshinamoorthy does not explicitly teach:
S4) aggregating, by the aggregation server, the node images of the nodes of interest.
However, Chen teaches:
S4) aggregating, by the aggregation server, the node images of the nodes of interest; – in paragraphs [0024]-[0065] (The nodes can be filtered using a desired filtering algorithm to improve the clustering. In 456, the nodes of each cluster are merged into one node. For instance, if two candidate nodes exist following the filtering, the closest two candidate nodes can be merged by, e.g., averaging the vector values of the two candidate nodes. This merging allows individual nodes to be combined to reduce the number of nodes that have to be considered. As such, the merging operation can be used to reduce the occurrence of duplicates and near-duplicates. With the framework graph, 150, p.sub.i and u.sub.j represent two types of data objects, in which p.sub.i.epsilon.P (i=1, . . . , I) and u.sub.j.epsilon.U (j=1, . . . , J). I and J are cardinalities of the node sets P and U, respectively.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Messinger and Dhakshinamoorthy with Chen to include S4) aggregating, by the aggregation server, the node images of the nodes of interest, as taught by Chen, in paragraphs [0001]-[0016], to provide clustering algorithms for grouping objects based on the similarities of the objects.
14. The method according to claim 12, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Dhakshinamoorthy teaches:
wherein the aggregating server is an Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture (OPC UA) aggregation server. – in paragraphs [0021]-[0092] (Each device connected to the OPC UA platform can include an OPC UA server.)
Claim(s) 3, 13, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messinger (US 20160099863) in view of Dhakshinamoorthy (US 20190107827), and further in view of Chen (US 20040220963) and Bourhani (US 20170316114).
3. The aggregating server according to claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Messinger, Dhakshinamoorthy, and Chen does not explicitly teach:
wherein the address space description interface is a file interface or a digital data connection interface.
However, Bourhani teaches:
wherein the address space description interface is a file interface or a digital data connection interface. – in paragraphs [0015]-[0060] (the interactive session client circuitry 106 may communicate with the first interactive session instance 120 via the interactive session manager 118, e.g., using the REST over HTTP API.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Messinger, Dhakshinamoorthy, and Chen with Bourhani to include wherein the address space description interface is a file interface or a digital data connection interface, as taught by Bourhani, in paragraphs [0002]-[0010], to design, code, deploy, and monitor the execution of analytical models.
13. The method according to claim 12, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Messinger teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: S5) receiving, by a node description information generator, the node description information of nodes in a remote address space; – in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], [0015]-[0071] (The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components; e.g., an application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components. In this way, the dependencies within the DCS can be modeled additionally on a software level so that the effect of a change in a software function can be taken into account during the already described different analyses. Edges between the nodes can be generated by the model generating unit based on the data received from the various tools.)
S6) generating, by the node description information generator, aggregation description information based on the received node description information and on a node aggregation configuration; and – in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], [0015]-[0071] (The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components; e.g., an application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components. In this way, the dependencies within the DCS can be modeled additionally on a software level so that the effect of a change in a software function can be taken into account during the already described different analyses.)
Combination of Messinger, Dhakshinamoorthy, and Chen does not explicitly teach:
S7) outputting, by the node description information generator, the generated node aggregation description information and providing the generated node aggregation description information to the aggregation server.
However, Bourhani teaches:
S7) outputting, by the node description information generator, the generated node aggregation description information and providing the generated node aggregation description information to the aggregation server. – in paragraphs [0010]-[0082], abstract (The visual modeling tool 100 may also include model file building circuitry 110 configured to build a deployment package 112, such as a model file that may include a trained model or code executable by a target distributed computing cluster (“computing cluster”) 116. The visual modeling tool 100 may also include model deployment circuitry 114 configured to deploy the deployment package 112 to the computing cluster 116 and to interact with the computing cluster 116 to control execution of the model defined by the deployment package 112 executed by the computing cluster 116.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Messinger, Dhakshinamoorthy, and Chen with Bourhani to include S7) outputting, by the node description information generator, the generated node aggregation description information and providing the generated node aggregation description information to the aggregation server, as taught by Bourhani, in paragraphs [0002]-[0010], to design, code, deploy, and monitor the execution of analytical models.
15. Messinger teaches:
A computer program element that, while being executed by a processor, instructs the aggregating server to perform steps S1 to S7 of claim 13. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0063] (In an exemplary embodiment they can also include software applications executed by a data processing unit included in any of the hardware components of the DCS. An application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components.)
16. Messinger teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium on which the program element according to claim 15 is stored. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0063] (FIG. 1 shows an exemplary system analyzer 1 including a data collecting unit 2 with data storage means 3 (e.g., a memory device) for collecting and storing data 4 representing components of a DCS and their interconnection as well as signals which can be generated, processed and/or transmitted by the DCS components. In an exemplary embodiment they can also include software applications executed by a data processing unit included in any of the hardware components of the DCS.)
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messinger (US 20160099863) in view of Dhakshinamoorthy (US 20190107827), and further in view of Bourhani (US 20170316114).
7. Messinger teaches:
A node description information generator, – in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], [0015]-[0071] (The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components.)
configured to generate node aggregation description information to be imported by an aggregating server for filtering node images to be aggregated, – in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], [0015]-[0071] (The model analyzing unit can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes, to reduce the number of nodes to be searched by filtering out those nodes which need not be regarded for the respective query depending on their type, and to perform a breadth first search over all edges and over the reduced number of nodes.)
the node description information generator comprising: – in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], [0015]-[0071] (The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components.)
a generator input interface configured to receive node description information of nodes in a remote address space; – in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], [0015]-[0071] (The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components; e.g., an application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components. In this way, the dependencies within the DCS can be modeled additionally on a software level so that the effect of a change in a software function can be taken into account during the already described different analyses. Edges between the nodes can be generated by the model generating unit based on the data received from the various tools.)
a generator processing module configured to generate node aggregation description information based on the node description information of nodes and on a node aggregation configuration, and – in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], [0015]-[0071] (The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components; e.g., an application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components. In this way, the dependencies within the DCS can be modeled additionally on a software level so that the effect of a change in a software function can be taken into account during the already described different analyses.)
nodes of interest associated with an application. – in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], [0015]-[0071] (The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components; e.g., an application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components. The model generating unit is arranged to further include in the graph a type of nodes which represents a function performed by a respective one of the DCS components.)
wherein the generator input interface, generator processing module, and generator output interface comprise computer instructions executed by a processor; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0071] (DCS component can be executed. An application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components. In an exemplary embodiment they can also include software applications executed by a data processing unit included in any of the hardware components of the DCS.)
Messinger does not explicitly teach:
node description information of nodes in a remote address space; wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes.
However, Dhakshinamoorthy teaches:
node description information of nodes in a remote address space; – in paragraphs [0051]-[0095] (The address space 332 can associate an attribute and a reference with each node. An attribute can describe the node and include a class definition such as a data type, a name, and the like.)
wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes. – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (The aggregator server 360 aggregates the data from multiple servers, such as server 362a, server 362b, through server 362n. Each server 362a-362n represents a single OPC UA server, similar to OPC UA server 330. The aggregate server 360 aggregates the address spaces (such as address space 332) from each server 362a-362n. In certain embodiments, the aggregated address spaces include equipment or sensor readings. The aggregated address space includes the various node classes to identify and provide context of each value associated with the industrial components 322. For example, if a query requests a specific piece of information, the aggregate server 360 aggregates the address spaces of each server into one location. The aggregate server 360 can include an information repository where the aggregated address spaces are saved.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Messinger with Dhakshinamoorthy to include node description information of nodes in a remote address space; wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes, as taught by Dhakshinamoorthy, in paragraphs [0002]-[0029], to provide a platform for manufacturer-independent communication between devices of an industrial automation systems or plants and provide improved quality control and oversight that improves the efficiency of the overall industrial plant.
Combination of Messinger and Dhakshinamoorthy does not explicitly teach:
wherein the node aggregation description information comprises description of only nodes of interest associated with an application; a generator output interface configured to output the generated node aggregation description information.
However, Bourhani teaches:
wherein the node aggregation description information comprises description of only nodes of interest associated with an application; and – in paragraphs [0010]-[0082], abstract (Building a data model by accepting node selections of specific nodes.)
a generator output interface configured to output the generated node aggregation description information; – in paragraphs [0010]-[0082], abstract (The visual modeling tool 100 may also include model file building circuitry 110 configured to build a deployment package 112, such as a model file that may include a trained model or code executable by a target distributed computing cluster (“computing cluster”) 116. The visual modeling tool 100 may also include model deployment circuitry 114 configured to deploy the deployment package 112 to the computing cluster 116 and to interact with the computing cluster 116 to control execution of the model defined by the deployment package 112 executed by the computing cluster 116.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Messinger and Dhakshinamoorthy with Bourhani to include wherein the node aggregation description information comprises description of only nodes of interest associated with an application; a generator output interface configured to output the generated node aggregation description information, as taught by Bourhani, in paragraphs [0002]-[0010], to design, code, deploy, and monitor the execution of analytical models.
Claim 8. The node description information generator according to claim 7 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Bourhani teaches:
further comprising a configuration interface, wherein the configuration interface comprises a configuration server and/or a file interface for configuring the node description information generator. – in paragraphs [0010]-[0082], abstract (The visual modeling tool 100 may also include model file building circuitry 110 configured to build a deployment package 112, such as a model file that may include a trained model or code executable by a target distributed computing cluster (“computing cluster”) 116. The visual modeling tool 100 may also include model deployment circuitry 114 configured to deploy the deployment package 112 to the computing cluster 116 and to interact with the computing cluster 116 to control execution of the model defined by the deployment package 112 executed by the computing cluster 116.)
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messinger (US 20160099863) in view of Dhakshinamoorthy (US 20190107827), and further in view of Bourhani (US 20170316114) and Chen (US 20040220963).
9. Messinger teaches:
A system comprising: – in paragraphs [0001]- [0010], [0023]-[0071] (Exemplary methods according to the disclosure can cover all functional steps performed by the system analyzer. The attached meta-data can enable the model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 to filter out signals or certain types of DCS components.)
an aggregating server comprising: – in paragraphs [0001]- [0010], [0023]-[0071] (Exemplary methods according to the disclosure can cover all functional steps performed by the system analyzer. The attached meta-data can enable the model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 to filter out signals or certain types of DCS components.)
a remote node input interface configured to receive node images representing nodes in a remote address space; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0071] (FIG. 1 shows an exemplary system analyzer 1 including a data collecting unit 2 with data storage means 3 (e.g., a memory device) for collecting and storing data 4 representing components of a DCS and their interconnection as well as signals which can be generated, processed and/or transmitted by the DCS components. The exemplary system analyzer 1 can include a model analyzing unit 10 which is arranged to receive information on a change concerning at least one of the DCS components.)
an address space description interface configured to import node description information of nodes in the remote address space to be aggregated; – in paragraphs [0025], [0063]-[0071] (The model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes. Another possible query could be to analyze which nodes influence a given node or what could be the origin of an error having manifested itself in one of the DCS components. Another exemplary query can require analyzing whether a set of nodes, such as a group of sensors or actuators, is independent of other nodes.)
a node filter located between the remote node input interface and an aggregation module, the node filter configured to provide a filtering for the node images received from the remote node input interface, so as to reduce the number of nodes to a lower number of nodes of interest, – in paragraphs [0025]-[0071] (The attached meta-data can enable the model analyzing unit 10 of system analyzer 1 to filter out signals or certain types of DCS components. The model analyzing unit can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes, to reduce the number of nodes to be searched by filtering out those nodes which need not be regarded for the respective query depending on their type, and to perform a breadth first search over all edges and over the reduced number of nodes.)
wherein the nodes of interest are selected based on the node description information, – in paragraphs [0025], [0063]-[0071] (The model analyzing unit can be arranged to further receive a query for analyzing a functional independence of nodes, to reduce the number of nodes to be searched by filtering out those nodes which need not be regarded for the respective query depending on their type, and to perform a breadth first search over all edges and over the reduced number of nodes.)
wherein the remote node input interface, address space description interface, node filter, and aggregation module comprise computer instructions executed by a processor; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0071] (DCS component can be executed. An application or a function block executed by a processing unit integrated in a respective one of the DCS components. In an exemplary embodiment they can also include software applications executed by a data processing unit included in any of the hardware components of the DCS.)
Dhakshinamoorthy teaches:
node images representing nodes in a remote address space; – in paragraphs [0051]-[0095] (The address space 332, located remotely from computing device 310 and query server 340, exposes network nodes to the user in a meaningful context. Each node is associated with one or more particular pieces of industrial component 322. The address space 332 associates a node with each type of equipment or sensor in order to create context of the data associated with each element. The address space 332 assigns a node to a sensor, and the node includes both an attribute and a reference.)
node description information of nodes in the remote address space; – in paragraphs [0051]-[0095] (The address space 332 can associate an attribute and a reference with each node. An attribute can describe the node and include a class definition such as a data type, a name, and the like.)
wherein the filtering is performed according to a technical application, – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (Views 334 is an internal representation of data within the OPC UA server 330. For example, a user may only have interest in only a specific subset of data and therefore does not wish to view particular nodes in the address space 332. Views 334 is similar to a filter that filters certain nodes while other nodes remain accessible to a user, based on the particular user.)
the technical application relating to controlling a particular industrial component, machine, or process, – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (Embedded computers, such as a PLC, can control the various automation potions of the industrial plant as these computing devices can that collects data can communicate with one or more servers that analyze the data. For example, a higher level PLC can control valves based on sensor readings.)
wherein the filtering is dynamically changeable; and – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (Views 334 is an internal representation of data within the OPC UA server 330. For example, a user may only have interest in only a specific subset of data and therefore does not wish to view particular nodes in the address space 332. Views 334 is similar to a filter that filters certain nodes while other nodes remain accessible to a user, based on the particular user.)
wherein the aggregating server provides a single access point for a client application, the single access point allowing the client application to access and connect to multiple remote servers that contain the nodes. – in paragraphs [0018]-[0116] (The aggregator server 360 aggregates the data from multiple servers, such as server 362a, server 362b, through server 362n. Each server 362a-362n represents a single OPC UA server, similar to OPC UA server 330. The aggregate server 360 aggregates the address spaces (such as address space 332) from each server 362a-362n. In certain embodiments, the aggregated address spaces include equipment or sensor readings. The aggregated address space includes the various node classes to identify and provide context of each value associated with the industrial components 322. For example, if a query requests a specific piece of information, the aggregate server 360 aggregates the address spaces of each server into one location. The aggregate server 360 can include an information repository where the aggregated address spaces are saved.)
Combination of Messinger, Dhakshinamoorthy, and Bourhani does not explicitly teach:
the aggregation module configured to instantiate proxy nodes, wherein the proxy nodes represent the nodes of interest; and the node description information generator according to claim 7.
However, Chen teaches:
the aggregation module configured to instantiate proxy nodes, wherein the proxy nodes represent the nodes of interest; and the node description information generator according to claim 7. – in paragraphs [0024]-[0065] (The nodes can be filtered using a desired filtering algorithm to improve the clustering. In 456, the nodes of each cluster are merged into one node. For instance, if two candidate nodes exist following the filtering, the closest two candidate nodes can be merged by, e.g., averaging the vector values of the two candidate nodes. This merging allows individual nodes to be combined to reduce the number of nodes that have to be considered. As such, the merging operation can be used to reduce the occurrence of duplicates and near-duplicates. With the framework graph, 150, p.sub.i and u.sub.j represent two types of data objects, in which p.sub.i.epsilon.P (i=1, . . . , I) and u.sub.j.epsilon.U (j=1, . . . , J). I and J are cardinalities of the node sets P and U, respectively.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Messinger, Dhakshinamoorthy, and Bourhani with Chen to include the aggregation module configured to instantiate proxy nodes, wherein the proxy nodes represent the nodes of interest; and the node description information generator according to claim 7, as taught by Chen, in paragraphs [0001]-[0016], to provide clustering algorithms for grouping objects based on the similarities of the objects.
Claim 10. The system according to claim 9 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Messinger teaches:
further comprising a client device comprising a first client for accessing the aggregation server and representing the filtered aggregated nodes. – in paragraphs [0065]-[0071] (This type of analysis can also be used to find failure propagation in the DCS; e.g., to determine which DCS components and signals would be affected by a malfunction of a specific node, or to simply navigate on a screen through the visualized graph representation of the DCS (see FIG. 3).)
Claim 11. The system according to claim 10 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Messinger teaches:
wherein the client device further comprises a second client for connecting to the configuration server of the node description information generator. – in paragraphs [0065]-[0071] (This type of analysis can also be used to find failure propagation in the DCS; e.g., to determine which DCS components and signals would be affected by a malfunction of a specific node, or to simply navigate on a screen through the visualized graph representation of the DCS (see FIG. 3).)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD RAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449