DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 13-14 are under examination.
Claims 3 is canceled.
Claims 9-12 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maenishi et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0337398 A1), hereinafter Maenishi, in view of in view of Burshtain et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2017/0294644 A1), hereinafter Burshtain, in view of Lee et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2008/0268338 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Maenishi discloses an anode active material for a lithium secondary battery, comprising: a graphite-based particle (i.e., at least graphite material containing boron of the embodiment at least on the surface, etc., as disclosed in [0051], etc., also see [0006], [0015], [0017]-[0018], [0020]-[0023], [0026], [0034]-[0036]); and
a coating layer coated on at least a portion of a surface of the graphite-based particle, the coating layer consists of boron or a boron compound (i.e., at least at least graphite material containing boron of the embodiment at least on the surface, etc., as disclosed in [0051], lacking any further chemical distinction thereof, also see [0036]).
However, Maenishi is silent as to the coating layer consists of boron or a boron compound, and a linear-type conductive material having an aspect ratio of 2 or more. Furthermore, Maenishi is silent as to an average particle diameter of the graphite-based particle is from 7 µm to 30 µm.
Burshtain teaches in Abstract various anode active materials and combinations, modifications through nanoparticles and a range of coatings which implement the improved anodes are provided. Burshtain further teaches in [0103]-[0105] in certain embodiments, coating(s) ref. 120 may be configured to support and stabilize a SEI (as illustrated schematically, e.g., in Fig. 2D), etc., whereby nanoparticles ref. 112 and processes ref. 105 may be selected and/or configured to reduce potential decomposition of electrolyte solvent by carbon coating(s) ref. 120, through the close proximity of nanoparticles ref. 112 and coating ref. 120, which decreases its surface potential and the carbon’s reactivity towards the electrolyte solvent, etc. Burshtain further teaches in [0105] coating(s) ref. 120 of transition metal oxide(s) (e.g., B2O3, etc.) may further enhance mechanical stability of modified active material particles ref. 110A, and may be combined with other coating(s) ref. 120, etc. (also see [0089]-[0097], [0107], [0110]-[0112], [0150]-[0157], [0169], [0184]) Burshtain further teaches in [0184] various pre-coatings ref. 120 and coatings ref. 130 may be applied to core-shell particles ref. 115 and/or anode ref. 100, e.g., at least partially filling gaps ref. 140, coating shells ref. 120 and/or coating regions of anode ref. 100, such that examples for various pre-coatings ref. 120 and coatings ref. 130 are disclosed above and may be implemented in this context, etc., (see [0089]-[0097], [0107], [0110]-[0112], [0150]-[0157], [0169], [0184], etc., as discussed above), such that as taught in [0185] conductive fibers ref. 130 may comprise carbon-based material, such as specifically designed fibers e.g., carbon fibers and/or carbon nanotubes, etc. Burshtain further teaches in [0188] core-shell particle ref. 115 comprises at least one core ref. 110 and shell ref. 120 which may be in direct contact and/or may be connected by electronic material ref. 130 such as conductive fibers ref. 130 (in non-limiting examples), such that electronic conductivity is provided by electronic conductive material ref. 130 (such as conductive fibers ref. 130, e.g., carbon fibers or carbon nanotubes), and such configurations may vastly improve upon prior art technology which would have required shell material and structure possess high conductivity for both electrons and ions, etc. (also see [0189]-[0195]).
Therefore, since Burshtain teaches coating(s) such as transition metal oxide(s) (e.g., B2O3, etc.), and further teaches various pre-coatings may be applied to core-shell particles and/or anode, e.g., at least partially filling gaps, coating shells and/or coating regions of the anode, and further teaches coatings such as conductive fibers such as carbon nanotubes, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that at least in one or more embodiments that Burshtain provides (anode materials) with coating layer(s) that consists of boron or a boron compound (e.g., B2O3, etc.), and a linear-type conductive material (e.g., carbon nanotube(s), etc.) having an aspect ratio of 2 or more, such that as disclosed in [0192] diameters (e.g., of carbon nanotubes) between 10-20 nm and lengths of 3 µm to 100 µm at least provides a range of aspect ratio(s) that are within the claimed range of a linear-type conductive material having an aspect ratio of 2 or more, thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Maenishi with the teachings of Burshtain, whereby the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, etc., as disclosed by Maenishi further includes the coating layer consists of boron or a boron compound, and a linear-type conductive material having an aspect ratio of 2 or more as taught by Burshtain so as to decreases the carbon’s reactivity towards the electrolyte solvent, etc.
However, the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain are silent as to an average particle diameter of the graphite-based particle is from 7 µm to 30 µm.
Lee teaches a negative electrode for rechargeable lithium battery, and rechargeable lithium battery including the same (Title). Lee further teaches in [0022] according to one embodiment of the present invention, a negative active material layer in a rechargeable lithium battery includes a sheet-shaped graphite powder, etc., whereby as taught in [0029] the sheet-shaped graphite has an average particle diameter (D50) ranging from 1 to 20 µm, such that when the sheet-shaped graphite has an average particle diameter of less than 1 µm, the energy density of the electrode may be decreased, while when average particle diameter is more than 20 µm, appropriate pore distribution cannot be obtained, thus providing a range that overlaps the claimed range of an average particle diameter of the graphite-based particle is from 7 µm to 30 µm, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, and a linear-type conductive material, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain further includes an average particle diameter of the graphite-based particle is from 1 to 20 µm as taught by Lee so that the energy density of the electrode may not be decreased, and an appropriate pore distribution can be obtained, etc.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Lee teaches the sheet-shaped graphite has an average particle diameter (D50) ranging from 1 to 20 µm, such that when the sheet-shaped graphite has an average particle diameter of less than 1 µm, the energy density of the electrode may be decreased, while when average particle diameter is more than 20 µm, appropriate pore distribution cannot be obtained, this at least provides that the diameter of said graphite is a result effective variable so as to be ascertained by routine experimentation without undue burden (MPEP 2144.05, II., B.) so that the energy density of the electrode may not be decreased, and an appropriate pore distribution can be obtained, etc.
Regarding claim 2, The combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee disclose the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. Maenishi further discloses the coating layer includes boron oxide (i.e., at least boron oxide added after graphitization treatment as disclosed in [0036]).
Regarding claim 4, Maenishi discloses the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Maenishi is silent as to the linear-type conductive material includes at least one selected from the group consisting of carbon nanotube, carbon nanofiber, a metal fiber, a vapor-grown carbon fiber and graphene.
The combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee disclose the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1 including linear-type conductive material such as carbon nanotube, etc., from the group. Burshtain further teaches in [0188] core-shell particle ref. 115 comprises at least one core ref. 110 and shell ref. 120 which may be in direct contact and/or may be connected by electronic material ref. 130 such as conductive fibers ref. 130 (in non-limiting examples), such that electronic conductivity is provided by electronic conductive material ref. 130 (such as conductive fibers ref. 130, e.g., carbon fibers or carbon nanotubes), and such configurations may vastly improve upon prior art technology which would have required shell material and structure possess high conductivity for both electrons and ions, etc. (also see [0189]-[0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further with the teachings of Burshtain, whereby the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, and a linear-type conductive material, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further includes the linear-type conductive material such as carbon nanotubes so as to vastly improve upon prior art technology which would have required shell material and structure possess high conductivity for both electrons and ions, etc.
Regarding claim 5, Maenishi discloses the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 4. The instant claim is proviso upon limitation “metal fiber” not required by the independent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force.
However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee disclose the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1 including linear-type conductive material such as carbon nanotube, carbon fiber, etc. Lee further teaches in [0033] the conductive agent improves the electrical conductivity of a negative electrode, such that any electrically conductive material can be used as a conductive agent as long as it is not a material that causes a chemical change, such that examples of the conductive agent include carbon fiber, metal fiber including copper, nickel, aluminum, silver, etc., which at least provides a metal fiber includes at least copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), silver (Ag), etc., from the group, and which is at least commensurate in scope with the linear-type conductive material (e.g., carbon nanotube, carbon fiber, etc.) as disclosed by Burshtain as discussed above in claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, and a linear-type conductive material, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further includes a metal fiber includes at least copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), silver (Ag), etc. as taught by Lee so as to improve the electrical conductivity of a negative electrode.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee disclose the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, and a linear-type conductive material, etc., simply substituting one known linear-type conductive material for another known linear-type conductive material is matter of obvious engineering choice so as to improve the electrical conductivity of a negative electrode.
Regarding claim 6, Maenishi discloses the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. Maenishi further discloses in [0034] graphite is a generic name of carbon materials including a region having a structure in which hexagonal network layers composed of carbon atoms are regularly stacked, and examples thereof include natural graphite, artificial graphite, and graphitized mesophase carbon particles, which at least provides natural graphite, artificial graphite, etc. from the group.
However, Maenishi is silent as to the graphite-based particle includes at least one selected from the group consisting of artificial graphite, natural graphite, graphitized carbon fiber and graphitized mesocarbon microbead.
The combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee disclose the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1 including graphite-based particle. Lee further teaches in [0028] the sheet-shaped graphite ref. 4 may be natural graphite, artificial graphite, pyrolyzed graphite, and so on, which at least provides natural graphite, artificial graphite, etc. from the group. Lee further teaches in [0029] the sheet-shaped graphite has an average particle diameter (D50) ranging from 1 to 20 µm, such that when the sheet-shaped graphite has an average particle diameter of less than 1 µm, the energy density of the electrode may be decreased, while when average particle diameter is more than 20 µm, appropriate pore distribution cannot be obtained.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, and a linear-type conductive material, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further includes the graphite-based particle includes at least one selected from the group consisting of artificial graphite, natural graphite as taught by Lee so that the energy density of the electrode may not be decreased, and an appropriate pore distribution can be obtained, etc.
Regarding claim 8, Maenishi discloses the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Maenishi is silent as to a thickness of the coating layer is from 10 nm to 100 nm.
The combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee discloses the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1 including the coating layer. Burshtain further teaches in [0150] coating ref. 120 may comprise any of boron oxide(s), etc., whereby coating ref. 120 may have a thickness between 2-200 nm, etc., and further teaches in [0159] coatings ref. 120, such as illustrated e.g., in Figs. 3C and 3D, may further enhance electronic and/or ionic conductivity, for example, thin films (e.g., 1-50 nm, etc., thick) of carbon (e.g., graphene, etc.) and/or transition metal oxide(s) (e.g., B2O3, etc.), such that this at least provides a range that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of a thickness of the coating layer is from 10 nm to 100 nm, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further with the teachings of Burshtain, whereby the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, linear-type conductive material, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further includes thickness of the coating layer as taught by Burshtain so as to further enhance electronic and/or ionic conductivity, for example.
Regarding claim 13, The combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee discloses the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. Maenishi further discloses in [0038] the nonaqueous secondary battery includes a positive electrode, a negative electrode, such that as shown in at least Fig. 2 a cathode facing the anode is provided (also see [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 14, Maenishi discloses the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Maenishi is silent as to the linear type conductive material comprises metal fiber.
The combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee disclose the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1 including linear-type conductive material such as carbon nanotube, carbon fiber, etc. Lee further teaches in [0033] the conductive agent improves the electrical conductivity of a negative electrode, such that any electrically conductive material can be used as a conductive agent as long as it is not a material that causes a chemical change, such that examples of the conductive agent include carbon fiber, metal fiber including copper, nickel, aluminum, silver, etc., which at least provides a metal fiber includes at least copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), silver (Ag), etc., from the group, and which is at least commensurate in scope with the linear-type conductive material (e.g., carbon nanotube, carbon fiber, etc.) as disclosed by Burshtain as discussed above in claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, and a linear-type conductive material, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further includes a metal fiber includes at least copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), silver (Ag), etc. as taught by Lee so as to improve the electrical conductivity of a negative electrode.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee disclose the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, and a linear-type conductive material, etc., simply substituting one known linear-type conductive material for another known linear-type conductive material is matter of obvious engineering choice so as to improve the electrical conductivity of a negative electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, or in the alternative, and further in view of Krasovitsky et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0198161 A1), hereinafter Krasovitsky.
Regarding claim 7, Maenishi discloses the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Maenishi is silent as to a weight range of the linear-type conductive material relative to boron or a boron compound is from 0.1% to 30%.
The combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee discloses the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1 including the linear-type conductive material and boron or boron compound. Burshtain further teaches in [0185] conductive fibers ref. 130 may comprise any of nanofibers structures CNT (carbon nanotubes), carbon fibers and/or graphene nano-sheets, etc., at an amount in a range of 0.0001% - 15%, etc., and Burshtain further teaches in [0093] the amount of nanoparticles ref. 112 (e.g., B4C nanoparticles) may be in the range of 5 to 25 weight percent of anode material particles ref. 110, etc., and further teaches in [0298] the weight percentage of the boron is between about 2 to about 20 weight %, etc. (also see [0065]), this at provides a ratio range (i.e., (0.0001%-15%)/(2-20%)), which is a range that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of a weight range of the linear-type conductive material relative to boron or a boron compound is from 0.1% to 30%, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Burshtain further teaches in [0188] core-shell particle ref. 115 comprises at least one core ref. 110 and shell ref. 120 which may be in direct contact and/or may be connected by electronic material ref. 130 such as conductive fibers ref. 130 (in non-limiting examples), such that electronic conductivity is provided by electronic conductive material ref. 130 (such as conductive fibers ref. 130, e.g., carbon fibers or carbon nanotubes), and such configurations may vastly improve upon prior art technology which would have required shell material and structure possess high conductivity for both electrons and ions, etc. (also see [0189]-[0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further with the teachings of Burshtain, whereby the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the graphite-based particle(s) and coating layer consisting of boron or boron compound, etc., as disclosed by combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further includes weight range of the linear-type conductive material relative to boron or a boron compound as taught by Burshtain so as to vastly improve upon prior art technology which would have required shell material and structure possess high conductivity for both electrons and ions, etc.
In the alternative, Krasovitsky teaches increasing cycling lifetime of fast-charging lithium ion batteries (Title). Krasovitsky further teaches anode material particles (Fig. 19, ref. 150) may comprise 2-25 weight % B, etc., and 0.01-15 weight % C (e.g., as carbon nanotubes, CNT, which are at least a linear-type conductive material), etc. ([0103]), which at least provides, and as an example provided by the examiner and assuming a basis of 100 g of anode active material particles, that boron is 2-25 g, and carbon nanotubes are 0.01-15 g, such that weight range of the conductive material relative to boron is, for example, from (0.01×100/2 = 0.5 wt%) to (0.01×100/25 = 0.04 wt%), which overlaps the claimed range of conductive material relative to boron is from 0.1% to 30%, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.). Krasovitsky further teaches in [0114] anode material particles 150, 150A, 150B, anodes 92 and cells 90 may be configured according to the disclosed principles to enable high charging and/or discharging rates (C-rates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee with the teachings of Krasovitsky, whereby the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery including the linear-type conductive material and boron or boron compound as disclosed by the combined teachings of Maenishi and Burshtain and Lee further includes the weight range of the linear-type conductive material relative to boron as taught by Krasovitsky so as to enable high charging and/or discharging rates and increase cycling lifetime for fast-charging lithium ion batteries.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Park and Sudo have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0260019 A1) discloses in [0065] Negative electrode active material C was prepared in the same manner as in Example 1 except that artificial graphite in the form of a secondary particle (average particle diameter: 20 μm) without carbon coating was used, etc.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727