Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 1/8/26.
The applicant submits that the previous rejection is improper as Kuramoto does not teach every limitation, and Yamamoto teaches a filler composition which is materially different than a packing material. Then, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have viewed the teachings of Yamamoto as analogous art.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. The applicant’s arguments directed at the deficiencies of Kuramoto individually are immaterial to the determination of obviousness based on the rejection relying on Kuramoto and Yamamoto.
Separately, the examiner respectfully disagrees that Kuramoto does not teach a first and second filler particle as Kuramoto teaches a mixture of filler particles (fine particle mixture)[0063] wherein the sizes of said filler particles are within the claimed range (fine particles diameter between 1 – 10 μm)[0030].
Regarding the sizes of said filler particles, Kuramoto was not relied upon to teach a large and small particle. The teachings of Yamamoto were included to indicate that in instances of a mixture of filler particles, such as in Kuramoto, it is known in the art to include variable particle sizes in the mixture wherein the content and shape of the filler impact the moldability, hardness, and thermal conductivity of the resulting packaging material [0066][0068][0069][0070].
Regarding the argument that Yamamoto would not be relevant to the problem of Kuramoto, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Kuramoto teaches a composition for a battery packaging material [0001][0015] and Yamamoto teaches a composition for a battery packaging material [0002][0066]. Then, it is clear that Yamamoto is both from the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to the problem face by the inventor (ie. materials for packaging batteries).
Then, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities: a portion of claim 17 is not included in the claim set filed 01/08/26, but is instead filed as a part of the remarks filed 01/08/26. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14, and 16 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramoto, US20140087241A1 and Yamamoto, US20100310911A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kuramoto teaches a power storage device packaging material, comprising:
a substrate protective layer (matte coating layer (6)), a substrate layer (2), an adhesive layer (11), a metal foil layer (4), and a sealant layer (3)[fig. 1][0054] in this order from an outer surface side, wherein
the substrate protective layer (matte layer) is made of a curable resin (resin)[0021] that is cured containing a plurality of types of particles having different average particle sizes (fine particles comprising a mixture of inorganic and/or organic particles)[0022][0063][example 9],
the curable resin contains a polyol component as a base resin and a polyisocyanate component as a hardener (matte coating contains resin and isocyanate curing agent)[0062], and
the average particle size of the filler is 10 μm or more or 1 μm or more (fine particles diameter between 1 – 10 μm: because the range overlaps both claimed large and small filler it reads on both)[0030]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05].
an amount of the filler contained in the substrate protective layer is 3 mass % or more or 5 mass % or more (fine particles included in the matte layer composition between 0.1 – 60 wt%)[0030]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05].
wherein each of the large filler and the small filler is selected from the group consisting of silica particles, alumina particles, calcium carbonate particles, and acrylic particles, (fine particles types)[0063]
Kuramoto does not teach when, of the plurality of types of particles, particles having a large average particle size are referred to as a large filler and particles having a small average particle size are referred to as a small filler, an amount of the large filler contained in the substrate protective layer is 3 mass % or more, and an amount of the small filler contained in the substrate protective layer is 5 mass % or more
Yamamoto teaches a power storage device packaging material (outer packaging material)[0002] wherein the substrate protective layer (outermost layer of laminate packaging material)[0090] wherein the substrate protective layer comprises a curable resin and an isocyanate hardener [0037] mixed with a filler [0012][0067] wherein the content and shape of the filler impact the moldability, hardness, and thermal conductivity of the resulting packaging material [0066][0068][0069][0070]. Further, Yamamoto teaches that the filler can be a mixture of different particles, and the shapes and content of the particles within the mixture are changed depending on the intended usage and materials [0070]. Therefore, Yamamoto teaches that the content (mass %) and shape (size) of the filler particles are result effective variables. Then, it would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed ranges of particle sizes and mass percentages for the large and small filler as a matter of routine optimization of the moldability and thermal conductivity of the packaging material.
Regarding claim 2, combined Kuramoto teaches the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Yamamoto teaches wherein the average particle size of the large filler is 30 μm or less, and the average particle size of the small filler is 5 μm or less (filler particle size between 0.5 – 40 μm)[0069], and the amount of the large filler is 25 mass % or less (3 – 60% filler)[0068]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 3, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Yamamoto teaches herein at least part of the polyisocyanate component is composed of an alicyclic polyisocyanate [0055].
Regarding claim 4, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Yamamoto teaches wherein at least part of the polyisocyanate component is composed of an aliphatic polyisocyanate or an aromatic polyisocyanate [0055], and
the amount of the large filler is 25 mass % or less, and a total amount of the large filler and the small filler is 50 mass % or less (3 – 60% filler)[0068]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 5, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Kuramoto teaches wherein the large filler contains particles of an organic material (organic fine particles)[0063].
Regarding claim 7, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Kuramoto teaches wherein the large filler comprises silica particles, alumina particles, and calcium carbonate particles (inorganic fine particles)[0063].
Regarding claim 8, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Yamamoto teaches wherein the adhesive layer contains a color pigment (additives including pigments)[0064].
Regarding claim 10, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Kuramoto teaches wherein the large filler is selected from the group consisting of silica particles, alumina particles, calcium carbonate particles (inorganic fine particles)[0063].
Regarding claim 11, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Kuramoto teaches wherein each of the large filler and the small filler is selected from the group consisting of silica particles, alumina particles, calcium carbonate particles, (inorganic fine particleswherein particles may be mixed)[0063].
Regarding claim 13, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Kuramoto teaches wherein the large filler consists of silica particles, alumina particles, calcium carbonate particles (inorganic fine particles)[0063].
Regarding claim 14, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Kuramoto teaches wherein each of the large filler and the small filler consists of silica particles, alumina particles, calcium carbonate particles (inorganic fine particles)[0063].
Regarding claim 16, combined Kuramoto the power storage device packaging material of claim 1.
Further, Kuramoto teaches wherein each of the large filler and the small filler is selected from the group consisting of silica particles, alumina particles, calcium carbonate particles (inorganic fine particles)[0063].
Regarding claim 17, Kuramoto teaches a power storage device packaging material, comprising:
a substrate protective layer (matte coating layer (6)), a substrate layer (2), an adhesive layer (11), a metal foil layer (4), and a sealant layer (3)[fig. 1][0054] in this order from an outer surface side, wherein
the substrate protective layer (matte layer) is made of a curable resin (resin)[0021] that is cured containing a plurality of types of particles having different average particle sizes (fine particles comprising a mixture of inorganic and/or organic particles)[0022][0063][example 9],
the curable resin contains a polyol component as a base resin and a polyisocyanate component as a hardener (matte coating contains resin and isocyanate curing agent)[0062], and
the average particle size of the filler is 10 μm – 30 μm (fine particles diameter between 1 – 10 μm: because the range overlaps both claimed large and small filler it reads on both)[0030]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05].
an amount of the filler contained in the substrate protective layer is 3 mass % or more or 5 mass % or more (fine particles included in the matte layer composition between 0.1 – 60 wt%)[0030]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05].
wherein each of the large filler and the small filler is selected from the group consisting of silica particles, alumina particles, calcium carbonate particles, and acrylic particles, (fine particles types)[0063]
Kuramoto does not teach when, of the plurality of types of particles, particles having a large average particle size are referred to as a large filler and particles having a small average particle size are referred to as a small filler, an amount of the large filler contained in the substrate protective layer is 3 mass% - 25 mass%, and an amount of the small filler contained in the substrate protective layer is 5 mass % -
Yamamoto teaches a power storage device packaging material (outer packaging material)[0002] wherein the substrate protective layer (outermost layer of laminate packaging material)[0090] wherein the substrate protective layer comprises a curable resin and an isocyanate hardener [0037] mixed with a filler [0012][0067] wherein the content and shape of the filler impact the moldability, hardness, and thermal conductivity of the resulting packaging material [0066][0068][0069][0070]. Further, Yamamoto teaches that the filler can be a mixture of different particles, and the shapes and content of the particles within the mixture are changed depending on the intended usage and materials [0070]. Therefore, Yamamoto teaches that the content (mass %) and shape (size) of the filler particles are result effective variables. Then, it would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed ranges of particle sizes and mass percentages for the large and small filler as a matter of routine optimization of the moldability and thermal conductivity of the packaging material.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724